View Full Version : Cork AUL 2008/09

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

littleman
19/11/2008, 11:38 AM
Na that rule wasnt put into place at the AGM,blown out of the water because most clubs thought it wasnt practical,thank God

Streetwise
19/11/2008, 10:34 PM
:ball: on that rule of teams signing 23 players most teams would struggle to find 23 players.there seems to be a lot of interest in the transfere window u would have to ask how many players would have moved already.we seem to have a solid squad at the moment and have built it slowly over the last few years.if the right player came available you would always have a look.what about dusting down the boots littleman.

littleman
20/11/2008, 6:36 AM
Retirement hasnt been as I'd expected to be honest.I'm torn between 2 loves at the minute as I enjoy bein envolved with our club but I still want a game to look forward to on the weekends.I'v played with Grattan since I was 18 an played 10 or 11 seasons with the first team before I droped to the B squad for another 6 season which I must say may not have had the footballin skills of the A side but the craic was mighty an we even got to play out in the Cross a couple of seasons ago.

All in all I'v had a good run but it would be great if the Aul had an over 35 league or even better the Msl left a few Aul sides put an over 35 side in there floodlit league.But thems the joys,an it aint all bad I came up to watch the B team against Watergrass Hill this season an even though they had planty of bodies(nearly all forwards I may add)the manager asked me if I would slot in as sweeper for the 2nd half just to shore things up a little an I enjoyed it big time,if only for 45 mins.Before you start OLLI I put me name on the B registration form just encase they were ever left high an dry some weekend.

As for me havin an Indian Summer in the Prem,aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah no.Cheers but no thanks.I was from another time an I'd like to live with me memories as the football was just as good as it is now just with different players;)

streetscene
20/11/2008, 9:55 AM
what a great idea littleman.. now that would be some craic if we had some kind of league like that for aul sides.. i know some people would say we cant field teams at junior level but surely there would be enough teams to make up one league... i know that you can play 1-2 under 35 in msl league so something like that would help.. seeing as im not quite 35 yet then thats where i would come in:p. would be something to look forward to tho at end of the week.. you never know if a guy was to start playing in an over 35 league it might encourage them to get back involved with their club.. wonder has that ever been put to the aul..over to you littleman

bogwarrior
20/11/2008, 11:00 AM
That over 35's is a great idea lads. It would be great if it took off.

Just a quick word on the game last weekend. The game was a battle in every sense of the word and we're obviously disappointed that we didn't come away with anything. We cant go on conceding goals like we do though. That second was a disaster from our point of view, the first wasnt much better. Got to cut out these mistakes. Third was a peach of a free. Great strike.

Definately felt a draw would have been fair considering the last half hour was spent in the Blarney street half but sure thems the breaks. Street like to try and get the ball down and play ball so i'm sure that they'll take points off other teams along the way...

Everton on saturday at home in the FAI junior. The FAI is our last chance for a road trip so we'll be focused on this one.

littleman
20/11/2008, 12:21 PM
You would have to have a good think about how to go ahead with an over 35 league in the Aul.What clubs would ask to start off with say in a ten team league.Would each team have to have at least 20 signed players.How would insureance for players work.Would it be an open offer to clubs to put in a side an then the Aul would decide who the best possible 10 clubs would be.It would be a great help to clubs who would wish to get exclubmen envolved again wouldn't it though.I'll drop a little line to my contacts to see what the responce would be like an you never know they may even give it a spin in next years league.;)

Cheers for the other side of the story Bog,its handy havin the Steet lads on board but theres always the other side of the story.I bumped into Martin Conlon after the game in the Anglers an he said the difference between the 2 sides was that the Street took there chances an Kinsale didnt.The Street lads said they may have rode there luck on occasion but they deserved it on effort so from both sides the same points run through.All things considered though it was buy any stretch an excellent 3 points to get.I for one will be quite happy if both Kinsale an Blarney Street use the result to push on an improve in the league because Wilton seem to be takin a handy lead into xmas.The only worry from there point of view is that they could end up bein finished an waitin for the teams with games in hand to catch up,a nervous wait.

When you think of it we play Ballyvolane in the Fai this week with a 2nd round game in the Aoh an the Mossie due before the weekend the Oscar is due to be played on the 21 December that wont leave much space for a league game.It could well be Febuary before we get any meaningful run of league games again an thats only a maybe.

Kinsale do have a big weekend this weekend,but buy there own standards.If they loose they will concentrate 110% on the league an Aoh/Mossie an you may see a different side to the side thats a bit inconsistant this year.I'd place ourselves in the same boat to be honest.Glenthorn AN Wilton have had a great start an Park are going very well too.So far we seem to look as we have been off form but with regards to the league we have had the same exact start as last year.The surprise for most was our showing in the Muster Senior an Junior.It was a surprise to us too,trust me.

