View Full Version : Cork AUL 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21

29/08/2007, 12:19 PM
da wilts

jesus thats a bad result for ye really isnt it?

Towelie
29/08/2007, 1:15 PM
Leeside were up against it when their keeper was sent off after 15 mins.
Delea was sent off midway through the second half and another red carded after the game and the sad thing about it is it was a very sporting game with no dirty tackles.The standard of refereeing in the league really is terrible.
Wilton are a good side I have seen them a few times and they play some neat football.What happened in the springers knockavilla game?

29/08/2007, 1:19 PM
Delea was sent off midway through the second half and another red carded after the game and the sad thing about it is it was a very sporting game with no dirty tackles.The standard of refereeing in the league really is terrible.
Wilton are a good side I have seen them a few times and they play some neat football.What happened in the springers knockavilla game?

I'd imagine knockavilla will get the points, they were 1 up, although because the game only lasted 15 mins, not even id say, could be replayed. Wilton are good team, and can be physical when they need ta too.

Innishvilla
29/08/2007, 3:43 PM
I'd imagine knockavilla will get the points, they were 1 up, although because the game only lasted 15 mins, not even id say, could be replayed. Wilton are good team, and can be physical when they need ta too.

Very seldom would points be awarded after only 15 minutes play...
Was it a violent incident or an injury ended the game early?

29/08/2007, 4:53 PM
Very seldom would points be awarded after only 15 minutes play...
Was it a violent incident or an injury ended the game early?

Vioolent incident best describes it,

callyno3
29/08/2007, 5:26 PM
Vioolent incident best describes it,

on who's part? which side ? The other team will prob get the points

qwertyui
29/08/2007, 5:57 PM
Ah jeeze bella i'm dying for a bit of gossip! Go on....:D

On the leeside front- good result for wilton. Nice footballing side even if it was against nine men. If the springers get a result against Kinsale on sunday that group will be all to play for!

Predictions

therise
30/08/2007, 8:15 AM

Just to clarify. I watched this game and Delea was sent off in INJURY TIME for two bookings within a minute. First for a bit of a scuffle and a minute later he gave the ref no choice when he booted the ball away in frustration when a goal kick was awarded. The goal keeper was unlucky. Ran from his box to close down incoming striker but was late and took him down. No intent but he was the last man and it was a definite goal scoring opportunity. No idea what happened after the game.Credit to Leeside though who put in a good hard working performance for 75 mins with 10 men.

30/08/2007, 11:00 AM
Ah jeeze bella i'm dying for a bit of gossip! Go on....:D

On the leeside front- good result for wilton. Nice footballing side even if it was against nine men. If the springers get a result against Kinsale on sunday that group will be all to play for!

Predictions

one of our players attacked the referee.

Predictions, dont see why we cant catch kinsae, nothing to lose.

Billynose
30/08/2007, 12:04 PM
That's pretty disgraceful. It also probably spells the end of the players time playing AUL.

littleman
30/08/2007, 6:36 PM
Bella I dont condone what happened during your game ,but with the standard of refin bein so bad I'm just surprised it don't happen more.

Auto 12 month ban,no appeal and more to follow dependin on who was refin it and how the AUL view it.

On a lighter note a few funny results comin in,the Veiw have 2 good wins,Village being beatin at home.Dunbar are flyin.Leeside's shock loss to Wilton.Wilton are a good side mind but if Leeside are loosin games like that it dos'nt say much for their league chances and with 2 players gone for the next game at least.

Bella instead of comin on at half time you might start the next one.

Any predictions for the weekend.Mossie or otherwise.:ball:

30/08/2007, 8:21 PM
That's pretty disgraceful. It also probably spells the end of the players time playing AUL.

Its terrible, our hole team were disgusted. Big ban coming alright.

Bella I dont condone what happened during your game ,but with the standard of refin bein so bad I'm just surprised it don't happen more.

Auto 12 month ban,no appeal and more to follow dependin on who was refin it and how the AUL view it.

