View Full Version : Clare League 2006/07
plasticpitch
01/03/2007, 11:10 PM
cheers hacker and first,
im like a guy going into confession... forgive me father it has been a few months since my last post on foot.ie:D
anyways the whole fixture thing is popping up again with paddys coming about.. the way i see it is the GAA have the all ireland club final on that day so y not have a game of ball and pints afterwards.
if the weather is good dont be making excuses not to play a game, as for fellas going away for the weekend , thats always going to happen in junior soccer just get on with it.
2legged tackle
02/03/2007, 1:03 AM
the GAA have the all ireland club final on that day
Can we keep references about the gaa off foot and out of the clare league please. we hear enough from the papers. from what iv seen this year the league can go on without any GAA players playing envolved so I dont think any fixtures should be based around the GAA's. Honestly is it not time we move on from this?
el_nino84
02/03/2007, 11:44 AM
hopefully the newtown pitch will be ok for the game on sunday, should be a hard fought game. im predicting newtown to win 2-0 or 3-1. any more predictions
old git
02/03/2007, 12:01 PM
hopefully the newtown pitch will be ok for the game on sunday, should be a hard fought game. im predicting newtown to win 2-0 or 3-1. any more predictions
tight game newtown to win 1-0 ..
2legged tackle
02/03/2007, 12:07 PM
Id say there be alot of goals.probably a draw. Oly missing a few players. From what i hear Newtown missing a few aswell. Was any1 at Newtowns Cratloe game. and was Cheeky sent off?:confused:
plasticpitch
02/03/2007, 12:18 PM
Can we keep references about the gaa off foot and out of the clare league please. we hear enough from the papers. from what iv seen this year the league can go on without any GAA players playing envolved so I dont think any fixtures should be based around the GAA's. Honestly is it not time we move on from this?
i can see how you missed my point with this.
my point is if the gaa can have their biggest club day of the year on paddys day then why cant we have a game of ball on the same day... thats all.
dont use paddys day as an excuse to cancel games... if the pitches are good we should play
spoongebob
02/03/2007, 12:24 PM
0-0 draw
Newtown to win easy by at least 2 goals...Olympic wont score!
brutus
02/03/2007, 1:22 PM
at least 3-0 newtown with the form cheeky and razor are in.they are playing very well together and are capable of killing off teams.
Offside
02/03/2007, 1:58 PM
I heard ray has 5 goals in his last 3 games... he's on fire at the minute. for a player who hasn't been playin all season he's really showing his worth, fair play to him for sticking it out. I'd say it'll be a cracker providing the pitch holds up. Too many people writing off olympic i think, including myself but anything is possible in a derby game.
papa-j
02/03/2007, 2:13 PM
Too many people writing off olympic i think, including myself but anything is possible in a derby game.
Olympic to win 3-0 , Tony Hanrahan to get 2 and hacker with the third:eek:
What with yourself and Tony on the pitch , the average age will have doubled:)
brutus
02/03/2007, 2:19 PM
I heard ray has 5 goals in his last 3 games... he's on fire at the minute. for a player who hasn't been playin all season he's really showing his worth, fair play to him for sticking it out. I'd say it'll be a cracker providing the pitch holds up. Too many people writing off olympic i think, including myself but anything is possible in a derby game.
you are right there offside anything can happen in a derby,its going to be a big game for both clubs,olympic needing points to stay in the division,newtown also needing the three points to stay in touch with moher.personally i think if newtown dont win the title is slipping away for another season..
shelbourne1904
02/03/2007, 2:20 PM
at least 3-0 newtown with the form cheeky and razor are in.they are playing very well together and are capable of killing off teams.
S.O. took 4 points from 2 relegation battles,scored 12 in the cup last week and 3-0 is predicted for them too loose?????
What odds are you giving???
Heard Steven Carroll and Terry Dougan WONT be playing for Olympic on sunday! Great signings for olympic they were eh!
papa-j
02/03/2007, 3:02 PM
What with yourself and Tony on the pitch , the average age will have doubled:)
First, as you should know...age is only a number...thats all I have to say...now wheres me slippers and pipe?;)
2legged tackle
02/03/2007, 3:05 PM
Heard Steven Carroll and Terry Dougan WONT be playing for Olympic on sunday! Great signings for olympic they were eh!
Them signings were nearly as good as the fella who gave you that information.
