View Full Version : Cork AUL 2007/08
Pages :
[
14]
Yoda01
11/02/2008, 2:25 PM
I'd said to myself I'll take a while to think about this one because with the comments posted by the Casltlebar lad I knew thier would be a reaction . Its hard enough goin out on penos without havin it rubbed in your face and I did'nt want it to take away from the game itself.
To be very honest we knew Castlebar were a good side and had'nt conceeded a goal in the Fai yet so we also knew it was'nt goin to be easy to break down.Nothin is at this stage.We started very brightly and had them on the back foot for 25 or so mins.They were takin no prisioners in the last 30 an we had 4 good direct free chances which we tryed to test their keeper with.Goldsmith made a great break then an one on one the keeper made a fine save.We stepped of the gas for the last 15 an our keeper had to save a one on one before we let them come into the game an we gave away a very soft goal.Our own fault.The ref i thought was very leanient ot the Castlebar lads if anything because they made 3 or 4 terrible tackles alone on Cans.As I said they had a game plan,more power to them and we bore the brunt of some very late challanges for which yellows were not given so I really dont know where 352 is comin from.
The second half was them soakin it up again an again an attackin on the break,which they were good at in fairness.The 3 sendin offs were fairly straight forward accordin to the ref.The first for them,their player was on a yellow an mis controled the ball and when we broke he tripped our player,second yellow gone.Then we really put them under pressure an had 7 corners in the last 15 mins the last of which we managed to beat their keeper only for their center half to clear it with his hand,peno an straight red.Thats them down to 9 men an us with a peno to be taken with 2mins left.Figo was trying to place the peno when a Castlebar player kicked the ball from his hands,Figo pushed him away an the ref sent Figo off.Madness on the part of the official,he lost it big time.He should have booked them both an told them to cop on and if I was to be cynical I'd say Castlebar knew what they were doin at the time.
Jp put the peno away an we went into extra time where we knew with the extra man we could win it and we battered them for the 20 mins with them just hoofin it away and tryin to catch us on the break.We tryed an tryed but we just could'nt put it in the back of the net.Even when it went to penos we thought we could still do it .Smithy got his hands to their first an it just dribbled over the line and the rest is history.We played great stuff but it counts for nothin because they won.
We have all played in those games where you give 110% and still end up loosin,football can pat you on the back in one second an kick ya in the rollers the next.We had the luck in the penos against New Ross,it was'nt their Saturday.We went back to the Anglers to lament what could have been an drank the night away happy in the knowledge of what might still be.You dont always get what you deserve from a game and Castlebar know they got out of jail with this one.I have no problem with them because you cant account for what some individual might write .Best of luck to Caslebar in the next round,the Gratts have still a lot to play for.
thats a very honest and fair assesment littleman, hard luck on saturday but hopefully ye will take something from this defeat that might stand to ye next year.
Shilts
11/02/2008, 4:18 PM
Unlucky Grattan! Good show again in the open rounds.
Now the AUL season really starts with all the big boys still in the AOH Cup, and with a long league campaign to be shortened into 15 weeks. (Kinsale have only played 1 league game by Valentines again!)
Crazy Football, but its the same for all the contenders!
pass&move
12/02/2008, 7:56 AM
Any Predictions
AOH Cup 3rd Round
Ballyphehane Celtic v Rathcoole Rovers A
Grattan United A v Greenmount Rangers A
Wilton United A v Dunbar Celtic A
Killowen v Kanturk A
AOH Cup 4th Round
Rylane Celtic v Ballyvolane A
Blarney St. Athletic v Ballincollig A
Dillon's Cross v Glenvale
Ballintotis v Villa United
Premier League
Kinsale v Glenthorn Celtic A
Park United A v Castleview A
Coachford A v Leeside A
Premier A League
Macroom A v Springfield A
Village Utd A v Leeds
Innishvilla
12/02/2008, 1:44 PM
Any Predictions
AOH Cup 3rd Round
Ballyphehane Celtic v Rathcoole Rovers A Bally
Grattan United A v Greenmount Rangers A Gratts
Wilton United A v Dunbar Celtic A Wilton
Killowen v Kanturk A Kanturk
AOH Cup 4th Round
Rylane Celtic v Ballyvolane A Very close rylane are flying... Home win
Blarney St. Athletic v Ballincollig A Blarney St
Dillon's Cross v Glenvale Dillon's Cross (Glenvale only just beat us last week 2:1 we had only 10 don't ask!!!:()
Ballintotis v Villa United Vital for Villa's season away win
Premier League
Kinsale v Glenthorn Celtic A Who'd bet against the seasiders at home??? Not me
Park United A v Castleview A Park
Coachford A v Leeside A Draw
Premier A League
Macroom A v Springfield A Come on Springers Bella's back
Village Utd A v Leeds Village looking good
Seeing as I did fairly well last week :confused:
Towelie
12/02/2008, 2:36 PM
Leeside dont have a very good record away
to Coachford hopefully that will change this
weekend. Overall this could end up being one
of the most closely fought premier leagues
in years.
toepoke
12/02/2008, 6:18 PM
[quote=pass&move;875547]Any Predictions
AOH Cup 3rd Round
Ballyphehane Celtic v Rathcoole Rovers A - Bally
Grattan United A v Greenmount Rangers A - Gratts
Wilton United A v Dunbar Celtic A - Tough one - home win
Killowen v Kanturk A - Kanturk
AOH Cup 4th Round
Rylane Celtic v Ballyvolane A - rylane very good at home - home win
Blarney St. Athletic v Ballincollig A - Blarney St.
