View Full Version : Cork AUL 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21

25/10/2007, 6:02 PM
Going top be dead tight couldnt call it, two teams are dead confident anyway, banter starting already. Fair crowd from cobh showing interst, would be great if ye could get down lads.

As our manager says though we have a game this weekend and we worry bout the derby next week (ya right!!) :D:D:D

25/10/2007, 6:15 PM
Actually anybody able to give me info on Glenthorn Celtic were home to them this weekend in AOh, there Premier team arent they, Littleman, Le Tizz, Rebel any knowledge of them.

le tizz
26/10/2007, 10:21 AM
lucky you got a home draw bella cause st aidans has to be the smallest pitch in cork (even smaller than kinsale's), surface can be poor and grass seldom cut, as for the team, they seem to be a bit of a bogey for us, took a few points off us in the league the past few years and knocked us out of the aoh 1/4 final the year before last, but the past 2 years they have not performed consistently and not threatened at all in league & cup really, they are a mixed bag, can be good on their day but also poor if pressurised for 90 mins, depends which team they send out to play you, some good ball players in there as well as some big strong boys which will make it a busy day for you but if you're organised and fit you should give them a good game, they won a few games in the mossie but got knocked out of the MJC at home to richmond, beaten by ballyphehane 2-1 and drew with kanturk 0-0 in the league, your guess is as good as mine bella

i havent seen your springers play but you seem to have a team to compete with premier teams on your day, besta luck, 1st goal is all important, still ages to go in the aoh, its a cup we havent been able to grasp yet, maybe we'll see ye in the final in may, leeside will surely give us a rattle off it this year after winning it the last couple a years,

fai next week, we're away to midleton jnrs, good pitch so lookin forward to a decent game of ball, i'm still on the fringes lookin in but will make my comeback one of the days soon when things start heating up

littleman
27/10/2007, 11:31 AM
No point in wasting time le tizz standin on the side line come on up to the Gratts.Our B side are a great bunch and enjoy their after match pint.You are more than welcome to join um.

On the Glenthorn lads Bella,the words to go by would be carefull not to underestimate them.

They have some very talented players in the Dorney brothers and even more so in Micky an Fintan Forde.Fintan has been doin the rounds in the MSL for the last few years and has a Senior Winners medal with the Veiw a few years back,excelent player plays up front.His brother Micky is a bit of an enigma.A couple of years back he was with Rockville and he was the best winger/striker around.Then he broke his leg or somthin on Aul duty and has only shown flash's of brilliance since.

Their playin out in Maymounts old pitch in Monard,Blarney.Very good from deadballs,especially Micky Forde.Not a top side and ye will be well capeable of takin them,just remember their no a soft touch,and just because they seem to be makin up the numbers in the Premier dont mean their,there for te takin.They drew with Kinsale down in their back yard last year and thats no mean feat.

Strong points center mid and up front
Weak points the full backs,run at them as much as you can Bella.

Oh ya,one final point,very very short fuses if you know what i mean.

27/10/2007, 11:42 AM
No point in wasting time le tizz standin on the side line come on up to the Gratts.Our B side are a great bunch and enjoy their after match pint.You are more than welcome to join um.

On the Glenthorn lads Bella,the words to go by would be carefull not to underestimate them.

They have some very talented players in the Dorney brothers and even more so in Micky an Fintan Forde.Fintan has been doin the rounds in the MSL for the last few years and has a Senior Winners medal with the Veiw a few years back,excelent player plays up front.His brother Micky is a bit of an enigma.A couple of years back he was with Rockville and he was the best winger/striker around.Then he broke his leg or somthin on Aul duty and has only shown flash's of brilliance since.

Their playin out in Maymounts old pitch in Monard,Blarney.Very good from deadballs,especially Micky Forde.Not a top side and ye will be well capeable of takin them,just remember their no a soft touch,and just because they seem to be makin up the numbers in the Premier dont mean their,there for te takin.They drew with Kinsale down in their back yard last year and thats no mean feat.

Strong points center mid and up front
Weak points the full backs,run at them as much as you can Bella.

Oh ya,one final point,very very short fuses if you know what i mean.

Cheers lads.

littleman
27/10/2007, 9:33 PM
WCB 4 CORK AUL 5.

I know looking at this scoreline that you might think what a game,but in hindsight it should be what a performance.Shiiiiiiiite performance.

The AUL were 5 and I mean 5 goals easy up at half time,yet were lucky to to scrape a 5/4 win.I was one of the biggest advocates of the managers selections but it went pear shaped big time today.Their were so many out of position players it looked like a rag tag team of lads put together rather than a team that has trained together for the last 3 to 4 weeks.As hard as it is for me to admit it with the players on view we were terrible against a really terrible side.If it was'nt for the individual ability of Varin and Jonh Paul up front we would and should have been hockeyed big time.Between them the got 5 goals in the first half,Varian (2 crackin goals)the first 2 and JP with a blistering hat trick in 5 mins to seemingly destroy the WCB.But to be honest the weather was terrible and it gave us the advantage in the first half and Varian and Jp thrived on it.Rather than the quality of ball it was the in ability of the WCB backline to cope with it andthe ability of our strikers to make something out of nothing which previled.

