casilles
08/01/2009, 6:54 PM
Saturday 10th January Kick Off 2 pm.
Murphy’s Irish Stout AOH Cup 2nd Round:
Park Utd “A” v Churchvilla....Park

Premier League:
Blarney St Ath v Coachford ......Street
Wilton Utd v Grattan Utd ....Draw

Sunday 11th January Kick Off 10-45(unless stated)

Munster Lucozade Sport Junior Cup 4th Round:
Killumney Utd v Carrick Utd......Carrick

Grangevale v Blackstone Rovers ......Grangvale just
UCC “B” v Kinsale “A”.....Kinsale at a canter
Murphy’s Irish Stout AOH Cup 3rd Round:

Knockavilla v Leeside “A” Big 1 heading out & i say Knockavilla to advance

Murphy’s Irish Stout City Cup 2nd Round
Glenvale v Grattan Utd “B” Revenge??? Glenvale to go on

Murphy’s Irish Stout County Cup 1st Round:
Leeside “B” v Kinsale “B” 2 big clubs "B" teams- Leeside
Springfield “A” v Macroom “B” Springfield

League 1A
Glanworth Utd v Glenthorn Cel ..Glenthorn

littleman
08/01/2009, 7:49 PM
Well it depends on what your understanding of form is.90 mins,2 games ,half a season or more.The players I mentioned are form players for me based on how they have performed in the past say 3 seasons.True they,or at least some of them not be hitting A 100% at the minute but for them its only something they have to work through an they will so sorry Casislles but the players I mentioned are or have been consistant for the last 3 or 4 seasons bar the odd blip for there clubs.Thats what draws the attention to them.The Aul squad is picked on form an is bascially a roll of the dice because the players dont get much time to get used to playin with each other before each game.

I dont know if you are aware of the Irish junior set up but its run really well an a million miles form the Aul Oscar set up.The players selected for the squad will, if they reach the final squad have at least a half a dozen weekend training sessions (Fri/Sat with full time pro training staff,weight assessed,diet ect,,)under there belt an a few warm up games.An average player who has hit a purple patch will struggle at a level like this an the players I mentioned with all due respect are in no why shape or form average players.

pacman
08/01/2009, 8:35 PM
Littleman on the the signing of Shawzer and Johnny Mc, 2 hard working ,honest ,good footballers and if villa had a few more like them they would have been challenging.

On the subject of the call ups to the irish team , how can you say on pure form to the mentioned players when ye have been quite clearly stuggling? not a dig just a fact?

A few games this weekend to look forward too

i've played with shawzer and seen him a lot for villa last year and could never understand why he was never picked for the AUL team. Maybe Villa weren't a fashionable club. Hopefully with Grattan he'll get more recognition and a call up next year.

Himself and John Betts were always a great partnership when they played midfield together

berba
09/01/2009, 2:56 PM
[quote=casilles;1083274]Saturday 10th January Kick Off 2 pm.
Park Utd “A” v Churchvilla.. Park Utd

Premier League:
Blarney St Ath v Coachford .. Coachford
Wilton Utd v Grattan Utd .. Grattan

Killumney Utd v Carrick Utd.. Carrick

Grangevale v Blackstone Rovers .. Blackstone
UCC “B” v Kinsale “A”.. Nice easy one for Kinsale

Knockavilla v Leeside “A” .. Leeside

Glenvale v Grattan Utd “B” .. Glenvale

Where do Kilumney play or is it switched ????
Kinsale have a great chance of getting to quaters of fai or will they go one better than Grattan ???
Who was the last team before Gratttan to get that far???

streetscene
09/01/2009, 5:13 PM
[quote=berba;1083775][quote=casilles;1083274]Saturday 10th January Kick Off 2 pm.
Park Utd “A” v Churchvilla.. Park Utd

Premier League:
Blarney St Ath v Coachford .. Blarnet St
Wilton Utd v Grattan Utd .. Wilton

Killumney Utd v Carrick Utd.. Carrick

Grangevale v Blackstone Rovers .. Blackstone
UCC “B” v Kinsale “A”.. Kinsale

Knockavilla v Leeside “A” .. Leeside (aet)

Glenvale v Grattan Utd “B” .. gratten b

i think kilumney are using ballincollig school pitch this weekend berba but not definite.. get confirmation on this.. would hate to send you on a wild goose chase especially after you predicted against us again:p..

streetscene
09/01/2009, 5:26 PM
looking at fixtures for weekend i see glenthorn a have no game again this week.. by my reckoning that leaves them with only 5 league games played up to know which i think could be a distinct advantage for them in the long run.. is this fair? i know last week they had no game either and they started off the season behind eveyone as they had no pitch..when you consider they have no fixture this weekend,the aul are playing next weekend and the mossy is due to begin the week after then it could well be feb before they play another league game.. considering wilton will have 11 played after this weekend then that leaves them with a lot of games in hand.. throw in the fact that it looks like there will be no relegation from the premier this year then that puts them in a very strong position..i know they are going well in the cups but so are we for example and we still have 9 played this weekend.. i also know there is the argument that they have to go out and win all these games but i just wonder will teams give a damn around april/may with no relegation.. i know this is probably not their fault but i find it strange that the aul are letting them have lot of weekends with no games.. anyone shed any light on this.. is it an advantage or disadvantage to have so many games in hand? any opinions

bogwarrior
09/01/2009, 11:06 PM
Well i think it depends on how they do in the cups in the near future. From past experience when we have had to play 3 games or more in the space of 8days in may it can be really difficult. Games in hand are all well and good but points on the board are what's vital regardless of who the opposition is and whether or not there fighting for places. Often the battle is against themselves. Whether you can fight off the niggly injuries and whether or not players can pick themselves up and get motivated for game after game. Especially if they get a poor result and pick up an injury or two. It can become extremely difficult.

We had a good result last weekend but have a tough assignment in the next round. Nenagh are a top class outfit who regularly win their own league so we wont be taking any thing for granted and underestimate them. There is nothing like the buzz of an Fai junior cup game though. Totally different experience to anything else. Kinsale made it to the last 16 5 years ago but were beaten by a classy carrick team down in Charles fort that day. To match that this year would be fantastic but we'll have to wait and see. I wont be as cocky as the Westport posters were on the Fai junior thread! Would love to have seen them get beaten. Hard luck dillons cross.

Plenty of movement on the northside of the city with players hopping clubs like no tomorrow. Good luck to all and their new clubs. On the Grattan slump at the moment all i'll say is that form is temporary and class is permanent. They have proven it before and will do again i have no doubt. Losing mark o'sullivan will be a blow though. Having the league as the only thing to concentrate on could be both a blessing and a problem. It may mean your up for every game and will get results to match or it could go the other way and if you dont get the results players will lose interest and follow others out the door.

I know this is going back a bit but seeing that casilles brought it up again i think it's ok for me to mention.
"Derek McCarthy is a smashin player but when you reach the quaters of the Fai every team has 2 Derek McCarthys so the standard is very high".

I've been around a bit and have seldom seen any player to match him. If only every team at the quarter final stage had two derek mc's, our amateur side would be unbeatable:rolleyes:. Cant believe you mentioned half the grattan team and didn't include this man in your list of players worthy of a call up!! I know it's all about opinions but keep them realistic!

streetscene
09/01/2009, 11:26 PM
bog firstly well done on last week and i reckon ye will take nenagh if ye play to potential on the day.. would have to agree with ya about mr . mcarthy.. in my own opinion he is probably only other player in our league who could push that squad.. the man is a class centre forward.. i see littlemans arguement too but just dont think those mentioned are at that level.. watched two of them play senior league a few years back and they both struggled to be fair.. i know they have improved and have been oustanding for gratten last 2 years so maybe they deserve a trial at least.. i hope the management stick to their word and arrange a trial match for people on the fringes..
any chance you could settle an arguement here and tell us what age derek mcarthy is and did he ever play msl

Billynose
10/01/2009, 12:28 AM
As far as I remember he played MSL for avondale either last year or the year before. Won an intermediate cup medal with them.

bogwarrior
11/01/2009, 5:58 PM
Not sure what age. 26/27 id say. He moved to Avondale the season before last for 6months and won an FAI intermediate cup medal. Even stood out at that level from all reports.. Just think he deserves recognition.

All games called off this morning at the farm. So that was us and UCC b and Wilton Grattan.:mad:

littleman
12/01/2009, 7:43 AM
Sorry lads but not meaning to coin a phrase Mr Wind blew our chances of getting our season back on track on Sunday by preventing us form leaving our game against Wilton to go ahead.We trained hard all week an the management had difficult decisions to make because we had 18 players available for selection.I would hope that sends out a message to all that the reports of our demise are somewhat exaggerated an we have despite Billy"Sky News"Lyons depiction of our current position on Fridays Echo no intention of throwing in the towel,an thats official.The only dissapointing thing for us now is that we wont have any sort of game now till Feb,the Aul game next week an a free weekend due to a game in England takes care of the rest of January.Streescene as you pointed out games in hand are grand but you have to win them an with the amount of teams with irons still in the fire so to speak with regards to winning the league then for me tis still wide open.I watched the Street put another 3 points on the board against Coachford side that should be praying Ballypheane pull out because if they dont there as good as gone going on what I saw.

Some very good points being raised at the minute especially with regards to the Glenthorn thing.I do find it a little funny that the situation with there pitch has been let to run on for so long.I can totally understand them being protective of it but why have they not been just given an away game just to rack up games ????

Bog I think if you look again you will see I mentioned the 2 Dereks from Kinsale in my post about possible call ups.With regards to my comment about the quality of forwards in the last 8 of the Fai I personally think its a fair point.I may regard the Aul very highly an indeed my own team,yourelves an a few othersin our league/Cork highly as well but I would'nt try to kid myself or anyone else by thinking we have become as strong as the top 6 or 8 sides in the country.We as a league have only 1 side(yourselves)in the last 32,thats not good enough,not by a mile.This time last year we had 4 or 5 if Im correct at least.

As you yourself Bog pointed out,it would be an unbelivable success for ye to reach the last 16,that for me is the rock we perish on in Rebel HQ.The top sides enter to win the Fai an I dont mean that ye havnt either but I'm just being realistic .If at the start of the season you were told that ye would be capeable of either winning the Fai or reaching the last 16 what would you have thought the more possible scenario was,being perfectly honest.2 seasons ago we were 12 mins away from a 2/1 win to advance to the semis but we didnt have enough confidence to play the game out,we couldnt belive we were even in the last 8.Last season against Castlebar we again had the oppertuinity to advance to the last 8 but again with us 1 nil down we got a peno against 9 men,Figo lost his head an got sent off before the peno was took an Jp scored to equalise.Brian Sull was man enough to step to take what would have been Figos peno in the shootout an the rest is history.Again confidence from competing at that level year in year out,we lacked an it cost us.I think as a league an indeed clubs there is a little improvement each year but just not enough for us to make a bigger impact.Again as I have pointed out our Oscar side needs to be playing in the finals an winning there own competition an we as clubs need to be making a bigger impact in the Fai to warrant us being in the top teir of junior football.

Horse24
12/01/2009, 12:35 PM
Littleman, a bit harsh on Billy Lyons in my opinion. He slates us all, but, he does it with no agenda. He just says what he thinks.

Imagine our leagues without Billy Lyons - the year he was missing showed us what life may be like without him. It will take a few people to cover him, and I dont know if we will find a person or persons who will give up their whole weekend for the league.

As an opinion from an outsider looking in on the junior international team, I do think the geographical situation comes into it. You need to be a better player to get attention outside Dublin, or, as you stated, do well in the national cup.

I suppose its like any selection team, there will always be the opinion that they dont look enough at whats below the surface - ie away from Dublin, or lower leagues in the Cork AUL case.

littleman
12/01/2009, 1:54 PM
Sorry Horse if it seemed that I was commenting in a negative way about Billy.I would never do so as I have the highest respect for all that he dose for the Cork AUL an more so our clubs.Billy Lyons is probably one of the most hardworking people involved in Junior football in the country.I just used the Sky remark because hes the nearest thing we have to it.

olachico
12/01/2009, 5:17 PM
Some very good points being raised at the minute especially with regards to the Glenthorn thing.I do find it a little funny that the situation with there pitch has been let to run on for so long.I can totally understand them being protective of it but why have they not been just given an away game just to rack up games ????

Just to clarify this matter can I say that anytime the pitch has been unplayable the match has been called off - for both teams :(

I have walked the pitch several times on a Friday evening and known that games would be off on the saturday/sunday - not my call to make though

I dont think too many premier games have been called off for the first team though - i'm open to correction on this .

In fact I was at a friendly game between Glenthorn A and Innishvilla on Saturday in St Aidans and people were complaining about having no league matches - they just havent been any league fixtures for them as far as i can work out

Horse24
12/01/2009, 5:49 PM
Sorry Horse if it seemed that I was commenting in a negative way about Billy.I would never do so as I have the highest respect for all that he dose for the Cork AUL an more so our clubs.Billy Lyons is probably one of the most hardworking people involved in Junior football in the country.I just used the Sky remark because hes the nearest thing we have to it.

Littleman, glad for the clarification - lets go back to slating the non-norries!!

pass&move
13/01/2009, 9:27 AM
Ballyphehane Celtic are gone according to the updated tables on billys blog.

Shilts
13/01/2009, 11:08 AM

A good result for Wilton I see. They've gained 6 points without kicking a ball. Not Wilton's fault but this is bull****! I hope nobody wins the league with imaginary points, for the sake of the leagues credibility.

Innishvilla
13/01/2009, 11:19 AM

Damn, it looks pretty official now... That is a real shame and is very disappointing to see now 5 clubs having dropped out. Some with fairly long standing tradition... I will admit when Ballypheane were in our division about 3/4 year ago and we had a fairly handy side in the two games we played them I was seriously impressed, they were as good a footballing side as I had come up against that season.
2 premier teams gone (Villa & Bally), 1 first division side (Lee Rangers, who've been around for ages), 1 2nd division side (Albert Rvrs who were damn nearly a premier A side on a few occasions in the last few years) and Casement celtic who in all fairness should be a big enough club to not have to pull out...

On another note chico, I heard ye enjoyed a good win over the villa on Saturday. I think we gave ye a good game of it in the first half but a few guys ran out of steam in the 2nd. Unfortunately our central mid who's been plagued with injuries all season suffered a bad cut to his knee from a stone and needed stitches, but thems the breaks I suppose... I think the lads were disappointing to concede 4 from set pieces... I think though it was a valuable and worthwhile workout for both sides...

smasher
13/01/2009, 11:43 AM
Carrick Utd were very well looked after by Killumney after the Munster Junior Cup match last Sunday and would like to say a word of thanks to all involved.

olachico
13/01/2009, 3:34 PM
Yep was at that match - Thought Innishvilla looked good for the first 20-30mins until as you said ye're centre midfielder got a nasty nasty cut in the leg . Most of the goals came in the second half with a substitute centre half bagging a hat-trick .

Sad to see Ballyphehane going and with the recession beginning to kick in I think we will see a lot more teams struggling with players leaving these shores

le tizz
13/01/2009, 9:00 PM
was just wondering was richie holland playing in sligo, last time i watche kinsale he was on the bench and didnt look too happy? any news there?

zohan my friend, you got it spot on when you said richie didnt look too happy on the line, he's ability is unrivaled at the seaside but he's struggling to oust the 2 dereks for a front man spot, nevertheless he's working his guts out in training so he'll be given a chance sooner rather than later and for me i love to watch him play, he didnt get a run in sligo but our sending off in the 1st half, that kinda dictated the game and the management werent really afforded the luxury of bring on a flair player such as richie

big squad of players lookin for gametime so players will be given a chance based on merit and effort, healthy times at the seaside so we're gaggin for games, 'specially on the excellent madden park at fort hill ;)

home tie vz nenagh in the next rnd of the fai will be difficult but a home tie is as good as you can hope for so we'll be giving it a good rattle, will try to keep the aul in the hat to promote the rebels, good luck to the oscar team on sunday, will try to get up to support the lads

good morrow gentlemen
tizz out

Innishvilla
14/01/2009, 7:36 AM
Carrick Utd were very well looked after by Killumney after the Munster Junior Cup match last Sunday and would like to say a word of thanks to all involved.

I don't think there are any Killumney contributors use this forum but fair play for the comments. I was planning on calling out to watch the match but I'll be honest when I saw the weather... I didn't leave the house for the day...

smasher
14/01/2009, 10:41 AM
I don't think there are any Killumney contributors use this forum but fair play for the comments. I was planning on calling out to watch the match but I'll be honest when I saw the weather... I didn't leave the house for the day...

Thanks for reply, just thought I 'd send it in as the lads were very appreciative of the effort that was made.

bogwarrior
16/01/2009, 8:20 AM
Derek McCarthy has been called up to the Irish Junior Squad:D

pacman
16/01/2009, 8:51 AM
Derek McCarthy has been called up to the Irish Junior Squad:D
Cool. Very good player.

Littleman,
I heard last night that Shinkwin is gone to leeds, any truth?

casilles
16/01/2009, 11:12 AM
Well done to Derek McCarthy on his call up well deserved. Is it Kinsales run in the FAI that doing it or does Gerry Smith be on Foot.ie!!!!:p

On the Shinky going to Leeds havent heard anything and would be very suprised, they were up there before {Shinky, Figo, Brian Sull & Bilko} and 1 way or another went back to Grattan bar Bilko who was/is down with Cobh Rams

Horse24
16/01/2009, 12:23 PM
Carrick United v Kilmanahan Utd or Rock Rvs or Glin Rvs

Blarney Street Ath or Leeside v Blackstone Rvs or Dungarvan Utd

Bridge Utd or Nenagh Celtic v Tralee Dynamos or Pike Rvs

Mayfield Utd or Ballingarry v Clonmel Town or Clonmel Celtic or Nenagh “A”

Star Rvs or Peake Villa v Regional Utd or Lifford AFC

Newcastle West or Coachford v Everton or Glenthorn Celtic

Carew Park or Johnville v Tramore AFC or Douglas Hall

Fairview Rgs or Ballyvolane v Rineanna Rvs or Granville Rgs

Shilts
16/01/2009, 1:42 PM
Well done to Derek McCarthy on his call up well deserved. Is it Kinsales run in the FAI that doing it or does Gerry Smith be on Foot.ie!!!!:p

On the Shinky going to Leeds havent heard anything and would be very suprised, they were up there before {Shinky, Figo, Brian Sull & Bilko} and 1 way or another went back to Grattan bar Bilko who was/is down with Cobh Rams

I have to agree with the above. Congrats to Derek McCarthy on his call up - well deserved and long overdue. Good performances in the Oscar Traynor Cup have helped McCarthy and Varian's case as much as the FAI Jun Cup run. If that's not an incentive for Minty's players at the weekend then nothing is. Best of luck to the two Dereks with Ireland juniors and also to the Cork AUL team at the weekend.

streetscene
16/01/2009, 6:44 PM
Congrats to Derek McCarthy and to |Kinsale too..Great news and best of luck to them.. fair play too to the manager for looking down south..
some intersting ties in mjc but all told i think all the cork teams can look at the next round with optimism.. all you can really hope for is a home draw so we are happy enough with that.. would be great if it was an all cork affair..nice incentive there horse;).
best wishes to cork aul team on sunday

streetscene
16/01/2009, 6:47 PM
heard from the horse mouth shinkwin has not gone to leeds.. thankfully cause the cork aul need him on sunday

junglegym
16/01/2009, 10:27 PM
Premier :
Park Utd. / Coachford off

Horse24
17/01/2009, 12:40 PM
some intersting ties in mjc but all told i think all the cork teams can look at the next round with optimism.. all you can really hope for is a home draw so we are happy enough with that.. would be great if it was an all cork affair..nice incentive there horse;).
best wishes to cork aul team on sunday[/quote]

If we get over Dungarvan, and I believe we have a chance if we play on the day, then its good to see we will have one Cork team in the quarters at least. It would be our first away tie...so we might have to get a bus to the Faira! There were definetly easier draws out there, but I suppose better the devil you know.

BigFella 09
18/01/2009, 7:15 AM
Lads iv been reading posts for the few weeks and just had to reply.I think it's great that lads in the AUL are been giving a chance with the irish squad but just have to say the standard is very high.If you look at carrick united,they won the fai junior cup last season and yet only have 1 player in the squad.Personally I think there's still this dublin factor attached to the irish squad.It would be great to see either of them making the squad,it could open up doors for the rest of the league!!!.Best of luck lads.

streetscene
18/01/2009, 12:38 PM
big fella i reckon there will always be the dublin factor but we are always going on about how they never look outside of there so at least now they have taken some bit of notice..on his day varian is the best player in the league and McCarthy has been doing it for seasons now so he totally deserves recognition.. its up to them now to reach the level expected.. obviously the standard is high it is international level after all but you dont know till you try.. it might take thema while to adjust to that level so hopefully the management will give them a proper go of it and not judge them after one session.. but fair play to them and best of luck..
who are your allegiances with big fella

BigFella 09
18/01/2009, 1:42 PM
No one really!!!.To be honest I don't think they will get the chance,unless they perform on the day they'll be droped like a shot which is really unfair on them.Just going back to the standard issue...I don't think any aul team will win the FAI CUP,when you look at the teams that have won it previously no team comes close to the standard they have.The likes of carrick united.a team that has 4 or 5 ex league of ireland players,just can't compete.What you think???

casilles
19/01/2009, 12:15 PM
Fair play to the lads great win. Paul O Mahony took his goals very well and will be pushing for a start next time round. All 3 Aul goals scored against the wind too!! those that stood out - O Regan, Shinky, Keegan and Varian these 4 were top class. Thought Betts and Bucks were quiet. How Brian Sull stayed on was beyond me fault for 2 goals and always looked vunrable, it was even said by the wexford Coach on the far side to 2 of his players" put the ball in on top of there centre Half he is shocking" Shinky was unpassable really stood out for me nothing went pass him. 1 observation from the outside was ther seemed to be a lack of top quality ont he line. I could honestly say 3/4 of them knew the were never gonna come on? Geetings???? Maybe McGrath out of Glenthorn or Micky Forde, Keith Shaw, Harry Goulding, Alan Daniels, Robbie Walsh ???? there is defiently talent out there they just have to be asked

BigFella 09
19/01/2009, 12:51 PM
How many goals did paul o mahony score?.Didn't get a chance to get up to see it?.

berba
19/01/2009, 1:04 PM
who got winning penalty ????? Must have been bricking it

kalyani
19/01/2009, 1:18 PM
anyone in Cork Aul thread be able to tell me what story is with Ballyvolane - some investigation or objection of some kind going on with them that they cannot play munster junior fixture, i was at oscar traynor game the weekend and i heard about it, anyone with details.

BigFella 09
19/01/2009, 2:21 PM
Nah didn'y hear anything about,was the game any good?

casilles
19/01/2009, 3:57 PM
Paul got 2 goals took his 1st very well great finish. Brian Sull took the last for Cork and O Regan saved the Wexford Pen. Shinky had earlier missed hit the cross bar but the Wexford fella done the same it was 4-4 after 5 spotters

berba
19/01/2009, 4:11 PM
Not bad for a team that is doubted so much on this thread, think there is a really good squad paddy o regan is the best keeper in the league, well he doesnt have much competition!!!!!!
shinkwin,john kelleher d mccarthy and derek varian are quality
brian sull the centre half saw him score a great goal against blarney street when he lobbed the fat keeper!!! berba esque
fair play to the lads probably prefer to get roscommon, tipp will be very strong

BigFella 09
19/01/2009, 4:22 PM
Cheers for that.I have to disagree about the best keeper in the league!!.The wilton keeper is unreal,i've seen him loads of times and can't understand how he's not the aul keeper.He has played semi pro in italy.How many keepers in the aul can say that!!

littleman
20/01/2009, 12:18 PM
The wilton keeper is top class alright but unfortunatley has a short fuse.He was rather harsly treated by the Aul management last season an lost the plot with them in the dressin room before the game down in Skib last year.Hence his ommision from this years panel,never a good thing to tell a manager what you think of him ,especially in a room full of his players.

On Sundays game sometimes the result is all that matters an not so much the how.We got there,it wasnt pretty in places but we are in the semis an with nothin to fear.We have played 3 games in which we looked dead an buried an turned it around.That for me says a lot about the spirit in the camp.Its pointless blowin holes in it at this stage.Wexford played very well,especially with 10 men an credit must go to Cork for a well deserved win.We battled very hard at times just to carve out a chance an players who have all the ability in the world just struggled a bit to find time an space during a first haf that was played at 90 miles an hour.

It just wasnt Figos day an even he cant be brilliant in each game,Betts put in an honest hard shift but a broken nose will get in the way of most players.Keegan I thought played well an his switch was just down to Broadfield bein a peno taker,managers decision an again I think he called it right.The startin 11 was strong,they didnt all play well but we are lucky we have a bench to make an impact which they did.All round we ave to be happy.If all our big players have a day on which they all play well then we could very well see the Oscar Traynor down in Rebel HQ this year.

casilles
20/01/2009, 6:02 PM
I have to say Littleman i agree with you on 99% of it but as iv said before bar 2/3 on the line we were fairly thin. Both Bradfield and the young fella Gally are 2 left backs????? and Bradfield would not have seen action if not for pens, so the question I ask is why the need for Gally?

Berba it was a great goal scored by Brian on our fat keeper but that jersey he has is a size small and he aint no 32" waist:p

maestro
20/01/2009, 6:46 PM
Are Douglas hall in the Cork AUL League? If so any chance of a league table or any info on them?

BigFella 09
20/01/2009, 6:50 PM
I know what your saying lad but he's to good not to be included no matter what happened.What I heard was that he was told he was going to be starting down there an he was left on the line.Who wouldn't be ****ed off!!.I've seen the sub keeper from grangevale is it against wilton in a friendly an he was shocking.Surely if you want to win you need the best 11.Thats just my view on it!!.

Horse24
20/01/2009, 10:10 PM
Lads, I had to leave at full time the other day having made the pronouncement after 85 minutes that Cork had fallen behind once too often! Shows what I know!!

I am involved with a team who are 1st division this year for the first time, so the only two teams I have experience of are Leeside and a bit of Blarney Street. I hope I dont offend anyone with my opinions. So my opinions are based on those games and the two Traynor games.

I have seen the game in Blarney and the game in Mayfield, and, honestly, the only guy who was better the other day than in Blarney was the left winger Derek (never know which is which) Varian/Mc Carthy. I was suprised to learn afterwards the keeper got man of the match, when you could harshly blame him for the 1st two goals. I thought the defence looked a little uncomfortable.The Wexford no. 9 was good, and his late substitution back-fired on them.

Anthony Buckley dominated against Kerry, but seem subdued the other day. Derek Delea was probably my man of the match, though he seemed less effective when he moved back. He was brilliant against us last year in the FAI.

Figo gave the manager the horrible problem of whether to substitute a guy who can change a game in a second just because he is having a slightly off day. He was magic in Blarney against Kerry.

I dunno if you can say the bench had nothing when they changed the game. With complete family bias, our unused player is good enough. Like any good player, he is unhappy being on the bench but respects the managers decision and cheers his team-mates on.

On the keeper with the small jersey, I have personal experience of him breaking our hearts...and he knows I wont forgive him!!

On the Douglas Hall thing, put Munster Senior League into google or try www.corkaul.com (http://www.corkaul.com)

littleman
21/01/2009, 7:23 AM
casilles you may be confusin Anthony Peelo with Darren Galvin.Peelo play right back Sunday an is an ex Gratt,Galvin plays as outside left with us at the minute,they were both on the same minor team with us.Galvin was wanted by the Aul but declined due to work commitments,he is very highly rated an his name came up in conversation again Sunday if I'm bein honest.

The Kinsale lad is a good honest player an gives 100% but what started before him in the back line was just about as good as it gets in the Aul.T'is easy for us to say Brian Sull didnt play well but its the small things we miss an the big ones we pass comment on.Shinkwin stood out again but Brian covered him an his full backs each time.The one time he misread the bounce of the ball they scored.The other 2 goals had more to do with the shockin display form the ref.I thought both penos were dodgy, there 2nd goal when he himself was inside the 18 yard box an fairly central he needed a lines man 25 yards away an to his right to make the call for the goal.There were at least 2 players an a goalkeeper in the linesmans way so for me the ref bottled it big time.

I dont think that the backline were poor,just they didnt get all the cover they should have from the midfield.The manager has a very difficult job an in tryin to accomidate some of the more skillful players we have ,the set up of the team may be suffering.A settled side has its midfielders center /right an left an it has a set shape to it.The players know there jobs an do it well,but playin forwards as wingers is great goin forward but from a defensive point of view it can leave your butt hangin out.Thing is if I was in charge I'd probably do the same thing because if he picked a more settled side he'd have less flair.Figo,Varian Macarthy ,Delea even the lad O'Mahony who got a brace,who starts the next game,even harder who dosent.Rather his problem than mine thankfully.You find a lot at this level that subs can be roled on rather than too quickly rather than movin a player to another position an I thought Sunday this was eveident as well. Delea seemed to have somewhat of a free role Sunday an though he worked hard the end result could have been better,A switch with Figo rahter than a substatution imo would have been a better move,but Im biased please forgive me.

Varian was excellent going forward but goin the other way he let Peelo on his own too much.Figo was the opposite,he rarely got forward .Betts is a very good player an Buckly though aging can still do a job at this level but we lack someone who will boss a game an be verbal,checkin team mates an beltin out orders for example.As a team we can be too nice,sometimes a few yellows can be worth it because it unsettles the opposition.They think feck this this crowd are really up for this an mroe often than not you have the upper hand.Of the 3 games we have played this one was probably our overall poorest performance.The 2 nd half of the Limerick an Kerry games were top class.But we still won.We can only as a team get better an I think Sundays win will have done the confidence of the players the world of good.Our biggest proble is havin the belife that we are as good as anything out there.We suffer from it in every national comp an I dont see why we should.We have beaten a Kerry side that was practically a league of Ireland 1st division side,a typically very strong Limerick side in there own back yard an again a very strong Wexford side,we have every right to be confident.

Innishvilla
21/01/2009, 8:54 AM
Are Douglas hall in the Cork AUL League? If so any chance of a league table or any info on them?

No that Douglas Hall side are in the Munster Senior League - Junior Section. Pretty impressive that their 2nd team is into the last 32 of both FAI junior and MJC
http://www.douglashallafc.com/mslj2008.html