View Full Version : Transfer Rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10

05/12/2007, 5:52 PM
Performance related bonuses should be the norm in professional sport. Especially in the English Premier League.

05/12/2007, 6:23 PM
I would be gutted if he left.
He wasn't expected to get in to the first team and could easily have been a fadeing mid-season signing that wasn't deemed worth hanging on to at seasons end.
Willie Bruton and Vinny Sullivan are prime examples and they (well the latter anyway) are established premier players.
Leon has developed with every game imo.
He's definitely more of a right winger (something we need) and has a good attitude owing to a spell messing around with no name teams whilst going to college etc.

He is among a group of players who've been offered standard renewals (e30 extra basic and considerably improved bonuses).
However, the others had existing properly negotiated CCFC deals. The likes of Softic, Kelly and Carroll were happy to retain a salary slightly improved in full-time ball.
McSweeneys initial contract was probably like a long-term paid trial to see if he was up to full-time professional standard.
Thus, offering the generic minor pay-rise is a bit lousy in his case.
He's right to want a further improvement and he could get it elsewhere.

06/12/2007, 6:24 AM
Phil Reilly to Sligo?!:D... more like Salthill Devon!! ;)

Gilberto are Salthill sponsored by Ambrosia? :D

GreenStar
06/12/2007, 7:19 AM
Kilduff (of Kilcock) has joined Kildare County FC on loan from Shamrock Rovers for the season. Confirmed on KCFC site.

I've seen Ciaran Kilduff quite a bit this past season and he's an absolute gem. If he produces for Kildare then expect an exciting season down Newbridge way.

Kildare Lad
06/12/2007, 9:51 PM
I've seen Ciaran Kilduff quite a bit this past season and he's an absolute gem. If he produces for Kildare then expect an exciting season down Newbridge way.

Is he the lad who has just been named in the irish futsal squad?

GreenStar
07/12/2007, 7:08 AM
Is he the lad who has just been named in the irish futsal squad?

The very same. Scored a shed-load of goals for our under 21s last season in futsal and football.

blackholesun
07/12/2007, 10:24 PM
>Lads, any truth Alan Matthews is taking over at Shels with Keely moving upstairs to a "Director of Football 2 role ?

wouldnt be surprised, Squeeky is trying to sort out the long term future / stadium situation so has a lot on his plate.

bhs

08/12/2007, 7:48 AM
Gilberto are Salthill sponsored by Ambrosia? :D

off topic I know, but just so you know, they got the name devon because their first grounds that they played on when founded was in an area of Salthill called Devon Park.

niallsparky
09/12/2007, 12:17 PM
Leon McSweeney to Bohs is looking like it's gonna happen.

09/12/2007, 12:28 PM
Leon McSweeney to Bohs is looking like it's gonna happen.

I hope it goes just as well as the last player ye signed from us :)

09/12/2007, 7:40 PM
PFAI list of free agents (http://www.pfai.ie/index.php?mod=one&id=16380&PHPSESSID=a94079113873f6cf61e0e1d593fbff3c)

09/12/2007, 8:20 PM
PFAI list of free agents (http://www.pfai.ie/index.php?mod=one&id=16380&PHPSESSID=a94079113873f6cf61e0e1d593fbff3c)Smalles t free agents list I've seen in ages:eek:

09/12/2007, 8:24 PM
Also Aaron Shanahan has signed for Dundalk so he shouldn't be there

09/12/2007, 8:45 PM
greg o halloran spotted getting off the cross river ferry in cobh !!!
he owns houses in cobh too like.

:D the tayto and coke paying champions how bad we might throw a mars bar in for greg aswell...

not impressed by him at all anyway hes been playing cat and mouse with us for the last few years
indeed along with reynolds.

PFAI list of free agents (http://www.pfai.ie/index.php?mod=one&id=16380&PHPSESSID=a94079113873f6cf61e0e1d593fbff3c)

who'd be the best out of that small lot.

09/12/2007, 8:51 PM
who'd be the best out of that small lot.

Id prob go with Alan Murphy, Moore on potential BUT..................... well just as Derry fans about him :p

09/12/2007, 10:05 PM
heard Alan Murphy is looking at a season in either Athlone or Limerick, somewhere close to Galway where his job is based.

blackholesun
09/12/2007, 10:30 PM
heard Alan Murphy is looking at a season in either Athlone or Limerick, somewhere close to Galway where his job is based.

He was devastated to be let go, Id say he'll be looking to get back at GUFC ASAP if Cousins goes!

bhs

Olander
09/12/2007, 10:35 PM
heard Alan Murphy is looking at a season in either Athlone or Limerick, somewhere close to Galway where his job is based.heard he's going to Limerick Terry, he's good friends with Nigel Keady

He was devastated to be let go, Id say he'll be looking to get back at GUFC ASAP if Cousins goes!

we (the fans) of GUFC were devastated he played crap for the last 2 years, deserved what he got, absolutely nothing.

10/12/2007, 12:29 PM
heard he's going to Limerick Terry, he's good friends with Nigel Keady

Ah but that assumes Nigel Keady is staying :)

Very interesting if true though, SLK will not be amused :p

Absolute top drawer signing if he comes and we could get him interested.

It's a big if though, he wasn't interested playing Premier for Galway so can't for the life of me see why he would give a toss with Limerick.

How concrete are these rumours though lads?? I mean, genuinely I'd be amazed if we were paying anyone over 200 quid next year.

scottish_bohs
12/12/2007, 10:34 AM
It was in the Evening Herald last night that St Pat's and Bohs are set to talk again this week about John Paul Kelly going to Richmond. Deal fell apart last week apparently.

The same paper also said that Bohs are very close to signing McSweeny from Cork. Deal should be done in the next few days it said.

12/12/2007, 7:48 PM
Anto Murphy going to us from Pat's. Deal almost complete, he's quitting his part-time job to go full time with us apparently.

Pat's fans...views on him please?

BrayUnknowns
12/12/2007, 8:28 PM
Anto Murphy going to us from Pat's. Deal almost complete, he's quitting his part-time job to go full time with us apparently.

Pat's fans...views on him please?

That wouldn't make sense though...

He was offered a full time contract at Pats but said he didn't want to go full time, and you can be sure the money would be much better at Pats.

I'd be very very surprised if this happened being honest.

Great player though, super engine, would do well for any club in the league.

12/12/2007, 8:32 PM
Well he's definitely leaving Pat's. Couldn't agree with what he was offered there.

And it says in local paper today that looks likely Murphy will be 'quitting his job outside of football' to take up a 2 year full time contract with us.

hoopy
12/12/2007, 9:03 PM
Any talk of Trevor Molloy joining ye?

jamie m
12/12/2007, 9:10 PM
been linked with molloy in local press and rumours that he was in sligo last week

12/12/2007, 9:12 PM
Any talk of Trevor Molloy joining ye?Yep we're linked with him too, along with Daryl Kavanagh from Waterford. Murphy is the only one that's almost definite. Yesterday's paper said Gerry Carr says a 'top quality midfielder' has only to complete his paper work while Gerry and Cook will be meeting another player in the next week or so with a view to completing a move.

Make of that what ya will, could Molloy be described as 'top quality'...I hear he's trouble?

12/12/2007, 9:21 PM
Yep we're linked with him too, along with Daryl Kavanagh from Waterford. Murphy is the only one that's almost definite. Yesterday's paper said Gerry Carr says a 'top quality midfielder' has only to complete his paper work while Gerry and Cook will be meeting another player in the next week or so with a view to completing a move.

Make of that what ya will, could Molloy be described as 'top quality'...I hear he's trouble?

was he any good at motherwell?

12/12/2007, 10:45 PM
That wouldn't make sense though...

He was offered a full time contract at Pats but said he didn't want to go full time, and you can be sure the money would be much better at Pats.
Not exactly what happened...

13/12/2007, 11:51 AM
Pat's fans, is Murphy any good?

13/12/2007, 11:53 AM
Pat's fans, is Murphy any good?

Excellent at getting up for headers and has a good speciality long throw. I always felt he was an intelligent player and was sad to see him leave UCD.

Danny
13/12/2007, 12:44 PM
decent player
had a shocking start to the season before last and was a target for a lot of abuse but came thru it and came good last season.
can play rw or rb
also tried centre mid before.
great long throw
can be a bit stoopid at times as you would have seen when he got sent off v you in the 3-2 win in the showgrounds.
also sent off v bray for same sort of stupidity.

had a row with johnny mac over his full time contract so looked destined to move. he's a plumber by trade working with his uncle so could probably take time off and try full time football.

monutdfc
13/12/2007, 2:17 PM
He spent a season with us too - you could see he had loads of ability, and very athletic, but his attitude wasn't great. Glad to see he has copped himself on, he's a great talent.
What Poor Student says is true about his ability to jump - in fact he conceded a lot of free-kicks because referees thought he was leaning on the opposition player he jumped so high. (Brian Gannon suffers from the same problem, and with him being quite short he gets a foul against him every time he wins a header!)

13/12/2007, 6:07 PM
i was very impressed with him when pats were on that good run at the start of last season, i thought he was one of ye're best player, he seemed to drift away as the season went on though!? still a great buy if we get him!!

13/12/2007, 6:11 PM
Dave Mooney on trial with Birmingham City.

13/12/2007, 9:35 PM
hope he booked return flights!

15/12/2007, 1:55 PM
Mooney expected to sign for Birmingham this weekend after impressing on trial according to today's Irish Times

15/12/2007, 5:59 PM
cant see mooney making the first team for birmingham sorry! i think this is a money move for moons. he was much better off going to drogs, cork or pats. wish all the best though...

16/12/2007, 9:35 AM
Rumour up here is that we will be revealing 2 new signings tonight at our press conference, one is believed to be Gary Beckett from Derry.

16/12/2007, 10:00 AM
I hear Citys greatest ever striker might have played his last game.
Ramblers might just get that big signing.

16/12/2007, 10:27 AM
Rumour up here is that we will be revealing 2 new signings tonight at our press conference, one is believed to be Gary Beckett from Derry.

Other being Gary Deegan from us maybe?

16/12/2007, 2:26 PM
Other being Gary Deegan from us maybe?

Heard about that rumour too, no-one really knows with Higsy, he keeps his cards close to his chest. I hear Deegan is a class act alright, I'd say Higsy is in the market for a CM so its possible.

17/12/2007, 11:02 AM
Pats rumoured to be signing prodigal son Dessie Byrne and Noel Hunt

17/12/2007, 11:56 AM
Noel Hunts wages would be fairly large and hes banging in the Goals for Dundee United at the moment.

17/12/2007, 12:00 PM
Noel Hunts wages would be fairly large and hes banging in the Goals for Dundee United at the moment.

Yep he'd be the massivest wages in the league. no less than a million a week i heard

Patrick Dunne
17/12/2007, 12:40 PM
Thats not fair !

17/12/2007, 12:47 PM
Yep he'd be the massivest wages in the league. no less than a million a week i heard

Before or after tax? Without details such a figure means nothing.

17/12/2007, 2:53 PM
Both. his tax bill alone would keep galway in DVDs for a year

17/12/2007, 3:08 PM
Dodge for a moderator you get away with far more than poor s. duffy does.:eek:

17/12/2007, 4:21 PM
We've supposedly offered Brian O'Callaghan a deal...is he out of contract with Cork?

Seamus Coleman to Burnley...he's on trial this week supposedly.

LeixlipRed
17/12/2007, 4:31 PM
Couldn't understand Hunt moving home unless he's homesick