View Full Version : Cork AUL 2008/09
Shilts
23/12/2008, 10:11 AM
I need to correct you there Shints , we only played Bally once & that was our first game which was 3-3.
I need to correct you too... its Shilts HAHA! But I've been called worse tho'!!!
As regard the above - I stand corrected... but I never let the truth get in the way of a good storey!!! :)
littleman
23/12/2008, 10:24 AM
T'is lucky he didnt leave out the "n" or the "L":D:D:D
casilles
23/12/2008, 10:27 AM
well done to the aul on a great come back a home draw now vs Wexford awaits them. I do believe this is an opinionated site and I was offering my 2 cents on the subject, just how I saw it.
On the giving and taking of points while i agree 2 Premier teams folding is a disater a precedent has been set already. My own club Blarney St would benifit from the of taking back points [we drew with Bally 1-1 all start of the season} but they be the rules so we have to stick with them.
with it now looking like a14 match league will the Aul run the Mossy Lihane? why should the Premier clubs not have A cup of there own to play for? witk no relegation some teams wth no chance of winning the league will be just costing along
littleman
23/12/2008, 11:56 AM
If Bally go theres only 8 of us left,anyone could still win the bloody thing.An what if someone else decides they had enough,we may not even have to play any more games at this rate.You can't seriously think its ok to be givin out points hand over foot just because the rule book says so.
"You apply rules when there are normal problems to be sorted,not when abnormal problems arise.Then you have to improvise an do whats fairest for all the teams that are left.The best way to sort this out would be remove the points that were awarded to any or all teams that have or will have to play either Villa or Ballypheane if they do indeed go.Then at least who ever wins the league will have to do so by winning games fair an square."
Horse24
23/12/2008, 12:49 PM
Littleman, Im afraid its just luck when you play someone.
A related example is like the Champions League, Liverpool would destroy Madrid tomorrow but who knows what form either are in when they meet in February.
Which is the fairer - give points to those who didnt play them or reward those who have failed to beat them?
The only way is to give everyone the points. If someone gains 6, then so be it - that would mean they have really earned the points they have ammassed to date.
The only thing that makes it worse is the fact it could be four games for free.
The 5 year plan is to be used to find out what clubs are stable and on sound footing. So Clubs folding is one step back for two forward. I just hope we are involved when the 5 years are up. We want to be, but other factors may decide that.
Can I ask what the situation is with your Dressing Rooms Littleman?
littleman
23/12/2008, 3:43 PM
We were stuck in red tape for 8 or 9 months with the city council.They were bein awkard because a big develpoer wanted the ground an some big wig in the council had made a half arsed promise to him know doubt.We only recived the relevent clearence 2 weeks ago from the city council in the form of a special document that now has to go up to the funding dept in Dublin to have there legal dept give it the once over.Then its straight forward from there an we will be makin a start with the groundworks.We are pretty confident the ground works will start in January(please dont let this comment come back to haunt me).At this minute the dressing rooms are complete an sittin on dockside in Liverpool awaiting delivery.Resplendent in blue an white colours too I may add,so showers all round before the end of the season;)
pacman
23/12/2008, 4:31 PM
We were stuck in red tape for 8 or 9 months with the city council.They were bein awkard because a big develpoer wanted the ground an some big wig in the council had made a half arsed promise to him know doubt.We only recived the relevent clearence 2 weeks ago from the city council in the form of a special document that now has to go up to the funding dept in Dublin to have there legal dept give it the once over.Then its straight forward from there an we will be makin a start with the groundworks.We are pretty confident the ground works will start in January(please dont let this comment come back to haunt me).At this minute the dressing rooms are complete an sittin on dockside in Liverpool awaiting delivery.Resplendent in blue an white colours too I may add,so showers all round before the end of the season;)
And when will ye be sorting out ye're pitch littleman???
pacman
27/12/2008, 7:08 PM
Grattan 0 - 2 Glenvale in the AOH. Huge shock, Littleman, any report?
Also there are no premier fixtures next weekend, anyone know why?
olachico
28/12/2008, 2:51 AM
A shock alright there littleman!! Glenvale are a poor second division side - what happened???
streetscene
28/12/2008, 2:50 PM
very tough game this morning in mjc down in crossbarry played in shocking and on a pitch that was obviously played on yesterday. but conditions are there for both teams and to be fair to knockavilla they adapted a lot better than us in the first half and went in at half time 2 nil up.we could not get out of our own half and looked in big trouble but made it in to half time only two down. few changes made at half time most important being the introduction of new signing derek o connor who made a huge difference and grabbed the two goals that brought the game into extra time.to be fair we were a different team second half and deserved our goals. john betts made huge difference in centre midfield and his brother lawerence came more in to it and with derek always looking dangerous you felt it was only time till we got one. first goal came with 15 mins to go a deft little header at the back post and second came with 6 to go. a great finish with a rocket in to top corner. with them being reduced to 10 men going into extra time there was really only one team in it at this stage and when we scored 5 mins into extra time you could not see any way back for them and we saw things out fairly comfortably till the end to set up a mouth watering clash with the holders leeside at home in the next round.
fair play to knockavilla who we should definetley see up premier next year and who would hold their own up there two in my opinion. very competitive and some nice players. only problem could be their discipline but a team to watch outv for i reckon
also special word of praise for referee gene stephens who was class throughout. fair and up with the game be no harm if rest of referees had a look at how he goes about it.
big shock up in gratten park alright. spoke with few glenvale players who said it was totally deserved and the one gratten player i spoke to said more or less the same.
not sure why there are no premier fixtures next weekend altough we are playing buttervant in aoh so there are some teams involved
casilles
29/12/2008, 5:33 PM
i see littleman is logged on
I can just see a rant coming:p
littleman
29/12/2008, 5:33 PM
gutless
casilles
29/12/2008, 5:48 PM
I was talking to a few Glenvale players and a few Grattan players St Stephens night and the feeling io got off the Gratts players was all they had to do was turn up, latter on while talking to the Glenvale crew and there attitude was "really up against it but we will give it our best"
2 contrasting attitudes I would say.
Didnt see the game myself Sat but from 1 of our own Lilleman the wanted it more, Cushy bossed the middle and there 2 centre halfs gave ye nothing?
junglegym
29/12/2008, 9:11 PM
On the subject of the worst pitch - Silverheights all the way for me!!! !!!
Jesus , Has anyone seen Clashduv road lately ? ( How could you play on that week in / week out ? )
We were lucky to get out of there this weekend with the right result. Happy to leave with a ticket for the Aoh 3rd round.
Thats the only thing we can take out of this game.
Grattan out and also Leeside struggled . Is that the joys of the cup or what eh.... :confused:
Streetwise
29/12/2008, 10:30 PM
junglegym clashduv road was always a shocking pitch has it still got that barren patch in the middle thats how upsets occur
junglegym
29/12/2008, 10:47 PM
junglegym clashduv road was always a shocking pitch has it still got that barren patch in the middle thats how upsets occur
Yep could do with about 10 loads of topsoil around the centre of the pitch if anyone around Togher wants to offload some :D
Streetwise
30/12/2008, 7:50 PM
question i was asked at work last northside team to win aoh cup
junglegym
30/12/2008, 7:59 PM
question i was asked at work last northside team to win aoh cup
Grattan 1995/96 vs Togher 2-1 after a replay
Streetwise
30/12/2008, 8:14 PM
i thought as much happy new year
streetscene
30/12/2008, 9:32 PM
hard to believe its been that long since the aoh was back on the northside.. can remember villa leaving it behind them few years back against greenmount.. think rockville were unlucky once or twice around 2000-2001 against leeside too.. hopefully that stat can change this year.. few good teams left from our neck of the woods
le tizz
30/12/2008, 10:46 PM
alright folks, got the bullet from work a few months back (too much time spent on the internet i'll bet) so i'm grafting during the day now without the help of a computer, which is me explainin the lack of posts from tizz
good to see all's busy on the site, the streets are busy keepin us up to date with the goss, fair play, some results up & down all over in the run up to the hols but as we all know it'll all go down to march or beyond before we see who's really interested in silver
bad to see bally struggling to stay in the league, i dont think there#ll be many teams lying down cause of the comfort at not getting relegated and it'll be the team who gets the points on the board against the would be contenders who'll be on top at the end
we're off to sligo for our sins next weekend so will try to be focused, long way to go for a spin so we'll be hoping for a good display and the right result, besta luck to all cork teams in action in the fai over the coming week, and fair play to the oscar lads for a great result in limerick
bit of the whooping cough and more at the seaside sees a few of our lads under the weather but we'll give a good account of ourselves on the road
bedtime here, telly is rubbish and we're not allowed out for pint or jonesy will have us doin laps till the end of the year ;)
enjoy the rest of the hols from all by the sea
littleman
31/12/2008, 7:01 AM
There seems to be a new game going that comments can be passed an Littleman will blow his top in defence of all things Grattan an go off on a rant.Sorry folks aint happening especially with the comments coming from some of our newest members.