On a lighter note a few funny results comin in,the Veiw have 2 good wins,Village being beatin at home.Dunbar are flyin.Leeside's shock loss to Wilton.Wilton are a good side mind but if Leeside are loosin games like that it dos'nt say much for their league chances and with 2 players gone for the next game at least.

Bella instead of comin on at half time you might start the next one.

Any predictions for the weekend.Mossie or otherwise.:ball:

The referee was very good to be fair, he gave the player at least 4 or warning to zip it, told the manager take him off the lot, if our manager took him off there would have been same sort of trouble id say,couldnt win and it looked like he gotten over it but just took off then. Poor ref looked well shook. disaster really, but we'll be doing our best to move on.

30/08/2007, 8:25 PM
In the lower tiers i expect a big season from our second team, last years captain dropped down, due to commitments;), they signed our ex manager mossy mahony, still a great player, would be dominating if he was in prem a league, fact. Two good CB's, should do alot better, they have a very good manager to in peter rowe, very good trainings.

littleman
30/08/2007, 8:47 PM
The thing is Mr Thompson is one of the better refs so yer man will get hammered,be best for the club if they jump the gun slightly before the AUL get envolved and wipe their hands of the player as a statement like.Just to make it a bit easier on your club.

Happened with Kinsale a few seasons back as well and they were quick to get rid of yer man and the AUL took that into consideration before the **** hit the fan so to speak.

Ref's drive ya mad,so dose your wife,your boss and your kids and they think their always right as well.But where would we be if we started hittin them to,jobless an homeless.

Gene Stephens,Finbarr Murphy,Damien O'Mahony,Eddie McNally and Tony and John Thompson,and John Lyne are top refs who try to talk to a player rather than send him off.Tom Tully's bark is worse than his bite but he's fair enough really.A good few others are ok as well but their are far to many ****e one's.You know who I'm talkin about as well.

God be the days when Derry Barret (RIP, a true gent and the best ref I have ever had the plesure to see in the game.) or Mr Football Tony Hennessey refereed,a pleasure to take to the pitch with,new the game inside/out because they played at the top and the players on the pitch had great respect for them.

Marco
30/08/2007, 9:25 PM
Hi Lads

Any chance ye guys have some contacts for your club that I could call, i.e club secretary. ladies team etc. Would you mind PM with any numbers. Thanks.

Innishvilla
31/08/2007, 7:58 AM
I agree with Littleman Thompson is a pretty decent ref so the s**t will hit the fan there...

On the standard of refs I know we all have some bad stories and can all point out bad referees, but lets be honest, they do a job that very few others are willing to do... Every year you see clubs getting requests to send people for referee training courses, very seldom do you get volunteers lining up for the course.

I coached an U12 team while recovering from injury a few years ago and ended up refereeing one or two challenge matches, feic me it was incredibly tough, the offside is brutal to call from a distance away and that was U12's who haven't learned all the dirty tricks yet...

I agree in an ideal case we would all get referees of the caliber that Littleman mentioned, but until more people/players get interested/involved there will be poor referees out there...

Soccer Fan.
31/08/2007, 8:35 AM
I agree with Littleman Thompson is a pretty decent ref so the s**t will hit the fan there...

On the standard of refs I know we all have some bad stories and can all point out bad referees, but lets be honest, they do a job that very few others are willing to do... Every year you see clubs getting requests to send people for referee training courses, very seldom do you get volunteers lining up for the course.

I coached an U12 team while recovering from injury a few years ago and ended up refereeing one or two challenge matches, feic me it was incredibly tough, the offside is brutal to call from a distance away and that was U12's who haven't learned all the dirty tricks yet...

I agree in an ideal case we would all get referees of the caliber that Littleman mentioned, but until more people/players get interested/involved there will be poor referees out there...