Our midfield was very workman like but lacked any cutting touch.Buckley(Wilton) and Dunlea(Bally) tried hard,physcially wise.Especially Dunlea,showed his class but from the backs up we were ragged.Betts(Blarney St) is one of the best center midfielders in the Aul,but a center half he is not.O'Mahony form Bally is in my view an excellent center half,NOT a full back.Our midfield though industrious did not have the ability to either hold the ball or create ,Buckley form Wilton even in his hayday with City was a hard working midfielder but never a ball player and as such in my own view his selection over Pa Connors baffels me.How a manager handles players is paramount to how his team performs,today poorly and disjointed is all that comes to mind.Wide, bar Figo and Varian who constantly drew fouls and scared the livin be jesus out of the WCB team when they did get the ball,it all seemed to be run at 90 miles an hour,they got little or no service.Macarthy from Kinsale is a top class player,who just could'nt make an influence on the game.Thats the diference,Varian,Jp,Figo and Dunlea were the difference between loosin and winning.When all 4 were on the pitch we looked like winning,when we took 3 off we looked like loosing and our ability to attack and hold the ball up was halfed,hence 4 second half goals against a back line that never looked like a back line.

On todays showing and I can understand people saying that its our first game and we were nervous and really bad.But any team winning 5 at half time and concedes 4 in the second half without reply must admit that the performance was bad.I honestly dont know what to say,I drove down to day and even brought the kids,even they asked me why I blow my hole about the AUL so much if thats the best they can do.??????????????????????????????????????????????? ???????

Ps, Le Tizz do'nt rile me cause the Aul and how we perform sits close to the bone.Varian was and is excelent,Macarthy had an off day.Jp and Figo were top class,Pa ,Cans werent used??????????????.Brian and Dave O'Sullivan were out injured.

bogwarrior
28/10/2007, 9:45 AM
Cheers for the write up littleman. Am i right in thinking though that u are questioning Richard's team selection?!

I havnt spoken to any of the lads yet so i cant give their reaction but this business of playing players out of position is ridiculous. Especially at this level. Surely u can find a centre half to play centre half instead of forcing a mid fielder to do it? Same with full back. This is the strongest the league has been in 6/8 years with plenty of able bodies out there. No excuses. I know who i blame for that but i've already given my opinions on the matter before.

Fair play to Jp and Derek Varian. Proved yet again they can do it on the big occasion.

Could we get a full team listing please? I cant wait for the echo!

littleman
28/10/2007, 1:40 PM
I'm not questioning his actual squad selection,just how they went out in that shape an how they played.I'm sorry but I just do'nt understand how a guy is selected to represent his country(Pa Connors) and he is widely regarded as being one of the best creative players to come out of the northside in years an he cant even get a game,pure and utter nonsense.

We could and should have wiped the floor with the WCB with the players that were available,instead we won,just,says enough I think..........................................:(

28/10/2007, 6:27 PM
By god lads we played glenthorn today biggest disgrace EVER, Colin Falvey isnt on the oscar traynor team, what sgoing on there like. An unbelievable EL centre back, best player in the AUL have no doubts about it i watched him play for years with rams.

Onto the match we won on peno's they equalised in injury time, there manager said to us afterwards we should have won about 6-1, we hammered them although they created some very good chances, great result for us were delighted.
How did yere teams get on.

littleman
29/10/2007, 6:34 AM
Keeper,the lad form Kinsale.
Back line of Tynan(Greenmount),Keegan(leeside),Betts(blarney street) and O'Mahony(ballypheane)
Midfield Figo(grattan),Buckley(wilton),Dunlea(ballypheane) and Varian(kinsale)
Jp(grattan) and Macarthy(kinsale) up front,slight doubt as to wether Varian and Macarthy switched durin the game.

That from what I could make of it was the startin 11.

Subs A Keegan(leeside),Pa Connors,Cans(both grattan),Joe Lyons(leeside) and a guy from Wilton.
Keegan,Lyons and the Wilton lads came on.Pa Connors and Cans wer'nt used.

Ps,well done to the Gratts B team who won their first league game of the season.Onward and upward.

callyno3
29/10/2007, 8:12 AM
Surprised at that team selection alright. I dont rate Minty as a manager but thats my opinion. Thought Connors would start alright littleman. Any Derek Delea in squad? Buckley was a super player in his day but he's not as mobile as before, I reckon injuries played their part. Tynan best years are behind him as well. as for playin betts at CB.??? WTF? Maybe it showed that the team trained for 2wks only.Was it Colin O Brien ex city guy who got the 4 goals for west cork?

29/10/2007, 9:06 AM
Lads seriously though whats the thinking behind no Colin Falvey, he's wanted by eircom league premier clubs, hes unbelievable. Would destroy anybody to be fair, was shocked when i seen him walk on the field.

littleman
29/10/2007, 10:15 AM
Ya,he got 4 in the second half and could have had 4 more,thats the worrying part.Brian O'Sullivan is a huge loss an center half.

Delea was injured but goin on what Minty has to choose from either Varian,Figo ,Macarthy or Jp,then I really cant see him getting a sniff.

Great win Bella,had a feeling ye might get a result.

KrocBoy
29/10/2007, 10:54 AM
Lads seriously though whats the thinking behind no Colin Falvey, he's wanted by eircom league premier clubs, hes unbelievable. Would destroy anybody to be fair, was shocked when i seen him walk on the field.

Not sure but he might not be eligible after playing eircom league this season,
I know his older brother is involved with Glenthorn but i'd be suprised if he stays with them for the season.

littleman
29/10/2007, 11:08 AM
If he played league of Ireland this year bella ,then as far as i know he has to be regraded by the fai to be allowed play junior.Even if he never kicked a ball in a game once he signed a pro form he has to be regraded.And he wouldnt be allowed to play in the fai or mjc either as he would have been encluded in the registration form for kilkenny city(thats who he was with last season) this year for the fai senior and league cups

alansmithccfc
29/10/2007, 7:12 PM
Not sure but he might not be eligible after playing eircom league this season,
I know his older brother is involved with Glenthorn but i'd be suprised if he stays with them for the season.

Different Colin O Brien. Younger lad , used play for City under 21 then went to Limerick and now is gone playing in the west cork league
Motwyw

littleman
30/10/2007, 8:33 AM
:DMr Smith you show your age,Colin T Smith did play with the Cork City first team,about 5 years ago.:D

thirdeye
30/10/2007, 8:58 AM
it's worrying that a team who is 5-0 up at half time ends up hanging on in the end....tynans best years are definitely behind him and a very good player he was but now????andrwe keegan??? come on!!!!is that the best cork football has to offer....i also heard thro the grapevine that there were a few cross words between players and management???surely there were players to come on and kill the game off by just keeping possession and hit them on the break while they chase it???i thought the leeside centre half was suspect last year and the grattan lad bailed him out on a few occasions....

Innishvilla
30/10/2007, 9:49 AM
Ps,well done to the Gratts B team who won their first league game of the season.Onward and upward.

Well done to Grattan, I'd also like to say well done to Innishvilla who are trying hard to turn around a dreadful start to the season. They followed up last weeks excellent result against Castleview in the MJC by beating league leaders Richmond away for their first win in AUL Div 1...

le tizz
30/10/2007, 9:53 AM
i didnt get to the match to give my opinion but 5 goals on the road and a win in their 1st game out aint all doom & gloom, as much as training will get fellas familiar with other lads names it doesnt come close to a full size pitch and getting a feel for where everybody is on it, i presume the lads are still training in b'town on the 5-a-side (or somewhere similar) i'm not sure if this is ideal planning, this isnt mintys fault but a lack of backing from the aul who dont wnat to spend that much money (understanable enuf) but doesnt give the lads much time to play together in match style games prior to pulling on the red & white shirt

2nd thing, most of the WCL are prob from a couple of clubs and have been playing together for the past few years, they dont try to over complicate things on the pitch so less mistakes are made when this approach is taken, even tho they dont match up to our lads for footballing ability

i dont want to be having a pop at any players but feel i need to question the back 4 selection, havent seen pat tynan play in 2 years so it would be unfair to slate him but he's playing in a poor team in a poor situation- losing a lot of games isnt gonna improve anyone and lets face it pat has been round the block at this point, i'm sure he didnt let anyone down but surely a younger hungrier full back is floating around, john betts played centre half against kinsale a few weeks back, looked unfit and not the same man that was playing a couple a years back, he certainly didnt shine against us so dropping him in there out of position surely is akin to a staunton move, jason is a good solid player but floats a little and needs a strong partner with him at the back, he can be pulled out of position and his liking for turning inside the centre forward can lead to risky moments and chances conceded, i dont know anything about the bally right full, how'd he do littleman ??

looks like plenty of flair across the middle and up front but i guess you'd have to have seen the game to comment here, again dont know anything about the bally midfielder, any comments lads ?? if anything they could be a little light on ballwinners so chances will be conceded against a hungry team, well done to derek & jp, very good to see us scoring freely, all in all a win is a decent start so lets build from there,

fai jnr cup this w/e lads, dunno if i'll make it to cobh bella but besta luck, did ye grats boys find out anything on mayfield ? decent pitch at least so should give ye a good run around after a "rest" w/e for most of yer lads.... glenthorn v castleview, leeside v douglas hall (msl), park v rockmount, templemount v village all juicy ties as well as grattan and kinsale and cobh derby, lets keep a good cork presence in the open round (next round for winners this w/e but kinsale & grattan have a game to catch up)!

as for me moving northside littleman, dunno if theres anywhere in hollyhill to park me boat so i'll give the seaside the rest of the year at least, trying to get over an injury so i'll be hoping to grace o'neill park during the year anyway, as for riling you about the result/performance i wouldnt dare, we're all on the same side even if we dont always see eye to eye, winners and winning teams have that little bit of bite that scores goals and wins games when they look beaten, thats the difference week in week out, grattan and kinsale are more similar than you think, both are hungry for silver and besta luck to everyone else who wants to join em in competing for honours

no weekend horror stories for halloween now lads, we could do with a cork winner of big cups this year !

tizz out

littleman
30/10/2007, 12:20 PM
I honestly thought when I was headin to the game that he would start with a 3/5/2 .Varian and Jp worked excellently together and are our best front pairing.I expected to see Pa Connors in the middle with Betts and Dunlea either side of him and Figo and Cans on the wings.With Brian O'Sullivan out he went with a back 4 and would have been better served havin O'Mahony and any 2 of the center halfs from either Kinsale or Grattan.The best thing we learned from the game is that we DO NOT have the players to play 4/4/2 simple as that.

We have players capeable of playing 3/5/2 and it is a system that would be perfect for most of the players selected.For the first time in years we have young players on a par with anything else in the country and we are not using them which is a joke.How can it be justifyed leaving a player who was one of only 2 full internationals we have, on the bench for the whole game.

The best players we have are playing with the best teams we have.They are used to winning week in week out and it gives them an edge over all others.If a guy dos'nt have the drive towant to play at the highest level he can then he cannot be the right type of player we need.All the Dublin team from last year was made up of the top 3 or 4 clubs that were playing well that year not last season or the year before it went totally on form at the time. Even my backin of the manager and his selections has been severly tested.I went to the game with high expectations and left dreading the next game.

On the weekends fixtures le tizz their are a couple of belters alright.Park and Rockmount,Templewhat ever their called and Village and yourselves and Midleton and even the Glenthorn and the View.Even us and Mayfield si'nt as straight forward as it seems.Brian O'Sullivan was rested from the Aul game along with Dave O'Sullivan because they were carrying knocks and we were not going to risk them getting worse playin for the Aul at our expense..Banannas all round maybe???????What about division 2a,Kncoka celtic and Village B.Has the makins of a right good game.

alansmithccfc
30/10/2007, 12:46 PM
:DMr Smith you show your age,Colin T Smith did play with the Cork City first team,about 5 years ago.:D
Never remember him playing :p ,was one lad Colin P O Brien (now playing with west cork) who played a small amount of games mostly from the bench and then moved to Limerick.
Then Colin T O Brien, has been playing for City since the start of the nineties also the Fai's development officer for the munster region.

It was the younger one (P) that played for the west Cork league. He left for limerick after city but then left them when they folded last season and actually afaik never became fulltime

30/10/2007, 9:02 PM
Our match is back down in springers for sunday afternoon because of the change of date in the rams monaghan. Think Billy lyons will do coverage of this one?

Innishvilla
31/10/2007, 8:50 AM
Our match is back down in springers for sunday afternoon because of the change of date in the rams monaghan. Think Billy lyons will do coverage of this one?

Hard to know, I don't know how Billy chooses his games of the week but he does try to spread it around a bit.

Pity you're missing out on the big pitch for the game.

littleman
01/11/2007, 10:01 PM
Sorry me and the Gratts wont be able to cheer you on Sunday Bella but we have a Fai game ourselves and the B team boys are playin at 2pm after that.Best of luck from all at O'Neill Park.................Up the Springers.

Any worry's for the Fai this weekend,injurys,whos in whos out ect ect.Might be a couple of surprises.

Le Tizz have ye done ye'r homework on the Midleton boys.

The VBallypheane boys have a tricky one also.Hibs down in Shanbally can be awkward.They beat the Villa in the last round and will be well up for it.

The Leeside boys have a tough one against Doughlas Hall.We played their MSL juniors and their Aul juniors last year and they put up some fight in fairness.

We are expecting Mayfield to be very handy.I've watched them a couple of times this season and their a good decent hardworkin side.In fairness it dose'nt matter which pitch they use because they have 2 of the best pitches around so we'll be spoilt for choice.

Innishvilla
02/11/2007, 8:07 AM
Sorry me and the Gratts wont be able to cheer you on Sunday Bella but we have a Fai game ourselves and the B team boys are playin at 2pm after that.Best of luck from all at O'Neill Park.................Up the Springers.

Any worry's for the Fai this weekend,injurys,whos in whos out ect ect.Might be a couple of surprises.

Le Tizz have ye done ye'r homework on the Midleton boys.

The VBallypheane boys have a tricky one also.Hibs down in Shanbally can be awkward.They beat the Villa in the last round and will be well up for it.

The Leeside boys have a tough one against Doughlas Hall.We played their MSL juniors and their Aul juniors last year and they put up some fight in fairness.

We are expecting Mayfield to be very handy.I've watched them a couple of times this season and their a good decent hardworkin side.In fairness it dose'nt matter which pitch they use because they have 2 of the best pitches around so we'll be spoilt for choice.

I figure Leeside v Douglas Hall (MSL) could be match of the round. Their AUL junior side is flying, but I've heard a few of them have been called up to the "higher" MSL junior side...

Looking at it all 4 sides have tricky ties, Bally's trip to Hibs will be a tough one; Gratts, Kinsale and Leeside all meeting MSL Junior sides so there is a real unknown element there...
Also Village v Templemount and Glenthorn v Castleview. There are some cracking ties in this round. I can't think of a round of cup matches where Billy was so spoiled for choice for match of the week...

OH YES I ALSO FORGOT TO MENTION THE "BIG" ONE:
SPRINGERS v WANDERERS... Go on Bella...

rebelrover
02/11/2007, 8:17 AM
looks like a tough one on paper alrite.......its a big plus having them on our own patch because their pitch isnt the best. I've played their junior msl side before and they seem to have a pool of about 20 players that they use for the senior team, many of whom play with their juniors also when its feasible......

We'll have our work cut out but hoping to nick a 1-nil win!

On a personal note, im finally getting my own fitness back - started 2 of the last 3 games, so should see some action this wknd whether it be from the bench or from the start.

Best of luck in your respective games.

littleman
02/11/2007, 6:14 PM
Dont worry too much rebel,leeside are well able to put them away,Especially down in littleisland.They are strong but it depends on who turns up for them.

We played both their Aul and Msl sides last year and beat them but I will say that their were a few of the same faces on both sides which I found a bit funny .

None of their seniors are allowed play,if their signed on their senior registration form then their not allowed play in the Fai junior,so if you know someone who would know them to see it would be worth havin them there.They will be decent but I dont think they will fancy the wide open spaces down leeside way good luck.

Village should destroy Temple what ever their called,their ****e.
Kinsale should turn Midleton over but the Castleview and Glenthorn game is to closeBoth are sticky sides when they want to be and both lost last week if I'm correct.

The Bally boys will have a good lash off of Hibs but if they have any real ideas about getting to the open draw they have to be beating all comers.Home or away.

We on paper should take care of Mayfield but that is easier said than done.We are the scalp everyone wants to take in this seasons Cork draw but our confidence is high.Figo an JP have a hat trick apeice in their last 2 games and we seem to be hitting the right form at just the right time and goals seem to be easier to come by lately more so than at the start of the season..Mayfield are a decent side and have 2 smashing pitches which either will be great for our boys to playin on,so best of luck to all this weekend .;)

Pablo Escobar
03/11/2007, 4:57 PM
Colin P was a great talent, but he let himself down badly. He should be with a top club here now if he looked after himself!

alansmithccfc
03/11/2007, 6:11 PM
Saw a game there today up in Silverheights par, the referee never moved out of the centre circle and made some fo the most ridiculous calls ever made.

Great entertainment when your not part of one fo the sides

We are expecting Mayfield to be very handy.I've watched them a couple of times this season and their a good decent hardworkin side.In fairness it dose'nt matter which pitch they use because they have 2 of the best pitches around so we'll be spoilt for choice. Very decent. Should be a good game

alansmithccfc
04/11/2007, 11:37 AM
Grattan 3-0 at half time, Mayfield were shocking, left 15 into the 2nd half, game effectivley over

rebelrover
04/11/2007, 2:00 PM
beaten 2-1 aet - caught by two opportunist strikes - the last from 35 yards. Quite disappointing but if im to be honest the league,aoh and mjc are our priorities - not this competion because while it would have been nice to go far, we were realistically not going to win it.

All the same though, it was a tough game and its never nice to lose at home.......fair play to the hall they matched us all through, it was a game of few chances.Keegan got our goal from a header

Howd everyone else get on?

thirdeye
05/11/2007, 7:26 AM
Grattan 3-0 at half time, Mayfield were shocking, left 15 into the 2nd half, game effectivley over

watched that game as well....i agree mayfield were poor but i would put a lot of that down to the way grattan played...never gave them any time to play but also they moved the ball so quickly that mayfield couldn't get near them and they actually started to try and kick the grattan players thro' frustration...i was close to the mayfield line at half time and heard them encourage each other to do that...if you can't get the ball take the man...a hat-trick by john o sullivan but the other lad up front was very good...the link up between midfield and front was brilliant and i really enjoyed watching it...also played the ball out of defence as well as i've seen any junior team do for a long time.....and again that echos the mayfield managements take on it who were "surprised at grattans power" although grattan looked like a very young not physically powerful to me...will that be their undoing?? will go and watch them again tho...

le tizz
05/11/2007, 9:40 AM
some good results all round for the aul with the exception of leeside, you're prob right in terms of winning the fai cup rebel but to improve the standard in your own team you should be setting your sights on bigger fish rather than local opposition, getting a decent run in the national cup encourages the growth of the club and gives great experience to younger lads (grattan last year is a great example)

seasiders with a comfortable 3-1 win against a reasonable midleton side, derek v on the score sheet again, 15 cup goals already !! great win by park- fair play, richmond seem to be having a cracking season- has a russian businessman been investing there or what ??, and a penalty shootout bringin ye thru the derby bella, any match report or are you still on the pi$$,

we got the 'view down at the fort for the mossie semi on saturday, fingers crossed for a result, they seem to have had a good run around against glenthorn so maybe tired legs ?? prob unlikely with a week to recover, coachford & kanturk seem to be the only ones getting league games lately, the catching up exercise is mounting for us already littleman/thirdeye, good result for ye in mayfield sets up a cracker against wilton, doing well with the home tie tho

a few more ties fixed in the aoh and the barrel is getting toward the bottom, there are still 12 teams that havent had a fixture for the 2nd round, surely we'll see some big clashes out of whats left : Bally, Central Rovers, Gratts, Hillington B, Kanturk, Kinsale, Leeds B, Mallow, Park, Boscos B, (watergrasshill a or grattan b- any result here littleman) and wilton- 5 prem teams and throw wilton into the mix

who do ye fancy discopants ??, another away tie up at grattan would suit us grand but surely someone is gonna get dumped out at an early stage, villa are the only prem team in the hat for the 3rd round already but leeside can join em this w/e with a win out at the farm against ucc, springers in the hat too so no early exit for bellaman

things warming up now gentlemen, time to pull up the sox and dig in for the winter, although it seems like it'll be on good pitches for another while anyway, weather is cracking for football, long may it last :cool:

thirdeye
05/11/2007, 9:57 AM
some good results all round for the aul with the exception of leeside, you're prob right in terms of winning the fai cup rebel but to improve the standard in your own team you should be setting your sights on bigger fish rather than local opposition, getting a decent run in the national cup encourages the growth of the club and gives great experience to younger lads (grattan last year is a great example)

seasiders with a comfortable 3-1 win against a reasonable midleton side, derek v on the score sheet again, 15 cup goals already !! great win by park- fair play, richmond seem to be having a cracking season- has a russian businessman been investing there or what ??, and a penalty shootout bringin ye thru the derby bella, any match report or are you still on the pi$$,

we got the 'view down at the fort for the mossie semi on saturday, fingers crossed for a result, they seem to have had a good run around against glenthorn so maybe tired legs ?? prob unlikely with a week to recover, coachford & kanturk seem to be the only ones getting league games lately, the catching up exercise is mounting for us already littleman/thirdeye, good result for ye in mayfield sets up a cracker against wilton, doing well with the home tie tho

a few more ties fixed in the aoh and the barrel is getting toward the bottom, there are still 12 teams that havent had a fixture for the 2nd round, surely we'll see some big clashes out of whats left : Bally, Central Rovers, Gratts, Hillington B, Kanturk, Kinsale, Leeds B, Mallow, Park, Boscos B, (watergrasshill a or grattan b- any result here littleman) and wilton- 5 prem teams and throw wilton into the mix

who do ye fancy discopants ??, another away tie up at grattan would suit us grand but surely someone is gonna get dumped out at an early stage, villa are the only prem team in the hat for the 3rd round already but leeside can join em this w/e with a win out at the farm against ucc, springers in the hat too so no early exit for bellaman

things warming up now gentlemen, time to pull up the sox and dig in for the winter, although it seems like it'll be on good pitches for another while anyway, weather is cracking for football, long may it last :cool:

good post le tizz...i wil try and get down to see the semi next week tho i can't see the view giving kinsale too many problems....i see the hane were 4-3 winners away to hibs...sounds like a cracker...i wasn't aware of the next round draw it's a pity that either grattan or wilton will go by the wayside in the next round as i think both teams could do well in the open draw...i agree that you would want to stay in as long as you can as it generates great interest in the club and the anticipation of who you get in the next round....
weather looks good alright so no problem with fixtures in the next couple of weeks which should allow the cups to progress nicely it could be next year before a league fixture for the big four in the premier

le tizz
05/11/2007, 12:15 PM
most of the 3rd round games were played this w/e thirdeye (results on billy's site) thats why there were a lot of aul v msl clashes, there will be 7 teams from cork in the open 4th round, thru already are ballincollig, castleview, bally, leeds, d.hall (msl), park, richmond, springers, village

there are prob a few more results that didnt make it to billys site, avondale v blarney utd (all msl so i think he doesnt report on them), carrigaline v marlboro trust, everton b v dunbar, then there's grattan who are a game behind, home to wilton in the 3rd, and kinsale are also a game behind, away to marys

two tough games but a very good show from the aul junior sides, good luck to all in the next round, due the 24/25th nov, full 3rd round details here http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=46&Itemid=60 dont think the 4th round has been made yet, should be coming to a club near you tho

like you said thirdeye, its great to get into the open draw and a juicy tie or a bit of travelling gives eveyone a lift, lets hope we get a bit more than a few days out this year and bring the cup back to cork

league will be compressed into a month in may by the looks of things, spose there's not a whole lot to be done at this stage 'cept try to avoid injury and go crazy in the jan transfer market, anyone want a few months holidays at the seaside ??

le tizz
05/11/2007, 1:27 PM
sorry for worrying you all, there will be 14 teams representing cork in this years open 4th round of the fai junior cup and not 7 per my previous post

9 are thru already !

05/11/2007, 1:40 PM
We beat wanderers on penos.

Innishvilla
05/11/2007, 2:07 PM
We beat wanderers on penos.

We all saw that bella we were hoping for a slightly more detailed description of events...

alansmithccfc
05/11/2007, 3:40 PM
watergrasshill a or grattan b

Watergrasshill won 2-0 after extra time

05/11/2007, 4:16 PM
We all saw that bella we were hoping for a slightly more detailed description of events...

Where ye see that?

Well, it was a good local derby surprising very high tempo from the start, had alot of hard challenges, and bit of fights as you'd expect. Wanderers deserved it overall to be fair, but it was a game with limited goal chances. We ended up winning on pens, after our keeper saved two and scored the winner.

Innishvilla
05/11/2007, 4:22 PM
Where ye see that?

Le Tizz mentioned it and it is on Billy's website...

Innishvilla
06/11/2007, 8:21 AM

Would you believe it Le Tizz, but all your highlighted teams have avoided each other in the 2nd round...
Central v Park
Grattan v Mallow
Kanturk v Watergrasshill
Wilton v Leeds B
Hillington v Kinsale
Bally v St J. B's

And as far as I can see all the big guns have avoided each other in the 3rd round as well (If they make it that far)...

le tizz
06/11/2007, 9:55 AM
quote=Innishvilla - Would you believe it Le Tizz, but all your highlighted teams have avoided each other in the 2nd round...

And as far as I can see all the big guns have avoided each other in the 3rd round as well (If they make it that far)..

innish.......i'm bowled over, was sure i'd see a cup exit for someone but here goes the 3rd round as i see it (busy again today lads) .....

AOH Cup (32 Teams)- 3rd Round Draw
(Ballyphehane Celtic vs St. John Bosco B) V Rathcoole Rovers A
(Blarney St. Athletic vs Hillington A) V Greenwood
(Grattan United A vs Mallow United) V (Greenmount Rangers A vs Corkbeg)
(Hillington B vs Kinsale) V (Coachford B w/o Carrigaline)
(Kanturk A vs Watergrasshill United) A V Killowen
(UCC A vs Leeside A) V Lakewood Athletic
(Wilton United A vs Leeds B) V Dunbar Celtic A
Ballyvolane B V Glenvale
Bohemians V (Central Rovers vs Park United A)
Douglas Hall V Ballyvolane A
Grangevale V (Ballincollig A vs Hibernians C)
Kanturk B V Dillon's Cross
Passage A V Leeds A
Springfield A V Ballintotis
Villa United V (Hibernians B vs Brooklodge United)
Village United A V Rylane Celtic

and you're right innish, unreal that none of the prem teams met, seeing as there were 6 of us left in the last 6 games to be drawn, more twin peaks stuff littleman !!

we're happy out with the draw as i'm sure are all the other prem teams, most of the prem 'a' teams avoided each other & avoided the prem teams as well so there should be lots of firepower in the last 16, prob be well into the new year either way but something to look forward to for the match reporters among you, still no details from you bella, did ya play ? take a penno ?? great result, well done, could be your name on the cup, turners cross might be a fair trade off for the match missed in colemans ......

tizz off tadoo some work :cool:

littleman
07/11/2007, 7:19 AM
Mostly by the book bar 1 result over the weekend,Leeside v Doughlas Hall.Surprised as I thought Leeside would take care of them on their own patch.Doughlas are a decent team but Leesdie in fairness are one of the top Premier sides and have a lot of very good players so it dose come as a surprise.We played Leeside in Littleisland and did well to get a point in the league so this result really dose surprise me.

The comment about not really being bothered about goin out if ther Fai must be takin with a pinch of salt I think.....Im sure Le tizz would back me up for once in saying that to do well in the Fai he would rather sacrifice the Mjc or Mossie,the Aoh is debateable maybe but none the less doing well in the Fai is what brings attention to your club and also gives and brings great experience to your players young and old.

The Aoh le tizz is a bit weird all right,6 big sides in a hat containing 12 teams and they all draw lesser opposition,no offence ment.But we wont complain,Mallow up at O'Neill Park and hopefully either Greenmount or Corkbeg to follow.

MJC action this weekend and we head to Watergrass Hill.Any tips LeTizz.Our B side lost out to them in the Aoh already 2/0 aet so we have to do the buisness again away from home.Have only played 2 home games all season so far.Be great to get back home for a game,looks like Wilton in 2 weeks time because we have to get the game played before the 24th,which is the 4th round date for games.

Marys will be a walk in the park le tizz.

JP and Figo are on fire,Jp's 3rd hat trick in 8 days.Might leave Jp have the weekend off,Figo and Flemming maybe or Decky Gostel and Flemming up front this weekend,management selection problems ,who'd have them.Varian is very good but Jp is a class above anything that the Aul has produced for years.Gerry Smith are you watchin..........................

Innishvilla
07/11/2007, 7:52 AM
Just noticed Wilton lost to Blarney St in the league, bit of a surprise!

littleman
07/11/2007, 10:41 AM
Maybe Innish if you wer'nt aware of what or who Blarney Street have with them.They have some of the best players outside of the Prem itself and if it was'nt for the fact that they are a bit inconsistant they would be running away with the league.Wilton are or were havin a cracking season to date but if anyone in was goin to scupper them in that league it was Blarney Street.

On Sundays defeat of Mayfield I think 3rdEYE was correct in saying that their game plan was to get the man if the ball was uinavailable so to speak.For a supposed Msl side they played little or no ball.We took it for a while then just played the ball around them and fla'd um out.Jp did his usual them in fairness the keeper the Polish guy made 5 or 6 point blank stops from Figo.Flemming and Gostel.Plus a few one on ones to boot,top class keeper.

Physcially wise we may not look like much,but ask anyone who has played them and ask them if just say Jp or his brother Mark gave an inch.We prefer to play ball but if push comes to shove we can more than match big physcial sides,just ask Pike Rovers.

callyno3
07/11/2007, 12:13 PM
Jp is a class above anything that the Aul has produced for years.Gerry Smith are you watchin..........................

Have to disagree there Littleman. A class above anything that the AUL has produced for years I don't think so. A top striker one of the best in the league at the moment yes most def. I don't even think he is the best player on the gratts team.

littleman
07/11/2007, 1:35 PM
Yes and No Cally.

Yes regarding wether or not he is the best frontman I have seen in the AUL for the last 15 years.You may not go back that long but older members of your club will know the names.Cooney from Greenmount,Tobin(Temple)Barrett(Castleview)Mcaulli fe(Rockville)Downey (Rockmount)Keane (Temple)Coughlan (Passage).These were top frontmen for Aul clubs.Since Cooney for Greenmount and Mucca (Rockville)their has'nt been anyone of any note.A few have flattered to deceive thats all.Jp has and is considered by the Ameature/Junior manager of Ireland to be on of the best frontmen in the country.Thats not me or the Gratts talkin thats fact.Hes the best in the league because the people who look at our league and who count say he is.

Remember Jp is an out an out goal poacher.He hangs on the center halfs shoulder or between the full back and sweeper and waits either for a good through ball or a mistake and un settles back lines with his pace and touch.Which leaves Figo to wonder around from wing to wing.Also he gets the majority of his goals in the 18yard box.Varian likes to get the ball wide and run at defenders,Delea the same.Scoring goals is the name of the game but to me how a striker plays and how much work he dose is also vital.Jp will keep a back 4 giong for 90 mins,which allows Figo and Co to run riot as well.Thats why I rate him so highly,its the sum of his parts so to speak.the all in package.

No he is not our best player.That I would bestow on Harry Goulding.Ask anyone connected with or that has played with our club for the last 7 or 8 years who is the best all round player we have produced and to a man they will say,Harry.He has everything but gets scant reward except from his team mates who all know how importanty he is to this current team.

thirdeye
07/11/2007, 2:09 PM
don't bite "tizz" for the love of god.....we all know that football is subjective and when you add that the fact that besides those who watch a particular club every week are the only ones with a true feel for a certain player then there will always be differing opinions on how good a player is....but to echo a previous point it's nice to see local talent flourish again and without having to play senior...i'll say again kinsale set the bar for others to follow and well done for doing that....they were the hare and it was up to the pack to catch them.....more impressive is that when some thought their time had past they are back to their best....