Dillon's Cross v Glenvale - Dillon's
Ballintotis v Villa United - Villa to scrape thru
Premier League
Kinsale v Glenthorn Celtic A - kinsale to get the season back on track
Park United A v Castleview A - park
Coachford A v Leeside A - Draw
Premier A League
Macroom A v Springfield A - draw
Village Utd A v Leeds - Village
le tizz
14/02/2008, 11:11 AM
its all gone quiet, are fellas trainin their heads off or what
how's life in the prem and around after last weeks football maddness
we shipped 3 goals to a carrig team that didnt have a shot on goal besides
one og, one complete mess up by our defense and a hoser of a free kick that brought it level with 5 minutes left, to be fair they played most of the football in our half in the 2nd half and we seemed happy to go thru the motions and hope for a break away up the other end
our defense (including midfielders) needs a kick in the hole for giving away chances and unnecessary free kicks in dangerous positions
we seem to have lost a bit of the killer instinct, need to get a bit more ruthless when we're ahead, we almost gave a 3-0 half time lead away for no reason other than laziness
glenthorn down at the fort on sat avo will give us a good test, they'll want to keep up their reasonable start and everyone wants to beat us at the fort
we'll see if we can hang on !
will be interested to see what kinda team coachford put out against leeside, they're struggling for results of late and usually dont want to leave it late to pick up league points in the last few games, if leeside can keep getting results it could be a very interesting run-in ti the league this year
i dont expect to see any upsets in the aoh games, not yet anyway
sun's out so pitches should be in good nick, time to put the winter blues ahind us
littleman
14/02/2008, 6:47 PM
Seems like an age since I could post about whats near to my heart,the Aoh.This weekend we have to play Greenmount up at home and it shows just how fickle football is that our positions have changed so much in recent years.A few years ago if you told me that we had to play them I would have gone "oh bugger" to put it lightly and it would be a case of damage limitations on our behalf.
Greenmount above all others in the Aul or gone to Msl have raised the bar and the reputation of Cork junior clubs over the last 15 years.It was'nt long ago that O'Leary,Cooney,Tynan,Browne,Long,Walsh,Gubbins,Cro nnin an co were sitting at the top table of Irish junior football .A squad to match any thing in the country,unbeliveable players and the only Aul team who could attract the Msl's finest and knowone whould have batted an eye lid.Best overall team in Cork football for yonks they were.Now its gone pear shaped.
Nothin is straight forward,especially in football and we wont be taking any chances Saturday.We have a few new faces we signed just before the dead line who could make their debut and we,irrelevent of who we are to play or who gets a game on the day we are just lookin forward to playin at home,ON GRASS
I'll give this a whirl Innish ,dont know if i'll be as good as you were last time though.
AOH Cup 3rd Round
Ballyphehane Celtic v Rathcoole Rovers A ...Bally boys
Grattan United A v Greenmount Rangers A....as usual I'll reserve judgement
Wilton United A v Dunbar Celtic A....Wilton
Killowen v Kanturk A.....Killowen,you may think I'm mad but Killowen will really put them under pressure and they are a big side as well,on a small pitch.
AOH Cup 4th Round
Rylane Celtic v Ballyvolane A....awkard place to play,if you find it,Rylane win
Blarney St. Athletic v Ballincollig A....Blarney st(my dark horses for the final)
Dillon's Cross v Glenvale.......Glenvale,if they have a full team.
Ballintotis v Villa United....Villa
Premier League
Kinsale v Glenthorn Celtic A.....Kinsale for a win because ye have to win an ye know it.
Park United A v Castleview A....Park
Coachford A v Leeside A...........Coachford,just because of the AOH final last season.Wont be pretty either way.2 reds at least.
Premier A League
Macroom A v Springfield A.....Macroom.sorry Bella but their handy at home
Village Utd A v Leeds .....Village
15/02/2008, 4:21 PM
even if they dont turn we'll find a way to lose. Were losing our games not the other teams winning if ye get me??:eek:
pass&move
16/02/2008, 2:48 PM
Grattan Utd 6 - 1 Greenmount Rng A
JP 4, Cans,
Shinkwin,
therise
16/02/2008, 6:41 PM
Alright lads. Internet out of action for a while. I see Grattan , Ballyphehane and Blarney street are into the next round of the AOH. You can add Wilton in that too. 4-1 winners against Dunbar.
Also, hard luck to Grattan for last week. Best of luck to yourselves and Leeside in the munster.
le tizz
18/02/2008, 11:51 AM
just a quick update, you'll be happy to collect your winnings at the bookies lads, we're still unbeaten in the league at home, derek varian was the difference on saturday in a game that glenthorn will be gutted that they took nothing from, varian got 2 great goals and was taken down for a spotter for the other (derek mccarthy not a bother with the pen)
glenthorn played most of the 2nd half in the kinsale half but couldnt convert, 2 games played and 6 points, still loads to play for but we're happy enuf, away to kanturk next sunday in the league and if we keep it going we could climb a few places and get some vital league games under our belt while the rest of you lads are off playing on yer munster holidays
still lots of improvement needed at the seaside but we're going in the right direction
any report from coachford rebel ? disappointing result for ye
anyone hear how villa got on.... they usually dont ring in results if things dont go their way, i wonder
littleman
18/02/2008, 11:58 AM
The Villa game was called off by the ref because he felt the Ballintotis pitch was unplayable.The grass was half a foot high and a tractor was driven across it during the week from what I was told by the Villa management.Also the ref was told to fxxx off when he asked about his fee,wonder why.I'd safely say the Villa will get this one awarded to them.
ps tizz,good win.
le tizz
18/02/2008, 1:12 PM
I'd safely say the Villa will get this one awarded to them.
proper order too, villa should be awarded the game and this kind of pi$$in about should not be tolerated by the AUL, the weather has been great and there should be no excuses for havin matches called off especially with the backlog of games, ye took greenmount to the cleaners so it sets ye up well for the trip to clare, think they've a good set up so should give ye a decent fighting chance, besta luck
leeside the only other cork team in the munster junior have a tough draw although they area at home next sunday, any report for us from coachford rebel ?
lookin forward to the evening football and a build up of some games, we're still in the hunt for now, that win on sat has hurt glenthorn's challenge but they still lead the way
park were down to play castleview at the w/e but billy didnt have the result, has your insider trading any info on the result littleman ?? park needed a win as much as us, still a long way to go and i'm sure there'll be a few more stories along the way before the medals are handed out
Innishvilla
18/02/2008, 1:20 PM
This week we saw some strange cancellations on Billy's site.
1 for a bereavement (fair enough)
1 for fog (A bit unusual)
1 for pitch with grass too long!!! See above from Littleman...
BUT MY PERSONAL FAVOURITE
Blackpool Celtic v Pearse Celtic off ............
Due to.............
Horses on the Pitch...
:):):)
le tizz
18/02/2008, 2:05 PM
which team were fielding the horses ?? i wouldnt be into marking a tall hairy centre half with 4 hooves and a keen interest in kickin if things arent going his way, reminds me of a left full who used ta play with kinsale, he's been put out to pasture now tho
Towelie
18/02/2008, 2:17 PM
Coachford and Leeside played out a bruising one all draw saturday.
Leeside took the lead through an o.g. and coachford equalised
late ,again with an o.g.Leeside had 2 great chances to win it near
the end but it wasn't to be.
We played well enough I thought to win the game but were a little
unlucky.Three points would have been huge for us.Nobody is going
to get anything easy down there this season.
littleman
20/02/2008, 7:02 AM
Been out in Kilkully to watch a few games over the years an saw mostly donkeys on the pitch,the odd horsey once in a while.We have the HIGH CHAPERAL thing goin on up our way as well on Northvillas old pitch.Lucky we have the place fenced.On some days we also have the Knocknaheeney races in full swing up an down Kilmore Road as we play,I'm thinkin of openin up a bookies on match days.I'll try to find out what happened in the Castleview game.Innish,we had a near miss ourselves on Sunday,the other team turned up with only 6 players,another clubs gear an no ball.Started with 7,finished with 11 an lost 3/1.The first goal was an og,the second straight from a corner and the third the keeper made a hash of it,talkin about havin no luck on the day.Only happens in the AUl.
Oh ya I have some news that may be interesting to some of our posters.The Aul an the Msl have agreed that to assist the Aul in its 5 year plan to improve standards on and off the pitch that their will be no Aul teams accepted into the Msl for the next 5 years.
Innishvilla
20/02/2008, 8:26 AM
Innish,we had a near miss ourselves on Sunday,the other team turned up with only 6 players,another clubs gear an no ball.Started with 7,finished with 11 an lost 3/1.The first goal was an og,the second straight from a corner and the third the keeper made a hash of it,talkin about havin no luck on the day.Only happens in the AUl.
Oh ya I have some news that may be interesting to some of our posters.The Aul an the Msl have agreed that to assist the Aul in its 5 year plan to improve standards on and off the pitch that their will be no Aul teams accepted into the Msl for the next 5 years.
Some interesting points... Only happens in the AUL is true enough but the club (Casement Celtic) seem to be in a bit of trouble. They quite recently were a decent AUL side and a strong MSL side I now see their MSL side is rooted bottom of the MSL senior 2nd division and as you've just pointed out their AUL side can barely field a team... Pity because they have great facilities...
The AUL & MSL agreement is an interesting one. I think it will help a lot as there are a good few teams in the AUL working improving their facilities as we speak. If they stay in the AUL over time the whole standard will improve. You could reach a stage that the premier divisions might have a minimum facilities criteria before promotion??? Changing rooms? showers? (Hot:eek:) Pitch standard?
littleman
20/02/2008, 8:33 AM
I agree with ya about Casement Innish an the trouble they seem to be in..Our b side played them earlier this season an I thought for a second division side they were excellent .I was expectin them to turn up an hammer us to be honest so I was rightly pleased to get the 3 points.Just goes to show you never can tell.
