View Full Version : Clare League 2006/07
old git
30/08/2006, 12:04 PM
[QUOTE=plasticpitch;524942]sorry to first and the like but it gives me great pleasure to get one over on newmarket since they deprived us of the league last year.
Don't be sorry theres along way to go yet and you'd never no they may deprive ye again this year.
By the way the the young fella that came on is Eoin Hayes , any of our older contributors may know his dad Dessie so you can see that he comes from good stock.
good stock indeed... but dessie was a good fullback on a excellent newmarket team :D
riverside
30/08/2006, 12:39 PM
[QUOTE=First;525144]
good stock indeed... but dessie was a good fullback on a excellent newmarket team :D
Correct he was a member of the newmarket team that ran a three in a row star rovers side very close in a munster junior cup final and the team was very good
reds exile
30/08/2006, 2:10 PM
Dessie, on the otherhand, never played anything but total football,and an absolute gentleman to boot.
Dessie was actual a fine hurler and has 3 county senior championship medals winning his last in 1980 at wing forward, I think a lot of those guys that played against Star had hurling background like Jim Corr and John Ryan
reds exile
30/08/2006, 2:25 PM
guys anyone know where i could get a list of league and cup winners since the league began doing a little research for a webpage
CousinSylDolan
30/08/2006, 2:31 PM
guys anyone know where i could get a list of league and cup winners since the league began doing a little research for a webpage
All the lg winners were in the Clare People last week. They had a list of the cup winners I'm sure before last years final too.
I'm sure if you send Brian McDonnell in the Clare People a mail he could help you.
plasticpitch
30/08/2006, 2:53 PM
Wednesday, August 30
Maloney Hardware Premier Division
Mountshannon Celtic v Bridge United : bridge win
6.45 - Scariff - P Markham
Bridge Celtic v Rineanna Rovers : draw
6.45 - OBriensbridge - M OBrien
Shannon Olympic v Avenue United:draw
6.45 - Shannon - M OHalloran
any other takers:ball:
reds exile
30/08/2006, 2:57 PM
Wednesday, August 30
Mountshannon Celtic v Bridge United : bridge win
6.45 - Scariff - P Markham
Bridge Celtic v Rineanna Rovers : draw
6.45 - OBriensbridge - M OBrien
Shannon Olympic v Avenue United:draw
6.45 - Shannon - M OHalloran
any other takers:ball:
mouthshannon v bridge home win
bridge celtic v rovers away win
olympic v avenue home win
CousinSylDolan
30/08/2006, 3:10 PM
mouthshannon v bridge... away win
bridge celtic v rovers... home win
olympic v avenue... home win
smellyfeet
30/08/2006, 3:10 PM
Will this be done this year on A2Z soccer or the Clare League site
CousinSylDolan
30/08/2006, 3:51 PM
Will this be done this year on A2Z soccer or the Clare League site
Waiting for feedback from A2Z but I would imagine it will be done. Lad that updayes the A2Z is away till 25th of Sept so dont expect anything before that.
Murphman could answer about the clareleague site I imagine.
Murphman
31/08/2006, 7:00 AM
Bridge Celtic 1 Rineanna Rovers 1 (Scorer for Bc Barry O'Connell)
No posts on Clare league.com for ages so I can put top scorers on this site if it suits but we'll need a seperate thread to meake it easier track scores and scorers..
smellyfeet
31/08/2006, 8:31 AM
Olympic 0-2 Avenue
This was a terrible game of football. Both sides just didn't want to play at all.
It was so bad that at one stage it could have been a different sport alltogether, an Avenue player shouted out to 1 of his players "LOVELY HURLING". It gets better, Then Olympic player takes a corner and he calls out "FOUR", he thought he was playing golf. Seriously this was a brutal game and hope that i never have to watch another game like that again..
Best part of the game was when the whole Olympic team pushed up into Avenue half with 5 mins to go, they left 1 Avenue player on his own on the half way line. Avenue clear long ball to player on the half and he run like a mad man towards goal. Olympic player takes off after him and clatters him in the box, Peno for Avenue and red card for Olympic player. Honest it was funny as Fcuk.
old git
31/08/2006, 9:41 AM
Olympic 0-2 Avenue
This was a terrible game of football. Both sides just didn't want to play at all.
It was so bad that at one stage it could have been a different sport alltogether, an Avenue player shouted out to 1 of his players "LOVELY HURLING". It gets better, Then Olympic player takes a corner and he calls out "FOUR", he thought he was playing golf. Seriously this was a brutal game and hope that i never have to watch another game like that again..
Best part of the game was when the whole Olympic team pushed up into Avenue half with 5 mins to go, they left 1 Avenue player on his own on the half way line. Avenue clear long ball to player on the half and he run like a mad man towards goal. Olympic player takes off after him and clatters him in the box, Peno for Avenue and red card for Olympic player. Honest it was funny as Fcuk.
yeah i was extremly funny... a bit mad really as the game was over .. penalty was nearly last kick of the game .. would agree it was a brutal game only john ryan olympic & number 11 for avenue who was brought down for penalty looked like they wanted to try & play a bit of football...
any olympics out there what is the story with corners.
player taking calling out 4 / 25 / etc.. is it a new code or does he play rugby also :confused: :confused:
smellyfeet
31/08/2006, 9:54 AM
any olympics out there what is the story with corners.
player taking calling out 4 / 25 / etc..
I think he just received the lotto numbers from the sideline and wanted the rest of the lads to know them:D
First
31/08/2006, 12:37 PM
I think he just received the lotto numbers from the sideline and wanted the rest of the lads to know them:D
JH must have had the numbers , he was rushing to get off the pitch:D
plasticpitch
31/08/2006, 4:36 PM
any score from mountshannon game last night
I was told 1-1
[QUOTE=old git;526447]yeah i was extremly funny... a bit mad really as the game was over
You said it :D
plasticpitch
31/08/2006, 5:00 PM
Thursday, August 31
Moher Celtic v Lifford away win
6.45 - Liscannor - J Deniffee
Newtown v Newmarket Celtic home win
are tonights games going to be straight forward
cant c newtown dropping points at home tonight
lifford maybe could drop points to mohers more physical style
townie
31/08/2006, 6:20 PM
well plastic pitch, no report to give ya only that bridge celtic were way better than us last sunday! we didnt seem up for it but to be honest i can see them easily beaten ye aswell! there a physical good footballin team and we all know ye dont like that! sayin that avenue are really gonna struggle this yr i feel! but once we beat ye useless sh*ts i dont really mind! beat olympic last night, more dire football but 3 points on board all the same! we have done nothin all summer as mr. (legendary) kelly walked out on yet another team! he is a joke but best of look to him because he was never wanted here by the players in the first place! think the league this yr will be wide open with bridge celtic and bridge united battling it out providing celtic get more consistency! can see lifford throwin it away again and wer not good enough! newtown mid table will never be better! olympic will be better than newtown-good team! moher to go back down ! wont be much between top and bottom again though cos all teams are as good as each other-mediocre.... except lifford obviously because there superstars earnin wages:)
plasticpitch
31/08/2006, 7:09 PM
:rolleyes: fair play townie.. thought you were after leaving us.
suprised to hear that your expectations of your club are not out of the top drawer.
by the way ta for Pa wilson , played very well against newmarket and is a big addition to our club
were not even paying him and he left avenue... now i wonder y that was
newlad
31/08/2006, 8:02 PM
Ended 2-2, points dropped for the bridge, 2-1 up 15 mins to go, should of killed the game but let mountshannon back in it again.
reds exile
31/08/2006, 11:26 PM
Last I heard newmarket 2 - newtown 2 scorers for newmarket david barry and kevin feeley good result for newmarket
avenueC
01/09/2006, 2:03 AM
pa is a great soccer player, but a liability in big games. doesnt work at all , spends too much time on the ball looking for the killer pass all the time and when things are not going right for him or the team he seems to get an imaginary injury or just sulks on the pitch.. so best of luck to him.. nice fella as well by the way..
a team of silky passers an beautiful footballers isnt gonna win the clare league.. the team with balls an heart that can grind out results when neeeded will win it.. points to be dropped everywhere so its wide open again!!
plasticpitch
01/09/2006, 5:05 AM
well ave c maybe Pa has a point to prove and i hope he does
as for winning the league its probably a sign of the state of football in clare that , as you say, its not down to the best football team , but how physical and determined a team are to get a result.
i know you are refeering to lifford in your statment but i still think we were the best footballing side in clare last year and maybe our form deserted us when it counted.
alas that is history now and looking forward to this year:ball:
Pretender
01/09/2006, 7:45 AM
Moher 1 - Lifford 1
Anton Mannering scored for Lifford.
smellyfeet
01/09/2006, 8:28 AM
:ball: Newtown took the lead when Pa Devaney got around the Newmarket left back but scuffed his shot only for the Newmarket defender to gift the ball back to him and he made no mistake second time of asking...HT 1-0
Newmarket were gifted their first aswell as a good ball into the box was not delt with by at least 3 Newtown players and keeper. The ball seemed to go tru everyone in the box. Davy "sparrow" Barry arrived at the back post and headed home from about 3/4 yards. 1-1.
Newmarkets second came from more confusion in the Newtown box when they tried to play offside only for Davy Barry to beat the offside and was taken out of it by Newtowns keeper. Skinny received Red Card and Newmarket received a peno. Kevin Feely made it 2-1 from the spot kick.
Newtown down to 10 men lifted their game and did very well to get back into the game. Tom OHare raced down the right wing and put in a great cross and found Davy Wall who headed home past Billy Woods.
Fair result 2-2
CousinSylDolan
01/09/2006, 8:57 AM
:ball:Skinny received Red Card and Newmarket received a peno.
Fair result 2-2
Good report... Cheers.
Who replaced Skinny in goals for Newtown???
Would Newtown look at the result as 2 points dropped at home???
I was at Newtown Saturday last to see the youths game. Walked past the 1st pitch and its look's in prime condition... Was it used last night.
smellyfeet
01/09/2006, 9:30 AM
Good report... Cheers.
Who replaced Skinny in goals for Newtown???
Would Newtown look at the result as 2 points dropped at home???
I was at Newtown Saturday last to see the youths game. Walked past the 1st pitch and its look's in prime condition... Was it used last night.
Danny Tierney replaced Skinny. He's not bad in Goals but still a bit to learn
Yes Newtown would see this as 2 points dropped at home but any result against Newmarket is a good result IMO.
Newtown have put in alot of work on the 1st pitch and it was used last night.
First
01/09/2006, 10:23 AM
Yes Newtown would see this as 2 points dropped at home but any result against Newmarket is a good result IMO.
Newmarket are looking at this as 2 points dropped, fitness levels made the difference in the end. You can see that Newtown have put in alot of work before the season started. Some really nice football played at times but in general a very average standard.Newtown look like a team that will drop alot of points if the opposition put it up to them. Referee didn't make the game easy for anyone involved pulling for stupid fouls and really IMO doesn't understand the game.There were times when the whistle should have been not been blown because he was taking the advantage from both teams by giving freekicks when play should have gone on. But in general a good honest affair between 2 teams that will have a lot to say about the rewards at the end of season.
Newtowns pitch was a credit to them last night great surface and looking at the surrounds with all the pitches covered with kids having a kickabout things look good for the future for soccer in Shannon no matter what flag they fly be it in Clare or Limerick !
old git
01/09/2006, 10:25 AM
definatly will be seen as 2 points dropped.
the newtown " dream team " did not look to impressive last night
a lot of players went missing when newmarket went 2-1 up..
but in fairness they just about deseverd the draw.. :eek: :eek:
smellyfeet
01/09/2006, 11:27 AM
[QUOTE=old git;527207]definatly will be seen as 2 points dropped.
the newtown " dream team " QUOTE]
Can i just ask a simple question....Who said that Newtown had a "dream team"
or did you label them it yourself:confused: .
It certainly didn't come from a Newtown member
CousinSylDolan
01/09/2006, 11:58 AM
How sure are you about that????
First
01/09/2006, 12:51 PM
Maybe he meant that ye are dreaming ye have a team:)
old git
01/09/2006, 2:15 PM
u must know different newtown members then !! i have definatly
heard them called the dream team ... and it was directed at the a team managers who i must add were not to impressed to hear it..:eek: :eek:
smellyfeet
01/09/2006, 3:15 PM
OLD GIT. I'm being honest saying that i have only heard the dream team thing here.Havent heard from anyone from Newtown.
Syl. I can't be to sure i suppose
FIRST. Stop
old git
01/09/2006, 3:58 PM
OLD GIT. I'm being honest saying that i have only heard the dream team thing here.Havent heard from anyone from Newtown.
Syl. I can't be to sure i suppose
FIRST. Stop
dream team is not to bad .... i have heard newtown called a lot worse over the years :D :D
plasticpitch
01/09/2006, 4:01 PM
what was the newtown team last night
was it any different from msnn game
madcap
02/09/2006, 3:45 PM
Ended 2-2, points dropped for the bridge, 2-1 up 15 mins to go, should of killed the game but let mountshannon back in it again.
bridge i think will get it right soon, having no keeper is a prob at the mo,a real keeper would done better for the 2nd,but to be fair done very well in the game,need to cut out silly mistakes.
madcap
02/09/2006, 6:15 PM
Any1 got the draw for the FAI???
GroundFootball
03/09/2006, 8:08 PM
Saw some discussion about this and some people said they weren't up to date. So thought I'd post this for ye Clare lads as the tables are very hard to come by.
Eircom U21 League
SOUTHERN SECTION
Team P W D L F A PTS
Cork City 8 7 1 0 21 4 22
Kerry 7 5 1 1 20 4 16
Limerick 8 4 1 3 14 11 13
Cobh R 8 3 2 3 15 8 11
Lifford Fc 7 2 1 4 10 16 7
Aisling 8 2 1 5 7 22 7
Wtrfrd U 6 1 2 3 7 9 5
Kilkenny 6 0 1 4 3 21 1
Lifford Fc are sitting midtable half way through the season with 2 eircom league clubs below them. That's fairly respectable for their first season at it! It's a massive step up for young players...
plasticpitch
04/09/2006, 6:10 AM
Saw some discussion about this and some people said they weren't up to date. So thought I'd post this for ye Clare lads as the tables are very hard to come by.
Eircom U21 League
SOUTHERN SECTION
Team P W D L F A PTS
Cork City 8 7 1 0 21 4 22
Kerry 7 5 1 1 20 4 16
Limerick 8 4 1 3 14 11 13
Cobh R 8 3 2 3 15 8 11
Lifford Fc 7 2 1 4 10 16 7
Aisling 8 2 1 5 7 22 7
Wtrfrd U 6 1 2 3 7 9 5
Kilkenny 6 0 1 4 3 21 1
Lifford Fc are sitting midtable half way through the season with 2 eircom league clubs below them. That's fairly respectable for their first season at it! It's a massive step up for young players...
:eek: :confused:
smellyfeet
04/09/2006, 8:50 AM
Lifford won this game by the 1 goal after confusion in the Newtown deffence again. Ball not cleared and lifford punished them. Newtown got a peno when Lifford player handled the ball in the box. Davy Wall hit the post with the keeper gone the wrong way from the spot kick and Lifford put the ball out for a corner. From the resulting corner Newtown SHOULD have been giving another peno when Davy Wall played a short corner to Ryan Kelly who gave the ball back to Wall and Lifford right back took him out of it in the box. Ref Martin OBrien who was 30 yards away gave a free in instead. Newtown had plenty of chances to score but couldn't but the ball in the net.
smellyfeet
04/09/2006, 8:52 AM
DOE'S ANYONE HAVE THE CLARE DRAW.
lIMERICK AND TIPPERARY WEBSITE HAVE THEIR DRAW POSTED.
Pretender
04/09/2006, 11:28 AM
Lifford 1-0 Newtown Anton Mannering scored.
Foul for the "2nd" Penalty was 2 yards inside the box. These things tend to even themselves out over the course of the season though.
Pretender
04/09/2006, 11:30 AM
Any reports from the other matches? Caught the last 5 mins of Avenue vs. Newmarket. Avenue 0 - Newmarket 3. Think Newmarket scored 2 in the last 10 mins.
CmonTheRovers
04/09/2006, 1:14 PM
Any reports from the other matches? Caught the last 5 mins of Avenue vs. Newmarket. Avenue 0 - Newmarket 3. Think Newmarket scored 2 in the last 10 mins.
Rineanna Rvrs 3 Shannon Olympic 0
Anyone hear bout Mountshannon vs Moher? Battle of the Bridges 2nite too!! Should b an interesting one?
gaffer
04/09/2006, 1:48 PM
Battle of the Bridges put back to tomorrow night.
well kid
04/09/2006, 2:38 PM
wel does anyone have any details of the avenue newmarket game?
Brazil Nut
04/09/2006, 4:16 PM
Mountshannon 2 Moher 3. Moher scored with 1 min left basically last kick of the game, Mountshannon were the cause of their own downfall, left in 3 soft goals, keeper could have done better with 2 of them. Both look to be twoards bottom of the table sides but will def take points at the same time.