View Full Version : Cork AUL 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21

Shilts
22/01/2008, 10:37 AM
Who are the top Junior teams in Cork

Now you've opened a can of worms.
The top junior sides have traditionally come from the Cork AUL Premier. That would include Grattan Utd (winner 07) Kinsale (winners 03,04,05,06) Ballyphehane Celtic and Leeside.
Every couple of years the MSL junior Prem teams (MSL senior club's 2nd teams) get a good team together. At the moment I think Douglas Hall and Midleton are the strongest in this division.
I dont know a lot about the west cork league but Drinagh have dominated for a few years I think.
But I'm sure that there will be differing views from mine :)

Closing Time
22/01/2008, 10:43 AM
Now you've opened a can of worms.
The top junior sides have traditionally come from the Cork AUL Premier. That would include Grattan Utd (winner 07) Kinsale (winners 03,04,05,06) Ballyphehane Celtic and Leeside.
Every couple of years the MSL junior Prem teams (MSL senior club's 2nd teams) get a good team together. At the moment I think Douglas Hall and Midleton are the strongest in this division.
I dont know a lot about the west cork league but Drinagh have dominated for a few years I think.
But I'm sure that there will be differing views from mine :)
Cheers Shilts. How well do the AUL clubs fair out in the MJC would they be considered one of the Fav. each season. I didnt know that the MSL have their own Junior league. Its a pity that the MSL & AUL were not inter connected but I do understand the politics that might be involved.

Billynose
22/01/2008, 11:23 AM
Swap out Midelton and put in Rockmount. AUL clubs would never really be considered favourites in the MJC, although people are starting to sit up and take notice of them now. Off topic, Closing_Time were you at the Castlebar Celtic match at the weekend?

littleman
22/01/2008, 12:11 PM
gulp I'l probably get no end of stick from other threads for sayin this but in my own humble opinion I'd say the top Munster junior sides are from Limerick an Tipp/Waterford.Thats being perfectly honest.Theirs half a dozen of them that in a senior league format would wipe the floor with all but the best of the senior league teams from Cork.That bein said I think that this year especialy in the Mjc their is the possibility of havin 7 Cork sides in the last 16 if i'm correct.Thats a testement of how junior football in Cork is comin on leaps and bounds.Their was a time not long ago that if you were drawn out of Cork to one of Munsters finest you would'nt have stood a chance ,now I think Munster's finest are lookin a bit nervous when they hear theirs a Cork side either waitin for them or comin up to play them.

Closing Time
22/01/2008, 12:30 PM
Swap out Midelton and put in Rockmount. AUL clubs would never really be considered favourites in the MJC, although people are starting to sit up and take notice of them now. Off topic, Closing_Time were you at the Castlebar Celtic match at the weekend?
BN, Couldnt make the game cooking the dinner, but what I hear we were very poor in the first half and game should have been over at half time. Did play a little better in the 2nd but not to the standard they have come to expect from this young team. What was said is that they battled hard and showed a great desire to win, which I was delighted to hear. Hopefully a better performance next day out or we will be out of both cups.

Billynose
22/01/2008, 12:59 PM
Hmm, Oranmore definitely had the better of the first half. I think Castlebar started out with three at the back and seemed to struggle because of this. In the second half Oranmore missed an open goal (think Tuncay at the weekend for Middlesborough) and a one on one. After this(~70 minutes gone) Castlebar got on top, surprised to see that they resorted to hoofing it and throwing it up to the centre back(who had moved up front at this point) and hoping for knock downs. Disappointing to concede an equaliser in the 96th minute when there was no where near that amount of injury time. Extra time was pretty non eventful.

If I was to judge on one game I would expect Grattan to beat ye. It's rare that I agree with littleman but his last post is surprisingly unbiased and accurate ;)

littleman
22/01/2008, 1:21 PM
Er thanks Billy, I think.............

Closing Time
22/01/2008, 1:24 PM
Hmm, Oranmore definitely had the better of the first half. I think Castlebar started out with three at the back and seemed to struggle because of this. In the second half Oranmore missed an open goal (think Tuncay at the weekend for Middlesborough) and a one on one. After this(~70 minutes gone) Castlebar got on top, surprised to see that they resorted to hoofing it and throwing it up to the centre back(who had moved up front at this point) and hoping for knock downs. Disappointing to concede an equaliser in the 96th minute when there was no where near that amount of injury time. Extra time was pretty non eventful.

