View Full Version : Cork AUL 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21

pass&move
09/04/2008, 10:21 AM
Sorry lads but this is the best I can do with the tables hence the earlier deletes

Updated table after tuesdays games

Pld W D L GF GA Pts
Glenthorn Cel 12 6 2 4 22 17 20
Leeside 10 4 4 2 15 9 16
Kinsale 7 4 3 0 16 5 15
Coachford 11 3 5 3 13 13 14
Grattan Utd 7 4 2 1 20 12 14
Villa Utd 12 3 4 5 19 26 13
Park Utd 8 3 2 3 12 9 11
Ballyphehane Cel 5 3 0 2 9 7 9
Castleview 11 2 3 6 11 26 9
Kanturk 10 0 3 7 7 20 3

pass&move
09/04/2008, 10:28 AM
Wed 9th April

Premier League
Evs Kinsale
5/4 Grattan
7/2 Ballypheane
20 Leeside
25 Coachford
25 Park

Check out http://www.cashmans.ie/othersports/othersports6.html

These prices would have been made before last nights games but you can still get them today , I said earlier that you wont get a better price than 5/2 on Grattan

rebelrover
09/04/2008, 10:45 AM
5/2 on gratttan is very generous. I think the winner will more than likely come from Kinsale or Gratts. Whilst here in the island we haven't thrown in the towel, we'd realistically need to win 90% of our remaining games. With two cup semis (and hopefully finals) to come, I think that's a huge ask. Admittedly, we've played 4 of the 6 games against the "Big 3" thus far, but one best chance of silverware is either cup competition.

Was talking to a few of the leeside players and they said twas a tight game last night, Kinsale perhaps shaded it. We blooded a few younger lads up front and they'll be all the better from playing against tough seasoned campaigners like Kinsale. I'm hope to be back fit for Sunday's cup game and involved at some stage.....we'll wait and see on that one. Joe Lyons should return for sunday, which is a massive boost.

As for Nenagh Celtic lads, anyone know anything about them?

le tizz
09/04/2008, 10:59 AM
this might be a bit easier on the eye p&m
i agree with you that the grattan odds look the best bet at the moment but i wont tempt fate and bet on another team, we're certainly not giving up, especially after handing it to ye last year

i think ye won it on 41 points last year and it looks like shaping up something similar this year so there could still be 6 teams in it at the moment, i'd rather spend my energy on the pitch than comment about it on this forum but thats another story ......:mad:

on another note, a good win by wilton on the road sees them go top, fair play lads, keep it up now !

pass&move
09/04/2008, 11:54 AM
this might be a bit easier on the eye p&m
!

Cheers le tizz

thirdeye
09/04/2008, 12:31 PM
hey lads it's been a while and things are startin to hot up....before i go any further and risk forgetting i want to wish the leesiders the best of luck at the weekend...looks like the semi finals of the aoh will be contested by the top four in the league and to be honest it's anyones call on who wins what...i don't go along with grattan being the team to beat...they have dropped 7 point already and after a shocking start have had to pull two good results out of the bag but with games against park and a double header against kinsale to come i still think they are playing catch up...it's far to early for any team to have dillusions of grandeur...hope ye are listening weeman and p&m..everyone thought it would be a tough tight division this season and i haven't seen anything to suggest otherwise....a stronger league then for some time suggests a lot more points to be dropped and i don't think 41 points will be achievable

pass&move
09/04/2008, 1:05 PM
hey lads it's been a while and things are startin to hot up....before i go any further and risk forgetting i want to wish the leesiders the best of luck at the weekend...looks like the semi finals of the aoh will be contested by the top four in the league and to be honest it's anyones call on who wins what...i don't go along with grattan being the team to beat...they have dropped 7 point already and after a shocking start have had to pull two good results out of the bag but with games against park and a double header against kinsale to come i still think they are playing catch up...it's far to early for any team to have dillusions of grandeur...hope ye are listening weeman and p&m..everyone thought it would be a tough tight division this season and i haven't seen anything to suggest otherwise....a stronger league then for some time suggests a lot more points to be dropped and i don't think 41 points will be achievable

I have to agree there's a long way to go yet & also best of luck to Leeside Sunday win it for Cork

le tizz
09/04/2008, 3:20 PM
...i don't go along with grattan being the team to beat...they have dropped 7 point already and after a shocking start have had to pull two good results out of the bag but with games against park and a double header against kinsale to come i still think they are playing catch up...it's far to early for any team to have dillusions of grandeur...hope ye are listening weeman and p&m..everyone thought it would be a tough tight division this season and i haven't seen anything to suggest otherwise....a stronger league then for some time suggests a lot more points to be dropped and i don't think 41 points will be achievable

...I have to agree there's a long way to go yet

fair play boiys, keep everyones feet on the ground, we'll digest it some more come sat week, all bets could be off by then !

we've dropped 6 points now & bally join us on 6 dropped after last nights defeat so its almost a level playing field with grattan, if you take the fact that grattan have beaten bally & leeside (and villa :mad:) then i'd put ye ahead,
on form ye seem to be humming and to get so close to beating us last year i'd say ye wanna put that right so we'll be up against it next tue, getting up there thru traffic on tue evening is gonna be a battle in itself, any chance of an escort from the south link across town lads ??

might have to bring the glanza to make better time !

pass&move
09/04/2008, 4:17 PM
getting up there thru traffic on tue evening is gonna be a battle in itself, any chance of an escort from the south link across town lads ??

might have to bring the glanza to make better time !

