View Full Version : Cork AUL 2008/09

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26

littleman
16/03/2009, 4:01 PM
We have 6 league games left to play ,Kinsale home an away,Leeside home an away an Glenthorn an Wilton away.Our name aint goin to be on the cup this year but with the games we have left we will have a big say in who gets it.

Someone is goin to get it big time even if I have to tog off meself an drag a result out.We have knowone but ourselves to blame,1 up an comfortable Saturday,as soon as we scored you could see Wilton were rattled,then the concentration goes an we conceed 3 in the 2nd half.Who ever wins will be worthy champs.

casilles
16/03/2009, 4:06 PM
A good win for ourselves Sat down in Castletownroche. 3 -0 the end result and we were good for it, there keeper made to other great saves but we were trying at times to walk the ball in to the net.
Mayfield in the morning in the 4th rd of the AOH should be a tough one, read the won 3 nil themselves down in Springfield at the weekend and that isnt an easy place to go.
Anyone know if they play all there games on the astro? Know they played Mallow a few weeks ago on it alright. Its a great facility but in my opionion is should only be used in a emergency/ friendly, think it hinders defenders more so than attackers, I am all for good football but there is also an art to defending and it particilar tackling, which becomes none existint while playing on this surface.

casilles
16/03/2009, 4:20 PM
We have 6 league games left to play ,Kinsale home an away,Leeside home an away an Glenthorn an Wilton away.Our name aint goin to be on the cup this year but with the games we have left we will have a big say in who gets it.

Someone is goin to get it big time even if I have to tog off meself an drag a result out.We have knowone but ourselves to blame,1 up an comfortable Saturday,as soon as we scored you could see Wilton were rattled,then the concentration goes an we conceed 3 in the 2nd half.Who ever wins will be worthy champs.

On that point littleman we have 7 to play ourselves those been Glenthorn, Leeside, Park all twice and Kinsale away so still alot to play for and teams all have to play one an other, I can see yerselves and Park been there abouts for the Mossie, reason been take Kinsale for example in for the the league and the Aoh, games gonna be coming thick and fast maybe a league game Tue Mossie on Thurs and Aoh on weekend they willbe lookin to rest a few and yerselvew I know will be lookin to finish as strong as ye can

littleman
16/03/2009, 4:55 PM
I only ever knew how to play one way,an that was to never give up an you wernt beat till the ref blew the final time.I've won an lost a lot over the years but the biggest one for me was the Aoh final in 1994.We played Passage an honestly it was boys against men.I was 20 an I was captain of the 1st Grattan side to ever reach an Aoh final.Paul Coughlan scored a hat trick for Passage but I was dead set on one thing an that was that the Passage backline wouldnt have it easy on the day an ran meself into the ground start to finish.We were well beaten on the day but I came off the pitch in Turners Cross dejected cause we lost but I had done everything within my power to try to win an that was my consolation.My point is you have to give the effort in every game,no matter what division or opposition an maintain the effort to stay on top,when the effort slips,so dose the form an the rest is history.

If you give your all in tryin to win an you still loose then thats all you could have been asked to give.An theirs no shame in that type of defeat.Of the games I watched this season their wasnt one where I though the opposition were better than us,we had chances in each game to go ahead an pull away but we let those chances pass us by time after time.Again this season for me has been a massive let down but thats football,good times an bad times.

olachico
16/03/2009, 8:08 PM
I went to the Superbowl on Sunday - by superbowl I mean the half of the pitch in Clashduv Road closest to the TSB bank! Went out to watch the Greenwood V Blackstone game!! If the Dillons Cross pitch is dangerous that one cant be far off! I can remember a winter cup game out there a few years ago when that half of the pitch was like a pond! Ducks landed in it and all!! Littleman if anyone ever complains about ye're pitch send them to both of those!!! :eek:

streetscene
17/03/2009, 2:22 PM
Mayfield 1-Blarney St. 1(aet)
Blarney st win 4-2 pens

absolutely blessed to get out of mayfield this morning in aoh.. went one down in first half and looked all out of sorts. got one back twenty into the second half thru lawerence betts and then mayfield lost their keeper thru injury and as they had no sub they had to play with 10 men..unfortunetley we could not break them down even though we were camped in their half but it just was not happening for us in front of goal.. into extra time and we were awarded a pen for deliberate hand ball on the line so they were down to 9 men. up stepped our keeper who is our penalty taker and who is normally very dependable but this time he smashed it against the crossbar and mayfield were still in the game..stayed that way for the whole of extra time as we could not put the ball in the goal.. our keeper did save two in the shootout so he redeemed himself but i am one relieved person to get out of their with the win..its a funny old game....

Shilts
17/03/2009, 8:22 PM
Any truth that the AOH semis are back in the Cross this year?

streetscene
17/03/2009, 8:24 PM
Heard that too shilts

junglegym
17/03/2009, 10:57 PM
:ball: Blarney Street, Knockavilla, Park Utd. and Kinsale. :ball:

Doug89
18/03/2009, 7:06 PM
Corinthians Cup 2nd Round:
Grangevale 1- 1 Springfield B (Springfield won 4-3 on penalties)

Grangevale bowed out of the Corinthians Cup in the most disappointing fashion on St. Patrick’s Day having being beaten in a penalty shoot-out by 3rd Division side Springfield B.
A number of changes were made to the team that started the last game against Greenwood A with Eric Kennedy, Brian Wade and Colin McKeown all coming into the side for this encounter. Again the bench was strong with numerous first team regulars watching intently from the sideline.
The game started brightly from a Grangevale point of view with the home side settling well. After the initial sparring it became apparent that Springfield would be content with a shoot-out with their goalkeeper in particular taking every opportunity to waste time when the chance came.
Grangevale’s strike force appeared to have broken the deadlock after 22 mins when Danny Meade’s inch perfect cross was met by Jason Martin on the volley rattling the net only for referee Eddie Mullins to rule it out for offside, much to the disapproval of the home team and supporters.
At half time it was still evenly poised at nil all with the Vale having enjoyed the lions share of possession but failing to create the chances that the possession merited. At the back, Ahearn, O’Donovan, O’Sullivan and Burke were coping well with anything Springfield threw at them.
Springfield started the 2nd half with a spring in their step and on 55 mins the deadlock was broken when the Springfield stiker managed to head past Gary Ahearn to put the visitors 1-0 up. The Vale were level 2 mins later courtesy of the left boot of midfielder John Harris, who once again was a man of the match contender for the Vale.
Damo O’Callaghan and Paul Horgan replaced Kennedy and Wade adding fresh legs to the Grangevale wings but unfortunately Springfield’s stubbornness saw the 90 mins elapse with the score remaining at 1-1.
The Vale introduced Eric Maher to the attack in extra time in an attempt to force the issue, but again, although looking the more likely to score, the winner never arrived and following the resultant shoot-out, Springfield emerged victorious on a 4-3 scoreline.

Horse24
18/03/2009, 8:18 PM
Last year, June Weekend, we won our first cup. As a club we are still young enough to have a few firsts every season - 2008/2009 first time out of cork, first time in AOH last 8 - however, i experienced a horrible first the other day - we got knocked out of that cup. Its very rare for any team to retain any trophy but the dream was there! A sad day.

2 games in 3 days is hard for the squad. It raises the question, what is the ideal number for a squad to have enough to cover all season while trying to remember as amateur players, you owe them fairness too? We have used 26plus players in a season, but, we had 19 win the double second half of last season. All the 19 werent too happy though!!

streetscene
20/03/2009, 7:16 PM
Blarney Street versus Dunbar off tomorrow. lots of talk of dunbar being in trouble??????
Doug 89 would that be the same colin mckeown in your match report that played with blarney street for last few years.if so nice solid player you got there

Doug89
20/03/2009, 9:19 PM
Blarney Street versus Dunbar off tomorrow. lots of talk of dunbar being in trouble??????
Doug 89 would that be the same colin mckeown in your match report that played with blarney street for last few years.if so nice solid player you got there

Yeah, that's the fella, he's living in Grange now and joined us at the start of the season, good honest player in fairness to him, always gives 100%, he was a great addition to us this year.
We have a big game on Sunday, at home to Casement, we beat them 4-2 at start of the season but they have rocketed up the table since Xmas, I believe a few of the Ballyphehane lads have come on board and made a big difference. Looking forward to it!!! Love this stage of the season when every point really counts...

streetscene
21/03/2009, 7:51 AM
our loss was your gain.colin is one of those players you can play anywhere and he will always do a job. we switched our games to saturdays last season and this did not suit him so we lost him but glad to see he is still at it.....
was wondering where the ballyphehane lads had ended up..casement must be strong so... best of luck in that one

Riordan
23/03/2009, 8:55 AM
Hi guys,

Only just came across these forums recently and joined up because like ye (from what I've read) I eat, drink and sleep local football. I'm the founding member of Leeview AFC and due to a horrible 5 months this season I came within a couple of days of folding the club. The wheels had well and truly come off the club. Manager didn't have any interest in training or matches, the players were like kids throwing their toys out after every game. We went 4 months without a win so manager left and we lost a few inspirational players.

I decided to try save the club and took over as manager until I could get something else sorted. first game in charge and we beat Grattan B (sorry littleman) followed it with 3 more wins out of 4. We have a very good structure at the club with some good players.We train twice a week in St.Mary's and thankfully the bad apples have left the club.Things look like getting back on track but I'm only 26 and have no interest in retiring until into my 40s.

So if any of ye guys know of anyone with a bit of managerial experience or someone looking to get into managing a team please let me know. I know it's probably too late in the season to get someone in now but if ye know of anyone that might be interested for next season give me a shout.

Riordan.

streetscene
24/03/2009, 9:48 PM
Firstly Riordan welcome to the forum.things seem very quiet with the rest of the lads at the moment dont know why nobody is not posting... anyway fair play to you for keeping the club afloat we all know how hard it is to keep things running smoothly.being totally honest with you i dont know a whole deal about your club or where ye are based but regardless of any of that no matter what division you are in a club must be run properly and with organisation..
trying to find a manager that will come in now is probably asking a lot but hey you never know..your best bet is to try and see the season out yourself and once its over put out the feeders for next year..ideally you want someone who is thinking about retiring but also staying involved and i suppose the most important thing is that he will attract a few new players to your club..what about keeping it on yourself..thats a pretty decent return from the 4-5 games you have been the gaffer...anyway best of luck for the rest of season and hopefully you will get someone.. i honestly think once the word goes out you will get a fe w people interested.. a lot of people out there think they can be the new special one so you will more than likely get a few takers..keep us posted

Doug89
25/03/2009, 8:21 AM
I see Dunbar have pulled out of the 2nd Div, must say I'm surprised, they were going well until mid January and then seemed to nosedive within weeks, pity really...

Riordan, keep the faith brother! It'll work out for ye I'm sure, we know ye well from last season and ye deserve to do well

littleman
25/03/2009, 11:28 AM
Sorry lads for the absence from the thread but I had to go back to the motherland with work for the last couple of weeks an every time I tried to use the internet in the hotel all the txt came out in dutch,the joys.

Sorry to hear that another team has folded but I think it is a sign of the times an its goin to become more an more prevelent next season.Prior to this season startin a team was easy enough because lads could get sponsorship easy enough an runnin costs could be handled easy enough,as long as you had 16 players then home games paid for themselves an away games were money in the bank.But as soon as your down to the 11's or 12's then it start to cost ya,an I'd be tellin a lie if I said the 5 euro per yellow wasnt effectin clubs,it is.

Theres a recession goin on an those in charge dont seem to be changin with the times.Football was an always will be a sport to be enjoyed at junior level,not one to be used to make a few bob.If times were different then it might of been a good idea,but its not an they should realise it at the highest level.The AUL/MFA an FAI all have different views on yellow cards an the attached fines.The AUL say the have to impose it ,the MFA say they dont want to impose it because its a pro rule ment for the pro game an when I asked a senior council member about it recently he was quite surprised it was being implemented at junior level.Just goes to show the problems with communication between our supposed governing bodies.

I have seen quite a bit of the AUL commitee over the recent weeks an it got m thinkin,the supposed 5 year plan we are supposed to be workin on is or should be wel underway,but as I read through the Aul document again last night it had all to do with the clubs improving,an nothin to do with the commitee itself being restructured.A new influx of youth is needed on it.Aul people who want to make the Aul better,Horse comes to mind as an ideal person who would be able to add his undoubted enthusiasim an local junior fooball knowledge to the commitee.Thats just my own opinion by the way,an there are quite a few people out there who again IMO would really shake things up in the Aul for the better.

On to the Gratts,I watched the lads play Tue mornin before I flew out an bein honest though the pitch did us no favours but I thought they played really well.We went 1 down to a commited Kanturk but got 4 without reply,an missed a peno before they had a mini fightback.I left with about 15 mins to play thought that was that but from what I was told afterwords the ref had more to do with Kanturks fightback than Kanturk had,it was a comfortable win from what I saw an what I was told later.All in all we played well an its best to lok at the remainder of the season as an oppertuinity to get a bit of pride back an to just enjoy playin again.

The Killer B's have stumbled a bit in recent weeks but it will sort itself out have no fear,startin Sunday mornin.

Horse24
25/03/2009, 9:10 PM
Thanks for the compliment, Littleman. That thought has crossed mine and others minds, but at this moment in time, it isnt a goer. As Streetscene put it, I too think I am the special one and would have done UEFA B this year if there was one on in the south. I have coached a schoolboy team for four years just to keep me ticking over. I had to choose a while back between admin & coaching and decided on coaching. I still stand by that call. Blackstone, whilst we are doing ok as a club, still havent grown enough that the same few heads are needed to keep it growing. We all love it and our aim is to make it bigger and better all the time. Another setback to the commitee idea is the wrench of leaving the Rovers - no way Jose!!

Riordan, well done man. Ye are out next to us with Crescent are ye? Maybe we can help you with the problems we have encountered and the lessons learned. You cant do it alone though - you need to spread the load. You will begin to hate it if its 24/7, and what happens then?

Any takers on my optimum squad number question?

We drew 1-1 with Boscos at the weekend. It may have said goodbye to our slim title hopes. Looking forward to a good game against Kinsale at the weekend. A good club, they have always welcomed us down there, and I expect Sunday to be no different. On the field, cup football has thrown up stranger results over the years.

junglegym
25/03/2009, 11:40 PM
Welcome Riordan and best of luck in your endeavours, In your post you speak from the heart and want to achieve the best you can from yourself and your club.
I too was faced with the dreaded Managerial role for a year when no one wanted it but as a senior player was kinda forced to step up to the mark. You can't do it on your own( It's just impossible ). You ( more than likely ) need a more senior figure or else some guy who is prepared to take no s**t from the players to get the best out of them. Player/Managers just doesn't cut it in this day and age.

Didn't see Billy's reports this week and our result wasn't on CorkAul.com so here goes just for those that might be in the same boat.
We beat Dillions Cross 2-0 last Sun. in the Mossie so at least our fixture against Kinsale will ( in my own eyes ) be a quarter final fixture that is us needing a win. As I said before I think playing the League Cup at this stage of the season just suits those still involved in their league or The Aoh.
Like most teams mid table or worse off realistically we will just try to keep Kinsale to 3goals:rolleyes: or less.

Horse , Best of luck Sun but if I was a betting man ( And I am ) I think ye will come up short.

Free weekend this weekend and looking forward to a couple of scoops:D.

Innishvilla
26/03/2009, 10:13 AM
Riordan, welcome to the party... We played ye about 2/3 years ago in a friendly and ye looked a good side, played some nice football. Do some of your players have links to City Wanderers? Or are you from the same area.

Innishvilla had similar situation this year and it is our old manager (whose held the club together thru some hard times) with one of the senior players running the team...

On that front a bad year so far (staring relegation in the face) was brightened up last week with the team qualifying for the semi-finals of the County Cup (first time for the club I think). Does anyone know anything about Watergrasshill's second team? We've drawn them in the semi, the ironic thing is their 1st team is in the other semi...

littleman
26/03/2009, 10:40 AM
Riordan as my fellow members have done before me ,welcome on board.The more teams represented on this thread the better.Our Bside played ye a few weeks back an we were unbeaten at home all season an we got hammered on the day.Was well impressed with the players I saw on the day.I only cmae on for the last 20 mins but the damage was done but in fairness ye liked to play ball an in the 3rd division thats the best complement you can give.

Theres no good time to become a manager,especially if you feel your being pressured into it,it can work an its great when it dose but if it dosent then releationships between players an officals within the club can suffer big time an then the club can suffer worse still.So be careful in your selection,an dont be put off by age,Paddy Martin runs a good ship out in Coachford an Derek Power alike with Blarney St,these are guys who could still easily play if they wanted too but have taken the dip into management.Players can spot a bluffer in the dressin room before a ball is even kicked so you want some one who has both a knowledge of the game an a love of it.Players respect knowledge of the game,an understanding of what to do when it goes wrong an how to fix it an I'd say if you took a good long look at your bunch theres one or 2 candidates that you just may not of thought of.Finding a manager is easy,findin the right manager for your club is the hard bit.

My vine swingin friend from the jungle,with regards to Kinsale,if Misters Varian an Macarthy can be kept quiet then on your day ye are just as good as any side in the league.Too many sides travel down to Kinsale beaten already in their own minds.Its 90 mins plus an anything can happen.

bogwarrior
26/03/2009, 10:02 PM
Well lads ye seem to be talking us up on here but I doubt the team will be taking anything for granted on sunday....or from now until the end of the season for that matter. An Aoh cup semi in the offing so that's a major carrot for both teams.

Jungle i reckon that's a bit of psychology on your behalf!! We always have good battles and well you know it! There's never more than a goal between us! Dont believe him when he says the aim is to keep the score down!! I think you spoke too soon littleman! Innish we played watergrass hill b last year up in theirs and to be honest they were horrendous. Ref blew up after 55 mins with the score at 7 i think. That was last year tho and to get to the semi they must have changed something. I'd fancy ye tho but again, they got to where they are now so dont go in with the wrong attitude.

See you sunday Horsey!:ball:

Streetwise
26/03/2009, 11:54 PM
again wellcome riordan its good to have new members best of luck in your pursuit of a manager. as littleman said its easy to get a manager but getting the right one is vital and on that subject we consider ourselfs extremley lucky with who we have.some good games around for the weekend interesting ties where anything could happen.rathcoole at home sunday is going to be a very tough game but a game we are really looking forward to it ,the last round we got through but that was all we could take from the game.with whats at stake i think the lads are well up for it and at this stage a bit of luck don t go astray.so hopefullt same result better performance sunday.

littleman
27/03/2009, 6:35 AM
If it can go wrong it will,Bog you may be right,the 2 Dereks may not score but Cherry an Jermey could do damage alright,you never know.;)

olachico
27/03/2009, 10:59 PM
Littleman - in the not too distant past I also re-read the AUL 5 year plan. The contents of the plan are a step in the right direction but should now be seen as an aspiration more than a plan! As you said the current financial climate will dictate what a lot of clubs can do! The AUL was keen for clubs to amalgamate (something which i dont see happening as clubs dont want to lose their identities - some would rather fold than amalgamate) to reduce the number of teams to increase the quality of facilities etc - this is a great theory in principal but again i just dont see it happening!

Also once upon a time i considered which avenues I wished to pursue in football - i did the refereeing course a few years ago but never refereed a game - I also considered possibly joining the AUL committee but with Shift work felt it may not be possible

I also considered just becoming a spectator!! :D

olachico
27/03/2009, 11:02 PM
Innish - apparently the way the draw was a few weeks ago it looked like the two Watergrasshill sides should be facing each other! That way the would have been guaranteed at least 1 team in the final

With my previous club we qualified for the semis twice in the last few seasons loosing to Ballincollig on both occasions - Dont envy ye with the two- legged semi final - that unnesecarry game should be got rid of in my opinion as it doesnt exist in its sister trophy the city challenge cup

casilles
29/03/2009, 5:45 PM
AOH Cup Results

Blatney St Ath 4-1 Rathcoole Rvs
Park Utd 0-1 Kanturk
Knockavilla Celtic 2-3 Glenthorn Celtic
Kinsale 4-3 Blackstone Rvs

balls
29/03/2009, 9:40 PM
poor result for park especially at home

pacman
30/03/2009, 11:34 AM
Caught the second half of the Leeside-Grattan game on Sunday. Good win for Grattan, both sides looked like they were missing a few players.
The great littleman even made an appearance in the second half.
Not a great game to be honest, Keith Shaw looked by far the best player on the pitch.

bogwarrior
30/03/2009, 1:36 PM
Big result for Grattan yesterday! Wilton must be delighted!! To be honest a draw would have been ideal for us but now the gratts will have their heads up against us next sunday and will be full of confidence. Did littleman actually play?!:eek: Not a sleight on you as a player wee fella but just presumed you were gettin on a bit in years!!:p

We scrope thru against blackstone!! Could very well have found ourselves out of the cup only for an extra time penalty converted by who else but mccarthy. I do think we deserved however, but Blackstone fought tooth and nail for everything. Never before have i seen a team so committed. Thought they fought very well. We saw extra time out well and are relieved to be in the semis. Some top teams left and very surprising to hear park were beaten by kanturk. They'll obviously be the team everyone will be hoping to draw in the semis.

Coachford now on thursday night. What's the story with the mossie lads... top two or just the top go thru?! Anyone know what the groups look like at the moment?! We have two wins anyway..

junglegym
30/03/2009, 5:30 PM
Coachford now on thursday night. What's the story with the mossie lads... top two or just the top go thru?! Anyone know what the groups look like at the moment?! We have two wins anyway..

One team to go through to Semi final from each group. It's all or nothing for us Thurs. night, We need to win to progress, A draw will do ye .

littleman
30/03/2009, 7:24 PM
I could'nt have planned the way Sunday morning was going to pan out even if I had a team of writers from the X files.My experience should have told me that wether the clocks are goin froward or backwards an hour,some idiots will get caught out by it,and if you add any kind of a party the night before then your on a hiding to nothin with what you expect to turn up on Sunday morning for a game.

I was at home Sunday morning an had the intention of watching the first half of the A game an then the 2nd half of the B game.How wrong could I have been.The B manager txt me to say that of the 17 he had at training Thur only 11 had turned up an as I had signed the B form encase of emergency's then could I turn up as sub.Fair enough I said an got into the car an got to the pitch.Then at the gates I met one of the lads envolved with the A team,he missed his spin,I thought to meself I'll drop him down to Leeside as I wont be used in the 1st half of the B game,at least hopefully not at all.Got down to Leesides place to findout 5 or 6 of the team had gone to a christening the night before an failed to show,we had 11.Manager went in goal an asked if I'd tog off as sub,I thought to meself I'm 36 an I was expectin to be on the bench for the B team an I'd got promoted to the A team with out even toggin off.

Leeside had at least 20 togged off an were well up for it for the 1st 15,then just seemed to self destruct,unbelivable display from them.The ref was in a word,dispicable.Ignorant an emotionless also spring to mind.Like talkin to a cow,stuipd look on his face throughout and any questioning of his decisions drew a yellow he got envolved in stuipid arguments with the side line which only drew both sides and the game out.He sent off a leeside player who had nothin to do with the incident that drew the foul.The Leeside center half,was an I dont like sayin this about any player but he was a disgrace,3 challanges in the 1st half alone that were straight red and I challenge an person watchin the game to defend what he got up to durin the game.

I can understand a player being commited,even bein well up for it so to speak,but this fella went out to hurt people,plain an simple.Dont get me wrong it wasnt a dirty game,just some of the fouls were truly terrible to watch an how some of the players left that pitch in one peice was a miracle an probably more down to their fitness an a bit of luck..

The ref played a huge part in the game,sent the wrong player off an bottled another straight forward sendin off offence,the center half agin put in a terrible challange on Figo,straight through the back of him,bit of a malee an our Brian Sull went head to head with there Sullivan,the Leeside Sullivan kicked him in plain sight of everyone,ref less than 2 yards away an lookin straight at it,what did he do,sent Jack from Leeside off for what knowone knew.With the extra man we were well in control an probably played the best 90 mins I have seen all season.

2 up with an should have added another 2 or 3 but again the final ball an in fairness a good young Leeside keeper kept it down.Leeside were gifted a goal in injury time when a clearence by our right back on the line hit the backside of the keeper an went in(twas par for the course considerin the way the mornin went) on back in injury time butt:p too little to late.Oh ya I came on for the last 25 at left back.What age did Bobby Charlton play on too,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,;)

Horse24
30/03/2009, 8:59 PM
Billy Lyons got it spot on on Friday night when he said our recent form was not good. Going into the game, I still believed, but wasnt overly confident.

We had 17 for the game, after a few games of number struggling. We looked well in our new jackets.....things may not be so glum. We started well and both sides went hell for leather into the tackle. Both sidelines were well up for it too, with some lovely pleasantries exchanged!! The first clear chance fell to us when our full back chipped the Kinsale keepr only to see the ball drift just wide. We went ahead from a set piece on 20 minutes, and the belief grew. Dont be fooled, it was clear we were playing a good side, and some last ditch defending was needed. Just as we thought we might scrape in ahead at the break, Mr Mc Carthy found a half yard of space in the box and it was 1-1 on 40 mins. We were still ok, but 3 minutes to go and Derek struck the goal of the game - a header into the only spot our keeper wasnt going to get it. 2-1 down at the break, but no despair. We were angry with ourselves, in fact. Second half started with Kinsale on top, but this game wasnt over. After an hour of the sideline screaming handball in unison, we finally got the break. 2 all from the spot. We defended like our lives depended on it, while still harbouring the odd sniff up the other end. 10 minutes to go, and it seemed like the final nail when their centre back got free in the box and made it 3-2. Everyone, even some of the away fans, saw the clock tick down and worried for Blackstone. It was even worse when we missed a free header on 88. However, well into injury time, we equalised from a free into the box. The place went ballistic!! Into extra time, and Rovers again had to defend, but with the ten minutes up in the first half, it seemed the worst was over. An inocuous throw into the box, a poor challenge and Mr Mc Carthy completed his hat-trick. We didnt even have time to kick off. The 2nd half passed without much at either end and Rovers went home unhappy to have lost...but, on reflection proud that the only non premier side did ourselves proud at the top table.

There was some challenges went in over the 120 minutes.The Kinsale right full, hope its not you bog warrior, should have been sent off on the half hour for a two footed challenge, and it set the tone for the rest of the game. We christened him "Gary Neville" after the game, cos he wound up our sideline, a right plonker!! All in good jest when we told him on the way out!

As I reflect, I ask myself are the rules stretched (but not broken) by all teams at the top level? Do we see players swinging off each other every week in the Premiership? Cmon Premier boys, back yourselves!! To be fair, we know we should have lost a man too, and one or two of our challenges would water your eyes too!

The coldest wettest Sunday of the year - i dunno about seeing Charles Fort on a Sunday in March. Lovely set-up, bogwarrior.

Bogwarrior, give me your match report. I always find it amazing how two people watch the same game and see things differently!

Horse24
30/03/2009, 9:02 PM
As I posted my piece on "dirty" at the top, did Littleman answer it?

streetscene
30/03/2009, 9:04 PM
Littleman any idea when the draw for the semis of the aoh is..asked two members of the aul commitee yesterday in the anglers and they didnt know

streetscene
30/03/2009, 9:38 PM
I think Billy got it spot on in the echo today when he said the scoreline flattered us yesterday against Rathcoole.at one stage in this game we were really in trouble and had to dig really deep to get the win.Rathcoole are a decent team and i was very impressed with their front two..we took the lead after 10 mins john betts getting on the end of a paul hogan corner and buried the header giving the keeper no chance. then we went into self destruct mode yet again and this is something we really need to sort it out.instead of driving on and getting number two we got complacement and paid the price just before half time when they got a genuine penalty which their keeper converted,one all at half time,
in fairness we were a totally different team in the second half and took control of the game.we started to dominate in the middle of the park and our centre halfs got on top of their front two. when we scored the second thru lawerence betts again from a paul hogan corner we were totally on top.john betts added a third and john paul thompson finished off the scoring with a great strike in to the top corner.we really need to sort ourselves out though if we want to get into the final.playing for only one half is not good enough.it is something which we have talked about but it keeps happening and its really frustrating.. anyone got a number for eileen drewery!!!!!!!!
Kanturk pulled off the shock of the weekend against park and cant be taken lightly.was talking to someone who watched the game between kinsale/blackstone and he said that blackstone were very unlucky and can hold their heads up high. in fairness we all probably expected kinsale to win but they were made to work very hard for it.i think the result of the weekend must go to glenthorn though away to knockavilla and coming from two down to win.was suprised by grattan/leeside result cause i really thought leeside would be really up for.they started yesterday second in the league and seemed to be in a position to have a right challenge of it. reports though are that gratan were good value for the win and fair play. looks like wilton were the big winners and they didnt even play
Also was told yesterday that the semis of the aoh are not on in the cross.i was told earlier that they were back out there this year.anyone know anything definite

littleman
30/03/2009, 10:09 PM
Look lads I wish I could tell you that the draw is done in a organised fashion with Stokes Kennedy Crowley there to oversee it all bein done good an proper,but it aint.It will be done at the next Aul commitee meeting I presume because otherwise I'd have heard today as I was with the commitee and the Aul team down in the Echo office.I'd go with 4 bits of paper an one of the commitee picks um out of a glass I expect.I'd love someone to tell me I'm wrong an that the Aul will invite the 4 clubs to a pre arranged meeting an have sherry an appertifs afterwords but I think not.This the Aul remember.

The date for the final is fixed for the 22nd of May.First name out of the hat has home advantage as per the last 2 seasons.I know there is a rumor about that the Cross might be available but if it was then the dates for the semis would have been on the paper tonight.City play their games on Friday nights every other week an with the demands on the Cross for finals I cant see any semis bein played their for any league.

For me Blarneys grass pitch under lights on a Friday night would be a sight to behold for any semi final,somethin about Colemans Park as well.I played their a good few times when I was younger an enjoyed the place big time.But then again the AUL might surprise us all,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,:rolleyes:

littleman
31/03/2009, 12:18 AM
The Killer B's hav'nt had the best of luck since the end of January.The rub of the green an the bounce of the ball just aint goin their way.We will have to knuckle down an get back to basics if we are to rescue things before its to late.Still loads to play for.

pacman
31/03/2009, 7:59 AM
The Killer B's hav'nt had the best of luck since the end of January.The rub of the green an the bounce of the ball just aint goin their way.We will have to knuckle down an get back to basics if we are to rescue things before its to late.Still loads to play for.

You not an A team player now Littleman?

Shilts
31/03/2009, 9:50 AM
Only 36 wee man? I was only coming into my prime then HAHA! :D

junglegym
31/03/2009, 11:33 AM
Only 36 wee man? I was only coming into my prime then HAHA! :D

Age is a case of " Mind Over Matter "

If you dont mind it dont matter...... :D

BigFella 09
31/03/2009, 1:37 PM
Hey lads finally got back on after changing jobs.Its been a while!!.I see there hasn't been much happening on the league front.It looks like grattan could have a say on who wins the league after all littleman!!!.

I've lost my contact on the wilton front hence changing jobs but from how the league table is looking at the minute they must be confident enough with leeside losing the weekend and grattan hitting form,kinsale having to play them this week.

I reckon they'll be happy to sit back an watch teams taking points off eachother!!.

casilles
31/03/2009, 4:21 PM
Well lads as reported earlier The Street got goining in the 2nd half,after a terrabile 1st and in my opinion we were worth the 3 goal difference. 3 games at home in 10 days starting with Macroom on Thurs night , Glenthorn on sat both in the Mossie and Glenthorn again the following Thurs in the league

I went down to the Kinsale vs Blackstone game in the afternoon and was suprised to hear Blackstone were 1 up{just been honest Horse} but I have to say Blackstone gave it there all and can hold there heads up high after a very competive and a times pleasurable game to watch, Ill hold my hand up and say I was roaring ye on :Dbut peglars challenge was shocking ,wat he was thinking was beyond me and the few around too. :confused:

Would agree with you Littleman with teams been brought in for the semi final draw id even go as far to say the Quater Finals and also on the playing of a neutral pitch, Little Island, Charles Fort, Mayfield,Douglas,Leeds. the Farm, Castleview or Whitegate. All these mentioned are in the Cork AUL and are of a high quality, do think the Cross should be final only?

littleman
31/03/2009, 6:58 PM
First and foremost I'm a Grattan man,A or B dosent really come into it.I only signed the B form at the start of the season just encase they were ever left short handed an its only happened once or twice.Sunday morning games are always a lottery with regards to gettin fellas to turn up so what happened this Sunday was a one off.

If I was younger I'd have no bother competing with whats in the league now an I'm not meaning to be either disrespectful to anyone or big headed but I'm not foolish enough to think I'm either fit enough or light enough to go head to head with someone out on the wing.My times been an gone though I still enjoy the odd cameo,its only to give a hand the odd time they need sone help.Which thankfully isnt very often.

The win against Leeside restored a bit of pride in the lads themselves.They deserved it not because Leeside made it hard but because we played football like we used too an they came off the pitch a little sore but with a smile on their face for the first time in a long while.I'm lookin forward to the game Sunday against Kinsale,league status apart we are still the two sides everyone likes to claim as a scalp an against each other its no different.Games are always played hard an fast an I expect Sundays game to be no different.It could go anyway.

Plenty of games left in the league which could leave Wilton with a nervous run in.If im right they have to play,Kinsale,Ourselves,Leeside an Glenthorn to finish off,could go all the way.It makes it a bit more interestin though for a change.The mossie may throw up a few new faces in the semis,Kinsale goin for a trebble possible,Glenthorn as well,sure as I said it makes it all the mose interestin for the rest of us...............

Horse24
01/04/2009, 6:58 PM
In advance of the AUL AGM, I would like to see what points fellas will be bringing up to give me thinking time:

My List includes:

1) Yellow card fines, crucifying clubs.
2) Suspensions - players suspended for the weekend ahead should be listed on the website.
3) 2 promoted at least from every division. AUL say 1st division has only one promoted because they dont want a team to get to Premier League without winning a league. You can get to Premier League in England by finishing 6th in 3 divisions!! A good start by one team leaves 9/10 teams out of the league by Ocotber maybe because guys were on holidays. Is that fair?
4) I saw a bit on the MSL site about MSL grants - could AUL help clubs out with Pitch or Dressing room development in these trying times? We have plans, but will we have funds?
5) Should players from folded clubs be punished during non-transfer times for things that happened outside their control?

Thats all I can think of for now.

Those who know me know I dont usually say much at the meetings!!!!!

pass&move
02/04/2009, 8:20 AM
I
3) 2 promoted at least from every division. AUL say 1st division has only one promoted because they dont want a team to get to Premier League without winning a league. You can get to Premier League in England by finishing 6th in 3 divisions!! A good start by one team leaves 9/10 teams out of the league by Ocotber maybe because guys were on holidays. Is that fair?

Some good points but I have to question you on this one,If two teams are promoted from the 3 first divisions you'd have to relegate 6 from premier A somehow I don't think this would work.

Innishvilla
02/04/2009, 8:53 AM
Some good points but I have to question you on this one,If two teams are promoted from the 3 first divisions you'd have to relegate 6 from premier A somehow I don't think this would work.

I agree, as it is 3 getting relegated from Premier with only 10 teams is fairly tough going, especially having had to work so hard to get there (i.e. win a first division).
But I also know where the point is coming from with only one team going up, this year our division is really interesting with 4/5 still in with a shot; but last year by Christmas the 2 going down were fairly obvious, and one side had built up a bit of a lead... no-one else had hardly anything to play for...

Shilts
02/04/2009, 9:29 AM
In advance of the AUL AGM, I would like to see what points fellas will be bringing up to give me thinking time:

My List includes:

1) Yellow card fines, crucifying clubs.
2) Suspensions - players suspended for the weekend ahead should be listed on the website.
4) I saw a bit on the MSL site about MSL grants - could AUL help clubs out with Pitch or Dressing room development in these trying times? We have plans, but will we have funds?
5) Should players from folded clubs be punished during non-transfer times for things that happened outside their control?

Thats all I can think of for now.

Those who know me know I dont usually say much at the meetings!!!!!

How about not letting any team without a 'B' team into the premier leagues? This would prevent the crazy situation in the prem div this year where 2 teams have folded. Bad enough in the lower leagues but it has totally distorted the premier division this season.
What about neutral venues for the AOH Semis. Bit of a joke to be togging off at grounds with no proper dressing rooms for an AOH semi?
What about a bigger prize for the winners of the top competitions? Dublin AUL Prem winners get a team holiday, but a set of gear wouldn't be too bad for our winners would it!:ball:

Horse24
02/04/2009, 12:41 PM
Yeah, the problem of the 6 teams going down is a big one. Do we need to go from 3 divisions to maybe 2 divisions, Prem A & B, and then to one division? The other option is the 3 winners , and the three runners up in some sort of play off with the 4th bottom in Prem A. At least it gives a team something to aim for if one team has gone away at the top.

On prizes, Im sure something could be found. It cost us a fortune last year when we won something because you feel you must reward the players, whether in drink, or, tops or whatever.

I do think all semis for all cups have to expect certain standards - dressing rooms, good surface etc. For AOH, its the biggest cup, if we cant get the Cross, then Colemans PArk or something along those lines should be looked at. Im sure Ramblers could do with the few bob. One after the other would cut down costs for the AUL.