Still lots to play for lads an the bookies will only add fuel to the flames by writin some off an installin favs left right an center,as they always do..

streetscene
20/11/2008, 1:04 PM
i reckon if the over 35s was to happen then it would have to be openned up to all clubs within the aul to be fair.. in some cases you might get a lot of older players from two different clubs joining to make one.. obviosly it would have to be on an all weather pitch so i think public liability insurance would cover it.. as for each club having to have 20 players signed then thats where i see a problem.my only question is would guys give it the right commitment and if not would it be left to the die hards to keep it going then as well as everything else in the club.. littleman is right some serious thought would have to go into it..it definetley could be a runner tho..each club should be wrote to to get some feed back on the issue..
bog man your account of last weekis game suprises me i must say.. for me i thought the result was fair and right.. obviously enough when we went 3-1 up one would only expect a team of kinsales calibre to come back strong but i thought we were comfortable with what came our way..if anything i thought we could have nicked one or two more on the break. like i said earlier the first day the better team lost but that was not the case on sat last..
anyway its still only 3 points and means nothing to us unless we build on it..from what i have seen that league is wide open and wont really start to take shape till feb-march..ok wilton and glenthorn are the teams to beat but neither have hit a blip yet..experience tells me thats inevitable..thats not knocking either team credit them for their starts but this league is far too tight for anyone to run away with it.
do you yhink the lads down kinsale would bi interested in travelling up every week for an over 35 game if it were to happen

olachico
20/11/2008, 1:51 PM
I wasnt for once suggesting that you were illegal littleman!!

littleman
20/11/2008, 2:17 PM
I know Olli but you probably would have been one of the first to twig the possibility that if I hadnt I would have just admitted that we played an illeagal player.

An considerin who the player was;) it would have drawn some attention dont you think.

casilles
20/11/2008, 3:34 PM
Great idea about the over-35 league but the aul have shown in the past that they can barely run wat they have at the moment. they cut there noses so suit here faces all the time. 1 rule for 1 club another for a different 1. As littleman and strretscene/wise have said alot of thought would have to be put in to this and it would be a great way to bring back some old faces. Hey with this reccesion hittin and jobs going everywhere fellas would only lookin to get out of the house from the old dolls naging:p

On the caping of signing X number of players i would totally be against it. you only have to look at Rockmount to see wat has happened, sign every tom dick or harry play him in the Keane cup, 1/2 league games transfer window closes and you dont see young tom playin anymore. They even put Snr players on there Jnr form to get a few more in

Really kookin forward to the weekend 2 games i plan to attend, Blarney St vs Blackstone Sat 2pm and Rockmount vs St Marys Sun 7pm.
Pass & Move/littleman any sign of ur predictions ?
been a new signin would not like to steal yer thunder on it:)

littleman
20/11/2008, 4:36 PM
You asked,you get

Heres my lot for the weekend lads,some are easy but some are just my gut feelin.

Saturday 22nd November Kick Off 2 pm.
FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:

Grattan Utd v Ballyvolane,,,,,,,,,the Gratts
Kinsale v Everton Utd ,,,,,,,,,Kinsale, I would expect them to bounce back after last week

Glenthorn Cel v Coachford ,,,,,,,,,,,Coachford,head says Glenthorn,gut says Coachford

Blackstone Rovers v Blarney St,,,,,,,,,,,,last week ye were the underdogs,this week yer the fancied team,pressuer is on. Blarney Street to win

Ringmahon Rangers v Ballyphehane ,,,,,,,,,,,Ringmahon,all the news says Ballypheane are strugglin

Midleton v Leeside ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Leeside,they seem to be goin ok

Murphy’s Irish Stout AOH Cup 1st Round:

Knockraha v Glenthorn Cel B,,,,,,,,,,Sorry Olli but Knockraha is a hard place to get a result.

Sunday 23rd November kick off 10-45(unless stated)
FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:

Greenwood v Park Utd ,,,,,,,,,,,Park

Knockavilla Cel v Wilton Utd,,,,,,,,,,,,,,should be a cracker,Knockavilla

Ballinhassig v Springfield “B” ,,,,,,,,,,Bella

De Courcy Albion v Innishvilla ,,,,,,,,Innish

Ard-na-Laoi v Park Utd B,,,,,,,,,Ard na Laoi

Last but by no means least

Rockmount V St Marys..........Rockmount.I would love to see Jp score an win his first trophy in the Msl but Rockmount just seem to be like a machine at the minute just producing win after win.They have some of the best players in the country playin on a pitch thats like there 2nd home.For all me hopin Marys can win I just cant see it happenin.

olachico
20/11/2008, 6:57 PM
Ballyvolane to beat Grattan seeing that Littleman is picking on me every week!!! Missing quite a few players for the weekend so you might jusy be right!!!

Billynomates
21/11/2008, 7:05 AM
Ringmahon Rangers v Ballyphehane ,,,,,,,,,,,Ringmahon,all the news says Ballypheane are strugglin

Its Ringmahon junior B team. Struggling a the bottom of the Ist division MJL. Awful side. Easy win for Ballypheane

Innishvilla
21/11/2008, 8:02 AM
You asked,you get

FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:

Grattan Utd v Ballyvolane,,,,,,,,,Gratts
Kinsale v Everton Utd ,,,,,,,,,Kinsale
Glenthorn Cel v Coachford ,,,,,,,,,,, Glenthorn
Blackstone Rovers v Blarney St,,,,,,,,,,,,. Blarney Street
Ringmahon Rangers v Ballyphehane ,,,,,,,,,,,Bally
Midleton v Leeside ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Leeside

Knockraha v Glenthorn Cel B,,,,,,,,,,Knockraha

FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:

Knockavilla Cel v Wilton Utd,,,,,,,,,,,,,,I agree with the wee guy this is game of the weekend (potentially) I'll go with the local guys Knockavilla

Ballinhassig v Springfield “B” ,,,,,,,,,,Springers
De Courcy Albion v Innishvilla ,,,,,,,,Innishvilla
Ard-na-Laoi v Park Utd B,,,,,,,,,Ard na Laoi I work with their keeper so 4:3 to them...

Rockmount V St Marys..........Haven't a clue so I'll go Rockmount.

My tuppence

littleman
21/11/2008, 8:24 AM
look Olli ye have to go an play Knockraha up in there place which is a very hard place to go for a win for any side.Its a big pitch apposed to what ye are used to playin on an to cap it off yer A team are playin Coachford at home in the Fai so ye mite not have either the full compliment of players or support ye are use to.Im not sayin ye are goin to lose for the sake of it,Im lookin at the factors an then makin a call.Simple as that.

With regards to Ballypheane,common knowledge is that they are strugglin for a team.It dosent matter who you are playin when your are strugglin becasuse everyone is aware of the fact you aint at full throttle.

I think for the most part based on form an common knowledge at the moment my predictions are ok.Any one whos A teams are playin the same day as there B teams,then the B teams have to be at a disadvantage.

For instance,we only enter a club side into the Fai an Mjc.Not an A or B a club side that way our club side is made up of mostly A players with some B players.Also it means we are entitled to a free weekend for our B side each time the is a Fai or Mjc weekend which we are envolved in.Makes sure we hav a strong side as much as possible an our B side dont have to play a game with a weakened side due to the A team havein fai /Mjc game either on the same day or the day before.

21/11/2008, 11:00 AM
anybody know anything about the ballinhassig side were playing the weekend, i didnt even check to see what league their in too busy at work

Towelie
21/11/2008, 11:32 AM
FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:

Grattan Utd v Ballyvolane.......Grattan to win a tight game.
Kinsale v Everton Utd.......Kinsale
Glenthorn Cel v Coachford........Draw
Blackstone Rovers v Blarney St........Blarney Street to just shade it.
Ringmahon Rangers v Ballyphehane........Ballyphehane
Midleton v Leeside.......Tough local derby. Midleton are a much better side than what we've been scraping past in the last few weeks.If we play like we have been then we're out,hopefully we'll lift it for this game though.

Knockraha v Glenthorn Cel B........Knockraha

FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:

Greenwood v Park Utd........Park in extra time
Knockavilla Cel v Wilton Utd........Can't see anything other than a Wilton win here

Ballinhassig v Springfield “B”.........Draw
De Courcy Albion v Innishvilla.........Innishvilla
Ard-na-Laoi v Park Utd B........Park,played against them and they're a decent side.

Rockmount V St Marys........Tempted by the draw but I think i'll go Rockmount, should be a cracker.

Is there odds in Cashmans for this weekends games does anyone know?

casilles
21/11/2008, 11:39 AM
FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:

Grattan Utd v Ballyvolane,,,,,,,Grattan by 2 wonder are cashmans doing bets, grattan -1 evens?

Kinsale v Everton Utd ,,,,,,,,,Kinsale

Glenthorn Cel v Coachford ,,,,,,,,,,,draw, glenthorn to nick it x-time

Blackstone Rovers v Blarney St,,,,,,tough1 but the Street to pull it out

Ringmahon Rangers v Ballyphehane ,,,,,,as littleman said above Ballyphehane struggling but the might just scrap it.

