View Full Version : Limerick Division 1A 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23

mulla
07/05/2008, 11:14 AM
Yea I'd agree with that Ballsy. Balla were definately the better footballing side last night but on numerous occasions the poor pitch let them down. They would be better off playing in LIT considering that they do like to keep the ball on the deck and knock it about.

we actually thought the ref might not play the game because of the pitch,a number of our lads wre worried about injuries before playing on it as i'm sure the dromore boys were as well,i don't think there was a game played on it for weeks and the least you would expect is to have it rolled.
I won't say the pitch suited dromore because it was as bad for both sides,but they play to there strenghts and thats what won it for them.
We still have a few important games left not least saturday evening where at least the pitch might suit us.
It will be a massive game that we'd obviously love to win but we are under no illusions about hill celtic,I would think they are the form side going into the game but hopefully we can play as well as last night without the dodgy defending and hopefully take our chances

mulla
07/05/2008, 11:16 AM
We'll worry about how we're going to get on in the premier when we're actually promoted. For the moment we're not.

Hard luck last night Mulla. I thought when it went to 3-2 ye had us. Could have went either way. Bateman really isn't doing ye any favours though.

i thought that about done it for ye,we have no complaints,not many if any team has scored 4 against us this season,if we had scored first it may have been different but it wasn't to be.
good luck in ye're last games

mulla
07/05/2008, 11:18 AM
Congrats to Dromore and best of luck in Premier to both Dromore and Killmallock. Its 1a for Mungret again :(

if mungret can do what they've done after the bad start from the first game next season they will up around there again,its something to build on

Mercurial Vapor
07/05/2008, 12:04 PM
if mungret can do what they've done after the bad start from the first game next season they will up around there again,its something to build on

We always seem to get off to a bad start in the last few years due to a number of issues namely the fact that we have a good few students on the team. These lads always end up going abroad during the summer to work. By the time they come back and get into shape again about 6-7 games have been played. GAA and poaching of our better players doesn't seem to help either. We had 6 points from our first 6 games this season which is appauling when you consider that in the 14 league games that we have played since we have recorded 11 wins and 3 draws.

mulla
07/05/2008, 12:11 PM
We always seem to get off to a bad start in the last few years due to a number of issues namely the fact that we have a good few students on the team. These lads always end up going abroad during the summer to work. By the time they come back and get into shape again about 6-7 games have been played. GAA and poaching of our better players doesn't seem to help either. We had 6 points from our first 6 games this season which is appauling when you consider that in the 14 league games that we have played since we have recorded 11 wins and 3 draws.

will there be much of an exodus if ye don't go up?which looks likely now

Mercurial Vapor
07/05/2008, 12:19 PM
will there be much of an exodus if ye don't go up?which looks likely now

Promotion is gone after Dromore's win last night. It's hard to tell really what players will do. I'm half afraid to ask some of our players what they're doing next weekend not to mention next August.

Edgey
07/05/2008, 12:25 PM
MV and FR - thanks for the congrats but I still feel they are premature.

Frankie's had trouble with the knee all season. I was amazed that he managed to get up after the first one. I hope he didn't do too much damage by staying on but he'd try to play on with one leg if he could.

Mulla - Another ref might have not played it on the pitch. We lost one of our better players on a similar surface in Cappamore. He fell in a harmless challenge and broke his arm but that's junior football. Given the quality ye have it's a shame the way the club seem to be treating ye.

As you said if the chance ye had early on that was cleared off the line went in it could have been a completely different game.

