View Full Version : Cork AUL 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21

Billynose
20/11/2007, 7:31 PM
Ah I now realise therise plays with wilton. Carrigaline had a very off day the day you played against us. I would however say that wilton seemed to be a class above some of AUL premier teams i have played against which are quite poor. Corinthians have gone to the absolute dogs at all adult levels so I wouldn't read too much into anything playing them and i can't say much about ringmahon as i've never played the same ringmahon team twice in a row.

Like i've said before the top aul sides (grattan,kinsale, leeside, ballyphehane) are good sides but there is an awful lot of muck teams in the AUL and I think a lot of people judge the AUL as a whole on these teams.

P.S. What Shilts said about a lack of competition is in my opinion spot on.

bogwarrior
20/11/2007, 9:03 PM
ahh not again ,rebel im sorry if I ready our post up the wrong way.No disrespect meant. Bog will ya read it for what it is rather than draggin the anti kfc thing into it.

Littleman i read it and re read it but all i did is correct you where you're wrong! We dont go in with the attitude that we were never going to win it- i would hope not anyway. Dont get shirty and bring the supposed anti kinsale thing in coz that was the last thing on my mind. I for one love the long away trips in the open round and especially the bus trip on the way home:D It's great to pit yourselves agains new faces.

I'm with the rise and littleman on the Douglas Hall defeat though. They have won team of the month and did beat Everton the other nite but that was a p*ss poor everton side apparently and the result could of been worse. We beat the same Douglas Hall team last yr down at the fort 4-0 if i recall. Maybe not a 'Shock':eek: but still an upset Rebel. I think u should be setting your sights higher than this- although i think i have shown myself to be a bit of a dreamer lads!!

Innishvilla
21/11/2007, 8:11 AM
Hi all, some heated debate going on here this week... I suppose the last few weeks were the calm before the storm :rolleyes:

I've played all my AUL career with Innish in the lower divisions and I have to say that I must disagree with the take up that outside the top 4 or 5 the AUL is muck poor... Fair enough this year there have been no upsets in the AOH or other cups but that happens every now and then.

I think it more highlights the absurd open draw from round 1 in the AOH. Before the open draw the top sides used to be meeting a team who really wanted a crack of them, having won a couple of games. Not meeting a team on a bad run of form or a team who aren't interested...

I know the top sides train and play hard, but there are a lot of lesser teams who just don't have the players to compete at that level but do train twice a week, show up early and prepared for games etc. When I started playing (way back when!!!) in the lower divisions if a team trained (properly) they would more then likely win the division with any decent side. Now to win any division or get promoted takes a huge effort. Don't get me wrong I've seen Kinsale train and the intensity there is massive. BUT please don't tar every team with the "AUL muck" brush...

bogwarrior
21/11/2007, 9:23 AM
Fair enuff innish but would i be right in saying that last year was the first year ye guys started to take things seriously. With Ger your training was good and ye had a big squad. To be fair urselves and postal were the only two who looked like getting promoted in the division? Can any team come along and get a decent manager for a year and look like getting promotion in the lower leagues?? Has it changed much from the old days when we both first started? I dont think so. Commitment is one thing - fair enough, nobody will ever be knocked for trying, but quality is another. And there does seem to be a lack of it in the lower leagues.. You guys brought in a few players last year and it helped your cause..

le tizz
21/11/2007, 11:44 AM
look lads, we've all played bad or with a bad team but i dont think slingin insults will change anything, there is a huge gap between about 10 teams from the prem & prem a and everybody else, this is why there is the same teams competing and winning every year and why some teams are looking to grow and move from the aul.

maymount got to the semi final of the munster junior last year (and went msl), kinsale, grattan, leeside, wilton all did well in the fai & aoh competitions, we had a great run in the senior cup the year before last, losing down in cobh, passage being beaten in last years final, but as a league of players we're still a bit off winning the fai in my opinion, yes we'll be very close on our day but to win the cup you need a decent slice of luck and everybody having a 110% day, then muliply that by 4 or more games and mistakes cannot be made without fellas going home disappointed, i feel that there isnt any team who can boast 16 players who can come & go without disturbing the team, one or two keys players make most teams tick, take them out and we dont stand a chance against the fai last four

dont get me wrong, i'm going out to win it as i am going out to win every game, i hate losing to anybody but there are some days when you have to hold your hands up and say you got beat by a better team, we left both big cups after us last year, conceding a last minute equaliser in the munster junior then going out on pens and coming from 3-0 down to go ahead in extra time only to lose it 10-9 on spotters in the fai

