View Full Version : Limerick Division 1A 2007/08
Sorry Bluffer, I mean Bruffer, i'd change my username but it's just not possible as the Mod's don't allow it.
The point I was making is that the fixture secretary doesn't seem to think it's a matter of urgency for Balla to play mid-week league games or sometimes even weekend league games in order to equal out the amount of games played by each team in the division. At the same time he's the only person involved who's willing to state that Balla can still go up. The conspiracy theorists would find this situation very curious when you consider that most teams in the league are in their end of season wind-down and therefore in the coming weeks there will be more and more walkovers and crap sides put out by these teams that are playing for nothing. :eek::eek:
unfortunately i agree with some of that,we are down for a game tonight and sat but unfortunately as far as i am aware not the following week,but believe me the players are not in favour of the long break between games either and i'm not even going to get into the promotion debate again as i've stated my case on that
abbeyvale
15/04/2008, 2:00 PM
I went to a team who are now in with a good shout to win the league, a lot of work to do but we'll battle on.
Ya fair play to you,i think now you've played with all the dines biggest rivals,thats some loyalty especially your reaction to the dines sideline when you play against them!!abbey was some move alright that year for you and you left them when the going got tough too,who will you play for if star go down?surely your too big a star and too ambitious to go back to 1A!! god help dines if you end up back there again
Abbey & Star are hardly the Dines biggest rivals!!!!
I left Abbey because at the time, they had no manager in place, so none of us waited around as the season was fast approaching.
I may go back to 1A with Star but it will depend on a few things (if Pa Boland stays on for example).
You play away with Balla "B" now and concentrate on winning a divisional cup because thats all ye can win (considering ye cant win promotion)...........enjoy the rest of your season.;)
abbeyvale
15/04/2008, 2:02 PM
I went to a team who are now in with a good shout to win the league, a lot of work to do but we'll battle on.
Ya fair play to you,i think now you've played with all the dines biggest rivals,thats some loyalty especially your reaction to the dines sideline when you play against them!!abbey was some move alright that year for you and you left them when the going got tough too,who will you play for if star go down?surely your too big a star and too ambitious to go back to 1A!! god help dines if you end up back there again
Quick question Mulla!!!
Did I sign you for The Dines???
Abbey & Star are hardly the Dines biggest rivals!!!!
I left Abbey because at the time, they had no manager in place, so none of us waited around as the season was fast approaching.
I may go back to 1A with Star but it will depend on a few things (if Pa Boland stays on for example).
You play away with Balla "B" now and concentrate on winning a divisional cup because thats all ye can win (considering ye cant win promotion)...........enjoy the rest of your season.;)
sorry mister ambition,I play for enjoyment and hopefully win something,think fairview are biggest rivals and you played for them too,jeez the list goes on,
i think i'll enjoy the rest of my season more than you'll enjoy yours.
What will be your sayin on your posts next year"Star rovers division 1A champs 08/09?"
Quick question Mulla!!!
Did I sign you for The Dines???
ha ha that would be telling,enjoy your season:eek:
abbeyvale
15/04/2008, 6:53 PM
ha ha that would be telling,enjoy your season:eek:
I will, you too.;)
abbeyvale
15/04/2008, 6:56 PM
Fixtures
Tuesday 15/04/08 (18.30)
Herbertstown v Charleville
Caherdavin v Balla
Kilmallock v Cappamore
Any results from tonights games lads?
Fixtures
Tuesday 15/04/08 (18.30)
Caherdavin v Balla
Kilmallock v Cappamore
we were blessed to beat Caherdavin,goal in last minute,very lucky
sorry 2 1 was the score
KilmallockYouth
15/04/2008, 8:39 PM
Kilmallock are back on top! Beat Cappamore 1-0! Dominated from start to finish dispite having to save a harsh peno!!Unlucky not to score more!
fair play to ye,hopefully will be a good game on saturday
KilmallockYouth
15/04/2008, 8:44 PM
Ya should be!! Were finally starting to play a bit of soccer again!! We will be missing myself and a few lads though because of an u-17 league game! The fixture clashes are killing us this year!
woo hoo,please say its all the better players missing:D:D
KilmallockYouth
15/04/2008, 8:47 PM
Well hopefully not yet as our manager is tryin to get the 17's game postponed! So hopefully we will be there!
