View Full Version : Clare League 2006/07
First
03/04/2007, 10:37 AM
Do you mean Rovers vs Newmarket????
Of course he does , what have the rest got in "common":)
CousinSylDolan
03/04/2007, 11:06 AM
Of course he does , what have the rest got in "common":)
Newmarket vs Avenue is just as big a rivalary, if not bigger.
historynut
03/04/2007, 1:40 PM
Anyone know how I can get details of past champions of Clare League. Or know any info in respect Clare Soccer History re 19C, early 20C. Thanks
avenueC
03/04/2007, 5:43 PM
avenue newmarket is a lot bigger cos they usually fighting for the title,, rinanna/nwmarkt is only local rivalry.
i agree wit townie, newtown over hyped cos they supposedly play great football every yr but win nothing ,( a munster clare area medal means sweet f all so dont reply sayin they got further.. 1 or 2 times getting further in clare in last 10yrs doesn mean jack. moher deserve the top,, its not over though
spark rangers
03/04/2007, 7:18 PM
Newton A have the potential to take the league this year, i heard that young David Egan scored one for the books against Bridge UTD . But in my opinion i think he should stat that first 11. He is one of those bring on last 10 minutes players not bad mouthing him or anything.
Carotheplayer
03/04/2007, 10:57 PM
This evening....03/04/07 @ Leas Rd, Ennis
Result:
Kildysart 2 Rock Rovers 1
shelbourne1904
03/04/2007, 11:32 PM
Anyone know how I can get details of past champions of Clare League. Or know any info in respect Clare Soccer History re 19C, early 20C. Thanks
Try Joe Muireathaircataigh at The Clare People
old git
04/04/2007, 8:28 AM
avenue newmarket is a lot bigger cos they usually fighting for the title,, rinanna/nwmarkt is only local rivalry.
i agree wit townie, newtown over hyped cos they supposedly play great football every yr but win nothing ,( a munster clare area medal means sweet f all so dont reply sayin they got further.. 1 or 2 times getting further in clare in last 10yrs doesn mean jack. moher deserve the top,, its not over though
avenue c ,,, how many munster clare area / fai area medals have you won.. what do you class as the special medal ... a lot of players / clubs out there would be delighted to win any of above cups / medals ... will agree league is not over yet and moher deserve to be there and also i cannot see them being caught now.:p :p
[QUOTE=avenueC;659712]avenue newmarket is a lot bigger cos they usually fighting for the title,, rinanna/nwmarkt is only local rivalry.
Once apon a time I would have agreed with you about Avenue but alas its been a while. As for the Rineanna rivalry it would have to be bigger.
After all there was a time that they were the Newmarket "D" team;) :D
CmonTheRovers
04/04/2007, 9:28 AM
[QUOTE=avenueC;659712]avenue newmarket is a lot bigger cos they usually fighting for the title,, rinanna/nwmarkt is only local rivalry.
Once apon a time I would have agreed with you about Avenue but alas its been a while. As for the Rineanna rivalry it would have to be bigger.
After all there was a time that they were the Newmarket "D" team
And where would we rank now in the parish? do we need to refer to league table?:D :p Might be only parish team in the Prem next year:eek: Though i very much doubt it. D village ALWAYS finish strong once the clocks go forward!!!
townie
04/04/2007, 9:33 AM
i for one think that those stupid little competitions like clare area etc shud be got rid of as there only a waste of time an effort for premier league clubs! why would you be bothered i certainly wouldnt give a crap either way if i won one of them or not! they are worthless competitions to big clubs compared to the cup and league that are up for grabs!
2legged tackle
04/04/2007, 9:59 AM
Do you really think there was soccer played in Clare in the 19th and early 20C.
Soccer didn't start in Clare untill the late 20C. but if you find any history of it let us know.
You do know this is the 21stCentury yes?:confused:
old git
04/04/2007, 10:01 AM
i for one think that those stupid little competitions like clare area etc shud be got rid of as there only a waste of time an effort for premier league clubs! why would you be bothered i certainly wouldnt give a crap either way if i won one of them or not! they are worthless competitions to big clubs compared to the cup and league that are up for grabs!
who are the so called big clubs... ? ( would you class moher in this ) league title is the one to win in clare it proves over the year you were the best team.. cups can be deceided on 1 off games ... .. not so long ago avenue were winning everything available league / cups / area finals and fair play to them.. now suddenly fai / munster areas are now micky mouse cups... :confused: :confused:
First
04/04/2007, 10:02 AM
And this thinking would exclude Clare teams from "stupid mikey mouse" competitions like the Munster Junior and FAI.
First
04/04/2007, 10:46 AM
[QUOTE=CmonTheRovers;660087][QUOTE=First;660073]
And where would we rank now in the parish? do we need to refer to league table? Might be only parish team in the Prem next year Though i very much doubt it. D village ALWAYS finish strong once the clocks go forward
Do we have to refer to the leagues and cups won. There will be 3 teams from the parish in the prem next year. As for your point about the clocks going forward , your right. Now behave or you won't be allowed into the new super stadium.:p
CousinSylDolan
04/04/2007, 10:56 AM
[QUOTE=First;660073
Do we have to refer to the leagues and cups won. There will be 3 teams from the parish in the prem next year. As for your point about the clocks going forward , your right. Now behave or you won't be allowed into the new super stadium[/QUOTE]
FOOTBALL'S COMING HOME!!!!!:D :D :D
CmonTheRovers
04/04/2007, 12:10 PM
FOOTBALL'S COMING HOME!!!!!:D :D :D
Has a date been set? i heard a while ago sometime in late April, that right?
will ye get a choice on who ye play for the historic date? OR will there will be a ManUtd vs Rest of Europe style opening game?
Wayne's World
04/04/2007, 12:44 PM
After all there was a time that they were the Newmarket "D" team;) :D
I think that a lot of teams have a rivalry with Newmarket because of their attitude.
I looked at last year's table and it seems that the so called D team finished ahead of the Mighty A team last year in the league.
From a neutrals point of view it would be great if Rineanna finished ahead of them this year and then they would be the Number 1 team in the Parish for two years in a row.
[QUOTE=First;660073]
From a neutrals point of view it would be great if Rineanna finished ahead of them this year and then they would be the Number 1 team in the Parish for two years in a row.
And what is the name of the cup that will be presented to them:p
Has a date been set? i heard a while ago sometime in late April, that right?
will ye get a choice on who ye play for the historic date? OR will there will be a ManUtd vs Rest of Europe style opening game?
April 15th , I beleive it maybe the Rovers in the league.
Wayne's World
04/04/2007, 1:18 PM
[QUOTE=Wayne's World;660320]
And what is the name of the cup that will be presented to them:p
I don't think the people in Newmarket would know what to do if they saw a cup in the Village as it's been a long time since there was one there.
They would probably go down to the hurling pitch and ask did one of the teams down there lose it:
I don't think the people in Newmarket would know what to do if they saw a cup in the Village as it's been a long time since there was one there.
They would probably go down to the hurling pitch and ask did one of the teams down there lose it:
:D :D
MikeBassett
04/04/2007, 1:35 PM
are you alright??? shur there was no soccer in clare until the 60's never mind the 1860's
papa-j
04/04/2007, 1:38 PM
Yes Moher deserve to be top, they have played more games than the other teams but have the points in the bag.Moher might be top but its not over.
You cant write off anybody else because of previous seasons. You know that better than anyone. Do you think Avenue will lie down just because they bottled it last year and gave the title to the bridge?
plasticpitch
04/04/2007, 3:22 PM
well i hope that newtown win the league this year, they out of any club in clare has done the most with regard to trying to improve their club/ground etc,.
now i know the league is won by playing football... now maybe nobody from moher comes on this site but i find that hard to believe but all this talk about newtown will suit moher and avenue just fine.
i'm not sure how the start of the gaa season is going to effect moher's ambitions.
avenue this year do not have the fixture pile up(in stupid competitions:rolleyes: ) that they had last year so they should be fresher. also they have key players in form.
newtown are excellent at home but give away too much on the road.
maybe the title will go to the last day, like last season... and to be honest if you are in with a shout of winning the league you want to be playing at home on the last day.
for these reasons i tend to favour avenue for the title although i know it will be very close
avenueC
04/04/2007, 4:14 PM
i have a few of the fai n muster area medals. im not knocking the competitions but these littel area finals are meaningless and have at times been a source of irritation they only got in the way.. more often then not avenue would be challenging for the title this yr is no different. didnt avenue lose 3 ofthe last 5 games last yr and stilll onyl lost on last day of the season.. its as tight as every year,, the GAA wont affect or sorry shouldnt affect any team really, cos mosnt of the gaa games are on saturday for a few weeks.....
CmonTheRovers
04/04/2007, 4:17 PM
April 15th , I beleive it maybe the Rovers in the league.
Interesting:cool: but is that weekend not the cup quarter final weekend??
MikeBassett
04/04/2007, 9:54 PM
heard newtown drew out in newmarket tonight 1 all? not a bad result for newmarket,delighted shannon didnt win....that'l put a bit of a dent in their title challenge
smellyfeet
04/04/2007, 10:11 PM
heard newtown drew out in newmarket tonight 1 all? not a bad result for newmarket,delighted shannon didnt win....that'l put a bit of a dent in their title challenge
Shannon Town or Olympic:)
spoongebob
05/04/2007, 8:26 AM
Great result for Newmarket last night awful game of football Newtown have long way to go by that showing to win the premier this year but still in there with a chance to win it if they win games in hand.
shelbourne1904
05/04/2007, 8:48 AM
Great result for Newmarket last night awful game of football Newtown have long way to go by that showing to win the premier this year but still in there with a chance to win it if they win games in hand.
No mention of the pitch? Was it good????
brutus
05/04/2007, 9:34 AM
No mention of the pitch? Was it good????
The newmarket pitch is a joke,with cows **** all over it,the surface was terrible too.
Wayne's World
05/04/2007, 9:46 AM
The newmarket pitch is a joke,with cows **** all over it,the surface was terrible too.
Who took the lead last night?
Was a draw a fair result.
Both teams needing maximum points for different reasons so I'm sure neither will be happy with a draw.
Did Newmarket show any sign of a team that would beat the drop.
smellyfeet
05/04/2007, 9:55 AM
Both teams needing maximum points for different reasons so I'm sure neither will be happy with a draw.
Cheeky McDonald opened the scoring for Newtown.
Tom OHare scored an owngoal with 5 mins to go
brutus
05/04/2007, 9:56 AM
newmarket were roaring with delight after the game so they must be delighted with the point,newtown took the lead and dominated most of the game,the equaliser came from a newmarket corner when newtown player side kicked it into his own goal,in the last minute that happened,referee was poor as well,skinny got clattered twice and referee played on.
smellyfeet
05/04/2007, 11:05 AM
,referee was poor as well,skinny got clattered twice and referee played on.
Well i have to say if he got clattered twice thats up to himself to pretect himself. If it happens to him once he shouldn't let it happen again. As a keeper he should be coming to collect the ball we his knee up and roaring his head off that it is his ball. I don't think i have ever seen a keeper get in trouble for coming out for a ball and taking other player out,+ if he is loud enough it should make the incoming player think twice about challanging in the first place.
First
05/04/2007, 11:40 AM
newmarket were roaring with delight after the game so they must be delighted with the point,newtown took the lead and dominated most of the game,the equaliser came from a newmarket corner when newtown player side kicked it into his own goal,in the last minute that happened,referee was poor as well,skinny got clattered twice and referee played on.
Yes Newmarket were delighted with the point, and who wouldn't be against the team that are fancied by most to win the league :rolleyes: . That is four points taken from each other this year that will have a big telling on the outcome of the season at both ends.As for points you have made regarding the roaring with delight it was more for the reason that a point had been gained when being behind for so long. Much the same as the point gained when Newtown equalised in the league game in Newtown. Remember Davy's header to get ye a point. I am reminding you because you seem to have missed a lot of facts about last nights game too. I don't see how you beleive that Newtown dominated the game!!!!!!! , too many soft centres in your team to suggest that they will battle when required. Newmarkets equaliser came with 10 mins to play, lets not forget that there was some amount of time wasting going on from Newtown. Understandable,but the ref played added time because of it. The ref was as good as any that the Clare league have provided for as long as I can remember and i don't think he influenced the result last night, he was happy enough to let both teams get on with it. As for Skinny getting clattered , Smellyfeet has mentioned in his post, its up to him and his defence to protect him. The pitch well it is what it is and was the same for both teams, much the same as Newtowns pitch in the first league game. Hopefully we will be able to play each other next season in our new surroundings and if that is with ye as league champions then we will be the first to congratulate ye.
