View Full Version : Clare League 2006/07

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

plasticpitch
04/09/2006, 9:13 PM
Round 1 Kerry/Clare/Desmond League

Mountshannon Cel v Ballyhar Dymamoes
Bunratty FC v Newtown FC
Rock Rovers v Tralee Utd.
Liselton Rovers v Ballingarry FC
Bridge Cel. v Kilcolman Rovers
Bridge Utd v Broadford Utd.
Burren Utd. v Ballybunion FC
Cratloe Cel. v Newmarket Cel.
Granagh FC v Shanagolden FC
Foynes FC v Tralee Dynamoes

2nd Round Kerry/ Desmond /Clare League

Burren Utd or Ballybunnion FC v Granagh FC or Shanagolden FC
St. Brendans Park v Killarney Cel
Shannon Olympic v Bridge Utd or Broadford Utd
Newcastle West v Glin Rovers
Ratoo Rovers v Newcastle West Rovers
Carraig Cel v Moher Celtic
Turnpike Rovers v Castleisland FC
Rinagh Rovers v Foynes FC or Tralee Dynamoes
Pallaskenry FC v Kilmaley FC
Corofin Harps v Abbeyfield Utd
Killarney Ath v Mountshannon Cel or Ballyhar Dynamoes
Bunratty FC or Newtown FC v Liselton Rovers Ballygarry FC
Avenue Utd v Connolly Celtic
Rock Rovers or Tralee Utd v Knockderry FC
Kilrush Rgs v Listowel Celtic
Bridge Cel or Kilcolman Rovers v Kildimoo Utd
Rathkeale FC v Spa Road Cel
Inter Kenmare FC v Athea Utd
Killeaney FC v Cratloe Cel or Newmarket Cel
Fenit Saphires FC v Killorglin FC

Clare teams in bold..
any comments

smellyfeet
05/09/2006, 8:13 AM
Not many Clare teams entered this years competition.
Bit surprised by that. No Lifford, No Rineanna.

plasticpitch
05/09/2006, 8:18 AM
suprised that Bridge celtic enteredthis year. was talking to there manager after we played them in ennis last year. he said that the extended fai run last year had caused a fixture pile up. i thought they might not enter.
as for lifford no suprise as the u-21s and no real chance of winning it.
rineanna completley focused on winning premier.

CmonTheRovers
05/09/2006, 8:37 AM

Looks like they mispelled our club name again,

As far as i know, there is no such club as Rinagh Rovers in Kerry or Desmond leagues

smellyfeet
05/09/2006, 8:49 AM
Looks like they mispelled our club name again,

As far as i know, there is no such club as Rinagh Rovers in Kerry or Desmond leagues

Alright must be mix up.
I played against Foynes few years back, they weren't great to be honest.
If they are still much the same i'd say ye could win this handy but then again its all on the day. Best of luck anyway.

Bunratty V Newtown will be a good one.

CmonTheRovers
05/09/2006, 9:40 AM
Alright must be mix up.
If they are still much the same i'd say ye could win this handy but then again its all on the day. Best of luck anyway.

It certainly will be. I'm sure it wont be difficult to motivate the Rats 4 a local derby like that!!

Was speaking to one of their new resignings from village FC last wknd!! he will b gud addition to their team.

Without knowing what the rest of 1st div is like, i wud expect them to return straight back to Premier. Any thoughts out there? CousSyl?

CousinSylDolan
05/09/2006, 10:02 AM
It certainly will be. I'm sure it wont be difficult to motivate the Rats 4 a local derby like that!!

Was speaking to one of their new resignings from village FC last wknd!! he will b gud addition to their team.

Without knowing what the rest of 1st div is like, i wud expect them to return straight back to Premier. Any thoughts out there? CousSyl?

Everyone knows the 1st division is very tough to come out of. Rats have made some good signings alright but still a long tough season ahead to get back to the Premier.

As for the Fai...very tough draw for Bunratty. Playing one of the best team's in Clare at the moment but at least its at home... Bring on the "Dream Team"

First
05/09/2006, 10:05 AM
[QUOTE=CmonTheRovers;529109]It certainly will be. I'm sure it wont be difficult to motivate the Rats 4 a local derby like that!!

