View Full Version : Cork AUL 2008/09

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

bogwarrior
14/09/2008, 12:23 PM
FAI UMBRO JUNIOR CUP
Pearse Celtic 0 Ballyphehane Celtic 1, abandoned 8th minute, accidental injury to referee. -> I'd love to know what happened here?!?

Murphy’s Stout Premier: Coachford 1 Grattan Utd 2 - great result - put me right back in my box.

Park Utd 2 Villa Utd 1; My only saving grace!

Wilton Utd 2 Glenthorn Celtic 3... I was far to quick to right off Glenthorn. This league is wide open!

olachico
14/09/2008, 1:17 PM
If it was an exam bogwarrior you would have failed with 33% :D

toepoke
15/09/2008, 6:08 AM
Great result on Saturday against Coachford, very tough game as usual down there. Went 1 up after 3 mins, great finish by Figo. let Coachford back into it with a soft goal. 2nd goal came midway thru the half from a free kick that coachford couldn't clear and headed in by Derek O'Driscoll.
We weren't troubled much after that, Coachford went mental at the end looking for a peno but I was 15 yards away from it and the player dived. Ref got it right even though he was poor on the day for both sides. So 4 pts away from home isn't a bad start and the Cup games starting next week and hoping for a good run in them and probably get back to lge games in June.........haha

pacman
15/09/2008, 8:50 AM
Wilton 2-3 Glenthorn - You just never know what type of Glenthorn are going to turn up in any week. Some weeks they are fantastic and look like they could beat anybody, then next day they're fighting amongst themselves and look all over the place. I'm not surprised by this result

Coachford 1-2 Grattan - Great win for Grattan. Very tough place to get a win. Things always seem to get out of hand down in Coachford so i'm not surprised about the commotion with the penalty. 4 points from two tough games. Was talking to one of the Grattan commitee yesterday and said they deserved their win.

Park 2-1 Villa - Very close game by all accounts with very few chances. Heard Park scored two cracking long range goals and that essentially was the difference.

15/09/2008, 7:34 PM
Were playing glenthorn this sunday.

olachico
15/09/2008, 8:14 PM
Is it the Glenthorn A team Bella?? A friendly?? Where is it on???

olachico
15/09/2008, 8:22 PM
I think you'll find ye are playing Glen Celtic on Sunday Bella. Totally different team to Glenthhorn Celtic. Not too far apart distance wide. Glen Celtic have a handy side this year with a few players coming back from other clubs and a few of my ex Hibs B players joining. New manager in and they are unbeaten so far. They beat Avondale Juniors 4-3 in the FAI junior Cup so it won't be easy Bella!

15/09/2008, 8:32 PM
Aaahh

junglegym
15/09/2008, 8:32 PM
Great result on Saturday against Coachford, very tough game as usual down there. Went 1 up after 3 mins, great finish by Figo. let Coachford back into it with a soft goal. 2nd goal came midway thru the half from a free kick that coachford couldn't clear and headed in by Derek O'Driscoll.
We weren't troubled much after that, Coachford went mental at the end looking for a peno but I was 15 yards away from it and the player dived. Ref got it right even though he was poor on the day for both sides. So 4 pts away from home isn't a bad start and the Cup games starting next week and hoping for a good run in them and probably get back to lge games in June.........haha
Soft goal, I dont think so toepoke. After great pressure on yere defender a first time cross was met on the half volley to give lofty no chance
Failed to mention the last 20 mins of 1st half where we had all the play. Failed to score when we were on top, initially that cost us the points..:(.
Must admit I didnt see the penalty incident but the refs comments upset our lads. he said " our striker lost the ball then dived looking for a peno" Im just wondering if he had lost the ball, How was it that he got the cross in after ??.I'll tell you why - Every player stopped waiting for that whistle to blow and he Bottled it.
Must admit Figo was class ..

toepoke
16/09/2008, 6:42 AM
Soft goal, I dont think so toepoke. - junglegym
What I meant is from our point of view ist was a soft goal. Shwinkin had possession of the ball on the wing facing the endline and all he had to do is put it out for a throw, ye're forward picked his pocket put in a great cross and scored, no problem with that.

What the ref said after the game is his own business, but it doesn't take from the fact it wasn't a peno. Actually when the player went down the ref shouted at him to get up, brian sull was on the wrong side of the player standing off him so when he got back up he was able to get the cross in.
As to the last 20mins of the 1st half ye might have had all the play but Lofty hadn't a save to make and dealt with the couple of corners ye had without any trouble.
I am not saying we had an easy game far from it but if the game went on chances alone Figo should have got 3 himself , john cotter and Paul lynch had very good chances as well.

junglegym
16/09/2008, 9:04 PM
Discussing the game at training tonight, we came to conclusion ye shaded it Toepoke, End of story.
Looking to next week anyone out there know where Watergrasshill's pitch is? Played there years ago. Is it left before the church and on a couple of miles :confused:

olachico
16/09/2008, 11:33 PM
The pitch you are talking about Junglegym is no longer used. The new one is between the old rathcormac road and the new by pass. And i mean right between. You'll know when someone boots the ball onto a four lane dual carriageway!!!!

If approaching from Cork direction (Jack Lynch Tunnel), take the exit for Watergrasshill, go all the way through the village where the road will join up with the old Rathcormac road and the pitch is on your right hand side after < 1 mile.(The GAA pitch is on the left outside the village, when you pass this he soccer pitch is on the right) Also note that the parking situation is poor enough there. Just have to park on a slip road. Solid first division side. Physically strong with a couple of very quick players notably Jacob who plays up front or ont he right wing DO NOT GO THROUGH THE TOLLS.

Just spoke to the groundsman who works with me (coincidentally enough) and he said the pitch is in a bad way after their game against Douglas Hall at the weekend

zohan
17/09/2008, 1:29 AM
i heard grattan are supposed to be getting a few back that they lost last year!! is there any truth in this??

littleman
17/09/2008, 6:38 AM
For now I can confirm that Cans:D has resigned from Marys, thats 100% certain coming from myself. The supposed others as such at the minute is only talk.;)

bogwarrior
17/09/2008, 11:28 AM
Massive boost for ye chaps. Fair play. Why the turn around?! Surely JP will follow him now aswell?!;)

littleman
17/09/2008, 2:16 PM
In fairness to Cans he gave it a go.I must point out that its not as if he wasnt good enough.He was superb against the View in Marys recent win an excellent in there other 3 games.He just decided it wasnt for him an we are only too happy to welcome him home.The others as I have said it is just rumor at the minute an I wont comment on anything unless I know its 100% so when I know you will.;)

olachico
17/09/2008, 9:22 PM
Was talking to someone from Marys tonight who said JP O'Sullivan has said he is staying at St Marys when asked. OVer to you Littleman:D

littleman
18/09/2008, 6:23 AM
Again as I have stated I can only comment on what I know is 100% an thats Cans is back.I never opened my mouth about Jp.Thats where the rumor mill comes into play.As far as I am aware Jp is very happy at Marys an I wish him the best of luck.

littleman
18/09/2008, 2:25 PM
Right lads sorry I havent been as interested as I normally am but with holidays an wot not I just didnt have the time to focus an just paid a visit when I could,all back to normal now.

A quick look at the opening month or so shall we

.Kinsale opening up with a bang an stutterin a bit (Tizz/Bog whats the story with Varian,hols or Gaa)but they should come back on track shortly.

Leeside, could the Mjc Champs be in trouble if there home form is anything to go by,,,,,,,,,

Blarney Street as expected are up against it but I thought Coachford would struggle from the start too ,how wrong was I.

Park seem to be going about there work nice an quiet apart from the Leeside loss.

Glenthorn an Wilton could be the dark horses an Villa could be in trouble if they dont get a few wins together.

Ballypheane again have been hard to read,the game against us they were handy but I've been told theres unrest already so for me I'd be surprised if they can stay out of the basement battle.

The Gratts,at this stage last year I think we had roughly the same start so all things being equal i cant complain.

All in all its tight enough,still lots to play for but I think whom ever lasts the longest in the Fai/Mjc could be in the strongest position again to win the league.I also think the decision to play the Mossie later on will come back to haunt the Aul because of the back log of fixtures due to the weather,an dont even start me about the Aoh.I really hoped that the Prem/Prem A sides would be kepy out till the 3rd round to help with the fixture pile up but nope,not a chance.Twas a good idea if the weather gave us the break we needed with regards to gettin 4 or 5 league games under the belt before the cups start but as they say the best laid plans an all that.

Only a week or so left in the transfer window an then its do the best with what ever hand your dealt till December.Might there be a few late additations to various squads,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Tally ho an dont be shy

olachico
18/09/2008, 5:45 PM
Is it possible that the AUL wont play the Mossie Linnane at all this year??
I mean really what purpose does it serve for the clubs or the AUL??

toepoke
18/09/2008, 9:26 PM
Knowing the AUL they will probably still go ahead with the Mossie, but they might have to revamp it. Instead of the groups as usual they might have to go to a straight knock out competion.

19/09/2008, 1:07 AM
Hi Lads

Niall here from www.teamer.net

Noticed your forum topic online, so taking the chance to respond if thats OK. Thanks to Billy's AUL blog, we got a load of teams in Cork region sign up in our very first week.

We'd be very keen to hear from anyone who has had a look and signed up, even more so from those that had a look and decided not to proceed. We are releasing a range of new features in the next fortnight to coincide with our official launch in a weeks time, but ultimately we will rely on the football/sports community to drive our future developments.

So feel free to let us have your feedback, either here/Cork AUL blog, or direct to niall@teamer.net.

Thanks, and good luck to all in the new season.

Fantastic site, the banter on our one is brilliant just wondering could all players upload photos onto the photo section rather than the rep who started it off, be good for pics of matches and night outs and so on, just a suggestion that is all. Really impressed ny this service, congratultions on a wonderful job.

littleman
19/09/2008, 6:15 AM
Pa Connors back to Grattan from Castleview,more to come ??????????????;)

bogwarrior
19/09/2008, 8:26 AM
Ha ha! It's all a fantastic ploy by the Grattan management! Nobody left at all. They were just rented out for a few weeks. Whats the betting Danny Dunne and Jp resign aswell?!?!

littleman
19/09/2008, 8:33 AM
We made um join Msl clubs so they could keep there fitness up.hahaha:D

olachico
19/09/2008, 10:38 AM
I told ya most of them would come back littleman! The old grass is greener situation and all that!!

pacman
19/09/2008, 12:50 PM
Littleman, are they all coming back due to not getting their game with their new clubs or what?

littleman
19/09/2008, 2:00 PM
Cans started all but 1 of the games with Marys an he was man of the match in a couple of um,Pa wanted to give Castleview a go an started both of the Views games,away to Wander'ers an home to Marys.Sometimes you just cant understand why players leave in the first place,you have to allow them there little bouts of madness.

I think most followers of football in Cork would admit that these 2 players would be good enough to play with any side, junior or senior in Cork when fully fit.All the same I am just happy there back where they belong.We were never going to strugle anyway because of what we brought in at the start of the season but at least know we can have a good crack off of everything because we know we have the strenght in depth, an after whats happened over the last few days I wouldnt be surprised if we signed a few more,,,,,,,,.

toepoke
19/09/2008, 5:04 PM
have to agree with littleman about the lads coming back, i think it could've been that it took a while for the manager situation to be sorted out and Cork is a small place so people do start getting itchy feet. As you said Olachico the older grass being greener, the 2 lads are a huge bonus and with the good start to the league there is a good buzz at training. still a long way to go starting with the MJC tomorrow.

junglegym
19/09/2008, 9:30 PM
Is it possible that the AUL wont play the Mossie Linnane at all this year??
I mean really what purpose does it serve for the clubs or the AUL??

Have you lost your mind olachico? It serves the same purpose as The Michaels,Saxone and Presidents cup respectively.

I was lucky enough to be involved with a team many moons ago that won this cup, and believe me the memories will last forever. Do you know it takes 17 pints to fill the Mossie, ;)
I agree with toepoke It would be better run off in a knock-out cup format this year.

toepoke
20/09/2008, 1:45 AM
the mossie should definitly be kept as it is a cup worth winning. we won it a few seasons back the year after we got promoted and it served as a good tester for us.

17 pints to fill it , i remember it took 4 or 5 pints of bulmers and 2 bottles of peach snaps and about 50 straws

olachico
20/09/2008, 9:12 AM
I lost my mind ages ago -> why else would i be running teams in the AUL for the last few years. No other cups in the AUL are league cups other than youths and under 17 (though technically not AUL anymore) so why should this be any different. Arent ye in enough cups in the premier anyway???:p A knockout competition would be best!!

21/09/2008, 3:44 PM
We beat the glen 4-2 in the cup, great win

pass&move
22/09/2008, 7:19 AM
Ha ha! It's all a fantastic ploy by the Grattan management! Nobody left at all. They were just rented out for a few weeks. Whats the betting Danny Dunne and Jp resign aswell?!?!

It was all a plan to get Mr Cashman to give us a better price, but alas he never took the bait 6/4 to win the league (get on it now)

pass&move
22/09/2008, 4:56 PM
Update on the Premier League from Cashmans Bookmakers

6/4 Kinsale
5/2 Grattan
5/2 Glenthorn
4 Park
6 Ballyphehane
6 Coachford
10 Wilton
14 Blarney St
14 Leeside
33 Villa

littleman
23/09/2008, 5:43 AM
Very quiet lads,come on at least some excuses.Good wins an shocking defeats.Its not like ye to just sit back an leave it all go by,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

toepoke
23/09/2008, 7:13 AM
very good all round performance on Saturday by the lads. Went 1 up after 3mins and conceded a minute later, after that it was more or less one way for the rest of the half going in at 5 - 1 up. We just kept ticking over nicely in the 2nd half . Ballyvolane kept plugging away in fairness and got a goal back and late on in the game Gally scored with a great lob to finish it out 6 - 2.
All in all a good day at the office and with the new signings and a couple of guys back from injury squad is shaping up nicely

olachico
23/09/2008, 8:59 AM
Since we have had no match since the park utd game i have nothing to say:D . No match again this week for Glenthorn B . The pitch in St Aidans should get its first game of the season on Saturday when the First team play host to Villa United so thats something to look forward to !

pass&move
23/09/2008, 1:09 PM
I haven't done this for a couple of week's so I'll start it again

Any predictions

FAI Umbro Cup 1st Round:
Pearse Cel v Ballyphehane Cel
Droumee Dynamos v Springfield
Dunbar Cel v Leeds B
Ballyvolane v Rockmount

Lucozade Sports Munster Cup 1st Round:
Watergrasshill Utd v Coachford

Premier League:
Blarney St Ath v Wilton Utd
Glenthorn Cel v Villa Utd
Grattan Utd v Park Utd
Kinsale v Leeside

Premier A League:
Rathcoole Rovers v Macroom
Village Utd v Dillon’s Cross Ath
Ballincollig v Knockavilla Ce

League 1:
Richmond v Innishvilla

League 1A:
Park Utd v Leeds A

League 1B
St John Bosco’s v Leeside

League 2A:
Killowen v Coachford

League 3:
Afton Villa v De Courcey Albion
Richmond v Kinsale
Wilton Utd v Parkview Cel

League 3A:
Grattan Utd v CFC Banteer
Kanturk v Cathedral Cel
Macroom v Springfield

olachico
23/09/2008, 1:31 PM
Here is my attempt

FAI Umbro Cup 1st Round:
Pearse Cel v Ballyphehane Cel Away Win
Droumee Dynamos v Springfield Away Win
Dunbar Cel v Leeds B Home Win
Ballyvolane v Rockmount Away Win

Lucozade Sports Munster Cup 1st Round:
Watergrasshill Utd v Coachford Away Win

Premier League:
Blarney St Ath v Wilton Utd Away Win
Glenthorn Cel v Villa Utd Home Win
Grattan Utd v Park Utd Home Win
Kinsale v Leeside Draw

Premier A League:
Rathcoole Rovers v Macroom Draw
Village Utd v Dillon’s Cross Ath Draw
Ballincollig v Knockavilla Ce Away Win

League 1:
Richmond v Innishvilla Away Win (just for Innish!!!)

League 1A:
Park Utd v Leeds A Away Win

League 1B
St John Bosco’s v Leeside Away Win

League 2A:
Killowen v Coachford Away Win

League 3:
Afton Villa v De Courcey Albion Home Win
Richmond v Kinsale Away Win
Wilton Utd v Parkview Cel Home Win

League 3A:
Grattan Utd v CFC Banteer Away Win
Kanturk v Cathedral Cel Draw
Macroom v Springfield Home Win

littleman
23/09/2008, 9:32 PM
Just to spice things up I'll give out some info,the draw for the Oscar Traynor was on tonight an surprise surprise we have been grouped with the Kerry district league an the Limerick Aul ,last year it was the WCB,an Limerick Desmond.Either way we have a chance to redeem some pride after last seasons tripe.We have the Kerry crowd at home an we have to travel to Irelands version of Kabul in the other game.Both very hard games I may add,the Kerry league has come on leaps an bounds an as always the Limerick lads will be top notch.Team to be made up of 16 Grattan,1 Kinsale an a/other from the lower leagues ahahahahah only jokin.

Other than that nothin much to report.The killer B's got off the mark last Sunday morn with a good 3/2 victory over Macroom B.The game wasnt as tight as the score suggests an we were comfortable 3/1 up to the last min.Roll on Banteer.I dread the away games because I have know idea where most of the sides in the 3rd div are from,time for me to take the tom tom out of the box i'd say.

The A team are rollin along.Flattering results at the minute.Cork is too small a place to be bluffin an we all know full well about each others sides.Pointless comin on an sayin everythins rosy an football is great when everyone else knows it only paperin over cracks.I'll be the first to admit we havent been at full strenght from the start an an its only from this weekend we can call on a full squad.But results is all that counts irrelevent of circumstances an we have got those results for the most part so I have to be happy from that perspective.

Injurys an work deprive us of a few but our recent arrivals in Cans,Pa an now Danny Dunne will only improve results an effort,along with the banter.Bally in fairness gave it a good go but it was one of those games where we were ruthless with nearly every oppertuinity we either created or were presented with.That was the most pleasing thing for me to see on the day,the players were hungry for goals an it showed.

The next few weeks will see us tested in the Munster Senior in O'Neill Park against what I have been told is a very good Newmarket Celtic side from Clare an then in the Fai against Carrigalines Junior Premier side,bit of an unknown quatity for me.Any info would go to good use by the way.The bigger bonus for me though is that by the time the Carrigaline game is over we will or should have everyone injurys an work related back ,touch wood.

Tizz,Bog,Rebel if I or we have offended ye could ye leave us know because it aint the same with out the Leesiders an Seasiders sharin their views on all things Aul.Other wise barrin Bella an Innish its nearly a Norrie site an that wouldnt be very social now would it.Hope to hear from ya soon....................

toepoke
24/09/2008, 6:09 AM
I can confirm Danny Dunne signed back from Castleview last night. Biggest turnout for the an A team training session, along with the 3 new guys there were 2 more back from injury and still a few working abroad at the moment to come back. selection headaches on the way.

le tizz
24/09/2008, 7:33 AM
Tizz,Bog,Rebel if I or we have offended ye could ye leave us know because it aint the same with out the Leesiders an Seasiders sharin their views on all things Aul.Other wise barrin Bella an Innish its nearly a Norrie site an that wouldnt be very social now would it.Hope to hear from ya soon....................

no offence to be taken on this site, unlike our limerick buddies we seem to get along for the most part and differences of opinion are accepted by n large, banter aside we're all in the same boat so dont change on our part weeman

i've been largely absent from proceedings at the seaside so far so you'll have to rely on boggy for the up to date news, i'm hoping to get out training for the 1st time tomorrow night so i'll be up in o'neill park takin a bite out of all of your lads dont worry, we had a very disappointing result at home last sat, i missed the game but by all accounts we should've won easy but thats all water under the bridge now and we're gonna have to concentrate on leesides visit this weekend, we've lost points to them for the past few years and its hurt the league challenge so time to get back on track for us

the new pitch is mint, so i need to get fit fast and enjoy the samba football that we're playing at the moment, everyone puttin in the effort so if we get a few results we'll be hard to beat- at home anyway, we'll try to take the home form on the road with us this year

good to see the standard looks high throughout the league this year, pitches should be a better standard and now that we all know each other so well it should prove for more competition for the year

i'm not good at the preduictions oli but we have to grab a big 3 points this w/e to give ourselves a chance following 2 disappointing draws

will leave it at that, besta luck all round, i'll keep ye up to date with my pre-season training :rolleyes:

olachico
24/09/2008, 2:57 PM
Hey Littleman i'll want commision - The manager of this team works with me - he is a production operator. I'll try and get a bit of info off him (on the sly) but looking at their team as listed in the paper i know quite a few of them. Havent seen them play as a team but I don't think they should pose ye too many problems with one noteable excpetion being Damien Hesse- he was on MSL Oscar Traynor team last year and is a very good player . One or two of last years promising youths on the teamsheet as well

toepoke
24/09/2008, 4:43 PM
Thanks for that Olachico, will have to get out and see them play some week.

littleman
24/09/2008, 6:06 PM
Toepoke they play out in Blarney this friday night against Blarney at 8pm

junglegym
24/09/2008, 10:17 PM
[quote=pass&move;1026260]i haven't done this for a couple of week's so i'll start it again

any predictions

fai umbro cup 1st round:
Pearse cel v ballyphehane cel away
droumee dynamos v springfield away
dunbar cel v leeds b home
ballyvolane v rockmount home

lucozade sports munster cup 1st round:
Watergrasshill utd v coachford away

premier league:
Blarney st ath v wilton utd home
glenthorn cel v villa utd home
grattan utd v park utd home
kinsale v leeside home

premier a league:
Rathcoole rovers v macroom draw
village utd v dillon’s cross ath home
ballincollig v knockavilla ce away

league 1:
Richmond v innishvilla home ;-(

league 1a:
Park utd v leeds a away

league 1b
st john bosco’s v leeside home

league 2a:
Killowen v coachford away

league 3:
Afton villa v de courcey albion home
richmond v kinsale draw
wilton utd v parkview cel home

league 3a:
Grattan utd v cfc banteer home
kanturk v cathedral cel away
macroom v springfield home

littleman
25/09/2008, 1:37 AM
Aint pullin no punchs now folks its just the way I see it,,,,,,,,,,,

FAI Umbro Cup 1st Round:
Pearse Cel v Ballyphehane Cel A,,,,,,,,,,,home win,Pearse are playin well Bally arent,also local derby

Ballyvolane v Rockmount ,,,,,,,,,,,,,home win,Bally are decent,especially at home an they may be Rockmount buy name but they aint the strong junior side they used to be.

Premier League:
Grattan Utd v Park Utd ,,,,,,,,,,,Home Win,,,,,,,,,, an why,,,,Cans,Danny Dunne,Decky Gostel,Shinky,Cotter ,Lofty,Alan O'Brien an David Byrne are all available for selection after missin last weeks game,,,,n'uf said.

Kinsale v Leeside ,,,,,,,,,, home win if Varian plays Kinsale should win well,Leeside may have won well last week against Postal who arent great but Kinsale is the last place you go to fellin lucky, especially as they lost at home last week.

Premier A League:
Village Utd v Dillon’s Cross Ath,,,,,,,Home win,seen Dillons up close an they looked totally out of there depth in Prem A,Village on the other hand have a big squad hungry for success,the mother of local derbys as they share the same grounds.

League 3:
Wilton B V Parkview,,,,,,home win,,,,,,,,Wilton B are on of the best 3rd division sides playin at home against possibly one of the worst,home or away

League 3A:
Grattan Utd v CFC Banteer,,,,,,,,,home win,,,,,,,,,,the Killer B's will have a few more bodies back this week an should be too strong for a Banteer side who will struggle havin to travel so far for a mornin fixture.

zohan
25/09/2008, 4:48 AM
there is no way pearse will beat ballypheane celtic cant see it happening!! ballypheane are after a few bad draws in the league but they have to get it right eventually and being a local derby aswell can only see it going one way!! also the carrigaline and blarney junior game is switched to thursday night

olachico
26/09/2008, 5:59 AM
I'm so very disappointed with you littleman:(

The match of the week : Glenthorn A v Villa Utd doesn't even get a mention as part of your magnificent 7 ????

And Wilton B v Parkview does???? While i agree with your verdict on Wilton B I can't believe this is a bigger game.:confused: