View Full Version : FAI Junior Cup 2008/09
Fairview won 2-0
Granville won 3-1
Geraldines 1-0
van der wheil
30/11/2008, 6:02 PM
Fairview won 2-0
Granville won 3-1
Fairview rode there luck a bit against wembley and will have to improve big time to have any chance in any competition in my opinion.
the quiet 1
30/11/2008, 10:49 PM
View, Dines & Carew to win for me!!!
The view won & the dines won but Granville beat Carew fairly easy from what I heard :D
Buzzer
01/12/2008, 6:46 AM
Fairview rode there luck a bit against wembley and will have to improve big time to have any chance in any competition in my opinion.
agreed.both sides had great chances to score...with wembley having three in the last ten mins to even it up.
only 3 or 4 players for fairview played to their potential,chucka,kelliher,heffernan and harmon at left full.
the difference,not being overly simplistic,was fairview forwards took some of their chances...wembleys forwards took none.
oops! forgot about rob crowley in goals...had a very solid game and saved a penalty.
Super Rovers
01/12/2008, 7:23 AM
agreed.both sides had great chances to score...with wembley having three in the last ten mins to even it up.
only 3 or 4 players for fairview played to their potential,chucka,kelliher,heffernan and harmon at left full.
the difference,not being overly simplistic,was fairview forwards took some of their chances...wembleys forwards took none.
oops! forgot about rob crowley in goals...had a very solid game and saved a penalty.
agree with most of the above although dont see how you can say heffernan had a good game. gave the ball away a little too much for me but the fact that harrington had a nightmare made him look a bit better than he was. fairview just more clinical on the day with the chances they got. good game of football though, great to watch at times from both teams
smasher
01/12/2008, 8:22 AM
How did castleknock v glasnion go?
Buzzer
01/12/2008, 9:50 AM
agree with most of the above although dont see how you can say heffernan had a good game. gave the ball away a little too much for me but the fact that harrington had a nightmare made him look a bit better than he was. fairview just more clinical on the day with the chances they got. good game of football though, great to watch at times from both teams
gave the ball away a bit more than usual granted..still thought he got through a lot of work though.darren had not one of his better games alright.
even though robbie k had a good game,i thought the wembley c/half was excellent throughout and aliuor???,tall lad on the left for wembley, had a fine game also.
fantastic control for a big man,on the penalty issue...thought the first incident with that player was a peno...think the one that was given was dubious.
maybe robbie broe was kinda making up for it.
played wembley in rathuard in the league,and won fairly handy.
no disrespect to wembley but could have gone either way yesterday.
i think rathuard is a lot tighter that the green,and it suited wembley playing on a bigger pitch
Monkfish
01/12/2008, 10:01 AM
dont see how you can say heffernan had a good game.
Have to agree, whats the story with him in centre mid? that his usual position with Fairview?
Super Rovers
01/12/2008, 10:59 AM
gave the ball away a bit more than usual granted..still thought he got through a lot of work though.darren had not one of his better games alright.
even though robbie k had a good game,i thought the wembley c/half was excellent throughout and aliuor???,tall lad on the left for wembley, had a fine game also.
fantastic control for a big man,on the penalty issue...thought the first incident with that player was a peno...think the one that was given was dubious.
i think rathuard is a lot tighter that the green,and it suited wembley playing on a bigger pitch
agree with penalty decision alright wouldn't have given the second but definately have given the first one 5 minutes earlier, balanced itself out really. biggger field definatley suits them. gives them more room to play football. also we ahve alot of pacey players so it suits them also getting in behind the back four.
Buzzer
01/12/2008, 11:16 AM
Have to agree, whats the story with him in centre mid? that his usual position with Fairview?
it is now..colm always played on the wing for fairview in the past.
started in mid against st.micheals and ran the show in a pre-season friendly.
began the first couple of games on the wing in the league,but was switched to the centre and has been a revaltion there ever since.
not sure of his age,but he has a fantastic ability to play box to box.
also has a great first touch so imo he is playing in his best position.
in saying that there is stiff comp. for that positionas ,cyril meagher,darren har,and j.grant would be in the running for 2 positions,a headache for a manager,but a nice headache!!
Buzzer
01/12/2008, 11:17 AM
agree with penalty decision alright wouldn't have given the second but definately have given the first one 5 minutes earlier, balanced itself out really. biggger field definatley suits them. gives them more room to play football. also we ahve alot of pacey players so it suits them also getting in behind the back four.
what's the tall chap's name on the wing??
Super Rovers
01/12/2008, 2:51 PM
what's the tall chap's name on the wing??
alier. played with corbally a little bit underage and then moved to wembley when he was about 14/15 not too sure exactly. has being playing since but has only really started getting back into it properly this season after a year out 2 years ago.
On The Ball
01/12/2008, 4:37 PM
He was excellent alright but i think he tired abit because it was all wembley and he was doing most of the damage.Wembley really shouldve won i think but as you say fairview took their chances,wembley didn't.
the snake
01/12/2008, 5:55 PM
Any report on carew and granvile game
Buzzer
02/12/2008, 6:47 AM
He was excellent alright but i think he tired abit because it was all wembley and he was doing most of the damage.Wembley really shouldve won i think but as you say fairview took their chances,wembley didn't.
could have gone either way alright.as i've said fairview converted two of there 7 or 8? good chances,wembley had around the same amount of chances and converted none.
if they had taken one when fairview were under pressure and down to ten men,i think they would have went on to win it.
just glad to be in the next round really.
have to say that a lot of the view did not play to the best of their ability.
they will have to improve if they are to progress to the latter stages of this comp.
on a lighter note,first time in four seasons(is it that long??) that fairview have made it out of town in either comp.,so am looking forward to the trip to carrick on suir!!!!!
useless
02/12/2008, 7:35 AM
Were looking forward to hosting ye Buzzer.Who was sent off for ye(what position)and will he miss the game against the Rock.
Buzzer
02/12/2008, 8:04 AM
Were looking forward to hosting ye Buzzer.Who was sent off for ye(what position)and will he miss the game against the Rock.
colm heffernan..no disrespect to the others,but he will be a big loss.
he is playing in the centre of mid. in saying that, that position and the centreforward berths are probably the area's that we have the most comp. for places.
two of the other midfielders have come back from limerick to us and the other chap vying for that position is,imo, a fantastic holding midfielder and gives his partner plenty of scope to get forward...
he has a strong panel to choose from of about 17 players,and at least one guy on the B team who has won a few FAI'S with us who,again imo,would be in my starting eleven.
quid pro quo "useless",have heard through the grapevine that ye will much stonger then yere league position suggests,now that the hurling seeason is on the backburner
bobbyjalobby
02/12/2008, 9:06 AM
How did castleknock v glasnion go?
Match is on the 13th of this month!
CK top of their league in LSL
Glas 2nd from Bottom in UCFL
Should be a good game.
Buzzer
02/12/2008, 9:15 AM
Match is on the 13th of this month!
CK top of their league in LSL
Glas 2nd from Bottom in UCFL
Should be a good game.
is this the CK that pike have drawn in the fai????
if so any info on them??
bobbyjalobby
02/12/2008, 9:17 AM
Castleknock in the LSL. We have Glasnoin in the 4th round.
Unbeaten yet. Good solid team and some great results. Id like to think we are fairly decent.
Bin Ladin
02/12/2008, 11:55 AM
Cant wait for fairview to visit deerpark
Buzzer
02/12/2008, 12:04 PM
Cant wait for fairview to visit deerpark
say we will bring a fair support....where's a nice place for pre match pints or a bite to eat???
useless
02/12/2008, 12:42 PM
We will be short 2 of our full strength team.Our centre half is getting married 2 days before and 1 other player is currently serving a 3 month suspension. Were justing looking forward to the occassion.I know we play 2 top junior teams twice every year(Clonmel Town and Michaels)but its always nice to mix it with the big boys from outside our area.
As regards pre-match pints-cusacks on the main street is probably the best spot,they dont do grub but theres plenty of places close by that do.Game is fixed for Sunday 14th presumably with a 2 p.m kick off.
Buzzer
02/12/2008, 1:23 PM
We will be short 2 of our full strength team.Our centre half is getting married 2 days before and 1 other player is currently serving a 3 month suspension. Were justing looking forward to the occassion.I know we play 2 top junior teams twice every year(Clonmel Town and Michaels)but its always nice to mix it with the big boys from outside our area.
As regards pre-match pints-cusacks on the main street is probably the best spot,they dont do grub but theres plenty of places close by that do.Game is fixed for Sunday 14th presumably with a 2 p.m kick off.
nice one..that's the time of the fixture alright..cusacks...is it a big place??
how are they if there are young lads with us,you know 12-13 year olds...just askin' 'cause if we run buses the likelihood is that some of underage players will be going.
also...if i do happen to get away with just the lads on this trip,is their any,Ahem!,"knock on the door pubs" if we get there a bit early.
presario
02/12/2008, 1:36 PM
nice one..that's the time of the fixture alright..cusacks...is it a big place??
how are they if there are young lads with us,you know 12-13 year olds...just askin' 'cause if we run buses the likelihood is that some of underage players will be going.
also...if i do happen to get away with just the lads on this trip,is their any,Ahem!,"knock on the door pubs" if we get there a bit early.
The jockey club is usually open early on a sunday. im sure margarette and tom would look after yea. They do food aswell. margarette is famous for her full irish breakfast. :D:D:D
Buzzer
02/12/2008, 1:40 PM
The jockey club is usually open early on a sunday. im sure margarette and tom would look after yea. They do food aswell. margarette is famous for her full irish breakfast. :D:D:D
ah that's great...thanks lads...see ye all sunday week
useless
02/12/2008, 3:19 PM
Buzzer i think Presario is setting you up here.Kids will be fine in Cusacks up till 8 o clock or so.Theres plenty of knock on the door pubs available,just make sure your early or you might not get a seat.
On The Ball
02/12/2008, 3:50 PM
ah that's great...thanks lads...see ye all sunday week
Buy a bag of cans for the bus journey.Make a day of it.
the only 1
02/12/2008, 5:23 PM
to be honest we should beat ye easy enough;)
do you think so willie
Buzzer
03/12/2008, 6:48 AM
Buzzer i think Presario is setting you up here.Kids will be fine in Cusacks up till 8 o clock or so.Theres plenty of knock on the door pubs available,just make sure your early or you might not get a seat.
ah that's grand...gone a bit old to be bringing cans lads....did a lot of that a few years back..my capacity for alcohol consumption has lessened somewhat...and the gut has got larger!!...figure that one out..
by the way,take striker no.9 comments with a pinch of salt...bit of a wind up merchant,young and green shall we say
Bin Ladin
04/12/2008, 5:14 PM
we"ll see wil it be an easy 3 nil to the view [cocky]
abbeyvale
04/12/2008, 8:27 PM
we"ll see wil it be an easy 3 nil to the view [cocky]
You nearly have it, take away the last letter and you'll have him in one!!!!!
abbeyvale
04/12/2008, 8:37 PM
have you a problem alan?:mad:
Nope, just stating what most people on this site think, especially with some of your comments!!!!
If you cant take it , dont give it!!!!
Nope, just stating what most people on this site think, especially with some of your comments!!!!
If you cant take it , dont give it!!!!
Never a truer comment made.... im guessing he's a young fella...
Jock MIB
04/12/2008, 8:52 PM
Lads pack it in, keep to the thread
No problem jock... we're cool..... :cool:
Buzzer
05/12/2008, 7:23 AM
by saying will we win certain games cop on:rolleyes:
john...your kinda digging your own grave a bit.
no problem with confidence..which is all you think it is..but a lot of people are taking it as arrogance..just tone it down a bit that's all..i'd say there are enough people posting on the site just waiting to hop on your posts and have a hop off fairview ,by association.
as i have said wait,hopefully,until the view win something.
keep your powder dry 'til then...and even after.
useless
05/12/2008, 7:28 AM
Buzzer our Secretary is looking to get a contact name and number for your club to sort out pre and post match arrangements for Sunday week.Can you help out.
Buzzer
05/12/2008, 7:54 AM
Buzzer our Secretary is looking to get a contact name and number for your club to sort out pre and post match arrangements for Sunday week.Can you help out.
useless,i'm involved with fairview,near neighbours of granville.
granville have their own website address on the junior clubs site that,i think you can access here.
a chap called john o'neill would be the man to contact.
they are a decent crowd and ye will be looked after...have their own dressing rooms and such.
as for yere supporters,the nearest watering hole would be the claughaun GAA club which is about five mins from the field.
you also have a spar shop (and a bookies..paddy power!!!) literally across the road from the claughaun club.the spar shop does good grub,for breakfasts etc. and there is also a massive dunnes about two minutes walk from this place,where you can get a take away carvery meal(and cans for the bus home!!!). on the soccer side john o niell is the man to talk to.
hope this is a help
useless
05/12/2008, 11:49 AM
Buzzer,im involved with Rock Rovers.
Buzzer
05/12/2008, 12:11 PM
Buzzer,im involved with Rock Rovers.
!
his name is gerry cantillon.if your secretary rings the club on sunday at around 12.45,our A match should be over by then,and there will be plenty of people that will be able to give it to you. have not got it myself to hand,afaik there is a 52 seater supporters bus travelling,
separate bus for the team,and there would be a fair crowd probably driving..
jaysus sorry about that....under a bit of pressure !!!!
the number of the club is 061 411525.
also on the committee,is pat sheahan,andy sheahan,johnny carey,gerry flynn(chairman),myles kavanagh,...at least two or three of those lads will be there!!!!
i wonder how many prank calls will be made to ibrox at 12.45 on sunday:D
you can be sure it won't be anyone from the Boro:p
i'd blame the pike lads;)
Harry Lime
07/12/2008, 4:31 PM
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3219/3090082270_759809d28c.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/seanryan/3090082270/in/set-72157610863407752)
A few pics (http://www.flickr.com/photos/seanryan/sets/72157610863407752/) for anyone interested from the 4th round game Ballingarry v Rathkeale. Rathkeale won 4-3 AET.
tralee_dynamo
07/12/2008, 6:16 PM
Tralee Dynamos 3 Newcastle West 0
Sets up a nice tie at home to St. Michaels in last 64
E.C Ushadup
07/12/2008, 11:38 PM
I'll think you'll find it was 4-0 to Tralee Dynamos,sounds like a comfortable win but Newcastle West just didn't take their chances in first half whereas Dynamos for a change actually were more clinical in front of goals.Tie against St. Michaels will be very interesting.( anyone know how they're faring in their league?)
presario
08/12/2008, 1:12 AM
I'll think you'll find it was 4-0 to Tralee Dynamos,sounds like a comfortable win but Newcastle West just didn't take their chances in first half whereas Dynamos for a change actually were more clinical in front of goals.Tie against St. Michaels will be very interesting.( anyone know how they're faring in their league?)
they bet clonmel town tioday. they have the irish captain playing for them. my each way bet for the FAI.
threefivetwo
08/12/2008, 3:03 AM
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3219/3090082270_759809d28c.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/seanryan/3090082270/in/set-72157610863407752)
A few pics (http://www.flickr.com/photos/seanryan/sets/72157610863407752/) for anyone interested from the 4th round game Ballingarry v Rathkeale. Rathkeale won 4-3 AET.
i hope ye are ready to be thought a footballing lesson next week by a team who care about playing the game and not fighting, just playing the way the game should be played and hopefully honesty willl win on the day!!!celtic will have good support and hopefully sportsmanship will win on the day, look forward to meeting ye with a very young castlebar team missing loads of quality players to eircom league teams butno excuses made lads, hopefully football will answer\ all the questions!!!
threefivetwo
08/12/2008, 3:08 AM
they bet clonmel town tioday. they have the irish captain playing for them. my each way bet for the FAI.
irish captain??? that doesn't mean a lot!!!! castl;ebar celtic easilybet tralee dynamos last year and the same with st michaels with the two irish junior centre backs who were made look very weak by average players!!! totally different celtic team dis year but still a lot better than the st. michaels team, very weak and nothing for any team to be afraid of!!!! FACT!!!!
Jock MIB
08/12/2008, 7:14 AM
irish captain??? that doesn't mean a lot!!!! castl;ebar celtic easilybet tralee dynamos last year and the same with st michaels with the two irish junior centre backs who were made look very weak by average players!!! totally different celtic team dis year but still a lot better than the st. michaels team, very weak and nothing for any team to be afraid of!!!! FACT!!!!
What is it with you and this FACT!!! :mad: Your constantly doing it and i have warned you before to cut it out. Last Warning :mad:
useless
08/12/2008, 7:23 AM
I think you'll find Clonmel Twon beat St Michaels on Sunday.2-0.