View Full Version : Cork AUL 2007/08
bogwarrior
07/11/2007, 3:02 PM
JP and Figo are on fire,Jp's 3rd hat trick in 8 days.Might leave Jp have the weekend off,Figo and Flemming maybe or Decky Gostel and Flemming up front this weekend,management selection problems ,who'd have them.Varian is very good but Jp is a class above anything that the Aul has produced for years.Gerry Smith are you watchin..........................
Ha ha- i reckon le tizz will have a field day over this one!
U make a compelling case little man however not a hope do i agree with you. He's bang in form at the moment i have to say and 3 hat tricks in 8 days is unbelievable. One of the best finishers the league has seen in years i'll definately agree. As regards all round player we're always going to differ though. All round - derek mccarthy from Kinsale is for me head and shoulders above anything produced since Ray O'Leary or even dare i say it Peter Jones?! Just an absolute pleasure to watch and play with! I noticed you chaps said the he had an off game for the west cork league recently? A victim of his own success perhaps when u think that he created 2 of the five goals and was indirectly involved in another one.
Just opinions though lads!:ball:
littleman
07/11/2007, 3:15 PM
I thought le tizz would bite my head off too 3rd eye haha.No Kinsale all things said were worthy champs and may well be again but as for the long road in the Aul,the jurys out.The distant drums of the Msl are calling and I know its alluring for clubs but the Msl ai'nt what it used to be.Thier are more and more players headin back to the AUL because of the Gratts,Bally,Kinsale and Leeside.Seeing how well their doin so to speak.
I'm sorry if it annoys but I've spent nearly all my days in the AUL and I love nothin better than the thoughts of playin an Aoh final under lights in the Cross.The Msl will never have that................................:o
Nearly forgot to say congratulations Bella,next for the Springers is........................
callyno3
07/11/2007, 5:56 PM
Yes and No Cally.
Yes regarding wether or not he is the best frontman I have seen in the AUL for the last 15 years.You may not go back that long but older members of your club will know the names.Cooney from Greenmount,Tobin(Temple)Barrett(Castleview)Mcaulli fe(Rockville)Downey (Rockmount)Keane (Temple)Coughlan (Passage).These were top frontmen for Aul clubs.Since Cooney for Greenmount and Mucca (Rockville)their has'nt been anyone of any note.A few have flattered to deceive thats all.Jp has and is considered by the Ameature/Junior manager of Ireland to be on of the best frontmen in the country.Thats not me or the Gratts talkin thats fact.Hes the best in the league because the people who look at our league and who count say he is.
Remember Jp is an out an out goal poacher.He hangs on the center halfs shoulder or between the full back and sweeper and waits either for a good through ball or a mistake and un settles back lines with his pace and touch.Which leaves Figo to wonder around from wing to wing.Also he gets the majority of his goals in the 18yard box.Varian likes to get the ball wide and run at defenders,Delea the same.Scoring goals is the name of the game but to me how a striker plays and how much work he dose is also vital.Jp will keep a back 4 giong for 90 mins,which allows Figo and Co to run riot as well.Thats why I rate him so highly,its the sum of his parts so to speak.the all in package.
No he is not our best player.That I would bestow on Harry Goulding.Ask anyone connected with or that has played with our club for the last 7 or 8 years who is the best all round player we have produced and to a man they will say,Harry.He has everything but gets scant reward except from his team mates who all know how importanty he is to this current team.
The Point you made was that he was a class above anything the AUL produced in years, There has been many super players over the years in the AUL and I think he is a class behind quite a few of them. He needs to be an excellent player for a number of years Strikers are mainly judged on goals and while he is bang in form at the moment he has to do that over a number of seasons. I'm not sure of the stats but is he one of the top scorers in the league year in year out? There have also been a number of top strikers who have had short spells in the AUL before moving on to MSL, Mark O sullivan Passage, Dave Welsh was lethal in his one(I think)season with leeside.
Who did ya play with before Littleman? Crescent??(just curious)
Ha ha- i reckon le tizz will have a field day over this one!
U make a compelling case little man however not a hope do i agree with you. He's bang in form at the moment i have to say and 3 hat tricks in 8 days is unbelievable. One of the best finishers the league has seen in years i'll definately agree. As regards all round player we're always going to differ though. All round - derek mccarthy from Kinsale is for me head and shoulders above anything produced since Ray O'Leary or even dare i say it Peter Jones?! Just an absolute pleasure to watch and play with! I noticed you chaps said the he had an off game for the west cork league recently? A victim of his own success perhaps when u think that he created 2 of the five goals and was indirectly involved in another one.
Just opinions though lads!:ball:
All of the above top players you could add jimmy connors and anthony ?? centre back pairing and "bubbles" for greenmount.And possibly Dave moynihan from blarney too
bogwarrior
07/11/2007, 9:22 PM
Not gonna include bubbles with that one cally. Bad experience:mad: Dont wanna talk about it!! Other than that i agree!!
littleman
08/11/2007, 6:51 AM
I was only giving my uptake on the frontmen debate,Midfielders and defenders is open to the floor as well if ye want and remember lads this is just our own thoughts and if everyone agreed with me I'd think their was something very weird goin on,a bit X files as le tizz says haha.Like 3rd eye says its easy for us to say our own are better than whats out their , because we watch our own each week.
Jp has 3 seasons in the Prem/Prem A and finished in the top 3 or 4 in those seasons..Prior to that he was the Aul youths striker as well for 2 seasons and was banging them in for Grattans last minor team in 2003.By the way a look at Billy Lyons records will tell you how good they were.
Cally I played for our A side for many a year(still get the odd run out too) but now I'm slowed down by age and a young family so I try to play,or the B manager might say I get in the way at my age with the Gratts B team.Its a good laugh and I still enjoy playing and it keeps me envolved with the club.It has its little bonus's like playin out in the Cross last year in the Presidents cup final under lights which at any stage of you playin is something special.
Is'nt it great that we can talk of all the top class players currently playin with the Aul instead of remembering the ones that are gone to the Msl.Looking good for the future lads.
Excellent points 3rdeye by the way, well said
pass&move
08/11/2007, 10:40 AM
Have to agree with littleman here Harry's our MVP but Can's is not far off
Towelie
08/11/2007, 11:12 AM
I never seen Tobin from Temple play but I think he won the golden boot with 30 or 40 goals which is class by anyones standards.
JP is an intelligent player and deceptively strong too. I know exactly what you mean Littleman when you say he plays between the fullback and the sweeper(thats how he scored against Leeside in the Island this year!).However I dont think he is the best striker the AUL has produced for years.
From my own experience I think Craig Donnelly(hasnt been fit for years though) is
the best out and out goalscorer.He won the golden boot and in the same season was top scorer in Ireland in the oscar traynor before moving on to Midleton.
Other mentions go to John Gafney(4 goals in mjc final) and Mark O Sullivan from Passage.
Peter Jones, McCarthy and Varian from Kinsale.
Ricky Gettings(record for goals in a premier match with 7) and David Welch from Leeside.
le tizz
08/11/2007, 11:14 AM
don't bite "tizz" for the love of god.....we all know that football is subjective and when you add that the fact that besides those who watch a particular club every week are the only ones with a true feel for a certain player then there will always be differing opinions on how good a player is....but to echo a previous point it's nice to see local talent flourish again and without having to play senior...i'll say again kinsale set the bar for others to follow and well done for doing that....they were the hare and it was up to the pack to catch them.....more impressive is that when some thought their time had past they are back to their best....
you have been very complimentary to kinsale throughout your posts & i appreciate that fact 3rd eye, i have no problem with littleman or anyone else raving on about their own players, as was stated, you see your own week in week out,
for me i've seen JP play 3 times, played against him twice last year and saw the last 1/2 hour against leeside this year, i cant say he looked like the best player in the aul but he is young and does pose a large threat to a lot of shaky aul defenses, while being backed up and supplied by a young and very competent grattan side. what is the status of his international career this year ?? the fai cup brought you a lot of admirers last year so a test will be to go & perform again this year, and good luck to you !!
i have played most of my career in the msl, senior & junior so cant comment on the aul greats, i've played with & against some incredible players and some of the talent in the current kinsale side is right up there, derek v dows blow hot & cold but he can beat a team on his own (he got 4 against villa last year when we beat them 5-0 with 9 tired men)
with regard the old msl v aul debate, i played oscar on both sides and the aul have always been better organised and in better condition than their junior counterparts in the msl, that said, i'd prefer to be playing on the msl pitches week in week out, the msl juniors lack a lot from the aul strength, organisation and desire but you gotta remember that this is against the junior sides, i think the msl is being watered down by the 1st division teams and the top half of the aul will give most of these teams a good run around but we seem to be only slowly catching up with the quality of the facilities, anyway i think we're all in agreement here on this point, this would make us all more competitive in the latter stages of the big cups where you're playing on big decent pitches and the best way to play & win on those is the beautiful way !!
i think the fact that there is new blood challenging kinsale for the league is great for everybody, gives us a kick as well as a new desire, winning 4 leagues in a row is some achievement and against the same teams every year it does get stale, kinsale were looking for a new challenge (msl) but i think the competition is most definately back this year so game on, the past is forgotten about, we won nothing last year so will be aiming to put that right this season
i think a lot has been said (mostly by you littleman) about this ballyphehane team, i dont know anything about them ! billy had a pic of them on the site a few weeks back and they looked like a team of minors ! i wonder will they last the pace for the whole season, well done to their lads for getting promotion from a competitive prem a league and i hope they take points off the rest of ye for the season ahead, nice to get a run around a decent surface in pfizers against a team that's sposed to ball some ball
we're fast approaching saturday, looking forward to the visit of castleview, they've had mixed results but will be given plenty of respeck, i still fancy us to come thru and i'm going with a park win on the other side, i fear them more than ballyphehane and think they'll give a very good account of themselves this year, beware you have been alerted, the only difficulty for them is away games, particularly when we get into evening games but i spose thats what they signed up for
friday night under lights in the cross is special like you said littleman, i've been a scorer and winner down there and plan to repeat that this year, time to get fit and mean
regarding predictions for the w/e, dont think ye'll have a problem in the grassy hill lads but watch out for that ref he's a bit unique ! leeside should have a lovely day out in the farm and rest happily in the aoh hat for the next round- could be a bucket of goals against ucc 1st years i think, park to join us in the cross in december but wouldnt mind seeing a bit of that game, pity we're on at the same time, wilton to ease thru to the next round (bich of a drive on a sunday morning tho), the league games that are on are just for survival, villa could do with 3 points, wonder will we see a big scoreline for the hotly tipped blarney street in the cup
besta luck all round, we might even get a rare goal from the left peg of ben ryan, a straight cross would be a start !
thats another mammoth post over
littleman
08/11/2007, 12:08 PM
You must work on your own le tizz to be able to compile that littlepost haha.
I understand the other views out their lads on Jp and take them on board.Thats what this is all about is'nt it.
But regarding his ommission from the Irish junior/ameatuer side,I'm done tryin to figure that one out.One week their complementing the Aul on the players it has and the next week the Kerry league seems to have the better players.Makes no sense.Either as a league/teams we are playing well and deserve reward or not.I think as a league/teams we do,but appearently I'm the only one.
Ballypheane may be an unknown entity to you but they have won like yourselves league titles 4 years in a row with a few cups to boot.I know you may say thats the 3rd,2rd,1st and Prem A but the important thing is that they are used to that winning feeling and have stayed together as a team and developed a style that will cause problems for anyone.They are at you from the go and play ball quick and fast.Yes they look very young but so do we.Trust me when I say this letizz Ballypheane would be much better suited to the Cross than Park.My only doubt this weekend about them is that lately they have been just about winning games instead of winning comfortably.
littleman
08/11/2007, 12:40 PM
Pass&move Harry just shades it from Cans.Just.
I dont think I've ever come across anyone quite like Cans.He just dose not know the meaning of the words give up.He will fight to his last breath to win for the Gratts.Thats why he's our captain.Unbeliveable player.
God help the rest of ye if he was 6''2 and 13 stone instead of 5''6 and 8 stone.Jesus that would be some sight on a pitch.
le tizz
08/11/2007, 2:11 PM
and dont get me started on derek mccarthy
been the best player in the aul for the past few years, even tho he took the time out to collect an intermediate cup medal last year to add to his trophy cabinet, can play anywhere, invaluable, makes the whole of kinsale tick, even the ladies !! thats a story for another day, nice sup of rain should have pitches nice n slick for forwards, lets see some goals lads
rebelrover
08/11/2007, 3:36 PM
they are UCC's 3rd junior team, not their freshers.........either way we have to win that one.......get back on track after last wknd.
Looks like we left ye down last wknd lads, everyone else did the business. To be honest we didnt really do enough to win the game, whilst we were missing 5 we still should have been expected to win on home soil. Ah well no point wallowing in self pity after a defeat, got to get back out on the pitch and win the next game.
Don't really know enough to provide a balanced judgement on best aul player debate.....
Even though they were both leeside players I dont know about including Dave Welsh and Gonz(Craig D) in the top bunch....... both very good goalscorers but the kinsale lads and the grattan john p are better all round players. Dave W is a good goalscorer but does not have a great all round game.
In fairness to Gonz he had some great AUL years but again, he wouldnt have the all round game of say, Jeremy O Sullivan (a leeside player who I would mention in the top aul player debate ahead of the 2 above) or Derek McCarthy. Although he's been injured all year, Ray O Leary, John Hogan and himself are Blarney Utd best 3 players.
callyno3
08/11/2007, 10:12 PM
sorry littleman I misunderstood your post then I though it was all players.
Top striker is prob Derek mac for me ( I'd have to stick to my own):).
But if JP keeps his current form for the next few years who knows
Some really good posts above and some top players mentioned.
Rebel, Jeremy O sullivan Where is he playing now ?? Remember him being really good. Also Gonzo did get some amount of goals for leeside the fast fecker he def hasn't been playin anywhere near that level for some years tho
thirdeye
09/11/2007, 6:16 AM
well lads looks like grattans route to the open draw has been put in jeopardy yet again....if they get over wilton they are away to park....looks like the toughest draw of the lot so far....what do ye think lads
F.A.I. Draws
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CORK AREA:
Springfield v Everton “B”
Castleview F.C. v Richmond F.C.
Avondale Utd v Leeds F.C.
St.Mary’s or Kinsale v Village Utd. “A”
Ballincollig v Douglas Hall M.S.L.
Park Utd. v Grattan Utd or Wilton Utd.
Carrigaline or Marlboro Trust v Ballyphehane Clt.
LIMERICK AREA:
Star Rovers v Herbertstown
Summerville F.C. v Ballynanty Rovers
Aisling Annacotty v Regional Utd.
Kilmallock v Athlunkard Villa
Pike Rovers v Carew Park
TIPPERARY-W.W.E.C.:
Cahir Park v Thurles Town
Cloughjordan v Bansha or St.Michaels
Peakvilla v Clonmel Town
Arra Rovers v Clonmel Celtic
DESMOND-CLARE-KERRY:
Tralee Dynamoes v Listowel Clt.
Newtown v Abbeyfeale Utd.
Lisselton Rovers v Newcastle WEST
Rathkeale Utd. v Killarney Clt.
Inter Kenmare v Bunratty F.C.
WATERFORD:
Dungarvan Utd. v Southend
Carrick Utd. v Waterford Crystal
littleman
09/11/2007, 6:26 AM
Lads where exactly did ye get the information on the fai 4th round draw being the open round.Either its a complete fluke that all the Cork sides drew Cork sides or some one should sack their contact on the inside.Their I was thinkin if we could get past Wilton we might get a trip up the country to see the sights,what do we get if we do get past Wilton,Mitchelstown.For some the following will bring a nice little surprise for others it's oooh bugggggggggggger t'is away we go.
F.A.I. Draws
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CORK AREA:
Springfield v Everton “B”
Castleview F.C. v Richmond F.C.
Avondale Utd v Leeds F.C.
St.Mary’s or Kinsale v Village Utd. “A”
Ballincollig v Douglas Hall M.S.L.
Park Utd. v Grattan Utd or Wilton Utd.
Carrigaline or Marlboro Trust v Ballyphehane Clt.
Springers at home to Everton B who deat Dunbar a 6/1 in the last round.
Castleview,inconsistant playin Richmond,havin a good season so far.
Avondale Juniors(Msl) flyin,against Leeds,floatin rather than flyin.
St.Marys/Kinsale(i'm sorry but I cant see Marys makin a dent in the seesiders) v Village,also flyin and for me tie of the round.
Ballincollig nothin great against Doughlas who put leeside out.
Park(did I post too soon letizz) v the Gratts or Wilton.Last season we had to play Tramore and Doughlas from the Msl in the 4/5th round.2 tough games.This year it could be Wilton then Park.Will have to do it again,the pressure of expectation is weighing heavy on my sholders.
Carrigaline or Malborough(could cause the upset of the round this lot) v Ballypheane.
All to play for lads best of luck.
Billynose
09/11/2007, 9:32 AM
You don't get out of the county until after the fourth round. It's like that every year. Only seven cork teams make it to the open round.
Everton
Richmond
Avondale
Kinsale
Douglas Hall
Grattan
Carrigaline
littleman
09/11/2007, 10:35 AM
The truth is hard to take lads even for me but if we cant overcome what we have in front of us then we just don't deserve to play in the open round.We set the bar ourselves last season and we know what we need to be achiving this year.Otherwise last year was for nothing.
Yes we are confident but yes we we know it ain't going to be easy.
Wilton will put it up to us big time and we would expect nothing less from them.If and its only an if we do the buisness we then have to play Park,as with everyone else we would have prefered a home draw.We fear no team but their are always circumstances out of your control which makes things a little more awkard.But we have to get a result against Wilton first I'd rather not speculate till we at least get to that game.
rebelrover
09/11/2007, 11:58 AM
Jermemy O Sull in now with Blarney - id go as far as saying he's in the top 4/5 strikers in the MSL but I admit very few will agree with me from MSL because they have not seen the best of him. He had a groin operation in the summer which was the result of an endless run of bad luck with groin strains and pulls so he hasnt played much since the start of last season. When he was fully fit he was the "go-to" man in the blarney attack up until then in the msl
If he can come back after the injury, he could be a force to be reckoned with again
Een though he's a teammate and i dont really like talking about teammates, Gonz has a long way to go before he can recapture past glories - fitness is an issue
littleman
11/11/2007, 1:50 PM
Mjc 2nd round .
Watergrasshill 0 Grattan A 5.
Awkward fixture made easier buy a couple of first half gaols.Letizz we had to play on their underage pitch,big 5 aside t'is what it was like laughable.
Ye did what ye were supposed to do and so did Bally,should be a good game the final.
Villa got a good 3 points as well.
No major upsets or news excepth in div 2 Pearse and Dunbar B was abandoned with an an injury.An ambulance and the guards called.Love to find out the story behind that one.
thirdeye
12/11/2007, 6:57 AM
well done to the hane and kinsale on getting to what should be a footballing mossy linnane final....good away win for grattan and another 5 goals....good win for villa...
i know the irish team have nothing to play for at the weekend but why are the aul games not kivking off early for those who would still like to watch the national team play....allowances seem to be made for gaa games
Innishvilla
12/11/2007, 8:38 AM
No major upsets or news excepth in div 2 Pearse and Dunbar B was abandoned with an an injury.An ambulance and the guards called.Love to find out the story behind that one.
I've heard a few disturbing stories... No names and not from someone who saw the match but supposedly; Guy got sent off came back on the pitch, broke some other guys jaw and then all hell broke loose 20 odd man brawl. Don't know which side or who caused it, but it sounds really nasty...
le tizz
12/11/2007, 9:26 AM
I've heard a few disturbing stories... No names and not from someone who saw the match but supposedly; Guy got sent off came back on the pitch, broke some other guys jaw and then all hell broke loose 20 odd man brawl. Don't know which side or who caused it, but it sounds really nasty...
cheebus ....... thought we had moved on from this kinda schoolboy thuggery, doesnt reflect well on anybody, hopefully nobody is seriously injured, at the end of the day we all have to go home to our families and go out and go to work (even i have to do some work sometimes)
no upsets from the w/e, well done to bally, should be a decent final alright, game set for friday 30th nov, 7.30pm in the cross, bring a jumper if ye're coming
never any fear of ye in 'grasshill fellas, 5-0 is a good days work- how'd that ref treat ye ??, 5 goals from leeside out in the farm too, easy easy !! we had a good win against a dogged castleview, they're a good bunch of lads who'll fight till the final whistle, nice to make it thru the 1st semi of the year, will be busy fighting for places for the final now, competition is healthy for everyone ! derek v with 2 and derek mc with the other, great performance by everyone
if innish come thru their munster cup game on sat and they have ye out in west cork grattan boys ! we'll see how ye fare innish, saw that ye had a narrow loss against local rivals at the w/e
everything going according to plan so far for us, stay in the cups till the new year and the open draws, we'll be unlikely to see much league action till january but results to date are for the midtable contenders, it was a good result for villa at home but still leaking goals, still 3 points in the bag goes a long way
mjc mostly next w/e, tough game for ye at home rebel (leeside v buttevant), some other tasty ties too (richmond v ballincollig, coachford v village) , grats to have it easy in hollyhill, bella ye could set up a good tie home to leeside potentially, still a lot to play for,
next game is the only one to be looking at really, we have ballyvolane b away on sat, do they play in leeds' ground ?? we should scrape thru if we play to our potential
thats all for now lads
thirdeye
12/11/2007, 3:18 PM
innish is that ye down to play pearse next week....is that what le tizz meant by if ye come thro' that one?? i agree that if anything even remotely like what is being said did occur then there must be some serious action taken....cork football has thankfully moved on from that kind of carry on...it is after all sport lest we forget....
Innishvilla
12/11/2007, 3:55 PM
Yeah Innishvilla play Pearse in MJC next weekend...
Be interesting to hear their side of what happened...
Innishvilla
12/11/2007, 4:05 PM
if innish come thru their munster cup game on sat and they have ye out in west cork grattan boys ! we'll see how ye fare innish, saw that ye had a narrow loss against local rivals at the w/e
Good game from what I heard (didn't make it to see the game myself) could have gone either way. Innish were on top 1st half until central midfielder injured ankle, his obvious replacement was injured midweek, replacements a bit light on the ground.
But I'm sure the knowledge of a game with the Premier champs is the prize on offer next weekend will have both sides well up for the game.
littleman
12/11/2007, 6:33 PM
Letizz Mr Mcauliffe sees dead people,or some thin like that because he would'nt know a foul if one fell on him.He's touched, a bit special. Words cant describe his displays as a ref,lucky we knew what to expect thank God.................
I'm makin a list of stupid/funny things that teams have tried to do to put us off the way we play since last season letizz,have you any......
So far
Played a league game last year,grass was about half a foot high.Fella on his tractor with his grass cutter watched the whole game,as soon as it finished he cut the damn grass................
Played an Aoh game where the junior team we played played on their underage pitch,while their under 14s played along side on their junior pitch........
Another league game away last year we were told we had to park about 3/4 of a mile away from the pitch and walk up only to find their was ample parking adjacent to the actual pitch............
Finally the best for last,another early round cup game wheir the team we played insisted we play the game on their underage pitch because they had'nt trained in weeks and they wer'nt fit or able to run around their full size pitch.All the while their under 16 girls played on their full size pitch...........
Any one got any thing better ??????????????????
Bella no game whats up.
Innishvilla
15/11/2007, 2:55 PM
I guess the fact that there are few games to set the old pulse racing this weekend is the main reason the forum's so quiet... That and it seems like no-one on this site was at the Pearse v Dunbar game... Would like to hear the full storu on that one
Interesting fixtures this weekend:
Glenthorn v Castleview - Prem
Coachford v Village - MJC
Richmond v Ballincollig - Local derby in MJC
Anyone else spot any interesting games???
le tizz
16/11/2007, 10:52 AM
no news from the KFC camp, all's well, stepping up the tempo now that games are getting a little more serious, good healthy squad hunting for a place on the starting 11 in the cross so all good
no goss to report, was thinking of going to wales tomorrow with an irish jersey & me boots, reckon i'd get a game going by the dropout rate, oute one, shay- tizz goal !
thanks for the directions littleman, sounds like we'll be close to the limerick border and dragon country, ben ryan will be closer to home so might nick a goal against the bally-v, then again more chance of mongo scoring from 30 yards with his left (ball)
we're all watching your game innish, set up a show down with grats next week, come on !! where've you gone bella ?? get a telling off from the coach or the rest of the lads givin ya stick ?
or have you absconded to the msl .........mmmmmmm scons......
le tizz
16/11/2007, 11:29 AM
"We respect them for the good players that they are but at the end of
the day if you have to kick them, you kick them" - Kenny Miller reveals
that skill, flair and attacking finesse won't be high on Scotland's
list of priorities in Saturday's win-or-bust Euro 2008 qualifier against Italy.:eek:
littleman
16/11/2007, 10:27 PM
All quiet in Aul land lads.
For one of only 2 reasons is my guess,one is that guys are startin to get edgy because their has'nt been any shocks so far,all gone to script.Something has to give and whs going to be the first big hitter to fall................
The other reason is I reckon confidence might be a little frail.Know one is boastin about their form as such bar yourself letizz tellin us about how rosy it is in the KFC garden.The rest are playin their hands close to the table just incase theirs a slip up.I can understand it theirs a lot to lose for some,us encluded.
Best of luck Innish,as far as I know we play Wilton next week,then either yourself or Pearse the week after.Ireckonyour goin to catch them on the hop over what happened last week,they are bound to be on edge over it.Take full advantage and remember keep your shape.
Bella has the Springers manager put a media ban on ya...............................
Things should go by the form book up in O'Neill Park this weekend.I wont complain at all havin a game lke this the weekend before a Fai game.Things are goin well at the moment but as we all know football is a fickle game and a lack of concentration could prove costly from here on
thirdeye
17/11/2007, 7:49 AM
"tizz" i think you alone is what makes littleman tick...his sole reason for getting up in the mornin...if you stopped postin on here for a couple of weeks there is a real danger he would go into melt down...or at least develop a nervous twitch....good luck with the final by the way...but i do agree with the small man in one sence...a big name is due to bite the dust soon....with all due respect to the majority of clubs it's amazing no real casualties yet...
gaffer33
17/11/2007, 7:03 PM
[quote=littleman;816902]All quiet in Aul land lads.
Bella has the Springers manager put a media ban on ya...............................
Lads i know bella has been missing,but he asked me to say he should be up and running in the next few days all goin well,PC WAS SICK...
littleman
19/11/2007, 7:05 AM
What happened there.Some crackin results lads,
Well done letizz,good result under difficult circumstances.Ye will all probably have the flu for the week after Saterday.
Innish,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,lost 3/4 sounds like a cracker,what happened.
Glenthorn hammerin the View 5/0 in the league ?????????? and the Village boys beatin Coachford away `1/2 in the Mjc.
The Bally boys are lettin me down though,I thought they would be coasting a bit more this season but there strugglin instead.1 apeice away to Wilton B and won 9/10 on penos.Thats a couple of aet peno wins already this season.
Well done to the Killer B's by the way as well,left it late yesterday but got a deserved 3/2 win against City Wanders for their second win of the season,the only way is up baby................
Mallow gave us a walk over,more's the pity as we were gaggin for the game Saturday.I think we get a 3/0 win,would have prefered a run out prior to the Fai game this weekend.Cant understand teams giving walkovers,I'd rather get hammered with 7men than pay the fine......................:confused:
Innishvilla
19/11/2007, 8:14 AM
Innish,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,lost 3/4 sounds like a cracker,what happened.
I was away for the weekend, but I think Innish were 2:0 up with 30 minutes to go and somehow managed to lose 3:4, so unfortunately no trip west for Littleman...
le tizz
19/11/2007, 11:04 AM
a one man show saw ben ryan score 2 and assist in the other 3 in tough conditions on sat, the sniffles will be put on the back burner for now seeing as there is still a lot of games to get thru, nothing won yet ! good to see ben doing what he should be at every week, he's got one of the nicest left legs in cork (pity about the face !)
i'm with ye boys, reckon scalps will fall in the coming weeks so fingers crossed its not our own teams, fai cup this w/e, hopefully we will see a strong aul presence in the open round,
no waving carrots at you this week littleman, all compliments till it gets close to the end of the season and silver is being chased hard (cheers for the tip off 3rd eye- will have to keep everyone on side in case i get us cursed) and thanks for the well wishes for the final
any match report from little island rebel, reckon it is a great result for ye against a decent buttevant side, bally with lots of drama, week off for yer grats boys wont do any damage, be a lot worse if the tie was missed and ye had to catch up on the game- sets up a tough one against pearse i suppose, hard luck innish,
glenthorn with the result of the week, astonishing, 'view with a tough one to richmond next week to pick themselves up again
injury free and keep winning is now the way to go, big night for us fri week but marys on sat is where eyes will be, fellas should be trying for a starting 11 place so we should do the business, cracker expected up at o'neill park, may the best man..... and all that, prize is away to park which aint east neither, keep things going everyone, any predictions discopants
i'm still on the fringes, one of these fine days now....
ben for a hat trick on sat with those lovely legs
rebelrover
19/11/2007, 12:43 PM
wasnt at the game meself le tizz, pulled the hammy on thurs night training and had physio at 4 on sat so missed the game. By all accounts it was comfortable, buttevant have a good rep but they've been having a poor season to date. We blooded a few of our 17 year olds in the game - not by choice by because of necessity. Our injuries list was ridicilous and derek dulea is now out for 4 wks because he had eye surgery last week. I wasnt ball hoping earlier this season when I remarked that our squad was threadbare. The two 17's we used at the wknd though were said to have impressed and At least a few others will be back in the next week or two so not looking too bad.
Not sure what the story is for our game this wknd - looked at the fixture list there and this is gas lads - 1) We're down to play Kanturk at home in our 3rd league game and we've already played them away from home in our first league game 2) Our B team are also scheduled to play a home game in Little Island at the exact same time this weekend!!
I know ye've mentioned it already in a few posts but guys do you not think the lack of giant killers in the cups is indicitive of more serious issues within the aul. I mean it reminds me of the premiership in a way. The top 5 r 6 can put out whatever team they want and they'll still hammer teams from all the other leagues in the cups - even Div 1 sides are being hit for 4 or 5 in every game by the likes of kinsale, grattan and ourselves. Granted, when any AUL top 6 side clicks on their day they should knock in a couple against the lower division teams but it shouldnt be happening every week! I must say I think it reflects very badly on teams outside premier but thats just my opinion.
therise
19/11/2007, 8:17 PM
Do i recall Leeside being humbled by a first division side a few weeks back? Douglas hall was it?
littleman
20/11/2007, 6:26 AM
Ooooooh that has to hurt.
bogwarrior
20/11/2007, 8:47 AM
Touche:D
rebelrover
20/11/2007, 8:48 AM
That wasnt DHall from the AUL 1st, that was DHall from the Munster Senior League Junior Premier division.........they'd just received team of the month in the MSL, remain unbeaten in their league, play in TurnersX this Friday in the Junior MSL Cup final, and are among the 7 sides to come out of Cork in the FAI junior..........so sorry to burst your bubble!
rebelrover
20/11/2007, 9:23 AM
Apologies lads, my last post was incorrect.......DHall do not play in the MSL Junior Cup final this friday, the game was in fact played last friday in TurnersX and they beat Everton 5-2 ;)
Shilts
20/11/2007, 10:41 AM
I know ye've mentioned it already in a few posts but guys do you not think the lack of giant killers in the cups is indicitive of more serious issues within the aul. I mean it reminds me of the premiership in a way. The top 5 r 6 can put out whatever team they want and they'll still hammer teams from all the other leagues in the cups - even Div 1 sides are being hit for 4 or 5 in every game by the likes of kinsale, grattan and ourselves. Granted, when any AUL top 6 side clicks on their day they should knock in a couple against the lower division teams but it shouldnt be happening every week! I must say I think it reflects very badly on teams outside premier but thats just my opinion.
The reason that there are no giant killers is that apart from 5 or 6 teams, the rest of the AUL is muck. Brutal pub sides that are not fit enough to last 90 mins with the top sides and who give up after an hour when 6nil down and beg the ref to blow it up early. This is happening every second week.
The reason that there are so few top sides in the AUL is that the MSL has expanded significantly over the past few years, hoovering up a lot of good AUL teams. This has left the AUL with too few competitive teams. If the like of Grattan, Leeside and Kinsale are getting fed up with playing so many useless games (not as valuable as training in many cases) then they will have to look elsewhere for regular competitive games. The lack of competitive games for our top AUL teams will hurt us in the open rounds of the FAI and Munster Junior Cups.:ball:
littleman
20/11/2007, 11:32 AM
We shant have any of that tom foolerie here(by christ therise you hit a raw nerve there).Therise we are a civilised thread here not like our limerick cousins who name call an get all hot an bothered.T'is not on this rile'in.:p
On a slighly lighter note therise though your comments were incorrect(but very funny)there was some truth in what you said.The top sides in the Premier through opinions from either themselves or others(us encluded) feel that they would be more than capeable of holding their own in the msl senior league.
To be beaten by a junior side from the msl when you have ideas about yourself ,no matter how great a run their on an no matter how many injuries you have has to go down as a shock result.
If Wilton beat us I wont make excuse's,I'll will be bitterly disapointed yes but just move on to the next game an chin up.No doubt if the unexpected happens to letizz and the kfc gang he will just say their are more important fish to fry and they were never gion to win the Fia junior anyway and look forward to next week.And he would be totally correct in his summing up of the situation.
We as a league/teams can only be considered above the rest if were are proving it year on year on a national or even munster scale,which we are not.None of us.I do belive we could compete with the msl senior sides but only at a local level,as soon as it goes nationwide we seem to lag behind.
Pike from limerick have had or will have to play Wembley , Carew and Fairview Utd just to reach the open rounds of the Mjc and Fai.All by the way would easily challange for the msl premier .If they do it then they have the right to say they have a chance to win either competion and be justified in saying so because they are not only beating their own to get to the open rounds.They are beating teams we would mostlike to avoid if in the open round draws if given the opertuinity.If we as the so called top sides as you say cant even get to the open draw who are we foolin.................
If as you say rebel any of our top side can throw out 11 players and get a result against another junior side then ye did'nt do it.The joys.The Wilton lads coming up to our place Saturday will not really care who plays as such because they will know that whatever 11 takes the field it will be a very strong side an they will have to be at their best to have a chance:ball:
bogwarrior
20/11/2007, 12:38 PM
Not correct on the Attitude down in Kinsale Littleman. No excuses this wknd. The FAI Junior is the one everyone wants to do well in. People may have one eye on the cup final on fri week but the management and senior players will soon put that right. This cup is what put you fellas on the map and put you ahead of Kinsale in many peoples eyes and that doesnt rest well with us. A bit of luck and Cork teams can do very well in this and why cant we win it?:eek: Yourselves got to the quarters last year.. we did it 4 years ago. Never gonna win it? Never gonna win it with an attitude like that.
The likes of Wembley/pike/carrick/fairview are all quality sides but as we have proven and yourselves have proven they can all be beaten on their day. Hopefully there'll be many of these days to come this year.
rebelrover
20/11/2007, 1:38 PM
To be beaten by a junior side from the msl when you have ideas about yourself ,no matter how great a run their on an no matter how many injuries you have has to go down as a shock result.
If as you say rebel any of our top side can throw out 11 players and get a result against another junior side then ye did'nt do it.The joys.
would ya listen to yourself littleman, and stop trying to put words in my mouth. Did i say we could beat any other junior sides?? No. I said we could beat all the other muck junior teams from the aul divisions. Big difference. Fact is DHall Premier Junior MSL would be in the top 3/4 of the aul every year. They've better players and train more often than most of the AUL prem teams. As Shilts so pertinently pointed out, a lack of any games of real intensity does not help the top aul sides when they play bettter opposition in the open rounds (including DHall)
So yes, we're disappointed to have lost to them and we'd fancy our chances if we played them again but is it a shock result, the simple answer to that is no. They beat us last year as well. And did I ever say we have ideas about ourselves?? No. We know we are capable of winning the AOH and challenging for the league in the AUL but outside that, do we fancy ourselves?? Nope.
I accept that perhaps it would be a shock result for grattan or particularly kinsale but not against any other aul team. Leeside have shown through the years that they can beat any aul teams on their day but lack consistency, therefore it could not be considered a shock result.
You may have your opinions Littlefella but thats all they are........dont try propagating them onto other people..........im still trying to figure out what u actually know about soccer apart from the secretarial duties..............some of your posts can be analytical and interesting...........others just leave me scratching my head......
littleman
20/11/2007, 1:50 PM
ahh not again ,rebel im sorry if I ready our post up the wrong way.No disrespect meant. Bog will ya read it for what it is rather than draggin the anti kfc thing into it.
therise
20/11/2007, 4:30 PM
Do i recall Leeside being humbled by a first division side a few weeks back? Douglas hall was it?
Thought that might hit a nerve alright. Apologies if i had the wrong side.
However must disagree with peoples opinions of the strength of the MSL junior prem. We've played Carrigaline, Ringmahon and Corinthians over the last year and must say the standard is much better in Prem A
let alone the Premier. Would imagine that leeside had avery off day to go out to them
As for the weekend, Littleman, really looking forward to our visit to O'Neill Park.
Billynose
20/11/2007, 4:50 PM
With whom do you play therise?
littleman
20/11/2007, 5:01 PM
rebel this is an open forum for those who have different opinions to voice those opinions and hopefully have them respected for what they are.
What or how I do anything for Grattan is neither here nor their and comes across as only a cheap throw away comment.Am I to feel guilty because we have a good side.Yourself,letizz bog or anyone else on this site could hold any position with your own clubs and it dosent effect my understanding of your posts.I offer all on this thread equal measure of respect and will only pass comment on what is posted by others..
I post my opinions here on Aul matters,all Aul matters.Within the confinds of that I pass on Grattan scores or get envolved in discussions as to who has better players /news/match reports ect,ect.I am open to all views form all clubs and as stated in the past Idont consider myself to have rosy glass's.Sometimes when it may be perceived that their may be comments of a negative nature towards a club is our answer to say an individual is lookin through rose tinted glass'es.Then rebel we are all guilty of that at some time.....................
You yourself clearly stated that the competition was not their for the top sides in the Aul and that would or could explain why they might leave.But if you were to go Msl you would go into the Msl 1st or 2nd division and then Doughlas would be another division beneath you(junior).It would still be contrived as a shock result,a hypothetical senior side beaten by a junior side.
Surely you must see my point that if we are truely to challange the Msl or at least think we as a league are improving we have to become the best at junior level first.Your point about being beatin by a top Msl junior side mearly widens the gap between us and the Msl senior because now we apperntly have to be better than their junior sides first before we can maybe hope to be able to hold our own in the MSL Senior.
I can understand your dissapointment at loosing but your club has done much to get to where it is and achiving what it has and by stating that Doughlas were on a roll simply seems as a fob off.Ye played us at the start of the season and probably ran us closer to a beatin than anyone in the league last year9except Park) if I was being perfectly honest.That is why I tipped ye to beat Doughlas hall.We beat them twice last year but at home I still fancied ye,thats why I would consider it a shock.
littleman
20/11/2007, 5:05 PM
Lookin forward to havin ye thrise.O'Neill Park should be in top form and we are lookin forward to havin a ggod game from ye.Hopefully a cracker with us edgin it haha.After the game win,loose or draw we can head to the Anglers for a pint.