Ye might collect a few of our lads from work on the way ha ha

therise
09/04/2008, 7:26 PM
on another note, a good win by wilton on the road sees them go top, fair play lads, keep it up now ![/QUOTE]

Cheers for the mention Le Tizz. That's 6 on the bounce now for us. So hopefully we can keep this up and see how we'd fair against the premier sides next season.

Although i suppose that may put an end to our astro turf kickabouts against ye!

bogwarrior
09/04/2008, 7:36 PM
Gutted with only coming away with a draw last nite. First half i felt we were the better team and Derek Mc was unlucky with a few attempts coupled with a few wild efforts elsewhere:eek:. Leeside didn't threaten our goal from what i recall.

Second half for the first 15 we had to weather a leeside storm. Came at us but no clear cut chance. One chance from a good move down the left is all i can recall from that period but we made a good interception and perhaps a cross or two that was dealt with by Pat Murf et al. After that it was end to end with both teams having chances. Brendan Hurley with a tremendous save from Delea after a mix up in our midfield sent him clear and again stood tall at the death for a one on one. Scully had an unbelievably free kick hit the bar and Derek Var was unlucky with a few chances. Could of went either way in the end but i do feel we shaded it.

Dont know where the walking wounded idea came from?!:confused: Ye seemed to have a lot of people on the bench lads even with a few injuries. More lads to come into that team for the weekend so i think ye can feel very confident going up to jackman park at the weekend. Nice playing surface like ye're used to.. Dont know much about Nenagh but from i reckon ye're more than capable of getting to the final no matter who the opposition and that's being genuine. Give it hell.

As for my predictions .....i'm doing ok?! Villa was the only result i got wrong last nite with a fine victory over castleview. Grattan with another good victory in the league. Taking points off of Ballyphehane was good for us anyway but a few draws now would give us a bit more breathing space!! Provided we get back to winning ways!!

Castleview on sat wont be easy but if we can match our effort last nite we cant ask for much more...well perhaps for a goal or two from midfield?!?!

littleman
09/04/2008, 7:38 PM
Before I start on the other stuff,best of Luck to Leeside in the semi's.Up the rebels.

From what I have read on this forum the people or persons who seem to air on the Grattan side an post on here do so in releation to match reports or scorelines ect ect an hav'nt said diddly squat about bein anythin because they won a couple of games in an 18 games season..It would be quite silly to start blowin our own trumpets just because wo have won a few games.To many hurldes left to jump in this grand national would'nt you say.

I'll put the us as fav's thing down to a little friendly spin doctorin from the other side of the Lee an leave it at that.Id also probably be right in sayin that all the different management of the sides who are challanging for either the league or cup would not allow there players to think for one moment that winning a league or whatever cup is goin to be easy.There are too many decent sides left in both competitions to get cocky all fo a sudden.

When the the dust settles on the last day of the season an the Aul have a Premier champion,wether they be Northside,Southside,seaside,the countryside or even Littleisland(because yer in the middle) :Dyou will be well within your rights to blow your trumpet loud as you want.But until then lets just take it one game at a time shall we.

Sorry lads , as friendly as we have all become all I can predict for Saturdays trip to Park is that we will give our all as usual an if we do enough to get a result well an good ,if not we will get on with it.;)

toepoke
11/04/2008, 2:50 PM
Pass & move isnt working today so here goes
Predictions for the wknd

Coachford A v Ballyphehane Celtic,
Park United v Grattan United A,
Castleview A v Kinsale,
Kanturk v Glenthorn Celtic A,
Premier A League
Wilton Utd A v Ballyvolane A,
Village Utd A v Blarney Street Athletic,
Macroom A v Dunbar Celtic A,

callyno3
13/04/2008, 5:18 PM
Well done leeside !!!!:) . 2-1 win. any report?? wins for gratts and kinsale coachford and glenthorn
should be an interesting one in o neill park on tues with the return fixture in kinsale on sat. with the matches coming thick n fast.
will prob see the contenders pulling away from the pack.

pass&move
13/04/2008, 6:14 PM
Well done Leeside best of luck in the final

bogwarrior
13/04/2008, 7:47 PM
Leeside 2 Nenagh 1.

Park Utd 0 Grattan Utd 2;
Castleview 0 Kinsale 5;
Kanturk 1 Glenthorn Celtic 2;
Wilton Utd 4 Ballyvolane 2;
Village Utd v Blarney Street Athletic off;
Macroom 1 Dunbar Celtic 0;
Coachford 2 Ballyphehane Celtic 0;
Leeds 1 Greenmount Rangers 0;
Springfield 1 Knockavilla Celtic 1.
Innishvilla 2 Postal Celtic 2;

Some good results over the weekend lads. Sets up for a mouth watering clash on tuesday nite. As we were heading for Castleview on sat saw o'neill park was lookin in good shape. Being rolled and everything i'm told. Fair play.

Coachford with a fine win over bally again. They'll cause teams problems. How was the game against park littleman?

Innishvilla
14/04/2008, 9:58 AM
Leeside 2 Nenagh 1.

Park Utd 0 Grattan Utd 2;
Castleview 0 Kinsale 5;
Kanturk 1 Glenthorn Celtic 2;
Wilton Utd 4 Ballyvolane 2;
Village Utd v Blarney Street Athletic off;
Macroom 1 Dunbar Celtic 0;
Coachford 2 Ballyphehane Celtic 0;
Leeds 1 Greenmount Rangers 0;
Springfield 1 Knockavilla Celtic 1.
Innishvilla 2 Postal Celtic 2;

Division 1 round up...

Innishvilla are rounding out their 1st season in the 1st division with an excellent run of form (unbeaten in 8; 5 wins & 3 draws) after drawing with fellow promoted side Postal...
Hibernians Loss to Ballincollig means mathematically safe and sound now and actually looking good for a 4th place finish.

Div looks like two 3 way battles.

Ballincollig (9 games 24 points), Douglas Hall (12 games 29 points) and Richmond (13 games 30 points) for title.

Hibernians (16 games 14 points), UCC (9 games 8 points) and Lee Rangers (15 games 16 points) for relegation (Albert's are almost done and dusted).

Also Leeside congratulations on a great result at the weekend... All the best for the final, you're keeping the cork flag flying...

le tizz
14/04/2008, 12:07 PM
just a quickie to the good folk from little island- a big congratulations to all the players and management of leeside, a tremendous win for you and cork football
ye'll have a great chance against ballynanty or aisling on home turf (surely the cross ?) in the final, delighted for you all, that said, nothing won yet so dont take the foot off the pedal now, ye have the players to do it so the very best of luck on the day ! any match reports for us lads

littleman/thirdeye/passnmove might give us some juicy goss on ballynanty seeing as they met in a previous round and they're prob the favourites to go thru from the limerick semi

see ye tomorrow night boys, good win up in park on sat (was it a comfortable 2-0 ?) keeps ye on top of us, 2 big games for both teams this week, we've even shaken off the draw buzz so you never know,we might get a winner out of the 2 sides on the night, weather looks ok and the pitch looked fine when we passed it on sat avo so game on !!

castleview struggling for players and will prob do well to see out the rest of the league going by what we saw on saturday, doesnt bode well for their survival in the prem :eek: kanturk gonna do well to get that elusive win in their remaining games, thats my bet for the bottom 2,

the winner...... i'll tell you next week :D

by the by, does the aul 5 year improvement plan involve part time players and management, who are holding down fulltime jobs and fulltime families, playing 4 games in 8 days, a lot of the time on poor playing surfaces, sometimes with no changing facilities and showers (no fingers being pointed just stating facts), often with bad referees offering little protection from on-pitch violence.......need i go on

rubbish !

tzzzzz

le tizz
14/04/2008, 1:01 PM
just on that leeside munster junior game.....
the other semi finalists are due to play a league game against each other (maybe this week), wonder would it be worth yer while going up forra look lads
i'm guessing ye'll have someone there for the semi anyway (its in jackman park this sunday as far as i know)
good to get a look at what ye'll be up against

castlebar got beaten well by carrick in the 2nd fai semi at the weekend and that leaves a carrick v killester final

we still have a bit to go before we see a cork side in a final in the national cup i think lads, i'd love to be proven wrong tho

rebelrover
14/04/2008, 1:18 PM
Match report from Jackman:

thanks for the congratulatory msgs lads. Tough game up in Jackman. Day was lovely for football, no wind and sunny skies, and the surfact was decent (not lovely, but good all the same) We got a good crowd up to suppor which was great. Went one up early through Dulea back-heel, then we gave away a silly goal before half time. We cleared the bench in the 2nd half, making 3 subs in the first 15/20mins. We then got the winner on 60 minutes. Whilst Nenagh had plenty possession in the last 20 mins, they rarely threatened our goal.

To be honest, I was expecting more from Nenagh especially for a team that has comfortably won their league in Tipp. Perhaps they just didnt play well on the day. One thing is for sure, we'll have to improve for the final. UL/B'nanty will both be very tough to beat. I know ud have to fancy B'nanty but UL beat both Michaels and Carrick by two goals already in the MJC so twil be all to play for. Tis great to have the final in Cork anyway so that might give us a fighting chance.

toepoke
14/04/2008, 6:01 PM
Congrats to Leeside, fantastic result. Ye won't fear anyone if the game is out at the cross. Great to see our league starting to show it's potential.

A good 2-0 win away to Park on Sat. to be honest we were fairly comfortable and were 2 up at halftime. created a lot of chances in the 2nd half but couldn't get the 3rd goal. Having said that park never gave up and will cause teams problems down there. Made my own comeback after being out for 7mths, got the last 15mins of the game ( still shattered )

it's all hotting up now with big games coming thick and fast. won't give any predictions for the next 2 games too close too call. see ye tomorrow night lads

le tizz
15/04/2008, 12:59 PM
Made my own comeback after being out for 7mths, got the last 15mins of the game ( still shattered )........see ye tomorrow night lads

fair play toepoke, 7 months is a good ole break, take it handy and make sure you dont go backwards with the recovery, sun's out and it promises to be a smashing evening, pitch in top nick- hopefully the traffic dont kill us on the way up there, and we get to do it all again on saturday at the seaside, bring yer buckets n shovels

le tizz
15/04/2008, 4:05 PM
just in case anyone is still at work and thinking of travelling to the game
i just heard that the game is off due to a death of someone associated with kinsale, not good for anyone but spose ya gotta look at the bigger picture

saturday it is then lads, bring a wind-sheeter for the hill

toepoke
15/04/2008, 7:17 PM
to all in kinsale sorry to hear about the death of one of your members. deepest sympathies from all at Grattan. as you say tizz it put life into perspective

see ye on Sat

Innishvilla
16/04/2008, 9:01 AM
to all in kinsale sorry to hear about the death of one of your members. deepest sympathies from all at Grattan. as you say tizz it put life into perspective

see ye on Sat

Second that Toepoke, sympathies from all involved with Innishvilla.

le tizz
16/04/2008, 9:22 AM
thanks for the kind words lads, very generous
any results from the other games last night i wonder ??
littleman seems to have gone underground so our insider information might be gone ;) wonder did villa poke a dent in the bally challenge

see ye on sat toepoke, pitch will be as good as you'll get it, bit hilly down the road end in and around the 18 yd box but the surface besides that should be grand so there'll be plenty of room to play ball, the extra couple of days rest should suit the tired legs so we'll be doggy wide of any toe'sies from you
could be shooting practice for the 2 keepers who've both got jumbo kick outs what with the wind assisitance up at the fort
any other scandal gentlemen ?? how'd ye get on last night towlie/rebel

tough game for bella out at the farm against in form wilton on sat, doesnt look good for ye bella
innish wrap up their season with 2 final games - safe in the 1st for another year- well done

pass&move
16/04/2008, 9:42 AM
sympathies to all at kinsale

Villa beat Bally 2 nil

rebelrover
16/04/2008, 10:40 AM
Glenthorn 0 Leeside 1. Wasnt at it so no match report im afraid.

Sympathies to all in Kinsale

Innishvilla
16/04/2008, 12:05 PM
Courtesy of Billy Lyons:
Premier:
Park 6 Castleview 2; Grattan v Kinsale off; Glenthorn 0 Leeside 1; Villa 2 Ballyphehane 0

Premier A:
Village 3 S'field 0; Wilton 2 Greenmount 0; K'avilla 3 Macrooom 0

There were more results but most on here seem to be premier observers...

littleman
16/04/2008, 8:06 PM
Sorry lads for not being at my post lads but between work an play there was very little time for a chit chat.

Firstly I have family down Kinsale way an was very sorry to hear of the loss of such a young lad.My sympathys an those of all of us up in O'Neill Park go out to his family an club as well.:(

Congrats to Leeside.I will be out in the Cross when the time comes to cheer ye on an any info I can pass on regardin Ballynanty just ask.;)

My early season prediction that Bally were goin to be one of the main contenders is lookin like bein the flop of the year.Villa beat them 2 nil last night an Bally only had 11 players,there manager tog'd out as 12th man.Thats 5 lost now on the trot,good bye an good night as for there challange.:eek:

Tizz,Iwill be away for a few days in the mother country an was due to only return Sat,but because I wanted to see the game so much I have secured a flight back Friday night.The lure of Amsterdam is just not strong enough.Castleview were nothin short of pityfull last Saturday an as I watched the game there was no real way of judging your performance.5 goals an it could have been another 5 such was the level of effort the View put in.Games like that actually can work against you because your not pushed for 90 mins.Saw your keepers kick outs Saturday an well,as you have said the 2 keepers could cause more trouble for themselves than any out field player.Macarthy looked the part alright,saw him play a few times with the Dale an was very impressed.

Good luck an I'll see ye in the Fort Saturday.

littleman
16/04/2008, 8:10 PM
Just a thought on the Kinsale V Grattan game.

Cant see it bein a no score draw an its all about form an confidence.

Kinsale have Varian an Macarthy,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Grattan have Jp an Danny Dunne with Figo just to add a little somtin somtin,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Towelie
17/04/2008, 8:43 AM
First of all deepest sympathys to Kinsale from all involved with Leeside.

Also less importantly,the match report from tuesday night...

We had our performance of the season on tuesday agianst a good Glenthorn side.
The football from both sides on a terrible surface out in Killowen was exceptional.
Ricky Gettings scored midway through the second half when he turned and shot from the edge of the box.

Glenthorn at home next for us and then at home again to Park next tuesday in a dress rehearsal for the AOH semi.

le tizz
17/04/2008, 9:13 AM
Tizz, I will be away for a few days in the mother country an was due to only return Sat,but because I wanted to see the game so much I have secured a flight back Friday night.The lure of Amsterdam is just not strong enough.Castleview were nothin short of pityfull last Saturday an as I watched the game there was no real way of judging your performance.5 goals an it could have been another 5 such was the level of effort the View put in.Games like that actually can work against you because your not pushed for 90 mins.Saw your keepers kick outs Saturday an well,as you have said the 2 keepers could cause more trouble for themselves than any out field player. Good luck an I'll see ye in the Fort Saturday.

fair play weeman, i enjoyed those 2 posts, i'm with you on our game last week against the view, we didnt have to sweat too hard at all and like you said it could have been more, bit of a shame that the league is all gonna be run off in a few weeks so the clubs that are out of the running will lose interest after a few goals have gone in, still in all you gotta go out and beat whats in front of you and thats the difference between kinsale for the past few years and grattan last year, staying power at this end of the season makes all the difference

take it handy in the dam and dont be bringin any scratchies back with ya, back on friday night for the match is fair committment so hats off, its tough trying to get a few days off this time of the year cause losing one or 2 fellas for a long w/e could see them missing 3 games and hurting the team, will you be able for a game on sunday morning with the killer b's after a week in the dam ?? you're fitter than me if you are

weather looks ok for the w/e, theres a foul wind blowing at the moment so hopefully that fcuks off and we get a nice calm sunny day that isnt gonna affect the promise of a good tough game up at the fort between what it looks at the moment - the 2 fancied sides for the title (if you are to believe the bookies)

dunno whats happened to ballyphehane, they've still loads to play for but like you said they've had some bad results of late, good win at glenthorn keeps leeside in with a shout too

see all ye grattan boys on sat, fingers crossed for a good day at the seaside and we'll leave the rest up to the lads on the pitch, anyone gonna chance a prediction ?? both teams are capable of freely scoring so i'm not confident on a scoreless draw, what are the chances on a repeat score like ye're game against glenthorn ?? or our game against carrigaline?? i think it'll come down to who will take their chances and a bit of a slice of luck, both teams are prob close in ability, what grattan might have more in fast football, kinsale might make up for with physical strength, i'm really lookin forward to see how it pans out

lads, seriously thanks for all the well wishes for the tragedy down here during the week, the kind words of support are very much appreciated by all in kinsale

pass&move
17/04/2008, 10:29 AM
I never got a chance to do this last week so I'll get the ball rolling early this week

Any Predictions

Premier League
Kinsale v Grattan United
Leeside v Glenthorn Celtic
Park United v Coachford
Castleview v Ballyphehane Celtic

Premier A League
Greenmount Rngrs v Ballyvolane
Wilton Utd v Springfield
Dunbar Celtic v Leeds

AUL 1
Innishvilla v Douglas Hall

Midweek predictions will follow after these games are played

le tizz
18/04/2008, 7:47 AM
lads, i popped round to the pitch last night for a look and its like a rock, a dry wind up the hill is blowing across the pitch and its made the surface very hard and its bobbly to boot down the middle- mainly due to the fact that its just so hard, bring mouldies and look after yer feet, bad boots could mangle yer feet so just some friendly advice from the seaside

doesnt look like the weather is gonna change much overnight to give us some sunshine and calm conditions, it'll prob turn the game tomorrow into a cup tie whereby the team that wants it more and/or get a slice of luck will prob come out on top

no predictions from me p&m, i've a bad history and usually jinx us so i'm stayin quiet ..... see ye tmrw :ball:....
.................................................. .................................................. .................................................. ......:ball:

bogwarrior
18/04/2008, 5:01 PM
Premier League
Kinsale v Grattan United .........Misguided optimism? Heart ruling my head? Who knows?? Cionn tSáile for me!
Leeside v Glenthorn Celtic....... Leeside to repeat their midweek victory and keep up their impressive recent form
Park United v Coachford .....Draw
Castleview v Ballyphehane Celtic.....Bally to get back to winning ways

Premier A League
Greenmount Rngrs v Ballyvolane....Draw
Wilton Utd v Springfield .....Wilton
Dunbar Celtic v Leeds......Dunbar

AUL 1
Innishvilla v Douglas Hall..... Innishvilla

pass&move
19/04/2008, 5:14 PM
Results

Premier League
Kinsale 4 v 4 Grattan United
Leeside 1 v 3 Glenthorn Celtic
Park United 3 v 0 Coachford
Castleview v Ballyphehane Celtic Playing Sunday

Premier A League
Greenmount Rngrs 3 v 5 Ballyvolane
Wilton Utd 6 v 2 Springfield
Dunbar Celtic 1 v 1 Leeds

AUL 1
Innishvilla v Douglas Hall Playing Sunday

These are off Billys blog

pecker78
20/04/2008, 9:03 PM
Hey guys!..

First of all,I would just like to congratulate everyone on this blog for making it such an interesting and topical blog!!..I'm delighted to read so many peoples passionate opinions about their clubs and I think everyone would agree that it makes interesting reading for everyone affiliated with AUL football...on that note,I would like to my perspective perfectly clear....

I've had the privilige of playing senior league and AUL football over the last 15 yrs or so(havent played in the last 2 yrs due to work commitments) and to cut a long story short,I've been plesantly surprised to see how far AUL football has come in such a short period of time.3 yrs ago,it would have been unheard of to see the likes of Leeside,gratten,Kinsale etc.(Passage/Greenmount exempted!) competing for any trophy outside of the domestic set,but to see these teams competing at a consistant level for All Ireland trophies over the last few years speaks volumes of how the standard of the league,more importantly,the teams, has improved.

But,in my opinion,what makes this achievement more impressive is that teams have improved/progressed IN SPITE of the AUL commitee/leadership!!....Let me explain,I've been keeping a close eye on Leesides performances throughout the year(mainly because I live in East Cork) and I congratulate them on reaching the MJC final,fantastic achievement by any club,(I think everyone would agree with that!)but yet,I see that when they beat Nenagh,they had to play again 2 days later on a Tuesday,the following saturday(yesterday!) and again on this Tue and Thur nite and then play next Saturday in the Semis of the AOH cup,..the blue riband trophy of AUL football.That makes 6 games in 13
days!..now I know this doesnt just apply to Leeside,I've no doubt that this predicament would happen to any team in the AUL in Leesides position but that doesnt make it right.. for example,Avondale have won the last 2 intermediate cups,when Avondale qualified for the first final,they were suppose to play UCC the following Weds. but the MSL cancelled every league fixture they had for the following 2 wks so they could prepare for the final,..that was the right to do in my opinion.The MSL realised how great it would look for their league(and Cork!) to see a Cork team lift such a prestigious trophy!..now my point is,the Munster junior cup is realistically speaking,the equivelant of the Intermediate cup for Cork AUL football(I dont think an AUL team will win the FAI for a while yet!) and they should help their team in everyway possible,but unfortunately,it looks like they are doing the opposite!...anyway,best of luck to Leeside in the final and to every other team in the Aul competing for honours this year,I look forward to hearing ye're points on this topic!...Pecker..

pass&move
21/04/2008, 7:24 AM
Results

Premier League
Castleview 2 v 3 Ballyphehane Celtic

Premier A League

AUL 1
Innishvilla 1v 2 Douglas Hall

Innishvilla
21/04/2008, 7:57 AM
Results

Premier League
Castleview 2 v 3 Ballyphehane Celtic

Premier A League

AUL 1
Innishvilla 1v 2 Douglas Hall

Wasn't at the game unfortunately as had to work, but I think the Innishvilla conceded the 2nd goal well into injury time... Good sign for Douglas Hall though, I know from last year that late goals to win games in the run in to a title push give a club/team an incredible lift.

Wee man, P&M, bog, Le Tizz et al... You're killing us 4:4 and no sign of a report......................................:eek:

toepoke
21/04/2008, 8:01 AM
some very good points you made there Pecker, would have to agree with you about the way the fixtures pile up atthe end of the season. I think to relieve the pile-up at the end of the season surely the AUL could fit more league matches in at the start of the season. 2 way's to do this are
(1) the Mossie Linnane should be straight knock out. If teams want to win it they put out a strong team and if they have an eye on 1 of the big comp's you can field your squad players.
(2) I know it's being said before but the Premier and Premier A teams should enter the AOH at the 3rd or 4th round. I know that clubs in the 1st, 2nd and 3rd might not agree but with the big guns not coming in till that stage it gives teams a decent cup run and I think a better chance of progressing even further.

I am not saying that the Premier and Premier A and too good to be in it at that stage but if we as an association are to compete on the bigger stage provincial and national we need to be looking after teams when they to the big stage. Every effort by the AUL should be made for Leeside to be able to out with their strongest side. They are up against Ballynanty who are a very good side who beat us in the QF, and will need their best team out.

bogwarrior
21/04/2008, 8:41 AM
Great post pecker. I agree with everything. I dunno bout the premier A but speaking of the premier i do think we are miles ahead of anyone else in cork football. What's the benefit of 7-8 nil wins and the ref blowing the game up after 60 minutes to either team involved?! That's happened on a number of occasions this year and it should be stopped.

Leeside have done extremely well and for them to win it would be a great boost for Cork football. Give the limerick 'big guns' something to talk about for a while. However the AUL have made it extremely difficult for them to compete on their three remiaining fronts. Leeside should be rewarded for doing so well in cup competitions and not penalised. Coming in at the 3rd round of the AOH is a superb idea and must be brought in if we are to compete on the national stage. I agree with the mossie being straight knock out. We need to cut the games from somewhere and teams aint gonna opt out of the munster/FAI junior. I still feel it's a worthwhile competition though and it gives teams an opportunity to play at turners x which not every can boast of.

The goal should be to play far more league games before christmas. This 'Silly Season' as we're calling it takes its toll on players/management and supporters! The hard ground doesnt help either with injuries coming thick and fast i would suspect! We're (Kinsale) in the same boat this week, game on sat, then tomorrow nite, then thursday nite, and then on saturday again! It's the same every year so we know what to expect but I dont think it's right. Has there been any approach to the AUL on the subject?
Have they said or tried to do anything in the past about the back log?! These are genuine questions by the by!!

As for the game on saturday this was yet another good advert for AUL football. One of the best games i have seen in a long time and as the score suggests, exciting to the very last minute. Grattan flew out of the blocks and could of been two up after ten minutes. Firstly a corner came in and i think it was their centre half who got up above everyone with a thundering header and hit the post. Should of been 1-0. Then JP put another header over the bar. Kinsale came back into the game and struck on the counter attack with a superb move finished off by Varian and set up by McCarthy. Grattan came back shortly after and made it 1-1 before Varian netted again with a superb strike to put Kinsale back in the lead. Didnt last long as Grattan pegged us back soon after and took the lead themselves to make it 3-2 at half time. We came back to make it three all through Richie Holland who was immense in the centre of midfield. Before Grattan took the lead through a thunder bolt free kick from Danny Dunne. Kinsale equalised through stretch with about ten minutes left and should of taken all 3 points with Derek Varian having 2 chances. One just lobbed over the keeper and the other he was fouled by the last man. Free was given but no sending off:confused:? Stephen funked that decision.

All in all it was a tremendous game. Grattan's four goals came from set pieces which tells it's own story. Despite appearing small they are superb in the air and the quality of ball thats put in definately helps. I was very impressed with the Gratts front two and Mark O'Sullivan in midfield who was a constant menace. Kinsale had Derek McCarthy in superb form. The man just oozes class. Ditto Richie in midfield who keeps a cool calm head no matter what the situation. Varian took his goals extremely well and both teams worked hard. Even Stephen's on the day but i'm sure Grattan will be happier with the draw than Kinsale. Two outings up at O'Neill park to come and if they're anything like the game on saturday ye should charge at the gate!:eek:

Innishvilla
21/04/2008, 8:49 AM
some very good points you made there Pecker, would have to agree with you about the way the fixtures pile up atthe end of the season. I think to relieve the pile-up at the end of the season surely the AUL could fit more league matches in at the start of the season. 2 way's to do this are
(1) the Mossie Linnane should be straight knock out. If teams want to win it they put out a strong team and if they have an eye on 1 of the big comp's you can field your squad players.
(2) I know it's being said before but the Premier and Premier A teams should enter the AOH at the 3rd or 4th round. I know that clubs in the 1st, 2nd and 3rd might not agree but with the big guns not coming in till that stage it gives teams a decent cup run and I think a better chance of progressing even further.

I am not saying that the Premier and Premier A and too good to be in it at that stage but if we as an association are to compete on the bigger stage provincial and national we need to be looking after teams when they to the big stage. Every effort by the AUL should be made for Leeside to be able to out with their strongest side. They are up against Ballynanty who are a very good side who beat us in the QF, and will need their best team out.

I have to agree with some of toepoke's suggestions... Especially the Mossie Cup. If clubs want pre-season matches well they should be exactly that, pre-season... that some clubs reach Christmas/New year with 2-3 league games played is just wrong (nothing to do with bad weather)... Every other divisional cup is straight knockout (St Michael's, Saxone and Presidents) so why is the premier division cup a league format?

Having played in lower divisions I also agree that the AOH should hold the premier & prem A teams back until the 3rd round. At least then you should see a reduction in thrashings for teams. Lets be honest how many third division teams that are struggling to field a team fancy a trip to face a top side who are just coming into form, while if you've won two rounds in a cup you probably cannot win, isn't it nice to have a "prize" of meeting one of the "big guns"...

I know the AUL don't like to postpone games at this time of the year because more and more clubs with nothing to play for just give walkovers the later the season runs but surely the aim should be to have as many league games played as early as possible...

le tizz
21/04/2008, 10:01 AM
as boggy said, end to end stuff, 8 goals and could've been more for both sides, a draw was prob a fair result but both teams will be disappointed they didnt win, grattan were the better team in the 1st half, kinsale struggled with their pace going forward and what hurt us most is the shocking defending from set pieces, and by fcuk did we give away some amount of frees (even though the ref seemed to give grattan a lot of frees for jam), we went ahead (as boggy said against the run of play), derek varian with an instinctive shot from the edge of the box that flew past the keeper after about 15 minutes, after grattan had hit the post and narrowly over from set pieces delivered to harry & then JP, we were riding our luck then the goals started ! grattan equalised soon after, a corner on the right wasnt defended very well and harry with a free header in the 6 yard box want dealt with very well by hurley in the kinsale goal who was bundled toward his goal and conceded for grattan to draw level 1-1, varian in an almost replica goal put us 2-1 up following some lightening counter attacking play, we gave away a soft free kick again delivered brilliantly by figo, half headed away by pat murph and the rebound shot in was handled by sean prior from close range, peno stuck well 2-2

a series of frees and corners on the right for grattan and not defended very well by kinsale eventually saw a cross from figo headed home by the grattan centre half not long before half time 3-2 to the grats at the break, still not over, kinsale might have felt unlucky to have gone in trailing considering leading twice and varian scaring the life out of the grattan defense on more than one occassion and richie holland cracking the post from a run & shot from the edge of the d, that said- grattan maybe deserved it on the number of good goal chances

kinsale were a different outfit in the 2nd half and threatened from the very start, varian was having a very good game and looked like scoring everytime he got the ball, kinsale in my opinion outplayed grattan in the 2nd and got rewarded following a strong run again by varian at the heart of the grattan defense- ball ricocheted to richie holland at the edge of the box and he cooly blasted past the keeper, 3-3 game on, 30 mins left
the seasiders with most of the chances now were pushing hard and grattan playing more on the break, a bad free conceded by mongo about 30 yds out gave danny dunne a chance and his powerful drive seemed to go thru the wall and beat hurley down the middle of the goal, 15 mins left and 4-3 to grats (i'm running out of steam just typing this !!) kinsale responded well and were rewarded for their hard work when stretch tapped in unmarked at the back post following a great run and cross by richie holland, varian had 2 great chances to put kinsale back in the lead, was pulled down at the edge of the box by eric with 10 mins to go, free kick given but ref bottled it and didnt even caution the grattan defender, he had to go, simple as that ! goal scoring opportunity and was pulled down when he looked certain to score, granted the grattan defender made a swing for the ball but cynical enuf and he got rewarded for it by a bad ref decision

game finished 4-4, still hold our record at the fort but def 2 points dropped
the story of the game was good attacking play and poor defending, i thought both keepers had poor games (hurley was def not up to his usual high standards), varian for me stood out more than anyone else, he terrified the grattan defense every time he got the ball and we need more games like that from him after a few falt performances, besides that richie holland also shone for the seasiders

grattan with 4 goals from set pieces so kinsale will have to look at defending high balls into the box, even as boggy said they were a smaller team but the quality of ball in was 1st class and grattan were very sharp at getting a little push on before the ball arrived and getting something out of it (tippified by JP who pushes and shoves his way around and rarely gets punished for obvious pushing- thats obviously from a kinsale perspective but i'm not one to be biased, i'll call it how i see it, i'm sure every other centre half in the league will support me in this view but fair play to him, he's a real handful)

kinsale with a much togher run in than grattan so we prob need to win most of our remaining games just to give oursleves a shot at the title decider prob up in o'neill park, our season will prob swing on 2 games up there so we'll know what we have to do

castleview tomorrow, leeside thursday, coachford sat, bally away on tue next and i think sat week is the cup semi vs grattan so we'll expect another cracker up there, i was "rested" again so brimming full of energy and hoping to get some kind of run against the bigger clubs and not a gentle trot in the meadow against the teams that might have given up already

have ye any slant on the game from a grattan perspective lads ?? did i do ye justice in my report or do ye have a different view on any of the talking points ??

leeside with somewhat of a shock result home to glenthorn, whats going on lads ? ye seem to up it for games against kinsale but then grattan & glenthorn get "handy" points off ye ..... ballynanty waiting for ye in the final so i guess thats the main focus, an aoh test drive against park tom night will give us an idea of who's going to the final against the winners of grattan and kfc (mmmmmm), park with a big win so they'll give us 2 tough league games in the run in, we've had too many draws now so 3 points from each of our next 4 games looks like a minimum of giving us a crack of grattan, they've got 2 games against kanturk and also play the view so that looks like a handy 9 points, injuries and squad size could play a part in it yet, dunno if ye're into the rotation system up in hollyhill but we seem to be sticking to the same 12/13 and if anyone gets injured now then the replacements could be a bit rusty (albeit biting at the bit for a run........are you listening coach !!):ball:

wilton win again, innish on summer holidays
pecker, toepoke has the most obvious immediate answers, we're all behind leeside in the final and will hope to be down there to support them on the day, aul is improving but a little bit to ease this crazy congestion would go a long way to making it an annual league- not something that is run off in 6 weeks in the summer

tizz out (off breath and me fingers are bleeding)
looking forward to any kind of debate or news from other camps
besta luck with the midweek games lads, i'll try to give ye an unbiased match report when i can

pass&move
21/04/2008, 12:24 PM
I have to agree with tizz & bogman on their match reports but I don't think that Grattan's defense will ever be so generous in the future (touch wood) they had a nightmare.

On the silly season issue what about summertime football Start in April play at the weekend's and Tuesday or Wednesday evenings 2 game's a week.

pass&move
21/04/2008, 12:28 PM
Any Predictions

Premier League
Grattan v Coachford
Kinsale v Castleview
Kanturk v Ballyphehane Celtic,
Leeside v Park United

Premier A League
Springfield v Ballyvolane
Blarney Street Athletic v Macroom
Greenmount Rngrs v Village Utd
Wilton Utd v Leeds

AUL 1
Ballincollig v Richmond,
Innishvilla v UCC

Innishvilla
21/04/2008, 1:00 PM
Any Predictions

Premier League
Grattan v Coachford was almost going to say draw... HOME WIN
Kinsale v Castleview Cricket score if kinsale score early
Kanturk v Ballyphehane Celtic, Bally really needs to get a run going AWAY WIN
Leeside v Park United Both with thoughts elsewhere HOME WIN

Premier A League
Springfield v Ballyvolane Bally
Blarney Street Athletic v Macroom Blarney St
Greenmount Rngrs v Village Utd Village
Wilton Utd v Leeds Wilton

AUL 1
Ballincollig v Richmond, Big, Big game here; I fancy Ballincollig for title
Innishvilla v UCC Innish should have put about 6 past the students last week so I'll back them again here

Last chance for the villa man...

toepoke
21/04/2008, 1:13 PM
jeez bog & tizz after reading those reports I feel like I just went thru the whole 90mins again. the 1st time was bad enough.

Have to agree with ye on the reports. We shaded the 1st have ye started very well in the 2nd. Our 4th came when the game seemed to be headed for a draw, but ye never gave and broke to score the 4th and ye finished the strongerVarian was class on the day, McCarthy had a very good 1st half but he ended up dropping deep in the 2nd. Brian sull who was marking was like an extra midfielder at times. agree with P&M that our defense was terrible and gifted the 3rd and 4th goal. ye are right about our goals , all set play's. lads work hard on these so to score 4 down in the FORT was a big bonus.
have to admit neither team deserved to lose and it was great to see 2 top teams going all out for the win

the result seems to favour the other teams and brings them back into the mix. Talking to the ref after the game and he was guessing that our home game could be last game since I think most of the fixtures are made out. Littleman should be able to give us any info on this.

pass&move
21/04/2008, 1:50 PM
Just heard that the view started the game with 8 & were 3 down before they had 11 any truth in this???

bogwarrior
21/04/2008, 2:00 PM
Wudnt surprise me. Last week when we beat them they had a man go off injured and couldnt replace him until a sub showed up in the second half.

Doesnt bode well for tomorro nite. Suits us down to the ground mind. Still tho.. dont like seeing it in the premier division.