le tizz
20/02/2008, 11:50 AM
interesting that the msl are closing their doors to improve the aul, thats an old arguement that can be re-hashed without getting to the bottom of it tho, wont go there today
i'm delighted to hear that the aul has a 5 year plan, apart from not letting any clubs go msl is there anything else involved ??? just looking at the top 2 divisions in the aul, about half have no showers or toilets not mind hot showers and proper dressing rooms, most of the clubs dont have a pitch or are renting off someone else (pfizers, little island, murphy's farm, ucc's farm) and only a few who have their own pitch (which is by and large council land so dont own it themselves- kinsale included), most clubs have no room to expand in terms of new pitches/training facilities will i even hazard to say dressing rooms etc etc
are the aul gonna plough money into the league or what because there's no other way to improve what is an uncompetitive association, if so where is all the cash coming from, all cork clubs are out of the fai, only a couple remain in the munster junior and to be honest none have threatened any major challenge in the past few years,
i know ye are attempting to improve things in hollyhill, kinsale have bedded a new pitch and are trying to improve dressing rooms, these are the only 2 teams that seem to be making an effort in trying to improve things (from the top 2 divisions innish, ye seem to have a plan and good luck with it)
we're all at the mercy of the weather every year while the senior league pitches can take more punishment and remain in good footballing condition, two msl teams have fifa approved year round playing surfaces, unless the aul can magic money and support to the clubs at an administrative level then i dont see how things will improve, they still have the big backlog of fixtures (and its nearly march) which isnt good for any competitive league
that said, the prem league is as strong as i've seen it in my 4 years playing- will we see a cork aul club break thru in the national cups in the coming years ??, how many teams will be in with a shout in the league in another 6 weeks ??? 3/4/5 ?? hard to say, the games that have been played so ar have seen teams cancel each other out, glenthorn on top have the following record
Pld...W...D...L...GF...GA...Pts
i'm not really a betting man but my money is def not going there, everyone is waiting for grattan/kinsale/ballyphehane and maybe park & leeside to play more games, teams with a lot of games played to date seem to have shot their load already and will only be making up numbers in another couple of weeks........and we're not even close to half way thru the fixtures
aul are improving things, i'll be blown away to see it happen
thirdeye
20/02/2008, 12:09 PM
i similarly would like to hear what the 5 year plan entails....before the standard of football improves i think that the administration would have a major overhaul....leadership has to come from those who supposedly lead...
look at what killester got for winning the dublin aul...a trip to south africa...where are the incentives for cork aul teams to better themselves and attract better players...the winners of the cork aul don't get as much as a football for winning a very tough league...as you say le tizz the amount of games that teams are forced to play in a short space of time for being successful is farscicle...there seems to be money in the aul coffers but who knows what it's earmarked for...give the players some incentive for winning trophies after all it's the players and managers time and sacrifices that make the aul what it is....
Shilts
20/02/2008, 2:02 PM
This type of agreement is a great opportunity for the AUL to get its house in order. Fixture pileups, poor playing surfaces and changing facilities need to be addressed first before any holiday prizes for winning the Premier (similar to Dublin AUL) are considered. If not, then nothing will change, the best players will realise this and walk to MSL clubs anyway. :ball:
thirdeye
20/02/2008, 4:55 PM
i couldn't agree more...the point i was trying to hilite was the disparity in governing bodies....i further don't believe that this moratorium on what is in essence a promotion to msl is going to help the cause of the aul....as you say the better players will now be forced to leave their respective clubs rather than hope to go msl with their preferred club...i also agree that fixture congestion and having to travel to further away fixtures midweek and get local fixtures at the weekend needs to be addressed...why not start the season two weeks earlier...allowing teams to play extra evening fixtures...why do premier sides enter the aoh first round...thats another couple of fixtures...is the mossy linnane necessary...anyway you could easily trim 5/6 fixtures off the back end of the season...i further believe their is dcope for the aul to give term loans (details to be ironed out)...do you honestly believe the present incumbants have the foresight to address any of these issues...it will be 5 more years of the same....hope i'm wrong
littleman
21/02/2008, 11:06 AM
Though I feel I agree in some way with all of the points that have been posted on the Aul/Msl agreement their are a few things that I feel should be made a bit more clear as their is a fair share of blame attached to the clubs themselves for the prediciment the Aul is in..
The problem regarding fixture congestion is brought about by the Fai/Mfa competitions more so than the Aul.Teams doing well in both or either of will no doubt have to deal with a backlog of Aul league an cup fixtures.The Oscar Traynor team also has an effect on the fixture congestion of the teams with players envolved.Not to mention if some are lucky enough to have a player on the national side.
The Fai/Mfa dates are their for all to see at the start of the season. Aul league games and cup games are supposed to be played in between them,that is until the Oscar Traynor rears its head an adds more confusion to the pot.Add the weather factor and it can get very tight as to finishing your season and allowing teams a good break before pre season.
Its was the clubs themselves voted for the Premier/A sides to be encluded in the 1st round of the Aoh,not the Aul and further more to that at the particular meeting it was voted in only 8 of the 20 Premier/A side were represented.The clubs themselves for the most part dont even attend the delegate meeting yet they grumble left right center whan they find out about changes.The Mossie should be a straight knockout competition played after xmas(my own opinion) .With regards to how the fixtures and how they are dolled out someone is always going to be happy/unhappy.Teams have won leagues buy takin advantage of havin to either travel midweek or have a side travel to them,so lets not fool ourselves.
Some of the current commitee could and should step down,but in doing that is their any one will to step up.There is a process for accessing funding from the Aul but how many teams honestly at the minute are trying to better themselves,half a dozen at best.The Msl has a core of 30 or so clubs that is the senior league and the juniors are just B an C sides from those clubs.They accept clubs that have facilitys up to standard but dont encourage people to start a club.Thats where the Aul comes in or else theirs no other way to start one.
The Aul is a neccessary evil.Its the clubs themselves that have created a lot of our problems,the AUL are just the ones who have to sort it out.How are we to improve the Aul if we are not even trying to improve our own clubs.If a player sees himself to be capeable of doing better then the top sides in the Aul are just as good a place to prove it as the Msl.Their are plenty of very good players out their that just want to play with their buddies and lack the will to futher them selves or the self belife to stick with it and try to get a game(they dont want to have to fight for a starting place,rather play with a weaker team and be sure of a starting place.)
I more than most think the current Aul set up needs to be sorted ,but I am honest an open minded enough to admit we have done most of the damage to it ourselves.
Ps,its the Dublin Aul sponsors Nivea that sent Killester to South Africa.Not the Aul and I would rather our AUL spend its money on its teams than offering carrots to teams to do better.When I was a player an I stress when,I wanted to win for the players playin with me and my club.Not because I had the chance to go on a trip.
Shilts
21/02/2008, 1:30 PM
Good points Littleman.
The AUL falls down because it is trying to cater for the glorified pub team, junior internationals and everything in between. Is the AUL trying to do too much?
It is good that a gang of lads can form a team and get to play a match every week, no matter at what level - this has to be encouraged. This is not possible in the MSL. However at the top of the AUL we should be treating our quality players with more respect - appropriate facilities and organisation are required. Clubs must take some of the blame here.
The fixture pileup has to be addressed.
The big teams should not have to play in the early rounds of the AOH.
Also, would it be possible to make the Mossie a midweek cup? With the early rounds played pre-season as is, and the quarters,semi and final played on all-weather grass in Blarney or Mayfield. Could Oscar Traynor Cup games be accomodated similarly. I remember the AUL playing the MSL under lights on a wednesday in Bishopstown 10 yrs ago. 5 or 6 weekends could be spared for league games. This would solve most of the pileup problems, maybe.
Would it be possible for the AUL to get an all-weather facility for themselves? Dublin AUL have a huge complex of pitches.
I havn't seen much change in the AUL over the last few years. Maybe this is because most of the 'glorified pub teams' are well catered for and are happy with the way things are. This leaves only a small minority of elite teams who see a need to push on!!! :ball:
Innishvilla
21/02/2008, 3:30 PM
It is a bit like preaching to the converted on this forum... Everyone on it seems interested enough to care. i.e. look at the teams represented by the regular posts predominately... Grattan, Kinsale, Leeside, Wilton, Springfield/Cobh, Innishvilla:), they are all progressive teams/clubs who don't fall into the pub team category.
So even though there will be a lot of agreement with views made about improving the AUL there are still in the region of 50% of AUL teams with no proper structure. Whether that be decent facilities, decent board/committee or decent underage structure. Don't get me wrong, there are some clubs have all this playing in lower divisions, I'm not rating clubs by the level they are competing at, I'm saying there are a lot of clubs missing at least 2 of the 3 vital parts needed to have a secure long lasting club.
I suppose another point that has always caught me is how freely some people switch clubs... I was born in the Innishannon area, my first ever competitive soccer game was with Innishannon (now Innishvilla) and I'll be honest I couldn't see myself playing for another club even though I now live in the city... Maybe it is the (whisper) gaa influence, parish for life? Anyone else have any opinion on this???
littleman
21/02/2008, 4:00 PM
Your not far wrong their Innish.A few lessons to be learned from our Gaa brothers.Im not sayin that like the Gaa their should be only one team allowed within a parish area,but it dose work.
The commitment from players is not their because they know that if they dont get a game with for the sake of it,Boh's in Knocka,they can transfer 20 yards up the road to Grattan,Castleview or a host of others.My own therory would go along the lines of having two 7 day transfer windows bascially,3 monthly gaps between them specially for players wishing to get a transfer.ie the first week in Oct and Jan and thats it.I actually know of lads who have been transfered 4 times this season,which is a total joke.Make it harder to transfer an make the players give commitment.Its a hell of a lot easier to get things done when you have players who are pushing for improvements on and off the pitch.
On the playin front I'd start the season 2 weeks early,with 6 league games to be played from each division before a cup game is thrown in.T'is at the start when teams have big squads and playin 6 games in 2 weeks could be handled a lot easier at the start of the season rather than in May.6 games allows teams to take a slight lead, stay in contention or even not be too worried if your on the bottom because you know that with the cups comin up you have enogh games to improve what ever position your in.The Aoh I would keep the Prem sides out till at least the 3rd round with a genuine case for any side still in the Fai or Mjc not being encluded until the 4th round.The Mossie would be a straight knock out competition between any prem/a side that did not make it to the open rounds either the Fai or Mfa.That way the sides still playing Fai or Mfa games will be able to concentrate on those and the sides out of it have something to play for knowing that the stronger sides are not holding up the competition,waiting to return and claim the trophy.Thus giving everyone a bigger chance for silverware which in itself will improve competition.I know there will be 1st,2nd an 3rd division sides who will no doubt think this is an unfair advantage but this train of thought can or could be applied to those divisions as well in respect of the Michaels,Saxone an presidents cups.A team,irrespective of divisional status should be rewarded for their efforts not put under more pressure playin games they could do without.
pass&move
22/02/2008, 12:47 PM
Any predictions for this weekend
Premier League
Glenthorn Celtic v Villa United,
Ballyphehane Celtic v Castleview
Kanturk v Kinsale
Premier A League
Dunbar Celtic v Wilton Utd
Greenmount Rngrs v Knockavilla Celtic
Macroom v Ballyvolane
Springfield v Village Utd
Leeds v Blarney Street Athletic
Munster Junior Cup 5th Round
Newtown v Grattan United,
Leeside v Newcastle West
le tizz
22/02/2008, 1:02 PM
Any predictions for this weekend
Premier League
Glenthorn Celtic v Villa United, impressed with glenthorn last week, home win
Ballyphehane Celtic v Castleview bally win, on what i've seen bally are too strong
Kanturk v Kinsale i'm biased here but we cant afford to slip up, kinsale win
Premier A League
Dunbar Celtic v Wilton Utd i like wilton's style of play and they need to win their games in hand, away win
Greenmount Rngrs v Knockavilla Celtic knockavilla going well, greenmount low after getting stuffed last week, away win
Macroom v Ballyvolane macroom good at home, they should do enuf to get 3 points
Springfield v Village Utd sorry bella but form is a big advantage, away win but i'd be happy to be proven wrong
Leeds v Blarney Street Athletic could be a good game, from what littleman has been saying i'll go with an away win
Newtown v Grattan United, could be a tough game for ye lads but hopefully a grattan win, i know ye'll give a good account of yerselves either way
Leeside v Newcastle West this is a huge game for leeside, i know someone from newcastle and they've an irish amateur up front and are going very well in their own league, sorry lads but i think it might be the end of the run and an away win, once again i'd love to be proved wrong and see the nice lads from leeside progress, besta luck !