If I was to judge on one game I would expect Grattan to beat ye. It's rare that I agree with littleman but his last post is surprisingly unbiased and accurate ;)
I would say if we played as I was told New Ross B or Grattan B teams should have no problem advancing to the next Rd. But sure thats the beauty of this wonderful game S***e one day and great the next. The only positive taken from the game was they kept on battling when been dominated. I take it from you mail that Grattan are hot Fav to take NRC.

Billynose
22/01/2008, 2:11 PM
You're welcome littleman ;)

I've no idea who are favourites between New Ross and Grattan. I do know that Grattan should be capable of beating any junior side on there day.

le tizz
24/01/2008, 9:18 AM
i know this is still off on the horizon but worth a look
was anyone at the draw for the 4th round of the AOH or is done behind closed doors, always a few funny draws going on, thats me and my x-files theory tho, here' the spookin for this year, there are four 4th round fixtures which are being played next week

Villa United____v____Ballintotis
Ballincollig A___v____Blarney St. Athletic
Ballyvolane A__v____Rylane Celtic
Glenvale______v____Dillon's Cross

teams awaiting a 4th round fixture but are already thru are ___Passage A & Leeside A

these teams are in the 3rd round (but should get thru to the 4th round draw along with Passage & Leeside)

Ballyphehane Celtic
Park United A
Grattan United A
Kinsale
Kanturk A
Wilton United A

so out of the 4 games being played next week, they all seemed to avoid the big names left in the cup, i think any one of us would have taken on any of the eight (maybe with the exception of ballincollig) instead of any of the big guns left

has anyone out there got the full draw, billy will prob stick it on at some stage but there's bound to be someone who gets a rotten draw and there's a good chance that any number of big teams will crash out, sets up a potential soft quarter final for anyone who gets thru and gets a good draw,

ye havent played a game in the cup yet thirdeye/lilman and here ye are one step away from a quarter final, soft out !
besta luck at the w/e, keep the cork flag flying for us, same to ballyphehane

littleman
24/01/2008, 6:52 PM
:cool:With all thats comin up at the minute letizz the Aoh (we have Greenmount up in our place in the 3rd round) would be a welcome distraction.We definately travel to New Ross on Sunday thats sorted now.I'm not sure who we play next week because we are rounds behind in both the Fai an Mjc if Sunday goes well.

The Aoh is just a draw,tis not like their plotin to get ye out of it or Turners Cross is Area 51,and with all due respect to Ballincollig,your confidence must be low if your worried about them.Not like you letizz.

If things aint workin out down the seaside just let me know,their's a few days left for you to transfer.I know a man who can sort ya out.You need to be playin at this stage week in week out and your last few post's seem to be pointin the finger at the so called favourites that aint doin the buisness for ye but are still startin,nothin worse.Lifes to short,well the season is anyway.......ta ta for now an remember you can see the seaside from Knocka as well and their's a fella in Ardmore Ave who has a rubber dingy if it makes you feel at home.

bogwarrior
26/01/2008, 8:47 AM
Morning all!! Bright Eyed and bushy tailed this morning!

I think you really offended Le Tizz with the last comment! What water though? Surely you're not counting the resevoir?!!

Was on Billy's site last nite and saw a plea from yourselves littleman for ex players etc to help out with the clubs new initiatives - i'm presuming money wise. Just wondering was there any success?!? We have our own super draw for a car down in Kinsale and get lots of support from people every year. 30 euro a ticket isn't cheap so fair play to them. Would be great if these bodies would come up and see a few more games but one step at a time.

We're off to Limerick tomorrow - Knockainey, know nothing off them. Limerick 3rd tier and middle of the table i think. We'll see, should get a reaction after last weeks poor showing.

Good luck Gratts and Bally.. I will be slightly envious if ye get thru but thats life:p!! Thou shalt not covet thy neighbours... Straight to hell for me

Innishvilla
28/01/2008, 9:25 AM
Good results for Bally and Gratts... Kinsale what happened? 3rd tier Limerick side???

le tizz
28/01/2008, 9:36 AM
the long & the short of it was we were appalling !
pitch was agricultural to say the least, a farmers field would have been in better nick, ref was a pity but at the end of the day, we was beaten 2-1, concede 2 goals to a crowd of part-timers isnt gonna get you anywhere, didnt take chances at the other end, went home sorry boys

we're on a bad run and need to end it soon cause morale is low, we havent been playing well and we all need a good kick in the hole, we prob took them for granted and it cost us in the end, lost a good chance to take revenge in the next round so guilty of not focusing on the game at hand

hillington b in the aoh next week, we're away again, our game load has lessened considerably now that we're out of the big cups so we need to focus on whats ahead, no more excuses- time for fellas to stand up and be counted, might even get to play a 2nd league game sometime soon

thanks for the offer of a vacation in hollyhill littleman but i'm not a qwitter, we'll get the seaside show back on track again dont worry, good result for ye and a home tie in the next round, well done to bally too- tough trip for the next round, keep it going for the cork colours

i'm too sick to say anymore, might just shutup and get on with business now ....

pass&move
29/01/2008, 8:35 AM
Watched New Ross Celtic V Grattan Utd in the FAI Junior Cup 6th round and what a game,Grattan 2 down at the break and worked their socks off to get back level.Into extra time and it was all Grattan who were now feeling the strain of dragging it back from 2 down.Into penos Grattan 1st Missed New Ross score 0-1,Grattan score New Ross score 1-2 after 2,Grattan missed New Ross Missed 1-2 after 3,Grattan score New Ross score 2-3 after 4,Grattan score New Ross missed 3-3 after 5. Sudden Death Grattan score (squeaky bum time) New Ross missed Grattan win 4-3.Thats how I saw it going so I'm off for heart surgery before the next round ( a home tie v castelbar)

Special thanks to all involved with New Ross Celtic who gave us a cracking game and made us feel very welcome especially after the very difficult week they had.

Closing Time
29/01/2008, 4:27 PM
Watched New Ross Celtic V Grattan Utd in the FAI Junior Cup 6th round and what a game,Grattan 2 down at the break and worked their socks off to get back level.Into extra time and it was all Grattan who were now feeling the strain of dragging it back from 2 down.Into penos Grattan 1st Missed New Ross score 0-1,Grattan score New Ross score 1-2 after 2,Grattan missed New Ross Missed 1-2 after 3,Grattan score New Ross score 2-3 after 4,Grattan score New Ross missed 3-3 after 5. Sudden Death Grattan score (squeaky bum time) New Ross missed Grattan win 4-3.Thats how I saw it going so I'm off for heart surgery before the next round ( a home tie v castelbar)

Special thanks to all involved with New Ross Celtic who gave us a cracking game and made us feel very welcome especially after the very difficult week they had.

Our manager was at the game and was impressed with Grattan. Do you have a website and where is your pitch located and what is it like? Who are you playing this weekend that the game has been moved to Feb 10th

pass&move
30/01/2008, 10:40 AM
Our manager was at the game and was impressed with Grattan. Do you have a website and where is your pitch located and what is it like? Who are you playing this weekend that the game has been moved to Feb 10th

Was talking to him at the game top man Gavin I think.As for helping you out we are now rivals until the 11th so head south. Ha Ha.

Closing Time
30/01/2008, 11:37 AM
Was talking to him at the game top man Gavin I think.As for helping you out we are now rivals until the 11th so head south. Ha Ha.

I note by your post you must have no school today. Maybe someone can advise on the location of your pitch coming from the west and whats the pitch like, have they a club house with bar faclilites, stand etc. or maybe this is giving to much info. Thanks

littleman
30/01/2008, 11:40 AM
Sorry for the delay lads but I was up the walls keepin ye all in beer.We had to pull this one out of the hat alright.We started at a thundering pace but were dumbfounded to find ourselves 2 down at the break.We had 9 corners in the first half yet 2 breaks from New Ross and they got 2 goals.(the 2nd a peach to be honest)

We have plenty of self belife and we new that if we stuck to our plan we had the beating of them,I just was'nt prepared for how close they took us.Jp pulled on back with 20 or so left and Figo put the equaliser away in the 88th min.Decky Gostel had a open goal to take advantage of to win it in extra time but it was not to be.Penos and we missed our 1st an 3rd to leave us trailing 3/1 with 3 taken.Then Smithy took over an saved their 4than 5th, we scored our 4th an 5th to level proceedings.Sudden death an Decky Gostel cooly put our 6th away and we waited to see if Smithy could do the hat trick to which we celebrated like we hade just won the whole competition.Unbelivable game to pull back from the brink in fairness,but never write the Gratts off was the lesson of the day.