With regards to the Grattan / Glenvale game the remark about some of our so called lads takin a win for granted,what exactly warrented us takin a win for granted ,especially seeing our record over the last 6 or 7 games, an especially at home.Its not like we'v been on fire or we're strugglin for players,we actually had 16 warm up,one pulled up in the warm up but that still left us with 15 strong players. That was 16 players not counting ,Harry Goulding didnt tog off because hes only back,Dalton was sick,Shinkwin was injured,David Byrne suspended an Tommy Martin workin.So again we have a seriously strong squad but we just cant seen to get any string of results.....
Its great when things are goin your way,not so great when there not an the harder we tried against Glenvale the worse we got.Any idiot lookin at the players we have would be stumped as to why we are not wipe'n the board with all around us but sometimes all the talent in the world isnt enough.You have to dig deep look at yourself an ask if your being honest are you givin all you can or just goin through the paces.......................
Lastly lads,I fully understand the frustration that surrounds any comments I make to do with the white elephant that has become our dressing rooms.I'm being 100% honest when I say it's wreckin my head but all I know is what I'm being told an that is we expect the work to start in January.With regards to Pacmans comment about our pitch,we got a lotto grant towards the dressing rooms,we didnt win the lotto so our pitch will just have to wait.Please accept my apoligys on behalf of my club for any bumps/divots,wet or high grass you may have experienced on any recent visit.I will speak to our head groundsman an we may have to have some people flogged so as it dosent happen again................:rolleyes:
streetscene
31/12/2008, 9:55 AM
come on littleman.. it was probably the biggest shock of the year in the aul so far and if we are not going to discuss it on this forum then we might as well pack it in.. regardless of how long anybody is on it.. we take the good with the bad and deal with it.. nothing personal
streetscene
31/12/2008, 10:18 AM
is it possible for the aul to scrap the mossy linnane cup totally this year and let the remaining 8 teams in premier league play 3 rounds of league games. all points awarded for games against villa or bally could be scrapped.. i think by my reckoning that would leave everyone playing 21 games with everyone having to play matches and earning the points instead of just being handed them for nothing.. they might have to extend the league by a week or two but would that be such a big deal.. i think thats what they do in league of ireland.. i know that its probably not fair on teams who wont be challenging for the league to scrap the mossy but its far more important to make the league more credible to win.. imo.. and does anyone know for definite if bally are gone or what..
pacman
31/12/2008, 10:38 AM
With regards to Pacmans comment about our pitch,we got a lotto grant towards the dressing rooms,we didnt win the lotto so our pitch will just have to wait.Please accept my apoligys on behalf of my club for any bumps/divots,wet or high grass you may have experienced on any recent visit.I will speak to our head groundsman an we may have to have some people flogged so as it dosent happen again................:rolleyes:
c'mon littleman, you know I'm only slagging......
littleman
31/12/2008, 12:27 PM
I know t'was a shock lads,a big big shock.Especially to me watchin it in my ususal perch near the bottom corner flag but still some of the reports I'v heard are pure clap trap.We missed chance after chance an at a time when we should have just kept pluggin away we threw the towel in,simple as that.A certain idiot even thought because we were fav's in the bookies an some of the lads had a flutter that we threw the game away,how retarded is that for a comment to make.We lost because we wernt good enough on the day to win,an when I would expect players to stand up an be counted some choose to throw in the towel.When things arnt goin your way you need luck,an when luck aint there for you that is when you as a person/player are really tested,how strong is your spirit an all that.Come back from that an then you can call yourself a real player.
casilles
31/12/2008, 4:14 PM
Come on Littleman you can go overboard a tad, you have to take the good with the bad. First few weeks of this year we were gettin in from pillar to post but those be the joys of it. and just because we are new to the forums doesnt mean we should sit back and put a finger to our mouths.you posted this only last week. you do suffer from rose tinted glasses.:ball:
On pure form for me the best center half in the Aul at the minute is Eric Shinkwin ,theres knowone near him at the minute.
Brian O'Sullivan is highly fancied to replace the lad Walsh from St Michaels who has 50 caps, but Brian is still very young.I would be very surprised if he dosent get a call in the new year though as it seems its a case of when an not if for him to get a call up.
Figo on his day has nothing to compare with in Cork,junior or Senior for me.He's been tapped up left right an center by the MSL sides but he is Grattan captain an this is where his heart lies.Well if Gerry Smith wanted a box to box player he could do himself no harm by havin a look at Cans .
On other rumours IS IT TRUE CANS HAS GONE TO ST MARYS?
pacman
31/12/2008, 4:48 PM
I know t'was a shock lads,a big big shock.Especially to me watchin it in my ususal perch near the bottom corner flag but still some of the reports I'v heard are pure clap trap.We missed chance after chance an at a time when we should have just kept pluggin away we threw the towel in,simple as that.A certain idiot even thought because we were fav's in the bookies an some of the lads had a flutter that we threw the game away,how retarded is that for a comment to make.We lost because we wernt good enough on the day to win,an when I would expect players to stand up an be counted some choose to throw in the towel.When things arnt goin your way you need luck,an when luck aint there for you that is when you as a person/player are really tested,how strong is your spirit an all that.Come back from that an then you can call yourself a real player.
how did ye're new players get on Littleman?
Must say Derek O'Connor is a great signing for Blareny Street, not sure how long he'll stick around for once the GAA starts back.
03/01/2009, 5:30 PM
We beat castle today on penos, tough game their a good team, two league games should be good
wats happening with grattan at the moment? i saw mark o sull playing for marys junior yesterday? is there going to be another mass exedous now that there out of the aoh????
streetscene
04/01/2009, 10:12 AM
blarney st 3- buttevant 1
one nil down after 2 mins again but back on level terms after 10 we were never really in any trouble in this one.. went in at half time 3-1 up and really could have racked up 7 or 8 second half but for some bad finishing and over doing it.. very comfortable throughout with jp thompson grabbing 2 and gary coughlan the other.. colin hourihan just signed from blackstone came on second half for his debut and settled in well while our other new signing derek o connor was class throughout and could prove a huge asset to us i think.. eoin cremin was back amongst the subs as was stevey walsh so the squad starting to take a bit of shape at last..looking forward to welcoming coachford to fairfield next sat in the league.. should be a good game with a big 3 points up for grabs.. jungle jim was spotted up in the stands in the fairfield yesyerday taking notes:p so no doubt they will be up for it too..
as for marko sullivan zohan i think its true that he has gone back to marys but on the other hand harry goulding was a watching our match yesterday so he is definetley back.. i know which one i would rather half in my team anyday..
Horse24
04/01/2009, 4:49 PM
We were haunted to get over Bosco's yesterday. 2 down with 4 minutes to go, we won 4-2 aet. Poor performance, but quarter finals now is all that counts.
Streetscene, Colin Hourigan is a good player who never really fulfilled his potential with us. A 4 game ban lasted a long time over the winter months and spoiled his season a bit. The new manager this season brought a centre half with him, and our other centre half is an AUL panellist, so his chances were limited. I hope it works out for him.
What do ye know of Villa player Ken Lee?
Jason Forde is playing very well for us.
Whats the latest on Ballyphehane?
casilles
04/01/2009, 5:59 PM
Streetscene, Colin Hourigan is a good player who never really fulfilled his potential with us. A 4 game ban lasted a long time over the winter months and spoiled his season a bit. The new manager this season brought a centre half with him, and our other centre half is an AUL panellist, so his chances were limited. I hope it works out for him.
What do ye know of Villa player Ken Lee?
Jason Forde is playing very well for us.
Whats the latest on Ballyphehane?
From what I seen of Hourigan against Buttervant and from before with yerselves he is just what Blarney St need a tough hard no holding back kind of player. At times The street seem to be too kind and can be bossed around. said at the start they needed an above and a goalscorer, I believe they have got both{ Derek O Conner been the goalscorer]. Nice make up to the squad and who knows maybe another 1 or 2???:cool:
On Ken he was out training with Blarney St after Villa folded and seemed to have the right attitude, was talkin to him over Christmas and he said he enjoyed his time with yer manager before so said why not wich is fair enough, Jason is avery good player on his day if it aint going right for him after 10 mins you might as well take him off.:D
latest on Ballyphehane rumour has it the AUL have giving them a few weeks grace to sort themselves out and i can tell you it aint gone down to well with the old Villa crew asthe asked the AUL for a week or 2 and were told no way!!!:confused:
junglegym
04/01/2009, 10:16 PM
.. jungle jim was spotted up in the stands in the fairfield yesyerday taking notes:p so no doubt they will be up for it too..
I've been taking notes far longer than last weekend on your club streetscene and without doubt ye are heading in the right direction. I watched ye coast through the Prem. A last season and unfortunately came up against an exceptional team in Wilton for the top prize but im sure being in the Premier is what ye would have accepted if offered before the season began.
Must compliment the groundsman in the fairfield. He must have been working overtime over Christmas ;)
I felt ye needed a new striker and your after sorting that problem out. As said before if the GAA dont come calling he'll be a big asset for the rest of the season.
After beating Kinsale twice this year I may be after convincing Streetwise to lump on a small sum for ye to capture the AOH. With yet another home tie against lesser opposition I think ye will be looking at the last 16 and thinking Why Not ?
Thats enough Compliments for one night.
So hopefully we'll take the 3pts next Sat. and leave you pondering for another week. :p
Yoda01
05/01/2009, 1:00 PM
hi lads, can anyone elaborate on the transfer situation this year? like how many teams can you sign for in any given time and during the window etc....
casilles
05/01/2009, 3:49 PM
ah still a long way to go in all comps, still in the MJC AOH and plenty of games still left in the league, didnt hear anything about the Mossie so????
Lookin foward to the game Sat as it is felt The Street left it behind them down Junglegyms way at the start of the season.
On Derek and the GAA - With the way the GAA season is organised in Cork he should be available every week{Snr & Intermedaite leagues played mostly on Sun at 2} Hopefully Vincents win 1st rnd and with Cork still involved there dont be many games played until Sept/Oct-
Any tranfer rumours down Coachford, Kinsale,Leeside,Park????
Horse24
05/01/2009, 6:13 PM
hi lads, can anyone elaborate on the transfer situation this year? like how many teams can you sign for in any given time and during the window etc....
You can play for two teams in a season I believe. Im not sure how many you can sign for or even if it matters
littleman
05/01/2009, 6:50 PM
Happy new year lads an I for one am delighted to have the 2nd half of the season to look forward too for makin up what we managed to do to ourselves in the first half.I'll start by confirmin that Cans has gone back to Marys.Best of luck to him.I't was no great surprise after the defeat to Glenvale.
On the Mossie I was told today that it will be run off shortly(as in the next 2 or 3 weeks)an be in the same format as last years.
With regards to the transfer thing,it depends on who you ask.To say its a grey area is an understatement.The Aul say you can only sign for 2 clubs,an register for 3 ????.The MFA said you can play for 2 an register for 3,an you can actually resign for the first club you were with due to a loop hole because technically they are one of the 2 clubs you played with(an example is Cans ,signed for Marys,transfered to us an returned to them).The Fai junior secretary told me that technically the rule only applies to the pro game an they hope to implent a rule specifally for junior/senior football next season an there fore each league is to adhear as close as posible to the ruling in the junior hand book.The plot thickened when I spoke to the FAI representitive for Munster,he said 100% that you were allowed to transfer twice in one season.My best advice if you are interested in leavin or joinin a club is to wing it.
Casilles, look man if I got a call in the mornin from Mick O'Brien or Gerry Smith an they wanted to know who were the players I'd say were good enough for selection I'd stick exactly with what I said,those said players ,plus Macarthy an Varian.There's nothin else in the Aul as much as I hate to say it..As for us a few bad results do not make a bad players an thankfully we are lucky to be in the position where our fate is in our own hands with respect to the league an Mossie.
With regards to the Villa lads who came on board they are a treat to have,they havent missed a training session yet .There attitude is top notch. Keith was thrown in at the deep end at center half an Jonny had to come on when we were chasin the game so it might not have been the best of games to have a look at them but I am confident that they will be excellent players for us.
As for Ballypheane,today I was told that they might not even have enough players left registered at the club to field a side,Blarney/Casement an Everton all MSL seem to be the lucky encumbents of those players.Its a caSe of when an not if I'm afriad.:(
Lastly Dillon X 2 Westport 3,the stuff dreams are made off
Tizz Bog excellent result.
Nearly forgot,our game away to Wilton has been changed to Sunday morning,ko at 10:45 in the Farm
Innishvilla
06/01/2009, 8:01 AM
Yeah I forgot to post yesterday. I agree Wee guy, well done Kinsale, a trip to Sligo just after Christmas is a tough one well done, and fair play Dillons X... To go that close against one of the favourites for the FAI Junior is a great achievement, anyone with a report on either game???
Yoda01
06/01/2009, 8:13 AM
thanks for the info littleman, i think i've mad a boo boo by leaving my last team to sign for a new one and want out!
littleman
06/01/2009, 6:18 PM
At least Yoda you have the chance to make good your mistake.A lot of lads wouldnt have the guts to admit movin was a mistake.Best of luck goin back an any info ya need if it gets a bit awkward dont hesitate to ask.
le tizz
06/01/2009, 8:36 PM
Yeah I forgot to post yesterday. I agree Wee guy, well done Kinsale, a trip to Sligo just after Christmas is a tough one well done, and fair play Dillons X... To go that close against one of the favourites for the FAI Junior is a great achievement, anyone with a report on either game???
we travelled up on saturday, 6 hours journey, got in just before torres stuck that screamer !! quiet night in the sligo park hotel with the darts and MOTD, early start had by all so a few dazed heads, morning turned out to be great, not a puff of wind and the pitch was great for us although a little bit bumpy, we got off to a flier, scully with 2 goals within 20 minutes and we looked very comfortable, eased off a little and the controversy came after 38 mins, bad flying tackle by their outside right on micky brad left studs showing and ref didnt think it worthy of a free (home town ref and linos but we expected it, he booked half of our lads and i think he only booked one of theirs- and they gave as good as they got), anyway micky gave yer man a shoulder after the challenge, he goes down in a lump, none of the officials see it but the lino on the far side reckons he did and brad gets sent, after that we played within ourselves to protect the lead, some savage running by all players and w could've sneaked a few more if varian had his shooting boots on, very happy to come away and go into the hat for the next round, thanks to the strand club for a decent hard game and for the soup after, it was much appreciated, long spin home but sang a few seafarer melodies and some rum helped the journey pass ok, wives n girlfriends delighted to get their boys back in one piece :D
all in all we're delighted with the game and a home draw in the next round gives us a chance at the end of the month, back to bidness at the w/e, out to the farm to teach the students some lessons, things going ok at the seaside but nobody getting too excited yet
thanks for the well wishes lads. we'll try to keep the rebel flag flying for another while
tizz out :ball:
littleman
06/01/2009, 10:18 PM
Sorry for goin slightly off the track here lads but I have a question.
Has anyone played in a game this season where they had no dressing room facilites to tog off in.All jokes aside,straight up,toggin off on the side of the road /in cars ect,is it still goin on.
olachico
06/01/2009, 11:32 PM
Has anyone played in a game this season where they had no dressing room facilites to tog off in.All jokes aside,straight up,toggin off on the side of the road /in cars ect,is it still goin on.
Not yet this season - touch wood - i do know there are a few sides who offer facilities near (use the word near loosely !!) to thier pitch - in this case I'd rather tog out in a car. For example throughout the years playing against Central Rovers I've never availed of their offer of dressing rooms - where are their dressing rooms???
we travelled up on saturday, 6 hours journey, got in just before torres stuck that screamer !! quiet night in the sligo park hotel with the darts and MOTD, early start had by all so a few dazed heads, morning turned out to be great, not a puff of wind and the pitch was great for us although a little bit bumpy, we got off to a flier, scully with 2 goals within 20 minutes and we looked very comfortable, eased off a little and the controversy came after 38 mins, bad flying tackle by their outside right on micky brad left studs showing and ref didnt think it worthy of a free (home town ref and linos but we expected it, he booked half of our lads and i think he only booked one of theirs- and they gave as good as they got), anyway micky gave yer man a shoulder after the challenge, he goes down in a lump, none of the officials see it but the lino on the far side reckons he did and brad gets sent, after that we played within ourselves to protect the lead, some savage running by all players and w could've sneaked a few more if varian had his shooting boots on, very happy to come away and go into the hat for the next round, thanks to the strand club for a decent hard game and for the soup after, it was much appreciated, long spin home but sang a few seafarer melodies and some rum helped the journey pass ok, wives n girlfriends delighted to get their boys back in one piece :D
all in all we're delighted with the game and a home draw in the next round gives us a chance at the end of the month, back to bidness at the w/e, out to the farm to teach the students some lessons, things going ok at the seaside but nobody getting too excited yet
thanks for the well wishes lads. we'll try to keep the rebel flag flying for another while
tizz out :ball:
was just wondering was richie holland playing in sligo, last time i watche kinsale he was on the bench and didnt look too happy? any news there?
Innishvilla
07/01/2009, 8:29 AM
Not yet this season - touch wood - i do know there are a few sides who offer facilities near (use the word near loosely !!) to thier pitch - in this case I'd rather tog out in a car. For example throughout the years playing against Central Rovers I've never availed of their offer of dressing rooms - where are their dressing rooms???
Similar with De Courcy Albion...
That said Innishvilla have used Eli Lilly's pitches at various times in their history...
Yoda01
07/01/2009, 9:12 AM
funny you should mention this littleman, this is a fraction of the reason i regretted my transfer, played a cup game last sunday and had to change at the side of the pitch (and a terrible pitch it was aswell, hasn't ever been rolled i'd say) i left a senior club for this?!?!?!?!?!? was i mad or what?
pacman
07/01/2009, 10:37 AM
Any tranfer rumours down Coachford, Kinsale,Leeside,Park????
Was talking to some of the ex-villa lads and was told Conor Murray is gone to Leeside. He's living down that direction I think. I know when they folded he was thinking of going to Blarney Street as he is friendly with the ex Villa lads there from a few years back.
casilles
08/01/2009, 10:45 AM
Was talking to some of the ex-villa lads and was told Conor Murray is gone to Leeside. He's living down that direction I think. I know when they folded he was thinking of going to Blarney Street as he is friendly with the ex Villa lads there from a few years back.
was talking to John Betts and he confirmed it for me. tough strong player Conor "gonks" Murray is.
casilles
08/01/2009, 6:14 PM
Littleman on the the signing of Shawzer and Johnny Mc, 2 hard working ,honest ,good footballers and if villa had a few more like them they would have been challenging.
On the subject of the call ups to the irish team , how can you say on pure form to the mentioned players when ye have been quite clearly stuggling? not a dig just a fact?
A few games this weekend to look forward too