Midleton v Leeside ,,,,,,Derby game but Leeside to win

Knockraha v Glenthorn Cel B,,,,,,,,,,Knockraha

FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:

Knockavilla Cel v Wilton Utd,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Shock here Knockavilla pitch is narrow with a hill on it wont suit Wiltons footballers

Ballinhassig v Springfield “B” ,,,,,,,,,,Ballinhassig

De Courcy Albion v Innishvilla ,,,,,,,The villa

Ard-na-Laoi v Park Utd B,,,,,,,,,High flyin Ard vs bottom Park form says home win

Rockmount V St Marys.........The big 1, 2 draws between them {Keane cup & league} Rockmount 2-1 on expierence.

Any1 know if our friend Mr Cashman is taking bets?

olachico
21/11/2008, 1:37 PM
Knockraha v Glenthorn B Have to go with Glenthorn B here - just to prove EVERY one of ye wrong LOL

Not saying either way whether we'll win or not but if Knockraha was such a hard place to go to get a win they wouldnt be back in the second division - I feel a big slice of humble pie coming my way if we do lose!!

streetscene
21/11/2008, 9:17 PM
[quote=casilles;1063145]Saturday 22nd November Kick Off 2 pm.
FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:

Grattan Utd v Ballyvolane,,,,,,,Gratten but not as comfortable as last season

Kinsale v Everton Utd ,,,,,,,,,have to be kinsale

Glenthorn Cel v Coachford ,,,,,,,,,,,Glenthorn-

Blackstone Rovers v Blarney St,,,,,,the street

Ringmahon Rangers v Ballyphehane ,,,,,, have feeling for ballyphehane

Midleton v Leeside ,,,,,,leeside..extra time

Knockraha v Glenthorn Cel B,,,,,,,,,,Glenthorn b

FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:

Knockavilla Cel v Wilton Utd,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Wilton at a canter

Ballinhassig v Springfield “B” ,,,,,,,,,,have to say ballinhassig

De Courcy Albion v Innishvilla ,,,,,,,The villa

Ard-na-Laoi v Park Utd B,,,,,,,,,park b

Rockmount V St Marys.........marys on pens

dont let me down olachio!

22/11/2008, 12:23 AM
Are the odds out yet for the leagues??

22/11/2008, 6:05 PM
Grattan lost, what happened littleman, ballyvolane too, their crap

olachico
22/11/2008, 7:19 PM
Just for you streetscene - 1-1 aet 5-4 on penalites . Come on the Glenthorn B !!! What a crap hole of a pitch!! I put a curse on Grattan - thats what Littleman gets for picking on Glenthorn B for the last few weeks :D

berba
22/11/2008, 7:22 PM
Grattan got exactly wat they deseved, created no chances other than a header that hit the bar and the goal which was well taken. Poor defensive display, with both midfields contributing little. Bad game,two bad teams,bad ref (actually shocking ref) and also bad pitch. Grattan face the street next week should be a better game fingers crossed.Oh yeah bad weather :D

junglegym
22/11/2008, 9:39 PM
No Kickfest here for the neutral today. Two well disciplined teams all throughout the game, Well refereed aswell.

Defences on both sides on top throughout the game. Not many clear cut chances throughout the 90mins.We Had most of the posession but just failed to make it happen in the final third.
Went up 1-0 in the first half of extra time . A missed spotter for the Celts . And a breakaway goal in the last minute killed the game off .

Great result for us today. We know on our day we can beat anyone and this was a great Boost for us against a side that in my opinion will be there or there abouts in May.

Although the cups are great to be involved in And winning is a habit its Back to Grassroots next week and a massive 3pts on offer ;)

olachico
23/11/2008, 11:52 AM
i only made 2 predictions for the games this weeked - Ballyvolane to beat Grattan and Glenthorn B to beat Knockraha - 100% not bad!!

littleman
23/11/2008, 12:16 PM
Thank you Berba for your enlightened report of our game.I would agree with you that we may not have deserved to win but thats not to say we deserved to lose either but the score line says we lost all the same.I can't fault our players for effort because there winners an they dont take any defeat well,it just seemed that everytime we were at the crossroads between attackin well or defendin well we made the wrong decision.Makin excuses about players not bein available on the day would be wrong of me because the 11 we started with should still by the majority of opinions been strong enough to get a result.

Again lookin at the goals we conceeded we have to be dissapointed by our own standards.For me the first should have been sorted by the keeper who was slow off his line but then again his defenders left it late for him to have to come with there slack markin for the goal.We centered made 4 pass'es an the ball nestled in the Ballyvolane net.All square at half time an the 2nd half to be honest we had the majority of the play but just took the wrong option to many times an were caught on the hop by a simple ball which left there lone striker all alone to lob our keeper.We laid seige to the Ballyvolane goal after that but just couldnt get past a sterling defense in fairness put up by Ballyvolane.

