View Full Version : Cork AUL 2007/08

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21

rebelrover
11/08/2007, 11:22 AM
Not much activity going on down in Leeside in pre-season. Last year's management team are gone (Eddie O Rourke and his son Paul) - id better not tell ye why on an open forum like this ;) 3 local lads after taking over (Jimmy Barr has managed the B's for the last few years and Gary Tobin managed Leeside to the AOh in 2006)

As for players, most of last years are present with the exception of one r two. To be honest though, what we need, is about 4/5 new faces to freshen things up, the squad is threadbare and needs an injection of new blood to sustain a challenge over a season....should remain competitive but they may come up just short again

11/08/2007, 7:58 PM
jesus cant believe eddie and paul are gone, shocked. Played for paul for a while enjoyed very good coach.

bogwarrior
12/08/2007, 3:55 PM
Friday friendly result:

Kinsale 5 - 1 Casement

McCarthy with 3:D

Billynose
13/08/2007, 9:35 PM
Finally got an account registered and activated after reading this and the previous thread for ages :p How did grattan get on vs Blarney? I think the top few teams in the AUL premier could go MSL senior but teams like coachford and glenthorn wouldn't do very well in MSL junior.

13/08/2007, 9:40 PM
Finally got an account registered and activated after reading this and the previous thread for ages :p How did grattan get on vs Blarney? I think the top few teams in the AUL premier could go MSL senior but teams like coachford and glenthorn wouldn't do very well in MSL junior.

That you billy lyons?

Billynose
13/08/2007, 9:51 PM
Haha, no I think hes got a good few years on me :p

14/08/2007, 8:05 AM
Haha, no I think hes got a good few years on me :p

ah well, we'd have all the info if he was on this.

anybody see the echo last night, the finalised tables and rules etc for the A.U.L. linnane cup groups too. Any idea when that starts?

callyno3
14/08/2007, 9:47 PM
ah well, we'd have all the info if he was on this.

anybody see the echo last night, the finalised tables and rules etc for the A.U.L. linnane cup groups too. Any idea when that starts?

http://bp1.blogger.com/_Bvcclb13q-4/RsCHj91g_TI/AAAAAAAAAQI/5_7lRYrL6v8/s1600-h/Linnane.jpg

startin sat week i think

littleman
15/08/2007, 6:57 AM
Saturday. Blarney Utd (MSL SENIOR) 2 Grattan Utd 3.
Tuesday . Castleview (MSL SENIOR) 0 Grattan Utd 2.

Not to tempt fate but the Gratts look to be just pickin up wheir they left off last season. ;)

15/08/2007, 7:44 AM
Togher Rovers any good?

littleman
15/08/2007, 8:17 AM
Not great to be perfectly honest.Their strugglin for a team last I heard and there was even talk that could fold.Minty Fitzgerald (Cork AUL manager) is in charge now and he might be able to sort things out a little bit but what ever he can do aint goin to be great with what he has to play with.Pity because Austin O'Connor has put a lot into that club along with Nigel,Mighty and Pa.:confused:

Billynose
15/08/2007, 11:11 AM
They(togher rovers) beat Crosshavens junior MSL team the other night 4-2. Crosshavens team were just promoted from the first division last year. Good results for Grattan would be nice to see them go a few steps further in the cups this year, they seem to have the ability.

Shilts
15/08/2007, 11:35 AM
Saturday. Blarney Utd (MSL SENIOR) 2 Grattan Utd 3.
Tuesday . Castleview (MSL SENIOR) 0 Grattan Utd 2.

Just goes to show that the top AUL sides would hold their own in the MSL Prem. Good for Grattan!

Any thoughts on the Mossie Linnane groups?
Leeside v Kinsale should be a cracking opener to the season!
Grattan V Villa a great northside derby and Ballyphehane v Coachford will tell a lot about their prospects for the season.
Do 2 teams qualify from each group (to go through to the qfs) or is it only 1 (to go through to semis)?

pass&move
15/08/2007, 12:21 PM
1 to go through to semis

15/08/2007, 12:23 PM
Just goes to show that the top AUL sides would hold their own in the MSL Prem. Good for Grattan!

Any thoughts on the Mossie Linnane groups?
Leeside v Kinsale should be a cracking opener to the season!
Grattan V Villa a great northside derby and Ballyphehane v Coachford will tell a lot about their prospects for the season.
Do 2 teams qualify from each group (to go through to the qfs) or is it only 1 (to go through to semis)?