Fixtures
Tuesday 15/04/08 (18.30)
Caherdavin v Balla
Kilmallock v Cappamore
Results
Herbertstown 2 Charleville 2
Caherdavin 1 Balla 2
Kilmallock 1 Cappamore 0
abbeyvale
16/04/2008, 7:46 AM
Kilmallock Pl 16 / Pts 38 (Max 56)
Mungret Pl 18 / Pts 36 (Max 48)
Dromore Pl 17 / Pts 35 (Max 50)
Balla Pl 16 / Pts 34 (Max 52)
Herbertstown Pl 20 / Pts 29 (Max 35)
Cappamore Pl 18 / Pts 23 (Max 35)
Hill Celtic Pl 16 / Pts 21 (Max 39)
Bruff Pl 18 / Pts 20 (Max 32)
Shannon Pl 17 / Pts 20 (Max 35)
Geraldines Pl 16 / Pts 17 (Max 35)
Charleville Pl 17 / Pts 14 (Max 29)
Caherdavin Pl 17 / Pts 3 (Max 18)
Results
Tuesday 15/04/08 (18.30)
Herbertstown 2-2 Charleville
Caherdavin 1-2 Balla
Kilmallock 1-0 Cappamore
Fixtures
Thursday 17/04/08 (18.30)
Dines v Dromore
Sunday 20/04/08 (10.30)
Charleville v Cappamore
Tuesday 22/04/08 (18.45)
Caherdavin v Kilmallock
Hill Celtic v Dines
gaidin
16/04/2008, 8:34 AM
Sorry Bluffer, I mean Bruffer, i'd change my username but it's just not possible as the Mod's don't allow it.
The point I was making is that the fixture secretary doesn't seem to think it's a matter of urgency for Balla to play mid-week league games or sometimes even weekend league games in order to equal out the amount of games played by each team in the division. At the same time he's the only person involved who's willing to state that Balla can still go up. The conspiracy theorists would find this situation very curious when you consider that most teams in the league are in their end of season wind-down and therefore in the coming weeks there will be more and more walkovers and crap sides put out by these teams that are playing for nothing. :eek::eek:
Just looking at the table and it seems balla have the same games played as Killamalock and 1 less than Dromore and 2 less then ye.
I wouldnt exactly say they are miles behind on games now would you.
I think your getting a little paranoid with the whole Balla B and fixture secretary thing.
Mercurial Vapor
16/04/2008, 9:17 AM
Just looking at the table and it seems balla have the same games played as Killamalock and 1 less than Dromore and 2 less then ye.
I wouldnt exactly say they are miles behind on games now would you.
I think your getting a little paranoid with the whole Balla B and fixture secretary thing.
They played Caherdavin last night. This game has been fixed at least 6 times since Christmas and in that space of time they have never been fixed for a game against any of the other 3 top teams. It's frustrating that the possibility is there for them to be promoted and this could happen by them playing teams at the end of the season that couldn't be bothered because they are safe in the league and knocked out of all cups. I have a feeling that when they do meet the other top teams still in the hunt for promotion that they will struggle.
gaidin
16/04/2008, 9:39 AM
They played Caherdavin last night. This game has been fixed at least 6 times since Christmas and in that space of time they have never been fixed for a game against any of the other 3 top teams. It's frustrating that the possibility is there for them to be promoted and this could happen by them playing teams at the end of the season that couldn't be bothered because they are safe in the league and knocked out of all cups. I have a feeling that when they do meet the other top teams still in the hunt for promotion that they will struggle.
Even so they still have the same number of games played as Kilamallock so I cant see the problem here.
They were due to play Dromore a few weeks back but the weather stopped that. I think they will struggle against the 3 teams above them as well but to say that they could finish in the top 2 by playing teams that have nothing to play for is incorrect for me.
Ye, Dromore, and Killamallock have to play the same teams. The games between the 4 of ye will decide who gets promoted.
Mercurial Vapor
16/04/2008, 9:53 AM
Even so they still have the same number of games played as Kilamallock so I cant see the problem here.
They were due to play Dromore a few weeks back but the weather stopped that. I think they will struggle against the 3 teams above them as well but to say that they could finish in the top 2 by playing teams that have nothing to play for is incorrect for me.
Ye, Dromore, and Killamallock have to play the same teams. The games between the 4 of ye will decide who gets promoted.