I think it was a reality check after the game for the players to be honest because if we were out of the Fai at this stage it was because we wernt good enough on the day to reach the next stage.With regards to the rest of your comments Berba you are quite entitled to them but I also am entitled to mine an i thought what you said for the most part sounded a bit sour grapes.

If we Gratts are goin through somewhat of a transitional stage between new an old management an the players trying to find form they never the less are 95% of the team that has walked away with the Prem for the last 2 seasons.The team also that has reached the last 8 an last 16 of the Fai over the last 2 seasons.So forgive me for not agreeing with you that because they have yet to find form this season there crap.In what ever guise Grattan took to the field Ballyvolane still had to beat the best junior side in the county away from home an they did.Fair due to Ballyvolane an best of luck to them in the next round.

As most will know on this site I have readily admit that next to the Msl pitchs an even the better Aul pitchs, our own is a pale shadow.But then again with regards to the norm in the Aul it is a very good pitch.The only sides which complain about the slope are the ones who loose on it.The surface when cut an rolled as I have said on numerous occasions is excellent.It is rolled n average 3 or 4 times a season if the weather allows an is cut on a weekly basis again if the weather allows.If the Fai junior council deem it up to scratch to play an Fai junior quater final then taken into comparision with your account of it I think anyone may understand why I take exception to what as I have said sounds like a sour comment.

I hope to look back at the end of this season an see this game as a turning point of our season.With the changes that we have gone through since last season it is clear to me that we need to get focused big time on getting back to doing what we do best,enjoyin playin ball.To do well in the Fai an even the Mjc you need to have all your players playin well an as a team need to be playin well.Something that no matter how hard it is for me to say is not happenin at the minute.To coin a phrase from an ex Qpr manager bouncebackabiltiy will play a major part nextweek against a rejuvinated Blarney Street team.The weight of expectation can be too heavy sometimes,especially on a young side.Everything needs to be goin well for you to do well an when its not you need a little luck,an luck aint on our side at the minute , but only a fool would write them off because the managment an players will want to prove a point to themselves more than anyone else.

Fair dues as well to Coachford,great win,an Olli before he throws his dummy out again good win to.

olachico
23/11/2008, 2:39 PM
Haha - thanks for that Littleman!! I thought I was nearly going to have to eat that humble pie at one stage. What a bad pitch - doesnt look too bad to look at but the surface was like glue. Also the car tyre marks through the pitch didnt help - i really thought it would be called off when i saw them. It was just crying out for someone to break their ankle running through it .

Very hard to play football on it which is to be expected at this time of year. Game was more like a battle to be honest. We were 3-1 down on penalties looking like we were going out but came back to win 5-4

Kilumney for us away next week in the cup - another tough one!!

Even though the internet has us down to play two games at home on Sunday at the same time !! Had to ring Mr Chambers to let him know

casilles
23/11/2008, 3:16 PM
Blackstone Rvs 1 Blarney St 4

Good win for the street in wat was looked at as a good chance of an up set. 1st half 1-1 Blackstone had 1 or 2 chances but Blarney st had 4/5 great chances ,takin too many touchs on a heavy pitch let they midfield beclosed down and in turn runs were not spotted. 2nd half start gettin back to 1/2 touch football spreadin it wide and delivering it in to the box. Larry Betts from 30 yards was follwed by Gary Coughlans 2nd of the day and a Hogan cornor was turned in to the Rvs net by 1 of there own. Ref gave them a pen with 3 to go but was drove wide. Cant remember The Street keeper havin to make a save in the 2nd half. all in all good win in wat could have been a sticky tie.

see there was a few shocks this weekend wiyh Grattan and Glenthorn losin. was talkin to the Glenthorn gaffer said he played a few fring players and the missed a spotter to go 1 up in extra time. i see olochio is a happy man bet you wont be slaging littleman!!!:p

Grattan next week 1st derby of the season will be tough hard game id say but it all stays on the pitch. Blarney St should have Danny Q, Mark Bucks and ex grattan player Graham Forde back in wat looks like a strong squad that could be stenghtened on dec 1st;)

dhegarty
23/11/2008, 9:35 PM
No Kickfest here for the neutral today. Two well disciplined teams all throughout the game, Well refereed aswell.

Defences on both sides on top throughout the game. Not many clear cut chances throughout the 90mins.We Had most of the posession but just failed to make it happen in the final third.
Went up 1-0 in the first half of extra time . A missed spotter for the Celts . And a breakaway goal in the last minute killed the game off .

Great result for us today. We know on our day we can beat anyone and this was a great Boost for us against a side that in my opinion will be there or there abouts in May.

Although the cups are great to be involved in And winning is a habit its Back to Grassroots next week and a massive 3pts on offer ;)

well done to coachford, absolutely great win and the main thing it is plain sailing from them now after disposing the favourites

24/11/2008, 1:31 AM
We won 3-1, easy win i have to say ballinhassig a v.poor footballing side, good facilities though

berba
24/11/2008, 4:52 PM
With regards to my comments on the Grattan game the other day i seem to have hit a nerve,firstly i didnt say they were CRAP. I was basing my comments solely on the current situation at the club. Out of two cups to lower teams must be a hard to swallow considering the clubs achievements in the past two seasons. Some of that may be down to luck but you have to look at form too with certain players not replaced and one of their best players working abroad,leaving a massive hole in midfield. The players must be frustrated at the moment but as i mentioned there is big room for improvement BIG. Wouldnt like to be the losing side in the Anglers sat ,must be motivation enough to find some much needed form.As for the pitch you are right there are worst pitches :D

Streetwise
24/11/2008, 6:51 PM
interesting results this weekend grattan was a big shock spoke to a few committee lads from grattan they said it was just one of those days.as we all know we all get them from time to time.coachford was an interesting one but not a shock as anyone will know any of the premier teams are capeable of beating each other.on our own result expected more froma blackstone team that were doinging quite well lately.the pitch was nt the greatest but we managed to move the ball a round and even though it was one one at have time we all ways looked comfortable.the subject of respect for referees seems to be all the rage but this should be a two way street. we work hard to get players training and facilites right and all we ask for is the same respect back.you question a decision and its like you have insulted him personly. refs have a hard job but some makes theres a lot harder with this stand off atitude.the majority of refs are excellent but some can be frustrating.

littleman
24/11/2008, 10:25 PM
Look Berb where not Man Utd,were Grattan Utd an I cant see anyone outside of Cork really bein awe struck at the thought of us bein out of the Mjc an Fai.To be honest I'd say for the most part teams would be delighted another so called big side is out early,happens every year to someone.This year it was us.We have had a fantastic few seasons with grest results,which we hope to have again in the future.An thats it.

Trust me theres no one more dissapointed than our players to be out so early but thems the joys an we have to pick it up again this Saturday.Winning is great but you have to cope with defeat,an how you cope with that is what stands to you as your teams grows in experience.

Our biggest problem over the last 4 or 5 games was that we are tryin too hard to win games well instead of just winnin games.There are games you should be just happy with winning 1 nil,an not expectin to walk all over every side you play against.I'm not overly worried about us at the minute because we are doin the basics well its just at critical points in games when there is an easier or safer option we arent takin them.In the defeats I was present at it was our finishing which cost us,we are creating chances just the same as we always do,we just need to start puttin them away.It will come I have no doubt.;)

berba
25/11/2008, 9:41 AM
I wouldnt agree that Grattan are all over teams lately and chances will be squandered if there is such an obvious lack of creativity or supply for the forward players.This i think is their biggest problem that and conceding sloppy goals. The long ball was definetly in use the other day and they seemed to run out of ideas in the end. Should be different on Sat were we might see some fotball played fingers crossed:cool:

Innishvilla
26/11/2008, 8:03 AM
Some real tough ties for the Cork contingent:

Trinity Corth or Bluebell Utd v Leeside or Douglas Hall A nice trip to the big smoke...
Coolock Town v Blarney Utd or Kanturk another journey
Strand Celtic v Coachford or Kinsale trip to Sligo I think
Dillon Cross or Ballyvolane v Mulranny or Westport Utd I know westport are strong don't know Mulranny
Sheriff Y C v Park Utd or Wilton Utd Dublin again
Clonakilty F C or Blarney St.Ath v Regional Utd Big gun from Limerick
Clonmel Town v Ballyphehane or Ballincollig one of Munsters/Irelands big Junior sides!

Towelie
26/11/2008, 9:05 AM
Some real tough ties for the Cork contingent:

Trinity Corth or Bluebell Utd v Leeside or Douglas Hall A nice trip to the big smoke...
Coolock Town v Blarney Utd or Kanturk another journey
Strand Celtic v Coachford or Kinsale trip to Sligo I think
Dillon Cross or Ballyvolane v Mulranny or Westport Utd I know westport are strong don't know Mulranny
Sheriff Y C v Park Utd or Wilton Utd Dublin again
Clonakilty F C or Blarney St.Ath v Regional Utd Big gun from Limerick
Clonmel Town v Ballyphehane or Ballincollig one of Munsters/Irelands big Junior sides!