a good team will be there every year and will compete in all cups due to the divide amonst committment & ability, i think having the prem teams in the 1st, 2nd or even 3rd round of the aoh is outrageous (our draw is 1st rnd bt watergrasshill 7-0 60 mins, 2nd rnd away to hillington b, winners home to coachford b i think), there's enuf games to be played already, this causes the league to suffer later in the year when teams should be flying and not trying to make up numbers for midweek games or throwing 9 players on cause of injuries, i've said all this before anyway

littleman you havent had a pop at anyone inna while, spose it was a matter of time, and there's miles to go we havent gotten serious at all yet, spose sat's game is the start of it, should get interesting, good to see people are still looking in on the thread, good luck to both sides at o'neill park on sat, pity its not being televised (any live hook ups possible ??), tom murphy to be sent off the line ... ha ha, how's yer keeper disco ? could be the difference if ye have a good un, what about the hhulk of fergal murray, best pair of tits i ever seen on a man

innish the new setup might bring new talent but a good coach is all important, reckon we've a great combo this year with barry & ger so we're all confident, and we havent played to our full potential yet so there is gas in the tank, marys might get burnt on sat on a good surface, i noticed they are struggling in their league

we'll all be watching results as they pop up on the videprinter, good luck to all, ben ryan with a hat trick, the two dereks to do savage damage

Innishvilla
21/11/2007, 12:56 PM
Fair enuff innish but would i be right in saying that last year was the first year ye guys started to take things seriously. With Ger your training was good and ye had a big squad. To be fair urselves and postal were the only two who looked like getting promoted in the division? Can any team come along and get a decent manager for a year and look like getting promotion in the lower leagues?? Has it changed much from the old days when we both first started? I dont think so. Commitment is one thing - fair enough, nobody will ever be knocked for trying, but quality is another. And there does seem to be a lack of it in the lower leagues.. You guys brought in a few players last year and it helped your cause..

OK Bog, I'll agree and disagree with you on this one:
I disagree that we hadn't taken it seriously as a team and club we had given the 2nd division a good crack a couple of times. But if you look at the teams that have won/got promoted from our division in the last few years it hasn't been the easiest division to get out of:
Knockavilla and Dunbar (both now Prem A)
Ballypheane (Prem)
UCC (They had a very strong side that year)
Dripsey(Actually anyone know what happened to Dripsey they were flying for a while) & Lakewood (MSL)
So we would argue that it was a bloody tough division over the years.

I'll agree that Ger brought a huge amount to the club and with him we attracted a few players, Lyndon, Sean (Ger's son) and in my opinion the best player in the division last year Craig McCarthy. But I'd also wager that Ger would bring that similar boost to any club that has a group of decent players, I don't think it's a coincidence that Kinsale are looking stronger than ever this year after what was for them a dip in form last year...

rebelrover
22/11/2007, 9:18 AM
rebel this is an open forum for those who have different opinions to voice those opinions and hopefully have them respected for what they are.

What or how I do anything for Grattan is neither here nor their and comes across as only a cheap throw away comment.Am I to feel guilty because we have a good side.Yourself,letizz bog or anyone else on this site could hold any position with your own clubs and it dosent effect my understanding of your posts.I offer all on this thread equal measure of respect and will only pass comment on what is posted by others..

Surely you must see my point that if we are truely to challange the Msl or at least think we as a league are improving we have to become the best at junior level first.Your point about being beatin by a top Msl junior side mearly widens the gap between us and the Msl senior because now we apperntly have to be better than their junior sides first before we can maybe hope to be able to hold our own in the MSL Senior.

I can understand your dissapointment at loosing but your club has done much to get to where it is and achiving what it has and by stating that Doughlas were on a roll simply seems as a fob off.Ye played us at the start of the season and probably ran us closer to a beatin than anyone in the league last year9except Park) if I was being perfectly honest.That is why I tipped ye to beat Doughlas hall.We beat them twice last year but at home I still fancied ye,thats why I would consider it a shock.

Some points well made Littleman - sorry about the cheapshot.

littleman
22/11/2007, 9:28 AM
Confidence is the key, I'd have to agree with you their Innish.3 seasons ago we got relegated from the Premier and had the most difficult season on an off the pitch I've ever come across.Caulfield did me a favour and took control of the first team for the last 5 games even though we were basically relegated he saw enough to see that with a few additions we could go places.How he raised those players from the dumps and got them to where they are today,how is beyond me.But whatever is his way it worked.

Last season I felt that the most important games would be the head to head with Kinsale.As long as we didnt give away points in those games was the key.Down the fort letizz's gang put it up to us big time but we got out of their with a draw and up at home we left a very impressive victory slip,even managers have their off days.Draws are fine against the sides that are challanging,your givin away nothing.What destroyed Kinsale last year was the draws against the lower teams that we were beating. This year it will be harder again because their seems to be no rhyme or reason to the way the results are coming in. Sides are taking good points one week and loosing bad points the next week.Park took a good point away from our place and I'm not goin to deny they deserved more on the day because they did.Probably the worst display from our own I'v seen.Me personlly I think loosing to Castleview in the Mossie an the Park draw was the best kick up the hole for us because we were takin for granted we would win games.You have to win games yourself,their no such thing as a dead cert in football.

Confidence is vital but it has to be the right kind of confidence.Confidence in your own ability and the ability of the players with you.Being overly confident will effect your game because it can blind you from respecting the opposition.Against the best sides it will loose you the game.We have learned already this season that in the league teams are goin up a level against us and if we are are to be successful this season we ourselves will have to step up another level again.

le tizz
22/11/2007, 10:45 AM
well said littleman! spot on with everything you said
last year was a kick in the hole for us an all so with the new coaching staff and a few players back things are def fresher this year

that aside, the prem could be the strongest its been in the past few years and there will be lots of competition for all of us, everyone wants a piece of the big teams, 1st goal is all important, nice to have some new teams up which gives everyone a bit of drive, its hard playing against the same teams and same players year in year out but its worse when you're being beaten by the same team year in year out, luckily we've been on the sunny side of that coin for the past few years, the draws against "poorer" teams did cost us last year, thats what you get when you're champs- everyone wants to take a bite, this is the year you need to show you werent just a flash in the pan grattan & ballyphehane and besta luck to ye, a wilton side steeped in history would also be good opposition for the prem teams, how're ye fixed this year for lastability disco / rise

there's a couple of coaching jobs going a begging littleman (fai & engerland) wonder could you take the winning attitude and sort out some of them lovely hairdressers who are part time footballers, i took great enjoyment in seeing a good footballing croatia run rings around a chronic engerland last night- is that wrong ?? you're not signing anymore ..... ha

studsup
22/11/2007, 11:24 AM
might be on the wrong league thread here now but anyone know where Everton in cork's pitch is?

Innishvilla
22/11/2007, 11:41 AM
might be on the wrong league thread here now but anyone know where Everton in cork's pitch is?

From the cork referee's website (http://www.isrscork.com):

The location of Everton Park is next to the airport, Come through Togher from the Cork side pass Togher Church (it will be on your right side) and at the roundabout take the first exit (left), go to the top of that hill and at the fork in the road turn right up the hill travel for about half a mile and you will see a sign to your right for Marian House, Take that road up to your left to where sign is pointing and follow that road around, at the end of that road on your right is Everton Park.

The under age teams play in Togher Community Field which is situated in Togher, across the road from the Deanrock Bar.

bogwarrior
22/11/2007, 12:59 PM
Ya Innish agree with every thing you said! But thats what i was getting at. One good season with a good manager and a few recruits will get u promoted.

Great games this weekend lads - best of luck to all. A good mixture of confidence/hunger will go a long way.

littleman
22/11/2007, 1:11 PM
Keepin it real is what its all about in releation to what you can or maybe able to achive.If you went in to our dressing room and told the players they hav'nt a chance of winning the Fai or any other cup the first thing they would say is why not.I'd expect that answer from them because as a group one of their biggest strenghts is that they never give up and always belive they can get the result and without meaning to tempt fate they usually do.

To win any trophy or cup you need hard work,ability and a little sprinkling of luck along the way just to maybe win 1.We are involved in 5 so thats a lot of everything to be askin to go right.So thats why we are commited to doing our very best in everything and technically the skys the limit but realisticly to do what or near what we did last season with a cup to boot would be a better bet.

Being honest if we were to fail to reach the open round I think we all would be very dissapointed because I think our run last year really made the rest of the larger teams in Munster/Country especially sit up and take note of what the Cork Aul has in its ranks.I think its vital that this season we as a league have a team or teams that do as well as we did last year to continue our developement as a league.

We have to suffer the snobbery of the Msl more than most because we are surrounded on the northside by um an I must say I really enjoyed hamin the limelight last year when they all had to tip their hats to an Aul team.Their was a time when the Msl's finest would hope to draw the Auls representitive in the Munster senior cup but I think over the last few years that is no longer the case.Well done to those who are always trying to improve,keep it goin lads.

DiscoPants
23/11/2007, 4:36 PM
Best of luck to all the Wilton lads - the Rise et al - ahead of tomorrow's big game against Grattan.

Hope you win, but I suppose it is best to remember that your number one priority should always be to guarantee promotion to the top tier of the AUL - somewhere i think ye would do really well.

That's not to demean Grattan's achievements last year, and if you do win tomorrow game than best of luck to them or the rest of the competition. It would be nice to see aa Cork team win it!

littleman
23/11/2007, 6:34 PM
VERY SPORTING DISCO, and the same to you as well.

therise
23/11/2007, 8:31 PM
Best of luck to all the Wilton lads - the Rise et al - ahead of tomorrow's big game against Grattan.

Hope you win, but I suppose it is best to remember that your number one priority should always be to guarantee promotion to the top tier of the AUL - somewhere i think ye would do really well.

That's not to demean Grattan's achievements last year, and if you do win tomorrow game than best of luck to them or the rest of the competition. It would be nice to see aa Cork team win it!

Cheers discopants. Agreed the league has to be our priority, we want to be playing the top sides week in week out.

As for tomorrow, really looking forward to it. I think on our day we are as good as anything the aul has to offer, what we've lacked in recent seasons is consistency or lastability as le tizz put it earlier.

Training has been a lot more intense this year with good turnouts thanks to rocksy so hopefully come the end of season we'll reap the benefits.

Littleman ,heres to a good game, pity one of us has to go out before the open draw.

DiscoPants
24/11/2007, 1:12 PM
Lads, if anyone gets a score from the Wilton/Grattan game, would they mind posting it up please.

Any info on goalscorers, how the game went etc. would also be appreciated.

Nice One.

pass&move
24/11/2007, 4:36 PM
Grattan won 1-0 Kevin Goldsmith scored around the 65th minute.Tough game for Grattan,Wilton realy put it up to them,altough Grattan were never realy threatened.After Grattan took the lead they could have gone on to get another 2 only for poor finishing.4th round next bring on Park

DiscoPants
25/11/2007, 11:16 AM
Nice one,

What players stood out for Wilton? Did they actually have many chances in the game?

Anyhow, hard luck Wilton, and as i said the other day, maybe it's a blessing in disguise as you can now concentrate fully on getting out of the Premier A.

alansmithccfc
25/11/2007, 12:49 PM
Thought next sunday's games were called off?

Fixtures made out even though it was advertised the weeke before that no games would be played on the sunday?

therise
25/11/2007, 3:16 PM
Nice one,

What players stood out for Wilton? Did they actually have many chances in the game?

Anyhow, hard luck Wilton, and as i said the other day, maybe it's a blessing in disguise as you can now concentrate fully on getting out of the Premier A.

Didn't really have anything other than a half chance in the first half. A few good moves with no end product. Really scrappy goal given away although must say Grattan created the few chances in the game. Alberto made 2 fine saves. One in the first half and one near the end when we were chasing the game. Paul did well in the centre wih bucks.

I felt we were on top for a good portion of the first half but Grattan controlled the second. Struggled to get our wingers in to the game on what i must say must be the tightest pitch in the aul.

Littleman, deserved victory and best of luck in the rest of the competition. Any scope for widening the pitch with the upcoming developments? Although then again it could be a major advantage if ye get to the latter stages of the competiton and hopefully ye will.

So back to priority of getting promoted.

DiscoPants
25/11/2007, 4:55 PM
Thanks Rise and hard luck yesterday.

littleman
26/11/2007, 11:15 AM
It was more of a waltz than a disco,sorry for the pun Disco but I could'nt resist.

Na to be honest I was expecting a belter of a game but it never developed into or even came near it.This was a very good win for the Gratts who put in a very professional display if its ok to put it that way.Sometimes you can win a game 1 nil but still be comfortable the whole way through.This was one of those .For all the times Wilton have watched us play this season they never really posed any problems to our formation.We are quite happy to sit back in the first half of a game an let teams play and catch them on the break especially if your not quiet sure what their goin to bring to a game but Wilton never really caused any problems.

Played lovely football at times but never really mounted a serious attack which resulted in a shot or something at least.Dont get me wrong it was a good game just not the one I was expecting.Would have no problem with having Wilton in the Premier proper because they would bring a lot of experience and youth judging by their bench.

