View Full Version : FAI Junior Cup 2008/09

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26

tralee_dynamo
22/03/2009, 6:50 PM
Unbelieveable stuff, i rang one of the lads involved at half time and when he said 4-0, i couldnt believe it. missed this but ill be in athlone next weekend or when ever its played, for sure.

first time ever a kerry team has got this far, and there wasnt a word about it on the kerry radio all day until last few minuted in the normal soccer round up. disgraceful stuff from them.
Agree that it is a great result and big boost for kerry soccer, hopefully ye can go on and win it now.

In relation to kerry radio, the problem is gaa is far and away the most important sport in kerry and soccer never gets its fair share of coverage!

lisseltonrovers
22/03/2009, 7:08 PM
7/4 Ballymun
5/2 Clonmel
4/1 Lisselton
5/1 Iorras
7/1 St Peters

never though i would see the day that lisselton would be 3rd favourites to win the fai cup. we are playing them next sunday i think.

we are however, up against it. will be a big big ask, seemingly they have a massive home support.

chopper harris
22/03/2009, 7:10 PM
Hard luck to fairvirew, but football has a habit of biting you in the arse sometimes and the posts on here during last week are a case in point! Too Too Cockey!

For the Kerry Contingent, The game with ST Peters is to go ahead next Sunday. Time is to be firmed (2pm at the moment) but I hear Athlone Town are playing on Sunday 29th also and are going for a 5pm with Peters possibly moving forward to 1pm with the agreement of Lisselton. Still in the air but defo happening on Sunday week. Everyone in Athlone looking forward to the occasion, Pubs opening early (hope there are no Guards on here!!) so if any Lisselton fans are travelling up and want some directions to the best ale houses PM me and I will offer my input there is sure to be great craic beforte and after the game regardless of the outcome. Well done today!

FahyForever
22/03/2009, 7:13 PM
Fair play to Erris, delighted for them!

lisseltonrovers
22/03/2009, 7:30 PM
Hard luck to fairvirew, but football has a habit of biting you in the arse sometimes and the posts on here during last week are a case in point! Too Too Cockey!

For the Kerry Contingent, The game with ST Peters is to go ahead next Sunday. Time is to be firmed (2pm at the moment) but I hear Athlone Town are playing on Sunday 29th also and are going for a 5pm with Peters possibly moving forward to 1pm with the agreement of Lisselton. Still in the air but defo happening on Sunday week. Everyone in Athlone looking forward to the occasion, Pubs opening early (hope there are no Guards on here!!) so if any Lisselton fans are travelling up and want some directions to the best ale houses PM me and I will offer my input there is sure to be great craic beforte and after the game regardless of the outcome. Well done today!

cheers, are you involved with St Peters? Lisselton dont have a huge following and i wouldnt expect that many to go up, maybe one bus load with the team and that is it. what sort of attendance would you expect there on Sunday?

and whats the issue with the clash of Athlone town? people wanting to see both or is the game on in their pitch? kerry football were playing 2 minutes away from our game today at the same time and it didnt affect our kick off ;) :D

chopper harris
22/03/2009, 7:48 PM
Have been involved in the past.
Athlone is a Garrison Town and although the soccer following would be small by comparison to the GA, the soccer following there would be conscious of most games on of a weekend. In otherwords there is an overlap between the two fan bases. It's Just a bit of Joined up thinking between the two clubs I suppose. God knows they both need as much support as they can get. But as I said, currently it's 2pm at the moment, in McCarthy Park(not ATFC!!) 29/03/09.
Are ye travelling the day before or the morning of? That will obviously have a bearing on any kick of time.

Against Carrick there was about 300 there probably spilt 50/50 and I'd expect a similar 150 or so.

spcorp
22/03/2009, 7:50 PM
cheers, are you involved with St Peters? Lisselton dont have a huge following and i wouldnt expect that many to go up, maybe one bus load with the team and that is it. what sort of attendance would you expect there on Sunday?

and whats the issue with the clash of Athlone town? people wanting to see both or is the game on in their pitch? kerry football were playing 2 minutes away from our game today at the same time and it didnt affect our kick off ;) :D

well done to lisselton today, great result for them, city must have been very poor? no disrespect but last 16 of the county and beaten 5 nil? but anyway looking forward to next sunday i'll be there with bells on!! should be a great game. Peters won again today, wasn't at the game but good result against a very hard killavilla team.

reality check
22/03/2009, 8:02 PM
well done to lisselton, lost some good players during the season and still got on with matters on the pitch, have every chance of winning it now. also word of mention to mike carr for whom i know has done a lot of work behind the scenes for lisselton. also well done to charlie and the clonmel lads, lot of people had them wrote off, still in with a great chance.best of luck to all 5 sides left in the fai cup and hopefully the best footballing team wins it.

MikeBassett
22/03/2009, 8:02 PM
I reckon Clonmel Town are going to win it this year, they're a good quality side, I fancy them to go all the way anyway

lisseltonrovers
22/03/2009, 8:17 PM
But as I said, currently it's 2pm at the moment, in McCarthy Park(not ATFC!!) 29/03/09.
Are ye travelling the day before or the morning of?

Not sure, once the game is confirmed, we will make travel plans.

well done to lisselton today, great result for them, city must have been very poor? no disrespect but last 16 of the county and beaten 5 nil?

i missed this as i was in london, but i know a few posters on here were at it so they would comment better perhaps. apparantly though, city united actually were a very decent team but lisselton just came out of the traps quickly and went at them. Lisselton do have a young side, with alot of quality, so maybe it was a mixure of both lisselton being good and city have an off day perhaps?

well done to lisselton, lost some good players during the season and still got on with matters on the pitch, have every chance of winning it now. also word of mention to mike carr for whom i know has done a lot of work behind the scenes for lisselton

cheers, yes Michael has built this club one handed by himself.days like today i know it makes it worth while. STILL, another massive step next week and while we will be getting the plaudits today, i still believe we are the underdogs in this competition and Peters will be the favourites next week.

Town Fan
22/03/2009, 9:39 PM
I reckon Clonmel Town are going to win it this year, they're a good quality side, I fancy them to go all the way anyway

Great win for Town today. They were the better side but once it goes to pens anything can happen. They have a chance now, and to be honest I never thought they would get this far. Fair play to them, they never give up

presario
22/03/2009, 10:33 PM
Too be honest it will take a serious side to beat us looking at the teams that are left we can only throw it away this is our competition its what we're good at we dont lose at this stage of any competition,the only side that could have caught us was pike and they were put to sleep.

A SERIOUS SIDE:D:D:DBallymun still for me.. got me a few quid today.. hopefully they go all the way to make me a lot more money!!!!

da bishop
22/03/2009, 10:36 PM
sligo town.

erris v ballymun on the 5th of april in milebush park, castlebar.

i have to say that i think erris could have made a huge mistake in putting the game in milebush. it is a huge pitch with a fantastic surface and it will suit ballymun down to the ground. i think erris should have chosen westport uniteds ground instead as it is a lot tighter and a worse surface. i hope they prove me wrong though and i hope that they go on to win it!!
they just might you know,fairviews pitch is a big one so this erris side can obviously mix with anyone anywhere,great result for them today and lets face it a disaster for fairview.

trueview6
23/03/2009, 7:44 AM
jesus the attitude towards the fair view team is shockin,there is one fella on here talkin **** about how good view are,he could be anyone, the majority of d lads up there,and i mean 99.999% of the players,management,supporters,and committee would never and have never talked up fair view or gloated about what they did in past fai's, can i just say,well done to erris today,and their supporters they were superb,and also to the lads from fair view, it was a super game and ye lost nothin in defeat, a credit to the club and limerick junior soccer.
I wasnt cocky at all who on this site thought erris would take us i couldnt see us losing at all,i lost alot of money on it myself:mad: couldnt believe jason just came on to take a peno no warm up crazy stuff,hefo with erris keeper we best on the day for me and by the way messi my family founded fairview and im a life memeber

Fr Damo
23/03/2009, 7:57 AM
I thought you were.:D

smasher
23/03/2009, 8:15 AM
Agree that it is a great result and big boost for kerry soccer, hopefully ye can go on and win it now.

In relation to kerry radio, the problem is gaa is far and away the most important sport in kerry and soccer never gets its fair share of coverage!

Now is the time to plug yourselves. You and your mates should jam local radio with texts before your next game and use any way you can to promote the game. Best of luck

swinfordfc
23/03/2009, 8:30 AM
Congrats to Erris Utd - Iorrais Aonaithne on reaching the last 4 of the cup - from all involved with Swinford FC

Good luck against Ballymun in the semi

silvercircle
23/03/2009, 9:15 AM
I wasnt cocky at all who on this site thought erris would take us i couldnt see us losing at all,i lost alot of money on it myself:mad: couldnt believe jason just came on to take a peno no warm up crazy stuff,hefo with erris keeper we best on the day for me and by the way messi my family founded fairview and im a life memeber

If your family founded Fairview...then that would make you a Pike man..if you knew your history

threefivetwo
23/03/2009, 9:25 AM
well done to erris, fair play to them, and i'm delighted to say, told ye so..... cockiness gets ye nowhere!! hopefully erris do mayo proud now and go on and win it, what was the game like?

Shilts
23/03/2009, 9:33 AM
Well done to Erris from all in Kinsale. I hope you go all the way now. It would be some consolation for us to be beaten by the winners! :ball:

van der wheil
23/03/2009, 11:18 AM

A Life member??From the top of my head i can only think of 7 life members and i dont think any of em would even know how to turn on a computer.

van der wheil
23/03/2009, 11:21 AM
Also well dont to erris and best of luck for the remeinder of the competition.

left back
23/03/2009, 11:25 AM

seems u put too much faith in your own team,were do ye reckon ye will go from here,i think nows your time to hand back your life membership :p,in future u shoud bet on the opposite team if u have no faith in your side

trueview6
23/03/2009, 11:38 AM
The result was a disaster yesterday but we have to move on still a big season there munster jun and were not out of the league by a long shot.Im sure jason can pick up the lads but we will need to improve.As far as life members (7) get a grip.

left back
23/03/2009, 11:41 AM
i dont think that ye will win the league , can ye see yer selfs beaten both pike and regional without dropping points in the mean time

trueview6
23/03/2009, 11:41 AM
Best of luck too erris next round ye caught us by suprise i hope ye go on and win it.

trueview6
23/03/2009, 11:45 AM
Of course i can left back ye were very lucky too beat us in the pike field,we should have got a peno and pike have too go to the fairgreen,long way too go midweek matchs wont suit pike.:rolleyes:

left back
23/03/2009, 11:55 AM
Of course i can left back ye were very lucky too beat us in the pike field,we should have got a peno and pike have too go to the fairgreen,long way too go midweek matchs wont suit pike.:rolleyes:

ye did get a peno that ye shouldnt have :mad: as for the fairgreen i dont think pike will fear going up ther maybe if ye get another peno jason can come on and take it:D

skill school
23/03/2009, 12:05 PM
We can all get back to the league now . Fair play to iorras i hope they go on to win it now after knocking two limerick teams out .

trueview6
23/03/2009, 12:20 PM
ye did get a peno that ye shouldnt have :mad: as for the fairgreen i dont think pike will fear going up ther maybe if ye get another peno jason can come on and take it:D
I couldnt believe he came on with a few seconds too go for a peno,coming off the bench cold hard too believe but he will bounce back he has the experience.

gunner1
23/03/2009, 12:27 PM
Also well dont to erris and best of luck for the remeinder of the competition.

big well done to eric and the lads in erris,go on and win it.
nice to see the mayo league put back a week to accomadate the match in milebush

manuman
23/03/2009, 2:43 PM
Anyone got any info on this game? Did the better team win on the day? had either team much chances? Could Iorras go on and win it? have they the hunger?

trueview6
23/03/2009, 3:19 PM
Anyone got any info on this game? Did the better team win on the day? had either team much chances? Could Iorras go on and win it? have they the hunger?
Fairview missed alot of chances poor finishing and had alot of possession but credit had to go to erris who defended in numbers,centre half,and keeper were very good,keeper can kick the ball 70 yards,chucka wasnt the greatest but hes been rock solid all season i think trevor cosgrave was a big loss he has the experience in the fai,i think kevin in goals was hes only option hes the best out of a bad bunch.

manuman
23/03/2009, 3:24 PM
Ya think are iorras serious contenders now to win it?

kalyani
23/03/2009, 3:25 PM
Fairview missed alot of chances poor finishing and had alot of possession but credit had to go to erris who defended in numbers,centre half,and keeper were very good,keeper can kick the ball 70 yards,chucka wasnt the greatest but hes been rock solid all season i think trevor cosgrave was a big loss he has the experience in the fai,i think kevin in goals was hes only option hes the best out of a bad bunch.

"chuka wasnt the greatest" are you having a laugh, i dont know what game you were watching but he was outstanding for fairview yesterday, unreal performance, tower of strength.

trueview6
23/03/2009, 3:37 PM
"chuka wasnt the greatest" are you having a laugh, i dont know what game you were watching but he was outstanding for fairview yesterday, unreal performance, tower of strength.
Iorras have a great chance no super stars they play for each other,they worked really hard got bodies behind the ball didnt give us time to settle they have the hunger and home draw,Chucka wasnt at hes best he didnt show the physical aspect to hes game,Derek white would hurt centre forwards Chucka doesnt give the same,i like Chucka as a player but no way was he as good as white.

celticlads
23/03/2009, 3:40 PM

trueview, i have seen alot of limerick soccer this year and from your posts its like i have seen no game. i am a complete neutral but i can safely say your knowledge of soccer is very limited, in particular your view on the pike game. i was in at that and pike totally dominated. i argree ye should have had a stonewall penalty in the second half, ye scored a very questionable penalty in the first half and apart from that ye had one other chance which was a long range shot from the left back at the end. pike totally dominated and should have won handy.

hoop4life
23/03/2009, 3:57 PM

i did!!! :D;)

lisseltonrovers
23/03/2009, 9:03 PM
why has this thread descended into everybody hates fairview type thing? they are out, sounds like it was a fair game and Iorras are through. Fairview from my previous experience, have some wonderful lads in their club and im sure will wish all the best to the team who beat them. so, lets concentrate on the next rounds perhaps and not whos a lifetime member and this and that and somebody whos giving a great club a bad name, with some silly posts.

swinfordfc
23/03/2009, 9:06 PM
big well done to eric and the lads in erris,go on and win it.
nice to see the mayo league put back a week to accomadate the match in milebush

why would the league season be put back a week cause of the erris game? is that official?

lisseltonrovers
23/03/2009, 9:30 PM
why would the league season be put back a week cause of the erris game? is that official?

maybe its a chance for all the other clubs to get out and support them? if so, its a great idea.

couchpotato
24/03/2009, 6:34 AM

Its definitly put back back a week to let the players of other super league teams go and watch and support them against ballymun.

Will certainly boost attendance, and hopefully everyone will be backing erris!

lankyboy26
24/03/2009, 11:14 AM
ya i thought chucka played well in fairness. the fairview midfield let them down i thought. good game over-all. major opportunity lost for fairview though, erris were very average, fairview should've won it handy. the fairview keeper was awful, made a complete hash of every high ball and cost them the goal in the 1st half when he came out to catch it and the erris striker got his head to it and scored. thought the standard of the football played by both teams wasn't great, some amount of long ball

trueview6
24/03/2009, 11:20 AM
Im still gutted to be honest erris were there for the taking i think the fact that we had a home draw makes it worse i agree we could have played more football fullbacks rarely got on it and played was trevor cosgrave injured?.

lankyboy26
24/03/2009, 11:40 AM
Im still gutted to be honest erris were there for the taking i think the fact that we had a home draw makes it worse i agree we could have played more football fullbacks rarely got on it and played was trevor cosgrave injured?.
ya i think he's injured. big loss alright. he's a good player. ye could've done with a fella with a bit of pace up front as well. robbie holds the ball up very well but he never really looked like scoring, ye didn't really get in behind them. i reckon ballymun will beat erris handy, ballymun have some very good players

trueview6
24/03/2009, 11:56 AM
ya i think he's injured. big loss alright. he's a good player. ye could've done with a fella with a bit of pace up front as well. robbie holds the ball up very well but he never really looked like scoring, ye didn't really get in behind them. i reckon ballymun will beat erris handy, ballymun have some very good players
Ya i think so,to be honest i couldnt see us been beaten,and i couldnt see us playing so bad,robbie still a great player but the lads just didnt have it on the day judge missed a great chance if robbie was at the end of it we were in the next round,hope the lads have a go at the rest of the trophies.:ball:

weener
24/03/2009, 12:04 PM
Ya i think so,to be honest i couldnt see us been beaten,and i couldnt see us playing so bad,robbie still a great player but the lads just didnt have it on the day judge missed a great chance if robbie was at the end of it we were in the next round,hope the lads have a go at the rest of the trophies.:ball:

Clonmel Town will win the FAI I have no doubt!

lankyboy26
24/03/2009, 12:08 PM
ya that Judge if a very good player, he tried his heart out as well. at least ye are still in contention for the league and the munster junior. in fairness i thought fairview defended well on sunday. the erris strikers did nothing really. the guy that got the goal was good in the air alright but had no pace. it's a shame really like to go out at this stage. best of luck to ye for the rest of the season

trueview6
24/03/2009, 12:31 PM
ya that Judge if a very good player, he tried his heart out as well. at least ye are still in contention for the league and the munster junior. in fairness i thought fairview defended well on sunday. the erris strikers did nothing really. the guy that got the goal was good in the air alright but had no pace. it's a shame really like to go out at this stage. best of luck to ye for the rest of the season
Thanks lankyboy whos your team if you dont mind me asking.

lankyboy26
24/03/2009, 12:36 PM
Thanks lankyboy whos your team if you dont mind me asking.
don't play anymore. involved with Athlunkard Villa, we're in 2A. do you play for fairview yourself