i'll take a stab at it this week lads seeing as i'm flush at the end of the month, here goes, most of the wages are going on kinsale at short odds but wont be taking any chances away from home, good luck to the cork teams in the munster junior this weekend, keep the flag flying for the rest of us ! reasonable draws in the next round might see us advance to a semi final which would be great
littleman
22/02/2008, 2:19 PM
Theirs a few interesting ones in this bunch with regards to next week an the Aoh.A lot of the teams will want a win headin into what could be the most important weekend of the season.
Premier League
Glenthorn Celtic v Villa United,...I hope to cast my eye over this one but I'll risk a Villa win.
Ballyphehane Celtic v Castleview.Bally should win this easy, remember I said should win easy
Kanturk v Kinsale.Tizz I have my own reasons again for ye to win.Ye play the Bally boys in the Aoh next week and I think ye have to beat them in it considering ye still have to meet them home an away in the league and they beat ye already this season.Ye beat Kanturk an they travel to us in the Aoh downbeat,but if they draw or beat ye they come up to us full of beans.Ye need to win big time an ye know it..
Premier A League
Dunbar Celtic v Wilton Utd .Wilton won last week,they'll win again this week.
Greenmount Rngrs v Knockavilla Celtic...Away win
Macroom v Ballyvolane...Home win
Springfield v Village Utd....The springers
leeds v Blarney Street Athletic.....Away win,a fair few of the blarney st lads played before with leeds am will be lookin to prove a point
Newtown v Grattan United,,,,puttin my neck on the line but I think we can get a result.
Leeside v Newcastle West.....leeside would wreck my head if I was followin them.We played um in the league an they gave us a great game and then they draw away to kanturk an Coachford.No figure'in them out.I honestly hope leeside win ,but I would'nt be surprised if they lost.
sorry lads went a bit mad with the underline:'n:D:D
therise
22/02/2008, 7:17 PM
Might as well join in the fun. Here goes:
Premier League
Glenthorn Celtic v Villa United,Fancy Glenthorn here
Ballyphehane Celtic v Castleview, Bally at a canter
Kanturk v Kinsale, Should be an easy win for seasiders
Premier A League
Dunbar Celtic v Wilton Utd, Would expect a tough game but should get 3 pts
Greenmount Rngrs v Knockavilla Celtic, Draw
Macroom v Ballyvolane, Macroom
Springfield v Village Utd, Hope springers can take something but Village for 3 pts
Leeds v Blarney Street Athletic, Blarney Street
Newtown v Grattan United, Know nothing of Newtown, Grattan win
Leeside v Newcastle West, Despite losing to NCW last year, didn't think they were up to much. May sound like sour grapes but could have won that game well but lost 2-1 with 2 goals in last 5. Would expect Leeside to get through here.
le tizz
25/02/2008, 10:37 AM
well done to Leeside & Grattan for their great wins in the munster junior at the w/e- corcaigh abu
heard there was a hooky referee display disallowing a late equaliser for newcastle west, any comments towlie/rebel ?
fierce win in clare for yer hollyhill lads, fcukin well done
leeside v bally looks like the main attraction next w/e with both teams having good recent results and its a big enuf game for both teams, leeside wont want to drop any points and bally will want to keep up their 100% record, pitch should be in top condition with a bit of rain due this week to take the edge off the recent dry spell, i'll try to get down forra look
couple of interesting cup games too
i'd expect grattan to give kanturk a good hiding in hollyhill (they concede a lot of chances at the back and ye are scoring for fun at the moment)
villa seem to be back on track and will beat ballintotis to keep their season alive
wilton and park in the farm should be a good game of ball, could be too tight to call, i'll go with wilton again seeing as park dont seem to travel too well
free week for the seasiders so we'll be out playing in our boats and ironing our cravats !
tally ho
25/02/2008, 11:41 AM
Village beat us the weekend, how they beat us i dont know, they were terrbile didnt get out of first gear id say, likewise with us. Very dissapointing for us again, we cant win, were major;y underachieving, our only bloody wins all season were Kinsale, and glenthorn and Dunbar, how were losing to greenwood and the likes i dont know.
How did ballyphehane get on, anybody know is colin falvey still wasting away with glenthorn?
littleman
25/02/2008, 8:25 PM
Firstly Bella, Mr Falvey played with Glenthorn against the Villa.Good player he maybe but not on Saturday.Glenthorn were poor all over the pitch.That bubble has burst I'd say.Villa got a belter of a first goal.Jp with a rocket from 30 yards at least.Keeper didnt move.Villa got the 2nd with only ten mins left.A very physcial affair I may add.Ref was ****e,good an proper ****e.
Secondly ye fla'd me over the weekend ye an Knockavilla let me down for the 100% in the pools.:)
Otherwise things pretty much by the book this weekend as regards my predictions.I'm gettin handy at this Innish.
Top marks to Towlie for a great result.Good to see a couple of Cork sides in the last 8.The Limerick lads must be lookin over their shoulder,gettin all nervous.
Logistical problems nearly made us come a cropper this weekend but I actually think its when we have to really dig deep t'is when we are at our most dangerous an can really hurt teams.You can read to much into results an scorelines sometimes.Wether we won 1 nil or 5.1 we went to win an we got it.It just pleased me they way we handled ourselves.;)
Tizz I'm well aware that their is such a thing as a comfortable 2/1 win.Was that the case.;)
The Bally boys are ploughin through the opposition.Fair dues.
rebelrover
26/02/2008, 10:52 AM
well folks, im well overdue a post. Have been out injured the last two months and as a result have not had much to post about.
I wasnt at the NCW game as I was not in Cork for the wknd but from speaking to some of the players it was a good win. With another home draw in the quarter (we've been lucky with the draw) there's a good opportunity to advance against Regional.
We dropped two terrible points against Coachford. We were one up and coasting, really comfortable. They scored a fortuitous goal from a corner and we laid seige to their goal, but through some desperate defending and it must be said a lack of composure on our behalf ( we had 2/3 one-on-ones) we didnt score. We only had ourselves to blame for the dropeed points.
Given the Eduardo incident at the wknd it's prob worth noting one or two other things about the game. Whilst Coachford tackling was in the main tough but fair, some of their challenges in the last 20 minutes were disgraceful. I can honestly say they just kicked anything that moved for the last 20 minutes - whether it was the ball or a man it didnt really matter. Unfortunately we didnt take our chances and I suppose they'll say the tactic worked. In reality however, as a side they will never progress as long as the resort to this type of football.
le tizz
26/02/2008, 3:59 PM
Tizz I'm well aware that their is such a thing as a comfortable 2/1 win.Was that the case.;)
you could say that really littleman, without causing any offense to the kanturk lads
we should have been about 5-1 up at half time (they hit the bar from a corner after a rare mistake from our keeper for their only chance at our goal), 1-0 at half time.
it took about 20 mins into the 2nd half to get our number 2 (great individual goal by derek mc) and they did stay in the game and pushed on a bit but we didnt play very well, we missed a pen which would have made it 3-0 and hometime, they scored from a free header on a free kick with 5 mins to go but never any real threat to be honest
i'd expect ye to take em to the cleaners up at o'neill park, the two lads up front for them worked hard but didnt get a shot away against a mean kinsale defense, on another day, if we had converted chances it'd have been blown up at the end of the 1st half, they've had a tough run of results so i think easy to beat once a couple of goals go in, in their position they need to be close for 90 minutes if they're gonna compete, stay 2 goals clear and you'll make it easy for yourselves
their pitch kinda flatters to deceive, looks lovely when you drive in but quite bumpy under foot, certainly not the worst playing surface in the league though and if it gets a roll after a drop of rain it could be a smashing surface to play on, i think it could be a tricky place to get a result when the summer soccer comes in, they'll be fighting for points so they may cause an upset or two, glad to get any distance away games out of the way early, coachford and park to go for us - the sooner the better !
rebel- thats exactly what you get from coachford and they are gritty (thats as nice as i can be to them) enuf to get results, they seem to have been battling away the last couple of years to stay in the prem and to date its worked, difficult to get players to travel out there so its down to the locals to keep things going, that'll make it hard to be challenging for cups every year, they have an edge alright christ i'm being very kind), we always have a bit of a battle with em out there, again get your noses well in front early and it makes life a bit easier, but they certainly wont make things easy- especially out there
injuries and squad numbers are gonna count for a lot in the run in, looks like with yer signings at o'neill park theres a riot full of players up there, have the lads on the fringes kept an interest littleman ?? just curious cause it seems to be hurting our squad with fellas defecting cause they're not playing, will be touching cloth again this year if we get a few injuries but i suppose most teams are in the same boat
thats enuf for now i spose
see ye at the seaside if the sun stays out, we'll have to get ourselves a funghi for all the sunday vistors, know anyone who can get us some funghi littleman ??
magpies
26/02/2008, 4:55 PM
well done to Leeside & Grattan for their great wins in the munster junior at the w/e- corcaigh abu
heard there was a hooky referee display disallowing a late equaliser for newcastle west, any comments towlie/rebel ?
fierce win in clare for yer hollyhill lads, fcukin well done
leeside v bally looks like the main attraction next w/e with both teams having good recent results and its a big enuf game for both teams, leeside wont want to drop any points and bally will want to keep up their 100% record, pitch should be in top condition with a bit of rain due this week to take the edge off the recent dry spell, i'll try to get down forra look
couple of interesting cup games too
i'd expect grattan to give kanturk a good hiding in hollyhill (they concede a lot of chances at the back and ye are scoring for fun at the moment)
villa seem to be back on track and will beat ballintotis to keep their season alive
wilton and park in the farm should be a good game of ball, could be too tight to call, i'll go with wilton again seeing as park dont seem to travel too well
free week for the seasiders so we'll be out playing in our boats and ironing our cravats !
tally ho
That really was a ridiculous decision by the ref, there were two men on the line and the linesman put his flag up for offside, Id say they just didn't want extra time, we probably didnt deserve to equalize but I am fully convinced it was a perfect goal.
littleman
26/02/2008, 6:38 PM
Wont lie tizz when I say that with the players we have signed added to the players we have already I thought we would loose some but as luck an a few other matters would have it ,rotation of the squad is pretty easy.
We have a few players who were cup tied in the Fai/Mjc and just trained week in week out waiting their time for a league or Aoh game and there attitude has been spot on despite a lot of rumor spreading on the Northside.
With the extra bodies available for our own league an cup games the lads have appriciated the chance of a break when offered to them an I must say that is a smashin attituide to have.Pa Connors is away every second week with the Irish juniors but the games seem to be on Sundays all the time for us in the cups so more often than not he is back an the odd time their is a clash as good as he is we are able to cover it.Hopefully we might get back to league action next week but to be honest the mid week fixture I think will win or loose the league for those in with a chance.Park,Coachford,Kanturk with even Kinsale an Bally being awkard if your travelin from the Northside .A bit of understandin in work will go a long way,so be nice to your boss an he might let you off:D
The Aoh this week an I would expect Kanturk to be up for it but with the way we are playing I dont care who is next or in what.What injurys we have seem to be easily covered by the size of the squad an its good to know their only short term with the silly season coming up.Jp is puttin them away as if hes on a mission with 21 in 15 games an looks just about unplayable.Figo an Danny Dunne are a frighting addition to him up front I dont think any defence in our league not to mention any where else would be happy with that 3 comin at ya.It all bodes well to a gradstand run in to the season.Should be a crackin run in.
Billynose
26/02/2008, 7:22 PM
Is that Danny Dunne from Mary's ?
littleman
26/02/2008, 7:40 PM
Ya,his full correct name is Daniel Donovan but every one just knows him as Danny Dunne , he signed the start of January along with Brian ''BB'' Barry.
Billynose
26/02/2008, 9:08 PM
Two players who would add to any team. Did they they have a falling out with Malcolm Stokes or something?
Worldcup
26/02/2008, 9:16 PM
Two players who would add to any team. Did they they have a falling out with Malcolm Stokes or something?
ya the same malcolm stockes that would fall out with himself.......:mad:
littleman
26/02/2008, 10:31 PM
Dont know why they decided to move an to be honest I dont really care.I know Danny has been one of the top players in the Msl for the last few years now an I also know that their would have been no end of senior clubs after him if they knew he was unsettled at Marys.I didnt know that much about BB ,being honest but goin on what I have seen of him in our last 2 games hes an excellent player and he will settle in very well with us. I'm lookin forward to seein both he an Danny add their talent to our already strong squad.
Im not lying when I say that I was surprised when I heard about them wanting a transfer but theirs not a team in the Msl or Aul that would not of had them in a flash.Danny played against Greenmount and was superb and BB played against Greenmount an Newtown an he was also superb in both games. It would be wrong of me to say I was not delighted that players of their quality were at our club now, no matter what their reasons were for leaving Marys.
Towelie
27/02/2008, 7:23 AM
That really was a ridiculous decision by the ref, there were two men on the line and the linesman put his flag up for offside, Id say they just didn't want extra time, we probably didnt deserve to equalize but I am fully convinced it was a perfect goal.
I think we may have had a man on the line to be fair.Heartbreaking way for
Newcastlewest to go out,they were dignified in defeat though.Personally I
think Leeside will have to be more clinical in the next round or we will be going out(hit the woodwork 4 times).
Good luck to Newcastlewest for the remainder of the season.
pass&move
28/02/2008, 8:49 AM
Any Predictions
AOH Cup Fourth Round
Wilton United v Park United
Grattan United v Kanturk
Villa United v Ballintotis
Premier League
Ballyphehane v Leeside
Premier A League
Blarney Street Athletic v Ballyvolane
Macroom v Greenmount Rngrs
Dunbar Celtic v Village Utd
Springfield v Leeds,
Innishvilla
28/02/2008, 10:50 AM
Any Predictions
AOH Cup Fourth Round
Wilton United v Park United Home win
Grattan United v Kanturk Home Win
Villa United v Ballintotis Villa (average prem to beat average 1st div)
Premier League
Ballyphehane v Leeside Oohhh this could be a cracker both teams flying recently... I'll go with a close win for the ... Home side
Premier A League
Blarney Street Athletic v Ballyvolane Home side are flying
Macroom v Greenmount Rngrs Big game for both sides, win would prob see Macroom safe from drop... as I've not predicted a draw yet I'll go DRAW
Dunbar Celtic v Village Utd Village
Springfield v Leeds,Come on Bella this is the one for you... Springers to beat a Leeds side that I'd swear has a better 3rd division side??? (Unbeaten and in Presidents Cup final!!!)
My tuppence for what it's worth...
toepoke
28/02/2008, 12:19 PM
Any Predictions
AOH Cup Fourth Round
Wilton United v Park United - Home win ( aet )
Grattan United v Kanturk - Home win
Villa United v Ballintotis - Home win
Premier League
Ballyphehane v Leeside - Tie of the wknd 2 - 2 Draw
Premier A League
Blarney Street Athletic v Ballyvolane - Home win
Macroom v Greenmount Rngrs - Home Win
Dunbar Celtic v Village Utd - Away win
Springfield v Leeds, - Home win
therise
28/02/2008, 1:38 PM
Any Predictions
AOH Cup Fourth Round
Wilton United v Park United I expect a tough game but hopefully we'll get through
Grattan United v Kanturk Should be an easy home win
Villa United v BallintotisVilla
Premier League
Ballyphehane v Leeside Bally by the odd goal
Premier A League
Blarney Street Athletic v Ballyvolane Blarney Street
Macroom v Greenmount Rngrs Draw
Dunbar Celtic v Village Utd Dunbar to get the win
Springfield v Leeds, Springers should get their 2nd win
Nearly all home wins for me this weekend
29/02/2008, 1:07 AM
I cant comment on other teams especially prem teams bar gratton, leeside kinsale and ballyphehane, so i will not predict. Im fairly confident we will beat the rot this weekend i feel one win and were laughin!!
BTW Bally vs Leeside- what a cracker!!!
Read the paper this week, is paidi o sull with leeside the hurler- from ballintotis???