By the way this must be the best behaved thread in the forum.

jumping jac
07/05/2008, 12:36 PM
we actually thought the ref might not play the game because of the pitch,a number of our lads wre worried about injuries before playing on it as i'm sure the dromore boys were as well,i don't think there was a game played on it for weeks and the least you would expect is to have it rolled.
I won't say the pitch suited dromore because it was as bad for both sides,but they play to there strenghts and thats what won it for them.
We still have a few important games left not least saturday evening where at least the pitch might suit us.
It will be a massive game that we'd obviously love to win but we are under no illusions about hill celtic,I would think they are the form side going into the game but hopefully we can play as well as last night without the dodgy defending and hopefully take our chances

Well Mulla i see your putting yourselves as the underdogs for this weekends match with us.:confused: considering ye are way above us in the table, If we have a full strength squad then it will be an interesting game of ball, ye came away with a slight win over us at the start of the season but it could be a different story come Saturday night, looking forward to it,

mulla
07/05/2008, 12:36 PM
MV and FR - thanks for the congrats but I still feel they are premature.

Frankie's had trouble with the knee all season. I was amazed that he managed to get up after the first one. I hope he didn't do too much damage by staying on but he'd try to play on with one leg if he could.

Mulla - Another ref might have not played it on the pitch. We lost one of our better players on a similar surface in Cappamore. He fell in a harmless challenge and broke his arm but that's junior football. Given the quality ye have it's a shame the way the club seem to be treating ye.

As you said if the chance ye had early on that was cleared off the line went in it could have been a completely different game.

By the way this must be the best behaved thread in the forum.

TBH its probably no use complaining about batemen at this stage,its an awful pitch everyone in town knows it,
Its just a shame for us that we can't use lit,don't know the reason why we couldn't last night but thats between balla and the lit people.A better pitch would suit us more as we try play football when we can.
But we'll keep ploughing on and hopefully get some reward for the effort the whole squad has put in this season.

mulla
07/05/2008, 12:39 PM
Well Mulla i see your putting yourselves as the underdogs for this weekends match with us.:confused: considering ye are way above us in the table, If we have a full strength squad then it will be an interesting game of ball, ye came away with a slight win over us at the start of the season but it could be a different story come Saturday night, looking forward to it,

think we drew with ye 1-1?
just going on form of late JJ, as you know league and cup football are 2 very different things,both of us had great wins in the last round so we fancy ourselves to win but no doubt ye do too,regardless games against HC are never easy when ye have a full squad,ya it should be a good game,what is the hogan park surface like,never played there

jumping jac
07/05/2008, 12:50 PM
think we drew with ye 1-1?
just going on form of late JJ, as you know league and cup football are 2 very different things,both of us had great wins in the last round so we fancy ourselves to win but no doubt ye do too,regardless games against HC are never easy when ye have a full squad,ya it should be a good game,what is the hogan park surface like,never played there

It's not too bad at the moment but we had a game called off about 2 weeks ago over the surface but it has been rolled since then, (1 or 2 of our players fell at the top half and rolled down to the opposite end resulting in a perfect surface now) :D:D only messing, you see before the dry weather came in we had A, B and Carew Park playing on it that didn't help. But it should be cut and rolled this week. I know a few of our players are well up for it and to be honest I think the winners of it will come out of our game ? (that's no disrespect to the other teams in the other semi but that's my own feeling)

mulla
07/05/2008, 12:53 PM
It's not too bad at the moment but we had a game called off about 2 weeks ago over the surface but it has been rolled since then, (1 or 2 of our players fell at the top half and rolled down to the opposite end resulting in a perfect surface now) :D:D only messing, you see before the dry weather came in we had A, B and Carew Park playing on it that didn't help. But it should be cut and rolled this week. I know a few of our players are well up for it and to be honest I think the winners of it will come out of our game ? (that's no disrespect to the other teams in the other semi but that's my own feeling)

i would like to think so but dines are on form and shannon are no easy team to play as we found out,jesus a few of our lads must have fell on it too so:D

barryk
07/05/2008, 1:31 PM
Just been contacted by Pat Sheehan of the Leader asking to nominate players for team of the season in each Division.
Any suggestion?

Mercurial Vapor
07/05/2008, 2:15 PM
Just been contacted by Pat Sheehan of the Leader asking to nominate players for team of the season in each Division.
Any suggestion?

Some stand out players this season (without naming positions) would be: Ger Barron (Dines), Ian Hughes (Mungret), Ed Hogan (Bruff), Jimmy Burke (Dromore), Tommy Heffernan (Kilmallock), Mark Heffernan (Kilmallock).

Forever Red
07/05/2008, 4:54 PM
You would have to add Keith Mcnicholas (Mungret) even though I'm baised. In fairness Leo Wong and Mike Thompson from Hill have made the Oscar Traynor so they deserve a mention.

KilmallockYouth
07/05/2008, 7:02 PM
Any suggestion?

Kilmallocks Better players this season have been CharlyO shea(Keeper), Mike Collins(Centre Midfield),Ediie Barret(Left Back),Pa Byrnes(Centre back)and the 4 heffernan brothers John(Centre back),Mark(Centre Midfield),Jason(Striker) and Tommy(Striker)
So if anyone took any notice!! Thats der names!

mulla
07/05/2008, 7:33 PM
Any suggestion?

Kilmallocks Better players this season have been CharlyO shea(Keeper), Mike Collins(Centre Midfield),Ediie Barret(Left Back),Pa Byrnes(Centre back)and the 4 heffernan brothers John(Centre back),Mark(Centre Midfield),Jason(Striker) and Tommy(Striker)
So if anyone took any notice!! Thats der names!

why not stick in another 3 names and make a whole team:D:D

dines08
07/05/2008, 7:49 PM
Ger Barron has been outstanding...especially in recent games...Pat Koyce likewise...Pa Collins our young center half for me has been player of the season for us...best player we've faced has to be Jimmy Burke of Dromore...without him i don't think they'd be where they are

abbeyvale
07/05/2008, 8:01 PM

Had to be Jaffa and Stuie..............:p

abbeyvale
07/05/2008, 8:02 PM
Ger Barron has been outstanding...especially in recent games...Pat Koyce likewise...Pa Collins our young center half for me has been player of the season for us...best player we've faced has to be Jimmy Burke of Dromore...without him i don't think they'd be where they are

How is Quigley, Walsh and Campbell playing for ye this season?

KilmallockYouth
07/05/2008, 8:09 PM
why not stick in another 3 names and make a whole team:D:D
Haha!! Nah the rest are all youths!!

mulla
07/05/2008, 8:25 PM
Haha!! Nah the rest are all youths!!

they can still be in team of the season

mulla
07/05/2008, 8:28 PM
they can still be in team of the season

for us i'd say our centre half"judgee" left full frank hogan and centre mid kevin o mahoney

dines08
07/05/2008, 9:05 PM
How is Quigley, Walsh and Campbell playing for ye this season?

Darren Walsh unfortunately broke his ankle against balla 3rd game of the season...lou has been in and out this season but has been good when available...gary campbell has been very good,even playing left full at times...of the teams we've put out this season the ages have been very very young...7 or 8 regular first teamers are under 20

Edgey
08/05/2008, 7:53 AM
For us I'd mention Jimmy, Alan Lee (right side midfield, right back the other night) and Kevin McAuliffe.

I'm suprised you didn't mention Ger Power Mulla. I thought he was excellent both times I saw him. Agree with you about your left back though.

We had the misfortune of facing Ger Barron in a penalty shoot out. Great keeper. Thought Pa Collins had two super games against us in the recent matches. He'll be a fine player.

Wong, Thompson, McNicolas and Tommy Heffernan are obvious.

Special mention to Mike Collins aswell for Kilmallock. Have been playing against him for the last few years and it seems to be younger he's getting.

If I think of any more during the day I'll add them to the list.

Toon army
08/05/2008, 8:32 AM
kilmallock: Tommy and Mark Heffernan
Mungret: Keith mcnicholas, ian hughes, brian ahern
Dromore: Alan Lee, Jimmy Burke

keano2
08/05/2008, 12:28 PM
Big game for Dines tonight a win and i think they will be safe!!!

Mercurial Vapor
08/05/2008, 12:38 PM
Fixtures
Thursday 08th May (18.45)
Hill Celtic v Dines

Sunday 11th May (10.30)
Caherdavin v Charleville
Kilmallock v Dromore
Cappamore v Mungret

Tuesday 13th May (18.45)
Balla v Mungret

Are Caherdavin going to play this Sunday against Charleville or have they given walkovers for their remaining games?

abbeyvale
08/05/2008, 4:18 PM
Fixtures
Hill Celtic v Dines

Sunday 11th May (10.30)
Caherdavin v Charleville
Kilmallock v Dromore
Cappamore v Mungret

Tuesday 13th May (18.45)
Balla v Mungret

Are Caherdavin going to play this Sunday against Charleville or have they given walkovers for their remaining games?

Are you asking that in hope that they will actually play against Dromore? Even if they did field a team versus Dromore, I think Dromore will hammer them, so it doesn't really make a difference, unfortunatly.

mulla
08/05/2008, 5:17 PM
For us I'd mention Jimmy, Alan Lee (right side midfield, right back the other night) and Kevin McAuliffe.

I'm suprised you didn't mention Ger Power Mulla. I thought he was excellent both times I saw him. Agree with you about your left back though.

We had the misfortune of facing Ger Barron in a penalty shoot out. Great keeper. Thought Pa Collins had two super games against us in the recent matches. He'll be a fine player.

Wong, Thompson, McNicolas and Tommy Heffernan are obvious.

Special mention to Mike Collins aswell for Kilmallock. Have been playing against him for the last few years and it seems to be younger he's getting.

If I think of any more during the day I'll add them to the list.

ya he has been very good for us this season alright,we really missed him when he was suspended,can't name everyone though as people will think i'm biased!!
ya the full back was very good the first game against us

abbeyvale
08/05/2008, 7:39 PM
Kilmallock Pl 20 / Pts 48 (Max 54)............PROMOTED
Dromore Pl 20 / Pts 42 (Max 48)
Mungret Pl 20 / Pts 38 (Max 44)
Balla Pl 18 / Pts 34 (Max 46)
Herbertstown Pl 21 / Pts 30 (Max 33)
Hill Celtic Pl 20 / Pts 26 (Max 32)
Cappamore Pl 21 / Pts 24 (Max 27)
Geraldines Pl 20 / Pts 24 (Max 30)
Bruff Pl 20 / Pts 23 (Max 29)
Shannon Pl 19 / Pts 21 (Max 30)
Charleville Pl 20 / Pts 19 (Max 25)
Caherdavin Pl 19 / Pts 3 (Max 12).....RELEGATED

Results
Hill Celtic 1-2 Dines (Think Hill Celtic rested one or two with the cup semi's on Saturday, but still a very good win for the Dines).

Fixtures
Sunday 11th May (10.30)
Caherdavin v Charleville
Kilmallock v Dromore
Cappamore v Mungret

Tuesday 13th May (18.45)
Balla v Mungret

Run Ins HOME games in CAPS, bold is fixture list completed)
(2) Kilmallock : DINES, DROMORE,
(2) Dromore : caherdavin, kilmallock,
(2) Mungret : cappamore, balla,
(4) Balla : BRUFF, MUNGRET, charleville, hill celtic
(3) Hill Celtic : BALLA, caherdavin,
(3) Dines : kilmallock, shannon
(1) Cappamore : MUNGRET,
(1) Herbertstown :
(3) Shannon Town : DINES,
(2) Bruff : balla,
(2) Charleville : BALLA. caherdavin
(3) Caherdavin : DROMORE, HILL CELTIC, CHARLEVILLE

The above table and remaining games are based on Caherdavin playing out their remaining fixtures, therefore this table differs from the Limerick Leaders version,

mulla
08/05/2008, 7:42 PM
Kilmallock Pl 20 / Pts 48 (Max 54)............PROMOTED
Dromore Pl 20 / Pts 42 (Max 48)
Mungret Pl 20 / Pts 38 (Max 44)
Balla Pl 18 / Pts 34 (Max 46)
Herbertstown Pl 21 / Pts 30 (Max 33)
Hill Celtic Pl 20 / Pts 26 (Max 32)
Cappamore Pl 21 / Pts 24 (Max 27)
Geraldines Pl 20 / Pts 24 (Max 30)
Bruff Pl 20 / Pts 23 (Max 29)
Shannon Pl 19 / Pts 21 (Max 30)
Charleville Pl 20 / Pts 19 (Max 25)
Caherdavin Pl 19 / Pts 3 (Max 12).....RELEGATED

Results
Hill Celtic 1-2 Dines (Think Hill Celtic rested one or two with the cup semi's on Saturday, but still a very good win for the Dines).

Fixtures
Sunday 11th May (10.30)
Caherdavin v Charleville
Kilmallock v Dromore
Cappamore v Mungret

Tuesday 13th May (18.45)
Balla v Mungret

Run Ins HOME games in CAPS, bold is fixture list completed)
(2) Kilmallock : DINES, DROMORE,
(2) Dromore : caherdavin, kilmallock,
(2) Mungret : cappamore, balla,
(4) Balla : BRUFF, MUNGRET, charleville, hill celtic
(3) Hill Celtic : BALLA, caherdavin,
(3) Dines : kilmallock, shannon
(1) Cappamore : MUNGRET,
(1) Herbertstown :
(3) Shannon Town : DINES,
(2) Bruff : balla,
(2) Charleville : BALLA. caherdavin
(3) Caherdavin : DROMORE, HILL CELTIC, CHARLEVILLE

The above table and remaining games are based on Caherdavin playing out their remaining fixtures, therefore this table differs from the Limerick Leaders version,

well done dines,hopefully ye are safe now

abbeyvale
08/05/2008, 7:43 PM
well done dines,hopefully ye are safe now

Cant see Charleville beating Balla, so if they dont then the Dines are safe,
It looks as though its between Shannon and Charleville for the drop now, with Caherdavin.
If Charleville get the 3pts from the Caherdavin game, the pressure really will be on Shannon Town then.

Anyone have Shannon's remaining fixtures??

Mercurial Vapor
09/05/2008, 8:16 AM
Fixtures
Hill Celtic v Dines

Sunday 11th May (10.30)
Caherdavin v Charleville
Kilmallock v Dromore
Cappamore v Mungret

Tuesday 13th May (18.45)
Balla v Mungret

Are you asking that in hope that they will actually play against Dromore? Even if they did field a team versus Dromore, I think Dromore will hammer them, so it doesn't really make a difference, unfortunatly.

You hardly think I'm pinning my hopes on a team that have 3 points all season and can hardly put 11 players on the pitch at this time of the season.

Jock MIB
09/05/2008, 8:45 AM
Cant see Charleville beating Balla, so if they dont then the Dines are safe,
It looks as though its between Shannon and Charleville for the drop now, with Caherdavin.
If Charleville get the 3pts from the Caherdavin game, the pressure really will be on Shannon Town then.

Anyone have Shannon's remaining fixtures??

Not trying to be smart but with deduction from your table Shannon have three games and there is only two teams whos fixtures arent complete and in bold and we know the dines are playing shannon, so that leaves those two teams which are Herbertstown and Bruff.

Elementry my Dear Watson :D

CCCeltic
10/05/2008, 12:04 PM
Great move by Charleville to get the game against balla called off last week when balla were still chasing the league. Now that balla can't win it and second place means nothing to them as they can't go up, Charleville will have a much better chance of beating them when they play. Charleville could easily get 6pts in last 2 games which still puts a lot of teams in danger of the drop!

summervilleman
10/05/2008, 4:00 PM
Great move by Charleville to get the game against balla called off last week when balla were still chasing the league. Now that balla can't win it and second place means nothing to them as they can't go up, Charleville will have a much better chance of beating them when they play. Charleville could easily get 6pts in last 2 games which still puts a lot of teams in danger of the drop!

I'd have to disagree with u one this one..Ok balla can't win the league but they can still finish 2nd if kilmallock beat dramore and ball win all there games they will go 2nd...And from what i gather the ldmc has no problem promoting balla to the top division...The problem is balla themselves(committee) don't want them going up..Heard that from a pretty reliable source....So its game on...

mulla
10/05/2008, 8:12 PM
I'd have to disagree with u one this one..Ok balla can't win the league but they can still finish 2nd if kilmallock beat dramore and ball win all there games they will go 2nd...And from what i gather the ldmc has no problem promoting balla to the top division...The problem is balla themselves(committee) don't want them going up..Heard that from a pretty reliable source....So its game on...

ya we still have a lot to play for summerville man,we certainly won't be doin teams any favours

abbeyvale
11/05/2008, 12:07 PM
Not trying to be smart but with deduction from your table Shannon have three games and there is only two teams whos fixtures arent complete and in bold and we know the dines are playing shannon, so that leaves those two teams which are Herbertstown and Bruff.

Elementry my Dear Watson :D

Yes Watson, but we dont know whos at home and whos away, hence th reason they were not entered!!!

mulla
11/05/2008, 3:50 PM
Yes Watson, but we dont know whos at home and whos away, hence th reason they were not entered!!!

i think it sould be yes sherlock:D:D

mulla
11/05/2008, 3:51 PM
Fixtures
Sunday 11th May (10.30)
Caherdavin v Charleville
Kilmallock v Dromore
Cappamore v Mungret

any results in these games

abbeyvale
11/05/2008, 4:52 PM
i think it sould be yes sherlock:D:D

No, I want to be Sherlock..........

mulla
11/05/2008, 4:56 PM
No, I want to be Sherlock..........

ok you win,you hear any result from kilmallock,dromore game

Playful Panther
11/05/2008, 5:46 PM

We had a no show from referee this morning out in cappamore! Very frustrating on everyones part especially because of the distance!

Edgey
11/05/2008, 8:10 PM

1-1. Great game. Congratulations to Kilmallock on winning the league. Best of luck next season.

mulla
11/05/2008, 9:22 PM
1-1. Great game. Congratulations to Kilmallock on winning the league. Best of luck next season.

ya i second that,congrats to kilmallock,well deserved,
what is the story now between ye and mungret,are ye going to finish ahead of them with that result?I think if we won all our games we could finish joint second,so i heard anyways.
very big ask considering we have to play mungret tuesday night,we'll give it a shot anyways

Raśl Madrid
11/05/2008, 9:31 PM
Fixtures
Sunday 11th May (10.30)
Caherdavin v Charleville

any results in these games

Result from the Greenhills this morning: Caherdavin 1 Charleville 5

Caherdavin started and ended the game with 8 players ...

KilmallockYouth
12/05/2008, 1:13 AM

Sound Edgy was a very close game start to finish!Hope we see ye next year!Best of luck!

summervilleman
12/05/2008, 12:39 PM
Sound Edgy was a very close game start to finish!Hope we see ye next year!Best of luck!

Well done to kilmallock on there promotion back to the premier after a number of years away(how long has it been now about 6-7 years)....To be brutally honest i don't like having to travel to country teams but ye have a fine pitch and setup and it ain't really that far out the road so hopefully we will see ye next year if we manage to avoid the drop...Also(if it happens) well done to dramore...Fair play.....Thats promotion 2 years in a row!!!Good to see them on the way back as well!!

mulla
12/05/2008, 4:47 PM
Well done to kilmallock on there promotion back to the premier after a number of years away(how long has it been now about 6-7 years)....To be brutally honest i don't like having to travel to country teams but ye have a fine pitch and setup and it ain't really that far out the road so hopefully we will see ye next year if we manage to avoid the drop...Also(if it happens) well done to dramore...Fair play.....Thats promotion 2 years in a row!!!Good to see them on the way back as well!!

i thought this was your last season:D