St. John Boscos v Blackstone Rovers blackstone
League 3A:
Cathedral Cel v Grattan Utd gratten utd
President’s Cup Final:
Kinsale v Wilton Utd wilton just about shade it
junglegym
03/04/2009, 4:26 PM
Our plan last night was to chase, harass and win every 50/50 ball,
Get a goal , Keep a clean sheet and be in the semi finals. Sounds simple thats exactly what happened. ( for 60mins )
Mr. Varian started up front and was excellently marshalled by Ciaran . Chances were far and few between, the closest coming to Kinsale who hit the crossbar in the 1st half. 0-0 at half time.
Into the second half and we took the lead . Soon after that Mr. Mc Carthy was sprung from the bench and once Varian moved to the wing he had a lot more freedom. The changing point fom my point of view was when one of our younger players threw the ball away and left the ref wih no other option but to give him a second yellow.
It's tough enough to get the better of Kinsale with 11 lads so this was an ultimate disaster for us. Mr. Mc got the 1st and Mr. Varian got 2 more.
These two players are class as pointed out by Littleman but those are the joys of it. A spirited performance from us but were out done by the better team overall.
I wish Kinsale the best in the semis
Horse :
The fees for the yellow and red cards is crazy and will see more clubs go under if it carries on in this matter.
Streetscene / Streetwise
Surprise result last night any match report
casilles
03/04/2009, 5:47 PM
Blarney St Ath 1-2 Macroom
Very disapointing result last night at home. Started the game very poorly, touch was bad, passing was shocking and to many killer passes attempted when the simple pass was on. Took the lead from a free kick on the left whipped in by JP and John betts got his head on it. 2nd half we improved for half an hour then just stopped playing, why? who knows? Macroom equalised with 10 to go 5 to go Conroy was sent off and 90th they got the winner from a header at the back post from a cornor. shocking game and we got what we deserved Nothing.
Was it coming ? Played poor against Castle, poor against mayfield and poor in the 1st half vs rathcoole and won all of them. Hopefully this will drive us on against glenthorn tomorrow but if we play the way we are lately we aint picking up no points. awin last night and tomorow and we were qualified before even heading down to knockavilla.
casilles
03/04/2009, 5:51 PM
Any predictions?
Premier League:
Kinsale v Grattan Utd 2-1
Premier A
Knockavilla Cel v Castleview 2-2
Mossie Linnane League Cup:
Group A:
Ballincollig v Park Utd 1-0
Ballyvolane v Wilton Utd 0-3
Group C:
Blarney St Ath v Glenthorn 2-1
Macroom v Dunbar is this on? if so 5-0
Group D:
Kanturk v Leeside 1-2
Rathcoole Rovers v Village 2-2
League 1A:
Park Utd v Hillington 3-0
Glenthorn Cel v Rylane Cel 2-0
League 1B:
Carrigtohill Utd v Leeside 2-1
Springfield v Watergrasshill Utd 1-1
St. John Boscos v Blackstone Rovers 1-2
League 3A:
Cathedral Cel v Grattan Utd 3-1
President’s Cup Final:
Kinsale v Wilton Utd 2-1
BigFella 09
03/04/2009, 7:32 PM
Lads can anyone confirm if leeside played glenthorn last night?
Streetwise
03/04/2009, 11:52 PM
leeside glenthorn 2 each. junglejim only saw firsthalf of game and it was scrappy to be honest,don t know if our fellas were up for the game or not
but thats no excuse. did nt produce a whole lot on the attacking front but when we scored i thought it was going to drive on from there but it did nt happen.just looking forward to next game and a huge improvment
casilles
04/04/2009, 12:45 PM
In advance of the AUL AGM, I would like to see what points fellas will be bringing up to give me thinking time:
My List includes:
1) Yellow card fines, crucifying clubs.
2) Suspensions - players suspended for the weekend ahead should be listed on the website.
3) 2 promoted at least from every division. AUL say 1st division has only one promoted because they dont want a team to get to Premier League without winning a league. You can get to Premier League in England by finishing 6th in 3 divisions!! A good start by one team leaves 9/10 teams out of the league by Ocotber maybe because guys were on holidays. Is that fair?
4) I saw a bit on the MSL site about MSL grants - could AUL help clubs out with Pitch or Dressing room development in these trying times? We have plans, but will we have funds?
5) Should players from folded clubs be punished during non-transfer times for things that happened outside their control?
Thats all I can think of for now.
Those who know me know I dont usually say much at the meetings!!!!!
How about not letting any team without a 'B' team into the premier leagues? This would prevent the crazy situation in the prem div this year where 2 teams have folded. Bad enough in the lower leagues but it has totally distorted the premier division this season.
What about neutral venues for the AOH Semis. Bit of a joke to be togging off at grounds with no proper dressing rooms for an AOH semi?
What about a bigger prize for the winners of the top competitions? Dublin AUL Prem winners get a team holiday, but a set of gear wouldn't be too bad for our winners would it!:ball:
Horse agree with the above but the stumbling block is at 1st div ? The Premier A is a conundrum already- 10 teams 2 up 3 down, that leaves only 5 from the previous year, half the league changes every year. now if you were to promote all 2nd placed teams it would mean only 2 teams staying put and that cant happen. How about making both Premier leagues 12 teams still 2 up 2 down between them. At 1st Div as is champs go up , then take all the 3 2nd placed teams and put the in a hat, draw out a semi final with 1 getting a bye to the final, winner goes up. Premier A 4 relegated.
On a side point Billy Lyons does a great job but could the website be more than it is and before i get jumped on compare it to this http://www.munsterseniorleague.ie/
Shilts if your point was implemted Blarney St Ath in the premier and 5 in the premier A would all have to stop at 1st Div. the Street have gone through some major changes in these last 5 years with Winning the 2nd, winning the 1st div, runners up in the Premier A and i belive holding our own up Premier but if we do what you say it would have all having to stop 2 years ago in the 1st Div. As posted at the start of the year Littleman counted somewhere close to 14 teams on the Northside and that not including MSL, we would love to have a 2nd team but no point putting a team in if you do not have close to 18/20 players on each panel the odd week you could help each other out but you need 2 completly different panels. Blarney St have a core of 10 who have played all the way up together with a few faces joining each year to hopefully improve the squad, Rome wasnt built in a day
Just read on the AUL website that Billy has deciced to pack it in he will be a great loss to all of us involved in football in Cork, hope it wasnt my post that finished him!!
Horse24
04/04/2009, 5:49 PM
Casilles, I think the MSL site is way behind Billys one. Much more info and history on Billys one. I have messed around with that league republic site set-up and its very restricted.
Billy leaving at the end of the season - I get the feeling there is no coming back from him this time.
Billynose
04/04/2009, 8:18 PM
MSL site is terrible, Billy's is pretty poor too. The galway fa website is very good www.galwayfa.net . Sportsmanager do an extremely good job with it.
Horse24
04/04/2009, 8:48 PM
With just a quick look over it, Billys has the same info. It may be simpler but its also costless!
What would you want from a site if ye could design it?
Lads, The Murphys Brewery do for the Oscar Traynor is on Tuesday night and yet we are still down for a game. Anyone else get notice of their game off?
A chap could get very upset if our club misses it!
Doug89
06/04/2009, 9:30 AM
With just a quick look over it, Billys has the same info. It may be simpler but its also costless!
What would you want from a site if ye could design it?
Lads, The Murphys Brewery do for the Oscar Traynor is on Tuesday night and yet we are still down for a game. Anyone else get notice of their game off?
A chap could get very upset if our club misses it!
Horse, we were down for a game Tues night too, but with our keeper Gary involved in the Oscar squad, there was a note in the Echo last Wed saying our game was put back to Wed 8th....
Horse24
06/04/2009, 12:39 PM
Horse, we were down for a game Tues night too, but with our keeper Gary involved in the Oscar squad, there was a note in the Echo last Wed saying our game was put back to Wed 8th....
Doug, did it mention our game?
Shilts
06/04/2009, 1:30 PM
[QUOTE=casilles;1137345]
Shilts if your point was implemted Blarney St Ath in the premier and 5 in the premier A would all have to stop at 1st Div. the Street have gone through some major changes in these last 5 years with Winning the 2nd, winning the 1st div, runners up in the Premier A and i belive holding our own up Premier but if we do what you say it would have all having to stop 2 years ago in the 1st Div. As posted at the start of the year Littleman counted somewhere close to 14 teams on the Northside and that not including MSL, we would love to have a 2nd team but no point putting a team in if you do not have close to 18/20 players on each panel the odd week you could help each other out but you need 2 completly different panels. Blarney St have a core of 10 who have played all the way up together with a few faces joining each year to hopefully improve the squad, Rome wasnt built in a day
QUOTE]
I hear what you are saying but I believe that the stability of the AUL's prem division is more important than any 1 teams progress. We have a situation where wilton could well win the league because of 12 walkover points received (not wilton's fault!). This should never happen again.
Some clubs are living on the edge from year to year (I'm not saying BSA are like this) and could go under at any time. Clubs, if they want to progress up the leagues, should either get a 2nd team together or else join up with a lower league club. If this stopped a team like Ballyphehane, who were formed only a few years ago, rising up through the leagues then so be it!!!
Doug89
06/04/2009, 2:06 PM
Doug, did it mention our game?
Not that I can remember Horse, I'd check it out....
BigFella 09
06/04/2009, 4:20 PM
[quote=casilles;1137345]
QUOTE]
I hear what you are saying but I believe that the stability of the AUL's prem division is more important than any 1 teams progress. We have a situation where wilton could well win the league because of 12 walkover points received (not wilton's fault!). This should never happen again.
Some clubs are living on the edge from year to year (I'm not saying BSA are like this) and could go under at any time. Clubs, if they want to progress up the leagues, should either get a 2nd team together or else join up with a lower league club. If this stopped a team like Ballyphehane, who were formed only a few years ago, rising up through the leagues then so be it!!!
Shilts on your comment about wilton getting 12 points and wining the league.From looking back at results they played villa an beat them 3-0 away an im sure other teams have gained from these two clubs folding.They just happen to be top of the league,an by my calculations would be still there -9 points.If they do win the league it will be down to them beating whats around them an not down to default.Who ever wins the league will have deserved to win it!!!!.
Shilts
06/04/2009, 4:41 PM
[quote=Shilts;1138321]
Shilts on your comment about wilton getting 12 points and wining the league.From looking back at results they played villa an beat them 3-0 away an im sure other teams have gained from these two clubs folding.They just happen to be top of the league,an by my calculations would be still there -9 points.If they do win the league it will be down to them beating whats around them an not down to default.Who ever wins the league will have deserved to win it!!!!.
Thanks for the clarification - I'm certainly not slagging off Wilton or any other team in the running for the league.
However, if some teams have got more points from the withdrawn teams than others, or have had to play more games overall - then the integrity of the league has been badly affected.
If the teams who withdrew had 'B' teams then this would have been unlikely to happen to the Premier League. That is my point.
streetscene
06/04/2009, 5:35 PM
Shilts i know you are not having a go at us personally but it is a lot easier for you to say that now as ye have a "b" team..i do see the sense of it but in all honestly if kinsale were struggling tomorrow how many of your "B" team would be up to it... i dont see that solving the problem as if a fellow was interested enough in his club then he would want to play in the first team anyway... i agree the situation this year was unacceptable but maybe the aul need to review the every team in the premier league before the season starts and see what position they are in and go from there.. at the end of the day the reason they folded was because of players and their lack of commitment.. you shouldn judge every club with only one team by them..again im not being smart but like i said its easy to say when ye already have two teams and very little competition down your way for the better players.. when a good player or any player becomes available on the northside its like a cattle mart trying to get his signature before someone else...
streetscene
06/04/2009, 5:47 PM
big fella i agree with you that wilton are on top on merit and that every team gained in some way by those teams folding..the only thing which i would argue is it did give the rest of us 2 to 3 less games to catch them and when ballyphehane folded it did set us back a bit personally.we had just put a good run together and were after slipping into fourth but we really needed those two games.its no secret that wilton have been struggling lately for numbers and stuff and whose to say they would not have slipped up..again i know its not their fault but they did gain out of it that way..we all got the points but two less games was a killer... i have to say we played glenthorn on sat in mossy and it was my first time seeing them this year and i have to say if they had more league games played then it could well be a different story at the top.. they are extremely quick and dangerous up front and in alan greaney they have the best finisher in the league.. altough he was brilliantly marked out of it throughout the game by babsy he still managed to get one chance which he took in some style..the match did finish two all and i felt we were unlucky but it was a great game... they are still in the running and could yet have a huge say...
dont know why they have so little games played but if i was involved with them i wouldn be too happy with the way its fell
BigFella 09
06/04/2009, 5:52 PM
[quote=BigFella 09;1138489]
Thanks for the clarification - I'm certainly not slagging off Wilton or any other team in the running for the league.
However, if some teams have got more points from the withdrawn teams than others, or have had to play more games overall - then the integrity of the league has been badly affected.
If the teams who withdrew had 'B' teams then this would have been unlikely to happen to the Premier League. That is my point.
I understand your point of view completely,an it is a joke the way the league is gone but you have to remember that all the top teams have to play eachother twice an who ever comes out of it,it'll be well deserved.
Just a question,what happens to the teams that folded?.If they want to start a team again the following season.whats the story?.
BigFella 09
06/04/2009, 8:15 PM
big fella i agree with you that wilton are on top on merit and that every team gained in some way by those teams folding..the only thing which i would argue is it did give the rest of us 2 to 3 less games to catch them and when ballyphehane folded it did set us back a bit personally.we had just put a good run together and were after slipping into fourth but we really needed those two games.its no secret that wilton have been struggling lately for numbers and stuff and whose to say they would not have slipped up..again i know its not their fault but they did gain out of it that way..we all got the points but two less games was a killer... i have to say we played glenthorn on sat in mossy and it was my first time seeing them this year and i have to say if they had more league games played then it could well be a different story at the top.. they are extremely quick and dangerous up front and in alan greaney they have the best finisher in the league.. altough he was brilliantly marked out of it throughout the game by babsy he still managed to get one chance which he took in some style..the match did finish two all and i felt we were unlucky but it was a great game... they are still in the running and could yet have a huge say...
dont know why they have so little games played but if i was involved with them i wouldn be too happy with the way its fell
Streetscene I totally understand what your saying.I used to get info off one of the lads playing with wilton an from what he used to tell me there confidence was flying before and after all this stuff happened.The likely hood of them wining the 3 games was high anyway.I just don't think that it should be taken away from them if they do win the league.Like in fairness there's not many teams will go to grattan and come away with a 3-1 win.I'm not from these parts but I think it makes good reading to see so many teams in contention for the league at this stage of the season.
cechmate
06/04/2009, 8:27 PM
I could'nt have planned the way Sunday morning was going to pan out even if I had a team of writers from the X files.My experience should have told me that wether the clocks are goin froward or backwards an hour,some idiots will get caught out by it,and if you add any kind of a party the night before then your on a hiding to nothin with what you expect to turn up on Sunday morning for a game.
I was at home Sunday morning an had the intention of watching the first half of the A game an then the 2nd half of the B game.How wrong could I have been.The B manager txt me to say that of the 17 he had at training Thur only 11 had turned up an as I had signed the B form encase of emergency's then could I turn up as sub.Fair enough I said an got into the car an got to the pitch.Then at the gates I met one of the lads envolved with the A team,he missed his spin,I thought to meself I'll drop him down to Leeside as I wont be used in the 1st half of the B game,at least hopefully not at all.Got down to Leesides place to findout 5 or 6 of the team had gone to a christening the night before an failed to show,we had 11.Manager went in goal an asked if I'd tog off as sub,I thought to meself I'm 36 an I was expectin to be on the bench for the B team an I'd got promoted to the A team with out even toggin off.
Leeside had at least 20 togged off an were well up for it for the 1st 15,then just seemed to self destruct,unbelivable display from them.The ref was in a word,dispicable.Ignorant an emotionless also spring to mind.Like talkin to a cow,stuipd look on his face throughout and any questioning of his decisions drew a yellow he got envolved in stuipid arguments with the side line which only drew both sides and the game out.He sent off a leeside player who had nothin to do with the incident that drew the foul.The Leeside center half,was an I dont like sayin this about any player but he was a disgrace,3 challanges in the 1st half alone that were straight red and I challenge an person watchin the game to defend what he got up to durin the game.
I can understand a player being commited,even bein well up for it so to speak,but this fella went out to hurt people,plain an simple.Dont get me wrong it wasnt a dirty game,just some of the fouls were truly terrible to watch an how some of the players left that pitch in one peice was a miracle an probably more down to their fitness an a bit of luck..
The ref played a huge part in the game,sent the wrong player off an bottled another straight forward sendin off offence,the center half agin put in a terrible challange on Figo,straight through the back of him,bit of a malee an our Brian Sull went head to head with there Sullivan,the Leeside Sullivan kicked him in plain sight of everyone,ref less than 2 yards away an lookin straight at it,what did he do,sent Jack from Leeside off for what knowone knew.With the extra man we were well in control an probably played the best 90 mins I have seen all season.
2 up with an should have added another 2 or 3 but again the final ball an in fairness a good young Leeside keeper kept it down.Leeside were gifted a goal in injury time when a clearence by our right back on the line hit the backside of the keeper an went in(twas par for the course considerin the way the mornin went) on back in injury time butt:p too little to late.Oh ya I came on for the last 25 at left back.What age did Bobby Charlton play on too,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,;)
Hi Guys .I just logged on to this Footie crack a few weeks ago .Heard a lot about the quotes and comments from some of the charactors involved .Having watched from the sideline these last few weeks i must say i,ve been amused and bemused by some of the stuff i,ve been reading. WOW! Hav,nt we come a long way these last few years ,from travelling to Church Rd on cold Sunday mornings courtesy of CIE to venting or anger at players and officials from behind a typewriter or key board { as they are now called } Courtesy of the WWW . Having read the article posted by this fella who calls himself Littleman i was surprised some of the more regular contributors to this page did,nt take him to task on some of his comments .Littleman having watched your club grow to the successful club it has become over the past few years i take my hat off to all concerned ,Yes There is only one Dinny Pops. Littleman how any man could watch and play in a game of football ,come home and sit behind a key board and pick words from a dictionary to discribe a man who took the trouble to put his clock forward Saturday night ,got out of bed Sunday morning to referee a match ,that ye won by the way . IT beggars belief Littleman .I shudder to think what you would have called him if you had lost the game .PS . Grow up little man
Horse24
06/04/2009, 9:05 PM
I like it when we have a little controversy now and again. Its good for the site!!...............and I had this line written before I read cechmate's bit!!
Doug, our game is off. Im kinda upset that we only got confirmation tonight. Its not fair on the other players. Its great for my brother and Im delighted for him, but it should have been sorted earlier.
Cechmate, Im only on the site a few months myself and it takes a while to know the run of it. In my opinion, Littleman may have been a tad OTT but I dont believe he was attacking the man personally as such - it was kinda like he was just effing and blinding at the "authority" figure in the middle. Its tough to explain what I mean, but it was like us with the right full from Kinsale a few weeks back. Us on the sideline were winding him up and he was winding us up back. For that 110 minutes we hated him...GARY NEVILLE.....but when the final whistle went, he wasnt a player anymore, he was just a normal guy. We werent going to fight him after the game or anything. A fella's upset at a ref might even last a few weeks, but its the ref not the person you are arguing with.. I hope my point came across as I meant it lads.
I agree with Shilts upto a point. I understand what you mean by more teams should make the club more stable, but thats not always the case. Maybe there should be some stability tests in the same way as the FAI Licencing works. Is that what the 5 year plan is trying to do? Maybe the question should be how many of the 20 would still be in the division if the 5 year plan was implemented tomorrow? 8 or so I think. So if the five year plan is implemented, then it should provide the stability that is needed.
A good bunch of teams gone this year, and I think some more may struggle over the summer. Strretscene is right about the cattlemarket, but in a lot of cases, its who you know. Between Grattan and yourselves wouldnt be much of a difference, so it may be who he knows on what team. I see you are still afraid to write too much in one post!! I think they fixed that!
casilles
06/04/2009, 9:10 PM
Well hello Cechmate let me be the 1st to welcome you to our fourm, A rant at Littleman is good way to start, with all that should follow you will be a coach in no time:D
Declare your allegence? Obviously a true Blue from London?
cechmate
06/04/2009, 9:56 PM
I like it when we have a little controversy now and again. Its good for the site!!...............and I had this line written before I read cechmate's bit!!
Doug, our game is off. Im kinda upset that we only got confirmation tonight. Its not fair on the other players. Its great for my brother and Im delighted for him, but it should have been sorted earlier.
Cechmate, Im only on the site a few months myself and it takes a while to know the run of it. In my opinion, Littleman may have been a tad OTT but I dont believe he was attacking the man personally as such - it was kinda like he was just effing and blinding at the "authority" figure in the middle. Its tough to explain what I mean, but it was like us with the right full from Kinsale a few weeks back. Us on the sideline were winding him up and he was winding us up back. For that 110 minutes we hated him...GARY NEVILLE.....but when the final whistle went, he wasnt a player anymore, he was just a normal guy. We werent going to fight him after the game or anything. A fella's upset at a ref might even last a few weeks, but its the ref not the person you are arguing with.. I hope my point came across as I meant it lads.
I agree with Shilts upto a point. I understand what you mean by more teams should make the club more stable, but thats not always the case. Maybe there should be some stability tests in the same way as the FAI Licencing works. Is that what the 5 year plan is trying to do? Maybe the question should be how many of the 20 would still be in the division if the 5 year plan was implemented tomorrow? 8 or so I think. So if the five year plan is implemented, then it should provide the stability that is needed.
A good bunch of teams gone this year, and I think some more may struggle over the summer. Strretscene is right about the cattlemarket, but in a lot of cases, its who you know. Between Grattan and yourselves wouldnt be much of a difference, so it may be who he knows on what team. I see you are still afraid to write too much in one post!! I think they fixed that!
Horse .Thanks for your comments i know you mean well but this little man was OTT in every sense of the word .Dont get me wrong the only man in black i could take to was Johnny Cash .I know for a fact my name was mentioned manys the Monday night in Blackpool Community Centre ,if you know what i mean ,but fair is fair .Horse ,believe me i,ve been reading all yer stuff over the last weeks/months and i must say i,ve enjoy them to say the most .But this little mans comments have been P.ing me off to tell you the truth .He seems to be an authority on all aspects of the game playing /coaching /administration /and now refereeing .John Delaney CEO /FAI beware.
cechmate
06/04/2009, 10:21 PM
Well hello Cechmate let me be the 1st to welcome you to our fourm, A rant at Littleman is good way to start, with all that should follow you will be a coach in no time:D
Declare your allegence? Obviously a true Blue from London?
Thanks Cas ,Sorry for the little rant by way of intruduction but thats the way i am . Lets be honest we,ve all had our little outburst at the man in black over the course of 90 mins .But once he blows that whistle its over [roll on next week ] you dont go broadcasting it on the WWW. Happy days when that whistle would blow at 12.15ish on Sunday ,win /lose /or draw and we,d all go for a few pints Now we have gown men going home to play with their key boards [GOD HELP US ]
bogwarrior
06/04/2009, 11:38 PM
Why shouldnt we be allowed to comment on the refs performance?? It's not a personal attack but an attack on his capabilities as a referee... as horse pointed out he called our right full a plonker!! To be fair there was a fair few plonkers on the line and the pitch for them that day as well...that centre half to name one but that's during the game!! Totally different after the game... well except for the game last thursday nite but lets not get into that:eek:!
Refs put themselves out there to ref a game and they should be open to criticism like anybody else. We had John Lyne at the weekend for the grattan game and even though we felt some decisions went against us...as did the gratts i'm sure, all in all he did a solid job. But nobody wants to hear about someone who does a solid job... that doesnt entice us to get on our typewriters or keyboards and post it here!! If you get p'd off by a decision then you'll write about it, like cechmate eventually did here, or littleman did previous to it.
Who was the ref anyway?
streetscene
06/04/2009, 11:46 PM
Big Fella dont get me wrong..Wilton are the best team in the league right now simply cause they are top of the league.the old saying the table never lies springs to mind..they are also a decent bunch of lads and in john leonard they have a great clubman and more like him and i for one wouldnt begrudge them there moment in the spotlight..after all we ran them right to the last game of the season last year for the prem a title..so if any one knows about wilton i reckon im well up there...
my point is that when ballyphehane folded then it did narrow down the chase and they had a lot more games than 3 left then so all im saying is for those of us chasing we all hoped they would slip up somewhere..after all this is football and you just never know..on the other side if we had took more than 1 point from our first four games then it wouldnt have mattered to us. and as wilton took 9 from there first four then there is the difference. for me i just think it took the gloss off the run in cause whatever slight chance ourselves and another one or two teams had it then dissapeared.. this surely can never be allowed happen again.. and i still reckon ghlenthorn could yet run them all the way
cechmate welcome on board and you have certainly arrived in style.. but we need to know where your allegiance lies...... altough i like the reference to mr.cash. as you said we have all had a go off refs at some stage and i get the point that you dont like the fact that its done from behind a keyboard and i accept that.but in recent times i myself had a run in with a ref who point blank refused to address me or acknowledge me and then went and reported me when we could have just had a chat about it afterwards.. he never gave me a chance to explain myself...i think thats what really frustrates people and its a hard balance to get right i know cause some people go way over the top with the refs.. at the end of it all though i think we all appreciate them cause without them we would have no league at all to whine about.. must say im looking forward to the reply!!!!!!
littleman
07/04/2009, 7:16 AM
Well Cechmate its quite a way to introduce yourself.But in all fairness what ever reason you may have for deciding my comments were somewhat ott then they are your opinions an your well entitled to them.Those who choose to agree with you or disagree ,thats their choice.With regards to the ref situation then again you quote your obvious experience in the game,yet when frustration boils over towards a refereeing display then is it not better to vent it on a keyboard than at the ref himself in a verbal fashion.I would challange anyone who was at the game to say that they thought the ref was in control of it.At the end of the day its only a game an players have to hopefully walk of it an go back to their familys or jobs in one peice.The man in charge is quite entitled to have a bad day,as even players do more often than not but he still has a higher responsability to ensure the safety of the players,which he did not.Players got hurt,im no saint an i was an still am able to put myself about in a physcial fashion.But theres a difference between gettin physcial an actually hurting an the ref should be able to spot it.Again he did not.
Lastly Cech,this is a forum.I'm entitled to my opinion an you to yours,if you dont agree or like what you read then you are quite entitled to pass comment or not .The comments towards refereeing displays tend to be varied an not based towards any referee in general just with rather the standard of dispaly,its not a forum for a witch hunt,just for football chat an views to do with the Aul or what ever league your in.Their are plenty of good refs but equally bad an thats a fact as their are good an bad players.
We few on this thread are Aul through an through an vent our fury using a keyboard because its safer an cheaper than gettin a yellow,red or a letter from the Aul.I do have opinions on a lot of issues an we express our views on this thred,some are very good an some are not but for the most part we all seem to have a mutal respect for the other side of the story which is always a good thing.I have pointed out more than once that people should be careful when commenting on refs because I know the site is checked by refs,but anyone who is envolved in junior football is aware of how dire the situation is with clubs an trying to keep players envolved an if the man in the middle decides to be awkard then players get frustrated an even worse.Players come on this site and willingly admit their clubs or players had a stinker,yet you think its ott for myself to comment on a refereeing display.Refs can for the most part be solid enough an are quite entitled to have a bad day,may even cost you the game,but to fail to ensure the safety of the players he is in charge of,cant defend that I'm afraid.
PS,your bang on cechmate their is only one DINNY POPS.
BigFella 09
07/04/2009, 7:21 AM
Big Fella dont get me wrong..Wilton are the best team in the league right now simply cause they are top of the league.the old saying the table never lies springs to mind..they are also a decent bunch of lads and in john leonard they have a great clubman and more like him and i for one wouldnt begrudge them there moment in the spotlight..after all we ran them right to the last game of the season last year for the prem a title..so if any one knows about wilton i reckon im well up there...
my point is that when ballyphehane folded then it did narrow down the chase and they had a lot more games than 3 left then so all im saying is for those of us chasing we all hoped they would slip up somewhere..after all this is football and you just never know..on the other side if we had took more than 1 point from our first four games then it wouldnt have mattered to us. and as wilton took 9 from there first four then there is the difference. for me i just think it took the gloss off the run in cause whatever slight chance ourselves and another one or two teams had it then dissapeared.. this surely can never be allowed happen again.. and i still reckon ghlenthorn could yet run them all the way
cechmate welcome on board and you have certainly arrived in style.. but we need to know where your allegiance lies...... altough i like the reference to mr.cash. as you said we have all had a go off refs at some stage and i get the point that you dont like the fact that its done from behind a keyboard and i accept that.but in recent times i myself had a run in with a ref who point blank refused to address me or acknowledge me and then went and reported me when we could have just had a chat about it afterwards.. he never gave me a chance to explain myself...i think thats what really frustrates people and its a hard balance to get right i know cause some people go way over the top with the refs.. at the end of it all though i think we all appreciate them cause without them we would have no league at all to whine about.. must say im looking forward to the reply!!!!!!
Not a bother streetscene,no doubt you know them better than I do an totally take your comments.I think we're both in understanding of the way the league has gone and it shouldn't happen again!!.We won't fall out over it,I think cechmate an littleman have a few issues to sort out!!!!!.Anyway welcome cechmate to the site,a little controversey to stir things up a bit!!!!!
littleman
07/04/2009, 7:30 AM
Before it kicks off today lads I was very sad to read Billys note on his site telling us hes jackin it in.The man is a gent an a true legend in football in Cork.I for one have the highest respect for him an the work he dose for clubs,all clubs.He an his reports an photos were one of the few things we had in the Aul that the Msl wished they had.Thanks for all the memories Billy it has been a pleasure all the way.
Innishvilla
07/04/2009, 7:57 AM
Before it kicks off today lads I was very sad to read Billys note on his site telling us hes jackin it in.The man is a gent an a true ledgend in football in Cork.I for one have the highest respect for him an the work he dose for clubs,all clubs.He an his reports an photos were one of the few things we had in the Aul that the Msl wished they had.Thanks for all the memories Billy it has been a pleasure all the way.
I totally second that wee man, even credit to him for the website. I know it is no add for web building or anything like that. But he gets the info out there. He will be sorely missed, and lets be honest it was always nice to get a call/slagging from a mate for having your pic or name in Wednesday's echo!!!
Horse24
07/04/2009, 9:15 PM
Sad to see Billy going. He made you look forward to the Echo on Wednesdays and was nothing but helpful to Blackstone Rovers all through the years. See ya round the place Billy.
Good man Bogwarrior - dont let abuse of your team go unanswered!!!!
With all its troubles, the AUL Premier League is still wide open in mid April - anything can happen. It can only be good for the league.
Cechmate - where do your allegiances lie?
cechmate
07/04/2009, 10:12 PM
Well Cechmate its quite a way to introduce yourself.But in all fairness what ever reason you may have for deciding my comments were somewhat ott then they are your opinions an your well entitled to them.Those who choose to agree with you or disagree ,thats their choice.With regards to the ref situation then again you quote your obvious experience in the game,yet when frustration boils over towards a refereeing display then is it not better to vent it on a keyboard than at the ref himself in a verbal fashion.I would challange anyone who was at the game to say that they thought the ref was in control of it.At the end of the day its only a game an players have to hopefully walk of it an go back to their familys or jobs in one peice.The man in charge is quite entitled to have a bad day,as even players do more often than not but he still has a higher responsability to ensure the safety of the players,which he did not.Players got hurt,im no saint an i was an still am able to put myself about in a physcial fashion.But theres a difference between gettin physcial an actually hurting an the ref should be able to spot it.Again he did not.
Lastly Cech,this is a forum.I'm entitled to my opinion an you to yours,if you dont agree or like what you read then you are quite entitled to pass comment or not .The comments towards refereeing displays tend to be varied an not based towards any referee in general just with rather the standard of dispaly,its not a forum for a witch hunt,just for football chat an views to do with the Aul or what ever league your in.Their are plenty of good refs but equally bad an thats a fact as their are good an bad players.
We few on this thread are Aul through an through an vent our fury using a keyboard because its safer an cheaper than gettin a yellow,red or a letter from the Aul.I do have opinions on a lot of issues an we express our views on this thred,some are very good an some are not but for the most part we all seem to have a mutal respect for the other side of the story which is always a good thing.I have pointed out more than once that people should be careful when commenting on refs because I know the site is checked by refs,but anyone who is envolved in junior football is aware of how dire the situation is with clubs an trying to keep players envolved an if the man in the middle decides to be awkard then players get frustrated an even worse.Players come on this site and willingly admit their clubs or players had a stinker,yet you think its ott for myself to comment on a refereeing display.Refs can for the most part be solid enough an are quite entitled to have a bad day,may even cost you the game,but to fail to ensure the safety of the players he is in charge of,cant defend that I'm afraid.
PS,your bang on cechmate their is only one DINNY POPS.
Hello again BOYS .Right first things first,Was,nt that a bolt from the blue and we all logging on Saturday morning to read the fixtures for the business end of the season as its now called .Billy lyons stepping down as press officer .I must say lads ,without getting too emotional .,but it was like reading about a death in the family .Will he be missed ? will he what ?. Thirty years of match reports ,photos,player profiles ,club profiles ,births ,marriarges and deaths with a cast of 1000s ,where and how will Iend ?
.Billy enjoy your retirement ,and thanks for the memories BOY .Ps lads , Talk is Littleman has sent in his CV already. Right Littleman here goes,lets not keep the Streetboys ,warriors and horses waiting any longer .I think we,ve all mellowed a bit with our approach to this thing over the last 24hrs .From my own point of view i probably got carried away in the fingers department ,then after all ,it was my first venture into the literary world, so to speak .But Littleman im not backing down on this one .I still think you where wrong ,out of order or over the top ,what ever term you want to use .Believe me L.man i know as well as you how hard it is to grind out a result on Sunday morning went you have 13 or 14 fellas who havent been home for 24hrs and your acting as doctor ,physio,marriage councellor,child minder and you then you have Johnny Cash telling you ,the pitch is too hard or too soft ,the ball is too hard or too soft the nets are turned back to front and thats before there,s a ball kicked at all.STOP . But saying that ,we cant start or finish a game without them .Truthfully L.man what disappointed me about you in that article last week was your choice of words .in your reply to me you made reference it only being a game of ball and we all having to go home after and get up for work Monday morning ,your spot on L.man .but the referee must go home to his wife and family as well and face his workmates on Monday morning who may have read your comments on this tread ,as you call it .You know Cork is a very small place and we tend to be very cruel to our own in these matters .Come on now L.man,how would you like to be discribed as being DISPICABLE /IGNORANT /EMOTIONLESS /LIKE TALKING TO A COW AND STUPID i dont think you,d like your family and friends to be reading that discription of you .Thats about it now Little man ,nothing personal but i had to get that off my chest ,thats the way i am . PS .BY the way how IS POPS .[ A LEGEND ]
Shilts
08/04/2009, 9:30 AM
AOH Cup Semi Finals
Blarney Street United v Glenthorn Celtic
Kanturk v Kinsale
Heard this yesterday. Is it correct? Neutral venues? :ball:
Innishvilla
08/04/2009, 10:45 AM
AOH Cup Semi Finals
Blarney Street United v Glenthorn Celtic
Kanturk v Kinsale
Heard this yesterday. Is it correct? Neutral venues? :ball:
The legend that is Billy Lyons confirms that the venue for both semi-finals is Casement park...
Shilts
08/04/2009, 2:30 PM
Maybe somebody is reading this site... the neutral venue for the AOH Cup Semis is a positive step. They should do the same for the Mossie. Who is in the Mossie Semis anyway???
junglegym
08/04/2009, 8:59 PM
Maybe somebody is reading this site... the neutral venue for the AOH Cup Semis is a positive step. They should do the same for the Mossie. Who is in the Mossie Semis anyway???
I think my old team are now pushing for a spot Shilts ;)
Shilts
09/04/2009, 10:04 AM
I'm guessing that's a team a little further west than your present side junglegym :D
Thought it might be you alright ;)
Hope you're keeping well!!!
rebelhead
09/04/2009, 10:54 AM
hey shilts,
from what i have seen on billys blog ballyvolane and kinsale have qualify for the semis so far the other two group are fairly close ether grattan/leeside from one group or macroom or glenthorn in the other group,would have to say grattan and glenthorn to go through
Innishvilla
09/04/2009, 10:56 AM
Kinsale and Ballyvolane are both qualified,
Other groups
Group C: To play 4 games
Team; Played; Points
Macroom 3 7
Glenthorn 3 5
Knockavilla 3 5
Blarney St 3 4
Dunbar 4 0
Group D: To play 4 games
Team; Played; Points
Village 3 6
Grattan 2 6
Leeside 2 3
Rathcoole 2 3
Knaturk 2 0
Shilts
09/04/2009, 2:28 PM
"FASTEST GOAL EVER?????
Jim Reaney, Corkbeg PRO, asks the question.....
"Could have been a bit of history in our match at Pfizer Park - Ronan Forde scored straight from the kick off. about two or three seconds we would say !!! you might need to check that with the ref (Eddie Mullins) Ronan who is the manager only togged out because of a depleted squad, He hasnt played for two years due to injury. Corkbeg went on to win 3-1.
The squad only travelled with 9 players which meant both manager and assistant manager Dennis o Sullivan had to come out of retirement to fill in.Ronan scored from the Kick off, Ball touched forward, Keeper off his line and struck it high over keeper and in under the crossbar. probably fastest goal ever!! about 2 seconds I'd say!!
went 2-0 up after about 10 mins, Aidan Cotter with a perfect placed free kick from 25 yards, curled around wall into bottom right corner.3-0 up midway through 2nd half, corner kick headed clear by defender only to fall to Jamie O Sullivan from 35 yards took it on chest and on the half volley rifled it into top corner. a class strike from a promising young player.
Carrigaline scored a consolation with about 5 mins to go from a stunning free kick from 25 yards which flew into the top right corner.Corkbeg changed tactics by playing 3 at the back and a five man midfield with the normal wingers playing in a defensive wing back role. our plan was to man-mark the the two centre forwards and opposing 4 midfielders leaving dennis o sullivan in a sweeper role in the back and Forde in a anchor/playmaker role in midfield.
Our two centre forwards Aidan Cotter and Darrian O Donoghue worked their socks off up front by cutting out the full backs from getting forward.Excellent performance from all players on Corkbeg side especially our two wing backs Dean Keegan and Chris Kelly Working hard man marking and taking opponents out of the game.
Eddie Mullins commented after the game that "in all my time reffing I had often seen that attempted but never came off" on Ronan Fordes Goal!! Is it the fastest ever?" - from Cork AUL site
Anyone see this goal? Sounds amazing! - would love to know though if Eddie Mullins signalled to the keepers that he was starting the game before kick off ;) I can't imagine a keeper letting 1 in from this range if he was ready. Great storey though :D
Lads, definately not the fastest: Ken Twohig:ball: (Ex Man City, Temple Utd, and now with Mallow Utd) scored direct from the kick off about 5 years back for Strand Utd. This ball was played first before being hit, his was direct. Superb to see it happen tho...
09/04/2009, 11:12 PM
Alright lads, gow we all doing my laptop was broke so i was out of action here for two months. Hows everyone going? Littleman what happened "the killer b's" fallin apart recently, gaa commitments or something?
littleman
10/04/2009, 1:02 AM
Nice to hear from you again Bella.Cant really get my head around whats happened to the Killer B's.It all started way back against Leeview,they were supposed to be bottom dwellers an we were at home,done deal one would have thought.We had a good 15 or 16 an were thrashed 6 nil at home,since then its been narrow loss'es or draws since then .We have enough games to sort ourselves out though.Looks like another handy spin for ye Tue,away to Castle Celtic,what times the plane leavin.:p
The semis are on next weekend an the followin weekend,both in Casement Park.I know I made reference to the Aul gettin the 4 sides together over drinks an food an doin the draw some where special but even I was impressed when it happened in the Kiln on Tuesday at the Oscar Traynor do,well done to the Aul commitee.:)
Blarney Street an Glenthorn drew 4 all tonight in the Prem.Olli an the Streets to get back with differing reports no doubt.;)
Czec Dinny is currently out in White's cross in a nursing home enjoying what little time he has left in comfort.We call out on a regular basis an sit an talk an he joins in the conversation when he feels up for it an we laugh about the ol' days,it makes him happy over the last 2 seasons Dinny has had the Premier trophy out in the nursing home on his bedside for a few days an he was proud as punch.Hes one of the last true living legends an everybody at our club an a lot outside idiolise him.Nice of you to ask of him. thanks very much for askin.
On the ref thing Czec your right,he has a family an a job with people he knows an he only dose the refereeing job as a hobbie which he gets paid for,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,but despite rumors most players dont get paid,they have a right to ask for a ref who will be impartial,ensure that dangerous tackles are punished,an most actually pay script to have this so called privilage,so they can go back to thier jobs,their familys an say they enjoyed themselves.
Instead some one gets a call to say their son or husband is in the C.U.H.If it was your son being kicked from pillar to post an the man in the middle wasnt ensuring that the game was bein refereed safely,what would you do.Would you shake the refs hand after the game an say "well ref you were great" all the while you while you watch your players hobble off the pitch into the dressin room an in there all you can see is bruise marks an stud marks on players legs an chests,well thats what I had to look at after that game.Certain knocks you take for granted,part an parcel of the risk of playing but its the blatent stuff that gets me irate,the stuff he could have prevented,and didnt.So forgive me I dont share your sentiment about what effect my comments have on a referees charcater,tis my players safety or any players safety to be honest I'm more worried about rather than how any ref was being view afterwords in the public eye.
We no doubt will debate further issues in the future an I look forward to it.
.Subject finished an time to move on.
littleman
10/04/2009, 1:30 AM
Kinsale 4 Grattan Zip,nice view though
Being honest I didnt see this one comin.We travelled down thinkin we were in with a shout of gettin a result.3 wins in our previous 3 games an a clean sheet to boot.John Lyne refin so I was lookin froward to a good game.He blew his whistle at the same time the wife rang my mobile to say the kids had woke up in the car.By the time I walked from the half way line on the ocean side to just behind the roadside goal we were 2 down.What the hell was that all about.
Tis hard eneough to get a result against Kinsale when your playin well an concentratin,gift them a 2 goal lead in as many minutes before some of ours even got a sweat up was just madness.Luckily my small fella whos 4 got a bit cranky an wanted to go to his godmothers house in Riverstick an I only saw 25 mins of the game.For that 25 we actually looked like we were goin to get back into it an Kinsale defended as if their very lives depended on it.I met the Aul manager at the cross roads just on the main road on me way out an he was ringing me every 15 mins to keep me informed.
The reports were gettin worse by the way.I met the Kinsale lads in the Kiln Tuesday an in fairness they said they couldnt belive how they got 2 goals not just so early but so easy.I know it was a 4 nil game but the scoreline may have been a little flatterin.Well done Kinsale though,you can only beat whats in front of ya.Pitch is a credit to your commitee.
olachico
10/04/2009, 8:07 AM
Lads, definately not the fastest: Ken Twohig:ball: (Ex Man City, Temple Utd, and now with Mallow Utd) scored direct from the kick off about 5 years back for Strand Utd. This ball was played first before being hit, his was direct. Superb to see it happen tho...
I think that goal was scored against Hibs! And as far as I remember the keeper was standing on the line!
streetscene
10/04/2009, 8:48 AM
firstly littleman i agree with you about the kiln on tue night..the 4 semi finalists being invited in for the draw was a great idea and it was very proffesional.the aul got it right on this occassion and also with having neutral venues for these games so well done all round...last saturday we drew 2-2 with glenthorn and last night was 4-4. you would have to say the semi final is evenly balanced..
on both occasions we found ourselves chasing the game in last 10 mins..last night we were 2 down with 15 gone and managed to bring it back to 2 all..at this stage we were totally on top but with 2 quick breaks up the field mickey forde grabbed two great goals..4-2 down..but in fairness to our lads they rolled up the sleeves and really went at them and deservedly got one back through john betts and with 5 to go anthony goulding buried one from the edge oof the box.. again we pressed hard for a winner but it wasnt to be..glenthorn did take off two of their stronger players at 4-2 but again with 10 to go we brought on danny quinlan and they just couldnt handle him...over the two games we have given away some soft goals though and with their attacking options you just cant do this..greaney and mickey forde and fintan are all very dangerous but if we can come up with something to lessen their impact then we have a chance..they also found us very hard to deal with and jp thompson had them nervous every time he got it...but from my point of view scoring 4 at home and only drawing then something is not right..but we will address it and hopefully get it right.. should be a cracker next sat night
11/04/2009, 10:24 PM
ya did ya ever hear the likes of it sending us on a hour and half journey on a thursday people have to take time off work and all, ridiculous.
bogwarrior
14/04/2009, 10:13 AM
Well lads we're all quiet of late. We finally earned a small slice of revenege over Blarney st on sunday and recorded a good 5-1 victory. First half was even steven and we went in at the break 1-1 with Blarney having deservedly equalised after an early goal by varian. Second half was nip tuck up until Mongo got the important goal in our favour. After that the flood gates opened with scully getting one and varian getting a hat trick.
The win keeps us in with a chance but if Glenthorn keep converting their games in hand into victories we'll be in trouble.
A blarney st fan had some sort of fit on the side line so i hope everything is alright on that front. Would like to hear other opinions on the game.:ball: