View Full Version : Clare League 2006/07

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

Carotheplayer
16/01/2007, 5:42 PM
Oh by the by. I'm sure ye lost out on a few bob. but 10,000 euro. not on your nellie.

2000 would not have been at the game. 500 more realistic figure.

smellyfeet
17/01/2007, 8:24 AM
Is it definate.

Are Newtown through to the next round of the Junior Cup.

If it is best of luck boys.

:p

Got a walkover.

BallBreaker
17/01/2007, 4:20 PM
Got a walkover.

Newtown V Salthill Devon fixed for Feb 4th at Ballycasey Last 32. Draw for next round on Sunday next on 2fm.Salthill are a top team so would appreciate as much support as possible. Now thats out of the way we are now focussed on neaxt sunday when we face our old foes Bunratty in the munster junior,should be a cracker..........:ball: :ball:

BallBreaker
17/01/2007, 4:51 PM
Newtown V Salthill Devon fixed for Feb 4th at Ballycasey Last 32. Draw for next round on Sunday next on 2fm.Salthill are a top team so would appreciate as much support as possible. Now thats out of the way we are now focussed on neaxt sunday when we face our old foes Bunratty in the munster junior,should be a cracker..........:ball: :ball:

Just to confirm
The draw for the 7th round of the FAI Junior Cup will be made live on Robbie Irwin’s programme “Sports Bag” on RTE Radio 2FM on Sunday 21st January at 10 am.:cool:

shelbourne1904
17/01/2007, 6:11 PM
[QUOTE=shelbourne1904;604333]The best ever.What a bunch of complete *******s this james Gate are.Newtown estimate they have lost at least 2000x5Euero =10000 on thre fact these idiots could not be bothered travelling.

will you elaborate on how newtown lost 2000x5euro=10000

i think you put a couple of 0's too many....i'd say the fai cup final wud be lucky to get 1500 watching it...

totally agree wit you that they should be punished..its a disgrace to be in last 64 and not show...

The last time Netown got to last 16 and last 8 the gate was 3200 people in Caimans.The away game had 500 travel to Buttevant.

smellyfeet
18/01/2007, 8:41 AM
Table Team P W D L F A GD Pts
1 BRIDGE CELTIC 10 5 3 2 22 14 8 18
2 MOHER CELTIC 8 5 1 2 14 10 4 16
3 RINEANNA ROVERS 10 4 2 4 12 12 0 14
4 AVENUE UNITED 8 4 1 3 14 11 3 13
5 NEWTOWN FC 7 3 3 1 9 4 5 12
6 BRIDGE UNITED 7 2 3 2 9 11 -2 9
7 LIFFORD AFC 8 2 3 3 8 11 -3 9
8 MOUNTSHANNON CELTIC 9 2 2 5 9 17 -8 8
9 NEWMARKET CELTIC 5 2 1 2 8 5 3 7
10 SHANNON OLYMPIC A 8 0 3 5 7 17 -10 3

Just looking at the league above, still wide open.
Few games on the weekend.
Predictions
Bridge C V Newmarket C. (Away win)
Lifford V Mohar C. (Away win)
Olympic V Rineanna (Draw)
Bridge UTD V Avenue UTD (Home win)

Young Lad
18/01/2007, 9:30 AM
I've been following all this talk about Newtown's run in the FAI Junior. It certainly is a good achievement. However I don't think they have the bottle when it comes to a real battle judging by their performances against Corofin in the cup in the last two years. When the going got tough they simply couldn't handle it.

smellyfeet
18/01/2007, 9:47 AM
I've been following all this talk about Newtown's run in the FAI Junior. It certainly is a good achievement. However I don't think they have the bottle when it comes to a real battle judging by their performances against Corofin in the cup in the last two years. When the going got tough they simply couldn't handle it.

Fair point,
But have to say that last 2 years are gone and we are much different team this year with alot of new players.We have come from behind in our last few FAI games and won "albeit on penos" and we have home advantage so hopfully we can take care of Salthill Devon. Saying that it all boils down to who wants it more on the day and i'd presume Salthill are a step up from our previous apponents but i think we still have a good chance.Sure we'll keep plugging away.

papa-j
18/01/2007, 9:59 AM

Fair point we did throw away both matches but I wouldn't get carried away calling them battles...we were just pure sh!te on both days, ye were a little bit better and fair play. This years team has a lot of new players along with new management. We'll be in a similar postion as corofin in the cup - underdogs - and that will suit us fine.

old git
18/01/2007, 1:08 PM
Fair point we did throw away both matches but I wouldn't get carried away calling them battles...we were just pure sh!te on both days, ye were a little bit better and fair play. This years team has a lot of new players along with new management. We'll be in a similar postion as corofin in the cup - underdogs - and that will suit us fine.

well papa-j ... just heard on clare fm that newtown have just won the clare champion team of the month award ... not bad for a team that has not played for over 7 weeks... think it was for your run in the fai so far... missed some of report.. make sure ye are all smileing in picture when u receive your polo shirts / footballs ..:D :D

smellyfeet
18/01/2007, 1:53 PM
well papa-j ... just heard on clare fm that newtown have just won the clare champion team of the month award ... not bad for a team that has not played for over 7 weeks... think it was for your run in the fai so far... missed some of report.. make sure ye are all smileing in picture when u receive your polo shirts / footballs ..:D :D

We won it for the month of November. It was between the Youths and the A team. Both unbeaten in November and i'd say the FAI thing has something to do with aswell

CousinSylDolan
18/01/2007, 1:56 PM
We won it for the month of November. It was between the Youths and the A team. Both unbeaten in November so can't really be any complaints

Well done lads...:ball: :ball: :ball:

smellyfeet
18/01/2007, 2:02 PM
Well done lads...:ball: :ball: :ball:

Cheers Syl,
Are you looking forward to Sunday? As always should be close game, with chance to progress into open stage of MJC. Hope the weather clears a bit
so both teams can try to play a bit of football.

CousinSylDolan
18/01/2007, 3:35 PM
Cheers Syl,
Are you looking forward to Sunday? As always should be close game, with chance to progress into open stage of MJC. Hope the weather clears a bit
so both teams can try to play a bit of football.

Hoping the weather clears yeah. Its seems we have been waiting 6 months for this to go ahead so lets hope it finally does.

Will the Newtown "rebels" be down to sing ye to victory or do they only go to the Fai games????

smellyfeet
18/01/2007, 3:37 PM
Hoping the weather clears yeah. Its seems we have been waiting 6 months for this to go ahead so lets hope it finally does.

Will the Newtown "rebels" be down to sing ye to victory or do they only go to the Fai games????

Na they have a game out in Ennis Against the Tage.

CousinSylDolan
18/01/2007, 3:41 PM
Na they have a game out in Ennis Against the Tage.

Thats a shame.... Quiet atmosphere might give the Rats that 1% they need to win:D

I must make sure and go to the Salthill game to hear these now famous fans of yere's. TK promised me I could have 1 of his cans if I join in a song or 2:rolleyes:

smellyfeet
18/01/2007, 3:50 PM
Thats a shame.... Quiet atmosphere might give the Rats that 1% they need to win:D

I must make sure and go to the Salthill game to hear these now famous fans of yere's. TK promised me I could have 1 of his cans if I join in a song or 2:rolleyes:

Ya, they are totally mad at the FAI games, they bring a good buzz to a game.
You'll be doing well to get a can of TK, Deano usually stands beside him to mind the cans:D

BallBreaker
18/01/2007, 9:20 PM
Ya, they are totally mad at the FAI games, they bring a good buzz to a game.
You'll be doing well to get a can of TK, Deano usually stands beside him to mind the cans:D

Speaking of TK and Deano, Newtown youths are playing St Michaels this Saturday 2pm at Ballycasey in the last 16 of the Munster youths cup, all support will be welcome.

smellyfeet
19/01/2007, 8:47 AM
Speaking of TK and Deano, Newtown youths are playing St Michaels this Saturday 2pm at Ballycasey in the last 16 of the Munster youths cup, all support will be welcome.

Should be a good game,They played each other in a preseason friendly and Newtown hammered Micheals 4-0.

BallBreaker
19/01/2007, 10:30 PM

Match changed to Doora,again all support welcome:ball:

CousinSylDolan
20/01/2007, 6:57 AM

Is that the youths game or the MJC game???? or both:confused:

smellyfeet
20/01/2007, 5:25 PM

Newtown 2-0 St.Michaels.

Newtown away to wembley in last 8.

sore_toe
20/01/2007, 7:25 PM
The match Between Bunratty and newtown has been moved to woulf park bunratty..k.o 11.am

papa-j
21/01/2007, 5:52 PM
The match Between Bunratty and newtown has been moved to woulf park bunratty..k.o 11.am

close game in poor conditions as predicted. Bunratty battled hard and were always in the game without creating any clear cut chances. Newtown spurned a few good chances to close out the game but defended quite well and won it with cheeky mc Donald's deflected shot. Bunratty have a very strong side for the 1st Div and should come up as champions. Newtown away to liselton/kerry in last 32 MJC next sunday.

CousinSylDolan
22/01/2007, 7:26 AM
With sending off's, substitutions and other delays corner should have been taken at least. Hacker may be right... Ref was freezing.

Papa, dont know how you can say Bunratty had no clear cut chances. One was from 3 yards out when one of the youths players slipped and missed an open goal. Scales was robbed in the last minute also. Super save from Newtown keeper and still a mystery as to why it was blown up exactly on 45 mins.

I thought the sending off off Lillis was harsh. Bit foolish from him but rough play is not a sending off, raising your hand to another player is. Ref took the easy option though.

Good hard fought game and both teams battled well. Bunratty can be happy they performed while missing 4 1st team players but youth lads that came in did well. They will need to show that spirit now in the lg games. Newtown will be very happy with the result as they were missing a few also. Best of luck to them next week in Kerry.

CousinSylDolan
22/01/2007, 7:27 AM
Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Results
Saturday 21/01/07
Munster Youths Cup Fourth Round
Newtown 2 St.Michaels (Tipp) 0

Clare U17 League
Burren United (P-P) Lifford A.F.C.

Moneypoint (P-P) Cratloe Celtic

Gallivan Kennedy Youths League
Bunratty (P-P) Newmarket Celtic

Turnpike Rovers (P-P) Hermitage

Munster Junior Cup Third Round
Newtown 1 Bunratty 0

Munster Junior Cup Fourth Round
Mountshannon Celtic 0 Kinsale (Cork) 1

Maloney Hardware Shannon Premier Division League
Lifford A (P-P) Moher Celtic A

Bridge Celtic A (P-P) Newmarket Celtic A

Shannon Olympic A (P-P) Rinnanna Rovers

Bridge United A (P-P) Avenue United A

SEL Print First Division League
Connolly Celtic (P-P) Corofin Harps

Turnpike Rovers (P-P) Kilmaley United

Cratloe Celtic A (P-P) Hermitage A

Burren United 0 (Abn 55 Mins) Rock Rovers 1

SEL Print Second Division League
Newmarket Celtic B (P-P) Bridge United B

Tulla United (P-P) Avenue United B

Kilkishen Celtic A (P-P) Ennistymon Town

Kilrush Rangers (P-P) Lifford B

St.Pats A 3 Shannon Olympic B 0

Suttons Lighting Third Division League
Hermitage B (P-P) Newtown B

Bridge Celtic B (P-P) St.Pats B

Cooraclare Celtic (P-P) Rhine Rovers

Moher Celtic B (P-P) Kilkishen Celtic B

Inch Crusaders (P-P) Cratloe Celtic B

CousinSylDolan
22/01/2007, 7:28 AM
Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Fixtures
Saturday 27/01/07
Clare U17 League
Doolin: Burren United V Cratloe Celtic
F.Coote 2.00

Corofin: Corofin Harps V Moneypoint
F.Coote 11.00

Lees Road Pitch 2: Lifford V Newtown
J.Stanford 11.00

Sunday 28/01/07
Mounthawk Park: Lisselton Celtic V Newtown A
Kerry Officials 2.00

Ballycar: Newmarket Celtic A V Pike Rovers
Referee: F.Coote 2.00
Assistant Referees: D.McCarthy, D.Brosnan

Note: In event of a draw 10 mins e/w extra time and penaltys if necessary

Lees Road Pitch 4: Avenue United A V Lifford A
M.O`Brien 11.00

Scariff: Mountshannon Celtic V Moher Celtic A
P.Mulready 11.00

Rinnanna: Rinnanna Rovers V Bridge Celtic A M.O`Halloran 11.00

Sixmilebridge: Bridge United AV Shannon Olympic
A.Murphy 11.00

Kilmaley School: Connolly Celtic V Rock Rovers
D.McCarthy 11.00

Tiermaclane: Kilmaley United V Burren United M.O`Brien 2.00

Cratloe: Cratloe Celtic A V Turnpike Rovers
M.O`Halloran 2.00

Cahercon: Kildysart Celtic V Hermitage A
J.Stanford 11.00

Corofin: Corofin Harps V Bunratty
F.Coote 10.30

Lees Road Pitch 2: Avenue United B Newmarket Celtic B N.Bennett 2.30

Shannon: Shannon Olympic B V Lifford B
A.Murphy 2.00

Lahinch: Ennistymon Town V Bridge United B

CBS Kilrush: Kilrush Rangers V Kilkishen Celtic A
J.Stanford 2.00

Kilmhill: St.Pats A V Tulla United

Fairgreen: Hermitage B V Rhine Rovers
D.Kasule 11.00

O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic B V Newtown B D.Brosnan 10.30

Cooraclare: Cooraclare Celtic V St.Pats B
D.Hehir 11.00

Kilkishen: Kilkishen Celtic B V Inch Crusaders
P.Dunne 11.00

Tiermaclane: Manus Celtic V Cratloe Celtic B
D.Kasule 2.30

Carotheplayer
22/01/2007, 9:13 AM
If Newtonw beat Salthill Devon they are heading to Cork (boy) or Limerick.

Rockmount FC [Cork] or Carew Park FC V Newtown Utd. [Clare] or Salthill Devon FC

Best of luck lads

Goals4fun
22/01/2007, 10:02 AM
Ballycar: Newmarket Celtic A V Pike Rovers
Referee: F.Coote 2.00
Assistant Referees: D.McCarthy, D.Brosnan

what is the ballycar pitch like? is there a chance that this game could be postponed or moved to Doora?

Young Lad
22/01/2007, 10:16 AM
Just wondering what will happen with the Burren and Rock game that was abondoned. I assume it was due to weather conditions. A replay is a likely outcome?

old git
22/01/2007, 10:20 AM
what is the ballycar pitch like? is there a chance that this game could be postponed or moved to Doora?

couple of mile outside newmarket on shannon side .. up a little country lane ... very tight pitch .. newmarket only using untill their home ground has work carried out on it.. knowing newmarket they will do everything possible to play game here .. really depends on how bad the weather is for rest of week.. you are in for a tough game :ball: :ball:

papa-j
22/01/2007, 10:30 AM
With sending off's, substitutions and other delays corner should have been taken at least. Hacker may be right... Ref was freezing.

Papa, dont know how you can say Bunratty had no clear cut chances. One was from 3 yards out when one of the youths players slipped and missed an open goal. Scales was robbed in the last minute also. Super save from Newtown keeper and still a mystery as to why it was blown up exactly on 45 mins.

I thought the sending off off Lillis was harsh. Bit foolish from him but rough play is not a sending off, raising your hand to another player is. Ref took the easy option though.

Good hard fought game and both teams battled well. Bunratty can be happy they performed while missing 4 1st team players but youth lads that came in did well. They will need to show that spirit now in the lg games. Newtown will be very happy with the result as they were missing a few also. Best of luck to them next week in Kerry.

Yes scales was unlucky, great dribble and decent shot. great save by Skinny.I thought skinny did well to close down the other chance and put your player off. They were the only sniffs at goal I can remember. Sending off was stupid for both players and was handbags at dawn really.harsh on Lillis but if you keep getting into those situations then the odds are you'll get a red card. We were happy with the win as in these games form/league position goes out the window and considering we hadn't played since November we did ok.

Carotheplayer
22/01/2007, 5:16 PM
yip my understanding is the game will be replayed.

it has to be. i was talking to one of the players last night and they agreed with N. Bennett (ref) that the conditions were just too extreme.

guvnor
23/01/2007, 10:07 AM

Put it this way Goals A fella like you wont enjoy playing in the muck!!! Why do ye want it moved to Doora!!!!! are ye afraid !!!!!!!:)

Goals4fun
23/01/2007, 10:38 AM
Put it this way Goals A fella like you wont enjoy playing in the muck!!! Why do ye want it moved to Doora!!!!! are ye afraid !!!!!!!:)

i thought it might suit you football skills better , or does ballycar do justice in that dept you also ?:D

CousinSylDolan
29/01/2007, 8:09 AM
Sunday 28/01/07
Clare U17 League
Burren United 2 Cratloe Celtic 2

Corofin Harps 1 Moneypoint 2

Lifford 2 Newtown 4

Lisselton Celtic 2 Newtown A 0

Newmarket Celtic A 1 Pike Rovers 3

Avenue United A 1 Lifford A 0

Mountshannon Celtic 1 Moher Celtic A 1

Rinnanna Rovers 2 Bridge Celtic A 3

Bridge United A 1 Shannon Olympic A 0

Connolly Celtic 0 Rock Rovers 0

Kilmaley United 0 Burren United 1

Cratloe Celtic A (P-P) Turnpike Rovers

Kildysart Celtic 1 Hermitage A 1

Corofin Harps 2 Bunratty 2

Avenue United B 1 Newmarket Celtic B 0

Shannon Olympic B 2 Lifford B 2

Ennistymon Town 2 Bridge United B 2

Kilrush Rangers 4 Kilkishen Celtic A 1

St.Pats A 1 Tulla United 3

Hermitage B 0 Rhine Rovers 3

Bridge Celtic B 2 Newtown B 2

Cooraclare Celtic 7 St.Pats B 0

Kilkishen Celtic B 0 Inch Crusaders 1

Manus Celtic 6 Cratloe Celtic B 0

CousinSylDolan
29/01/2007, 8:09 AM
Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Fixtures
Saturday 03/02/07
Clare U17 League
Doolin: Burren United V Newtown
D.Hehir 2.00

Corofin: Corofin Harps V Cratloe Celtic
J.Stanford 2.00

Lees Road Pitch 4: Lifford V Moneypoint
A.Murphy 11.00

Gallivan Kennedy Youths League
Ballycar: Newmarket Celtic V Turnpike Rovers
M.O`Halloran 2.00

Sixmilebridge: Bridge United V Hermitage
M.O`Halloran 11.00

Sunday 28/01/07
F.A.I Junior Cup Sixth Round
Ballycasey: Newtown F.C. V Salthill Devon
Referee: M.O`Brien 2.00
Assistant Referees: M.O`Halloran , A.Murphy

Ballycar: Newmarket Celtic A V Moher Celtic A
A.Murphy 10.30

Scariff: Mountshannon Celtic V Avenue United A
P.Mulready 11.00

Shannon: Shannon Olympic A V Rinnanna Rovers M.O`Halloran 10.30

Sixmilebridge: Bridge United A V Lifford A
P.Sutton 11.00

Kilmaley School: Connolly Celtic V Burren United
N.Bennett 11.00

Lees Road Pitch 1: Turnpike Rovers V Kilmaley United D.McCarthy 11.00

Lees Road Pitch 2: Rock Rovers V Cratloe Celtic A
D.McCarthy 1.30

Cahercon: Kildysart Celtic V Bunratty
J.Stanford 11.00

Fairgreen: Hermitage A V Corofin Harps
J.Stanford 2.00

Lees Road Pitch 4: Avenue United B V Kilrush Rangers D.Kasule 2.00

Lees Road Pitch 2: Lifford B V Kilkishen Celtic A
M.O`Brien 10.30

Lahinch: Ennistymon Town V Shannon Olympic B

Norrie Henchies: Tulla United V Newmarket Celtic B D.Hehir 2.30

Kilmhill: St.Pats A V Bridge United B

Fairgreen: Hermitage B V Moher Celtic B
D.Kasule 11.00

O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic B V St.Pats B D.Brosnan 1.30

Kilkishen: Kilkishen Celtic B V Newtown B
D.Brosnan 10.30

Cratloe: Cratloe Celtic B V Inch Crusaders

Lees Road Pitch 4: Rhine Rovers V Manus Celtic

old git
29/01/2007, 11:56 AM
Sunday 28/01/07
Clare U17 League
Burren United 2 Cratloe Celtic 2

Corofin Harps 1 Moneypoint 2

Lifford 2 Newtown 4

Lisselton Celtic 2 Newtown A 0

Newmarket Celtic A 1 Pike Rovers 3

Avenue United A 1 Lifford A 0

Mountshannon Celtic 1 Moher Celtic A 1

Rinnanna Rovers 2 Bridge Celtic A 3

Bridge United A 1 Shannon Olympic A 0

Connolly Celtic 0 Rock Rovers 0

Kilmaley United 0 Burren United 1

Cratloe Celtic A (P-P) Turnpike Rovers

Kildysart Celtic 1 Hermitage A 1

Corofin Harps 2 Bunratty 2

Avenue United B 1 Newmarket Celtic B 0

Shannon Olympic B 2 Lifford B 2

Ennistymon Town 2 Bridge United B 2

Kilrush Rangers 4 Kilkishen Celtic A 1

St.Pats A 1 Tulla United 3

Hermitage B 0 Rhine Rovers 3

Bridge Celtic B 2 Newtown B 2

Cooraclare Celtic 7 St.Pats B 0

Kilkishen Celtic B 0 Inch Crusaders 1

Manus Celtic 6 Cratloe Celtic B 0

papa-j / smellyfeet
any match report on yesterdays defeat away to lissleton :ball: :ball:

CmonTheRovers
29/01/2007, 1:13 PM
papa-j / smellyfeet

Sunday evening soccer round-up
by Denis Tierney

Newmarket 1-3 Pike Rovers Damien O'Malley scored the Newmarket goal

Newtown were beaten two nil by Lisselton from Kerry - however Newtown may object to the legality of one of the Kerry sides players

Moloney Hardware Premier League
Avenue Utd 1-0 Lifford - Robbie Downes in injury time

Bridge Cetlic 3-2 Rineanna Rovers - Kieran Devitt;Sean O'Connor
Gary Moloney; Paul McEvoy;Paul McEvoy

Bridge United 1-0 Shannon Olympic - Billy Maxwell scoring the goal

Mountshannon 1 -1 Moher Celtic - Paul Cagney, John O'Brien equalised for the home team

In Division 1
Corofin 2-2 Bunratty - Corofin came from 2-0 down at half time Pat Tuohy and Richaed Lillis Bunratty; Alan O'Callaghan , Brian Hickey for Corofin.

Connolly Celtic 0-0 Rock Rovers

Kilmaley 0-1 Burren United - Martin Mc Donagh in the 5th minute

Kildysert Celtic drew one all with Hermitage

In Division 2
Kilrush Rangers 4-1 Kilkishen Celtic

the only 1
29/01/2007, 1:43 PM
lads the ref for the newmarket game yesterday coote? must be 1 of the worst in clare:eek:

Goals4fun
29/01/2007, 1:57 PM
lads the ref for the newmarket game yesterday coote? must be 1 of the worst in clare:eek:

i would extend that to ireland. told a pike sub that if he didn't stop shouting that he would not be brought on. Moved the 'crowd' across the pitch to a hill on the other side in the middle of the game, said he would go home if he didn't.

buts86
29/01/2007, 2:06 PM
******** definately a terrible ref. great laugh watchin him tho!!!

MOD EDIT----------------------

Let's not go down this road again.Remember no Refs no games........

old git
29/01/2007, 4:21 PM
i would extend that to ireland. told a pike sub that if he didn't stop shouting that he would not be brought on. Moved the 'crowd' across the pitch to a hill on the other side in the middle of the game, said he would go home if he didn't.

thats what you get when you come out to clare and shout abuse at our top class referee's ... :eek: :eek:

Prem Rep!
30/01/2007, 8:40 AM
Cup Draw.
Bridge United A V Hermitage A
Kilrush V Bridge United B

Anyone got the full draw??

CousinSylDolan
30/01/2007, 9:25 AM
Cup Draw.
Bridge United A V Hermitage A
Kilrush V Bridge United B

Anyone got the full draw??

Its in the Clare People this morning....

Connolly vs Bunratty
Bridge Celtic vs Avenue

Prem Rep!
30/01/2007, 12:41 PM
A Moher Celtic B V Newtown A
B Hermitage B V Mountshannon Celtic
C Kiladysert Celtic V Turnpike Rovers
D Rineanna Rovers V Shannon Olympic B
E Manus Celtic V Rock Rovers
F Rhine Rovers V St Pats B
G Newmarket Celtic B V Tulla United
H Cratloe Celtic B V St Pats A
I Ennistymon Town V Newtown B

Second Round

Kilkishen B V Shannon Olympic A
C V H
Bridge Utd A V Hermitage A
B V G
Kilmaley United V I
Avenue B V Newmarket Celtic A
F V Bridge Celtic B
Connolly Celtic V Bunratty
Corofin V Kilkishen A
Bridge Celtic A V Avenue United A
Kilrush Rangers V Bridge United B
Burren United V Lifford B
A V Cratloe Celtic A
Lifford A V Inch Crusaders
D V Cooraclare
Moher Celtic A V E

Goals4fun
30/01/2007, 1:27 PM
papa-j / smellyfeet

lads any match report ?

papa-j
30/01/2007, 2:41 PM
lads any match report ?

very close game, lots of effort from both sides on a poor surface. Lisselton started well and employed a long ball tactic bypassing midfield and hitting long balls to two big lads up front. Lisselton never managed to turn the early posession into chances and Newtown began to defend comfortly. Best chance of the game fell to Newtowns Derek Byrnes who did everything right but the keeper made a fantastic save. The game stretched more in the second half with both teams having a fair amount of posession without creating anything clearcut. Lisselton got the opener after 65 mins, a speculative cross was dropped by the Newtown keeper and the Lisselton centre forward tapped into the empty net. Newtown pushed for the equalliser
and were awarded a corner in injury time. All the newtown team, including the keeper pushed up and Lisselton managed too scramble the ball away to break down field and score with the last kick. There was a twist at the end when an official from Kerry pointed out that Lisselton allegedly had an illegal
player. This is being investigated by the Munster council and we await the outcome.

Prem Rep!
30/01/2007, 2:49 PM
We had the same problem a few years ago in the FAI where we were told Lisselton had fielded an illegal player but nothing came of it. Why was Greg Deegan not playing, Did Trevor Maxwell make his debut.

papa-j
30/01/2007, 3:41 PM
We had the same problem a few years ago in the FAI where we were told Lisselton had fielded an illegal player but nothing came of it. Why was Greg Deegan not playing, Did Trevor Maxwell make his debut.

Greg was working in Dublin and Trevor is cup tied. This info was brought to the officials attention straight after the game. We have to take it at face value and follow proceedures. The administrators must punish any offending club as its blatant cheating