Your right back was a nice player and so to your left midfielder(he just took to much out of the ball time an again) and Guiltanin an Buckley showed touchs of class through out.We should have had 2 in the first half but Fleming had his shot inside the 6 yard box saved superbly by the keeper an Brian O'Sullivan put a free header wide from inside the 6 yard bax as well.The second half was all us with in fairness a man of the match display buy your keeper who looked simply a different class plus a little wayward finishing an fallin over hahaha kept the scoreline respectable.

Good all round display by Wilton but we just seemed to have a bit more in all areas and were able to make the changes from the bench that will hurt teams rather than filling in the gaps.

I dont know about the comment on the pitch THERISE,we played a Mossie an a Aoh semi on it last year and everyone was happy with it and even more importantly the quater final of the Fai junior cup(which states the pitch has to have dimensions greater than 100 *70,ours is 107 *78 by the way)and that was checked by the Fai Junior Board prior to that game.We play 5 in midfield and that may have closed down the space that you are accustomed to normally having as a winger an they are extremely good at closing down space so its not a wingers paradise,especially against a team like ours.

Over all Disco Wilton showed a lot of promise and would be a welcome addition to the premier.

Another 3 points for Glenthorn and a good win for Rebel an Co.

Le tizz what happened.I was speaking to some lads from Marys B an they said they could have leveled even maybe have won it if they had taken their chances.I was expectin a big victory what happened.

Bella whats the story I thought ye would have the beatins of Everton too.............

pass&move
26/11/2007, 12:21 PM
Anyone know why the FAI Junior cup game between Castleview and Richmond had no extra time played ?

littleman
28/11/2007, 6:51 AM
Eff 'in Ref's...........The ref who ever it was ,was not aware of the fact that the game was to finish on the day.Despite the fact that it has been the same for every competition this season.The game has to be replayed,with Castleview having home advantage again by the way because in the eye's of the law the game was never finished properly,ie 90mins plus extra time and peno's if needed.Sorry for the delay lads in gettin back.

Letizz still no answer to the weekends near call,,,,,,,,,,

Bella,Rebel,Bog an all we seem to be falling way down the peckin order lads.:confused:

bogwarrior
28/11/2007, 9:42 AM
Sorry gents! Busy busy busy this week! All a little excited now with the final approaching. Last weekends game was perhaps the perfect preparation for it. 'One of those games' u see! We started with a very strong team and the first half was a cake walk. The amazing thing was we were only 2 nil up! Should of been way more - ballyvolane b put it up to us more in the first half the previous week. Perhaps fellas were thinking it was only a matter of time before the floodgates opened... but we got complacent. second half was poor but the manager made a few changes and we shored things up for the final few minutes. It was an eye opener certainly and we wont be able to afford to relax in the same manner on friday night. Mary's could of taken their chances and scrope a draw out of it but that would of been a very lucky draw. Massive competition for places down here with fellas dying to get some game time on friday night. Cant wait now! See what the new dressing rooms are like at the cross:D

Good win at the weekend littleman - sounds like even though it was only one goal ye were in control. Glenthorn got a nice bit of coverage in the star yesterday... anyone see it?? Its great getting a bit of coverage in a national daily newspaper. Makes a change from the usual limerick tipp and waterford sides - although they still made an appearance!:p Leeside registered their first league win... kanturk looking in trouble all ready??

Will ye be heading to the cross on friday nite lads? The more the merrier - should be a belter of a game! Looking forward to see billy's pre match comments tonight!

Predictions??

Players to watch??

historynut
28/11/2007, 10:59 AM
2006/07
Keep records of Junior/Intermediate leagues. Need to update Cork AUL. Who were 2006/07 Champions/Runners up ? Did Kinsale do 5 in a row ?

littleman
28/11/2007, 11:34 AM
:DIf I answer this will it be akin to gloating.
If I ask letizz to answer it will it be akin to rubbin it in
If I ask you Rebel to answer it that might be akin to bein smug so
I'll ask Innish to answer it an we can all be happy hahahahah:D

Shilts
28/11/2007, 11:41 AM
2006/07
Keep records of Junior/Intermediate leagues. Need to update Cork AUL. Who were 2006/07 Champions/Runners up ? Did Kinsale do 5 in a row ?

Historynut, go to the contents page of cork.billy.googlepages.com
Billy Lyons has details of the AUL going back to 1940s

Best of luck to my Kinsale friends next friday night in the Mossie Linnane Cup Final. Ballyphehane should make it a good game but I reckon Kinsale have enough to shade it :ball:

Innishvilla
28/11/2007, 12:49 PM
:DIf I answer this will it be akin to gloating.
If I ask letizz to answer it will it be akin to rubbin it in
If I ask you Rebel to answer it that might be akin to bein smug so
I'll ask Innish to answer it an we can all be happy hahahahah:D

Historynut: seeing as Littleman has nominated me to answer your question to avoid about 25 different conflicts of interest.

Kinsale failed in their bid to capture a 5th title when Grattan United won the title. Kinsale had finished 2nd in the league but were relegated to Premier A after an objection by Villa United. On appeal this punishment was overturned and neither Villa nor Kinsale were relegated.

Does that cover the everything???

Oh yes the big news story of the year was Innishvilla's historic promotion to Division 1 after 10 long years of trying...

littleman
28/11/2007, 1:32 PM
Short but to the point Innish and you saved me the hassle of pointing out last years highs an lows.Now I cant be accused of shiite stiring and for that I am truly in your debt.I owe you one.

As for the Mossie final Friday I'm not to sure.Kinsale have been doing very well to date this season but as yet have not come up against any of the supposed big hitters.I think letizz an Bog will agree this has been the easiest start to a season for ye in years in terms of cup draws to date.

The same can't be said of Bally and they also seem to be just scrapin through with their last 4 or 5 results.First and second division teams seem to be causing them problems when to show everyone else they have what it takes to challange the others they should be winning games well, or else at least more comfortably.

Kinsale's result over the weekend surprised me.Kinsale seem to have a very good 11 or 12 but after that it seems to get watered down a little going by what seems to have happenend over the weekend.

What happens if they had to put on 3 subs,would it be the same Kinsale an will Bally fall into the same catagory.More importantly considering that the 2 of them have to play each other in the league(2) as well whom ever loses will they be strong enough to pick themselves up again for the rest of the league/cups.

Tough call to make.We could maybe be seeing the emergence of one title challanger and the end of another.I think this game could have a big effect on the loser.More than each side would like to admit.

At the start of the season if you told me that Kinsale and Bally were in the mossie final I would have said it should be a cracker,now with recent results I'm not so sure.

Kinsale to win in 90 mins,Bally if it goes further.

historynut
28/11/2007, 5:17 PM
Appreciate that Inishvilla

littleman
29/11/2007, 6:28 AM
Park Utd or Grattan Utd V Clonmel Cel FC-Grattan United
Baldoyle Utd V Everton B FC-Baldoyle FC
Douglas Hall (MSL)V Forth Cel-Douglas Hall
Kinsale FC or Village Utd A V Balally Cel-Kinsale Celtic
Ballyphehane Cel V Ballymun Utd or Albion Rvs-Ballymun United
New Ross Cel V Avondale Utd-New Ross Celtic
Castleview FC or Richmond FC V Navan Cosmos FC-Castleview FC

5 Cork sides at home an 2 away.If we could get 3 or 4 into the last 32 and avoid each other it would be a great credit to both the teams envolved and the respective leagues.:ball::ball:

Innishvilla
29/11/2007, 8:53 AM
I know it is above for the cork teams and is on another forum on this site but the full draw: I wouldn't know a lot about junior football around the country but Pike v Portmarnock looks a cracker...
Clonmel Celtic are a strong Tipp side but not a patch on Clonmel town.
I know nothing about the sides the two MSL sides are meeting.
Kinsale/Village who are Balally Celtic? Think they're from Dundrum???
Ballypheane will have a test if it's ballymun...
I know nothing about Navan Cosmos apart from the fact their name sound like they should be playing Major League Soccer in the US...

Park Utd or Grattan Utd V Clonmel Cel FC
Baldoyle Utd V Everton B FC
Douglas Hall (MSL)V Forth Cel
Ballynanty Rvs V Kilmallock FC
Milford Utd or Cavan Town V Greenpark FC
St Peters Athlone FC V Malahide Utd
Liffey Pearse FC V Crumlin Utd
Kinsale FC or Village Utd A V Balally Cel
Orchard Cel V Trinity Corths
Interkenmare FC V St Michaels FC
Evergreen FC V Liffey Cel
Celbridge FC or Cherryorchard FC V Ballyoulster Utd
Aishling Annacotty or Regional Utd V Lisselton Rvs
Willow Park FC V Clonmel Town FC
Manorhamilton FC V Mervue Utd
St Patricks FC V Corduff Utd
Killarney Cel V Abbey Utd
Tralee Dynamos V Castlebar Cel
Ballyphehane Cel V Ballymun Utd or Albion Rvs
West Utd V Howth Cel
St John Bosco V St Kevins Boys
Drumbar Utd or Moyville Cel V Star Rvs
New Ross Cel V Avondale Utd
Pike Rvs V Portmarnock FC
Clontarf Ailesbury or Adanstown V Illies Cel or Dunkineely Cel
Carrick Utd. V Cahir Park FC
Manulla Utd V Gweedore Cel or Redcastle FC
Ballina Town or Urlaur Utd V Boyle Cel
Newtown FC V Aileach FC or Kilmacrennan Cel
Dungarvan Utd V Westport Utd
Castleview FC or Richmond FC V Navan Cosmos FC
Killester Utd or Dunboyne FC V Shangan Athletic

munsterman000
29/11/2007, 9:17 AM
Clonmel Celtic are a strong Tipp side but not a patch on Clonmel town.

Park Utd or Grattan Utd V Clonmel Cel FC

You'd be fairly spot on there.

Celtic met Grattan last year but unfortunately for us we had a massively depleted squad on the day. Grattan were good value for the win but it was a pity that we weren't at full strength - we finished 3 points off the league (Clonmel Town won) and got to the Tipp Cup Final.

This year's a different story; manager gone after a hammering in the first game of the season, load of players left and we came close to having to put out our (TSDL Division 3) B Team in the Premier League. We've recovered a bit but wouldn't have the greatest of confidence to be fair. Sure we'll give it a lash though.....:)

le tizz
29/11/2007, 12:06 PM
not really but i'd give it as good a shot as poor hapless stan,
i've been out of town and away from my computa so been catching up on posts this morning
well done to all teams who've progressed unscathed

i missed the marys game littleman and only back today, aint seen or talked to my crew yet so havent gotten any match report, you have a bit of a point with the kinsale squad system, getting a fit & able 16 out every week is something we are all trying to achieve, i suppose its a matter of case that 5 subs will disrupt a team no matter what the standard, we have a couple who can make a difference but depends what match situation, chasing a game (we havent been yet this year) or defending (not in our nature to sit back and try to hold on), we do have a few big players who supply most of the threat but they are supported by the whole squad, as you will find out come may, you will have ups & downs and the squad who can ride them the best will be in with a great shout of silverware

that said, a win is a win, village at home in the next round and you rightly put it, a home draw is a great bonus which could land you in the last 32 in the country which is a great achievement in itself, besta luck to everyone still involved

dont know what the spirit is like in the camp after the marys game, but i think we're injury free and will relish the thought of playing in the cross, its a great boost for a local side, i think you're slightly off with make or break for the season tho littleman, it is tough being beaten in a final but still a long way to go, both sides have tasted victory down there, we have tasted bitter defeat also so know the feeling it leaves behind (that year we went on to win the league and got a great run in the fai)

balally are from dundrum, dont know much besides, wont be easy but start with a home draw and a good attitude, may the best team win !! thats far away now though, all eyes on ballyphehane and the mossie cup on friday night, will keep you all posted

nuff said

Innishvilla
29/11/2007, 12:43 PM
You'd be fairly spot on there.

Celtic met Grattan last year but unfortunately for us we had a massively depleted squad on the day. Grattan were good value for the win but it was a pity that we weren't at full strength - we finished 3 points off the league (Clonmel Town won) and got to the Tipp Cup Final.

This year's a different story; manager gone after a hammering in the first game of the season, load of players left and we came close to having to put out our (TSDL Division 3) B Team in the Premier League. We've recovered a bit but wouldn't have the greatest of confidence to be fair. Sure we'll give it a lash though.....:)

Just to confirm I was talking in relation to this years form. Fair play to ye last year giving Clonmel Town a real run for their money in the title race...

littleman
30/11/2007, 10:55 AM
:D:DLetizz an Bog for what its worth best of luck tonight.:D

bogwarrior
30/11/2007, 11:22 AM
Mucho appreciated Littleman.

