View Full Version : Cork AUL 2008/09

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

toepoke
26/09/2008, 9:10 AM
[quote=pass&move;1026260]I haven't done this for a couple of week's so I'll start it again

Any predictions

FAI Umbro Cup 1st Round:
Pearse Cel v Ballyphehane Cel - AWAY
Droumee Dynamos v Springfield - HOME
Dunbar Cel v Leeds B - HOME
Ballyvolane v Rockmount - AWAY

Lucozade Sports Munster Cup 1st Round:
Watergrasshill Utd v Coachford - AWAY

Premier League:
Blarney St Ath v Wilton Utd - DRAW
Glenthorn Cel v Villa Utd - HOME
Grattan Utd v Park Utd - HOME
Kinsale v Leeside - DRAW

Premier A League:
Rathcoole Rovers v Macroom - AWAY
Village Utd v Dillon’s Cross Ath - HOME
Ballincollig v Knockavilla Ce - AWAY

League 1:
Richmond v Innishvilla - AWAY

League 1A:
Park Utd v Leeds A - DRAW

League 1B
St John Bosco’s v Leeside - HOME

League 2A:
Killowen v Coachford - DRAW

League 3:
Afton Villa v De Courcey Albion - HOME
Richmond v Kinsale - AWAY
Wilton Utd v Parkview Cel - HOME

League 3A:
Grattan Utd v CFC Banteer - HOME
Kanturk v Cathedral Cel - DRAW
Macroom v Springfield - HOME

olachico
27/09/2008, 7:20 PM
Glenthorn A 3- 1 Villa Utd
Missed the first 10 mintues - in which Villa scored ( a good goal apparently). This game will give Billy Lyons a lot to write about. 4 goals, 3 sendings off - not one bad tackle in the game in my opinion - no point in me discussing it further if Billy is going to do a whole match report:D

toepoke
28/09/2008, 7:31 AM
Grattan 1 - 1 with Park.
Took the lead after 5 mins with a knock on from Paul Lynch and good finish from Figo. First 15 mins was all Grattan but Park forceds there way back into the game and should have been level at half time.
2nd half was all park in fairness with some great balls from their set plays. Lofty on goal was outstanding for us, we could have snuck a goal on the breaK but Park got their reward with 3 mins to go to level the game.
So same result as last year so hopefully that is an omen for the rest of the season.

toepoke
28/09/2008, 7:32 AM
Grattan 1 - 1 with Park.
Took the lead after 5 mins with a knock on from Paul Lynch and good finish from Figo. First 15 mins was all Grattan but Park forced their way back into the game and should have been level at half time.

2nd half was all park in fairness with some great balls from their set plays. Lofty on goal was outstanding for us, we could have snuck a goal on the break but Park got their reward with 3 mins to go to level the game.
So same result as last year so hopefully that is an omen for the rest of the season.

pacman
28/09/2008, 11:58 AM
Glenthorn A 3- 1 Villa Utd
Missed the first 10 mintues - in which Villa scored ( a good goal apparently). This game will give Billy Lyons a lot to write about. 4 goals, 3 sendings off - not one bad tackle in the game in my opinion - no point in me discussing it further if Billy is going to do a whole match report:D
I was at this game also. Big crowd due to the new pitch being opened. I must say the ref was absolutely terrible. 3 red cards, as olachio says not a bad tackle in the game. There were also three penalties, two for Glenthorn which they scored and one for villa which they missed.

The first Glenthorn penalty was a complete joke, I really think the ref was just listening to the crowd. There is a certain Glenthorn forward who tried on 3 seperate occasions to dive for a penalty, i thought he was completely out of order. Overall villa were very unlucky, they missed a penalty, had numerous chances, and were very unlucky with the two penalty decisions which went against them.

Glenthorn will be tough to beat up there, but i think were a bit fortunate yesterday to get the 3 points

supporter
28/09/2008, 3:57 PM
msc ballynanty 4 leeds 1 aet

olachico
29/09/2008, 9:45 AM
Must agree with Pacman! The Ref was terrible - felt he was trying to make a name for himself as Billy Lyons was there and an AUL representative. Lets be honest Pacman all the penalty calls were soft including the Villa one. The ref had lost total control of the game! Glenthorn also had plenty more chances so they could have scored a lot more

littleman
29/09/2008, 2:23 PM
Well I got 4 results right out of 7 an the 3 wrong ones were the suprise ones for me.