Kilmallock had only 9 games played before Christmas and Balla had 12 so do the maths. Kilmallock have been playing 2 if not 3 games a week since the midweek games came in to catch up. Balla have no league game this weekend and none again next week which is confusing. I might be getting a bit paranoid as you say but something is definately not adding up.
Edgey
16/04/2008, 10:30 AM
In fairness that's true. We were fixed to play them in what would have been their first game after a long break. Ref called off the match on the morning. The reason for the pile up is that Bateman was so bad during the winter more than anything.
razbar
16/04/2008, 10:44 AM
Kilmallock had only 9 games played before Christmas and Balla had 12 so do the maths. Kilmallock have been playing 2 if not 3 games a week since the midweek games came in to catch up. Balla have no league game this weekend and none again next week which is confusing. I might be getting a bit paranoid as you say but something is definately not adding up.
what do you want balla to do this weekend play a cup match on the sat nite they a league match on the sun just to keep you happy...
Centrehalf
16/04/2008, 10:48 AM
Balla B have no game this weekend as their Premier team are in the Munster Junior Semi final, which has happened over the last couple of months with their A team in Fai and MJ so those weekends the B team would have no game so as to be available for the A team. Even if Balla win promotion they wont be going up the club Ive been told wont allow 2 teams in the one league which makes sense.
razbar
16/04/2008, 10:54 AM
it seems mv you seem to be very worried about balla and their run in..why do you reckon they will struggle aganist the other top 3 teams as they beat ye at the start of the season kilmallock got a last min goal to get a draw and dromore beat them first game of the season so your logic doesn't seem to add up...as for teams not being bothered surely you cant blame balla for that...oh ya how come yer match aganist kilmallock was called off last weekend;);)
Mercurial Vapor
16/04/2008, 11:11 AM
it seems mv you seem to be very worried about balla and their run in..why do you reckon they will struggle aganist the other top 3 teams as they beat ye at the start of the season kilmallock got a last min goal to get a draw and dromore beat them first game of the season so your logic doesn't seem to add up...as for teams not being bothered surely you cant blame balla for that...oh ya how come yer match aganist kilmallock was called off last weekend;);)
The mother of a Mungret player passed away, I presume this is a good enough reason!! Surely if Balla's A team are playing this weekend then it could have been forseen by the fixtures secretary and he could have fixed them for a midweek game instead. You don't have to be a nuclear physicist to work it out! Mungret only had 6 points after 6 games at the start of the season, we are a much different proposition now.
Concept
16/04/2008, 11:52 AM
As posted earlier, Balla are playing Kilmallock in the cup on Saturday evening even though the A team have a massive game this weekend.
The successful run of the A team and the problems with Bateman has had an effect on the fixtures of the b team.
They played last Sunday and last night the same as most teams in the division.
Their game against Bruff was postponed last week because Bruff asked for it off. It was refixed for last Thursday but there was no referee available for the fixture.
gaidin
16/04/2008, 12:42 PM
The mother of a Mungret player passed away, I presume this is a good enough reason!! Surely if Balla's A team are playing this weekend then it could have been forseen by the fixtures secretary and he could have fixed them for a midweek game instead. You don't have to be a nuclear physicist to work it out! Mungret only had 6 points after 6 games at the start of the season, we are a much different proposition now.
Balla ARE playing this weekend though. They are playing in the div 1A cup against Kilmallock.
Why they are not playing midweek is a good question but I still think you are a little on the paranoid side about the fixture secretary helping them out.
The balla lads I was talking to were sick of not playing cos of their A team being in the MJC, MSC and the FAI. They went nearly 12 weeks I think without a game.
And Kilmallock havent played 3 games in 1 week. They have played 2 at most, a sunday and a midweek game.
are you crazy,we are playing this weekend against kilmallock,how many times has that to be said??all the other cup games in 1a are on this weekend too,I don't know if you are too stupid to read but as has been said on many occasions on this thread,regardless of where we finish we won't be going up,even if the ldmc says we can our club would not allow it.I don't expect us to struggle against the top teams as we have matched any of the better sides we have played,our problems lie in the matches against the lower teams
of the games we have left,charleville (away)they are in a relegation battle so it will not be easy,the 3 teams in the top 4 with us so i doubt very much they will be easy,hill celtic who have had nothin to play for for the last few weeks but are hammering teams and bruff,I don't know the other teams up there run ins are like but no matter what ours ain't easy.
Mercurial Vapor
16/04/2008, 1:52 PM
I'm not stupid enough to be quoting my own repies now am I. Try the "EDIT" option the next time "Einstein" it will make you look a lot more computer literate. ;)
but you are obviously stupid enough to keep repeating the same arguement even though it has been brought to your attention on a number of occasions that there is no basis to it
abbeyvale
16/04/2008, 2:15 PM
Lets change the subject.
Predictions for the next set of fixtures:
Fixtures
Thursday 17/04/08
Dines X Dromore
Sunday 20/04/08
Charleville X Cappamore
Tuesday 22/04/08
Caherdavin 2 Kilmallock
Hill Celtic X Dines
gaidin
16/04/2008, 4:57 PM
Fixtures
Thursday 17/04/08
Dines 2 Dromore
Sunday 20/04/08
Charleville X Cappamore
Tuesday 22/04/08
Caherdavin 2 Kilmallock
Hill Celtic 1 Dines
gaidin
16/04/2008, 4:59 PM
but you are obviously stupid enough to keep repeating the same arguement even though it has been brought to your attention on a number of occasions that there is no basis to it
Just 2 quick questions:
Why wont the club let the B team get promoted if they were allowed too and they fininished in the top 2?
And if this were to happen could you see some of the players leaving the club as a result? I dont many of them would be happy if they were refused promotion by their own club.
Just 2 quick questions:
Why wont the club let the B team get promoted if they were allowed too and they fininished in the top 2?
And if this were to happen could you see some of the players leaving the club as a result? I dont many of them would be happy if they were refused promotion by their own club.
to be honest I don't know the reason why,but as i said before I think it would turn the league into a farce as other teams would then try do the same.
A high ranking member of the committee just stated that they would not want it to happen.
To be honest we all knew what the situation was before the league started regardless of our league position at the end of the season so I don't think it would affect too many,most of the squad are balla men through and through anyways and have been on the same team the last few seasons so I couldn't see a big exodus regardless of what happens.
The b team don't seem to have much backing in the club,for example the last 2 seasons the team hasn't been entered into the mjc yet the c team has,a couple of players have been called up but not enough to stop a team being fielded.Maybe they think the A team might come up against us:p
summervilleman
17/04/2008, 7:50 AM
Were there not 2 fairview teams in the same league only a few years ago...All be it it was in 1a....I think they played both games at the start of the season so as to not have games fixed later on in the year???
I don;t think the balla b manager wanted there b team in the mjc anyways....And if the b team were in the mjc and came up against there A team i am sure they would give the A team a good run for there money!!! :D
Bruffer
17/04/2008, 2:47 PM
massive game for geraldines and dramore tonight ,a win for geraldines would almost certainly see them safe ,whereas a win for dramore would be a huge step for them to go top of the table .For some reason I think the Gers will at least get a draw tonight .Playing at home is a big advantage for the gers especially during the midweek matches also they seem to be playing with a bit more confidence lately.If they can stop the left winger for dramore they will go a long way in winning tonight.For a club that have played a pivotal role in schoolboy and junior football over the last few decades tonight is the night to bring back the pride in that famous candy stripe jersey.On behalf of Bruff FC I would like to wish geraldines the best of luck tonight
KilmallockYouth
17/04/2008, 2:53 PM
Whats the table now!!Are Kilmallock top with games in hand!
KilmallockYouth
17/04/2008, 2:54 PM
Fixtures
Thursday 17/04/08
Dines 1 Dromore 1
Sunday 20/04/08
Charleville 2 Cappamore 0
Tuesday 22/04/08
Caherdavin 0 Kilmallock 2
Hill Celtic 3 Dines 1
Were there not 2 fairview teams in the same league only a few years ago...All be it it was in 1a....I think they played both games at the start of the season so as to not have games fixed later on in the year???
I don;t think the balla b manager wanted there b team in the mjc anyways....And if the b team were in the mjc and came up against there A team i am sure they would give the A team a good run for there money!!! :D
i reckon we would have too,ya he wanted us in it but the committee didn't
abbeyvale
17/04/2008, 8:13 PM
Whats the table now!!Are Kilmallock top with games in hand!
dont be so lazy and go back a page or two and check the table yourself.
3 Heroes
17/04/2008, 9:25 PM
dont be so lazy and go back a page or two and check the table yourself.
That's the Kilmallockyouth of today for you:p
see's it
17/04/2008, 9:28 PM
That's the Kilmallockyouth of today for you:p
could be worse could be like the caherconlish youth of today
abbeyvale
17/04/2008, 10:03 PM
Dromore Pl 18 / Pts 38 (Max 50)
Geraldines Pl 17 / Pts 17 (Max 32)
Results
Thursday 17/04/08
Dines 0-1 Dromore
Fixtures
Sunday 20/04/08 (10.30)
Charleville v Cappamore
Tuesday 22/04/08 (18.45)
Caherdavin v Kilmallock
Hill Celtic v Dines
Run Ins (please fill in missing fixtures if you know them, HOME games in CAPS, bold is fixture list completed)
(6) Kilmallock : DINES, SHANNON, DROMORE, caherdavin, mungret, balla,
(4) Dromore : CHARLEVILLE, caherdavin, kilmallock, balla
(4) Mungret : KILMALLOCK, cappamore, balla, dines
(6) Balla : KILMALLOCK, BRUFF, DROMORE, MUNGRET, charleville, hillc eltic
(5) Dines : MUNGRET, hill celtic, kilmallock, Cappamore Shannon
(5) Charleville : CAPPAMORE, dromore,
(5) Caherdavin : DROMORE, KILMALLOCK,
KilmallockYouth
17/04/2008, 10:25 PM
Results
Thursday 17/04/08
Dines 0-1 Dromore
Fixtures
Sunday 20/04/08 (10.30)
Charleville v Cappamore
Tuesday 22/04/08 (18.45)
Caherdavin v Kilmallock
Hill Celtic v Dines
Thanks for the table :):):)
Forever Red
18/04/2008, 9:53 AM
Results
Thursday 17/04/08
Dines 0-1 Dromore
Fixtures
Sunday 20/04/08 (10.30)
Charleville v Cappamore
Tuesday 22/04/08 (18.45)
Caherdavin v Kilmallock
Hill Celtic v Dines
Run Ins (please fill in missing fixtures if you know them, HOME games in CAPS)
(6) Kilmallock : caherdavin, mungret
(4) Dromore : caherdavin
(4) Mungret : KILMALLOCK, cappamore, balla, geraldines
(6) Balla : MUNGRET
(5) Dines : hill celtic, MUNGRET
(5) Charleville : CAPPAMORE,
(5) Caherdavin : DROMORE, KILMALLOCK,
Well thats all I can add
KilmallockYouth
18/04/2008, 10:42 AM
Well thats all I can add
Kilmallock : caherdavin, mungret,balla,DINES,SHANNON,DROMORE
Edgey
18/04/2008, 11:05 AM
Dromore: caherdavin, kilmallock, CHARLEVILLE, balla
mulla
18/04/2008, 12:10 PM
I think dromore are having a fantasic season,they are going about there business quietly,getting great results,they are now joint top of the table and TBH if I was the likes of mungret and kilmallock they would be a major worry,seeing of course that we won't go up regardless.
Looking at there run in they have to be IMO favourites at the moment to go up.What do ye think??
our run in
BRUFF,KILMALLOCK,MUNGRET,DROMORE,charleville,hillc eltic, a tough run in by any standards
abbeyvale
18/04/2008, 12:33 PM
I think dromore are having a fantasic season,they are going about there business quietly,getting great results,they are now joint top of the table and TBH if I was the likes of mungret and kilmallock they would be a major worry,seeing of course that we won't go up regardless.
Looking at there run in they have to be IMO favourites at the moment to go up.What do ye think??
our run in
BRUFF,KILMALLOCK,MUNGRET,DROMORE,charleville,hillc eltic, a tough run in by any standards
I think both Mungret and Dromore both have very simalr run ins and it could go to the wire.
In fairness going on present form Mungret should beat Cappamore & Dines, and Dromore should beat Caherdavin & Charleville.
They both then have to play Kilmallock (but Mungret have them at home) and they both also have Balla away.
So because of the fact that Mungret have Kilmallock at home and Dromore have Kilmallock away, I'm going to stick with Mungret.
With all that said, the deciding factor of who joins Kilmallock in promotion could all depend on when Mungret and Dromore play Kilmallock, and by that I mean, if one of them get Kilmallock at the very end of the season when Kilmallcok have nothing to play for (being already promoted)it would obviously suit that team more...........