Did ye see the odds for the FAI Junior lads?? Grattan 20/1 and Kinsale 26/1

Its on the FAI Junior thread..

littleman
30/11/2007, 12:02 PM
Na, Im only interested in the View,get it.Castleview hahahaha.:D

No seriously those odds are shiite.Castleview are quoted as 14/1.Thats how much notice I take from themHavent even heard of some of the fellas above us.I wont tempt fate as we have to play Park first and they wer'nt even quoted.

le tizz
30/11/2007, 1:02 PM
:D:DLetizz an Bog for what its worth best of luck tonight.:D

thanks for the well wishes littleman
reckon it'll be the fitter hungrier team who wins tonight, looks like it'll be slippy so both keepers & defences could be busy, the ones who make less mistakes will win, i'd be surprised if we dont see goals, parking will be tight around the cross with the eggball game on up the road so come early to avoid disappointment

if we score 1st we'll be hard to beat but no predictions yet, this should give us an indication of how good or bad we really are compared with how we've been feeling for the past few months, wont be easy but a few big experienced players to stand out

fai mania for the next few weeks, lookin like glenthorn will be finished league games in january and we'll have to play 17 in may, the price of success

could be a mudbowl in o'sully park with all the rain, champagne football may not be on offer

wonder how park will do against an in-form glenthorn

gotta go, last minute prep's and a feed of prawn sandwiches before sailing up this evening, party in the white lady / francos if we pull it off but i'm not counting my fried chickens yet

pass&move
30/11/2007, 3:25 PM
Na, Im only interested in the View,get it.Castleview hahahaha.:D

No seriously those odds are shiite.Castleview are quoted as 14/1.Thats how much notice I take from themHavent even heard of some of the fellas above us.I wont tempt fate as we have to play Park first and they wer'nt even quoted.

Look again weeman Park are 16-1 crazzzzy

littleman
30/11/2007, 5:30 PM
Total madness,Park and Castleview are better odds than us an Kinsale.St Boscos,last years finalists were quoted at 66/1.I suppose it will benifit us being the underdog against Park.I'll have to tell Caulfield the manager that the bookie knows somethin that we dont about Park.

bogwarrior
02/12/2007, 6:57 PM
Well lads a bad weekend for us. Ballyphehane full value for their win. A good young footballing side. We'll live to fight another day but it still hurts. How did the other games go over the weekend..

bishbash
02/12/2007, 10:44 PM
are park united any good or will grattan be much to strong for them?
Whoever goes through will be huge favourites and rightly so clonmel celtic, although they have picked up significantly since the start of the season they are still only a poor to average side at best.

le tizz
03/12/2007, 9:05 AM
Well lads a bad weekend for us. Ballyphehane full value for their win. A good young footballing side. We'll live to fight another day but it still hurts. How did the other games go over the weekend..

just so as not to appear to be hiding, we were rotten on friday night
too much complacency and not enuf passion or committment
we were outplayed by a very able bally side, fair play to them to a man, they played all the football and were hungrier and fitter than all of our lads..... bar derek mc, we looked like we didnt belong down there

the night was rotten which didnt help either team
we took the lead against the run of play, derek mc to derek v - who slotted home well - goal ! after about 30 mins, bally missed a great opportunity to level not long before the break but hurley made a great stop with the defense totally missing, one & one, the forward looked like he had too much time and space and took too long to take his strike

bally scored from two corners (badly conceeded goals from a kinsale defense point of view) in the 2nd half and it could've been more but they very comfortably held out till 90 mins and the ref put everyone from kinsale out of their rain drenched misery, bally really impressed me and they had great support from a local crowd, tall lad in midfield ran the show but they were sharper and better all over the pitch

i'm hoping it is a good kick in the hole for our lads because most of them just didnt turn up and thats a great shame because its not often that you get to play at the cross

gotta pick ourselves up for village this w/e, the home fixture will help us, we definately suffered on the big pitch in the cross so there's work to be done there, if thats the kinda performance we show for a cup final then hopefully some of our lads are reading this and take a good hard look at themselves

we still have a squad to take on the best that junior football has to offer but if nobody is bothered then we'll be a long way off the pace

Shilts
04/12/2007, 11:52 AM
A great win for Ballyphehane last friday night in terrible conditions at Turners Cross. On the night I was supporting Kinsale but was very impressed with B'hane's style of play. They continued to play to feet all night and got their just reward and should have won by more. Kinsale will need to learn from their mistakes (especially tactically) and come back fighting as they have done many times in the past.
On this showing Ballyphehane have to be serious contenders for the Premier title along with Grattan, Kinsale and possibly Park. :ball:

balls
05/12/2007, 5:18 PM
is park vs grattan game on this saturday

pass&move
05/12/2007, 5:55 PM
is park vs grattan game on this saturday

Yep it's on sat 2pm if the weather will allow

littleman
05/12/2007, 7:54 PM
The highs and lows letizz/bog,thats the joys of it i'm afraid.