View Full Version : Clare League 2006/07

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

old git
29/12/2006, 11:20 AM
Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Fixtures
Saturday 30/12/06
Maloney Hardware Shannon Premier Division League
Sixmilebridge: Bridge United A V Bridge Celtic A
J.Stanford 2.00

Munster Youths Cup Third Round
Ballycasey: Newtown V St Brendans Park A.Murphy 2.00

Note: In event of a draw 10 mins e/w extra time and penaltys if necessary.

Clare U17 League
Kilrush: Moneypoint V Cratloe Celtic
F.Coote 2.00

Doolin: Burren United V Corofin Harps
F.Coote 11.00

Gallivan Kennedy Youths League
Ballycar: Newmarket Celtic V Turnpike Rovers
M.O`Halloran 11.00

Lees Road Pitch 4: Lifford V Hermitage
D.Kasule 2.00

Sunday 31/12/06
Munster Junior Cup Third Round
Lees Road Pitch 4: Avenue United A V Mountshannon Celtic A.Murphy 2.00

Ballycar: Newmarket Celtic A V Moher Celtic A
P.Mulready 11.00

Shannon: Shannon Olympic A V Lifford A A.Murphy 11.00

Rinnanna: Rinnanna Rovers V Newtown A
P.Sutton 11.00

Clare Hire & Sales First Division League
Kilmaley School: Connolly Celtic V Rock Rovers
J.Stanford 11.00

Tiermaclane: Kilmaley United V Cratloe Celtic A
M.O`Halloran 11.00

Doolin: Burren United V Hermitage A
J.Stanford 2.00

Corofin; Corofin Harps V Kildysart Celtic
T.McInerney 11.00

SEL Print Second Division League
Lahinch: Ennistymon Town V Bridge United B

Norrie Henchies: Tulla United V Avenue United B
M.O`Halloran 2.00

Kilkishen: Kilkishen Celtic V Newmarket Celtic B
D.McCarthy 2.00

CBS Kilrush: Kilrush Rangers V Lifford B
F.Coote 11.00

Kilmhill: St.Pats A V Shannon Olympic B
F.Coote 2.00

Suttons Lighting Third Division League
O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic B V Newtown B D.Brosnan 11.00

Tiermaclane: Manus Celtic V Cratloe Celtic B D.McCarthy 11.00

Cooraclare: Cooraclare Celtic V Kilkishen Celtic B D.Kasule 2.00

Kilmhill: St.Pats B V Rhine Rovers
D.Kasule 11.00

Liscannor: Moher Celtic B v Inch Crusaders
D.Hehir 11.00

any word on these fixtures are all games going ahead as planned :eek:

CousinSylDolan
02/01/2007, 7:15 AM
Saturday 06/01/07
F.A.I Youths Cup Third Round
Ballycar: Newmarket Celtic V Newtown A.Murphy 11.00

Clare U17 League
Cratloe: Cratloe Celtic V Burren United
M.O`Halloran 2.00

Kilrush: Moneypoint V Corofin Harps
F.Coote 11.00

Bunratty: Bunratty V Turnpike Rovers
D.Kasule 11.00

Sixmilebridge: Bridge United V Hermitage
M.O`Halloran 11.00

Sunday 03/12/06
F.A.I. U17 Cup Fourth Round
Rathuard: Wembley Rovers V Lifford
Limerick Officials 2.00

Note: In event of a draw 10 mins e/w extra time and penaltys if necessary

Oscar Traynor Cup
County Grounds Doora: Clare V Limerick
Referee: A.Murphy 2.00
Assistant Referees: M.O`Halloran, D.McCarthy

Shannon: Shannon Olympic A V Bridge Celtic A P.Sutton 11.00

Sixmilebridge: Bridge United A V Lifford A
F.Coote 11.00

Lees Road Pitch 2: Rock Rovers V Corofin Harps
J.Deniffee 2.30

Fairgreen: Hermitage A V Turnpike Rovers
P.Mulready 11.00

Cratloe: Cratloe Celtic A V Connolly Celtic
F.Coote 2.30

Doolin: Burren United V Kildysart Celtic
N.Bennett 11.00

Shannon: Shannon Olympic B V Bridge United B
J.Stanford 2.00

Lees Road Pitch 4 Avenue United B V Kilrush Rangers D.McCarthy 11.00

Kilkishen: Kilkishen Celtic V Lifford B
M.O`Brien 11.00

Ballycar: Newmarket Celtic B V Ennistymon Town
J.Stanford 11.00

Ballycasey: Newtown B V Manus Celtic A.Murphy 10.30

Kilkishen: Kilkishen Celtic B V Inch Crusaders
D.Brosnan 2.00

Cooraclare: Cooraclare Celtic V Bridge Celtic B D.Hehir 2.00

Lees Road Pitch 1: Rhine Rovers V Hermitage B
D.Kasule 2.30

Liscannor: Moher Celtic B V Cratloe Celtic B

Note: Due to the recent spell of bad weather this has lead to a backlog of fixtures and under no circumstances will any club be given a free weekend from now till the end of the season.

Young Lad
02/01/2007, 2:39 PM
Any word on when the cup draw will be made. I can't see anyone stopping Corofin from making it 3 in a row. The 'talismatic' Diarmuid Daly is back from injury so entire county beware. Watch out for volatile defender Willie Tracey and his ambitious darting runs up and down the right flank.

old git
02/01/2007, 3:34 PM
Any word on when the cup draw will be made. I can't see anyone stopping Corofin from making it 3 in a row. The 'talismatic' Diarmuid Daly is back from injury so entire county beware. Watch out for volatile defender Willie Tracey and his ambitious darting runs up and down the right flank.
best of luck for your 3 in a row attempt... i'm sure a lot of clubs out there will be trying their best to win the cup also ... :D :D

CousinSylDolan
03/01/2007, 7:08 AM

3 cup wins in a row would be a fantastic achievement....especially for a team playing outside the top division.

Young Lad
03/01/2007, 10:54 AM
3 cup wins in a row would be a fantastic achievement....especially for a team playing outside the top division.

It would be a huge achievement alright. Our main target is promotion, but we will make a serious effort defending the cup. Being realistic it will be difficult for us to win the cup again but no one will fancy playing us.

old git
03/01/2007, 2:36 PM
It would be a huge achievement alright. Our main target is promotion, but we will make a serious effort defending the cup. Being realistic it will be difficult for us to win the cup again but no one will fancy playing us.

especially at home always hard to get a result away to corofin...:D

allrounder
04/01/2007, 12:21 PM
Lads,
Cratloe Celtic annual Poker Classic will take place tomorrow night Friday 5th January in The Woodcross, Cratloe at 9pm. Tickets 20 euro available on the door. Your support would be appreciated.

Murphman
08/01/2007, 3:54 AM
Shannon Olympic 0 - Bridge Celtic 2 goals: Paul mcEvoy and Brian Barry

CousinSylDolan
08/01/2007, 7:16 AM
Saturday 13/01/07
Munster Youths Cup Fourth Round
Lees Road Pitch 2: Lifford V Tramore Referee: M.O`Halloran 2.00
Assistant Referees: F.Coote, A.Murphy

Clare U17 League
Doolin: Burren United V Newtown F.C
J.Stanford 11.00

Corofin: Corofin Harps V Cratloe Celtic
J.Stanford 2.00

Sunday 14/01/07
F.A.I. Junior Cup Fifth Round
Ballycasey: Newtown V St James Gate (Dublin)
Referee: A.Murphy 2.00
Assistant Referees: M.O`Halloran, P.Dunne

Ballycar: Newmarket Celtic A V Moher Celtic A
P.Mulready 11.00

O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic A V Avenue United A
J.Deniffee 11.00

Rinnanna: Rinnanna Rovers V Mountshannon Celtic
F.Coote 2.00

Sixmilebridge: Bridge United A V Lifford A
F.Coote 11.00

Kilmaley School: Connolly Celtic V Rock Rovers
N.Bennett 11.00

Bunratty: Bunratty V Turnpike Rovers
A.Murphy 11.00

Tiermaclane: Kilmaley United V Cratloe Celtic A
M.O`Halloran 11.00

Doolin: Burren United V Hermitage A
J.Stanford 11.00

Corofin: Corofin Harps V Kildysart Celtic
J.Stanford 2.00

Lees Road Pitch 2: Lifford B V Bridge United B
D.Kasule 2.00

Norrie Henchies: Tulla United V Ennistymon Town
D.Brosnan 2.00

Kilkishen: Kilkishen Celtic A V Avenue United B
D.Brosnan 11.00

Shannon: Shannon Olympic B V Newmarket Celtic B 11.00

Kilmhill: St.Pats A V Kilrush Rangers

Cratloe: Cratloe Celtic B V Hermitage B

Tiermaclane: Manus Celtic V Bridge Celtic B 2.30

Cooraclare: Cooraclare Celtic V Kilkishen Celtic B D.Hehir 2.00

Lees Road Pitch 1: Rhine Rovers V Moher Celtic

Lees Road Pitch 4: Inch Crusaders v St.Pats B
D.Kasule 11.00

Note: Due to the recent spell of bad weather this has lead to a backlog of fixtures and under no circumstances will any club be given a free weekend from now till the end of the season.

smellyfeet
08/01/2007, 7:29 AM

D.Kasule 11.00

Note: Due to the recent spell of bad weather this has lead to a backlog of fixtures and under no circumstances will any club be given a free weekend from now till the end of the season.[/QUOTE]

Just looking at the Third Div fixtures.

It seems as if Newtown B have no game "AGAIN".

If there is a backlog why aren't they playing?

CousinSylDolan
08/01/2007, 8:23 AM

Beacuse Newtown are playing an Fai game. Ye are entitlied to use B team players as its Newtown rather then Newtown A that are playing St James Gate. No B team plays when the club has an Fai game unless they request to have one.

old git
08/01/2007, 8:35 AM

D.Kasule 11.00

If there is a backlog why aren't they playing?[/QUOTE]

old git
08/01/2007, 8:44 AM

D.Kasule 11.00

If there is a backlog why aren't they playing?[/QUOTE]

i only caught about 10 mins of second half left as it was hard for both teams to play football as pitch had cut up terrible ..newtown will be lucky to play at home in next couple of weeks as pitch looked destroyed .. i know clare league have a backlog but surely playing games in these conditions it will only cause more games to be called off.. also cannot see newtown a match fai at weekend being played at ballycassey .. main pitch looks very heavy & now second pitch is destroyed i'm sure newtown wont be to happy ..:D

smellyfeet
08/01/2007, 9:04 AM

Beacuse Newtown are playing an Fai game. Ye are entitlied to use B team players as its Newtown rather then Newtown A that are playing St James Gate. No B team plays when the club has an Fai game unless they request to have one.[/QUOTE]

None of the Bteam players are involved with the FAI game.
I suppose its up to B team manager to request a game from the league.

smellyfeet
08/01/2007, 9:09 AM
i only caught about 10 mins of second half left as it was hard for both teams to play football as pitch had cut up terrible ..newtown will be lucky to play at home in next couple of weeks as pitch looked destroyed .. i know clare league have a backlog but surely playing games in these conditions it will only cause more games to be called off.. also cannot see newtown a match fai at weekend being played at ballycassey .. main pitch looks very heavy & now second pitch is destroyed i'm sure newtown wont be to happy ..:D[/QUOTE]

I was down there the other day and walked the first pitch and it seems fine apart from far side corner which was soft. There is no water on it so can't see it being unplayable for next week unless ref decides to call it off. Anyway this game has to be played next week so i think it will go ahead.

smellyfeet
08/01/2007, 9:48 AM
Did Bridge UTD v Lifford game go ahead.

old git
08/01/2007, 4:47 PM
i only caught about 10 mins of second half left as it was hard for both teams to play football as pitch had cut up terrible ..newtown will be lucky to play at home in next couple of weeks as pitch looked destroyed .. i know clare league have a backlog but surely playing games in these conditions it will only cause more games to be called off.. also cannot see newtown a match fai at weekend being played at ballycassey .. main pitch looks very heavy & now second pitch is destroyed i'm sure newtown wont be to happy ..:D

I was down there the other day and walked the first pitch and it seems fine apart from far side corner which was soft. There is no water on it so can't see it being unplayable for next week unless ref decides to call it off. Anyway this game has to be played next week so i think it will go ahead.[/QUOTE]
hope it goes ahead and good luck to ye on sunday hope you win it to upset all the begrudgers in clare & shannon... will even come in and support you if i dont have to work sunday afternoon..:D :D

smellyfeet
09/01/2007, 8:08 AM
no that match was off presumably cause pitch wasnt playable..... while the ref down for our game made us play even though we asked him not to.even opposition said pitch was too wet...ref for b team game let that go ahead too..so you can only imagine what pitch is like..i'd say it wont hold a game for at least 4 weeks now...

ABSOLUTELY CRAZY BEING MADE TO PLAY IN THIS WEATHER..EVEN THOUGH I TOLD FIXTURE SECRATARY ON FRIDAY THAT PITCH WAS REALLY WET...HE OBVIOUSLY LEFT IT UP TO REF..WHO AFTER TRAVELLING WAS NEVER GOING TO CALL IT OFF..

Ya he probably didn't call it off because he had to travel and that.
TBH i can remember when games were never called off no matter what the weather was like. I know that in some case's the pitch might be too bad to play but in fairness some of the fixtures this year have been called off on a thursday and then friday, saturday and sunday the weather has been fine.
I as a player have no bother playing in the muck every now and then. I'd say that there wont be many games called off from now till the end of season unless pitches are waterlogged.

old git
09/01/2007, 8:10 AM
no that match was off presumably cause pitch wasnt playable..... while the ref down for our game made us play even though we asked him not to.even opposition said pitch was too wet...ref for b team game let that go ahead too..so you can only imagine what pitch is like..i'd say it wont hold a game for at least 4 weeks now...

ABSOLUTELY CRAZY BEING MADE TO PLAY IN THIS WEATHER..EVEN THOUGH I TOLD FIXTURE SECRATARY ON FRIDAY THAT PITCH WAS REALLY WET...HE OBVIOUSLY LEFT IT UP TO REF..WHO AFTER TRAVELLING WAS NEVER GOING TO CALL IT OFF...

will agree with you totally ... any club should be able to make decision on their own pitch .. you even advised league 2 days before match was down to be played ... a lot of clubs put loads of work & money into getting pitches ready ... seems like the league don't really care if pitches get ruined ... as you said once a ref has travelled they will usually play games ... :mad: :mad:

Prem Rep!
09/01/2007, 10:50 AM
If ever there was an argument for transfer to Summer soccer this winter was it.
Most teams have not played in 7-8 weeks. Very hard to keep players focused. Also very hard for managers & players who now have to make a 10-11 month commitment if they wish to be involved. I say bring on summer soccer. Can only improve quality of game in Clare if played during the dry season.

smellyfeet
09/01/2007, 11:00 AM
Most teams have not played in 7-8 weeks. Very hard to keep players focused. Also very hard for managers & players who now have to make a 10-11 month commitment if they wish to be involved. I say bring on summer soccer. Can only improve quality of game in Clare if played during the dry season.

I'd have same view BUT there will always be some that will be against it.
Alot of teams will have players going on hols and National competions are played tru winter. The mayo league play in summer and they seem to cope so can't see why we can't. Good suggestion. Maybe you should put it to the Clare League commitee.

CousinSylDolan
09/01/2007, 11:06 AM

Personally I'm 100% behind a move to summer soccer. Main sticking point is the national competitions. If summer soccer is to be sucessful then it needs a change from the FAI and every county. Otherwise for the bigger clubs who do well in the FAI and MJC it would become a 12 month season...playing lg in the summer and national cup in the winter.

Getting every county to change though is very doubtful...

old git
09/01/2007, 11:26 AM
I'd have same view BUT there will always be some that will be against it.
Alot of teams will have players going on hols and National competions are played tru winter. The mayo league play in summer and they seem to cope so can't see why we can't. Good suggestion. Maybe you should put it to the Clare League commitee.

no chance of it happening in clare ... 2 many teams have dual players with the gaa and they would not agree on summer league as it would clash with gaa season/ competitions ... :confused: :confused:

Young Lad
09/01/2007, 11:32 AM
Personally I'm 100% behind a move to summer soccer. Main sticking point is the national competitions. If summer soccer is to be sucessful then it needs a change from the FAI and every county. Otherwise for the bigger clubs who do well in the FAI and MJC it would become a 12 month season...playing lg in the summer and national cup in the winter.

Getting every county to change though is very doubtful...

It probably wouldn't be a problem for the majority of premier division clubs with the exception of moher celtic. However it could end a number of clubs in other divisions. However I accept the point that if a number of these players are just playing soccer to keep in shape for the gaa season that they shouldn't necessarily be facilitated.

Prem Rep!
09/01/2007, 12:46 PM
Our match was called off because Lifford U17's were playing FAI on Sunday not because we have someone on the clare committee. Don't think our game would have been played anyway as a section of our pitch is still under water. I was at yere B maych on Sunday and thought the pitch held up well and that was the second game on it. Fair play to the ground staff!!

Regarding summer soccer would be to play leagues in May - August. FAI and MJ competitions kick off in september but are not a weekly occurence but at least clubs would know when they are scheduled to play and can plan around it. A player / manager knows that they will be playing every week during May- August period. Also they know that they will have a match once a month come September.
With summer soccer you could feasibly be handed your seasons fixture at the very beginning as you know there will be little or no cancelations due to weather.
Flip side of this is what we have experienced in the last 2 months where players cannot plan for anything because they have a fixture scheduled on the weekend. I think it would be better for all to know exactly when we play.

shelbourne1904
09/01/2007, 2:40 PM
no chance of it happening in clare ... 2 many teams have dual players with the gaa and they would not agree on summer league as it would clash with gaa season/ competitions ... :confused: :confused:

The Clare Schoolboy League is going summer football this June.Last issue was refs but they supported it enthusiastically.Heard all the above arguements. Gaa based clubs against it and it still has gone ahead.This needs to be raised at the next league meeting .There is no way that people who play GAA and treat football as a secondary sport can be allowed to hold back a move that is considered in the long term interest of the game.National competitions???Who has more success in them??Clare or Mayo???

chappie
09/01/2007, 2:48 PM
just out of interest does anyone know how many matchs were called off at the weekend due to the pitchs being unplayable...

papa-j
09/01/2007, 3:14 PM
The Clare Schoolboy League is going summer football this June.Last issue was refs but they supported it enthusiastically.Heard all the above arguements. Gaa based clubs against it and it still has gone ahead.This needs to be raised at the next league meeting .There is no way that people who play GAA and treat football as a secondary sport can be allowed to hold back a move that is considered in the long term interest of the game.National competitions???Who has more success in them??Clare or Mayo???

I agree, we have to make these decisions based on the long term interest of the game. The national cup arguement doesn't hold up, wheres the advantage of playing during the winter?? Newtowns last game was on 1st December in the FAI and next game is 14th JAN in the next round..you cant plan or prepare properly under these circumstances. Dec and jan have been a write off. League began in August and the season probably wont finish until June, with cup finals etc. Why not play our season between June and sept with the FAI & MJC cup places decided and teams still involved will know their schedule for the winter as FAI and MJC dates are pre-determined. There will be a few minor issues to sort out as were are included in the clare/kerry/desmond draw for FAI but surel;y that can be overcome easily enough. I have yet to hear an arguement against this that stands up beside benefits. Its our game, we play it and run it. If the majority decides in favour then it should happen.

Prem Rep!
10/01/2007, 2:52 PM
[be 1 rule for lifford and another rule for the rest....[/QUOTE]

We were consulted and agreed to the postponement, no big deal.

smellyfeet
10/01/2007, 3:08 PM
:ball:

Ok, I think most teams involved in Clare League would be in favour for a switch from winter to summer apart from a couple. If it was to be brought up in the next Clare League meeting do you think that it would be considered.
It would be very silly of the league not to switch as the current situation is a shambles with teams playing 1 or 2 games in a 2 month period.

reds exile
10/01/2007, 5:07 PM
I have a bold and daring suggestion for the next Clare League agm with reference to the idea of summer soccer.

1) Season should be March to September because of the current G.A.A situation of the back door championship system and the unlikelihood of Clare Clubs playing club championship without their county players i.e no club championship games played in Clare from June till end of September.

2) Increase Division sizes to Premier -14 teams, Division 1 - 14 teams and 12 in division 2. No more promotion/relegation playoffs . Premier/div 1 three teams up- down , div1/div2 - 2 teams up and down

3) Games to be played on Monday evenings,friday evenings,saturday evenings and sundays. Should a team be unable to field a team or play if both teams agree they should play it at the next available date.

4) Cup and shield and league cup can be played after league finishes so teams can prepare for national and Munster competitions and it also allows Oscar Traynor to prepare properly.

I haven't seen the Clare League lately as I live in America but from what I've see and read here as well as Clare FM and the Clare people it needs a new lease of life my ideas are just suggestions so please free to add or delete any of my suggestions or add your own and give them to the Clare league.

pm if you me to add my name so you can give it to the league

shelbourne1904
11/01/2007, 2:21 PM
[QUOTE=reds exile;602011]I have a bold and daring suggestion for the next Clare League agm with reference to the idea of summer soccer.

1) Season should be March to September because of the current G.A.A situation of the back door championship system and the unlikelihood of Clare Clubs playing club championship without their county players i.e no club championship games played in Clare from June till end of September.

2) Increase Division sizes to Premier -14 teams, Division 1 - 14 teams and 12 in division 2. No more promotion/relegation playoffs . Premier/div 1 three teams up- down , div1/div2 - 2 teams up and down

3) Games to be played on Monday evenings,friday evenings,saturday evenings and sundays. Should a team be unable to field a team or play if both teams agree they should play it at the next available date.

Not bad ideas but you cannot include part 2 of 3).Clubs cannot be allowed to decide whether they want to play or not.If fixtures are made then they have to be stuck to and played.What could be allowed is the home team decide their home day??But that may also be adding to the unneeded complication of administration.

Question:
How many people ,on this site and agree that it is sensible to go to summer football ,are in a position to get their clubs to vote for it.Bearing in mind this would have to be agreed at a meeting before the AGM and that would possibly only allow this change at the end of next season??However if the goodwill was there next season could start straight away after the end of this one???

Furthermore I would leave out any other complications about cups and shield as the less other changes the better to facilitate an efficient change over.
The succesful clubs and the Oscar Traynor are well capable of sorting themselves out.

PS Please note the sunglasses icon!!!

shelbourne1904
11/01/2007, 2:28 PM
[QUOTE=Prem Rep!;600828]Our match was called off because Lifford U17's were playing FAI on Sunday not because we have someone on the clare committee. Don't think our game would have been played anyway as a section of our pitch is still under water. I was at yere B maych on Sunday and thought the pitch held up well and that was the second game on it. Fair play to the ground staff!!

fair enough but how many u17's do lifford have on the A team..doubt any more than 1 or 2..and why was fixture made if the A team had players on u17 team..newtown were made play an under 15 and 16 game at the same time as each other last year...when the probably had 8 or 9 players on both ..maybe shelbourne can confirm this..there shouldn't be 1 rule for lifford and another rule for the rest....

It was 17s and youths.But I thought all cancellations were refused from now untill end of season as per recent notice from fixtures sec????

Carotheplayer
11/01/2007, 3:01 PM
I see in the Champion today the Paddy Dunne is to recieve a special Merit award for his contribution to soccer in Clare.

A very good article. Little did I know he managed Newmarket Celtic to the then Premier Title in 1972. That year the club won all 9 competitions in Clare.

He then took up the whistle and in association with Carol O' Neill (Turnpike side of Ennis) set up the Clare Soccer Referees Society.

Now I know there is no perfect Referee but I think Paddy Dunne deserves this special achievement award and personally I wish him the very best.

Great to see him back and in good health.

old git
12/01/2007, 9:17 AM
I see in the Champion today the Paddy Dunne is to recieve a special Merit award for his contribution to soccer in Clare.

A very good article. Little did I know he managed Newmarket Celtic to the then Premier Title in 1972. That year the club won all 9 competitions in Clare.

He then took up the whistle and in association with Carol O' Neill (Turnpike side of Ennis) set up the Clare Soccer Referees Society.

Now I know there is no perfect Referee but I think Paddy Dunne deserves this special achievement award and personally I wish him the very best.

Great to see him back and in good health.

special merit award for contibution to clare soccer ... good job it was not a vote by players / managers / ex players .

fair play for him for sticking with it for so long ... trying to be as nice as possible here :p

papa-j
12/01/2007, 9:40 AM
special merit award for contibution to clare soccer ... good job it was not a vote by players / managers / ex players .

fair play for him for sticking with it for so long ... trying to be as nice as possible here :p

Lads,we have all been at the receiving end of one of Paddys " decisions"
but can we keep any negative thoughts to ourselves on this occasion and let the man enjoy this award. 40 years is an amazing achievement by any standards. Anyone that knows the man will agree that he is a gentleman off the pitch, fair play to him.:)

CousinSylDolan
12/01/2007, 9:59 AM
but can we keep any negative thoughts to ourselves on this occasion and let the man enjoy this award. 40 years is an amazing achievement by any standards. Anyone that knows the man will agree that he is a gentleman off the pitch, fair play to him.:)

Here Here....

A damn nice fella to meet off the pitch. Congrats to him on his superb achievement.

old git
12/01/2007, 10:15 AM

i know he is an gentleman off the pitch & yes it is a amazing achievement... but on the pitch is another story .. will leave it at that :mad:

Young Lad
12/01/2007, 4:06 PM
In the next few weeks Willie Traceys dream will become a reality. As I predicted in my post last week Willie is a serious winger. Against Rock Rovers last Sunday Tracey raided down the right flank to cross it into his buddy Dino to slam it home.

papa-j
12/01/2007, 4:25 PM
In the next few weeks Willie Traceys dream will become a reality. As I predicted in my post last week Willie is a serious winger. Against Rock Rovers last Sunday Tracey raided down the right flank to cross it into his buddy Dino to slam it home.

Not sure about that, but willie certainly is a serious "whinger"!:D

old git
12/01/2007, 4:49 PM
Not sure about that, but willie certainly is a serious "whinger"!:D

papa-j ... best of luck sunday in fai .. stick it to the dubs

will lend ye my vocal support if i'm not working sunday afternoon... :D

shelbourne1904
14/01/2007, 11:45 PM
The best ever.What a bunch of complete *******s this james Gate are.Newtown estimate they have lost at least 2000x5Euero =10000 on thre fact these idiots could not be bothered travelling.

Will the FAI fine them this amount and compensate Newtown?????
What do you think???

this is the ultimate insult and the ultimate instance of incompetence that I have ever come across by a football club in Ireland.As well as the fine they should also been baned for 10 years.

magpies
14/01/2007, 11:57 PM
Into the last 32 of the FAI Junior Cup and you give a walkover what a load of b***ox, very enyoded best of luck to Newtown..hope they get a good fine....

CousinSylDolan
15/01/2007, 7:32 AM
Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Results
Sunday 14/01/07
Lifford 0 Tramore 3

Clare U17 League
Burren United (P-P) Newtown F.C

Corofin Harps (P-P) Cratloe Celtic

F.A.I. Junior Cup Fifth Round
Newtown W/O St James Gate (Scr)

Newmarket Celtic A (P-P) Moher Celtic A

Bridge Celtic A 1 Avenue United A 4

Rinnanna Rovers Mountshannon Celtic

Bridge United A (P-P) Lifford A

Connolly Celtic (P-P) Rock Rovers

Bunratty 2 Turnpike Rovers 1

Kilmaley United 2 Cratloe Celtic A 1

Burren United 4 Hermitage A 1

Corofin Harps Kildysart Celtic

Lifford B 2 Bridge United B 0

Tulla United Ennistymon Town

Kilkishen Celtic A 3 Avenue United B 3

Shannon Olympic B (P-P) Newmarket Celtic B

St.Pats A 2 Kilrush Rangers 1

Cratloe Celtic B (P-P) Hermitage B
Manus Celtic Bridge Celtic B

Cooraclare Celtic Kilkishen Celtic B

Rhine Rovers Moher Celtic

Inch Crusaders (P-P) St.Pats B

CousinSylDolan
15/01/2007, 7:32 AM
Saturday 20/01/07
Ballycasey: Newtown V St.Michaels (Tipp) Referee: F.Coote 2.00
Assistant Referees: M.O`Brien , M.O`Halloran

Clare U17 League
Doolin: Burren United V Lifford A.F.C.
J.Stanford 11.00

Kilrush: Moneypoint V Cratloe Celtic
J.Stanford 2.30

Bunratty: Bunratty V Newmarket Celtic
J.Deniffee 2.30

Lees Road Pitch 2: Turnpike Rovers V Hermitage
D.Kasule 2.30

Sunday 21/01/07
Munster Junior Cup Third Round
Ballycasey: Newtown V Bunratty
J.Stanford 11.00

Munster Junior Cup Fourth Round
Scariff: Mountshannon Celtic V Kinsale (Cork)
Referee: M.O`Halloran, 2.00
Assistant Referees: P.Dunne, D.Brosnan

Lees Road Pitch 4: Lifford A V Moher Celtic A
M.O`Brien 11.00

O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic A V Newmarket
Celtic A P.Mulready 11.00

Shannon: Shannon Olympic A V Rinnanna Rovers
A.Murphy 2.00

Sixmilebridge: Bridge United A V Avenue United A
J.Deniffee 2.00

SEL Print First Division League
Kilmaley School: Connolly Celtic V Corofin Harps
A.Murphy 11.00

Lees Road Pitch 2: Turnpike Rovers V Kilmaley United M.O`Brien 2.00

Cratloe: Cratloe Celtic A V Hermitage A
M.O`Halloran 11.00

Doolin: Burren United V Rock Rovers
N.Bennett 11.00

Ballycar: Newmarket Celtic B V Bridge United B
D.Hehir 11.00

Norrie Henchies: Tulla United V Avenue United B
D.Brosnan 11.00

Kilkishen: Kilkishen Celtic A V Ennistymon Town
J.Stanford 2.00

CBS Kilrush: Kilrush Rangers V Lifford B
F.Coote 11.00

Kilmhill: St.Pats A V Shannon Olympic B

Fairgreen: Hermitage B V Newtown B
D.Kasule 2.00

O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic B V St.Pats B 2.00

Cooraclare: Cooraclare Celtic V Rhine Rovers F.Coote 2.00

Liscannor: Moher Celtic B V Kilkishen Celtic B

Lees Road Pitch 4: Inch Crusaders V Cratloe Celtic B
D.Kasule 11.00

CmonTheRovers
15/01/2007, 8:29 AM
14/01/07 Rineanna Rvrs 1 (Andy Downes) Mountshannon Cel 0

First
15/01/2007, 12:35 PM
[QUOTE=shelbourne1904;604333]
Will the FAI fine them this amount and compensate Newtown?????
What do you think???

Newtown should look for compensation, if the Gate had been drawn at home would a walkover have been given , I think not.
When were ye informed they were giving a walkover. also shows disrespect to the teams they have beaten in earlier rounds as well as Newtown.

Best of luck in the next round.

papa-j
15/01/2007, 12:39 PM
papa-j ... best of luck sunday in fai .. stick it to the dubs

will lend ye my vocal support if i'm not working sunday afternoon... :D

thanks, all support is welcome. hopefully we'll see you and a few more down for the Salthill Devon game..3weeks time I hear. Big dissapointment and anti climax yesterday as we had prepared well for the game. Its not the way we'd like to go through but it was out of our hands. big game next week also v Bunratty at Ballycasey in the MJC, should be a v.close game as B'ratty are as strong a 1st div team as I've seen for a long while. I'll go for a home win after a close encounter....possible xtra time

Carotheplayer
16/01/2007, 5:41 PM
Is it definate.

Are Newtown through to the next round of the Junior Cup.

If it is best of luck boys.

:p