The Referee's are in a no win situation - it is rarely both teams feel he has done a decent job however that in itself does not mean he had a bad game - it is when both teams say it "thats when he has had a stinker"!.
My qripe with Ref's is that they keep upping their expenses every year and I struggle to see the standard improving!!. Now dont get me wrong there are some good Ref's out there but for every one there are 3 bad!!.
How to solve the problem?? - Well my shot off it would be a grading scale the experienced/higher graded Ref's get the best money and the less experienced/new/low graded Ref's get the least and that will encourage them to improve!. There are too many Ref's out there just turning up at games and getting the job done , collecting the money and running away to the next game in the knowledge that they are protected by the God's at the top table of the Referee's assocciation!!!

31/08/2007, 10:33 AM
So do we still think that we wont get a replay, it was only team(player) involved but i still think it wont be replayed.

Innishvilla
31/08/2007, 12:00 PM
So do we still think that we wont get a replay, it was only team(player) involved but i still think it wont be replayed.

Hard to say but my guess is that if a member of a club attacks the ref, the club as well as the player will end up being punished. Hopefully that just means forfeiting the game rather than anything else... :confused: Oh yeah and the player is gone for a year minimum...

Soccer Fan.
31/08/2007, 3:34 PM
Your team will forfeit the 3 points with probably a fine for not being able to keep your player in control. The player will get a minimum of 2 years and that is without any chance of winning an appeal toward the end of his ban to get him back a little early. This is how serious they view any assault on a Refreee and believe me they will at a minimum do the above to your club and player - That is the minimum remember!!. :(

littleman
31/08/2007, 7:40 PM
The minimum wage is just over a fiver an hour after tax.
Skilled workers get between 20 to 30 euro's an hour after tax.
Ref's get between 42 and 52 euro an hour an a half ,tax free.

In any type of job if the service you provide is not up to scratch and you charge top dollar,or euro then your goin to go bust.

We are being held over a barrell basically.If we dont pay the money then they wont ref.

They should have at least some kind of scale in place so that clubs are not payin for a sheeite service.And no I dont mean senior and junior refs.I mean a scale/level for refs themselves to reach before they can ref at a higher level.In this way clubs can be happy in the knowledge that skill wise the referee doing what ever level game will be up to scratch.

31/08/2007, 8:05 PM
The minimum wage is just over a fiver an hour after tax.
Skilled workers get between 20 to 30 euro's an hour after tax.
Ref's get between 42 and 52 euro an hour an a half ,tax free.

In any type of job if the service you provide is not up to scratch and you charge top dollar,or euro then your goin to go bust.

We are being held over a barrell basically.If we dont pay the money then they wont ref.

They should have at least some kind of scale in place so that clubs are not payin for a sheeite service.And no I dont mean senior and junior refs.I mean a scale/level for refs themselves to reach before they can ref at a higher level.In this way clubs can be happy in the knowledge that skill wise the referee doing what ever level game will be up to scratch.

If the pay is so good why is there a constant shortage of Refs up and down the Country?

littleman
31/08/2007, 8:16 PM
There is a shortage of good refs not refs in general.More has to be done with the existing refs themselves to help develope their internal standard.Most leagues have enough refs.Its the bad ones that draw all the attention and then to try to help the situation the individual leagues commitee's and referees commitees ask for more people to get envolved and instead of helpin the ref's we have to get better we dump more raw ones onto the stage.:ball:

gaffer33
31/08/2007, 9:21 PM
I'm sure BELLA will come good,hearing good things bout him.dats all though,just hear say...:rolleyes:

outside in
02/09/2007, 8:10 AM
if bella gets his chance he'll take it....note to rest of da leauge..watch out

02/09/2007, 12:08 PM
told ya so. We beat kinsale 1 nil, great free kick by trevor o'rourke. We were well worth our win didnt stop running and working hard for the 90. And we missed a peno in the first half.

outside in
03/09/2007, 11:23 AM
went down to watch springers game to see for myself if bella was any good .. great team performance great goal but bella stil not off da mark!!!!!!

03/09/2007, 11:39 AM
went down to watch springers game to see for myself if bella was any good .. great team performance great goal but bella stil not off da mark!!!!!!

i know didnt really have a chance, how do you know who i am?

gaffer33
03/09/2007, 3:30 PM
You got your transfer sorted so i see,BM....;)

03/09/2007, 3:39 PM
You got your transfer sorted so i see,BM....;)

Correct, damage starts now! :D:D

outside in
03/09/2007, 5:28 PM
i know didnt really have a chance, how do you know who i am?
i have my spies!!!! just a bit of here say around da town:::D

03/09/2007, 5:33 PM
i have my spies!!!! just a bit of here say around da town:::D

Fair enough so i suppose

outside in
04/09/2007, 8:26 AM
There is a shortage of good refs not refs in general.More has to be done with the existing refs themselves to help develope their internal standard.Most leagues have enough refs.Its the bad ones that draw all the attention and then to try to help the situation the individual leagues commitee's and referees commitees ask for more people to get envolved and instead of helpin the ref's we have to get better we dump more raw ones onto the stage.:ball:
well said wee man

littleman
05/09/2007, 7:10 AM
That was a crackin result Bella. With Kinsale an Leeside drawin if ye get the replay for the game that was abandonded will ye go through.

Soccer Fan.
05/09/2007, 8:01 AM
Popped down to Kinsale to have look at Kinsale and Leeside last night, Was a really good tough game between two physical sides, no quarter given nor asked for!.It finished Nil all but Kinsale should definetely have won they created the better chances but look like they are trying out a few things before the season starts proper I'd say. Leeside will also be a challenger this year, they look a more determined outfit than I've ever seen and my spy told me at the game that they have a very big panel this year (what did I read in earlier posts about Leeside having only the bare 14/15) OH yeah I must ignore that - those Leeside boys are cute wh--es!!!.

Innishvilla
05/09/2007, 9:10 AM
That was a crackin result Bella. With Kinsale an Leeside drawin if ye get the replay for the game that was abandonded will ye go through.

Player attacked ref... can't see them getting a replay. Don't forget the Denmark fan that attacked the ref, 3:0 awarded to Sweden; I would think they'd take an even sterner view with a player involved...
Results now look like Wilton are top of that group???
What about other groups?
Ballyphehane are flying...
Park have 3 wins from 3.
Not enough games played in last group...

Towelie
05/09/2007, 10:01 AM
Popped down to Kinsale to have look at Kinsale and Leeside last night, Was a really good tough game between two physical sides, no quarter given nor asked for!.It finished Nil all but Kinsale should definetely have won they created the better chances but look like they are trying out a few things before the season starts proper I'd say. Leeside will also be a challenger this year, they look a more determined outfit than I've ever seen and my spy told me at the game that they have a very big panel this year (what did I read in earlier posts about Leeside having only the bare 14/15) OH yeah I must ignore that - those Leeside boys are cute wh--es!!!.

It was a good game alright.Leeside will have a panel of about 16 but players from the second team will be given chance under the new management.I think a draw was a fair result.Kinsale probably created more clearcut oppurtunities(Varian and McCarthy are very dangerous players),but Leeside could have won it late on.
Fascinating season ahead if these two and Ballyphehane can take a few results off Grattan.

05/09/2007, 11:05 AM
Ballyphehane are class. A team i really like for some reason, play footbal big time and they beat us 5-0, and 1-0 twice. But they never turned dirty or changed there style. Did they beat Grattan? After playing the top 3 in the last years(Grattan, Leeside and Kinsale recently) I think Ballyphehane could really challenge more and capable o beating kinsale and leeside, thought they will struggle against grattan though.

Second thing is we havent asked and dont exppect our game to be replayed, pity though we could have made a name for ourselves if we beat knockavilla and wilton, which were more than capable of doing.

Beatin kinsale was a very good result for us alright but nothing to get carried away about. We've wilton next week played them 3 or 4 times last year, never won, there our bogey team big time!

littleman
05/09/2007, 12:07 PM
The Mossie is what it is,a pre season run about.Its just for gettin ready for the league.Funny results will happen but I would'nt read to much into them.

Leeside and Kinsale along with Bally are all goin to want to try to knock the Gratts off their perch.That said the Gratts are goin to wan't to keep on to it so I think its goin to be a belter of a season.

If the teams improve then our chances on the Fai and Mjc might follow suit,maybe even the Oscar Traynor.;)

therise
05/09/2007, 5:42 PM
Player attacked ref... can't see them getting a replay. Don't forget the Denmark fan that attacked the ref, 3:0 awarded to Sweden; I would think they'd take an even sterner view with a player involved...
Results now look like Wilton are top of that group???
What about other groups?
Ballyphehane are flying...
Park have 3 wins from 3.
Not enough games played in last group...

I believe if Wilton beat Springfield they top that group and it looks like Park, Ballyphehane and Castleview from the other groups.

outside in
05/09/2007, 7:59 PM
I believe if Wilton beat Springfield they top that group and it looks like Park, Ballyphehane and Castleview from the other groups.
i think they will . they look a lot better this season

06/09/2007, 1:36 AM
i think they will . they look a lot better this season

Who look alot better?

littleman
06/09/2007, 6:40 AM
A final twist might still occur if the View dont get a result against the Village boys next Tuesday.Village will want to get a win in the group at home and pride is a great motivator.The Gratts would have to win their last 2 games well to go through,but the Veiw must be fav's.

Park and Bally look dead certs and Wilton look good too.

Semi Draw maybe.

Castleview
WIilton
Ballypheane
Park

Could the Bally boys be headin for a hatrick of Mossie's:D

Innishvilla
06/09/2007, 8:06 AM
Could the Bally boys be headin for a hatrick of Mossie's:D

How would they be on for that? Bally won it last year but wasn't it Kinsale the year before? I'm sure Bally were in the 1st division...

outside in
06/09/2007, 9:34 AM
Who look alot better?
wilton class out fit:D

littleman
06/09/2007, 10:38 AM
whoops innish,your bang on,Kinsale beat Passage.The Bally boys if they do win the Mossie will have won it 2 years in a row.They won the St Micheal's 2 years ago so its kind of a hat trick.:o

Soccer Fan.
06/09/2007, 10:57 AM
Don't be so fast at writing off Springfield - If Kinsale and Knockavilla draw - and If the Springers can beat Wilton then they can go Thru'. With teams using the M/Linnane as pre-season games anything can happen on the last day!!. Come on the Springers!!.
I agree that Ballyphenane, Castleview and Park look good for the Semi - Final but the Wilton group - Not so Sure!!!!!.

littleman
06/09/2007, 2:23 PM
Nothin would surprise me at this rate with some of the results that have been comin in from the 2nd and 3rd round of games.What ever about Park and Bally goin through the other 2 groups ar'nt sorted yet.

thirdeye
07/09/2007, 8:41 AM
i think you said it before wee man but i don't think the players get up for this competition. If teams do well then fine but if not then so be it. Thats why in my opinion most seasons you see "unfashionable teams" contesting this troophy. also I agree that Cork football seems to be at a high at the moment and capable of competing at the highest level despite the senior/aul debacle.
It seems preperation and coaching has improved big time and from management level it seems to have caught the players imagination and they are taking it on board. there were too many "journey men" managers doing the rounds in the cork aul who offered nothing or very little who have been replaced by eager commited guys. Just my opinion.

Innishvilla
07/09/2007, 9:07 AM
i think you said it before wee man but i don't think the players get up for this competition. If teams do well then fine but if not then so be it. Thats why in my opinion most seasons you see "unfashionable teams" contesting this troophy. also I agree that Cork football seems to be at a high at the moment and capable of competing at the highest level despite the senior/aul debacle.
It seems preperation and coaching has improved big time and from management level it seems to have caught the players imagination and they are taking it on board. there were too many "journey men" managers doing the rounds in the cork aul who offered nothing or very little who have been replaced by eager commited guys. Just my opinion.

I agree on the management front. There is more to it that having players fit from laps and giving an old fire and brimstone speech before the game... A good team with a good shape about them will beat a team of great players with poor organization 9 times out of 10...