Full credit to New Ross who to a man gave 110% in a week that must have been very hard for them.I thought they were a credit to both their club and their manager .Top people as well who gave us a great spread back at the New Ross Inn.

Next up in the Fai ,Castlebar on the 9th in Cork, but before that we travel to Limerick to play Kilmallock,Saturday.

bogwarrior
30/01/2008, 1:19 PM
Sorry now lads but i'll plead ignorance. Pass and littleman have both said it was a difficult week for New Ross.. why so?

I'm still suffering from depression/shock.

Must bounce back this wknd

littleman
30/01/2008, 1:28 PM
:(The New Ross managers wife passed away unexpectedly the Wednesday before the game and from what we learned up their she was held in very high regard by players and club alike.On the day the New Ross lads were as you would expect 110% up for it an would have loved to win it in respect of what had happened an we as a club tip our hats to them.:(

Shilts
31/01/2008, 11:20 AM
:(The New Ross managers wife passed away unexpectedly the Wednesday before the game and from what we learned up their she was held in very high regard by players and club alike.On the day the New Ross lads were as you would expect 110% up for it an would have loved to win it in respect of what had happened an we as a club tip our hats to them.:(

Sometimes we forget that its only a game.
Sympathy and respect to all in New Ross.

le tizz
04/02/2008, 2:51 PM
well done to grattan on recent results in the fai & munster junior cups and besta luck in their last 16 game vs castlebar on sat, from all your pals at the seaside , keep the aul flag flying for us, we'll be watching the weather and might get up to support you if we can, you've proved that your the best aul team by your perfomances so fair play to players and staff alike !

hard luck to ballyphehane, did anyone make the trip or anyone have a match report for us ??

carrigaline for us on sat up at the fort, we need to put a few good performances in to get the season back on track, gotta start all over again and try to put a few things right

any suggestions for us littleman ?? be nice now ....
come back ben ryan/eamonn jones/coby jones/dunny/danny meade/quiny......to name but a few

pass&move
04/02/2008, 2:59 PM
I was talking briefly to a bloke who drove down last night and he said that Ballyphehane left it after them.

Billynose
04/02/2008, 6:17 PM
Where have all the players gone le tizz?

littleman
05/02/2008, 12:39 AM
Big up to Dave O'Mahony and the Bally lads for given it a right good go.Well done lads.

Tizz dont know whats happen with ye but I hope it comes right cause your heart is in the right place with regards to your commitment to your club.

Thanks krocboyfor your lovely review of our place. A small bumpy pitch with a shed and its quite intimidating.What excellent use of the English language to describe a fellow Cork club.Shakespear would no doubt have been proud.

I'l have ago myself.

Community grounds which we are left use as we dont actually have our own pitch or dressing rooms .

How did I do for a first timer.

pass&move
05/02/2008, 9:27 AM
AOH Cup, 4th round:
Wilton Utd or Dunbar Clt v Bohemians or Park Utd A;
Kinsale or Carrigaline v Ballyphehane or St John Bosco’s B or Rathcoole Rvs A;
Grattan Utd A or Greenmount Rng A v Kanturk A or Killowen;
Glenvale v Dillon's Cross;
Leeside A v Passage A;
Ballincollig A v Blarney St. Athletic;
Villa United v Ballintotis;
Ballyvolane A v Rylane Celtic

Yoda01
05/02/2008, 10:23 AM
[/QUOTE]

Thanks krocboyfor your lovely review of our place. A small bumpy pitch with a shed and its quite intimidating.What excellent use of the English language to describe a fellow Cork club.Shakespear would no doubt have been proud.

I'l have ago myself.

Community grounds which we are left use as we dont actually have our own pitch or dressing rooms .

How did I do for a first timer.[/QUOTE]

i think krocboy for got about the hill also.........:rolleyes:

Towelie
05/02/2008, 10:24 AM
AOH 4th Round predictions...
Wilton
Ballyphehane
Grattan
Dillons Cross
Leeside
Blarney Street
Ballintotis
Ballyvolane

Some good ties here.Leeside will have it tough against Passage
and the potential meeting of Kinsale and Ballyphehane looks like a cracker.
Grattan, Blarney Street, Wilton, Park still there too.
Whoever is going to win the cup will probably have to do it the hard way.

bogwarrior
05/02/2008, 11:03 AM
F*ck it lads this is a fall from grace! Ye're tipping ballyphehane to beat us at home!!:eek:

Not beaten at home by a cork team in nearly two years?!