5 away draws for the cork sides and the 2 home teams will really be up against it too.Westport having won it a few years back should be fancied to come out of that side.
I fancy Blarney street to have a right crack off Regional if they come out on top against Clonakilty.
Home advantage is everything in this competition so you'd have to fancy the home sides in the rest of them.
Our own game against Douglas Hall is huge.They dumped us out at this stage 2 years ago on our own patch so we'll need a massive performance here.
This is the third Hall team we've played this year having played their senior and AUL junior sides already!

If you hear the Munster Junior draw Innish can you post it here? Cheers

Innishvilla
26/11/2008, 11:42 AM
Quote from Billy's Site

"Due to some new sponsorship we have recently agreed upon, we have been given a new set of gear for our first team to wear.For this reason, we will have to change the colours of our home and away strips.From this weekend on, our new home strip will be black top/black shorts and black socks.Our away strip will change to skyblue top,navy shorts an sky blue socks. Gavin O'Mahony
Hon. Secretary, Grattan Utd "

Crikey wee guy ye'll be right evil looking ba*tards...

olachico
26/11/2008, 2:23 PM
FFS littleman next ye'll be blaming the kit for the poor results of late ala Man United and the now infamous grey kit :D - Joking before you spit the dummy out :eek:

casilles
26/11/2008, 2:40 PM
the gratts changing gear? wat ever happened to club colours!!!
wat are tee street gonna wear on sat rumour has it All White that battle betwwen good and evil!!:eek:

I see the majority of teams have been drawn away if the win thre next games in the FAI, tough blow. any1 any info on these teams?

bogwarrior
26/11/2008, 5:02 PM
Strand Celtic?! Sounds as if it's near a beach!! Could be like a home from home!

Not getting ahead of myself though. We'll be doing well to reach the next round by overcoming coachford this weekend.. always been tight affairs between us, as it is when most teams play coachford. Amazes me why they never make a fist of a title challenge. Well capable of mixing it with the best. Not going to make any predictions, hopefully our hard work on the training pitch will be rewarded with a victory.

Littleman the Gratts going thru a sticky patch. It's always tough to take. When ye came along and knocked us off our perch we of course didn't like it one bit. It's a killer being knocked out of the big cups, but ye're free to concentrate on domestic matters which could spell trouble for the rest of us. I agree with you however when you say it will come. I have seen enough of ye over the past number of years to think it's going to come good as well. The Blarney st lads are gettin a bit smug for my liking:D:p

littleman
26/11/2008, 7:18 PM
Its nice to see that our colour change has drawn so much attention.From a historical point of view our origanial colours were red an black,just to clear things up.The blue an white came about later on in the clubs history.Most teams would just look for blue an white hoops when they go lookin for the Gratts.Nowadays sets of gear are handed out left right an center an sometimes you have to accept them rather than turn away much needed sponsorship.

For me I couldnt care if it was pink an yellow with purple pokadots,its the result and the performance that counts when your wearin it .

Lookin forward to Saturday as well because we get on really well with the St lads an some of them are ex Gratts an we go back a long way.I know its goin to be different for some of them toggin off in the away dressin room after spendin so many years in the other one but we wont expect ant favours,nor give um.Win loose or draw its back to the Anglers.Slaggin aside we couldnt care who we play Saturday because its 3 points up for grabs an we have a league title to defend an more importantly try to win again.I'd agree with Bog on his point about us havin at least the league an Aul cups to concentrate on an I know the management an team to be lookin at this rather than to be lookin for gloatin rights.

Again for me the St lads have a small bit of a right to bang there drum at the minute.They have turned there ship around in all fairness an deserve the credit.We will have to get back to basics an put in a performance more accustomed to what people expext out of us if we are to get a result.A Northside derby could be what we just need.

casilles
26/11/2008, 9:01 PM
The Blarney st lads are gettin a bit smug for my liking
bit harsh id say, if i recall the street were be lambasted from pillar to post for havin 4 players on the Cork Aul panel and i dont recall ever gloatin about any wins neither.
lookin foward to the game at the weekend hopefully a cracker but would settle for a 1-0 win to the street and a crap game!! as littleman says its still only 3 points but i heard anice comment during the week from a current aul player to a Street player" ye beatin Kinsale and hopefully beatin grattan does us a big favour" gave me the impression that the street are looked as the hangers on of the league

littleman
26/11/2008, 9:34 PM
To be honest at the time the St lads were called into the Aul squad you couldnt blame anyone for bein sceptical in Mintys decision.Now is a different story.The St lads as I have always said are a good bunch an well grounded by those in charge.Results are all that count an they along with Wilton seem to be form sides goin into this weekends fixtures.Withregards to whomever passed the comment about the St beatin Kinsale an maybe even doin us hes kiddin himself if he thinks one loss with 12 games to go more or less will have any effect on the eventual league winners,whom ever they will be.

Last season an the season before we lost only one game in each season,drawing 3 an winning 14.No one is goin to come near that this season,why there seems to be a bit more competition between all the clubs this season which is a good thing.

streetscene
26/11/2008, 10:27 PM
the gratts going thru a slump is a storm in a tea cup lads..you dont win two premier leagus on the bounce without having character and bottle and im sure they will show this soon.. just not this sat i hope.. seriously our boys are up for it as gratten would only expect and im looking forward to using this as a yardstick not only for us as a team but as a club as well.. having won our last few games we are on a nice run at the moment and we will be confident of putting it up to them...but we are all well aware of a gratten backlash coming soon so we will be well prepared.. should be cracking game and will be well discussed by both sides back in the anglers as is proper
glad to see we have upset a few people down kinsale way...we must be doing something right so... as for strand utd bog i think ye should have too much for them..think they are out inniscarra way.. played them few years back and they were poor enough to be fair... on subject of fai anyone know anything about clonakilty.. interesting debate about being out of fai and munster early.. does enable you to concentrate more on local cups and league so there is for and against it.. still for a club like ours there is great incentive to go and get past clonakilty and then welcome a club like regional to fair field...six of one....................
surely some one has the draw for munster junior cup that they could post.. i know we have wilton away but would like to see other ties...
by the way bog just got a text of the chairman of strand.. they were wondering if they could use the fairfield for game against ye...hows that for smug...... i told him wait to see how ye get on against coachford first

streetscene
26/11/2008, 10:49 PM
ok bog warrior before you crucify me i just realised its strand celtic and not utd as i said.... know nothing about them.. sorry

littleman
26/11/2008, 10:50 PM
I have always said one of the best things about this thread with regards to others is that we try not to let the converstation break down into knockin each other in a bad way.

I'd like to think that with all the new members we have that will stay the same.Behind all the cover names we use to hide ourselves I for one have a fair idea of who exactly I conversing with an vice versa no doubt.Wouldnt it be great to throw comments left right an center at whom ever you want because you were guarrenteed a win week in week out,not for me as we would be as bad as the Limerick lads then.So its best to take any dodgy comments an take a deep breath before replyin.

I'v been on here longer than most an learned a few harsh lessons about makin a comment that can come back a haunt ya.Plenty of time left inthe season to win the league or even be relegated,t'is worth rememberin before the knee jerk reaction comment puts ya in the smelly stuff;)

olachico
27/11/2008, 9:32 AM
To whom are you referring littleman:confused:

bogwarrior
27/11/2008, 10:57 AM
Ha ha lads! That comment about smug Blarney st was only tongue in cheek. Trying to stir up a bit of banter north of the river! Alas littleman didn't take the bate. This nicey nice thing can only entertain for a certain amount of time!! We have to create our own entertainment!

No stir down in Kinsale lads. We'll welcome ye boys back with open arms in the return league fixture. Open arms is a stretch but you know what i mean!

Now to predictions for the weekend....

Grattan Utd v Blarney St Ath O’Neill Pk (T. Murphy) Grattan for me
Kinsale v Ballyphehane Cel Fort Hill (J. Linehan) -> Thought it was coachford!! Wasnt training monday!
Park Utd v Wilton Utd Brigowen Pk (P. Murphy)
Draw

Yoda01
27/11/2008, 12:59 PM
I have always said one of the best things about this thread with regards to others is that we try not to let the converstation break down into knockin each other in a bad way.

I'd like to think that with all the new members we have that will stay the same.Behind all the cover names we use to hide ourselves I for one have a fair idea of who exactly I conversing with an vice versa no doubt.Wouldnt it be great to throw comments left right an center at whom ever you want because you were guarrenteed a win week in week out,not for me as we would be as bad as the Limerick lads then.So its best to take any dodgy comments an take a deep breath before replyin.

I'v been on here longer than most an learned a few harsh lessons about makin a comment that can come back a haunt ya.Plenty of time left inthe season to win the league or even be relegated,t'is worth rememberin before the knee jerk reaction comment puts ya in the smelly stuff;)

can i put myself out there for a knee jerk reaction comment to put myself in the smelly stuff and say that grattan won't win the league this year! in my opinion there is too much going on up there and all is not well. this is not a dig at you littleman or intended to get a reaction from you. you express your opinion and i'm expressing mine.

some tough aways draws in the F.A.I. for the aul sides alright this year, but you have to beat them all if your going to win it so it's irrelevant where you play.

looking forward to the northside derby this saturday and we will see the crudentials of the street. here's hoping for a good game and dry weather.