Teryy Dougan will be playin all right so i dont no were you got that. Maybe it was cheeky after all he did say he would not be playin aswell.
and Steven Carroll is injured so i dont see how that makes him a bad signin.:cool:
Rob Wall is injured to. Suppose that makes him a bad signin and all. ;)
spoongebob
02/03/2007, 3:16 PM
It's like the build up to the old firm ****ing hell. Best of luck to shannon olympic nobody gives you much off a chance so heres hoping either a miracle or a surprize is going to happen at the weekend you never know with derby games.
Them signings were nearly as good as the fella who gave you that information.
Teryy Dougan will be playin all right so i dont no were you got that. Maybe it was cheeky after all he did say he would not be playin aswell.
and Steven Carroll is injured so i dont see how that makes him a bad signin.:cool:
Rob Wall is injured to. Suppose that makes him a bad signin and all. ;)
Contradict yourself there kid becuse the fella who gave me that information was Terry dougan himself...And the funny thing about it was YOU were in the very same room when he told me! Memory must be shot kid...it was only last night he TOLD US!
papa-j
02/03/2007, 3:30 PM
It's like the build up to the old firm ****ing hell. Best of luck to shannon olympic nobody gives you much off a chance so heres hoping either a miracle or a surprize is going to happen at the weekend you never know with derby games.
First league derby in a good few years so everyone is looking forward to it.
Of course Olympic have a chance, they have a decent side and are on a good run. There is very little between the two teams and the game could go either way. Whoever wants it more and makes the least mistakes on the day
will win.
Oh and by the way,Rob Wall wasnt the best of signings to begin with...the poor lad's overweight and past his peak at the age of 19....Davy on the other hand.... :D:D
Theres no way olympic can win! If they cant score they cant win....Slim and that baldy old ginger Gaz lad up front...im sure skinnys sh!tting himself!!:rolleyes:
No wonder there bottom of the league....
Offside
02/03/2007, 3:50 PM
I'm sure thats just your opinion spudd, i'm sure there'll be plenty of olympic players looking at that and getting even more up for the match.. are you a special in disguise??
Me a special...dont insult me kid.....Up for it...HA!.Doesnt matter if there up for it or not...there a good first division team playing in the premier...Looks to me like there already aiming to win the first division next year! Shocking stuff...League tables dont lie kid,league tables dont lie!
brutus
02/03/2007, 3:58 PM
S.O. took 4 points from 2 relegation battles,scored 12 in the cup last week and 3-0 is predicted for them too loose?????
What odds are you giving???
im sure that was 10 they scored..and the team they were playing were absolutely terrible,no disrespect to newtown b but they even put 5 past kilkishen few weeks back,
ill give u 4/1 newtown win and im comfortable with dat
brutus
02/03/2007, 4:08 PM
Me a special...dont insult me kid.....Up for it...HA!.Doesnt matter if there up for it or not...there a good first division team playing in the premier...Looks to me like there already aiming to win the first division next year! Shocking stuff...League tables dont lie kid,league tables dont lie!
i wouldnt say they are a first division team yet,but by the looks of the table they dont look strong enough for the premier,not this season anyway,and for rob wall, good player but over rated,if there is any one who his going to pull olympic out of the relegation battle its the likes of john ryan,jimmy houlihan not rob,terry,carroll nonsense:D
shelbourne1904
02/03/2007, 4:10 PM
ill give u 4/1 newtown win and im comfortable with dat[/QUOTE]
Do u mean 4/1 for an Olympic to win??
el_nino84
02/03/2007, 4:13 PM
yeah ray 'razor' quigley is flyin at the moment, the run of games + goals has done him good. i cant see the specials winning on sunday, even if they did hit double figures in the cup,remember it was a p**s poor 3rd division team. you just have to look at their position in the league to see they are not going to get anything from it come sunday. they look to be relegated already.
brutus
02/03/2007, 4:14 PM
ill give u 4/1 newtown win and im comfortable with dat
Do u mean 4/1 for an Olympic to win??[/QUOTE]
me backing olympic to win just makes as much sense as your last post (grammatically speaking):eek:
Great minds think alike kid....
Rob Wall - Overweight,Over rated and living off his brother name
Terry Dougan has patsy cahill and the rest of those turf cutters hanging out of his ass (The clare roar - wah hup wah ooooooooooooooo)
Steven carroll -Ahhh hes alrite i suppose.
Offside
02/03/2007, 4:16 PM
Rob isn't over rated... any team in the premier would love to have him on their team... he's still very young i'm sure he'll be a class act in years to come..
Offside are we on about the same rob wall here? The little chubby blonde lad with the rats tail who counts the squiggles and plays doctor tangle?surely not....
Wait a minute... ' are you robbie wall in disguise'..?
Any team in the premier would love to have him in his team ...ask the lad why he left newtown!:rolleyes: :cool: :p
Offside
02/03/2007, 4:30 PM
Like i said he's young.. i heard he left coz he was sick of sittin on the bench.. if you want regular footie week in week out, you make the decision whether to stick it out and take your chances or move on.. he moved on and is unlucky to be out with an injury this week, don't worry i'm not rob wall.. and i've nothing to do with the specials.
brutus
02/03/2007, 4:56 PM
well maybe thats the difference between the 2 teams,he left newtown because he was on the bench,then went to olympic and starts for them on a regular basis.i dont know rob personally but even if he was playing hit sunday it wouldnt make much of a difference i dont think.maybe we should get off the subject about rob,why talk about the kid if he isnt even goin to be playing.
Offside
02/03/2007, 5:07 PM
There is another game on this weekend nearly as big as olympic and newtown... Liverpool Vs United, I'm tipping the Pool to do great things... :)
old git
02/03/2007, 5:12 PM
class act in years to come .. people were saying that when he was 14-15 years old .. he seems to have gone downhill since then .. :ball:
All my talk about rob is only a bit of banter as i know he's reading this!
He's a top man and a great footballer..... I'll tell you what fcuked him up tho,Those coupla months in repin in spain lst year.As it would anyone else...
Super Rupes will be back.
Offside
02/03/2007, 5:28 PM
in my opinion he's a good player with plenty of potential still there.. if your gonna put a player down i don't think you should make it public, I don't know the lad personally but i think its a bit harsh.. i know its your opinion but i don't think its fair what some people are saying about him... thats the last i'm going to say on the subject.
brutus
02/03/2007, 5:30 PM
One thing though is they are easily the hardest to score against Newtown team I have ever seen.The problem start after that.
by the way you are saying this sounds like you have no faith in the rest of the team apart from back four..ive been to ballycasey on a numerous of occasions this season and they have being a great side to watch goin forward.it wasnt just there back four and there keeper that got them to the last 32 of F.A.I..:ball:
brutus
02/03/2007, 5:32 PM
Rob Wall Is Offside The Poor ****.
Offside
02/03/2007, 5:44 PM
Rob Wall Is Offside The Poor ****.
And your Cristiano Ronaldo!!:D
brutus
02/03/2007, 6:06 PM
And your Cristiano Ronaldo!!:D
if i didnt have the ginger hair,who knows could have being the twinkle toes of the clare league
we should change this to the slag robbie wall thread...i think ye are going a bit far lads..not fair on the lad..especially when ye hide behind a made up name..as for terry he will play but only if selected and dont write off steve carroll yet either..
o ya by the way if olympic do (as ye say) get a miracle on sunday and somehow win..we will only be 3 points behind newtown...not bad for a team destined for 1st division(or so ye say)
Im hiding behind no name,Robbie knows who i am...as i said im a good mate of robbies and its only a bit of banter so relax.
Steve WONT be playing on sunday...That coming straight from the horses mouth!
As you say,you may be 3 points behing us if ye win on sunday(highly unlikely but theres no harm in dreaming)...but weve got 4 games in hand! Not a chance kid..
brutus
03/03/2007, 10:48 AM
cant see any games called off this sunday hacker sun is splittin out there now,heard off a few newtown lads lastnite the pitch aint in great condition but will hold up for tommorrow,good luck to both teams:ball:
smellyfeet
04/03/2007, 1:08 PM
Newtown 4 Olympic 0
Any other results
2legged tackle
04/03/2007, 2:03 PM
Newtown 4 Olympic 0
Any other results
Any1 no the scorers?
CmonTheRovers
05/03/2007, 7:36 AM
Newtown 4 Olympic 0
Any other results
Heard on radio last night;
Bridge Celtic 1-0 Newmarket,
other games called off, i.e. Avenue-Bridge Utd & ours vs Moher (at least we heard on Sat night:D )
Heard Bunratty beat Connolly 3-0 in Cup
CousinSylDolan
05/03/2007, 7:39 AM
Lynch Hotels Clare District Soccer League Results
Sunday 04/03/07
Clare U17 League
Burren United (P-P) Lifford
Moneypoint 3 Cratloe Celtic 0
Gallivan Kennedy Youths League
Hermitage 5 Bunratty 1
Newtown 5 Turnpike Rovers 1
Bridge United (P-P) Newmarket Celtic