We'll be back - dont doubt it for a second.

pass&move
05/02/2008, 11:08 AM
Ballintotis 4th in 1B to beat Villa , Your havin a laugh

thirdeye
05/02/2008, 11:41 AM
F*ck it lads this is a fall from grace! Ye're tipping ballyphehane to beat us at home!!:eek:

have to agree...kinsale firm favourites at home in this one for me....have ye got a few injuries there at the moment or what....

Towelie
05/02/2008, 12:00 PM

I know ye will be out for revenge in this one and Fort Hill is the hardest place to travel in the league but I think Bally may just shade it.
Whoever comes out of this one will definately fancy going all the way.
Also in the match between Villa and Ballintotis I would fancy Ballintotis
If they have their cloyne senior hurlers available otherwise they'll get beat.

pass&move
05/02/2008, 12:10 PM
Villa have signed a few senior players from Templemount and are starting to get their act together

pass&move
05/02/2008, 12:26 PM
Also in the match between Villa and Ballintotis I would fancy Ballintotis
If they have their cloyne senior hurlers available otherwise they'll get beat.[/QUOTE]

I can see the score line already Villa 3 Ballintotis 1-13

littleman
05/02/2008, 9:07 PM
The AOH cup is anyones guess,even I would'nt put my money down this early.On current form Bally would be a good bet.Leeside too but I think with Kinsale and Bally now lookin to get some points on the league board I'd fancy so confidence will be high so one of those 3 to make at least the final would be a safe bet .We at the min are to far back to be counted.Blarney street or Villa would be my outside bet.

Letizz an bog if you think I'm loosin my confidence in all things blue an white relax.Its just until your actually in the final I've learned the hard way last year not to blow your trumpet to loudly.Even I learn a little each day,or night dependin on what shift i'm on.So best of luck to all this weekend in the AOH.Pity we could have done with all the support we can get Sat but the fixture list dont care whos playin just as long as it gets played.

pass&move
07/02/2008, 9:40 AM
Any predictions for the weekend ahead

F.A.I.Junior Cup
Grattan United A v Castlebar Celtic

AOH Cup Second Round
Ballyphehane Celtic v St. John Bosco B,

AOH Cup Third Round
Kinsale v Carrigaline,

AOH Cup Fourth Round
Leeside A v Passage A,

St Michaels Third Round
Richmond v Buttervant A)

Corinthians Cup Second Round
Parkview Celtic v Douglas Hall,

Premier League
Coachford A v Villa United,

Premier A League
Village Utd A v Knockavilla Celtic,
Wilton Utd A v Macroom A,
Blarney Street v Gennnmount Rangers

Innishvilla
07/02/2008, 10:12 AM
Any predictions for the weekend ahead

F.A.I.Junior Cup
Grattan United A v Castlebar Celtic Very close one Gratts by 1 goal

AOH Cup Second Round
Ballyphehane Celtic v St. John Bosco B, Bally cricket score

AOH Cup Third Round
Kinsale v Carrigaline, Closer than expected as Carrig seem to be a decent cup side, but Kinsale to come through

AOH Cup Fourth Round
Leeside A v Passage A,AUL game of the weekend, this is a very good Passage side (much better than 2nd division suggests)

St Michaels Third Round
Richmond v Buttevant A Toss of a coin, I'll go home win

Corinthians Cup Second Round
Parkview Celtic v Douglas Hall, Hall are flying at all grades away win

Premier League
Coachford A v Villa United, At a guess Home win

Premier A League
Village Utd A v Knockavilla Celtic, Village
Wilton Utd A v Macroom A, Wilton
Blarney Street v Gennnmount Rangers Blarney St.

See in bold for my predictions

le tizz
07/02/2008, 3:41 PM
The AOH cup is anyones guess ...... Letizz an bog if you think I'm loosin my confidence in all things blue an white relax.Its just until your actually in the final I've learned the hard way last year not to blow your trumpet to loudly.Even I learn a little each day,or night dependin on what shift i'm on.....

i couldnt a put it better weeman, you just cant and shouldnt count your chickens until ...,
it seems that we got so far this year then complacency or i dunno what sets in and we've not performed when asked on the big days, losin a final in the cross did knock the confidence and it has shown in results since then- on days that 11 men needed to stand up it just didnt happen (myself included)

that said, there's no point in wallowing, there's still an AOH and league to compete for so we'll be lookin to put things right, there is a bit of shifting in the club at the mo, losin a few players thru emmigration and what have you (dont eat any floating dogs ben !) but we still have a determined squad who want to give a better account of themselves than recent results have shown

we do need to get a few good games under our belt starting saturday against a fancied carrig team it looks lilke (up at the fort), hopefully we all wont take em for granted ! and it looks like we might get to play our 2nd league game before march so its all very positive really

best a luck to all things grattan on saturday be it o'neill park or blarney i wish you all the luck from the seaside, be confident and brave and hopefully things go well on the day !

does anyone know what the bookies odds are for the prem league at the mo ? we've prob slipped down the standings so might be worth a flutter for us,nobody else seems to be giving us a chance so ya never know, we're the underdogs this year by the looks a things

all concentrated eyes on saturday and carrigaline first, no more sad luck stories from me or i'll have to jack in this armchair commentary, we'll be hard to beat at the fort and wont give up without a fight, we'll be back !

pass&move
07/02/2008, 4:12 PM
Cashmans Bookmakers last weekend

AUL Prem

Grattan Utd 6/4
Kinsale 6/4
Ballyphehane Celtic 3/1
Park 6/1
Leeside 8/1
Glenthorn Celtic 8/1

Cant remember the rest

07/02/2008, 4:57 PM
bellas back, missed a few games, seen the papers yesterday, were last, jesusc] christ like, we lost 3-2 last weekend to a brutal greenwood, they have a great player in CM though, i imagine some fo ye would know him. How graton getting on this season lads. I told ye write off ballyphehane if ye want, great team they are.

pass&move
08/02/2008, 1:00 PM
Todays prices
AUL Premier League

Grattan Utd 6/4
Kinsale 6/4
Ballyphehane 3/1
Leeside 6/1
Park Utd 10/1
Coachford 16/1
Glenthorn 16/1
Castleview 25/1
Villa Utd 50/1
Kanturk 66/1

Check out http://www.cashmans.ie/othersports/othersports6.html

le tizz
08/02/2008, 2:30 PM
no surprises there really
bookies playing it safe for now
we're home in the league to glenthorn next week so that'll give us an indication of what to expect, 2 big home games for us in 2 weeks, lets see what happens
besta luck again to the grats, weather seems ok so is it going on in hollyhill ?? we'll all be watching the result

pass&move
08/02/2008, 2:45 PM
Saturday's FAI Junior Cup game, Grattan v Castlebar, will now take place in Mayfield, kick off 2.30pm.

bogwarrior
10/02/2008, 10:48 AM
Just got wind of the Grattan result. Hard luck lads. Sounds like a bleedin cracker! Send us on an in depth analysis - although i know it will be painful i'd like to hear what happened.

We struggled against carrigaline's 3rd team.. well when i say struggled we were 3-0 up at half time and tore them apart in the first half. Second half we made changes and 3 all at full time!! Just took our eye off the ball. Fought well and kept our heads in extra time and won 5-3. Just all about keeping calm really. We did it in extra time but should of been out of sight after 90. Missed the first half of the rugby too but that could of been a blessing!

Ye're not gonna be worried about the boys in blue just yet chaps.

Anyother results - billy lyons must have overslept this morning:p

threefivetwo
10/02/2008, 11:44 AM
castlebar far better team refferee gave everythin to grattan to try and help them win, along with the linesmen, castlebar had a lot more clear cut chances and the refferee sent the celtic captain off for some reason i don't know the grattan players said it themselves after!!!!! so much 4 refs playin fair!!!! he was a joke!! if castlebar had lost it would have been robbery!!!

bogwarrior
11/02/2008, 8:17 AM
Looking forward to the reply to this one!!!:eek:

thirdeye
11/02/2008, 8:36 AM
castlebar far better team refferee gave everythin to grattan to try and help them win, along with the linesmen, castlebar had a lot more clear cut chances and the refferee sent the celtic captain off for some reason i don't know the grattan players said it themselves after!!!!! so much 4 refs playin fair!!!! he was a joke!! if castlebar had lost it would have been robbery!!!

I was going to come on here and wish castlebar all the best after their win over grattan but once again castlebar seem to have outdone themselves when it comes to a lack of dignity and sportsmanship....from the day this fixture was announced they have been harping on about grattan forcinig them to play on a saturday and grattan forcing them to play on their astro turf complex.....and now they can't win a game graciously imagine if they had lost....to imply the officials were homers is a joke.....you go on about why your captain was sent off...it was two undisputable booking offences which by the way wasn't contested by the player himself or management because he had to go....also you neglected to say grattan had a player sent off...explain his sending off by hometown officials ya eejit???now that was harsh....for the first half hour grattan ran castlebar ragged and were persistantly fouled by a ponderous backline who couldn't handle the pace of the grattan midfield/forwards....the officials could and should have produced more cards....there has been some very good sides come to cork over the last few seasons and some good friendships forged ...unfortunately you lot leave a bad taste in the mouth....your own manager was heard to say how good a side grattan were and had some very good players and a very good passing side....sorry to everyone else about the rant but this guy is an idiot...i won't dignify his comments by getting into a slagging match and won't reply to your biased unfounded comments...the words sportsmanship... and rules of the game come to mind...idiot!!!!!!!!!

pass&move
11/02/2008, 9:01 AM

Your an idiot what game were you watching Grattan ran ye ragged in the fist half and should have been 2 up in the first 15mins . Unfortunately gave away a silly goal against the run of play. Grattan then had to chase the game which was played in Castles half except for the odd break into Grattans . You say (the referee gave everything to Grattan to try and help them win) then explain the Grattan sending off . You've left Castle down with your comments. Grattan gave respect before and after the game. We knew ye hadn't conceded a goal in the competition until now this doesn't say much for the standard ye played so far. I would have liked to wish ye all the best in the next round but your comments have only made me sick and now Im
officially an A.B.C.

littleman
11/02/2008, 1:41 PM
I'd said to myself I'll take a while to think about this one because with the comments posted by the Casltlebar lad I knew thier would be a reaction . Its hard enough goin out on penos without havin it rubbed in your face and I did'nt want it to take away from the game itself.

To be very honest we knew Castlebar were a good side and had'nt conceeded a goal in the Fai yet so we also knew it was'nt goin to be easy to break down.Nothin is at this stage.We started very brightly and had them on the back foot for 25 or so mins.They were takin no prisioners in the last 30 an we had 4 good direct free chances which we tryed to test their keeper with.Goldsmith made a great break then an one on one the keeper made a fine save.We stepped of the gas for the last 15 an our keeper had to save a one on one before we let them come into the game an we gave away a very soft goal.Our own fault.The ref i thought was very leanient ot the Castlebar lads if anything because they made 3 or 4 terrible tackles alone on Cans.As I said they had a game plan,more power to them and we bore the brunt of some very late challanges for which yellows were not given so I really dont know where 352 is comin from.

The second half was them soakin it up again an again an attackin on the break,which they were good at in fairness.The 3 sendin offs were fairly straight forward accordin to the ref.The first for them,their player was on a yellow an mis controled the ball and when we broke he tripped our player,second yellow gone.Then we really put them under pressure an had 7 corners in the last 15 mins the last of which we managed to beat their keeper only for their center half to clear it with his hand,peno an straight red.Thats them down to 9 men an us with a peno to be taken with 2mins left.Figo was trying to place the peno when a Castlebar player kicked the ball from his hands,Figo pushed him away an the ref sent Figo off.Madness on the part of the official,he lost it big time.He should have booked them both an told them to cop on and if I was to be cynical I'd say Castlebar knew what they were doin at the time.

Jp put the peno away an we went into extra time where we knew with the extra man we could win it and we battered them for the 20 mins with them just hoofin it away and tryin to catch us on the break.We tryed an tryed but we just could'nt put it in the back of the net.Even when it went to penos we thought we could still do it .Smithy got his hands to their first an it just dribbled over the line and the rest is history.We played great stuff but it counts for nothin because they won.

We have all played in those games where you give 110% and still end up loosin,football can pat you on the back in one second an kick ya in the rollers the next.We had the luck in the penos against New Ross,it was'nt their Saturday.We went back to the Anglers to lament what could have been an drank the night away happy in the knowledge of what might still be.You dont always get what you deserve from a game and Castlebar know they got out of jail with this one.I have no problem with them because you cant account for what some individual might write .Best of luck to Caslebar in the next round,the Gratts have still a lot to play for.