View Full Version : Cork AUL 2008/09
Horse24
18/05/2009, 9:45 PM
What is the opinion on the Castleview winner against Douglas Hall? Should football just chalk it down as an oddball or is it the third similar story i have heard in local football this season?
Was does it say when 18 year olds do it?
Do we all forget its an amateur game? - Guilty as charged for me sometimes.
Surely we dont need to get to a situation where a guy who has work on Monday is squirming around the ground as the game goes on around him?
Im not sure the extra pressure of making the call of whether the guy is faking it or not should be put on the ref, who has enough to worry about.
So, anyone got a solution?
If I was a member of Salthill Devon, im not sure I would be hapy playing two National finals against Cork teams in Cork.
Congrats to all the winners so far this year, I hope your parties are as good as ours were!!!!
The Greenwood U16 keeper kicked the ball from his hands and the other keeper touched it into the net - would it have been a goal if the other keeper had not touched it?
Littleman - congrats on the ground breaking. That will go up fairly quickly will it?
Horse24
18/05/2009, 9:49 PM
I had so much to remember I forgot something.
Someone mentioned that they lost players due to fighting for nothing. Would more up/down keep more teams interested and therefore more players?
But are fellas not interested in relegation battles?
What about 1 up and 4 in play-offs? Is it fair on the 2nd place team if they dont win the playoffs? The play-off in English division one are the 5th and 6th, with 4th and 3rd gone. 3rd finished 20 points or something higher than the other 2.
Innishvilla
19/05/2009, 7:30 AM
What is the opinion on the Castleview winner against Douglas Hall? Should football just chalk it down as an oddball or is it the third similar story i have heard in local football this season?
Was does it say when 18 year olds do it?
Do we all forget its an amateur game? - Guilty as charged for me sometimes.
Surely we dont need to get to a situation where a guy who has work on Monday is squirming around the ground as the game goes on around him?
Im not sure the extra pressure of making the call of whether the guy is faking it or not should be put on the ref, who has enough to worry about.
So, anyone got a solution?
The Greenwood U16 keeper kicked the ball from his hands and the other keeper touched it into the net - would it have been a goal if the other keeper had not touched it?
What happened in the Castleview game? I missed yesterdays Echo???
No if the keeper was kicking the ball from his hands there is no problem with it going in as it is open play. The main time it can't go straight in is indirect free kicks. (As far as I know...)
bogwarrior
19/05/2009, 7:44 AM
Hall player injured. Game stopped, Castleview striker was supposed to knock it back to the keeper... he ran it into the goal!! It earned them a playoff against ucc! I was just thinking what if one of our players did it tonight against wilton to win the game... i dunno could it be tolerated. I wouldnt be happy about it and that's my personal opinion. Cheating really. I wonder what the consensus was in the castleview camp after? Happy not to be relegated, but do they want to be known as cheaters? Hopefully the right result happens in the playoff now.
Anyway to more important matters!! Wilton v Kinsale tonight in what has to be one of the most eagerly awaited games in years!! We've had our longest break between games in 2 months! A weeks rest, shock horror! Wilton have been in ominously good form of late, but we've been coming like a train also!! I just dont know what to expect, there'll be alot of sizing up done early on.
Hopefully a big crowd out tonight to see the two best teams in the Cork AUL at the moment. :ball:
Kinsale to win it!!! :ball::eek:
littleman
19/05/2009, 8:28 AM
the echo said it was a castleview player was injured,the hall kicked it out an when the view went to throw it back to the keeper the view striker intercepted it an put it in the back of the net,,,,either way the ref should have had enough cop on to dissalow it for ungentlemenly conduct
Yoda01
19/05/2009, 8:54 AM
Sorry to hear the news about the Greenmount game,lousy way to finish up especially with them goin so well.Been a bad few years for them an its nice to see them turn things around.
Berba,hindsight is a great thing.Lookin back at what I did well maybe I did handle things wrong but at the time I thought it was the best thing for the club.We all make mistakes, we all just aint honest enough to admit too them.I no doubt played my part in a dissapointin season but I'l try to make amends next season an I hope I wont be the only one bein honest;)
Lads I've been waiting a long long time to say this but the ground works for our new dressin rooms started this morning an I couldnt be more delighted.I'd like to say a big thank you to the commitee of the club for stickin to the task for so long especially when it got awkward.Worth all the hassle though in the end.
thats great news littleman, well done to all involved!
are ye going to try and level the pitch aswell?
littleman
19/05/2009, 10:39 AM
We do intend on leveling the pitch but everything has to be done according to the overall plan.We got our own pitch,got it fenced,put in temporary dressing rooms an built an all weather training facility.Next was the permanient dressing rooms which we have just started.Next is the extending of the all weather training surface.I'd say it would be at least another season before we would make a move to attack the issue of the pitch.
Look at it this way you may have to put up with the slope for another little while but at least ya can have a shower at the end of the game.;)
streetscene
19/05/2009, 11:33 AM
apologies for the no show over the last 2-3 weeks lads been extremely busy recently..firstly congrats to bella on winning the 3rd div.. played them earli in the season and theylooked a decent side so well done,innish i feel for you man heartbreaking end to the season.. and fair play to littleman and the rest of grattan on the dressing rooms front..ye have taken a bit of stick over that at times but stuck to yer guns and it must be so pleasing now..believe me lads when you are not lucky enough to have these things already you do appreciate what it means when some body else gets them..
anyway what a game in store tonight in the farm between as bog correctly put it the two best teams in the aul this year..wilton have been very consistent all year but credit to kinsale they have put a great run together to take it to the wire and with some very exciting attacking players on show for both sides there should be goals..best of luck to both sides and may the best team win it
as you can imagine there is a great buzz around our fellas at the moment and i must say i have been delighted with the preparation up to now.. we have kept our heads down and trained hard and gave a good account of ourselves against leeside last sunday.hard to believe that was our first win in the league away from home this season... i am going to hold off on our end of season review for another week if thats ok!!!!!
also lads what about greenwoods under 16s winning the fai cup last week,,absolutely great achievment ans well done to ger mcgreevy and all the lads involved... great to see
Shilts
19/05/2009, 1:01 PM
also lads what about greenwoods under 16s winning the fai cup last week,,absolutely great achievment ans well done to ger mcgreevy and all the lads involved... great to see
Big Congrats to Ger McGreevey - A great Cork Soccer Head - Legend!
littleman
19/05/2009, 4:47 PM
best of luck to the wilton an kinsale lads tonight.wilton have been in the lead all season but kinsale have proved theres plenty of life in the ol'dog an i'm sittin on the fence cause I know lads on both sides..who ever wins will be worthy champs.
casilles
19/05/2009, 5:08 PM
Best of luck to both Wilton anh Kinsale but even a kinsale win doesnt give them the title, put them a point behind with 1 game to play vs park think people are forgetting that,
19/05/2009, 5:14 PM
Going up to the game in a minute should be good, hopefully a good advertisment for the aul.
19/05/2009, 9:38 PM
3-3, great game wilton win league, kinsale had a fella stupidly sent off in first half, real cracker of a game why wasnt derek varian playing??
Innishvilla
20/05/2009, 7:34 AM
3-3, great game wilton win league, kinsale had a fella stupidly sent off in first half, real cracker of a game why wasnt derek varian playing??
I was at it too, that one guy could have cost Kinsale the title...
Varian was injured. I was near the Kinsale sideline, even after he came on he came over to put cream/deep heat on the hamstring area at least twice...
Have to say it was a cracking game. Wilton looked very good for the 1st 20 and deservedly took the lead, passed the ball well and their left winger looked very dangerous. Then Kinsale worked a good goal from a corner. An excellent delivery but how could Wilton leave the best striker on the pitch have a free header with no-one within 3-4 yards of Derek McCarthy??? Kinsale then I thought looked the better side. Wilton's second was a great header, he did very well to place it right by the post. Love to know what was said by central midfielder to get a straight red before Kinsale had tipped off.
2nd half was interesting, Kinsale leveled with Mr McCarthy again. Wilton went back in front 2 minutes later from the penalty spot, I'll be honest I didn't see what the penalty was for. Again Kinsale brought it back, possibly an og. Kinsale finished with 9 for a second booking, Wilton had plenty of chances on the break to wrap it up, but Kinsale went close once or twice to winning it...
I think the guy that got the straight red will need to take a long look at himself, talk about letting your teammates down...
Shilts
20/05/2009, 9:09 AM
Congratulations to Wilton United - good bunch of lads, and if we couldn't win it I'd have liked to see them do it.
That's over now - roll on Sunday night (AOH Final) where we lock horns with the only Cork team that has beaten us this season. Could be another cracker. :ball:
20/05/2009, 11:00 AM
Aw stop the most stupid red card ive seen in a long time, and to continue with the threats fter, foolish boy. Kinsale seemed to be an awful moaning team their no.7 was even wrecking my head, and no.5 was cribbing mad too, but tbf to him he bullied the young right winger out of the game at times. Shane O'Neill was fairly good again with buckley calling the shots as usual, but i was most impressed with their striker no.10 very good player. Pity bout varian, disaster for kinsale, was looking forward to watching him and all.
shezer
20/05/2009, 7:50 PM
Decision should be tonight i think on winner of league
Horse24
20/05/2009, 8:31 PM
Congrats to Wilton - unlucky Kinsale. We had battles with both this year and enjoyed them both.
Because we beat Wilton at Monard, does that make us the real best team in Cork. We think so......thats the main thing!!
Its human nature to lose the cool once in a while, but, if you look back on a season, and could take out the amount of "silly" discipline related things, ie stupid card, stupid tackle in a bad spot, that every team does - it would be amazing how results could have been different.
Heres a big question:
The perfect player turns up at every training, puts in the effort, turns up at a game with no pints from the night before, and puts in 100%.
Is it possible to find 16 of them for a season?
BigFella 09
20/05/2009, 8:38 PM
Congrats to wilton on winning the league last night.Didn't get up to see it but from all acounts was a cracking match.Does anyone know the goal scorers were?.
What will happen to the two players sent off for kinsale?.Will they miss the cup final sunday?.
Casement_Fella
20/05/2009, 8:57 PM
Heres a big question:
The perfect player turns up at every training, puts in the effort, turns up at a game with no pints from the night before, and puts in 100%.
I know a few lads playing in the MSL with top premier teams and they swear that no one from their team are out the night before a match.
Wilton are the new Premier champs!! If they were in the MSL where would they be do ya think??
Also congrats to Wilton's 3rd division team while we're at it. A handy double and runners up in the city cuphttp://foot.ie/forums/images/icons/icon14.gif
Yoda01
21/05/2009, 6:47 AM
Heres a big question:
yes, i'd say just have a look at most of the good senior teams in the MSL.
bogwarrior
21/05/2009, 8:17 AM
Congrats to Wilton on their first premier league triumph!! Amazing feeling lads so enjoy it. Humdinger of a game and great for the neutral. Not so for us! Two sendings off were bad but I still thought the ref had a shocker. Gave us nothing right from the off. Then I suppose we got on his back and he got worse. First half we were awful being honest. Started so slowly and Wilton made us look a poor side. They got there goal and it woke us up a bit. Second half I suppose wilton got a bit nervous with the finish line in sight and I thought we were on top. Second red killed us. Definate yellow so no complaints. Penalty shout before hand waved away perhaps? Even with 9 we were pressing for the goal and were obviously exposed at the back but you could see the spirit the team has. That i was happy with.
I was very impressed with Wilton's midfield. Daly and Bucks we all know about but Shane O'Neill was a constant danger as was the right winger. Definately the strongest part of their team. Up front then Paul is a super striker and did well. Congratualtions once more wilton:ball:
From out point of view I dont think you can throw the blame at any one individual lads. We win as a team and lose as a team and thats the way it should be. Management included.
Onwards and upwards anyway. Small matter of an aoh cup now on sunday. Blarney st are going to be up for it but I can assure you we will be too. Game on!
Innishvilla
21/05/2009, 11:15 AM
On the Greenmount v Richmond game; Anyone hear if there was any outcome from meeting? I think it was due to take place on Tuesday...
Parkboy
21/05/2009, 11:52 AM
Congratulations to Wilton on a great season.A very good side and worthy winners of the league.
Best of luck to both teams on Sunday.
On our own season,The A team still have 3 league games left while our B's have just the one.
For those who do not we have just completed our new pitch.This will be used for probably all winter games and we will be keeping the main pitch for the big games at the start and the end of the season.Its not a bad pitch to be fair so look forward to welcoming ye all on to it next season
littleman
21/05/2009, 6:32 PM
Fair dues Park for all the hard work in improvin what are probably already the best club facilities in the Aul.
To all the Wilton lads an John Lenorad , congrats on winning a great league title.Richly deserved.
Didnt make the game as I had to keep makin the liquid stuff to keep ye all happy,heard it was a cracker.
Kinsale may have lost a league title but they clawed the gap back fantasticlly only to fall at the final hurdle an they should be credited for it.No doubt they are gutted but at least they have the Aoh an the Mossie to try to make up for the league.
Sorry to hear about Mintys loss as well.Condolences from all at Gratts up in O'Neill Park.
BigFella 09
21/05/2009, 6:43 PM
shilts any news on ye're two players sent off?.Will they miss the match on sunday?
littleman
21/05/2009, 9:12 PM
With regards to the rules in the Aul at the minute,then the players sent off against wilton will have to serve a one game ban in the very next game.Unfortunatley for Kinsale an the players the next game is against the Street in the Aoh final.
By the way theres no provision in the Aul or in fact the Mfa or even the Fai within the junior/senior non pro game to appeal a red card.You can appeal the resulting ban or fine which is handed out to the player an thats all, the 1 match suspension cant be appealed an has to be served. The only loop hole is if your sent off say in the Fai or Mjc an your on the winnin side,then you serve the ban in the very next round,if your on the loosin side you serve the ban in the very next game in any competition.
Very hard on the players an especially so as theres a disciplinary meeting next week an that could effect wether they are suspended for the Mossie also.A very heavy price to pay for a couple of lads who have put down a crackin season up to now but football can be a harsh taskmaster.
junglegym
21/05/2009, 9:43 PM
Village Utd 2 - 1 Macroom
Macrooms unbeaten streak in Silverheights ( at least 13 yrs ) is over. Village probabably deserved it as they were a bit sharper than the Macroom boys on the night. Macroom led 1-0 when wonka ran onto a ball over the top to chip the advancing goalkeeper (good finish). Village playing down the hill in the 2nd half scored two, the winner coming with less than 5 to go, So advantage Village for the Premier spot ..
Everyone in the premier will be delighted with that result no doubt. A possible trip to Silverheights next year , :rolleyes: Yipee..
littleman
21/05/2009, 10:01 PM
You can re phrase that one my vine swingin friend, ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,all the premier city teams will be delighted to have a trip to silverheights to look forward to next season,,,,,,macroom away midweek no doubt would have been a handy one for yerselves but its a bitch for us;)
junglegym
21/05/2009, 10:15 PM
You can re phrase that one my vine swingin friend, ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,all the premier city teams will be delighted to have a trip to silverheights to look forward to next season,,,,,,macroom away midweek no doubt would have been a handy one for yerselves but its a bitch for us;)
I beg to differ Weeman, Local Derby, Possible Kickfest etc. etc. but at least it would be played in a top class facility but again thats my own opinion.. :p.
littleman
21/05/2009, 11:00 PM
I know our own aint great :rolleyes:but Silverheights is another story all together.Nice view of the harbour though,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,:D
littleman
22/05/2009, 5:11 AM
Well gents I'm signin off till next week so I'll give my tips for the Aoh on Sunday an then next week who ever wants to have a go at me because I was either wrong or right is welcome to do so.
Being a Norrie naturally I'm a bit biased so I'm goin for Blarney Street,why you may ask well heres my 2 cents worth.
The street have been training hard an goin about their buisness nice an quiet over the last 3 or 4 weeks conserving energy all the while Kinsale have been playin non stop.
.Lookin at the supposed startin 11's there for me aint much between them,both have very solid back lines an keepers,both have again very hard workin an physcial midfields but for me the only difference is up front for both sides.The street will go with Jp thompson an A other,the other bein the problem for them for me.Kinsale have the 2 dereks,best front 2 by a mile in the league but one of the dereks aint fully fit an the Street know it.
If I had to pick anyone in the league to man mark Varian it would be BABS,an Hogan was made for the physcial areial approach of Mcarthy.Daniels for the Street an Holland for Kinsale have the individual skill to turn a game.The Street have 2 wins already this season under their belt against the same Kinsale side they play Sunday.Apart from that their fairly evenly matched,the only other thing that sticks out for me is the one thing that will get me the biggest rollocking,Kinsale without doubt have the ability to win it but Blarney Street have the belife an I'd rather a team with belife than ability anytime,so its the Street for me to lift the Aoh for the first time.
Like I siad lads if im wrong then have a go but if Im right,,,,,,,,,,,have a go anyway,tis only a game.
Best of luck to both sides.
BigFella 09
22/05/2009, 5:17 AM
With regards to the rules in the Aul at the minute,then the players sent off against wilton will have to serve a one game ban in the very next game.Unfortunatley for Kinsale an the players the next game is against the Street in the Aoh final.
By the way theres no provision in the Aul or in fact the Mfa or even the Fai within the junior/senior non pro game to appeal a red card.You can appeal the resulting ban or fine which is handed out to the player an thats all, the 1 match suspension cant be appealed an has to be served. The only loop hole is if your sent off say in the Fai or Mjc an your on the winnin side,then you serve the ban in the very next round,if your on the loosin side you serve the ban in the very next game in any competition.
Very hard on the players an especially so as theres a disciplinary meeting next week an that could effect wether they are suspended for the Mossie also.A very heavy price to pay for a couple of lads who have put down a crackin season up to now but football can be a harsh taskmaster.
Cheers for the confirmation littleman.I would have to agree with teams not wanting to travel to macroom during the week.I would think the majority of lads would be working until 5 at least and would find it very hard to get there for a midweek game.
To be honest id say teams would prefer to play on a bad pitch rather than travel 3/4 of an hour,finishing work early etc.The likes of park would have to travel to nearly the other side of cork so I think most teams would be happy for a city team to go up.
Best of look to both teams on sunday.Kinsale for me,think they deserve a trophy after their long hard season.
Innishvilla
22/05/2009, 11:54 AM
In case anyone is interested, I've recently added some overhead pictures from the new Innishvilla grounds in Knocknacurra...
http://www.innishvilla.com/knocknacurra.html
If only I hadn't gotten married and moved out of the folks home, a good smack of a golf ball from my front door to entrance of pitch, now a 25 minute drive!!! (Not even Tiger could reach it!!!).
You can see the training pitch is well worn at this stage but it is well floodlit and has a lot of sand on it so it should recover well over the summer, with a bit of TLC. We are about to do some extra drainage work on the two pitches starting ASAP (see the yellow piping and sand in the car-park area). Also to note the pitches are massive. The guys paced out Turners Cross last week while we were there, We could make the pitches the same length (110 yards I think but expect they will be somewhere between 100 - 110y) but they will definitely be wider, can't remember off the top of my head now the widths...
And NO the shed in the corner is not the AWAY dressing-rooms ;)
I'd like to wish Kinsale and Blarney St. All the best in the AOH this weekend. Both side have very active and honest contributors on this site. I'll be honest I've only seen Kinsale twice this season and my only encounter with the street was in a 5 a side charity tournament last July up in churchfield, so I don't think I'm too qualified to make a prediction. I will try to make it and will be supporting my neighbours, but I think I'm correct in saying they'll be missing 2 starting central midfielders from the Wilton game due to suspension, if Varian is not back fit as well... Not many clubs would have a squad that could take that kind of hit...
olachico
23/05/2009, 6:35 PM
Heard that the 2-2 Result os to stand - Pearse as Champions and Greenmount as runners up - Apparently Greenmount are also being promoted???????? Two up from one of the first divisions?? Maybe someone else is pulling out of the Premier or Premier A
Horse24
23/05/2009, 8:10 PM
Heard that the 2-2 Result os to stand - Pearse as Champions and Greenmount as runners up - Apparently Greenmount are also being promoted???????? Two up from one of the first divisions?? Maybe someone else is pulling out of the Premier or Premier A
they still have to fill the two spots already gone
olachico
23/05/2009, 8:23 PM
So 1 more from one of the other first divisions to go up as well???
2 gone from the Premier being made up by Knockavilla and Village!
3 Promoted from the first divisions plus Greenmount would still leave the Premier A short 1 if 3 teams are relegated plus the lack of the two teams that withdrew from the Premier???
cechmate
23/05/2009, 9:30 PM
Norries of the world unite
Heres wishing Mr Power /Eddie Casilles /Danny Q and the rest of the Street Boys the best of luck in The Cross Sunday night .Enjoy it boys and be sure and bring home the bacon .Its Always nice to see any trophy being brought over the Christy Ring ,but remember boys this is the one The Holy Grail ,so why not the Street .Lads im getting emotional again ,MY GOD wouldnt i love to carry it over Blackpool Bridge before i die .
Ps Lads .On the subject of Cups /The Cross and Blackpool ,What about Mr Murray and company another Norrie invasion in The Cross next Sunday night Blackpool Celtic V Whoever in The Corinthians Cup Final .Well done Seanie /Tony and Co Enjoy it
Good nite
bogwarrior
24/05/2009, 8:17 AM
Pitches look great Innish well done.
Well lads it's an unbelievable morning so looks like conditions could be perfect for tonight's encounter. Tuesday is out of our system and we cant wait to get going now. Massive trophy to play for!!
Best of luck to both teams but obviously i'm hoping for a Kinsale victory!:ball: C'mon Kinsale!!
pacman
25/05/2009, 8:31 AM
So Kinsale win the AOH cup in a pretty dull game by all accounts.
I would have liked to see Blarney Street win as to be honest they were the only team who tried to play ball. Kinsale were quite happy to hit the ball long up to Varian and hope that he can make something out of it all by himself.
The loss of McCarthy hurt Kinsale but Kinsale seemed short on ideas and route one to the front lads seemed to be the order of the day.
Blarney Street to their credit played some nice football and had most of the possession and looked much the more dangerous team but in saying that didnt really create to many clear cut chances. Credit to the Kinsale centre backs though.
For anyone who saw the penalty shoot out, It was as if neither team wanted to win the cup. Hilarious stuff
Yoda01
25/05/2009, 9:40 AM
I would have liked to see Blarney Street win as to be honest they were the only team who tried to play ball. Kinsale were quite happy to hit the ball long up to Varian and hope that he can make something out of it all by himself.
The loss of McCarthy hurt Kinsale but Kinsale seemed short on ideas and route one to the front lads seemed to be the order of the day.
Blarney Street to their credit played some nice football and had most of the possession and looked much the more dangerous team but in saying that didnt really create to many clear cut chances. Credit to the Kinsale centre backs though.
For anyone who saw the penalty shoot out, It was as if neither team wanted to win the cup. Hilarious stuff
ya for a keeper to save 3 spot kicks and still lose is harsh enough and as you said it was like no one wanted to win it.
i'd agree with you there pacman, i thought blarney street deserved to win this over the 110 mins, just! they tried to knock it about where as kinsale seemed to hoof it long and hope the fella up front would do something with it. was the number 11 for kinsale the guy varian? if so he must have had a huge off day yesterday as i was expecting great things from him (never saw him play before), i suppose if you don't get any ball you can't do anything with it. number 10 for kinsale, numbers 5 and 16 for blarney street impressed me the most, seemed like they wanted to keep it down and knock it about. poor game all in all and disappointed for a cup final but i'm sure kinsale couldn't care less, they should see off ballyvolane easily enough next weekend. congratulations kinsale.
Innishvilla
25/05/2009, 9:59 AM
Was hoping to get there but missed it. Well done Kinsale, hard luck to Blarney Street.
Anyone know why McCarthy was missing. Huge loss, I saw him against Wilton and I must admit was very impressed. I know Varian was a doubt for the Wilton game so you'd have to question how fit he was 5 days later and their 2 starting central midfielders from the Wilton game would have been suspended so that could account for their lack of ambition/invention. But we all know cup final football is for one thing, winning.
pacman
25/05/2009, 11:00 AM
Yoda,
Yes Varian was their no 11. I thought he did well, he was up their on his own and had to chase long balls all day. He caused the defence a lot of trouble with his pace. However the few times he did have chances he didnt make the most of them.
Thats the area of his game he needs to improve on, he does need more composure when he gets into good positions. I've marked him and McCarthy a good few times and whilst Varian is definitely the fastest player in the AUL, McCarthy is always more dangerous due to his better finishing ability. I'm sure however he'll improve this aspect of his game and when he does he'll be some player.
Inish, McCarthy started but picked up an injury early on and eventually had to go off during the first half.
Yoda01
25/05/2009, 11:57 AM
Yoda,
Yes Varian was their no 11. I thought he did well, he was up their on his own and had to chase long balls all day. He caused the defence a lot of trouble with his pace. However the few times he did have chances he didnt make the most of them.
Thats the area of his game he needs to improve on, he does need more composure when he gets into good positions. I've marked him and McCarthy a good few times and whilst Varian is definitely the fastest player in the AUL, McCarthy is always more dangerous due to his better finishing ability. I'm sure however he'll improve this aspect of his game and when he does he'll be some player.
Inish, McCarthy started but picked up an injury early on and eventually had to go off during the first half.
he did ok like, he was quick alright but he really didn't threaten, he had one shot off a great turn but other than that he was just chasing long balls, prob not the best game to judge him on. haven't seen mccarthy play before either so i'll reserve judgement on him also. the number 10 for kinsale was a nice ball player wasn't he?
Horse24
25/05/2009, 6:11 PM
Here is my 2 cents on the game:
Firstly, Congrats to our Kinsale friends on the site, and comiserations to our Northside brethern.
First half was good, but I think every cup final needs an early goal. As the game wore on, the thoughts of "not losing" came to the minds of the players even if they dont know it. Blarney Street were the better side no doubt.
I thought Derek Varian did well, he is full of confidence. He had a great one on one chance but our friend Casilles did well. Kinsale did have only one tactic of boot it up to Varian......but the two or three that were marking him still had trouble. If I was looking at him.....which I know one or two higher placed clubs were, then I would have been impressed. That turn and shot oozed class, but just went wide.
Bog, is it true he is off to Everton seniors?
Isnt it amazing though that a player of his confidence didnt put himself down for one of the first five kicks? One of the Blarney Street players that oozes confidence didnt take one until number 10. Its a strange one, because two of our best players last season would run when a shootout came up.
Hey bog, I see our friend Gary Neville was a crowd favourite again. I wanted him to score to see his reaction to the crowd and he didnt let me down. A right character that fella. I will ask you the same question I asked you after our game - should he have seen red for his second tackle where he injured himself?
I thought the amount of people there was disapointing. It was my first final, and I thought the place would be jointed.
The ref was good - all four officials are off to the MSL next season I believe.
junglegym
25/05/2009, 9:59 PM
Firstly :
Well Done to Kinsale and very hard luck to The Street.
It's easy for us to sit in the stand and criticise what we're viewing after all the biggest critic is the guy in this position.
But it was awful.
I have to say I was hoping Blarney St. would win because lets face it everyone loves the underdog and the Kinsale boys have one in the pocket already.
The question is How in the name of God did Blarney St. leave it after them. All there prayers were answered up until the final kick. Mc carthy injured after 20mins, which meant no Varian attacking down the wing. Kinsale out on their feet after a massive last month of league games and then that wonderful penalty shoot-out:rolleyes: in which the seasiders were to miss 4 spotters.
When your keeper is on form and oozing confidence facing into a penalty shoot-out all the players around him should have took a leaf out of his book. Step up and fu***ng whack it into the back of the net. The Street will be sick no doubt today ( in every way ) but to come so close and not grab that all important chance is heartbreaking.
I feel The Street lacked the belief to win it. :ball:
Shilts
26/05/2009, 9:45 AM
After the heartbreak of losing the league last week I felt that great credit was due to us to come back and win the AOH Cup 5 days later.
Varian on one leg, McCarthy subbed early on and multiple suspensions all going against us - it would have been easy to look for excuses as to why we didn't win. From some comments made earlier you would think that Blarney Street battered our goal - But I can only remember Hurley making 1 save all day - from a long range 1st half free kick. Varian's one-on one chance in extra time was the best chance of the game.
Penalties is a cruel way to lose (remember they beat us on pens in the MJCup). But do we want/need replays at this stage of the season. Very dramatic shootout with all 22 on the pitch having to take 1.
On another occassion I would have been cheering on Blarney Street - a good gang who were very sporting to us - even giving us a bottle of champers that they had ready for themselves. I hope they win something soon. Well done Blarney Street!!!
We celebrated hard on sunday/monday but we'll be back training over the next few days with one aim - Linnane Cup Final next monday night. If we can get our injurues/suspensions sorted we'll give it a good rattle!
streetscene
26/05/2009, 11:29 AM
Firstly Bog/Shilts congratulations on winning the game sunday night..two aoh cups in two years is some achievment so fair play and again well done..
to say we are dissapointed would be an understatement but thats football.. going into it i couldnt believe the way things were falling for us..kinsale were finding it tough with all the league games,suspensions,injurys etc etc and then macarthy gets injured after 20 mins i was thinking this has to be our night.. to be fair though there is a lot more to them than the two dereks..i thought there 2 centre halfs were outstanding on the night an the guy holland in midfield is a classy player..the simple truth of the matter is we did not create enough chances on the night..i dont think we lacked belief cause thats something we have in abundance but i do think we lacked the killer instinct.. we did enjoy the majority of the possesion but the tropy is down in charles fort now so maybe there is a lesson to be learned from that.. it is time now to sit back now and take stock of things and get back to the drawing board in a few weeks time and try and get back out there next year and win it.
shezer
26/05/2009, 12:36 PM
Pearse win the league.The draw stood.This was only fair i think but at least greenmount go up as well.
Casement_Fella
26/05/2009, 11:55 PM
Firstly :
Well Done to Kinsale and very hard luck to The Street.
It's easy for us to sit in the stand and criticise what we're viewing after all the biggest critic is the guy in this position.
But it was awful.
I have to say I was hoping Blarney St. would win because lets face it everyone loves the underdog and the Kinsale boys have one in the pocket already.
The question is How in the name of God did Blarney St. leave it after them. All there prayers were answered up until the final kick. Mc carthy injured after 20mins, which meant no Varian attacking down the wing. Kinsale out on their feet after a massive last month of league games and then that wonderful penalty shoot-out:rolleyes: in which the seasiders were to miss 4 spotters.
When your keeper is on form and oozing confidence facing into a penalty shoot-out all the players around him should have took a leaf out of his book. Step up and fu***ng whack it into the back of the net. The Street will be sick no doubt today ( in every way ) but to come so close and not grab that all important chance is heartbreaking.
I feel The Street lacked the belief to win it. :ball:
I wasn't at the game but I've heard nothing but bad things about it. It just shows that if you are doing well in the league and still in cups at this time of year no matter how good you are your going to need a squad to deal with suspensions, injuries etc. from the off.