I missed the game Saturday due to work commitments but reports I got all sounded the same.We were terrible an were lucky to get a point.As toepoke has said it the same start as last season but for me I'd be bluffin if I said I wasnt dissapointed. Another 3 points on the table, considering the way the Kinsale/Leeside game went would have been a massive bonus headin into the cup season.

Glenthorn with another 3,how bad.It will keep them envolved in the league an thats a good thing.Olli from what I have heard of the game an that is all from the Villa side the ref was poor an the crowd seem to influence the ref big time.What I did find weird was the report on the pitch,same lenght a bit wider an flatter.I havent seen it yet but I hoped it would have been lenghtened if anything.I'm only askin an not knockin the hard work done fair dues to an ever emproving club , but what exactly has been done to it.

The Killers B's were at it again Sunday morning.An excellent 3/o win over Banteer.They do prefer to play ball but in the 3rd div against country sides sometimes you have to adapt to your sourndings an get on with it so to speak ,which they did.

Tizz/Bog/Reb,,,,,any report.Sounds like a belter.

olachico
29/09/2008, 2:58 PM
I have no real terms of reference here as I'm new to the club - but it has been laser leveled, widened by about 10 feet and also i have been assured it was lengthened. As for the ref being influenced by the crowd?? I didnt hear the crowd shouting for the two glenthorn players to be sent off :eek:. I have never seen this particular ref before but all i will say is if he is normally like this they should pack him off to the third division or the shipping league. TERRIBLE is the word for him . One of the Glenthorn penalties was in front of me in the first half and it was harsh on Villa to say the least but the Villa one was also right in front of me in the second half and I thought the same. To be honest I thought he was blowing for a free out in both cases for the forwards leaning in!!!!! And in fairness at the rate the referee was giving penalties you really couldnt blame anyone for taking a tumble!!

29/09/2008, 9:26 PM
Highly insulted 5 of ye said macroom would beat us, they were brutal, and only for us being the worst team performance i ever played with, we'd hit them for 10. Blarney the weekend for us, premier vs 3b, they should hit us for 10 really shouldnt they!:rolleyes:

Any odds out yet from cashmans lads.

bogwarrior
30/09/2008, 11:42 AM
An unbelievable game down our way which we threw away again. An absolutely blistering start from us. Varian was like a man possessed. Leeside could not cope and we were denied a stone wall penalty in the second minute - the ref said afterwards that he couldnt give it as it was too early?! Ridiculous. Varian got his reward for a super start a few minutes later when we made it one nil. Should have been out of site at this stage as we were tearing leeside apart on both flanks but couldnt finish. Ultimately we paid for this as leeside came back into the game and equalised. We took the lead again with a thuderbolt from harry from the edge of the area. Delea then equalised after walking thru the kinsale defence and slotting home very nicely for an excellent goal. Second half was more of the same. Kinsale made a few subs which had a good impact and took the lead 3-2. A lovely freekick from Micky brad into the top corner. Kinsale could have scored a few more and should have. Didnt find the break thru. Leeside equalised with a well taken free kick of their own which i think our keeper may be disappointed with. It was his debut and overall he gave an excellent performance.

After taking the lead three times we're obviously disgusted with this result. We're conceding far too many goals unfortunately and it has to stop. Up front we're frightening. Capable of scoring goals. Just gotta help the backline and our keeper out a bit. A massive game against bally on saturday! Cant wait!

Sorry havnt been on in a while. ~Very busy man!

zohan
30/09/2008, 3:59 PM
does anyone find since the 5 euro charge for yellow cards the refs have been throwing out a lot of yellow cards?? i also think ted callnan is a joke of a referee

olachico
30/09/2008, 4:16 PM
While with my previous club , Ted showed a first yellow card to a player and then followed it with a red?? Now as far as I know you either show a straight red or a first yellow, followed by a second yellow, then a red ! In fairness he did rescind the red after the game and send a report to the AUL so no ban followed. But lets just say it was pointed out to him at the time but he was having none of it. In fairness we can all come on here and criticise refs which i do myself but YOU'D WANT TO BE MAD TO BE A REF so what can you do?? - On the subject of the yellow cards I think the refs are trying to hit the clubs hard in the pocket now so as to prevent dissent in the future - they dont get any of the money but if players are getting banned over silly avoidable yellow cards they might think twice about mouthing off to the ref in future thus making the refs job easier

olachico
30/09/2008, 5:31 PM
And apologies to Bella - given ye're win over what i know to be a good second division side in Glen Celtic i should have picked ye to beat Macroom :(

30/09/2008, 7:08 PM
And apologies to Bella - given ye're win over what i know to be a good second division side in Glen Celtic i should have picked ye to beat Macroom :(

:D:D...

olachico
01/10/2008, 6:32 AM
I would however Bella have to back Blarney Street to beat ye ( maybe not by ten goals though)

01/10/2008, 8:51 AM
I understand, :-) their in premier arent they??

out red
01/10/2008, 9:10 AM
toepoke how are ye fixed for this weekend?? us clare boys are delighted to be playing on a sat, lets just say we will make the most of our trip to leeside

olachico
01/10/2008, 9:54 AM
Yep Bella - They are in the Premier - bit of a gulf between that and the third division but whta do ye have to lose????

Towelie
01/10/2008, 10:47 AM
The kinsale leeside game was an absolute cracker as bog said.
Both freekicks were top drawer strikes(ours was better though!).
Varian destroyed leeside for the first half but faded in the second.I thought Deleas goal was the goal of the game it was a beautiful move.Just a word on the penalty,it wasnt a penalty Varian dived!

The pitch down in kinsale is perfect(the best in cork i think).Any one who has them away can look forward to playing on it.It seems to be the place to watch games aswell with 12 goals and a penalty shootout!!

pass&move
01/10/2008, 2:20 PM
Those on the list are: Brian O’Sullivan, John Kelleher, Eric Shinkwin, Darren Galvin, Mark O’Sullivan and Harry Goulding (all Grattan), Derek Delea, Steven Duncliffe, Alec Nodwell, Jason Keegan and Ricky Gettings (Leeside), Derek McCarthy, Derek Varian, Brendan Hurley, Ritchie Holland and Mick Bradfield (Kinsale), John Betts, Lawrence Betts, Antony Peelo, Paul Hogan and John Paul Thompson (Blarney Street), Antony Buckley, Shane O'Neill, Paul O’Mahony and Pakie O’Connor (Wilton), Colin Bevan (Blackstone), Gary Aherne (Grangevale), Trevor Dunlea, Craig O’Leary and Danny Long (Ballyphehane), Shane O'Donoghue (Greenmount) and Alan Healy (Castleview).

At long last Minty has called upon the services of Harry Goulding

le tizz
01/10/2008, 2:52 PM
that looks to be a well selected team, a few faces in there cause of past glories but experience can help on the day i spose

if i counted correctly there are 32 on the panel, if they all turn up and maintain interest then the aul will be broke from all the fish suppers from lennoxs after the home games and there'll be no room on the bus for the alakadoos for the away games :eek:, is minty doing it again this year ? besta luck to all involved, there's a fair spread of players and a few unknowns, is the colin bevan anything to don bevan ? aka a fcukin decent goalie !

we've the most faces on it in a couple of years and after our worst season in even more years, i might get a game next year if we dont manage to break this draw streak

i missed the game again on sat last cause got nabbed to do a days work, hoping for a comeback anyday now if the doctor signs the release papers

weather looks decent, pitches should be as good as can be so lets look forward to a good run around in pfizers on saturday, they've shaded the meetings last year so we could do with putting that strait, who knows how many goals will be flying in, i think both teams are capable of scoring for fun on the day, a big 3 points for both teams, i'll do me best to be there and give you an unbiased opinion next week ;)

bella, i just noticed the QE2 pulled into Cobh a while ago, last spin before its decommissioned, what are the chances of you gettin the keys and bringin everyone for a spin after yer cup win next w/e ?? :D

olachico
01/10/2008, 3:19 PM
Colin Bevan is Don Bevans cousin - Colin Bevan is a handy goalkeeper but plays mainly in defence now for Blackstone so dont know which position he is being considered for.

01/10/2008, 6:59 PM
ya thinking about setting a trap to sink it in cobh, so we'll have a tourist attraction down here for good.

The oscar traynor squad i have to say baffles me at times, bout fookin time shane o'neill is on it, he a quality player, but thers players on that i cant see how they make it on, i only know about 6 on it, and 3 are justified imo, not going to name names obviously. It seems he only interested in premier players no matter what the abilities of the player, the wilton lads being on this now seem to prove my point.

Onto the cup, ye might think im stupid but id be quietly confident for our game with blarney, didnt think they'd have players on the traynor squad, have they signed since last year.

toepoke
01/10/2008, 9:50 PM
[quote=out red;1031003]

toepoke how are ye fixed for this weekend?? us clare boys are delighted to be playing on a sat, lets just say we will make the most of our trip to leeside

Looking forward to meeting ye, hopefully we should have a cracking game.
More than welcome to taste the home grown Murphy's in the Anglers afterwards

toepoke
01/10/2008, 9:55 PM
At long last Minty has called upon the services of Harry Goulding

About time too. Harry has been one of the best players in the AUL for some time now and deserves it, the only thing is the one season he gets picked he's off working in the states

pass&move
02/10/2008, 7:48 AM
ya thinking about setting a trap to sink it in cobh, so we'll have a tourist attraction down here for good.

Seems to be alot of things sinking in Cobh at the minute :D:D

littleman
02/10/2008, 10:56 AM
Harry Goulding has been one of the best players in the Aul for the past 4 or 5 years an yet couldnt get a look in on the Aul panel.Now finally whan he gets called up hes in America with work,,,,but dont worry hes back in 2 weeks.

02/10/2008, 5:49 PM
Seems to be alot of things sinking in Cobh at the minute :D:D

its a cork thing;)

littleman
03/10/2008, 5:32 AM
Well Saturday we have the good fortune:rolleyes: to play Newmarket Celtic from Clare in the Senior Cup.I know little of them other than they obviously won the Clare league last year to be in the Senior Cup an thats it.This Cup is a strange one all jokes aside an Im not sure if its a good or bad thing to progress in it with all the junior competitions we have to play yet.But all the same irrelevent of competition its a home game an as usual we will give 110%.

In a way we are lucky that we have a get out of jail card so to speak,if we win great but if we didnt then at least we have the added bonus of not being knocked out of one of the competitions we would like to do well in.

This will be only our 5th game of the season so we are still a little away from what we would regards as our normal standard but with players now returning on a weekly basis its getin a little easier.Management will have the opertuinity to look at a few players no doubt so all we can do is wait for the ref to blow his whistle an get on with it,,,,,,,,,,,,,

On the local front there are some tricky games for the Premier sides in the cups,Kinsale an Bally sticks out but I'll go with Kinsale on this. Leeside may be in for a surprise in Glen Celtic,they knocked Avondales Junior Prem side out in the last round an will be well up for this game.Bella,its time to step up to the plate,Blarney Street to beat if you can.Wilton should come through an Innish ye are goin well so Kanturk will have to play well to go through.Park should ease through,Villa may struggle away to Mayfeild,Glenthorn will have a tough game against Richmond too .But no doubt there will be a shock,there always is.

The Killer B's have a rescheduled game on Sunday mornin against Watergrasshill an they will fancy addin to the good start they have had.

If I had to pick a shock exit it would be one from either Kinsale.Leeside,Glenthorn or Villa.Very tricky games for those sides in fairness as the teams they play are will fancy there chances.

Best of luck to all.

Innishvilla
03/10/2008, 11:03 AM
Hi all is it just me or is there something after happening to Casement Celtic?
Guy I work with plays 3rd division they were due to play them last week but game was off with a good few days notice (game was not on in Casement Park so couldn't be pitch related).
And I've just noticed both Killumney and Blackstone are through to the next round of the FAI junior, both sides were due to play Casement teams???

pacman
03/10/2008, 1:28 PM
Brian O’Sullivan, John Kelleher, Eric Shinkwin, Darren Galvin, Mark O’Sullivan and Harry Goulding (all Grattan), Derek Delea, Steven Duncliffe, Alec Nodwell, Jason Keegan and Ricky Gettings (Leeside), Derek McCarthy, Derek Varian, Brendan Hurley, Ritchie Holland and Mick Bradfield (Kinsale), John Betts, Lawrence Betts, Antony Peelo, Paul Hogan and John Paul Thompson (Blarney Street), Antony Buckley, Shane O'Neill, Paul O’Mahony and Pakie O’Connor (Wilton), Colin Bevan (Blackstone), Gary Aherne (Grangevale), Trevor Dunlea, Craig O’Leary and Danny Long (Ballyphehane), Shane O'Donoghue (Greenmount) and Alan Healy (Castleview).

I find this a strange selection to be honest. 5 from Blarney Street, 5 from Leeside??? Yet not a singler player from Park, Coachford, Glenthorn, Villa.

What I will say though is that there area lot of good forwards in this list.

03/10/2008, 3:08 PM
[QUOTE=littleman;1032376]The Killer B's have a rescheduled game on Sunday mornin against Watergrasshill an they will fancy addin to the good start they have had.

If I had to pick a shock exit it would be one from either Kinsale.Leeside,Glenthorn or Villa.Very tricky games for those sides in fairness as the teams they play are will fancy there chances..[/to QUOTE]

And blarney:D:D

Who have the "killer b's" played so far i was at the loss to boscos alright, strange one that one.
We beat leeview and macroom, leeview had a bit about them, macroom were total cack.

minty
03/10/2008, 3:37 PM
Harry Goulding is not up to this standard and the only reason why we picked him is cos we know that he's in the States and that means our pitches will be safe from his terrible touch!Hopefully picking him will shut some of his complaing fans up!!

junglegym
03/10/2008, 7:48 PM
CORK AREA . FAI JUNIOR 3RD RD.
1 Carrigaline Utd. M.S.L or Grattan Utd v Ballyvolane or Carrigaline Utd A.U.L. .
2 Everton or Leeds "A" v Waterloo or Douglas Hall .
3 Clonakilty or Cobh Wanderers v Kilumney Utd. .
4 Park Utd. Or Richmond "B" v Greenwood "A" or Hibernians .
5 Crofton Clt. Or Kinsale v Casement Clt. "A" or Everton Utd. .
6 Glen Clt. Or Leeside F.C. v Midleton or Greenmount Rangers .
7 Wilton Utd. Or Glenvale v Knockavilla or Drinagh Rangers.
8 Innishvilla or Kanturk v Donoughmore or Rathcoole Rovers .
9 Marlboro Trust or Ballincollig v St.Mary's or Ringmahon Rangers .
10 Castleview or Blarney Utd. v Mayfield Utd A.U.L. or Villa Utd .
11 Dillons cross Ath.or Tramore Ath v Droumree or Dunbar Clt. .
12 Coachford or Brooklodge Utd. v Glenthorne Clt or Richmond "A" .
13 Springfield "B" or Blarney St.Ath. v Blackstone Rovers .
14 Ringmahon Rgs "B" or UCC Utd.C.B.&S.L v Buttevant or Ballyphehane Clt. .
Games to be played on or before weekending 1st/2nd November 2008.

bogwarrior
03/10/2008, 8:23 PM
Well littleman i can see your point about the senior cup being a bit of an annoyance but we in Kinsale have always enjoyed our excursions against the senior teams. Cast your mind back 4 years ago we got to the semi final and played a competitive game against Cobh ramblers down in theirs. It was one of the most memorable games of my career and we gave a good account of ourselves. To play a competitive game against a team like that was phenomenal and there were several hundred people there which people like us i dare say rarely get to experience...go out and enjoy it i say and pray that if you win u get a big gun like rockmount or avondale in the next round. Test urself against the best and all that.

Big game tomorro for us against bally. Strange to be saying it in october but this is a big game in regard to our title aspirations. Could be another cracker. Weather is supposed to be terrible tho but sure we'll play it by ear.

Aul squad is a little bit suspect in my opinion. I do think park are deserving of at least 2 players on it. Their winger and centre back from last season from what i recall. I dont blame minty for picking mostly premier division players. You're going to get the odd player in the lower divisions who is capable of playing at this standard but not many. You have to question why they are down there in the first place..

Good luck to all involved anyway and good luck to grattan tomorro in the munster senior.

littleman
03/10/2008, 9:43 PM
Its not that we dont value playin senior sides Bog its just havin not many games played in either league or cup we would have prefered a few more games under our belt.Our new signings wont be able to play due to the 14 day rule an we still have a few bodies away with work an a wedding so though we will field as strong a side as possible Im not going to be overly confident an say we have a home banker.

Next week we have a free weekend so it will be the week after we play Carrigaline Msl in the Fai,an with the way the draw is we could if things go well its possible we could meet there Aul side in the next round,Whats the chances of that eh,,,,,,

I do agree with ya about your game against Ballypheane,could have an awful big say on how your season goes,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,but my money is on ye

With regards to the Aul selection,I think the previous comment posted by minty explains a lot about some of his selections.He reGards a player who has been a major factor in our rise over the last 3 seaons to be substandard.In 3 seasons we have lost only 3 league games,reached the last 8 an 16 of the Fai,the last 8 of the Mjc,a Mossie an 2 Aoh semis,,,yet the management of the AUL thinks one of the main reasons we have achived that is sub standard,so much for the people in charge.................

.Leeside have 5,Blarney Street an Ballypheane have 9 between them yet for me only Peelo from the St,Long from Bally an to be perfectly honest theres knowone from Leeside for me that I would consider startin 11.If I was Park or Glenthorn I'd be stunned.Glenthorn an Park may not be Mintys cup of tea but they win games an are effective.Coachford have had a great start The latter 2 top 4 sides last season,Park top 4 the season before.Blarney Street are strugglin for a win an Ballypheane are a disaster waitin to happen yet they have multiple players deemed good enough.Coachford had a bald center half last year who was excellent,Micky Forde is every bit as good as Gettings or Delea if not better.Some of the team picks itself in fairness but what worries me is what they fill it in with around them.

The worst thing for me personally is I think it is a bad sign when a manager has to be told how good a player is,he should be able to spot it himself.Take Grattan for example,Figo an Danny Dunne an our flair players get all the plaudits but those same players need players with them to get the ball an allow them to do strut their stuff.Its the sum of the parts as I have said before that makes us a good side,,,,,,from lookin at the sum of his parts he must be terrible at sums...........

For my 2 cents worth if I wanted to pick the best side you couldnt go far wrong by chosin the best players from the most consistant sides from last year.Yes there may be excelltent players in the lower leagues or inconsistant Prem sides but what you want is winners an winners want to play for the best sides an arent afriad to move to those best sides.That squad for me is full of far to many players who are on it by name or past deeds rather than form,only time will tell.....................

littleman
03/10/2008, 10:19 PM
Seein as im on a roll I might as well give it a go,heres my 2 cents

Hurley

Bradfield / Brain O'Sullivan / Shinkwin / Peelo

Cans / Goulding / Betts / Galvin

Figo /Vairan

Subs fro Long/Dunlea/Holland/Bevan/Mcarthy,,,

an no doubt someone will disagree with this.

olachico
03/10/2008, 10:57 PM
Gary Aherne is a 2nd division goalkeeper- was playing 3rd division last year but is a very good keeper and should really be playing at a higher level - he played a lot of his football with Douglas Hall

I am shocked that Micky Forde has not made the squad

Even before I got involved with Glenthorn I used to watch their games in St Aidans (before they went to Killowen) and he really impressed me, now having seen him at close quarters I definitely think he merits a place in at least the 32 man squad!! Strange that a team that came third last year and is unbeaten so far doesnt have a single player in the panel

What are the chances of Patsy Freyne making the panel?? He has signed for Glenthorn apparently!

As someone who has spent a lot of time knocking around the lower divisions I can safely say there are some very good players playing at a lower level than they should be simply due to the fact that they want to play on the same teams as their buddies.

olachico
03/10/2008, 11:44 PM
What about the Italian keeper playing for Wilton- Dont know his name, he has always impressed me

littleman
03/10/2008, 11:58 PM
Slight problem there,Mr Italy(I call him that because I dont know his name) was actually supposed to be first choice last year.He trained,played well in the training matchs by all accounts.But,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,when they went to play WCB down in Skibb an he went to tog off he was dropped there an then for Brendan Hurley who had only just been called up.Where upon he went ape an called the manager everyname under the sun an questioned his frame of mind,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,dont belive me you can ask the Rise if its true:D

Considering the age of some of the players he has called up I really wouldnt joke about Patsy Fryne gettin a call,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

olachico
04/10/2008, 1:37 AM
Who was joking about Patsy Freyne?? Got a shock when I saw him on the sideline at the Glenthorn V Villa game

I wouldnt blame Mr Italy for going nuts so if thats the way he was treated!!!

pass&move
04/10/2008, 8:40 AM
Who was joking about Patsy Freyne?? Got a shock when I saw him on the sideline at the Glenthorn V Villa game

Patsy even to old for the over 35s Floodlit League

olachico
04/10/2008, 4:10 PM
Patsy played for 60 minutes today against Richmond - he did well:)

04/10/2008, 4:28 PM
City scum!!!!!:D:D

06/10/2008, 1:34 AM
Well we lost 1 nil. Honestly they could have beaten us 4-5 nil ,but on the flipside we could have been up 3 nil at one stage, a stonewall peno not given(in which their CB said to the ref it was a peno, id no choice but tp bing him down) an offside which was never offside and two great saves by the keeper. But the destroyed us possesion wise and football wise. The ref came in after and gave us fierce credit said in all his years he never seen a 3rd division side give a prem side such a game, and that was good enough for me. Alot of positives to be taken from it for us.

Any other results

boshea
06/10/2008, 7:34 AM
Patsy played for 60 minutes today against Richmond - he did well:)

Glenthorn Celtic 1 - 0 Richmond

2 minutes to go in extra time......the *******s :D

He did...was playing up front for richmond myself and had an enjoyable game......felt we probably should have won it.....had what I thought were the better of the chances to score, and with a little more composure in front of goal we'd have had 2/3 goals handy enough.......live and learn I suppose!

pacman
06/10/2008, 9:18 AM
Seein as im on a roll I might as well give it a go,heres my 2 cents

Hurley

Bradfield / Brain O'Sullivan / Shinkwin / Peelo

Cans / Goulding / Betts / Galvin

Figo /Vairan

Subs fro Long/Dunlea/Holland/Bevan/Mcarthy,,,

an no doubt someone will disagree with this.

I know you'll obviously have a bias littleman but I would say no way should Cans be on the team or Figo to be honest.
And Long on the bench?? unless his fitness has hugely improved this year i would say no hope

le tizz
07/10/2008, 2:09 PM
i think the oscar team is a difficult scenario for the coaching staff, whoever takes it over will have definate ties to a club and that somewhat blinkers the players that he will pick, the aul throw a bit of cash at the setup but we seems to be behind when it comes to performances, if littleman had his way then the entire grattan team would play but i dont think he'd admit any wrong doing if they didnt get any results, out of the 6 players selected for the team from grattan you have them all in the starting 11 weeman, i think you'll have to accept that everyone else may not quite agree with you, the defense has 3 out of 4 (i'm not convinced ye have the best defense in the world, and i'm certainly not saying that kinsale do either based on the past few years) and the midfield 2 from 4 with figo up front,

i'm not trying to pick holes in you weeman but how many goals did figo get last year, or cans/harry for that matter ? just on that, derek macarthy has consistently gotten the golden boot or close for the past few years, as a player i'd pick him every time before any of the grattan players but thats just my opinion for what its worth, i'm sure the leesiders would have delea starting every week too

bringing a squad together from north & southsides and getting them to play seems to be the hard bit and not entirely the team of players that are picked, i agree with some comments that certain players are there from past glories....... i've said it all before,

besta luck to all involved in any case, be great to get a run going and regain some respect for the cork footballers

i caught the last 30 mins of our game vs ballyphehane, it was one way traffic and 2 great goals by derek mc topped a solid performance (one was a pen but good break to win the pen), we had a few players out so its all coming along grand at the seaside, no mistakes this week in the fai away to crofton and we'll be just dandy on our new pitch with the coming rainy seasons !

on another note, if patsy is starting and starring for glenthorn then i'm not sure if they'll be the threat they think this year, i've huge respect for the man and played against him a number of times but unless he's inherited a new pair of pins i'm not convinced he'll terrorise defenses for the whole season, good luck to him though- a great servant for cork football over the years and defenders look out, he knows how to use his body to protect himself and the ball, a good man to watch for any young fella trying to improve

same as it were so running into cup season, is there any sign of the mossie gettin off the ground ??
no giant killings to date in the FAI- tie of the round prob coachford v glenthorn, what are the chances of a red card in that kick fest :D

tizz out

rebelrover
07/10/2008, 2:37 PM
Well gents, its been a long sabbatocal, hello to all again. I havent been in Cork the last few months but I should be back playing with the leeside by Christmas all going well. The one game I managed to catch thus far was our home loss to Wilton and we were very poor to be honest. I believe things have picked up considerably since then though and it looks like there's a bit of depth in the league this year also with all teams capable of beating eachother on their day. Seems like the gratts will be the team to beat again in the prem too.

As for the Oscar Traynor debate, here's my tuppence worth. But bearing in mind im basing my opinion on last year's form players. I must admit the only players from Leeside I would have in the first 16 are J Keegan (on the team) + Dulea (defo in squad) + possibly Ricky. No others currently merit selection based on their form. Obviously Joe Lyons would be there if he was around.

I havent seen Gratts this year so I cant comment and I would certainly include a number of their midfielders and attackers. not so sure about their defenders though.

Either way, lets hope the 16 most deserving players make the squad.