View Full Version : Clare League 2006/07

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

smellyfeet
08/09/2006, 8:19 AM
The ref's are only in it for the money and thats the whole problem.:mad:

CousinSylDolan
08/09/2006, 9:14 AM
well prem rep any comment

Our Bridge Utd friend Prem Rep is away on hols....

First
08/09/2006, 9:27 AM
Lads lets not turn this forum into ref bashing , the Clare league have few enough referees without people coming on this website giving out about them.
What is to stop calling a meeting between each club and the referees and air each others views. Granted the standard is not great but how many of us would take it up. Same could be said for the standard of the teams that are playing in the Clare league, how many players out there actually no the rules that they so freely are willing to contest at any given oppurtuinity?
Smellyfeet I suppose some have gone into it for the money but I am sure that there are those who have gone into it to stay involved in the game at some level.
What also seems to be happening is that players have this incessant need to keep back chatting and verbally abusing the refs when they don't agree with thier decisions. In all the years that I have played and watched football no matter at what level I have yet to see a ref change a decision.
Maybe the managers and players should take a long hard look at themselves as to the manner that they approach games and thier attitude towards the officials in the Clare league.

manalishi
08/09/2006, 9:29 AM
The final goal was the best though. Ball is about 2 yards out of play on Utd benches' side of the pitch. Their manager keeps flag down. Everybody bar utd striker stops playing. They score. ref allows it. Bridge manager laughs his hole off!!!

I was waiting for the ref to actually score one himself!!

Referee's have a tough time. I don't like giving out about them as it only means there will be less people to do the job. But last night was just a joke.

So the old cheating on the line,so famous in the Bridge over the years,is back!!!It was so bad one time that a visiting winger was actually tackled by a supporter!!!!!
Is it not the job of the referee in the case of continuous doubt about decisions on the line to demand the club to change the linesman.

I hope the dedicated Bridge man is happy to have been able to help his team to get a win by cheating on the line and away from home now as well.Well done to all concerned!!!!

smellyfeet
08/09/2006, 9:59 AM
Lads lets not turn this forum into ref bashing , the Clare league have few enough referees without people coming on this website giving out about them.
What is to stop calling a meeting between each club and the referees and air each others views. Granted the standard is not great but how many of us would take it up. Same could be said for the standard of the teams that are playing in the Clare league, how many players out there actually no the rules that they so freely are willing to contest at any given oppurtuinity?
Smellyfeet I suppose some have gone into it for the money but I am sure that there are those who have gone into it to stay involved in the game at some level.
What also seems to be happening is that players have this incessant need to keep back chatting and verbally abusing the refs when they don't agree with thier decisions. In all the years that I have played and watched football no matter at what level I have yet to see a ref change a decision.
Maybe the managers and players should take a long hard look at themselves as to the manner that they approach games and thier attitude towards the officials in the Clare league.

so the refs that want to stay involved don't want to be paid :rolleyes:
if the refs weren't so BAD then there wouldn't be so much abuse and back chat. I'm saying it as i see it and that is that the refs in clare league are muck and nothing else. I have yet to see a ref have a good game. the y are ****e. end of.

First
08/09/2006, 10:20 AM
if the refs weren't so BAD then there wouldn't be so much abuse and back chat. I'm saying it as i see it and that is that the refs in clare league are muck and nothing else. I have yet to see a ref have a good game. the y are ****e. end of.

Nobody will refuse payment if its been given, what I am saying is that money for some ,may not be the most important factor. What I alluding to also is if there was more contact and communictaion between the clubs and the referees then the problems maybe overcome. Your views ,of which you are totally intitled to ,are what I see causes the problems , they have nothing to add but negativity. Referees have enough to deal with without the incessant questioning and abuse that has become a part of football at all levels. Your discription of referees as muck and ****e is a little over the top IMO. It would be a hard job to run any league without these people.

08/09/2006, 10:38 AM

smellyfeet,you can't just make a sweeping statement like that and not expect a hostile reaction.Everbody knows that
A-Its very hard to get Refs.
B -Of course there could be improvements in standards
C- Its a very hard job to do (I've done it)
D- We have several Refs posting on the site and they don't deserve to see stuff like this posted about them

If you want to critisise someone at least make it constructive/civil.

smellyfeet
08/09/2006, 10:41 AM
Nobody will refuse payment if its been given, what I am saying is that money for some ,may not be the most important factor. What I alluding to also is if there was more contact and communictaion between the clubs and the referees then the problems maybe overcome. Your views ,of which you are totally intitled to ,are what I see causes the problems , they have nothing to add but negativity. Referees have enough to deal with without the incessant questioning and abuse that has become a part of football at all levels. Your discription of referees as muck and ****e is a little over the top IMO. It would be a hard job to run any league without these people.

Right so, the reason i have so much negative views on the matter is because
the standard is very very very very very very poor.

Let me add, if i was to see a ref in Clare have a good game then i would applaude them but i can't. I'd love to beleave me i would but i can't.:(

shelbourne1904
08/09/2006, 10:45 AM

Lads, to be fair we have to be realistic.The standard of play and players is hardly of the standard that we are are demanding from referees.The current standard of referee is probably of the same standard as the players.Having said that the players are not paid!!!!It doesnt get away from the fact that it is a hard job and isnt helped by people challenging every decision ,whatever about the players but by the line also.That can mean up to 22 players and 20 subs mentors all putting pressure on the ref.Pressure is one thing but outright abuse is intollerable.Who would put up with it.

smellyfeet
08/09/2006, 10:55 AM
smellyfeet,you can't just make a sweeping statement like that and not expect a hostile reaction.Everbody knows that
A-Its very hard to get Refs.
B -Of course there could be improvements in standards
C- Its a very hard job to do (I've done it)
D- We have several Refs posting on the site and they don't deserve to see stuff like this posted about them

If you want to critisise someone at least make it constructive/civil.

Very Sorry if i have offended any ref with my comments i take them back.
Its not all of them i have this opinion on but a select few.

I won't post on the matter again.

newlad
08/09/2006, 11:04 AM
Lifford 1 - Bridge Utd 3

Brian Hehir scored for Lifford.

Bridge went 1 up, had best chances of 1st half. Lifford scored early in the second half. Brian Hehir volleyed home after a good flick on from Mannering. Then the referee... (Markham - I'm almost sure that's his name... the lad with the moustache) sends off niall white for calling the Utd manager a w****r as he has had the linesmans flag pointed in Utd's favour all game long. If he was a proper official it'd be a straight red but calling the manager that is the same as saying it to another player... at most a yellow. The Ref lost the plot because both sides were calling for decisions and Lifford got the Red because the were moaning more. Utd's 2nd goal... definite free in middle of pitch for obstruction of Lifford player after he knocked the ball around utd player... not given and in fairness utd player scored a stunning 30 yard (at least!!) effort... top corner and all.

The final goal was the best though. Ball is about 2 yards out of play on Utd benches' side of the pitch. Their manager keeps flag down. Everybody bar utd striker stops playing. They score. ref allows it. Bridge manager laughs his hole off!!!

Referee's have a tough time. I don't like giving out about them as it only means there will be less people to do the job. But last night was just a joke.
first of all, you can't call anyone a w***er its threathening and abusive behaviour and especiely not in front of the "ref" wasnt the first time hed said things like that all game, 2ndly i dont no how anyone can say the ball was out it wasnt out and if i was the manager of lifford id have somthing to say to the goaly what was he thinking not playing the whistle,to busy mouthing all day at ref,inexperience caused the goal not the linesman,
IMO ref didnt do all that bad, lads we all no the cant play well all the time but we keep getting upset wen it happens, a step back is needed i think.Without them were f**ked lads.

newlad
08/09/2006, 11:10 AM

So the old cheating on the line,so famous in the Bridge over the years,is back!!!It was so bad one time that a visiting winger was actually tackled by a supporter!!!!!
Is it not the job of the referee in the case of continuous doubt about decisions on the line to demand the club to change the linesman.

I hope the dedicated Bridge man is happy to have been able to help his team to get a win by cheating on the line and away from home now as well.Well done to all concerned!!!!
dont be silly if the ref thought that well why didnt he change it
GROW UP

shelbourne1904
08/09/2006, 11:15 AM
dont be silly if the ref thought that well why didnt he change it
GROW UP

Grow up???
Did you ever hear of fairplay and cheating.I wasnt there but heard this from numerous scources including neutrals.Whether the ref saw it or not,and that is why we use team officials as back up,the apointed lines man is supposed to be honest.

Let me get this straight are you saying it is ok to cheat to help win????

Pretender
08/09/2006, 11:18 AM
first of all, you can't call anyone a w***er its threathening and abusive behaviour and especiely not in front of the "ref" wasnt the first time hed said things like that all game, 2ndly i dont no how anyone can say the ball was out it wasnt out and if i was the manager of lifford id have somthing to say to the goaly what was he thinking not playing the whistle,to busy mouthing all day at ref,inexperience caused the goal not the linesman,
IMO ref didnt do all that bad, lads we all no the cant play well all the time but we keep getting upset wen it happens, a step back is needed i think.Without them were f**ked lads.

I agree that we really need referees and that they deserve more respect.
However, The sending off was a joke. Lifford and Bridge players called each other worse during the match... its an ugly part of the game but most of it happens in the heat of the moment. It wasn't the first time the grey haired lad had made a dubious call for a throw at that side and i can understand the player who roared at him being frustrated.

That man should not be allowed hold the linesmans flag for a game of tidillywinks let alone a football match!!!!!:mad:

Also fair play to the bridge centre half (came on as a sub) who protected a Lifford player when some Bridge players were ready to kill him for a rash challenge on their keeper.:ball:

newlad
08/09/2006, 11:19 AM
Grow up???
Did you ever hear of fairplay and cheating.I wasnt there but heard this from numerous scources including neutrals.Whether the ref saw it or not,and that is why we use team officials as back up,the apointed lines man is supposed to be honest.

Let me get this straight are you saying it is ok to cheat to help win????

if you read my previous post i said the ball was clearly not out,and it wasnt its sour grapes:rolleyes:

newlad
08/09/2006, 11:23 AM
if you read my previous post i said the ball was clearly not out,and it wasnt its sour grapes:rolleyes:

And BTW no ref deserved the abuse that was given on the 200 yards walk back the dressing room,:(

madcap
08/09/2006, 11:32 AM
I dont think the the would of got back into it anyway lads the wind was takin out of the sales after Albert finnins screamer, and to back newlad the ball wasnt out :)

shelbourne1904
08/09/2006, 11:37 AM
FYI the ref Phillip Markham has resigned from refereeing.He has already notified Michael Lydon of this and will not be doing the line in the delayed under 15 cup final on tonight.I believe Paddy Cullen has also resigned.

madcap
08/09/2006, 11:43 AM
FYI the ref Phillip Markham has resigned from refereeing.He has already notified Michael Lydon of this and will not be doing the line in the delayed under 15 cup final on tonight.I believe Paddy Cullen has also resigned.

well im not surprised,the s**t he had to endure going to dressing room, and lads hes not the worst ref out there another one less for the clare league

CousinSylDolan
08/09/2006, 11:44 AM
Shocking!!!!!

I really cannot believe we have lost 2 referee's because of abuse from players. 2 youths games tomorrow will be off now because of this.

Should the clubs who caused these resignations be punished. The line has to be drawn somewhere or we will end up with no football because of this problem.
In fairness Ml Lydon has been preaching for 4/5 years now that its becoming more and more of a problem and its come to a point now where its going to seriously affect the game in Clare.

the hoops
08/09/2006, 11:51 AM
And BTW no ref deserved the abuse that was given on the 200 yards walk back the dressing room,:(

lads if the ref is tony markhem we had him in limerick hes a bad ref

CousinSylDolan
08/09/2006, 11:56 AM
lads if the ref is tony markhem we had him in limerick hes a bad ref

No Philip Markham... I remember Tony alright though.

Any game that Philip is down to ref this weekend will be called off.

Pretender
08/09/2006, 12:01 PM
Shocking!!!!!

I really cannot believe we have lost 2 referee's because of abuse from players. 2 youths games tomorrow will be off now because of this.

Should the clubs who caused these resignations be punished. The line has to be drawn somewhere or we will end up with no football because of this problem.
In fairness Ml Lydon has been preaching for 4/5 years now that its becoming more and more of a problem and its come to a point now where its going to seriously affect the game in Clare.

its a terrible loss because we are already at breaking point with respect to refereeing numbers. I doubt it was just yesterdays game though... he hardly got hugs and kisses from all the avenue and newtown boys the night before. The walk back to the dressing room was unfortunate... but in fairness to Lifford's manager he never raised his voice.

Hopefully an effort will be made to get these 2 lads refereeing again

madcap
08/09/2006, 12:02 PM
No Philip Markham... I remember Tony alright though.

Any game that Philip is down to ref this weekend will be called off.

Tony Markham would be welcome to the clare league, we need what we can get now, we cant be fussy, and hes not that bad hoops,lads they have no linesmen like big games on tv and even they get it wrong!! give them a break.

madcap
08/09/2006, 12:05 PM
i dont think raising voices is the prob its wats said is mainly the prob,game was over at that stage,what ever happened to what ever happens on the pitch stays there!!!!!

madcap
08/09/2006, 12:09 PM
I agree that we really need referees and that they deserve more respect.
However, The sending off was a joke. Lifford and Bridge players called each other worse during the match... its an ugly part of the game but most of it happens in the heat of the moment. It wasn't the first time the grey haired lad had made a dubious call for a throw at that side and i can understand the player who roared at him being frustrated.

That man should not be allowed hold the linesmans flag for a game of tidillywinks let alone a football match!!!!!:mad:

Also fair play to the bridge centre half (came on as a sub) who protected a Lifford player when some Bridge players were ready to kill him for a rash challenge on their keeper.:ball:

it was a bad challange but i dont think he was in danger Albert Finnin just ran the few yards to get him out of there incase somthing did develope well done to him!!!

smellyfeet
08/09/2006, 12:30 PM
I doubt it was just yesterdays game though... he hardly got hugs and kisses from all the avenue and newtown boys the night before.

Hopefully an effort will be made to get these 2 lads refereeing again

He didn't get any abuse from Newtown V Avenue game. Even when 1 player from each team were sent off.

First
08/09/2006, 12:37 PM

Well now where will it end, I am sure that alot of the other Clare league refs are looking at this situation and wondering if they should bother either. As for Philip I know the guy very well and he is a throughly nice guy. I played with him and he was always hard and fair and it would take alot to push him away from involvement in football. Anybody involved in the lead up should look at themselves and reveiw what they are trying to get out of football in Clare.
As I have said already in a previous post the management and players should take along look at thier attitudes towards the officials in the Clare league. And anybody that was a catalyst in Philip and Paddy resigning , shame on you.

Pretender
08/09/2006, 12:50 PM
He didn't get any abuse from Newtown V Avenue game. Even when 1 player from each team were sent off.

Fair enough. I wasn't there... had just presumed... Wrongly!

shelbourne1904
08/09/2006, 5:03 PM
Its a bit late to be sad.If you wanted to talk them back what could you say?Every one will be nice from now on???If they believe that they are soft in the head.By the way you only mention the losses to the junior league.Everytime a refs gets a cold another one is moved from a schoolboy game.In other words some squabble in the 3rd division is considered more important than a top of the table clash in the say 16s league even though the problem was created in the junior league.There are 17 schoolboy games a week this season.Whose going to do them or will we just give it up and let the kids play GAA????

plasticpitch
08/09/2006, 5:42 PM
Well now where will it end, I am sure that alot of the other Clare league refs are looking at this situation and wondering if they should bother either. As for Philip I know the guy very well and he is a throughly nice guy. I played with him and he was always hard and fair and it would take alot to push him away from involvement in football. Anybody involved in the lead up should look at themselves and reveiw what they are trying to get out of football in Clare.
As I have said already in a previous post the management and players should take along look at thier attitudes towards the officials in the Clare league. And anybody that was a catalyst in Philip and Paddy resigning , shame on you.
well in fairness to philip markham he is an ok referree and he has a lot more good games than bad games. he has shown me the line on more than one occasion and in reflection he was dead right to do it. i for one will be sorry to see him go.
maybe the abuse aimed at him was prompted by the sending off of a lifford player and then the line ball following onto the goal incident.
for this the bridge management must accept responsibility. in fairness players will keep playing if they are right next to the ball and c if it hasnt crossed the line. to say it was definetley in play when the players stopped is fiction in my opinion.
i think as posted before in the thread that ref decisions will balance out over the course of a season. however if teams start to cheat that when we have a serious problem.
as for the other ref, i think he was getting a bit old anyway. i have no good experiences of this ref and cannot remember a game i played in when he had a good game. in 1 game i was struck by 2 players in front of him and he took no action.
i firmly believe that refs could make the game so much easier for themselves.
learn how to deal with abuse. warn players and management before hand and then act if you hear abuse. Yellow card and say im watching you , one step out of line and you-ll get another, be it in the first minute or the last.
also team officials get away with murder. there is a lot of name calling by officials to players on the pitch and to this day i have never seen a ref take action about this.
the standard of referring has to change to make it more appealling to perspective refs
ALL refs should punish abuse or poor conduct by players officials not just the good ones:ball:

madcap
08/09/2006, 7:42 PM
well in fairness to philip markham he is an ok referree and he has a lot more good games than bad games. he has shown me the line on more than one occasion and in reflection he was dead right to do it. i for one will be sorry to see him go.
maybe the abuse aimed at him was prompted by the sending off of a lifford player and then the line ball following onto the goal incident.
for this the bridge management must accept responsibility. in fairness players will keep playing if they are right next to the ball and c if it hasnt crossed the line. to say it was definetley in play when the players stopped is fiction in my opinion.
i think as posted before in the thread that ref decisions will balance out over the course of a season. however if teams start to cheat that when we have a serious problem.
as for the other ref, i think he was getting a bit old anyway. i have no good experiences of this ref and cannot remember a game i played in when he had a good game. in 1 game i was struck by 2 players in front of him and he took no action.
i firmly believe that refs could make the game so much easier for themselves.
learn how to deal with abuse. warn players and management before hand and then act if you hear abuse. Yellow card and say im watching you , one step out of line and you-ll get another, be it in the first minute or the last.
also team officials get away with murder. there is a lot of name calling by officials to players on the pitch and to this day i have never seen a ref take action about this.
the standard of referring has to change to make it more appealling to perspective refs
ALL refs should punish abuse or poor conduct by players officials not just the good ones:ball:

and then the line ball following onto the goal incident.
for this the bridge management must accept responsibility

the ball was not out all the kids stopped crying at the ref and got so far behind the play couldnt get back, no bridge player stopped goes back to playing the whistle:rolleyes: so the Bridge have nothing to be worried about,were u there?

reds exile
08/09/2006, 8:23 PM
Well if its the case of Philip Markham being forced to quit I can only say someone needs to be held responsible, The abuse I have seen and heard in the Clare League is a disgrace and whats it more embrassing is that it seem to be the norm with every club any who disputes this comment is in denial,the referees are only human and rely on teams to play in a sporting manner and each club is responsible for players conduct.From my own experience having played outside and in the U.S for a few years none of what goes on in the Clare League would be tolerated.
The Clare League needs to ensure that this sort of thing is stamped out and people must remember attending these games every week are young kids who think this sort of behaviour is ok, People on this thread this is the most important point i want to make

offside01
09/09/2006, 12:03 PM
its funny everybody pointing out refs mistakes,etc.,if there is a lack of refs in the league then every club registered should have to send one person to fully train as a ref and then there wuld be no claims of bias etc,also there would be no shortage.wuld all those who spend career arguing and giving out about ref be prepared to put up or shut up and make the situation better

The Ref
09/09/2006, 12:13 PM
its funny everybody pointing out refs mistakes,etc.,if there is a lack of refs in the league then every club registered should have to send one person to fully train as a ref and then there wuld be no claims of bias etc,also there would be no shortage.wuld all those who spend career arguing and giving out about ref be prepared to put up or shut up and make the situation better

This is a good theory, although it was tried in Dublin a number of years ago (in a schoolboys/girl league) and it was a disaster.

Each club nominated a person to act as a referee should there be no ref available, but when these people went out to referee games they either screwed the away team (mostly) or in an attempt to be fair, they screwed their own club.

Nobody was happy and the league reverted to using referees registered with the FAI.

So from my experience, while the theory is good, in practice it wouldn't work.

offside01
10/09/2006, 1:11 PM
This is a good theory, although it was tried in Dublin a number of years ago (in a schoolboys/girl league) and it was a disaster.

Each club nominated a person to act as a referee should there be no ref available, but when these people went out to referee games they either screwed the away team (mostly) or in an attempt to be fair, they screwed their own club.

Nobody was happy and the league reverted to using referees registered with the FAI.

So from my experience, while the theory is good, in practice it wouldn't work.

sorry wasnt clear enough on wat i mean,dont mean there should be home ref etc.if every club had to have a trained ref there would be a huge panel of refs,enough for neutral games.would stop refs having to travel to two or more games over wkd and may improve standard

Brazil Nut
10/09/2006, 2:47 PM
Shannon Olympic 0 - Newmarket 2
Newtown 1 - Moher 0
any other results???

GroundFootball
10/09/2006, 7:38 PM
Lets be real people players dispute decisions. It's not abuse and if it becomes abusive the referee can take action which will be backed by the league.
I have to point this out lads, if a referee feels that any comments made by a player or official of a club are abusive or innappropriate they have the right to give them a red card even after the game is over! They can then put this in their match report and the league can take appropriate action. If they really are getting such high levels of abuse why are they not doing this and honestly how can they expect anything to be done about it if it's not in a match report.

Clubs would take action if their players were suspended for this alleged behaviour.
I would be extremely concerned that some of your refs might not know this, it reflects poorly on them.

I feel that it is important to note there is a difference between abuse and fair comment! Questioning a referee about his decisions is something any player or official should be able to do and he (as he made the decision) should reasonably be able to explain any decision.
Referees are professional at most levels of the game in Ireland and the notion that they not be accountable to the people who are paying them (the players) or at least be able to justify their actions is a bit silly.

Finally In my opinion it would be extremely inappropriate for any governing body to take action on something unless it's in the referees report. There are clear guidelines and sanctions laid down for the type of thing you guys are talking about. If a referee doesn't deem it necessary at the time to take any action and he is there, how can a governing body take action. The only occasion where this is appropriate is when it's something a referee is not aware of or hasn't seen.

avenueC
11/09/2006, 7:40 AM
avenue 2-- mtshannon 0
mtshannon rubbish.... good win for avenue who tried to play ball on a hard bobbly surface( lee's rd) cant see mtsn surviving if this is their best.

Murphman
11/09/2006, 8:03 AM
http://www.freewebs.com/murphychristmashouse/cl_images_0607/clareprem06_07.jpg

Results used for table above

http://www.freewebs.com/murphychristmashouse/cl_images_0607/clareprem06_07_resultslist.jpg

smellyfeet
11/09/2006, 9:17 AM
This was a poor game from start to finish. Neither team looked like scoring in this scrappy incounter. Newtown were awarded a penalty kick however when Moher defender pulled down Chris Dunning in the box. The Moher keeper save the Jay Stretton spot kick. Soon after Newtowns Ryan Kelly went on a run down the left wing and played a nice ball into Chris Dunning who did well to hold off the much bigger Moher central deffender and set up Declan McDonald to fire home into the bottom corner.

The second half was a bit better from a Newtown point of view as the created many chances but couldn't but the ball away. Derek Byrnes got the ball at right back and took on 3 or 4 Moher players and arrived in the box only to be off balance when trying to get his shot in and the ball went wide.

In the last minuite Moher send a high ball from midfield into the Newtown box when Anto Whyte havd a moment of MADNESS. The ball went over his head and he put his hand up and handled the ball in the box resulting in a penalty.
The Moher player blasted the ball wide much to the relief of the home team.

Final score. Newtown 1 Moher 0.

CmonTheRovers
11/09/2006, 10:09 AM
Anyone hear what next weekend's fixtures? Presume its FAI first round, with Munster cup matches for those with byes to FAI 2nd round......

offside01
11/09/2006, 10:27 AM
This was a poor game from start to finish. Neither team looked like scoring in this scrappy incounter. Newtown were awarded a penalty kick however when Moher defender pulled down Chris Dunning in the box. The Moher keeper save the Jay Stretton spot kick. Soon after Newtowns Ryan Kelly went on a run down the left wing and played a nice ball into Chris Dunning who did well to hold off the much bigger Moher central deffender and set up Declan McDonald to fire home into the bottom corner.

The second half was a bit better from a Newtown point of view as the created many chances but couldn't but the ball away. Derek Byrnes got the ball at right back and took on 3 or 4 Moher players and arrived in the box only to be off balance when trying to get his shot in and the ball went wide.

In the last minuite Moher send a high ball from midfield into the Newtown box when Anto Whyte havd a moment of MADNESS. The ball went over his head and he put his hand up and handled the ball in the box resulting in a penalty.

just reading ur match report,heard that moher had two chances cleared off the line and the game wasnt as one sided as report says.any truth in that????

smellyfeet
11/09/2006, 10:40 AM
just reading ur match report,heard that moher had two chances cleared off the line and the game wasnt as one sided as report says.any truth in that????

Didn't say it was 1 sided. Can't remember any chances cleared off the line.
Moher had a the ball in the Newtown box a few times alright but nothing to write home about thats all. Maybe there was a neutral at the game and they might have something to add. TBH Skinny didn't have a save to make in the whole game but neither did the Moher keeper only the peno. Very poor game...

old git
11/09/2006, 10:47 AM

you must have been watching a different match .. i will admit i only saw the last 3o mins .. but moher celtic were the better team will add they did not create a lot up front .. newtown struggled to keep possesion.. and gave the ball away to easy... the only chance i remember for newtown was one above and a shot by geraroid magee that went just wide ..
i'd say anto whyte was a very happy man after his moment of madness... absolutly crazy .. but he just about got away with it..
what was up with davy wall not playing is he injured or suspended :p :p

smellyfeet
11/09/2006, 10:53 AM
you must have been watching a different match .. i will admit i only saw the last 3o mins .. but moher celtic were the better team will add they did not create a lot up front .. newtown struggled to keep possesion.. and gave the ball away to easy... the only chance i remember for newtown was one above and a shot by geraroid magee that went just wide ..
i'd say anto whyte was a very happy man after his moment of madness... absolutly crazy .. but he just about got away with it..
what was up with davy wall not playing is he injured or suspended :p :p

Well if you only saw last 30 minuites then you can't say that i was watching a different match:rolleyes:

Davy was suspended

smellyfeet
11/09/2006, 11:01 AM
Old Git,
Have you seen Ballbreaker lately:p :D

old git
11/09/2006, 11:40 AM
Well if you only saw last 30 minuites then you can't say that i was watching a different match:rolleyes:

Davy was suspended

i meant on second half performance... what i saw of the game

and from a few newtown lads watching they did admit newtown played better in first half.. but everybody will have different views on the game .. :eek: :eek:

when is the bunratty match ( fai) fixed for !!!

CousinSylDolan
11/09/2006, 11:50 AM
when is the bunratty match ( fai) fixed for !!!

Sunday week the 24th I imagine as Bunratty have a free weekend on the 17th.

old git
11/09/2006, 1:30 PM
Old Git,
Have you seen Ballbreaker lately:p :D

i'm lost here ....

all i know of ballbreaker he is on the clare league forums & he was involved with newtown.. :confused: