View Full Version : Transfer Rumours

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Battery Rover
04/11/2007, 9:30 PM
would athlone really want him though??

Definitely not in my opinion but I wont be making the decision at the end of the season.

For what it is worth I belive we have the makings of a good manager in Dermot Lennon

rebelarmyexile
04/11/2007, 9:35 PM
Ronaldinho is heading to Kildare!

04/11/2007, 10:32 PM
Ian Bermingham has signed for Stockport, as far as I know.

Don't expect much in the way of change next season, although rumours persist that we'll be bringing in a couple of players from England as "full time" players also working with the new academy.

04/11/2007, 11:15 PM
Only a Dublin club can do that though. You won't get part time players moving from the Pale to Derry, Cork, Galway, Sligo etc.

Exactly. Rovers staying part-time will affect Bray as will reduce their pool of players.

05/11/2007, 1:59 AM
Killian Brennan to Drogheda Utd

How many years is that we've been hearing that now? :confused:

Hopefully he comes home to the club he has his heart in this time :)

BrayUnknowns
05/11/2007, 8:25 AM
So by the sounds of things Shamrock Rovers will have a squad of 40 players... Jesus they can't sign every player lads.

All the top part time players mentioned also are all on top buck, Rovers simply can't afford to pay that type of money any more to a whole bunch of players.

BrayUnknowns
05/11/2007, 8:26 AM
How many years is that we've been hearing that now? :confused:

Hopefully he comes home to the club he has his heart in this time :)

Nah i've heard from a good source that he has been flaunting and offering himself to Drogheda for a few months now but Doolo has told him we
re to go this time as he tried several times before to sign him and was turned down.

Flexy
05/11/2007, 9:30 AM
Rumours up here are that McGlynn, Higgins and Farren are going to Finn Harps, Killian Brennan to Drogheda Utd, Ken Oman to a Dublin club and Gary Beckett retiring
Any rumours on who Robertson is bringing in for Next Season? Heard there is a lot of unrest at the club at the moment. Players arent playing for the manager. My view is is that if they arent performing ship them out.

dcfc_1928
05/11/2007, 9:38 AM
The only rumours I have heard about players coming to Derry are Conor Sammon (UCD) and Derek O'Brien (Galway).

Any rumours on who Robertson is bringing in for Next Season? Heard there is a lot of unrest at the club at the moment. Players arent playing for the manager. My view is is that if they arent performing ship them out.

Tir Oilean
05/11/2007, 10:12 AM
The only rumours I have heard about players coming to Derry are Conor Sammon (UCD) and Derek O'Brien (Galway).

Doubt Derek is heading anywhere. He seems to be settled well down here and in fairness any player ye have signed from us in the past havent exactly worked out! He has his critics but on the whole I think anyone would want to see him go, I certainly wouldn't.

Oh ya Santa Claus is bringing us two Premiership strikers in December:D

dcfc_1928
05/11/2007, 10:22 AM
Ah now, Alan Murphy worked out very well. We all thought he was a great player.

I'd say he'd still be at Derry if he hadn't turned down a full-time contract. SK only wanted full-time players at the time, so he was released.

I only heard the Derek O'Brien rumour for the first time on Friday. I have no idea how valid the rumour may be.

Doubt Derek is heading anywhere. He seems to be settled well down here and in fairness any player ye have signed from us in the past havent exactly worked out! He has his critics but on the whole I think anyone would want to see him go, I certainly wouldn't.

Oh ya Santa Claus is bringing us two Premiership strikers in December:D

05/11/2007, 10:31 AM
I would imagine Derry, who have no sugar daddy, are at risk of going back to part time fairly soon.

DvB
05/11/2007, 10:41 AM
So by the sounds of things Shamrock Rovers will have a squad of 40 players... Jesus they can't sign every player lads.

All the top part time players mentioned also are all on top buck, Rovers simply can't afford to pay that type of money any more to a whole bunch of players.

Exactly!

I really laugh at how all these players are 'rumoured' to be coming to Rovers, then again why let reality get in the way of a foot.ie thread.;)

The simple facts are that we have a tight budget & will continue to do so for the forseeable future, on that basis PS will release certain players & attempt to bring in a few to 'upgrade' the squad so to speak, from what i've heard this involves 3 established Premier Div players & a couple of decent 1st Div players, one of these (Stephen Rice) has been confirmed, 2 of the others will be from a group of 4 that PS is talking to, who they will not be revealed until they've signed, simple as!

Koh

05/11/2007, 10:45 AM
In all fairness a rumours thread is always going to be hit or miss. Pats are rumoured to be signing dozens of new players, letting go even more and every out of work manager in Ireland is being lined up as our new manager/head coach...

I couldn't believe Rovers announced his signing before the end of the season, but fair play to them for stopping the speculation

KildareFan
05/11/2007, 10:48 AM
Rumours in Kildare that Stapleton & Brady to Rovers, 2 more quality players lost to them! Hope its not true

Stapleton's attitude is crap, Rovers are welcome to him. If he was half as good as he thinks he is, he would still be in england.

I hope Brady doesn't go, i think he is too small to make an impact and I'd prefer to see him play week in week out than sit on Rovers' bench.

lofty9
05/11/2007, 10:48 AM
Rumours up here are that McGlynn, Higgins and Farren are going to Finn Harps, Killian Brennan to Drogheda Utd, Ken Oman to a Dublin club and Gary Beckett retiring

Any of them still in contract will be going nowhere. If Farren was to go he'll be away to a Dublin club, likely Bohs. He can't have become a bad player overnight. He is a confidence player, this time last year he was single handedly keeping our title aspirations alive with his goals.

Flexy
05/11/2007, 11:03 AM
Any of them still in contract will be going nowhere. If Farren was to go he'll be away to a Dublin club, likely Bohs. He can't have become a bad player overnight. He is a confidence player, this time last year he was single handedly keeping our title aspirations alive with his goals.
Farren has missed Gary Beckett this year as has Ciaran Martyn, we havent been able to get the goals from Midfield with Beckett holding the ball up and bringing other players into the game, and relyed to heavily on McHugh to score the goals

05/11/2007, 11:08 AM
Stapleton's attitude is crap, Rovers are welcome to him. If he was half as good as he thinks he is, he would still be in england.

I hope Brady doesn't go, i think he is too small to make an impact and I'd prefer to see him play week in week out than sit on Rovers' bench.

Are they not a bit old to be playing Premier at this stage:confused: Wouldn't their TV commitments interfere with training as well?

hoops1
05/11/2007, 1:15 PM
I couldn't believe Rovers announced his signing before the end of the season, but fair play to them for stopping the speculation

Rovers season ended 5 weeks ago.

05/11/2007, 1:45 PM
5 you say? :D

MyTown
05/11/2007, 2:12 PM
Heard the Derek O'Brien for Derry possibility in Waterford on Friday night. But I'd be surprised if he went.

Also heard the Derry manager won't be there next season.

Sonic
05/11/2007, 2:35 PM

He hasnt done a bad job with ye for gods sake. Your not exactly brazil!!

05/11/2007, 2:38 PM
Derek hasn't a notion of going anywhere.

He's one of UTD's most committed players and is fairly settles in Galway.

A fan's favourite and a player who has come on leaps and bounds in the last few years.

He also hates Sligo.

05/11/2007, 2:49 PM

A fan's favourite and a player who has come on leaps and bounds in the last few years.

He also hates Sligo.

and we hate him too ;)
i think he's a very good player though. one of galways best!
sean connor was in the showgrounds on saturay night, possibly looking at some players to try and sign

GuisaSaigon
05/11/2007, 3:38 PM
Philip Reilly to Shligo. just a rumour.

05/11/2007, 4:02 PM

A fan's favourite.Sounds like Raf, we all know how that turned out;).
He also hates Sligo.and Sligo hates him so it's a good relationship really:D.
sean connor was in the showgrounds on saturay night, possibly looking at some players to try and signHe was there to watch Cork mainly, unless someone attracted his attention that was his only reason.

WoodquayBoy
05/11/2007, 4:04 PM
Did he not see enough of them when they dumped his miserable backside out of the Cup?

05/11/2007, 4:06 PM
Did he not see enough of them when they dumped his miserable backside out of the Cup?He was trying to learn from his mistakes;)

WoodquayBoy
05/11/2007, 4:33 PM
So he isn't rubbing everyone up the wrong way like he apparently did up there in Ben Bulben land? And he still wears that crazy tracksuit so he obviously doesn't learn!

Kildare Lad
05/11/2007, 4:43 PM
Ronaldinho is heading to Kildare!

Would he get his game ahead of Eoghan Carew?!

And I dont think Stapletons attitude is that bad from what ive heard, he does love himself big time, but has probably been our best & most consistent player all year.

sonofstan
05/11/2007, 4:52 PM
He was trying to learn from his mistakes;)

He's got nearly a whole squad of them back in Dalymount - why would he need to go to Sligo?

gilberto_eire
05/11/2007, 5:12 PM
Phil Reilly to Sligo?!:D... more like Salthill Devon!! ;)

05/11/2007, 6:36 PM
a good few people in sligo, including one of our players, heard that derek was contacted by a bohs board member about signing for them. derek seems to have improved a bit since he was playing with us but for the life of me i can't understand why bohs would wanna sign him. potentially a decent player but too much flash and no substance or balls

blue til i die
05/11/2007, 6:42 PM
He hasnt done a bad job with ye for gods sake. Your not exactly brazil!!

I personally would like Cronin to continue on into next season,whether in the Premier or the 1st Division,i think he's done a good job given limited resourses.

05/11/2007, 7:17 PM
philip reilly. no thanks.

if longford do go down, i think deegan would be a decent player to get inf he wanted to leave. prunty is a good player too. mooney is okay, has stood out in a poor enough team, having said that he still has to put the ball in the net, and he did. so he'd be good to get if they go down.
don't like any of the waterford players, if they go down i wouldnt want any of them in the showgrounds, although they've a good record this year against rovers!

05/11/2007, 7:24 PM
Owen Heary and Joxer seem to be heading to Pats.

Don't know about Joxer but Heary isn't going anywhere.

btid1
06/11/2007, 9:01 AM
sean connor was in the showgrounds on saturay night, possibly looking at some players to try and sign

Nooooooooooo not more Sligo muck!!!!!!!

Maynard
06/11/2007, 11:34 AM
Don't know about Joxer but Heary isn't going anywhere.

Jaysus, he's some man if he stays there. He can't stand the sight of Connor. My gut would tell me that one of the two will be going, unless there are contract issues I suppose.

Mental Man
06/11/2007, 12:38 PM

Cronin is staying for the 2008 season with the blues.

06/11/2007, 3:30 PM
Thats not the rumour doing the rounds .

pateen
06/11/2007, 5:11 PM
Lots of rumours about Cork City I see (not).

Rico doing what he does best.
Scratchin his balls and talking shyte to the media

06/11/2007, 6:40 PM

is mansaram not your top scorer? is chris turner muck?

06/11/2007, 7:07 PM

crowe, fenn, burnsy, turner..all quality players.it's your manager's fault. please please can we have chrissy and burnsy back if they are so sh*t and can they leave the beer guts in dalymount

kdjaC
06/11/2007, 7:35 PM
Connor out tbh :D

Shocking home performances by bohs this season :rolleyes:

But i do hope they sack him always good fun watching bohs fans get rid of a manager.

kdjac

Dalymountrower
07/11/2007, 7:51 AM
Connor out tbh :D

Shocking home performances by bohs this season :rolleyes:

But i do hope they sack him always good fun watching bohs fans get rid of a manager.

kdjac

Connor for Pats!
Shocking performances by Bohs against Pats alright , only beat you three out of four times, and drew the other. May we hang our heads in shame:D

07/11/2007, 9:31 AM
Connor for Pats!
Shocking performances by Bohs against Pats alright , only beat you three out of four times, and drew the other. May we hang our heads in shame:D

Hope that thought keeps you warm while we're in the UEFA Cup next year. Still, as long as you're happy with 4th on that budget...

btid1
07/11/2007, 11:45 AM
Hope that thought keeps you warm while we're in the UEFA Cup next year. Still, as long as you're happy with 4th on that budget...

Love to hear Pats fans comparing budgets.Are you privy to our budget??

I suppose Pats are paying their players in food tokens!!!

btid1
07/11/2007, 11:47 AM
crowe, fenn, burnsy, turner..all quality players.it's your manager's fault. please please can we have chrissy and burnsy back if they are so sh*t and can they leave the beer guts in dalymount

Turner and Burns = 2 stone overweight - have been since they arrived
Singh = 3 games in a season - that some money per game!!!

Thats why I said more Sligo muck!!!

07/11/2007, 11:51 AM
Turner and Burns = 2 stone overweight - have been since they arrived

Thats why I said more Sligo muck!!!

Neither were overweight during their time here, Perhaps you should be questioning you're clubs fitness training.

btid1
07/11/2007, 1:24 PM
Neither were overweight during their time here, Perhaps you should be questioning you're clubs fitness training.

I'm not doing that because the others all seem to be very fit apart from Crowe who never looked fit at any stage.That is why I wonder is it a matter of attitude to training from these individuals?