View Full Version : Cork AUL 2008/09

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26]

Shilts
27/05/2009, 10:52 AM
Pearse win the league.The draw stood.This was only fair i think but at least greenmount go up as well.

The Premier A Div needs 5 replacements from the 1st Divs. Normally the three 1st Div winners would be promoted. How were the other 2 teams decided on? if not by playoff

As for the those who were not entertained enough last sunday night in Turners Cross - might I suggest you try the Opera House or the Everyman Palace in future. :D
AOH Cup Finals are ONLY about winning!!!

littleman
27/05/2009, 1:18 PM
Well lads theirs seems to be a fair few different views of what went on in the Cross Sunday.It wasnt the best game I'v watched but few finals live up to the hype.Most are played at a lunitic pace with both sides hammerin each other an for the most part thats whet went on.]

Blarney St in all fairnes had the majority of play but they did nothin with it.Possession means nothin if you end up on the lossin side.Blarney had a few chances but they were only half chances at best.They troubled Kinsale by movin the ball quick an Kinsale looked rattled when they did get the ball wide an were run at the but only on a few occasions.

Other than that Kinsale seemed happy to just clear their lines an hope Mr Varian came up with the goods.He left his markers for dead on 3 occasions an should of had made the game safe for Kinsale but he took to much out of the ball twice an Kenny made a great stop to deny him late on.

Kinsale for me were lucky to finish with 11 ,the center half should have gone for the tackle on O'Connor on the half way line for which he got a yellow or for the high challange again on Ledger in extra time.He didnt an he put a way a peno in the shoot out,contensious or what;)

All said the penos were terrific for the watching supporters but if the truth be known Blarney St learned a cruel lesson.You have to consider it a privilage to reach any final,more still the Aoh.Its the blue ribband cup for junior football an not just in Cork,it holds the highest respect out side of the county as well.It was just a pity the Street players didnt have the resovle their keeper had .For me he was the outstanding player on the pitch.I know Jeremy got it but I'd say he was delighted the way Blarney St put high balls at him all day an Blarney St didnt offer anythin up front despite much promise.

It takes some balls to take a peno in an Aoh final an I commend the scorers an the guys who missed but when Your keeper makes 3 super saves an left you with 2 chances to win the Aoh,an blew the lot.A lousy way to finish after workin so hard.football can be crule.:(

bogwarrior
27/05/2009, 9:39 PM
Alot has been made of Casilles contribution in the shoot out lads and rightly so.. but what about Brendan Hurley? The young man saved four penalties!!? He gave us four chances to win it but we ddnt take them(including one himself). I thought he was superb. Distribution is second to none as well.

As for the final it was terrible for the neutral but we couldn't care less!! Blarney st had more of the ball but did nothing with it and we came closer to scoring than they did i felt... varian twice, once leaving babbs on the ground before trying to round the keeper who did superbly well:ball:. Other than the free in the first half I dont recall hurley being under too much pressure.

I was impressed with JP Thompson. Did his best on sunday and has a great touch. Blarney st looked dangerous when he came deep and turned. I thought Mongo and Tyner at the back were excellent. Fair enough he was lucky to be on the pitch to take a peno. The tackle on the half way was a yellow for me as geroid cummins was there to cover i felt. Should have been a second yellow for the second tackle. But what balls to take a peno with the crowd booing?! He loved every minute of it!!

Park at the weekend i think and then the final on monday night... nearly there!!

littleman
28/05/2009, 6:35 AM
Sorry Bog an Tizz,,,,,,congrats to kinsale on winning the Aoh for the 2nd year running,should have done this before I put yesterdays post up so please forgive me.Hows Scully by the way,will he be fit for Monday congratulated himm after the game but he looked in a bad way.

I agree Brendan played well but of the 2 keepers Eddie was the better on the day,only just though.

As for tyner,he's one of those robbie savage types,he annoys people on sight,,,,,,,,,but he dose do a good job for his team.As for the boo'n for the peno that was just the crowd tryin to put him off an in fairness to him he stuck away a good peno.Talkin about the crowd I thought there was great support for both sides an the banter between the support was brilliant,slaggin non stop.As I said yeaterday all the possesion in the world means nothin if you end up on the loosin side an in the end the history books will say Kinsale won the Aoh an nobody will care how the game was won..................................

rebelhead
28/05/2009, 12:38 PM
mossie leauge cup:

lads any predictios on the final next monday nite?????any news on the kinsale injuires????

Streetwise
28/05/2009, 10:01 PM
firstly congrats to kinsale on last sunday nights win.as for the game we had a lot of the ball but our lads knew afterwards we didnt create a whole lot of chances. i thought both keepers and defences played very well on the night and thats why it was nt exciting for the neuturals.the games we played against each other prior to the final produced 17 goals so to finish nil all just proves in a final teams are cagey and nervous.but we will take some positives out of it and hopefully come backl stronger next season.
i would like to thank our players and managment for all the work and effort
this year. heres to busy summer

littleman
02/06/2009, 7:50 AM
we nearly slipped off the page,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Innishvilla
02/06/2009, 9:13 AM
we nearly slipped off the page,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

I was considering doing the same well done Wee man...

Any report from Linane cup final? Well done Ballyvolane, hard luck Kinsale. Nice to see a spread of teams winning the various cups...

pacman
02/06/2009, 9:15 AM
Suprised to see that Ballyvolane beat Kinsale in the Linnane cup final, not suprised to hear though they lost the penalty shoot out.

anyone see it?

Yoda01
02/06/2009, 10:38 AM
Suprised to see that Ballyvolane beat Kinsale in the Linnane cup final, not suprised to hear though they lost the penalty shoot out.

anyone see it?

well this certainly was a surprise for me anyways.
we got what we expected from ballyvolane, they gave it their all and i thought the 2 centre backs played very well (which you always need for an upset)for them but other than that they weren't great. on the other hand kinsale must be exhausted or over celebrated the aoh cup win or something as they must have played way below what they are capable of, i'm not knocking kinsale but surely they are better than the display yesterday? for the second final running they seemed happy with the long ball over the top route.
penalities are a lottery but congrats to ballyvolane and comiserations to kinsale, another long season over, enjoy the rest everyone!!!!

rebelhead
02/06/2009, 10:42 AM

anyone see it?

was at it myself,very even first half,kinsale had the ball cleared off the ballyvolane goal,kinsale used the same tatics as last week aoh cup final,boot the ball long from the back and hope viarian gets it,second half kinsale pressured the ballyvolane defence but they held out strong,last kick of the game ball came into the kinsale box,the ballyvolane sub took it down from air turned and cracked it of the angle,kinsale cleared ref blew up for full time,extra time was even enough,taught myself ballyvolane were much stronger in extra time,the the dreaded penalty shoot out,kinsale first two spotters were well taken,the two they missed were shocking penaltys,ballyvolane penos were well taken,if i could remember ballyvolane had the hardest route to the final,beaten park wilton ballincollig in the group stages and grattan utd in the semi.fair play to them,

Innishvilla
04/06/2009, 11:05 AM
Dropping off page again... Anyway, cheerio for this season see you all back again next year...

Parkboy
05/06/2009, 11:25 AM
Alright Folks
Just a quick note on the season that has so quickly passed us by.
Our A team finished a respectable third in premier division.No major cup run this season but overall a good season and we can hopefully build on that next season.Were supposed to play Glenthorn last Tuesday in last league game of the season but they decided to stage a no show.
Our B team had a mixed season.Never really got going in the league.Some heavy defeats at the start of the season proved costly at having any crack for the title.Reached Q Finals of County cup and semi finals of St Michaels cup.Finished 7th in league.
Anyway enjoy the breaks guys and see ye all next season.

olachico
07/06/2009, 12:10 PM
Surprised to see Minty go to a second division senior league side!!! Surely he shoudl be aiming higher than that???? Any front runners to replace him??

balls
07/06/2009, 4:18 PM
what club is he gone to

olachico
07/06/2009, 8:18 PM
Casement Celtic Senior Team is where he is going! Back to his roots - i didnt read that part! Obviously has an affiliation with them from the past - how many of the AUL panel might be asked to go I wonder?? After the success of the Cork AUL side surely a significant amount of these players will be targeted by MSL sides?

bogwarrior
08/06/2009, 10:45 AM
Very surprising! How many would be willing to move however? Second division senior league? That's a step down for almost all of the AUL squad! Fair play to Minty for taking the job though...certainly a tough one. The AUL job would appeal to a fair few you would think. Obviously the players are there as long as they dont move on. Perhaps the task may put people off after doing so well last year?! What about an internal appointment? Littleman to get promoted?!;):D

littleman
08/06/2009, 11:19 AM
Very funny Bog:D,i like the sound of it,a norrie in charge of the Aul team for a change.Just think of the head lines in the Echo, "Littleman gets Big Job".,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,na all jokes aside it willbe very interesting to see who gets the job.What was achived last year was outstanding but we have to be consistant to get recognision from the rest of the country,otherwise they'l put last season down to luck.I personally think the Aul should try to push on an really go for it again this year but then again maybe I'm askin for too much.

With regards to Minty ,Casement is a club close to his heart an I hope it goes well for him.No doubt he will try to attract players to Casement,but will they go is the thing.The Aul has a lot goin for it the season comin with the Aul Oscar title behind it an the players who won it last year along with every one else who rates themselves will want to try to get on the team,we'll just have to wait an see.I do know for a fact that one person has been offered the job but he quite rightfully is taking a little time to think it over an I think its only a fair request considering the expectations that will go with the job this season.After last seasons success its not a job for the faint hearted thats for sure.

Lastly,the ground works are bascially done up in our place an the building itself is due to be installed on Wednesday,any one passin is more than welcome to call in an have a look.:)

littleman
08/06/2009, 3:51 PM
Not much point in me doin a season round up as it would be a poor read.An away win against Coachford in the league for the A team an a win against Bellas lot also in the league for the Killer B's who faded poorly after a excellent start.Thats about that.:(

Be silly to call this past season anything but a dissapointment but football can be like that,one minute your up an the next your down.Tis all just a game lads;),,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,as if it was that simple:rolleyes:

Horse24
10/06/2009, 7:37 PM
Lads, wont make the AGM. It would be great if anyone who was there would let me know how it went.

littleman
11/06/2009, 7:41 PM
Lads our dressing rooms went in yesterday so we were upin our place helpin out from dusk till dawn an back again:D.Honestly were are overjoyed at finally havin them.Anybody wants their commitee to have a look just drop me a line an i'l arrange it or if your passin just drop in,its well worht a look.Top class if i do say so myself.:)I HOPE TO GET SOME PHOTOS UP SHORTLY.

Cause of the dressin rooms arrivin horse i didnt make it either,any news would be welcome.

olachico
14/06/2009, 1:15 PM
Off on my travels again - new season to look forward to and a new club too!!

We were also going to slip off the page!!

olachico
15/06/2009, 11:55 AM
Just read Knockavillas end of season review in Billys page - Heard mutterings a few weeks ago that they were looking to change the manager! He got them promoted to the Premier league at the first time of asking - what more did he need to do?

casilles
15/06/2009, 8:03 PM
Off on my travels again - new season to look forward to and a new club too!!

We were also going to slip off the page!!

well wat is the new club this year olachico? leeds ballyvolane??????????????

Just read Knockavillas end of season review in Billys page - Heard mutterings a few weeks ago that they were looking to change the manager! He got them promoted to the Premier league at the first time of asking - what more did he need to do?

if u read it again he had to manage a team to finish the coaching badge i ould imagine he is around UEFA B going on to Uefa a maybe in the pro licence but seems abit young for that and the Fai dont let many amatuers on this course kept for ex pros

olachico
15/06/2009, 9:13 PM
"if u read it again he had to manage a team to finish the coaching badge i ould imagine he is around UEFA B going on to Uefa a maybe in the pro licence but seems abit young for that and the Fai dont let many amatuers on this course kept for ex pros"

Yes i did read it - but from what i heard he was happy to stay on so I was basing my theory on what i heard as opposed to what was written - looks like one of those "contract terminated by mutual consent" things - its never mutual!!!

And the club I am going to is not Leeds or Ballyvolane :p Cant say yet though!! That takes the fun out of it!!

Yoda01
16/06/2009, 2:40 PM

maybe they didn't have the pot of gold to give him again this season? :ball:

16/06/2009, 5:56 PM
the two managers we had stepped down a and b team. Issues have been sorted so now whoever the senior manager is has the pick of all the players down there, seems like the perfect job, if this goes right we should get promoted in the next 2 seasons, IMO.

olachico
16/06/2009, 6:42 PM
Are both teams in the same division this year bella - ie both in the 2nd division - then which one is the Senior team? - When the second team in a club becomes better than the first team it only causes trouble - I have experience of this twice!!

olachico
16/06/2009, 6:43 PM
maybe they didn't have the pot of gold to give him again this season? :ball:

Maybe you are right Yoda - I dont know if he was being paid or not - but if he was and a fella was coming in to replace him the new fella will hardly do it for nothing now will he???

17/06/2009, 10:50 PM
Are both teams in the same division this year bella - ie both in the 2nd division - then which one is the Senior team? - When the second team in a club becomes better than the first team it only causes trouble - I have experience of this twice!!

The club had a meeting last week to sort all this, looking good for us now though.Eddie and Paul O'Rourke are our managers of the senior teams. How bad, I think were going to make good shapes next year.

littleman
18/06/2009, 6:06 AM
Bella,the Eddie an Paul,are they they same lads who did Leeside an Midleton a few years back.?

olachico
18/06/2009, 11:37 AM
The club had a meeting last week to sort all this, looking good for us now though.Eddie and Paul O'Rourke are our managers of the senior teams. How bad, I think were going to make good shapes next year.

Eddie and Paul O Rourke - good coaches but Eddie has a tendency to get peoples back up a little bit (just a little bit :p ) - never thought they'd manage a second division AUL side though! They managed Hibs once upon a time and brought half of Cobh with them - Mark Farrell being one such player!

19/06/2009, 9:39 AM
Yeah and he managed mark when they won the munster cup yeas back too, from a footballing side of things they have alot to bring to us, paul managed me under 16s and his trainings were superb, i look forward to it alot actually fresh challenge is always good, league and cup we'll be going for next season so bring it on.

19/06/2009, 9:41 AM
Sorry littleman, yeah they won the aoh with leeside not sure about midleton think it was john o rourke that managed them, LOI legend is johno..

littleman
20/06/2009, 8:16 AM
Well gentlemen our Agm was last night an I must say it was a great success.Biggest attendence in years an the attitude was spot on by all involved.

Everyone at the club has been given a massive boost by the dressing rooms finally being built an the future development plans of O'Neill Park left all in attendence in no doubt of the bright future that lies ahead of our club an its members/players.

The fully lit all weather is to be redone next weekend an the pitch an the surround will both receive a great deal of TLC during the close season.Our pitch seems to draw mixed reviews from most,some dont mind it,some hate it an some even enjoy playin up there,but its ours an we do like it.

The weather last year prevented us from keepin it in the condition we have become accustomed to an in fairness I dont think there are few clubs in the Aul who get their pitch rolled as much as we do,all be it to flatten a few bumps:p.All the same by season start it should be in crackin condition an when it is its a lovely place to play ball.

As with all clubs at this time of year the rumor mill is in full swing with regards to whos goin where an we are no different,a lot of names mentioned but for now their only names an not more importantly signatures.Interesting to see what happens over the next 6 weeks or so;),,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

The Aul managers position is yet still unfilled,allthough it has been offered to one person for definate an answer is still awaited.Hope to have some news soon.The bush telegraph tells me the the Oscar Traynor team is in line for the team the year award,an the managers one accordingly will go to the Aul Oscar Traynor manager,no big surprise there for anyone I'd say.Other than that its tappin up time lads so let the fun begin.:D

pacman
20/06/2009, 8:27 PM
So is Varian gone from Kinsale? I heard both Everton and Rockmount were in for him.

Horse24
20/06/2009, 8:32 PM
So is Varian gone from Kinsale? I heard both Everton and Rockmount were in for him.

Everton believe he is with them, but as littleman says, wait for the signatures.

littleman
22/06/2009, 6:52 PM
The Varian issue is fairly clear cut,his step father is in charge of Evertons seniors an its their he will go.

I was in the Anglers over the weekend and the names flyin around goin here there an everywhere was nothin short of ridiculous.

Only one that I actually belived was Ken Howey been asked to go to Waterford,hes pure class,amazes me Cork City havent tried to get him.

I suppose pre season will be startin mid july fro those commited souls amoungts us,fair dues.

Horse24
22/06/2009, 7:39 PM
The pre-season rumours are great fun arent they? It even began for me the night of the Champions League Final.......though Im not sure if I should be tapping up guys who are out in the smoking room!!

I got a run down of the AGM - if people are abusing the committee over fines, then, maybe you watch the news and get a grip on the real world.

On the fines thing, I remain completly confused. The AUL say the fines belong to the players, eg, the Villa Utd players brought their fines with them to us. Its the clubs responsibility to pay the fines. Do the players or the clubs own the fines?

Im not sure any man can take over from Billy, but, Barry Peelo will make a damn good job of it. His Youths and U17 stuff are always a good read, and he seems a nice approachable guy. Is Billy going to continue to maintain the blog or will Barry take that too?

Inis, what date is your line in the sand to start 2009/2010 blog? Its your job!!!

Shilts
23/06/2009, 3:03 PM
Any talk at the AGM about the 2 premier teams packing it in mid-season and leaving the Premier League where

1. Wilton were to win the Prem because of 9 walkover points (by 1 pt) or
2. Kinsale were to win with points gained against the teams that completed the season (by 1pt).

Neither result is, or could be satisfactory to the team that is ruled to come second.
The AULs rules stated that the league should go to Wilton but that doesn't mean that is the correct way to do things.

Just wondering if there was any plan in place to try and prevent this type of mess occuring again.
Obviously, in the future, we want any eventual winners to do so on the field of play and for the runners up to have no complaints. :ball:

littleman
23/06/2009, 10:02 PM
To be very honest here Shilts though it makes me sick to the stomace how the situation was handled its done now an theres nothin the Aul or ourselves can do to change it.

Villa were on their knees for the last few seasons an only the gallant last efforts of some die hard commitee members an players slowed the process down.Alberts were in the same boat.It was terrible to see them or any team to fold but it happens.

Ballypheane were like lot of new clubs who got success quick,too quick in fact for the core of the club to develope in time to fix things before it was too late.A bad apple here or there on the first team an maybe one fella doin too much work on his own within the club,recipe for disaster when things start to go wrong.

The Aul for all its miss givings can only hope we run our clubs properly.If we dont an clubs fold the rest of us look to them to sort it out.Its kind of we'v made a right mess of things an we'd like ye to clean it up.

No doubt we all will register for the new season under the impression that we will all be strong on an off the pitch,but never the less clubs will fall.

Thats what happens when you have to many clubs with to few players/commitee.Eventually it dilutes so much it falls to peices an clubs young an old are gone,Northvilla,Rockville,Wembley,Alberts both ex league of Ireland at one time,Villa,Ballypheane an the list goes on.As it is the gap between those clubs who have an the clubs who have not is gettin wider an wider an its bloody hard to attract players to a club,never mind commitee members.How many clubs will start the season with say 14 players an a core of say 4 commitee members,by xmas their strugglin big time an by feb their hangin on by there finger tips prayin for the season to finish.Ye have all experience of theses clubs, ye maybe even be a part of one.

And there is no fair way to deal with the situation when it dose happen,for every club who feels that they have an answer I guarrentee another club will feel hard done by.All we can do is to make sure on an off the field you do as much as you can for your club an hope its enough.The history books will say Wilton won the league an in a few years knowone will care how they did it.Wether you can say the 2 sides folding gave them an advantage,maybe your right maybe your not.I do know the beat us twice home an away an all you can do at the end of the day is beat whats in front of you so we have no grumble over callin them champs.

Lastly if anyone was followin my previous posts the Aul's offer was turned down by the individual so the Aul managers job is still unfilled.N'uf said.

Shilts
24/06/2009, 9:43 AM
While I realise that we can't change the past L'man, we certainly can learn from it.

Cork AUL is in the middle of a 5 year plan - I don't see ANY improvement yet. Is it all waffle?
Definitely clubs like Grattan and Kinsale are trying to improve themselves but has the league improved? or even the Prem Div? I think not.
The Premier should be the showpiece division, yet last season it was somewhat spoiled by the 2 teams pulling out. This was not the AUL's fault - but what if it happened again next year???

What should the league be doing to prevent this happening in the future??? There should be a plan at least!!!

I certainly think that in future teams being promoted to the premier div should have a B team, so that if there is any trouble - then the B team can be drafted in to fulfill fixtures. If the B team has to pull out of its lower div then so be it.

We like to compare ourselves with the MSL - would a situation like this ever happen in the MSL Senior Prem. Not a chance!!!
All MSL Prem teams have at least 2 teams in their club - some have more than 2, eg. UCC have 5.

And when teams say that they are fed up with this rubbish and try to go to the MSL. The Cork AUL says "oh you're tied in for 5 years, as part of The Big Plan".

Maybe Wilton would have won the league anyway and good luck to them - they are a great team and a great bunch of lads.
But Kinsale would have been delighted with 2 less games in what was a hectic run in. This would have helped improve rest times, prevent injuries and suspensions. All of which DID affect Kinsale in the run in.

No matter what happens during a season there must be a winner and the AUL decides the rules before each season starts to cater for all outcomes. But my point is we should learn from what happened in 2008/09 and try to ensure that it does not happen again - by having a plan to cater for it!!!

Shilts
26/06/2009, 9:29 AM
Wow - 48 hours without a post.
Either everybody's gone on hols or I touched a raw nerve with my last post!
:ball:

Horse24
27/06/2009, 8:44 PM
Shilts was getting lonely!

Is the season starting 22nd or 29th?

Every winner needs some things to go their way, and maybe Wilton gained from the withdrawals. But when the early fixtures threw Wilton V Kinsale and other teams against Villa & Bphehane, it was luck of the draw and Wilton had to take it. It was just luck that they hadnt met those teams yet.

I agree with the main point that lessons must be learned, and everything must be done to ensure it doesnt happen again.

However, speaking from a BRFC perspective, if we prove we are in it for the long haul, then we must be helped and not hurdles placed in our way.

I understand there has to be standards, so its a catch 22 situation.