View Full Version : Clare League 2006/07

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

shelbourne1904
19/10/2006, 9:55 AM
Great thread now lads.Plenty of activity and good points.
The loyalty thing is a great issue.The 2 lads played with Newtown from under 10 to 16.They then went to Wmbley after being approached during the close season and went on to play in the national cup u17 final and unfortunately lost.They came back last year and all in Newtown were looking foward to their return but lo and behold they became GAA heads over night and didnt make themselves available till well into the season after the GAA was finished however they had "other commitments"as well and were not always available for the remainder of the season.On a couple of occassions one of them had to be taken off before half time!!!Again we thought they would give their commitment this year but calculated that the set up in Newtown is such this year that they would have difficulty getting a game and took the option to go elsewhere on the basis that they would get a game without having to make much effort rather than fighting for their places.
Hopefully there will be a good derby on Sunday one way or the other and that the team most likely to go furthest and represent Clare best will win.

smellyfeet
19/10/2006, 10:10 AM
I think ego's play a big part in this.

hope this isn't directed at my prem

smellyfeet
19/10/2006, 10:16 AM
The loyalty thing is a great issue.The 2 lads played with Newtown from under 10 to 16.They then went to Wmbley after being approached during the close season and went on to play in the national cup u17 final and unfortunately lost.They came back last year and all in Newtown were looking foward to their return but lo and behold they became GAA heads over night and didnt make themselves available till well into the season after the GAA was finished however they had "other commitments"as well and were not always available for the remainder of the season.On a couple of occassions one of them had to be taken off before half time!!!Again we thought they would give their commitment this year but calculated that the set up in Newtown is such this year that they would have difficulty getting a game and took the option to go elsewhere on the basis that they would get a game without having to make much effort rather than fighting for their places.
Hopefully there will be a good derby on Sunday one way or the other and that the team most likely to go furthest and represent Clare best will win.

I think enough has been said on this matter. Should be a good game sunday.
I'll go for a pint after in the lodge if i'm back in time win, lose or draw.

CousinSylDolan
19/10/2006, 10:16 AM
Don't expect anyone to go naming teams here before Sunday but are the 2 transferred players likely to start on Sunday???

Jeez I'm even going to stay in Saturday night just to make sure I dont sleep in and miss this one.

Prem Rep!
19/10/2006, 10:21 AM
hope this isn't directed at my prem

This was general comment and not directed at anyone in particular. There are 10-12 players in the Prem who change club every season. Newtown have one at the moment, we also have a couple. Not directed at you at all SF.

old git
19/10/2006, 10:31 AM
No but I've heard you called worse:D

But seriously I agree that there are a lot of nomads in the Clare league and it does seem to have taken the bite out of things. When I played you were proud to wear the jersey of your club at you did care whether you won or lost.
From my own experience I also know what it is like to fall out with your club and move on but now it seems that people are moving from clubs for no other reason as to who will accomadate them ,whether its to fit in with their GAA schedule or the fact they don't want to fight for a place on their club team.

would agree with you first .. was a lot more pride in your club a few years ago when i was playing also .... watching games now and it looks like this has gone ... but must add very few clubs now have a lot of loyal players left and it is unfortunate they have to accomadate a lot of these nomads... park rangers in shannon is a perfect example for years they were poaching players all over shannon and look were this has gotten them now ... :confused: :confused:

shelbourne1904
19/10/2006, 10:50 AM
Don't expect anyone to go naming teams here before Sunday but are the 2 transferred players likely to start on Sunday???

Jeez I'm even going to stay in Saturday night just to make sure I dont sleep in and miss this one.

You'd have some job naming the Newtown team!!Noone knows from week to week,Daniel Tierney back from injury now so Skinny back under pressure again.Of course the 2 lads will be playing ,I heard they were guaranteed places once they signed!!!But someone could have been telling lies and just misleading me and that they are only in the panel and will be picked on merit and training attendance.

Hopefully the 2 teams will go back to the Lodge or wherever Olympic drink to have a pint together after the match.

smellyfeet
19/10/2006, 10:52 AM
This was general comment and not directed at anyone in particular. There are 10-12 players in the Prem who change club every season. Newtown have one at the moment, we also have a couple. Not directed at you at all SF.

Only haven ya on.

CousinSylDolan
19/10/2006, 11:08 AM
Hopefully the 2 teams will go back to the Lodge or wherever Olympic drink to have a pint together after the match.

Surely ye will be heading for Ennis together in harmony for the hurling final...

old git
19/10/2006, 12:35 PM
its terrible for you to be slating lads.since someone close to you left the club for a couple of years to try and better himself.(which he did fair play to him)
he was welcomed back wit open arms..on the other hand 1 of the lads wanted to sign for ye but was told no cause he was playing gaa..
papa-j .... these players did actually say it to me..why would someone want to approach these players when we have 26 signed..and you can ask the 2 lads that signed were they both approached..look at your post yesterday time 3.04pm states (Newtown dont sign players who use soccer for keeping fit in the GAA close season ).

hacker ... i don't think shelbourne slated these players
he has mentioned a couple of times they are good players
his problem seems to be with their commitment to training & to a certain other sport.. & maybee no loyalty to any club.. davy wall leaving newtown is a different issue
he left newtown for a better club ( no disrepect to olympic here )
he trained hard gave it 100% with fairview and was rewarded in the end .... davy then made the decision to return to newtown .. which if being honest was a step backwards in my opinion .. but it was what he wanted and he always gives it 100% in training & matches ;) ;) as far as i know newtown always had issues with signing players trying to play gaa & soccer..

smellyfeet
19/10/2006, 2:29 PM
its terrible for you to be slating lads.since someone close to you left the club for a couple of years to try and better himself.(which he did fair play to him)
he was welcomed back wit open arms..on the other hand 1 of the lads wanted to sign for ye but was told no cause he was playing gaa..
papa-j .... these players did actually say it to me..why would someone want to approach these players when we have 26 signed..and you can ask the 2 lads that signed were they both approached..look at your post yesterday time 3.04pm states (Newtown dont sign players who use soccer for keeping fit in the GAA close season ).

I think your a bit wound up with the S. Carroll and T. Dudden thing.
1 of them wanted to sign for Newtown and was told that they weren't needed as there are 21 players already signed,i think that is fair enough...Would they want to be signed and left on the bench, No..:confused:

As i said previously its only amatuer and a bit of banter, TBH it will only add to a bit more craic now that the 2 lads are playing with Olympic:D

smellyfeet
19/10/2006, 2:38 PM
This game on sunday should be a cracker anyway you look at it..
A couple of ex Newtown players with Olympic, local Derby in a big Cup game.

Newtown missing a few tru injury,,4 starters missing from last sundays game

old git
19/10/2006, 4:00 PM
This game on sunday should be a cracker anyway you look at it..
A couple of ex Newtown players with Olympic, local Derby in a big Cup game.

Newtown missing a few tru injury,,4 starters missing from last sundays game

newtown to win after extra time .. but olympic will make them fight all the way ..:p

smellyfeet
19/10/2006, 4:12 PM
newtown to win after extra time .. but olympic will make them fight all the way ..:p

SAME AS LAST YEAR SO!!!!

First
19/10/2006, 4:14 PM
Lads there's only one match happening on Sunday and its the big parish derby.
Come on the Blues:D

old git
19/10/2006, 4:35 PM
Lads there's only one match happening on Sunday and its the big parish derby.
Come on the Blues:D

is this munster junior or fai !!!!:eek: :eek:

smellyfeet
20/10/2006, 8:11 AM

munster junior

smellyfeet
20/10/2006, 8:13 AM
[QUOTE=smellyfeet;559354]I think your a bit wound up with the S. Carroll and T. Dudden thing.:
1 of them wanted to sign for Newtown and was told that they weren't needed as there are 21 players already signed,i think that is fair enough...Would they want to be signed and left on the bench, No..

i'm not wound up at all about it.at the end of the day olympic signed 2 good young players who said they want to play every week and in the 3 week they have been wit club havent missed training or match..just cause they played last week doesn't mean they will play every week as olympic have 26 players to rotate..ANYWAY lets all leave it at that and best of luck to newtown on sunday should be good game wit a good ref in the middle...may the best team win..and go on to represent clare well..:)

Only reason they haven't missed training is because they are finished playing GAA.:p ....BEST OF LUCK SUNDAY

just1
20/10/2006, 11:50 AM

hello all/shels1904..
just said id join this thing after seein the bull thats bein wrote about two lads i now very well and thought id just clear a few things up. Firstly shels if you were monitoring the lads progress in town you would have realised that they played in 2 fai finals U16 &17 winning the later 1-0.. and played in the youths fai semi final losing 1-0 with one of them scoring an og in the last min. anyway thats neither here nor there.. secondly shels i would like to refer back to one of your other statements/facts about the "lads turning gaa heads over night", i found this the most amusing seen as they have been playing with wolfe tones since they were under 10s in both codes.so sorry wrong again shels.. on this matter and this is another FACT, one of them told last years manager that if gaa training/match clashes with soccer he would be unavailable.. thirdly as for them goin to olympic because they were both Guaranteed a game is ridiculous.. i no the reason why they left newtown and if you really want to no then maybe you should ask one of them.. i have spoken to one of the two culprits;) and by all accounts they are really enjoyin playin with olympic the manager is sound and they get on with all de lads.. i no shels a hard pill to swallow..:D but there arent that many people who are 100% royal to there club and only play with one during their career are there smelly feet /papa-j... so i def dont think there stabbin newtown in the back... but they are still young and will eventually settle down with one club lets just hope for your sake its newtown or are they welcome there anymore....... your de man :rolleyes: down in newtown shels i dont think writing lies about the two is showing a good example... but as smelly feet pointed out its only a game of soccer and you shouldnt give a monkeys fart about the two after all you have your super star squad already... COME ON DE TONES...

First
20/10/2006, 11:51 AM

It's bigger than both

shelbourne1904
20/10/2006, 12:10 PM
It's bigger than both

What is???

shelbourne1904
20/10/2006, 12:36 PM
hello all/shels1904..
i dont think writing lies about the two is showing a good example.....

I dont consider I was writing a biography on the two that was open critism for inaccuracies.

I expressed a dissapointment that after achieving great success with Wembley having been with Newtown for ,one of them from 9 to to 15 and the other from 9 to 16(to be abosolutely accurate).Does your inaccuracy qualify as a lie?Newtown were extremely dissapointed with this as they looked foward to having them in their panel but instead they went for the gaa first.

This is born out by the fact that they never played last season with Newtown until the gaa was over.In all their previous GAA involvelmnt, which I was never aware of,they never choose gaa over football.Thatcommitment would not have been acceptable to Newtown this year and rightly so.If you are a gaa head who thinks that is ok then you should be on a gaa website and if another club thinks that commitment is ok then thats fine also as they are entitled to their opinions.Equally Newtown are entitled to their opinions and standards.

First
20/10/2006, 12:38 PM
What is???

You know:)

smellyfeet
20/10/2006, 12:41 PM
As far as i know there is no bad feeling with the 2 lads at all, well defo not from me. Its just that Newtowns season started in july and not october and thats prob the reason that they were told that they weren't needed + the fact that there are 21 others on the first team. TBH i as a player wouldn't be happy if the 2 boys arrived down in october and got a game before me and that goe's for the rest of the team aswell i'd say.

I'd say that the 2 lads don't give a crap what anyone on this site has to say either. They are not the first players to leave Newtown for Olympic and won't be the either.

Prem Rep!
20/10/2006, 1:47 PM
[I expressed a dissapointment that after achieving great success with Wembley having been with Newtown for ,one of them from 9 to to 15 and the other from 9 to 16[/QUOTE]

To be honest Shels this is unfortunately happening at every club. To make matters worse this disease has riddled clubs down as far as 13's and 14's. For example in the youths league at the moment there are 4 Bridge players playing with Bunratty, 2 with Avenue and 2 in town. Hate to harp on about loyalty but the future is bleak and the days of one club men is drawing to an end. Junior players should lead by example, but having seen our club captain leave after playing 20 years for the club does not exactly lead the way.
Additionally we can say what we like about the GAA but at least they don't have to worry about what players they will have next season. Whether your club is good or bad you have one club and are proud to represent them.

smellyfeet
20/10/2006, 2:27 PM
[I expressed a dissapointment that after achieving great success with Wembley having been with Newtown for ,one of them from 9 to to 15 and the other from 9 to 16

To be honest Shels this is unfortunately happening at every club. To make matters worse this disease has riddled clubs down as far as 13's and 14's. For example in the youths league at the moment there are 4 Bridge players playing with Bunratty, 2 with Avenue and 2 in town. Hate to harp on about loyalty but the future is bleak and the days of one club men is drawing to an end. Junior players should lead by example, but having seen our club captain leave after playing 20 years for the club does not exactly lead the way.
Additionally we can say what we like about the GAA but at least they don't have to worry about what players they will have next season. Whether your club is good or bad you have one club and are proud to represent them.[/QUOTE]

Would i be right in saying that your ex club captain played schoolboys with Newtown under Pat Frost (RIP) along with a few others from the bridge. Maybe he was just coming home for a while:D

I know that you are into the loyalty thing but players come and go every year and thats the way the game is.

papa-j
20/10/2006, 2:41 PM
so i def dont think there stabbin newtown in the back... but they are still young and will eventually settle down with one club lets just hope for your sake its newtown or are they welcome there anymore

They are more than welcome in Newtown, so long as they can commit. The level of committment required will be decided by the managment in charge. The managment this year didn't feel they could accomodate the lads under those circumstances. The Olympic managment felt differently and thats their right. Good luck to them all. I dont think anybody feels they stabbed anyone in the back.
As for loyalty I think I can consider my self a loyal Newtown man having played 18 out the last 20 seasons with the club and dont need to justify that to you.
Now lets drop the s*ite talk about the lads...there not that bloody good to dedicate a whole thread to:D and get back to talking about football:ball:
Obviously I'm going for a Newtown win:eek: after a tight encounter

just1
20/10/2006, 11:32 PM
id like to inform you papa-j that the two were never told that they couldnt sign for newtown because of their commitment( FACT), i dont no were you hear this bull, so if your gonna post facts try and make sure there true:rolleyes: and your dead right about the two being not as good as people make out, so why is it mainly newtown people postin;) i totally agree with smelly feet bout this whole thing being blown out of the water, he seems to be the only one on this thing with a bit of cop on.oh and shels i am a gaa head and proud of it, hope to see you in cusack park on sunday cheerin on the mighty tones.. :D to be honest im suprised the game hasnt been called off so peope can get to ennis in plenty of time... heard the two lads are going at half time to get good seats..haha

madcap
21/10/2006, 3:28 PM
Is there anyone else to talk about lads,:rolleyes: or anything

sore_toe
22/10/2006, 7:05 PM
bunratty will play newtown in the next round of munster cup

Murphman
22/10/2006, 7:36 PM
Newmarket 3 Bridge Celtic 1

CousinSylDolan
23/10/2006, 8:09 AM
Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Fixtures
Saturday 28/10/06
Munster Youths Cup 2nd Round
Ballycasey: Newtown V Bridge United
A.Murphy 11.00

Note: In event of a draw 10 mins e/w extra time and penaltys if necessary.

Gallivan Kennedy Youths League
Ballycar: Newmarket Celtic V Bridge United
J.Stanford 11.00

Clare U17 League
Corofin: Corofin Harps V Burren United
F.Coote 11.00

Sunday 29/10/06
Oscar Traynor Cup First Round
Cappaquin: West Waterford/ East Cork League V Clare & District Soccer League
Waterford Officials 2.00

Maloney Hardware Shannon Premier Division League
Lees Road Pitch 4: Lifford V Bridge Celtic A
A.Murphy 10.30

Clare First Division League
Lees Road Pitch 2: Turnpike Rovers V Kildysart Celtic D.Brosnan 1.00

SEL Print Second Division League
Lees Road Pitch 1: Lifford B V Shannon Olympic B
F.Coote 10.30

Kilmhill: St.Pats A V Kilkishen Celtic
D.McCarthy 10.30

Sixmilebridge: Bridge United B V Avenue United B
P.Mulready 11.00

CBS Kilrush: Kilrush Rangers V Newmarket Celtic B J.Stanford 11.00

Suttons Lighting Third Division League
Lees Road Pitch 1: Rhine Rovers V Cratloe Celtic B
D.Kasule 1.00

Kilmhill: St.Pats B V Kilkishen Celtic B
D.McCarthy 12.45

Cooraclare: Cooraclare Celtic V Newtown B
J.Stanford 1.30

O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic B V Moher Celtic B
P.Dunne 3.30

Tiermaclane: Manus Celtic V Hermitage B
F.Mee 11.00

Monday 30/10/06
Clare U17 League
Kilrush: Moneypoint V Lifford
J.Stanford 11.00

Corofin: Corofin Harps V Newtown
F.Coote 2.30

smellyfeet
23/10/2006, 8:41 AM
[
olympic pushed hard for equaliser in second half but found the HURLER to be in great form..

when are you going to leave all this to bed.....i think that you have posted about skinny playing hurling already....thing is that skinny somehow managed to train with newtown aswell as the gaa so leave this alone as we all know that he plays hurling and don't need to be reminded every couple of days.

oh ya, forgot to mention, skinny plays hurling:D

First
23/10/2006, 9:08 AM
oh ya, forgot to mention, skinny plays hurling:D[/QUOTE]

Hurling is it:D

smellyfeet
23/10/2006, 9:15 AM
oh ya, forgot to mention, skinny plays hurling:D

Hurling is it:D[/QUOTE]

yes hurling, thats the one :rolleyes:

smellyfeet
23/10/2006, 9:17 AM
Newmarket 3 Bridge Celtic 1

any report/scorers

smellyfeet
23/10/2006, 9:20 AM
bunratty will play newtown in the next round of munster cup

any idea where this is to be played.

CousinSylDolan
23/10/2006, 10:44 AM
any idea where this is to be played.

Its on in Newtown...

3rd Round Draw
Newtown "A" vs Bunratty
Newmarket Celtic "A" vs Burren Utd
Avenue Utd "A" vs Mountshannon Celtic or Corofin Harps

to be played on or before 25th / 26th November 2006

The 3 big guns have home draws and would be expected to advance to represent the county in the open draw.

devilfish
23/10/2006, 2:58 PM
Bunratty Scorers against Connolly were

Pa Twoomey hat-trick
Richard Lillis x 1
David Hogan with a left-foot screamer from 60 yards that bounced in over the poor young fella in goals.....a contender for goal of the season!!...:D :D :D

guvnor
23/10/2006, 6:49 PM
any report/scorers

Newmarket well on top in 1st half..Got 3 goals in quick succession..Davy Ryan got 2 and Mickey Mc Coy got the other...They sat back in the second half and invited a lot of pressure..they back 4 were outstanding in the second half...Big improvement all round from last yr.....:)

smellyfeet
26/10/2006, 1:55 PM
Its oh so quiet,,,,shhh shhhh

First
27/10/2006, 1:22 PM
Its oh so quiet,,,,shhh shhhh

Shut up some of us are enjoying the silence:D

Prem Rep!
31/10/2006, 9:11 AM
Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Fixtures
Saturday 04/11/06
Sixmilebridge: Bridge United V Newtown A.Murphy 11.00

F.A.I. U17 Cup Second Round
Corofin: Corofin Harps V Mungret Regional J.Deniffee 2.00

Sunday 05/11/06
F.A.I. U17 Cup Second Round
Portland Park: Summerville Rovers V Moneypoint Limerick officials 2.00

F.A.I. Junior Cup 3rd Round Clare/Kerry Desmond League Area
Shannon: Shannon Olympic V Newcastlewest P.Mulready 2.00
Kenmare: Inter Kenmare V Burren United Kerry Officials 2.00
Knockaderry : Knockaderry V Newmarket Celtic Desmond League Officials 2.00
O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic V Kilorglin F.C. F.Coote 2.00

Lees Road Pitch 4: Lifford A V Rinnanna Rovers J.Deniffee 11.00
Sixmilebridge: Bridge United A V Newtown A.Murphy 11.00

First Division League Cup Section B Play-Off
County Grounds: Hermitage A V Bunratty M.O`Brien 11.00

Tiermaclane: Kilmaley United V Rock Rovers F.Coote 11.00
Cratloe: Cratloe Celtic A V Corofin Harps M.O`Halloran 3.00
Kilmaley School: Connolly Celtic V Turnpike Rovers N.Bennett 11.00

Norrie Henchies: Tulla United V Lifford B D.McCarthy 11.00
CBS Kilrush: Kilrush Rangers V Ennistymon Town P.Dunne 11.00
Lees Road Pitch 2: Avenue United B V St.Pats A D.Kasule 11.00
Kilkishen: Kilkishen Celtic A V Bridge United B M.O`Brien 2.30

Cratloe: Cratloe Celtic B v St.Pats B 11.00
Cooraclare: Cooraclare Celtic V Inch Crusaders 2.30
Tiermaclane: Manus Celtic V Rhine Rovers D.Kasule 2.00
Kilkishen: Kilkishen Celtic B V Hermitage B 11.00

Prem Rep!
31/10/2006, 9:12 AM
Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Results
Sunday 29/10/06
Newtown (P-P) Bridge United

Clare U17 League
Corofin Harps 2 Burren United 0

Oscar Traynor Cup First Round
West Waterford/ East Cork League 1 Clare & District Soccer League 1

Lifford 2 Bridge Celtic A 2

Turnpike Rovers 1 Kildysart Celtic 4

Lifford B 2 Shannon Olympic B 2
St.Pats A 2 Kilkishen Celtic A 1
Bridge United B 3 Avenue United B 1
Kilrush Rangers 1 Newmarket Celtic B 1

Rhine Rovers 1 Cratloe Celtic B 0
St.Pats B 2 Kilkishen Celtic B 2
Cooraclare Celtic 2 Newtown B 0
Bridge Celtic B Moher Celtic B
Manus Celtic 3 Hermitage B 2

smellyfeet
31/10/2006, 11:25 AM
Big game in the league sunday coming.
Away win for Newtown and it will put them on top along with Bridge Celtic.
Home win would see Bridge UTD climp up the table with game in hand.

Prem Rep!
31/10/2006, 11:59 AM
Should be interesting. Newtown in good form, bridge in not such good form. Deegan / Whyte factor should spice things up a bit also. Bridge will be well up for it.

smellyfeet
31/10/2006, 12:07 PM
i'd say this is a misprint as newtown are playing fai this weekend

no misprint. playing the bridge for certain.

Prem Rep!
31/10/2006, 12:14 PM
FAI Game off, Bridge originally down for Mountshannon but now changed to Newtown.

smellyfeet
31/10/2006, 12:17 PM
Should be interesting. Newtown in good form, bridge in not such good form. Deegan / Whyte factor should spice things up a bit also. Bridge will be well up for it.

I'd say it will be a close incounter. Whoever makes most mistakes will lose it i think. Regarding the 2 bridge lads, i'd say they'll want to win this game more than any other. They won't want to have to take the slaging if they lose, Anto will have to listen to his auld fella aswell.:)

Prem Rep!
31/10/2006, 12:25 PM
Don't think Anto listens too much to his auld fella. Couldn't be more different, Mikey is 'Mr Bridge United' and Anto is 'Mr what club next'!