spoongebob
05/04/2007, 11:43 AM
Some big games at the weekend & next week could decide a lot on where league will be going this year
Newtown v Bridge celtic massive with both clubs needing to win
brutus
05/04/2007, 11:48 AM
Well i have to say if he got clattered twice thats up to himself to pretect himself. If it happens to him once he shouldn't let it happen again. As a keeper he should be coming to collect the ball we his knee up and roaring his head off that it is his ball. I don't think i have ever seen a keeper get in trouble for coming out for a ball and taking other player out,+ if he is loud enough it should make the incoming player think twice about challanging in the first place.
Thats true about him protecting himself,but if you seen the size of the striker for newmarket he would have clattered noel donellan for the size of him,skinny had no way of protecting himself,if you had seen it it was a disgrace.
townie
05/04/2007, 12:00 PM
avenue 5 bridge 0 :)
brutus
05/04/2007, 1:13 PM
avenue 5 bridge 0 :)
Can someone put the league table up after lastnights results.cheers.
smellyfeet
05/04/2007, 1:16 PM
Team P W D L F A GD Pts
1 MOHER CELTIC 12 8 2 2 25 13 12 26
2 BRIDGE CELTIC 13 7 4 2 27 17 10 25
3 AVENUE UNITED 12 7 1 4 22 14 8 22
4 NEWTOWN FC 11 5 5 1 19 7 12 20
5 RINEANNA ROVERS 12 5 2 5 17 16 1 17
6 BRIDGE UNITED 12 3 4 5 14 25 -11 13
7 LIFFORD AFC 13 2 6 5 12 19 -7 12
8 MOUNTSHANNON CELTIC 11 2 3 6 10 19 -9 9
9 NEWMARKET CELTIC 9 2 2 5 11 14 -3 8
10 SHANNON OLYMPIC A 13 1 5 7 12 25 -13 8
CmonTheRovers
05/04/2007, 1:25 PM
Team P W D L F A GD Pts
1 MOHER CELTIC 12 8 2 2 25 13 12 26
2 BRIDGE CELTIC 13 7 4 2 27 17 10 25
3 AVENUE UNITED 12 7 1 4 22 14 8 22
4 NEWTOWN FC 11 5 5 1 19 7 12 20
5 RINEANNA ROVERS 12 5 2 5 17 16 1 17
6 BRIDGE UNITED 12 3 4 5 14 25 -11 13
7 LIFFORD AFC 13 2 6 5 12 19 -7 12
8 MOUNTSHANNON CELTIC 11 2 3 6 10 19 -9 9
9 NEWMARKET CELTIC 9 2 2 5 11 14 -3 8
10 SHANNON OLYMPIC A 13 1 5 7 12 25 -13 8
Lifford & Bridge Utd are hardly completely safe, are they? :eek:
brutus
05/04/2007, 1:30 PM
Very tight with the bottom 5 for relegation and the top 4 for the title,i thought newtown had more than one game in hand over moher,goin to be very tough after yesterdays disappointment,big big game sunday with newtown and bridge celtic.:ball:
3rd booking
05/04/2007, 1:38 PM
Very tight with the bottom 5 for relegation and the top 4 for the title,i thought newtown had more than one game in hand over moher,goin to be very tough after yesterdays disappointment,big big game sunday with newtown and bridge celtic.:ball:
yep its time to burn all bridges on the way to the title for newtown:rolleyes:
brutus
05/04/2007, 1:44 PM
yep its time to burn all bridges on the way to the title for newtown:rolleyes:
Its not over till the fat lady sings:ball:
townie
05/04/2007, 2:28 PM
nerves must be kickin in down in shannon!!! wide open yet! it will all come down to the team thats comin good at the right time ;)
smellyfeet
05/04/2007, 2:29 PM
Its not over till the fat lady sings:ball:
It looks like the league is Mohers now after last nights draw for Newtown.
Its Mohers to lose at this stage.;)
Side Cutter
05/04/2007, 3:14 PM
Lads can someone tell me where avenue are playing these days?
CousinSylDolan
05/04/2007, 3:24 PM
Lads can someone tell me where avenue are playing these days?
Lee's Road...