He'll be alright as long as you don't expect him to use his left leg:D

smellyfeet
05/09/2006, 10:09 AM
Everyone knows the 1st division is very tough to come out of. Rats have made some good signings alright but still a long tough season ahead to get back to the Premier.

As for the Fai...very tough draw for Bunratty. Playing one of the best team's in Clare at the moment but at least its at home... Bring on the "Dream Team"

Your right the 1st div is a hard ldiv to get out of, but i'm sure ye will get up anyway as ye are good side.:ball:

Will this game be shown on Sky One being a big cup game and all:rolleyes: :D

CousinSylDolan
05/09/2006, 10:19 AM
Your right the 1st div is a hard ldiv to get out of, but i'm sure ye will get up anyway as ye are good side

Will this game be shown on Sky One being a big cup game and all

We have not been a good side for 2 years but hopefully we can prove we are good enough for the Premier and win promotion.

As for the Fai game... I believe Richard Keys and Andy Gray have refused to travel to Bunratty as commentary positions at the ground are "unsatisfactory and extremely dangerous":D :D :D

plasticpitch
05/09/2006, 10:29 AM
We have not been a good side for 2 years but hopefully we can prove we are good enough for the Premier and win promotion.

As for the Fai game... I believe Richard Keys and Andy Gray have refused to travel to Bunratty as commentary positions at the ground are "unsatisfactory and extremely dangerous":D :D :D
any news on the devolpment of your ground

Pretender
05/09/2006, 11:21 AM

Lifford decided not to enter the competition this year as they already have some players involved with 17s, youths, 21s and Juniors. Players would simply have burnt out. I think this is only a once off... not sure though. They are entering the Munster Junior Cup.

Tralee Dynamos will surely face Rineanna... tough draw... one of the top teams in Kerry. They knocked a couple of Clare teams from the cup competitions last year.

CousinSylDolan
05/09/2006, 11:21 AM
any news on the devolpment of your ground

Work had started down there and we have moved ESB cables from above the training ground. Rockbreaking and surface preparation has also started.Its slow to keep things moving but by the beginging of next season we hope to have the astro turf in place...

CmonTheRovers
05/09/2006, 1:44 PM
anyone hear the fixtures for next week yet?

CousinSylDolan
05/09/2006, 1:52 PM
anyone hear the fixtures for next week yet?

Fixtures are in the Clare People...

Pretender
05/09/2006, 3:09 PM
Anyone willing to save me 2 euro and tell me the premier fixture for the weekend??? :D :D :D

CousinSylDolan
05/09/2006, 3:16 PM
Anyone willing to save me 2 euro and tell me the premier fixture for the weekend??? :D :D :D

Sunday...
Avenue vs Mntshn 2.30
Newtown vs Moher 11.00
Bridge Cel vs Lifford 11.00
Oly vs Newmarket 11.00

Monday
Rineanna vs Bridge Utd 6.15

First
05/09/2006, 3:32 PM
I am looking forward to the Newmarket - Oly game , just to see if Oly really are as bad as the Rineanna boys are saying:)

smellyfeet
05/09/2006, 3:40 PM
Sunday...
Avenue vs Mntshn 2.30 DRAW
Newtown vs Moher 11.00 HOME WIN
Bridge Cel vs Lifford 11.00 HOME WIN
Oly vs Newmarket 11.00 AWAY WIN

Monday
Rineanna vs Bridge Utd 6.15 DRAW

Thats how i think results will go.

smellyfeet
05/09/2006, 3:42 PM
I am looking forward to the Newmarket - Oly game , just to see if Oly really are as bad as the Rineanna boys are saying:)

:) :D

old git
05/09/2006, 3:58 PM
Alright must be mix up.

smellyfeet.. can u confirm a very intresting rumour i heard recently
that newtown looking at putting out a different fai team .. mixture of b team & a team players... that the management are looking at winning preimership as there priority.. :cool: :cool:

smellyfeet
05/09/2006, 4:13 PM
smellyfeet.. can u confirm a very intresting rumour i heard recently
that newtown looking at putting out a different fai team .. mixture of b team & a team players... that the management are looking at winning preimership as there priority.. :cool: :cool:

Old Git,
To be Honest i haven't heard this rumour. I can tell you that over the years Newtown have nearly always used both A & B players in the FAI Cup and have done quite well. Also the League is always going to come first.I'd say that most clubs use A & B Players in FAI no!!!

old git
05/09/2006, 4:24 PM
Old Git,
To be Honest i haven't heard this rumour. I can tell you that over the years Newtown have nearly always used both A & B players in the FAI Cup and have done quite well. Also the League is always going to come first.I'd say that most clubs use A & B Players in FAI no!!!

i know most teams would use both a & b players
but this sounds like only using A team squad players & mainly B team players.. again it could be only be more rumours & i must add there is plenty of them out there about newtown at the moment

should be a good match though bunratty v newtown will have to wait and see what team is picked :cool: :cool:

Murphman
05/09/2006, 8:40 PM
Big result for us tonight.. Close contest, Utd had a couple of good chances first half but we dominated second half and in my opinion deserved the victory.. A UTD player scored contender for goal of the season tonight... OWN GOAL of the season that is!! Lobbed his keeper from corner of 18 yard box, brilliant finish but what the hell was he trying to do???

madcap
05/09/2006, 10:32 PM
25yard box???? do ye have them hehe:confused:

madcap
05/09/2006, 10:42 PM
Big result for us tonight.. Close contest, Utd had a couple of good chances first half but we dominated second half and in my opinion deserved the victory.. A UTD player scored contender for goal of the season tonight... OWN GOAL of the season that is!! Lobbed his keeper from corner of 25 yard box, brilliant finish but what the hell was he trying to do???

I agree, ye deserved wat ye got, but to be fair to the lad it was a terrible bobble just as he played it back,great goal tho lol, Utd have alot to do to put things right, never got involved in the in the physical battle, should of been given a peno tho when it was 2-0 i think in the first half,didnt get it just cos the guy didnt go down no advantage played, could have changed the game,

plasticpitch
06/09/2006, 4:39 AM
any body got a league table then??

CousinSylDolan
06/09/2006, 7:43 AM
The bloke who updates A2Z is away on holidays at the moment. He will be back in about 2 weeks. He said he will try and catch up on lg tables then for all divisions including youths.

Anyone got youths results from last night?????

Bunratty 2-2 Newtown is one but there were 3 other games.

smellyfeet
06/09/2006, 8:53 AM
i know most teams would use both a & b players
but this sounds like only using A team squad players & mainly B team players.. again it could be only be more rumours & i must add there is plenty of them out there about newtown at the moment

should be a good match though bunratty v newtown will have to wait and see what team is picked :cool: :cool:

Old Git,
Are you involved with any club? If so who? If not sure you are more than welcome to come down to Ballycasey sure we'll find something for you to do.
Maybe you could get involved in sorting out the rumour situation as there are plenty to sort out.:D

old git
06/09/2006, 8:59 AM
Old Git,
Are you involved with any club? If so who? If not sure you are more than welcome to come down to Ballycasey sure we'll find something for you to do.
Maybe you could get involved in sorting out the rumour situation as there are plenty to sort out.:D

not involved any more " note my alias old git " done my bit over the years and enjoying my retirement ... nobody would have enough time to sort out the rumour situation... ;) ;)

smellyfeet
06/09/2006, 9:20 AM
not involved any more " note my alias old git " done my bit over the years and enjoying my retirement ... nobody would have enough time to sort out the rumour situation... ;) ;)

Sure you could take your time.

Murphman
06/09/2006, 12:40 PM
HI lads, trying to compile league table etc but missing one match result Bridge Utd V Mnt shannon??

CousinSylDolan
06/09/2006, 1:00 PM
HI lads, trying to compile league table etc but missing one match result Bridge Utd V Mnt shannon??

I think Mntshn won it 3-2 but not 100% sure...

Murphman
06/09/2006, 1:45 PM
Lads, heres the league table excluding that result from Mntshnn V BUtd...to be confirmed...
http://www.freewebs.com/murphychristmashouse/cl%5Fimages%5F0607/clareprem06%5F07.jpg

Here is the list of results I'm using any omissions or errors let me know..
http://www.freewebs.com/murphychristmashouse/cl%5Fimages%5F0607/clareprem06%5F07%5Fresultslist.jpg

myleftfoot
06/09/2006, 2:48 PM
Ended 2-2, points dropped for the bridge, 2-1 up 15 mins to go, should of killed the game but let mountshannon back in it again.

Murphman
thanks for the Premier table.
See above quote from Newlad should complete your table.
Anyone interested in doing the same for the First division clubs.
No tables on the a2z site this year.

CousinSylDolan
06/09/2006, 3:14 PM
Murphman
thanks for the Premier table.
See above quote from Newlad should complete your table.
Anyone interested in doing the same for the First division clubs.
No tables on the a2z site this year.

Well spotted;)

Very interested in a 1st division table. A2Z will be up and running in a few weeks and will cover all tables...including the youths.

CousinSylDolan
07/09/2006, 7:42 AM
Any results from Premier games last night?????

Newtown drew 1-1 (not sure with who) and I hear Rineanna beat Newmarket.

CmonTheRovers
07/09/2006, 7:59 AM
Rineanna Rovers 2 (Brian Kelly, Stephen Kelly)
Newmarket Celtic 1

CMON THE ROVERS!!!!!:D :D :D

CmonTheRovers
07/09/2006, 8:03 AM
Rineanna Rovers 2 (Brian Kelly, Stephen Kelly)
Newmarket Celtic 1

CMON THE ROVERS!!!!!:D :D :D

Also heard 1-1 between Newtown and Avenue, and Moher beat Shannon Olympic 2-1

old git
07/09/2006, 8:11 AM
Any results from Premier games last night?????

Newtown drew 1-1 (not sure with who) and I hear Rineanna beat Newmarket.

1-1 with avenue .. caught most of game on my way home from work.. was a poor game draw a fair result .... avenue scored first with a penalty just after half time ( must add a very harsh decision by referee) and both teams then had 2 players sent off later in game again another strange decision by referee bit of pushing & shoving in middle of field by 7-8 players .. :eek:

smellyfeet
07/09/2006, 8:29 AM
1-1 with avenue .. caught most of game on my way home from work.. was a poor game draw a fair result .... avenue scored first with a penalty just after half time ( must add a very harsh decision by referee) and both teams then had 2 players sent off later in game again another strange decision by referee bit of pushing & shoving in middle of field by 7-8 players .. :eek:

It was a peno, Noel Donnellan clipped Avenue player in the box. 1 player from both teams got the line. Davy Wall tackled Avenue Mike OMahony late in the center circle, nothing too bad,but it was what happened after which resulted in the sendings off. Another Avenue player got involved and both teams had a scuffle. If anything Davy Wall should have been booked and that would have been that but Philip Markam "ref" had other idea's. Mike OMahony Avenue and Davy Wall Newtown sent off. Newtown scored tru Dave Devaney.
Think the foreign fella for Avenue got the Peno.

manalishi
07/09/2006, 10:27 AM
Dreamteam is turning into a nightmare.Very poor uninventive performance against Avenue average but spirited team.Defensive clearances tend to go no more than 20 yards and to the opposition.Midfield no ideas,frontline too soft and whole team one paced.Numerous chances lost from poor fullback crosses.Many corners wasted.
Referee made 4 bad decisions.Only 4 decisions to be made so 100% error.Neither player should have been sent off ,Newtown goal in first half not offside and penalty was as soft as Ive seen,well won by the Avenues players scream.Avenue goalkeeper should have been sent off for kicking player after conceding goal.

old git
07/09/2006, 11:15 AM
Dreamteam is turning into a nightmare.Very poor uninventive performance against Avenue average but spirited team.Defensive clearances tend to go no more than 20 yards and to the opposition.Midfield no ideas,frontline too soft and whole team one paced.Numerous chances lost from poor fullback crosses.Many corners wasted.
Referee made 4 bad decisions.Only 4 decisions to be made so 100% error.Neither player should have been sent off ,Newtown goal in first half not offside and penalty was as soft as Ive seen,well won by the Avenues players scream.Avenue goalkeeper should have been sent off for kicking player after conceding goal.

manalishi,,, u just summed up clare league refs usuall performance in report above ... how can he make these 4 wrong decisions if people watching can see they are wrong...!!! but sure they have been getting away with it for years

Brazil Nut
07/09/2006, 2:05 PM

Saw the game last night and thought newtown were by far the better side and got the ball in the box over and over again, some poor crosses but some quality as well, just nobody to get on the end of them, thought newtowns only outlet was their 2 fullbacks. It was a penalty, unfortunate but clear cut. Sendings off were ridiculous but game was getting very niggly. Neither side will do much damage in the league. any report from newmarket game

Pretender
07/09/2006, 3:07 PM
Saw the game last night and thought newtown were by far the better side and got the ball in the box over and over again, some poor crosses but some quality as well, just nobody to get on the end of them, thought newtowns only outlet was their 2 fullbacks. It was a penalty, unfortunate but clear cut. Sendings off were ridiculous but game was getting very niggly. Neither side will do much damage in the league. any report from newmarket game

I wouldn't start predicting things just yet... its only september. Every team in the league is capable of taking points from each other as has been proven in the opening weeks. Neither Newtown or Avenue have started how they would like but could still easily win the league. Newtown were probably the better team in the lifford game and were unlucky not to get something from the game and Avenue always raise their game for certain opposition. I expect them to have a squad of a least 30 for every Lifford game this season!! :D :D

plasticpitch
07/09/2006, 4:00 PM
I wouldn't start predicting things just yet... its only september. Every team in the league is capable of taking points from each other as has been proven in the opening weeks. Neither Newtown or Avenue have started how they would like but could still easily win the league. Newtown were probably the better team in the lifford game and were unlucky not to get something from the game and Avenue always raise their game for certain opposition. I expect them to have a squad of a least 30 for every Lifford game this season!! :D :D

ya the problem is they can only play 11 of them

madcap
07/09/2006, 10:20 PM
Lifford 1 - 3 bridge Utd

Pretender
08/09/2006, 7:50 AM
Lifford 1 - Bridge Utd 3

Brian Hehir scored for Lifford.

Bridge went 1 up, had best chances of 1st half. Lifford scored early in the second half. Brian Hehir volleyed home after a good flick on from Mannering. Then the referee... (Markham - I'm almost sure that's his name... the lad with the moustache) sends off niall white for calling the Utd manager a w****r as he has had the linesmans flag pointed in Utd's favour all game long. If he was a proper official it'd be a straight red but calling the manager that is the same as saying it to another player... at most a yellow. The Ref lost the plot because both sides were calling for decisions and Lifford got the Red because the were moaning more. Utd's 2nd goal... definite free in middle of pitch for obstruction of Lifford player after he knocked the ball around utd player... not given and in fairness utd player scored a stunning 30 yard (at least!!) effort... top corner and all.

The final goal was the best though. Ball is about 2 yards out of play on Utd benches' side of the pitch. Their manager keeps flag down. Everybody bar utd striker stops playing. They score. ref allows it. Bridge manager laughs his hole off!!!

I was waiting for the ref to actually score one himself!!

Referee's have a tough time. I don't like giving out about them as it only means there will be less people to do the job. But last night was just a joke.

plasticpitch
08/09/2006, 8:11 AM
Lifford 1 - Bridge Utd 3

Bridge went 1 up, had best chances of 1st half. Lifford scored early in the second half. Brian Hehir volleyed home after a good flick on from Mannering. Then the referee... (Markham - I'm almost sure that's his name... the lad with the moustache) sends off niall white for calling the Utd manager a w****r as he has had the linesmans flag pointed in Utd's favour all game long. If he was a proper official it'd be a straight red but calling the manager that is the same as saying it to another player... at most a yellow. The Ref lost the plot because both sides were calling for decisions and Lifford got the Red because the were moaning more. Utd's 2nd goal... definite free in middle of pitch for obstruction of Lifford player after he knocked the ball around utd player... not given and in fairness utd player scored a stunning 30 yard (at least!!) effort... top corner and all.

The final goal was the best though. Ball is about 2 yards out of play on Utd benches' side of the pitch. Their manager keeps flag down. Everybody bar utd striker stops playing. They score. ref allows it. Bridge manager laughs his hole off!!!

Referee's have a tough time. I don't like giving out about them as it only means there will be less people to do the job. But last night was just a joke.

well prem rep any comment

old git
08/09/2006, 8:17 AM
Lifford 1 - Bridge Utd 3

mr markham not having a good week he also made a mess of newtown v avenue on wednesday night... :eek: :eek: