View Full Version : Cork AUL 2008/09

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

olachico
07/11/2008, 9:07 AM
Casilles - declare your allegiances man;)

toepoke
07/11/2008, 9:48 AM
Sorry lads haven't been on for a while up the walls in work, so much for a recession. also been a bit down in the dumps after recent results but hope to get everything back on track this week

Saturday 8th November Kick Off 2-30 pm

FAI Umbro Cup 2nd Round:
Carrigaline Utd v Grattan Utd........Grattan win.

FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:
Everton Utd v Kinsale Everton Pk (MSL)....Kinsale
Park Utd v Greenwood Brigowen Pk (T. Callanan).....Park

Coachford v Glenthorn Cel The Glebe (J. Linehan)...... Coachford ( could be some fireworks judging back to the last game and the ref has a tendency for brandishing cards )
Blarney St Ath v Blackstone Rvrs Fairfield ..........Blarney street

Sunday 9th November kick off 10-45(unless stated)
FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:
Leeside v Midleton Leeside Pk (J. Linehan)......Leeside
Wilton Utd v Knockavilla/Drinagh Rngrs The Farm (T. Thompson).......Wilton
Postal Cel v Innishvilla 11 am O’Sullivan Pk (A. Mylod)..........Innishvilla
League 1A:
Glanworth Utd v Park Utd Glanworth Pk (S. Barry).........Park
League 3A :
Grattan Utd v Los Zarcos O’Neill Pk (A. O’Connell)...Grattan

casilles
07/11/2008, 3:12 PM
Casilles - declare your allegiances man;)
Northside mainly but if put on the spot Blarney St. watched Glenthorn a few times nice mix there-football Greaney Mickie and Shorty Physical Sully and Goulding. Nice trip this weekend for ye down to Coachford should be an intersting 1:p:p

olachico
07/11/2008, 4:38 PM
Wont be at this game - I'm involved with the B team! And Arsenal v Utd on the telly so i'm heading to the pub :D

casilles
07/11/2008, 5:25 PM
:( So thats three clubs now that have fallen by the wayside since August. Villa, Alberts and Lee Rangers - these things always go in cycles dont they though . Plenty of clubs that were successful in the past are now gone but they get replaced by new clubs. I feel a common theme though is that once one or two of the real committed people in a club finally have enough the whole club folds. Ex players dont seem to have the interest in giving back to the clubs who gave them so much

committed=olachio:rolleyes::rolleyes:

olachico
07/11/2008, 6:05 PM
17 years with Hibs Casilles before i had it thrown in my face - was that committed enough for you?? Running the B team in Glenthorn now - so having a little me time this weekend :D

casilles
08/11/2008, 10:54 AM
Apoligies olochio.:cool: lookin at the weather cant see to mant games been played. ant news on games off?

junglegym
08/11/2008, 1:07 PM
Apoligies olochio.:cool: lookin at the weather cant see to mant games been played. ant news on games off?

Coachford - Glenthorn off :(

UMBRO F.A.I. JUNIOR CUP 4TH Round Draw. .
CORK AREA. .
1 Blarney Utd or Mayfield Utd v Kanturk Or Rathcoole .
2 Clonakilty or Kilumney Utd. v Blarney St.Ath. Or Blackstone Rvs. .
3 Ringmahon Rgs or Ballyphehane v Ballincollig .
4 Coachford or Glenthorne Clt. v Kinsale or Everton Utd. .
5 Park Utd. Or Greenwood "A" v Wilton Utd. Or Knockavilla .
6 Dillons Cross Ath or Dunbar Clt. v Carrigaline Utd/Grattan Utd./Ballyvolane .
7 Leeside or Midleton v Everton or Douglas Hall .

Games to be played on or before weekending 22nd/23rd November 2008. ..

casilles
08/11/2008, 4:09 PM
Blarney St Ath vs Blackstone Rvs
Coachford Vs Glenthorn
Was talking to Pat Murphy the ref and he told me 18 games so far off and that was at 1.30 sat.

Also any1 know if the AUl will refix the Fai cup games for next week because according to Billy a few weeks ago the 3rd round was to be played by the 2/3 of Nov.

08/11/2008, 4:13 PM
Right time for Bella for a rant, or MacAttack as we like to call it!!:)

We were meant ot be playing Castle Celtic today, an hour and twenty minute spin for us, (an hour and forty if yor driving in my car:D, we like the scenic route)
Because of the weather we rang them just before we left cobh, they siad the pitch was grand so we made or journey, we knew travelling the hole way down this game was never going to go ahead, we rang them again after around forty minutes of travewlling no problem game going ahead so we carried on down.

We arrived down there then to find their manager at the gates come in for a look i say it will be called off the last twenty minutes rain is after destroying the pitch, what a load of bull****!! We wwnt down the pitch was in a bad way, especially one corner, but if they swept it in ht e corner it could have gone ahead, your man said we wait for the referee if he plays it ill play it no problem, we said we'd sweep out the pitch he said they'll do it but never did, he did evedrything he could to get the game called off but plamássed us with "we're doing our best to play it especially as ye travelled so far", was sickening for us as we knew at 12 this morinng when we were leaving it was going to be called but they made us travel all that distance and called it off as we arrived. Also the manager told us they changed the kick off to 3 to suit the ref, but never bothered tellin us.

Load of bull**** and were all furious over the **** we had to do today, cost us bout 15 euros petrol too, its all worng IMO.

olachico
08/11/2008, 6:52 PM
Now Bella it wouldnt be the same if you werent dragged to a game at least once a year that you knew wouldnt be played !!! Count your blessings that it wasnt a sunday morning!!!

09/11/2008, 3:33 PM
Now Bella it wouldnt be the same if you werent dragged to a game at least once a year that you knew wouldnt be played !!! Count your blessings that it wasnt a sunday morning!!!

Fook off, it was a saturday and united and arsenal were on telly, AND we had to travel ver a hour and a half. Joke!!

olachico
09/11/2008, 5:09 PM
Ah i know Bella - i always try and ring the opposition the night before to cancel a game - no point dragging fellas miles if you honestly think a game won't go ahead - not like it was a cup game and they were going to lose home advantage!!!

littleman
10/11/2008, 10:34 AM
Rained out this weekend lads,stayed indoors all weekend an sipped on the ol vino an watched the telly.Only ventured out to watch Dillons an Dunbar.It had everythin,goals,rain,wind,mud an ****e refereein,typical Aul game in hindsight.:D

CORK AREA. .

Some very interesting games comin up.All the Premier sides are still involved.A few games stand out, Number 4 especially.

junglegym
10/11/2008, 9:04 PM
CORK AREA. .

Some very interesting games comin up.All the Premier sides are still involved.A few games stand out, Number 4 especially.

Due to the weather we have lost home advantage to Glenthorn which is dissapointing but I still believe if we hit form on the day we will beat them.As ye are all aware there seems to be a bit of ill feeling between the two teams but that always seems to make things more interesting.
Whats in it for the winners is a home date with Kinsale(more than likely) .
That draw believe it or not Littleman probably suits us as we seem to play better against the bigger teams. ;) (taking the positives and all that eh)
Really and truly the season hasn't kickstarted for us yet ,training is going well at the moment but only time will tell.

my other teams to make open round are ~

Eh who am I kidding its impossible to pick ? :confused::confused:

littleman
11/11/2008, 6:34 AM
Its one thing being positive another altogether bein realistic.Good post Junglegym.I think any team in the Aul Prem is capeable of gettin a result against any other fellow side.Home or away,on any given day.Far too much bein made of the current league standings given how few games have been played.Leeside are the Munster Junior champs an last season there league form wasnt great so it would serve as a good omen that anyhtin is possible in cup games if you just give it your all.

One off cup games can be great,who ever wants it the most an all that.I wouldnt be too worried about who ye/Glenthorn play in the next round either as again its a cup game an form goes out the window.Only thing is that the way the weather is I would say its highly unlikely that Glenthorn would have there place playable an Mayfield all weather is unavailable to,I checked for our own game just encase the weather dose us no favours either.

We are movin into the period of the season where you need to be playin week in week out,on any surface an not havin free weekends because the weather makes pitchs unplayable.Unless there is a big turn up in the weather games will be under pressure again this week to go ahead so in general we all have 3 decisions to make.

Play on yer own bogged pitch an hope you get a result.:(
or
Switch it to there place(also bogged)an hope you can win away.:D
or lastly
Plan ahead an hope ye like plain on an all weather(if available ;))

junglegym
11/11/2008, 10:04 AM
hope ye like plain on an all weather(if available ;))

Oh man not for me but then again id be old school ,when we trained on one corner of the field all through the winter( two nights a week) in conditions that would literaly make a pig feel comfortable. :D and the only shower you had was the one falling on your head for the hour.

I know nowadays most teams are training on the all weather surface at least once a week so it wouldn't affect their style of play too much.
I was at the Cork Aul game in Blarney( in fairness,what a set up ) and I felt that there wasn't one class tackle in the game.(again thats only my opinion) And as for the poor keepers its like playing on the road.Although saying that,the Kerry lad was well prepared for the odd friction burn.:eek:

olachico
11/11/2008, 7:25 PM
Just laughing while i read junglegyms post!! Played in goal in a Nite Leagues game the other night and still nursing the scabs on my knees - playing on the all weather is grand if you are a forward or a winger but no fun if you are playing anywhere else :D

streetscene
12/11/2008, 12:40 AM
alright lads..sorry for short absence small problem with the broadband..back to normal now
on the subject of these fifa approved pitches upm in mayfield and blarney i hate them and think they should be banned...totally decieving and olachio was correct you cant make a decent tackle.. football was meant to be played on grass.. i for one would much prefer to play away on a poor pitch than to switch to one of them..in my opinion they are a great advantage to weaker teams..but as i said thats just my opinion...
seasons been very frustrating this year.. the most stop/start season for us in a while..last few years we opted not to enter in the fai or munster and it stood to us cause we always got a good run of league games.. this year though seeing as we were premier it was decided we needed to enter these cups... but we havent put two league matches back to back this year..and that doesnt look like changing this side of xmas either.
any one know the fixture set up for games over xmas yet
some very interesting ties in fai.. we lost home advantage to blackstone last weekend making an already hard match now a lot more diffucult having to go to theirs.. bit like coachford..
looking forward to welcoming kinsale to fair field this sat...badly need a league win to get things going.. couldnt ask for a tougher one really but we will be up for it...

pass&move
12/11/2008, 2:00 PM
Any predictions

FAI Umbro Cup 2nd Round:
Grattan Utd v Carrigaline Utd

Munster Lucozade Sport Junior Cup 1st Round:
Glenthorn Cel v Dillon’s Cross Ath

Munster Lucozade Sport Junior Cup 2nd Round:
Kanturk v Coachford
Wilton Utd “A” v Donoughmore Ath
Douglas Hall v Leeside
Greenwood “B” v Blackstone Rovers

Premier League:
Ballyphehane Cel v Park Utd
Blarney St Ath v Kinsale

Premier A League:
Macroom v Castleview
Rathcoole Rovers v Knockavilla

olachico
12/11/2008, 3:06 PM
Any predictions

FAI Umbro Cup 2nd Round:
Grattan Utd v Carrigaline Utd - Grattan

Glenthorn Cel v Dillon’s Cross Ath - Glenthorn

Kanturk v Coachford - Coachford
Wilton Utd “A” v Donoughmore Ath -Wilton Utd “A
Douglas Hall v Leeside -Leeside
Greenwood “B” v Blackstone Rovers - Blackstone Rovers

Premier League:
Ballyphehane Cel v Park Utd - Draw
Blarney St Ath v Kinsale - Kinsale

Premier A League:
Macroom v Castleview - Castleview
Rathcoole Rovers v Knockavilla - Knockavilla

casilles
12/11/2008, 4:50 PM
On the subject of all weather I would defentily be in favour of teams pre booking if they were in the open rounds of the MJC/FAI cups. losing home advantage is 1 thing but havin to travel up to lets say Lifford Celtic Co Donegal is another, I was involved with a team about 6 years ago and that was the result of our game been called off. I bet if you asked any1 of the players the day after travelling which they would have preferred the majority would have been a resounding All-weather.

FAI Umbro Cup 2nd Round:
Grattan Utd v Carrigaline Utd .....Grattan Utd

Glenthorn Cel v Dillon’s Cross Ath.... Glenthorn Cel

Kanturk v Coachford.... I sense a shock here Kanturk!!!!:eek:
Wilton Utd “A” v Donoughmore Ath.....Wilton
Douglas Hall v Leeside.... another1 Douglas Hall:eek:
Greenwood “B” v Blackstone Rovers.... Blackstone Rvs

Premier League:
Ballyphehane Cel v Park Utd....Draw
Blarney St Ath v Kinsale....Blarney St Ath got to happen soon!!:p

Premier A League:
Macroom v Castleview...Macroom
Rathcoole Rovers v Knockavilla....Knockavilla

casilles
12/11/2008, 5:29 PM
well any new from Cobh/Springfield?

13/11/2008, 8:06 AM
well any new from Cobh/Springfield?

na, very quiet, eagerly anticipating our next hour and half spin saturday to rathcool i think it is,:eek: how did we get landed in this fookin league like, we'll be asking the aul to pay travel expences for us soon.:D

pacman
13/11/2008, 9:59 AM
alright lads..sorry for short absence small problem with the broadband..back to normal now
on the subject of these fifa approved pitches upm in mayfield and blarney i hate them and think they should be banned...totally decieving and olachio was correct you cant make a decent tackle.. football was meant to be played on grass.. i for one would much prefer to play away on a poor pitch than to switch to one of them..in my opinion they are a great advantage to weaker teams..but as i said thats just my opinion...
seasons been very frustrating this year.. the most stop/start season for us in a while..last few years we opted not to enter in the fai or munster and it stood to us cause we always got a good run of league games.. this year though seeing as we were premier it was decided we needed to enter these cups... but we havent put two league matches back to back this year..and that doesnt look like changing this side of xmas either.
any one know the fixture set up for games over xmas yet
some very interesting ties in fai.. we lost home advantage to blackstone last weekend making an already hard match now a lot more diffucult having to go to theirs.. bit like coachford..
looking forward to welcoming kinsale to fair field this sat...badly need a league win to get things going.. couldnt ask for a tougher one really but we will be up for it...

Heard Blackstone signed a few Villa lads, although they probably wont be able to play in this cup.
Fancy Blarney Street to take something off Kinsale, I know the Fairfield isnt Kinsales favourite place in the world to play.

olachico
13/11/2008, 2:06 PM
Yep Blackstone have signed Jason Forde and one more I think the last time i heard.

littleman
13/11/2008, 6:31 PM
I'll knock this one on its annoyin head once an for all.:mad:

Villa Utd held the registration of there players.They folded thus the registration of the players now belongs to the league,ie the Aul.Any club now wishing to sign any of these players must now transfer these players as normal an register them as normal once the transfer window opens on December the 1st.

Seeing as they have been knocked out of both the Fai an Mjc they(the players) are only eligable to play in Aul competions,ie League,Aoh ect ect.They can sign for 20 clubs between now an the transfer window but its the club who gets there paperwork stamped first will secure the player/s.I have heard a few stories about who was signing whoever so I'll just wait till the transfer window opens to see who really signs who.

Isound like an owl with all this who who who:D

pacman
13/11/2008, 9:50 PM
I'll knock this one on its annoyin head once an for all.:mad:

Villa Utd held the registration of there players.They folded thus the registration of the players now belongs to the league,ie the Aul.Any club now wishing to sign any of these players must now transfer these players as normal an register them as normal once the transfer window opens on December the 1st.

This is technically true Littleman, those are definitely the rules. However I was talking to the secretary of Villa the other day, who had the job of informing the AUL of their demise. He was told that whilst what you mentioned was the truth, the AUL can make execptions in some cases and that this may be possible in Villa players cases.

Not sure if any club will pursue this, but if a former Villa player really wanted to push an early move there is some 'greyness' there from which they might benefit. This was told directly to him from the powers that be in the AUL

littleman
13/11/2008, 10:09 PM
Depending on which club is asking which Aul commitee member you can get a few different responces.I tend to trust the responces I get from the people I ask specificaly because there the ones who say yes or no to things in the end.

The Aul has some core commitee members (not always the ones that spring to mind,the common sense members)an a whole host of commitee members who do nothin but occupy a jacket an tie at the meetings.These no doubt are the ones tellin the various clubs what may or may not be achiveable.

Thats the beautiful thing about the Aul commitee,for all there rules an regulations they are quite willin to bend the rules when it suits them.But the FAI an MFA are a different ball game altogether an any club who is left in these cups should thread wisely to coin a phrase.The Aul are well aware of the position these players are in also the position the league is in an wont be stickin there necks out for anyone.

olachico
14/11/2008, 1:25 AM
I operate a policy which is "If in doubt ask Martin Conlon" - I trust his opinions!

streetscene
14/11/2008, 2:08 AM
Heard Blackstone signed a few Villa lads, although they probably wont be able to play in this cup.
Fancy Blarney Street to take something off Kinsale, I know the Fairfield isnt Kinsales favourite place in the world to play.

ya blackstone have signed couple of villa players alright but like i said on a previous post only time will tell who they actually end up with.i think the majority of villa players would have ended up in castleview.. to tell the truth we are talking with 3 now and we will wait and see..think its important when signing players like that they are actually better than what you have.. its not just down to ability,attitude is an important factor too
hoping to give kinsale a run for their money on sat... think they might be up for this one though as last time we met we knocked them out of mjc.we are due a change of luck in league so hopefully saturday can kick start things.going to go along with everyone elses predictions except i see most are going with kinsale against us.fair enough i suppose on current form.my choice for an upset is dillons cross to catch glenthorn. just has suprise wrote all over it

littleman
14/11/2008, 2:49 AM
Street your comments with regards to replacin good with better would normally ring through with me but with regards to what ye have me I'd leave well alone.What ye have for the most part are good players albeit a little light up front but all round good players.

Yer just lackin a little luck with the results.I't will come for ye I have no doubt but for me yer best quality is that ye have a good bunch of lads.They get on well together an have a good team ethic.Work hard an give yer all.You have to consider that maybe by bringin in outside lads are you goin to benifit in the long run.

Trust me all it takes is one bad apple to start things goin rotten an before you know it your Villa.I know a lot of the Villa lads an they are again for the most part good players an good lads but Villa folded for a few reasons that are all to well known,commitment bein one an ye should look at that in terms of who ye approach.As I have said ye have a good bunch an they work hard cant ask for more than that.

Trust me what would you prefer a team who are successful but couldnt give a care about the club or a team that are not just good players but good clubmen.Gettin players to want to play for the club is the most successful thing a club can ever achive .

With regards to Dillons beatin Glenthorn.I live up next to there pitch an me an my son watch either them or Village most weekends an I would be astounded if they beat Glenthorn.Glenthorn have suffered more than most at the hands of the Gratts over the last 3 or 4 seasons but they are improvin all the time.The last 3 meetings between us they have won twice,I cant say that about anyone else in the Aul,or anyother league.Nipper has a good bunch if a bit highly strung.Dillons will huff an puff alright an I'd expect a red card at somestage but Glenthorn will have just to much for them.

With regards to ye an Kinsale,ye have to break yer duck at some stage an ye have done um already so why not.

littleman
14/11/2008, 5:07 AM
Saturday 15th November Kick Off 2-30 pm.
FAI Umbro Cup 2nd Round:
Grattan Utd v Carrigaline Utd ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,pardon me for reserving judgement but I'll leave this one alone as I'v been wrong the last 3 times.

Glenthorn Cel v Dillon’s Cross Ath St.........Glenthorn by at least 2

Kanturk v Coachford...................Kanturk
Park Utd “B” v Greenwood “A” ,,,,,,,,Parkboy again

Premier League:
Ballyphehane Cel v Park Utd Pfizer’s Pk (J. Lyne)........draw
Blarney St Ath v Kinsale Fairfield (P. Murphy).......draw
Premier A League:
Rathcoole Rovers v Springfield..........Bella to win,,,,if ye can find it:D

Wilton Utd “A” v Donoughmore Ath.........call me mental but I fancy Donoughmore
Douglas Hall v Leeside...............Doughlas Hall
Innishvilla v Leeds “A” ............Innish Leeds are a tough outfit,home win just

Glenthorn Cel “B” v Killumney Utd ,,,,,,,,,,,sorry olli but Mick O'Sheas lads could nick this one
CFC Banteer v Grattan Utd “B”,,,,,,,,,,,this one aint goin ahead lads,sorry

Streetwise
14/11/2008, 10:14 AM
littleman i could nt agree more with you about signing the right type of player.as it only takes one to upset years of hard work.thankfully our management team have been very successful with this in recent years.
gone are the days when players were signed on hear say or even in the local.hopefully our luck or whatever it is will change this weekend our lads
are training as hard as i have ever seen them.about our forwards been a bit light two of them finished in the top six of the golden boot last year
so its a case of when not if the goals will come.heres to a weather free weekend best of luck to all teams

streetscene
14/11/2008, 4:13 PM
littleman you are spot on.. dont know if i came across wrong in last post but thats what i meant in terms of having right attitude..our strenght lies in what we already have so anyone coming in will be of the same mould... we have said no to some really good players in last few years cause we didnt think they would fit in..
as for the glenthorn result i just feel that things have been going too smoothly all along and they are due to slip up.. dont know a thing about dillons so just being a bit adventorous..has to be a shock somewhere

bogwarrior
14/11/2008, 4:25 PM
I've been critical of the aul in the past but if they did bend the rules on this occasion and allowed the former Villa players sign for different clubs it would be the right move. I know rules are rules but it's not nice if you're a player and the club folds through no fault of your own and all you wanna do is play!!

Tough game for us tomorrow... we'll be up for it alright but Fairfield hasn't been kind to us in the recent past. Hopefully put that right tomorrow...elsewhere I don't see too many surprises.

Grattan Utd v Carrigaline Utd -> Grattan

Glenthorn Cel v Dillon’s Cross Ath St -> Glenthorn
Kanturk v Coachford -> Coachford

Premier League:
Ballyphehane Cel v Park Utd Pfizer’s Pk -> Ballyphehane
Blarney St Ath v Kinsale Fairfield -> Kinsale

Wilton Utd “A” v Donoughmore Ath ->Wilton

Innishvilla v Leeds “A” -> Innishvilla

junglegym
14/11/2008, 9:19 PM
Any predictions

FAI Umbro Cup 2nd Round:
Grattan Utd v Carrigaline Utd - Grattan

Glenthorn Cel v Dillon’s Cross Ath - Glenthorn

Kanturk v Coachford - same as littleman, don't want to jinx it
Wilton Utd “A” v Donoughmore Ath -Wilton Utd “A
Douglas Hall v Leeside -Leeside
Greenwood “B” v Blackstone Rovers - Blackstone Rovers

Premier League:
Ballyphehane Cel v Park Utd - Draw
Blarney St Ath v Kinsale - Draw
Premier A League:
Macroom v Castleview - Macroom
Rathcoole Rovers v Knockavilla - Knockavilla

15/11/2008, 5:55 PM
We won 3-1 today absolute brutal reffing, they got two penos two definite pens like, but had to be two defintie straight reds na a yellow, and nothing thank god. Our keep saved the two. Then we had a player sent off for nothing short of handbags, and the way he spoke to our players was terrible too, telling everybody to shut up, and when booking players, saying, theres a nother fiver for us bud!! Pain in the hole if ya ask me. Anyway another long journey down and 3 points to take home, so alls well in camp. Thats 7 league games now all away, cup next week away again!!

streetscene
16/11/2008, 8:24 PM
blarney street 3- kinsale 2

at long last we have our first league win this season and a great performance to boot.. i have said in earlier posts that the last time we beat kinsale in mjc we rode our luck a bit.. but there was nothin lucky about yesterdays game.. just sheer hard work and attitude and some fabolous individual performances..anthony peelo didnt give varian a sniff and gave a flawless performance.jp thompson ran the show in the middle and capped his performance with a free kick that you wont see better all season..credit too to kinsale they never gave up and when they brought it back to 3-2 we had to hang on a bit. macarthy was very impressive again and himself and john betts had a fabolous battle all day.overall tho we are delighted with the performance.i dont think the kinsale lads would have too much arguement here the better team on the day won.
some very dubious refereeing here as well by someone who i would consider one of the better referees in the league.. not wanting to knock them constantly and we all agree anyone can make a mistake but its the attitude that gets me.. why cant they just talk to you like an adult instead of being so ignorant and condescending.. i know its a thankless job and i do respect them for what they do but it can be very frustrating.. bella i hear ya man!.. another great result for ye. never an easy place to get a result down there... grattan also won as expected and should have got a lot more goals by all accounts.. and glenthorn scuppered my prediction of a cup upset by beating dillons cross....
also not wanting to be the bearer of bad news but lot of talk around of ballyphehane being in serious trouble... any body know anything on this

pacman
16/11/2008, 10:15 PM
Had a big fancy for Blarney street this weekend, I just knew Kinsale did not fancy another trip to norrieland and it was only going to be a matter of time before Blarney Street got a change of luck. Delighted for them to be honest

Streetscene, was at the Glenthorn game on Saturday and to be honest Dillons Cross were very very unlucky not to take somthing from that game. They missed a penalty when they were one down. Glenthorn were extremely relived to have won this and from talking to one them their manager more or less admitted the better team lost.

So your prediction was not as bad as people thought

olachico
17/11/2008, 6:46 AM
Strangely enough I saw the start and end of the Glenthorn V Dillons Cross game on Saturday - missed all the middle when all the interesting stuff happened. All I can say is there was a lot of familiar faces on the subsitutes bench so the 2-0 win was achieved with a much weaker side than normal. Dont know if these were being rested or what. One of the regular centre forwards was also out injured. (Cast on his hand) The full depth of the squad was used in this case! Also when did the previous transfer window close - I have a question mark over one of the Dillons Cross players - I know he was playing with Village in October!!!

Innishvilla
17/11/2008, 12:46 PM
Made my season debut yesterday for a villa side short about 10 midfielders due to work/injury and a couple of other more dodgy excuses. No training this year for me a bit of squash every now and then. Central midfield for 90 plus 2 halves of extra time...
Extremely enjoyable game we should have taken it in normal time... Leeds are a handy side who like to play, which suits us as we normally like to play the ball a bit so it made for an open enjoyable game...
But am I regretting it now.
There is not a muscle in my body that doesn't hurt. Why did I do this to myself!!! :confused:

Corinthians Cup for the Innishvilla lads now...

littleman
17/11/2008, 2:18 PM
Well before I share my thoughts on our game against Carrigaline(MSL) I would just like to sya congrats to Blarney street for breakin there duck.From all the reports very richly deserved.

Now back to the Gratts.We have lost the last 3 games before this one and with regards tp this particular bunch of players over the last 4 seasons they never lost 2 consecitive games so losin 3 on the trot did have us a bit worried if Im to be totally honest.We had a decision to make the morning of the game with regards where to play,in our own place which wasnt great or use Mayfields all weather.We decided to play at home an take our chances an it worked.We were really up for it an Figo scored a superb opener after only 3 or 4 mins.Class goal.

The pitch by our on standards was really really poor.I understand that some say it aint great anyway but in our own defence when it is cut an rolled(which it wasnt) it is a very nice place to play ball.We played with plenty of confidence in attack but because of the surface our defence had some nervous moments.Carrig never really threatened as long as we didnt mess around with the ball or lost our concentration,but when we did either of the above an it happenend twice in the 1st half we were very luck Lofty was in bang on form.We hit the upright twice an realisticly should have killed the game off but we didnt an Carrig could have drawn level an we would hav had knowone but ourselves to blame.It really is pointless havin so much posession an chances an not put the roundy thing in the net.1 nil at half time an the amanagement red the riot act to them an the 2nd was bascially a one way affair.We again missed unbelivable chances had to clear one of Carrigs few 2nd half attacks off our line before we got the killer 2nd goal.Figo again the provider for sub Alan O'Brien to head home.

All in all we have to be happy considerin the past few games.Agains Buttervant,Glenthorn an Newmarket Celtic we had enough chances to win all 3 of those games an we ended up with nothin.Its great watchin us attack after attack bombardin the opposition gaol,that is until the opposition score against us.I hope that the win this weekend will just prove as a reminder to the lads that cups an leagues can only be won by puttin your chances away an winning games.As a team we played very well an again the subs that were used hurt the opposition an that for me is a great bonus.All told 17 togged off an another 4 were unavailable so we have the strenght n dept an our self belife should be back to normal after a very good win.

Figo was untouchable on the day.Paul Lynch put in a terrific 80 mins an David Byrne bossed midfield start to finish.In fairness the startin 11 played really well an put in a second half performance that was more like the way people are used to seein them play.I dont see Carrig havin any grumbles with the loss.They got on the wrong side of the ref from the get go an roared at him through out the game.An to be fair the 2 goals were top class efforts .All in all a good win an Ballyvolane at home for the Gratts next week.

Norrie News:mad:
If you were to belive what you hear Ballypheane could be the next to go an if they do the Aul should get the remaining 8 premier sides in an have a good look at how they are bein run.Squads an commitee ect ect.How in the name of God can sides let themselves get in this position.Finally Olli,maybe the individual you saw was actually signed for Dillons an played under a different name for the Village;)

olachico
17/11/2008, 3:07 PM
No if he did happen to be illegal it would be the other way round - Not that i'm saying he was illegal . Definitely a signed Village player on the 4th of October 2008 . And played for them all last season. Perhaps he transferred before the deadline. I didnt see the Dillons Cross card but was surprised to see the individual in question playing. He was being called by his right name so its unlikely that he was illegal

pacman
17/11/2008, 7:12 PM
No if he did happen to be illegal it would be the other way round - Not that i'm saying he was illegal . Definitely a signed Village player on the 4th of October 2008 . And played for them all last season. Perhaps he transferred before the deadline. I didnt see the Dillons Cross card but was surprised to see the individual in question playing. He was being called by his right name so its unlikely that he was illegal

He was illegal, that is definite. He will officially join Dillons Cross in Dec when the transfer window opens

olachico
18/11/2008, 7:02 AM
So you know who I was talking about so Pacman - if he indeed was illegal as you say then Dillons Cross are playing a dangerous game. I told the Glenthorn chairman after the game that I though he might be. You might get away with that lower down. We all know it happens (doesnt make it right) but to try it in a cup match involving Premier and Premier A clubs is dodgy in my eyes. I once remember Littleman posting in these forums saying you wouldnt know what team you'd play against when you went to Shanbally well the same can also be said for some other clubs. I mean if you are going to try that one at least try it against a club a bit further from home :rolleyes:

casilles
18/11/2008, 2:37 PM
Well congrads to Blarney St on awell earned victory. was up at the game small crowd for a change up there but the loyal support was there from the biker crew as usual{a good few revs and a quick spin around the pitch for each goal}:p As said already a well deserved victory, the street had honestly 4 or 5 great chances in the 1st half alone Kinsale keeper made a few good saves. Kinsale had 2 , scored from a lack clearance the other tipped over the bar by the BSA keeper. 1-1 half time. The street always look to play the wings and scored twice from it. the other was a peach of a free kick from JP Thompson who was not only great on the ball but won his fair share of TACKLES & HEADERS!!! Pello aws outstandin on Varian didnt give him a sniff but was helped up by the double with there Dub who came back at all times to help out. at 3-2 Kinsale really took the game to the street but the Blarney St team from 1 to 14{subs done a good job on commin on} defended well and could of got another1 or 2 on the break.

Talked to a few grattan players over the weekend and heard it could realisticly been over at half time. well done to them and i see them kickin on from here now.
bit off the forum here but lookin foward to Rockmount vs St Marys on Sunday out the cross Sunday

zohan
19/11/2008, 6:43 AM
does anyone know exactly when the transfer window opens and you are elegible to play for a new club?? :D

Billynomates
19/11/2008, 7:00 AM
does anyone know exactly when the transfer window opens and you are elegible to play for a new club?? :D

December the 1st until 31st of January.

Billynomates
19/11/2008, 7:03 AM
I am involved the MSL and the most players a team can have signed at any time is 23. The only way to get a player off the books is by transfer, emigration or long term injury. Even if a player fails to turn up for the rest of the season he can not be scratched off. This can put strain on clubs looking to sign players in december. I was wondering does this same rule apply to AUL?