View Full Version : Clare League 2006/07
chappie
31/05/2007, 4:08 PM
i take it the playoff on sunday is on the new newmarket pitch???
if so is this the 1st game on it??
on newmarkets new pitch?????
we played them on it 5 or 6 weeks ago......
old git
31/05/2007, 4:21 PM
No idea...
do you think clare league will tell teams involved were the games will be played :confused:
plasticpitch
31/05/2007, 4:57 PM
on newmarkets new pitch?????
we played them on it 5 or 6 weeks ago......
i didnt know.. i thought lads would be going on about it a bit more...
whats it like?? besides green
chappie
31/05/2007, 9:25 PM
i didnt know.. i thought lads would be going on about it a bit more...
whats it like?? besides green
the full finest.....its flat which is some what of a luxury in clare.....it was fairly lush as well due to the good weather at the time and probably due to lack of games on it.....in fairness its a proper job and fair play to newmarket for doin a fine job on it......its up there with newtown pitch as bein one of the better ones goin at the moment...some improvement from the garden sheds and cow sh1t...
CmonTheRovers
31/05/2007, 10:51 PM
Heard Rineanna beat the Bridge on Penalties in the play off last night. A bit of a come down for the Bridge after winning the league last year but they still have a chance against Bunratty this weekend.
Any match report from anyone that was at the game.
I thought the Bridge would have won last night but Rineanna on their day can put it up to most teams.
A great outcome for the ROVERS!!!:cool::D:cool: (am not in work this week, sorry about the delayed report) Saying that, we definitely should have won in 90 mins & extra time. Have more clear-cut chances that we couldn't put away. That has been the story of our season, not been clinical enough in front of goal, especially when we are on top, only for us to concede a late 'loser' due to combination of 'fitness' reserves and a small panel (that struggles when we get the injuries that we got after Xmas). Fair play to all on Tuesday, had 6 subs on the line for the first time in 2007, including two regulars who travelled down that afternoon from the big smoke.
Saying that Prem Rep, ye very nearly nipped it in extra time with that lob, great save from O'Connor to tip it over the bar. Saying that the two Kelly brothers got in the way of each other for an easy winner for us at the other end.
Re the penos, the gamble changing goalies worked beautifully for us. Though, with the Rovers missing our first one, going 2 down, I was full sure LUCK was against us AGAIN. Final score 3-2. Rovers 3/4 BridgeU 2/5
Was full sure that 20 points target (re minimum points required for survival that was discussed with Hacker earlier in season) was going to HAUNT me for the summer! We were nearly there in mid Feb at 18, and not even one point for the rest of the season....... If we had won those penalties in the cup quarters vs Avenue, i am convinced we would have easily won at least one of our last three league games. But when you're sliding, luck evades ya. Until the Village won out their remaining league games. CONGRATS on winning back the 'No1 team in Parish Title', but beware next season!!! Also, please remember that the aggregate score in the league was 3-3......
Anyway, commiserations Prem Rep & best of luck on Sunday!!
Prem Rep!
01/06/2007, 7:37 AM
Cheers Rovers, congrats
Prem Rep!
04/06/2007, 6:57 AM
Well lads, our worst fears have come through. Battle as expected with Bunratty yesterday ended in a one nil defeat, Scales scoring in the first five minutes. We battled away but could not make th break through. Darren Whelen was in super form. We did score once only for the goal to be very arguably disallowed for offside even though the offside player was not the player who scored. Ahh well, we're making no excuses, we had enough of chances through the season to get out of trouble and didn't.
Congrats to Bunratty and Rineanna and good luck in the Prem next year.
Also congrats to Newmarket for their new facilities which are without doubt the best in Clare.
CousinSylDolan
05/06/2007, 7:07 AM
Well lads, our worst fears have come through. Battle as expected with Bunratty yesterday ended in a one nil defeat, Scales scoring in the first five minutes. We battled away but could not make th break through. Darren Whelen was in super form. We did score once only for the goal to be very arguably disallowed for offside even though the offside player was not the player who scored. Ahh well, we're making no excuses, we had enough of chances through the season to get out of trouble and didn't.
Congrats to Bunratty and Rineanna and good luck in the Prem next year.
Also congrats to Newmarket for their new facilities which are without doubt the best in Clare.
Hard luck on Bridge and I hope ye bounce straight back up... Very close game on Sunday and could have gone either way.
CousinSylDolan
05/06/2007, 7:08 AM
Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Fixtures
Saturday 09/06/07
Clare Cup Final
County Grounds: Avenue United A V Moher Celtic Referee: M.O`Brien 6.30
Assisiant Referees: A.Murphy, D.McCarthy
4th Official: J.Stanford
Note: In event of a draw 10 mins e/w extra and replay if necessary. Replay will take place on Saturday 16th June 2007 at 6.30 same venue and officials
CousinSylDolan
05/06/2007, 7:53 AM
Promotion/Relegation Playoff.
Bridge Utd 0-1 Bunratty
FAI Area final.
Newmarket 4-1 Newtown (played at Newmarket)
Munster area final between Newtown and Newmarket is on Wednesday in Newtown.
Bannerman
05/06/2007, 7:59 AM
2nd/3rd Division Promotion Relegation Play-Off
Ennistymon Town 0-2 Inch Crusaders
CousinSylDolan
05/06/2007, 8:18 AM
2nd/3rd Division Promotion Relegation Play-Off
Ennistymon Town 0-2 Inch Crusaders
Also Hermitage stay in the 1st division. They did not play vs Bridge Utd yesterday as Bridge could not be promoted as a result of their A team going down to the 1st.
Premier next season...
Avenue
Newtown
Moher
Bunratty
Bridge Celtic
Kildysart
Burren
Rineanna
Newmarket
Lifford
1st Division
Bridge Utd
Mntshn
Olympic
Hermitage
Corofin
Kilmaley
Kilrush
Lifford B
Connolly
Rock Rovers
Brazil Nut
05/06/2007, 10:05 AM
Highpoints and low points of the 2006/2007 season.
Mine are as follows:
Highpoints:
1 - New Champions in Bridge Celtic. Always welcomed in football circles.
2 - Newmarket opening new top class pitches - well done to all involved.
3 - Oscar Traynor side getting to quater final - had been a few years since we got out of the group stage so fair play.
Lowpoints:
1 - Oscar Traynor's loosing 6-1 on astro turf in Dublin.
2 - No league game for over 2 months due to bad weather, f.a.i/munster games, oscar traynor etc.
3 - Trip to Burren next year;) only joking.
CmonTheRovers
05/06/2007, 12:28 PM
Trip to Burren next year;) only joking.[/QUOTE]
Speaking of Burren, where do they play their home games? Whats their pitch like?
Also, whats Kildysert's pitch like? CousSyl should be able to provide some feedback.
Locations in Premier;
* Parish of Nemarket (3)
* Parish of Ennis (2)
* Shannon
* Liscannor
* Bridgetown/O'Briens Bridge
* Kildysert
* Burren
Locations in 1st Div;
* Parish of Ennis (3)
* Parish of Kilmaley (2)
* Sixmilebridge
* Mountshannon/Scariff
* Shannon
* Corofin
* Kilrush
CousinSylDolan
05/06/2007, 12:40 PM
Did not make the trips to Kildysart or Burren this year.
I hear Kildysart's place in Cahercon is decent but the West Clare gale that blows across Doolin make's the Burren a tough away trip.
plasticpitch
05/06/2007, 12:57 PM
Did not make the trips to Kildysart or Burren this year.
I hear Kildysart's place in Cahercon is decent but the West Clare gale that blows across Doolin make's the Burren a tough away trip.
Cahercon is a decent pitch, its nice and tidy. but it holds water so a nightmare when it has been raining.
Side Cutter
06/06/2007, 8:19 AM
Highpoints and low points of the 2006/2007 season.
Mine are as follows:
Highpoints:
1 - New Champions in Bridge Celtic. Always welcomed in football circles.
2 - Newmarket opening new top class pitches - well done to all involved.
3 - Oscar Traynor side getting to quater final - had been a few years since we got out of the group stage so fair play.
Lowpoints:
1 - Oscar Traynor's loosing 6-1 on astro turf in Dublin.
2 - No league game for over 2 months due to bad weather, f.a.i/munster games, oscar traynor etc.
3 - Trip to Burren next year;) only joking.
Another highpoint must be the improvement in the standard of referees:rolleyes:
old git
06/06/2007, 10:01 AM
Another highpoint must be the improvement in the standard of referees:rolleyes:
i take it you are joking... improvement in standard of referees :confused:
nutmeg
06/06/2007, 11:56 AM
joking?? no way! i totally agree, after witnessing the ref(from the bridge bunratty playoff) giving an offside for a player who touched the ball passed a defender and ran on to it himself, the linesman rose his flag and ref than blew the whistle while sayin, i no i no wrong decision!! and he is one of better refs in clare!!! it jus makes ya wonder!!!!!
Interested
06/06/2007, 4:46 PM
joking?? no way! i totally agree, after witnessing the ref(from the bridge bunratty playoff) giving an offside for a player who touched the ball passed a defender and ran on to it himself, the linesman rose his flag and ref than blew the whistle while sayin, i no i no wrong decision!! and he is one of better refs in clare!!! it jus makes ya wonder!!!!!
Isnt this the same ref that should have sent Gavin Downes Off
Prem Rep!
07/06/2007, 7:53 AM
Yip, along with a couple more if he was sticking to the letter of the law.
Anyway no point crying over spilt milk, we'll get on with it.
How did the game go last night.
nutmeg
07/06/2007, 8:08 AM
Isnt this the same ref that should have sent Gavin Downes Off
ya got me wrong wasnt blaming the ref for anytin, jus respondin to earlier comment bout the standard of refs "improving"!!! but ya well get on wit it!!!!!!
CousinSylDolan
07/06/2007, 8:43 AM
Yip, along with a couple more if he was sticking to the letter of the law.
Anyway no point crying over spilt milk, we'll get on with it.
How did the game go last night.
Newtown beat Newmarket 3-1 in the Munster area final last night meaning both these teams won an area final each.
shelbourne1904
07/06/2007, 10:01 AM
Not a bad match.A big improvement on last Sundays disgraceful result.Newtown did a Nemarket on Newmarket by bringing in a load of youths,not by choice however,who matched the young Newmarket lads.Hat trick by Cheeky.Second goal was one of his classics.Young Hayes scored a cracker for Celtic.
Prem Rep!
07/06/2007, 10:05 AM
Cheeky doesn't score tap ins!
smellyfeet
07/06/2007, 10:12 AM
Not a bad match.A big improvement on last Sundays disgraceful result.Newtown did a Nemarket on Newmarket by bringing in a load of youths,not by choice however,who matched the young Newmarket lads.Hat trick by Cheeky.Second goal was one of his classics.Young Hayes scored a cracker for Celtic.
This was a very good game. Both sides played ball from the off.Both side had young lads playing and they are decent players too.Ref was very good "best around by miles" and it just goe's to show if he does his job properly then he won't have to put up with players abuse.:ball:
smellyfeet
07/06/2007, 10:13 AM
Cheeky doesn't score tap ins!
No he doesn't and his second was a class goal.
CousinSylDolan
07/06/2007, 10:49 AM
No he doesn't and his second was a class goal.
3rd goal from Cheeky not a bad finish either... I have to agree about the ref. Thought he was excellent.
Prem Rep!
07/06/2007, 11:19 AM
Annual General Meeting 2007
will take place at the Parish Office in Sixmilebridge on Saturday 30th of June
at 8pm sharp.
The club are currently accepting applications or proposals for the following positions.
• All committee positions:
Chairperson
Secretary
Treasurer
Registrar
Fund Raising / Sponsorship Coordinator
Spots Capital Grant Assistants
• A team Manager, coach /trainer and selectors
• Youths team Manager, coach /trainer and selectors
All proposals must be submitted prior to the AGM (086 3412104)
or contact directly any club executive
All members / players past, present and future are encouraged to attend.
old git
07/06/2007, 11:26 AM
3rd goal from Cheeky not a bad finish either... I have to agree about the ref. Thought he was excellent.
thought 3rd was the best good teamwork .. great defence splitting pass from david egan in midfield to find cheeky who took it first time to bury in top corner .. would agree 100 % with ref as well.. good game with a lot of young talent on show from both teams ... best laugh i got was overhearing a few olympic lads on sideline as i walked passed after jim madden had passed with area cup.. " look at the size of that little cup you would be embarased to win thaT " after the season they had !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
shelbourne1904
07/06/2007, 2:40 PM
Great atmosphere last night good crack with the Celtic support and a good crowd.The night before there was an under 16 match with Bridge United starting a new team for the coming season under Johnny O Gorman.An even bigger crowd at that and a good game .Newtown coming back from 2 down to win 3-2.
Forget about the winter get the junior league into the summer as well.It just has to be done!!!!!
PS Forgot to mention outstanding performance by the ref that night as well!!!!!!
smellyfeet
07/06/2007, 2:55 PM
Annual General Meeting 2007
will take place at the Parish Office in Sixmilebridge on Saturday 30th of June
at 8pm sharp.
The club are currently accepting applications or proposals for the following positions.
• All committee positions:
Chairperson
Secretary
Treasurer
Registrar
Fund Raising / Sponsorship Coordinator
Spots Capital Grant Assistants
• A team Manager, coach /trainer and selectors
• Youths team Manager, coach /trainer and selectors
All proposals must be submitted prior to the AGM (086 3412104)
or contact directly any club executive
All members / players past, present and future are encouraged to attend.
What is the job of a selector, Ive only ever heard of them in the GAA.
the hoops
07/06/2007, 10:28 PM
cheekys heading into limerick with fairview next year
old git
08/06/2007, 9:14 AM
is it offical or just the usuall rumours you hear end of season ..:ball:
brutus
08/06/2007, 9:27 AM
hoops i dont know where you get your info from but this is nonsense just talking to the bloke the other night and he aint playing with any limerick side next season,he is newtown through and through,:confused:
brutus
08/06/2007, 9:28 AM
is it offical or just the usuall rumours you hear end of season ..:ball:
just the usual rumours for a fact.
3rd booking
08/06/2007, 11:55 AM
ahhhhh ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha hahaaaa
jackaroo
08/06/2007, 11:42 PM
any one here Jimmy Rocks taking over newmarket next season
Supposidly asked and turned it down on 3 seperate occasions!
:rolleyes::rolleyes:
Prem Rep!
11/06/2007, 7:53 AM
What is the job of a selector, Ive only ever heard of them in the GAA.
Selector's role is to aid in the picking of the team. Managers who have taken all responsibilities on themselves leave themselves open for constant criticism.
When there is a number of selectors, players should feel less victimised or paranoid about being victimised.
Bannerman
11/06/2007, 8:18 AM
Avenue 2-1 Moher, not a great game overall. First half didn't really get going at all, chances at a premium, Moher had good possession and won a good penalty for pressing hard. They didn't keep the ball in the 2nd half as good as the first and Avenue created chances from early on. Once they got the equaliser, it always looked like they would win but in saying that, Moher had some fantastic opportunities to score. Overall, I think Avenue were the better side on the night but fair play to both teams and officials, it was such a hot evening for a game.
jackaroo
11/06/2007, 1:10 PM
Selector's role is to aid in the picking of the team. Managers who have taken all responsibilities on themselves leave themselves open for constant criticism.
When there is a number of selectors, players should feel less victimised or paranoid about being victimised.
selector,should only be used for gaa purposes,in soccer they should be called assistant managers
guvnor
11/06/2007, 1:12 PM
Congrats to both teams for playing in such hot conditions and congratulations to Avenue on winning. In relation to the Clare league can anyone advise why they did not have an ambulance present at the ground? Surely this happened on previous cup finals? An avenue player got injured during the match and had to be transported to the hospital in the back of his managers car..:(
Supposidly asked and turned it down on 3 seperate occasions!
Spudd can you tell us who did the asking.
Prem Rep!
11/06/2007, 2:23 PM
selector,should only be used for gaa purposes,in soccer they should be called assistant managers
Don't lose sleep over it:rolleyes:
smellyfeet
11/06/2007, 2:27 PM
Will they be the fella's that are down on 1 knee on the sideline
myleftfoot
11/06/2007, 2:58 PM
Congrats to both teams for playing in such hot conditions and congratulations to Avenue on winning. In relation to the Clare league can anyone advise why they did not have an ambulance present at the ground? Surely this happened on previous cup finals? An avenue player got injured during the match and had to be transported to the hospital in the back of his managers car..
Agree with you guvnor. Clare League deserve congratulations on wonderful pitch and dressing rooms but not even having a stretcher at the ground seems crazy. Great crowd there so maybe they will be able to afford one for next years final??
Well done to both teams for playing through extra time in that heat. Moher were more dominant in the first half but they really missed Hoey and were relying too much on Mologhan for goals up front. Avenue played Rochford on him as a man-marker most of the time so Moher had lots of posesion and pressure but werent very creative. Clohessy played well for them and had a few close ones from distance. Avenue left back hacked down Moher winger and Moher left back scored a cracking penalty to give them the lead. Second half Avenue had lots of corners and then the game was stopped for ages for an injury to Russel. Avenue got a bit lucky for the equaliser - scrappy finish from a corner but a good finish by Mahony for the winner. Before that Jonny Daly had a great chance to win it after a back header by Paul Crowley fell short and they also had a penalty turned down - the Moher manager was going mental on the line! Tough on Moher who went very close in the league too but ended up with nothing.
PS Well done to Newmarket and Newtown who shared the two area finals.
MikeBassett
11/06/2007, 9:48 PM
is there still a premier league cup final to be played this season??
shelbourne1904
12/06/2007, 8:18 AM
Will they be the fella's that are down on 1 knee on the sideline
And compulsoraly rubbing of the chin with a quizical look on their faces!!!!
Thems the selectors.