Think Springers will beat Leeside. even though the cutting edge is gone from the game with the o'rourkes gone

littleman
15/08/2007, 12:37 PM
Their are 4 groups,top team in each group go into the semis.The semis will be run off then next.Final will probably be sometime before xmas.

Grattan v Villa,,,,,,,,,well if Grattan are handin out defeats to the MSL's top tier like theres no tomorrow I know who my moneys goin to be on.

Bally and Coachford,,,,,,,,,,, should be a good test of the southsiders ability.Coachford are'nt the greatest fooballin side but they never give up and are a very physcial side.

Leeside V Kinsale,,,,,,,,,, Leeside are down as the home team but they will have to find a pitch for this one as their pitch in Little island is under repair.If Kinsale are serious they would have to be beating Leeside.The previous post stated that Leeside might be goin through a period of change.

Macroom V Dunbar,,,,,,,Macroom should have the edge over Dunbar in this one with home advantage.

Togher V wilton,,,,,,wilton to win as togher are in trouble already.

The view V leeds.,,,,,,,,leeds are young and very quick and I fancy them to beat a slugish veiw side.

Glenthorn should beat kanturk on the AUL's only 5aside pitch.

Park should have the beatin of the northsides Bally

15/08/2007, 1:31 PM
Reckon Springfield will beat Leeside, lose to Wilton, beat togher, draw with Kinsale, 7 points.
ONly comment on the team i know bout.

littleman
15/08/2007, 2:06 PM
No doubt ya bella boy, confidence is the key,come on the springers.:D

15/08/2007, 2:11 PM
No doubt ya bella boy, confidence is the key,come on the springers.:D

:D:D........

15/08/2007, 2:17 PM
I reckon Ballyphehane from A
Ballyvolane from B (easiest group i reckon)
I suppose Kinsalke from C
Grattan from D

I'll go with Ballyphehane to win.

BTW i dont play with springers at all, did for the last 3 seasons though. Lost 4times in 2 years to Wilton, cant beat them dunno what it is, hope they do it in the Linnane, break the duct before the league.

pass&move
15/08/2007, 3:50 PM
Ballyphehane from A (dark horse Dunbar, came up unbeaten)
Park from B (Blarney St will be hard to beat)
Toss of a coin between Leeside and Kinsale from C (Wilton might surprise us if these 2 slip up)
Grattan from D (Villa maybe,away teams find the fairfield hard to get points)

15/08/2007, 3:57 PM
Our first game of the season in the mossy last year was away to Villa, we won 5-4 last minute winner, we were only up so it was a massive win for us and they were still a div ahead of us, how did villa finish last season?

pass&move
15/08/2007, 4:05 PM
They won their apeal to stay up ( v Kinsale) but I've heard they have brought back a few player's from their team that finnished 2nd the year before

littleman
15/08/2007, 4:52 PM
Their is'nt any real bankers as such.Dont get me wrong its not that i dont think Bally couldnt win it again its just I know what its like to come up to premier thinkin cause you won the mossie as a prem A team that your goin to kick ass.Dos'nt happin.

As a bettin man my money would be on Kinsale by virtue of the fact that they were champions for 4 years and Grattan just because realisticly they are probably the best junior team to come out of the county for the past I dont know how long have the best chance,but it depends on how those 2 approach the mossie,up for it or more preseason games ??????????:p

qwertyui
15/08/2007, 8:50 PM
Well f*ck me?! Grattan handing out beatings like no tomorrow! They'll definately top their group.

Coachford to pip Ballyphehane in the other group. They're tough as old boots!

Leeside to top the group of death. Sorry Bella! You seem to have a great deal of confidence- beating leeside and drawing with Kinsale?! Misguided? We'll soon see:D

As for the Park/glenthorn group- Sorry but you'll just be making up numbers!:ball:

To win... too close to call.

littleman
16/08/2007, 7:44 AM
T'is to tight ok,a lot of hard groups.But I think considering that the better sides will use it as a warm up to the Fai in mid September and that only one team comes out of each group, the competition will be better.;)

16/08/2007, 7:58 AM
Leeside to top the group of death. Sorry Bella! You seem to have a great deal of confidence- beating leeside and drawing with Kinsale?! Misguided? We'll soon see:D.

Would have confidence inbeating leeside, doont see why not they beat them lasy year 1 nil, in what was a tight game that springers easily could have won, look forward to watching it.

Soccer Fan.
16/08/2007, 9:10 AM
Back from my break at last and just checking up on all the new posts - From what I have heard so far Grattan are absolutely flying and are beating all in their way at the moment. The results against MSL sides are impressive because MSL sides do not take being beaten by junior side too well and will have tried their damm best to avoid that so they look very very impressive results for Grattan.
Mossie Linnane forecast - very much depends which teams take it seriously and not use it as pre-season games but I'd say dont discount Leeside (good cup side). and I also tend to take an extra glance when someone tells me there's not a lot happening there at the moment (does'ne sound like the Leeside lads I know)!!.HA Ha!.

littleman
16/08/2007, 10:38 AM
Ya its common for the little islanders to tell everyone their plans,probably why they dont win the league,hahahahahah

littleman
17/08/2007, 10:43 AM
Cork Examiner/Evening Echo 1 Grattan B 6

17/08/2007, 10:54 AM
Any idea when the league is startin?

Innishvilla
17/08/2007, 11:44 AM
Any idea when the league is startin?

Next weekend: The fixtures are just up on Billy's website...

On that note a lot of talk about premier divisions... Anyone here looking at AUL1?
Innishvilla don't seem as strong as last year but have some new faces in. Haven't heard about Postal who came up with us, they could be strong. Knockavilla were very strong last year. Ballincollig came down from Premier A...

Anyone any tips predictions?

17/08/2007, 12:10 PM
Next weekend: The fixtures are just up on Billy's website...

On that note a lot of talk about premier divisions... Anyone here looking at AUL1?
Innishvilla don't seem as strong as last year but have some new faces in. Haven't heard about Postal who came up with us, they could be strong. Knockavilla were very strong last year. Ballincollig came down from Premier A...

Anyone any tips predictions?

Ballincolllig should do ok there id say. We played them twice last year two total different teams palyed us, with all there teams prob alot of teams being stuck so on.

littleman
17/08/2007, 12:22 PM
Thats ok Bella,Your not the first to experience the Curse of the Gunpowder Mills(a team with 11 totally different players for each game).

There are spooky places in Cork where its been said that guys have been seen to play with whatever team they want to(dependin on whos short on sun mornin of course).But it has never be proven.It also is said that both Passage and Shanbally suffer from the same curse,As far as I know the Xfiles section of the AUL is lookin into it.It also strikes parts of the Norhtside and Southside but strange it only seem to happen on Sundays.

You see on Saturdays the first team of each club is protected by magic so they can have the same players each week,hahahahahahahahah:D

17/08/2007, 1:52 PM
Thats ok Bella,Your not the first to experience the Curse of the Gunpowder Mills(a team with 11 totally different players for each game).

There are spooky places in Cork where its been said that guys have been seen to play with whatever team they want to(dependin on whos short on sun mornin of course).But it has never be proven.It also is said that both Passage and Shanbally suffer from the same curse,As far as I know the Xfiles section of the AUL is lookin into it.It also strikes parts of the Norhtside and Southside but strange it only seem to happen on Sundays.

You see on Saturdays the first team of each club is protected by magic so they can have the same players each week,hahahahahahahahah:D

The curse of saturday night, we play alll our home games sunday morning, we had a team in the cup they were sayin it was there first sunday mornin game all season(10.45) kick off, at half time two of their players were gawkin mad:(, needless to say we ended comfortable winners,

on that point i think thre is a fair difference in levels of professionalism in prem and prem A in comparison with all lower clubs

Innishvilla
17/08/2007, 2:08 PM
The curse of saturday night, we play alll our home games sunday morning, we had a team in the cup they were sayin it was there first sunday mornin game all season(10.45) kick off, at half time two of their players were gawkin mad:(, needless to say we ended comfortable winners,

on that point i think thre is a fair difference in levels of professionalism in prem and prem A in comparison with all lower clubs

It varies a bit from team to team, about 3 year ago we asked to have the majority of our home game on a Saturday just to see how we'd get on, found it awkward as guys had work etc and you would meet teams that on a Sunday morning you'd wipe the floor with them while Saturday they'd all be fresh as a daisy and mad up for games...

To be honest in the AUL now to win anything in any division there has to be sacrifice... The difference between the top sides and lower division sides training wise is that if you start easing off in prem/prem A and nowadays 1st div too you'll get found out very quick... While once you get through the first month or two in the lower two you can ease off and not get found out quite as quickly...

littleman
17/08/2007, 3:37 PM
Ya,our first side are very well run an to a player 100% commited,watch what they do the night before games,turn up for games bang on time ,train hard and listen to every word the gaffer say like its gospel:D

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,our second team need physcio help,about 9 or 10 train, turn up 20 mins before home games ,out all night and listen to know one except the voices in their heads,we call um the MP'S(MUPPETS AND PUPPETS,CAUSE SOME NEED TO BE CONTROLED AND SOME NEED A HAND UP THEIR ARSE TO BE ABLE TO PLAY BALL). If you stitched the ball on to some of them they still would'nt be able to control it.I dont know how they manage to get dressesd never mind play but they seem to love it.:D

Do'nt get me wrong,their great lads just away in fairy land when it comes to commitment and understanding of what you need to win games/leagues and cups.:confused:

alansmithccfc
17/08/2007, 6:46 PM
Ya,our first side are very well run an to a player 100% commited,watch what they do the night before games,turn up for games bang on time ,train hard and listen to every word the gaffer say like its gospel:D

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,our second team need physcio help,about 9 or 10 train, turn up 20 mins before home games ,out all night and listen to know one except the voices in their heads,we call um the MP'S(MUPPETS AND PUPPETS,CAUSE SOME NEED TO BE CONTROLED AND SOME NEED A HAND UP THEIR ARSE TO BE ABLE TO PLAY BALL). If you stitched the ball on to some of them they still would'nt be able to control it.I dont know how they manage to get dressesd never mind play but they seem to love it.:D

Do'nt get me wrong,their great lads just away in fairy land when it comes to commitment and understanding of what you need to win games/leagues and cups It will all change when I get in there :D

bogwarrior
18/08/2007, 12:47 PM

You seem to be making light of it here whereas in earlier posts u were 'disgusted' with Kinsale for fielding 1 inelligible player...

Do i detect a hint of an anti Kinsale bias?!

littleman
19/08/2007, 7:21 PM
Na,just thought it was funny,we played them twice as well this year and they had totally different sides for the 2 games.:D

The Kinsale thing was brainless.The ref who sent the guy off against Grattan ref'd their next game against the Villa.What did they think ,he was'nt goin to remember the guy who he sent off in the last game.Pure thick.I only did'nt like it from Kinsale cause they were champs and I thought it was bad form for the champs to pull a stunt like that:cool

pass&move
20/08/2007, 7:51 AM
This is taken from Billys blog (Togher folded, Castleview go Premier, Knockavilla go Premier A and Killumney go to AUL 1 ).

20/08/2007, 8:20 AM
where does that leave the teams who have them in Linnane Cup? Didnt think castleview finished third well done to them, lucky break, how bad, thats what its all about.

20/08/2007, 8:22 AM
Not great to be perfectly honest.Their strugglin for a team last I heard and there was even talk that could fold.:

You heard it here first. :)

20/08/2007, 9:33 AM
I think Knockavilla will just replace Togher in the Mossie

would be the sensible thing alright, are they any good

pass&move
20/08/2007, 9:34 AM
I think Knockavilla will just replace Togher in the Mossie

Innishvilla
20/08/2007, 10:39 AM
would be the sensible thing alright, are they any good

They are not a bad side at all... They finished runners up to Dunbar Celtic in AUL 1 they won the St Michaels cup and won the County cup as well last year so they have to be one of the strongest Division 1 sides... I do know they had put a huge effort into getting to Prem A last year. There were some rumors that if they got up there were a good few Bandon MSL players looking to join, but I think that fell thru when they didn't make it at the end of last season...

I think the Mossy is just a straight Kinckavilla for Togher swap, Castleview stay in their section...

littleman
20/08/2007, 8:07 PM
The AUL seem to be makin a bigger effort.One whole division gone in the 3rd.

Terrible pity about Togher,another good club gone.Thanks for the memorys.:(

littleman
20/08/2007, 10:36 PM
Heard Patsy has jacked in Castleview Msl once and for all.Left after the Grattan defeat.They looked poor against the Gratts and that was supposed to be their top side,dose'nt say much for the side just promoted to Premier.Might be a short visit.

Blarney Street would have been a better option.

St Marys MSL 0 Grattan 2, friendly played Saturday.

pass&move
21/08/2007, 7:37 AM
Saw this game ,nothing friendly about it.

21/08/2007, 9:33 AM
went back to Springers, would give anything to play leeside the weekend not sure what the story is with registration, wont start either way because i havent trained with them all summer, but would love 20 mins. Cant wait for the season to start.

is there midweek games next week.