View Full Version : Clare League 2006/07
smellyfeet
27/11/2006, 12:55 PM
Easy there hold up.. well stop the clowns that support you lot talking rubbish about being able to beat anyone. Davey is the only player out of all your squad with a bit of experience when it comes to a national competition and in my opinion the on one capable of commenting (read the previous comments) on where ye stand don't start talking ****e about Oscar Traynor either..
If i'm correct Park had a good run in the FAI couple of years back.
I'm sure a few of them beleived that they could win it as they did well up until they were knocked out.
I'd love to see you come down to a game and call the supporters clowns to their face's. They are great supporters and even Tralee Dyn players said so after the game so just **** off back to div 1a thread.
parkfan
27/11/2006, 1:01 PM
If i'm correct Park had a good run in the FAI couple of years back.
I'm sure a few of them beleived that they could win it as they did well up until they were knocked out.
I'd love to see you come down to a game and call the supporters clowns to their face's. They are great supporters and even Tralee Dyn players said so after the game so just **** off back to div 1a thread.
go way you spanner.. i used to play for newtown and i never seen u once at a game john burns...however you do go to the big ones fair play to ya. clowns was only a figure of speech great respect for tommy and the lads sound people who no theyre stuff
old git
27/11/2006, 1:06 PM
I am ya. Hold on a second!! How many times did ye try to get into the limerick so don't be talking balls... Who said the players are happy! Do you know them personally? If you do I'd suggest you have a good talk with them... Agree with your bit of luck thing because I believe you make your own.. I'm not saying bout getting things right I meant ye will end up like us if you don't look after the young lads, who's going to pick up the pieces when they all decide they want to go home?eg Fairview
i am not involved with newtown so i do not know how many times they tried to get into limeick .. i agree with you the young lads if there good enough bring them through within reason .. u still need a few old heads as well ... but as i said managers deceide who they pick so what me & you have to say will not really matter .. can u also honestly say that the limerick league is that good.. it is a better standard than clare but i will add that they only have about 3-4 good teams also .. :p
smellyfeet
27/11/2006, 1:16 PM
i used to play for newtown and i never seen u once at a game john burns...:rolleyes: :p :D
papa-j
27/11/2006, 1:22 PM
who are these so called vultures that your talking about and what players are they unsettling...maybe these players contacted other clubs just like the 3 bridge players did???
the fact that you responded to that proves you know who and what I am talking about.:D
smellyfeet
27/11/2006, 1:23 PM
clowns was only a figure of speech great respect for tommy and the lads sound people who no theyre stuff
sure a couple of post back Tommy??? and the lads were clowns who thought that Newtown could win FAI yet now you have great respect for them and they are sound + now know their stuff.:confused:
if good players from another club want to join newtown then why not i am sure no club maneger in clare would turn them away
papa-j
27/11/2006, 1:29 PM
go way you spanner.. i used to play for newtown and i never seen u once at a game john burns...however you do go to the big ones fair play to ya. clowns was only a figure of speech great respect for tommy and the lads sound people who no theyre stuff
Look you obviously have an issue with newtown. Are you the player that you mentioned earlier that was "forced out". Your issue should be with that manager and not with the club. Alright Paddy!:D
smellyfeet
27/11/2006, 1:47 PM
why dont you tell everyone...i'm sure the 3 lads from the bridge were approached by someone of did they just guess that they would be wanted..
it amazes me how some people are so narrow minded about things every club trys to strenghten their team.(including newtown)..and if players want to sign for them why not let them..the fact that they think about it means there not happy at there club and just want to play ball..or maybe youv'e got blinkers on cause you know your buddy's won't ever drop you..
Hacker i can clear up how Anto Whyte signed for Newtown. He actualy rang my phone No. and asked me when training was on and i told him. Greg is a mate of Anto's and couldn't commit to training with the Bridge so he followed.
Trevor i cannot answer that one but maybe it would have something to do with 2 ex Bridge players at Newtown already.:rolleyes:
papa-j
27/11/2006, 1:56 PM
why dont you tell everyone...i'm sure the 3 lads from the bridge were approached by someone of did they just guess that they would be wanted..
it amazes me how some people are so narrow minded about things every club trys to strenghten their team.(including newtown)..and if players want to sign for them why not let them..the fact that they think about it means there not happy at there club and just want to play ball..or maybe youv'e got blinkers on cause you know your buddy's won't ever drop you..
If they want to sign thats fine but I wonder how a player can be signed on the premise of being guaranteed a start. Before you ask one of these players told me this himself.
Your final comment is laughable if I dont train or dont play well them I'm dropped just like every one else. Maybe I'm in the team on merit, ever consider that? Dont be talking sh1te
papa-j
27/11/2006, 2:10 PM
fair enough smellyfeet but i'm not going to come on here and have papa-j make comments about me poaching players..the lads left the bridge cause they weren't happy and newtown gratefully took them on board..if a player from a different club tells me he mite want to sign for me and i think he's good enough then ya why wouldn't i try sign him..even if it upsets poor papa-j
Listen hacker, I have no problem with you. Fair enough if a player approaches
you but if you approach a player then thats poaching. I didn't say you poached anyone, my comments were open ended. Dont make this personal
because its only banter.
smellyfeet
27/11/2006, 2:13 PM
fair enough smellyfeet but i'm not going to come on here and have papa-j make comments about me poaching players..the lads left the bridge cause they weren't happy and newtown gratefully took them on board..if a player from a different club tells me he mite want to sign for me and i think he's good enough then ya why wouldn't i try sign him..even if it upsets poor papa-j
I understand what your on about and 1 of the players you have been talking to is close to me so i know what the story is.
Thing is tough you better play him or else:D
Goals4fun
27/11/2006, 2:20 PM
while you are still in the competition you have to believe that you have a chance of winning it. otherwise why would you bother to turn up.
A good number of years ago newtown had a good run in the fai also. Once you are into the open stage of the fai you can get very lucky with the teams you draw. Park know this as they got a luck run and then beat a good team from kilkenny. Should have beaten waterford in the semi but did not do enough on the day.
anyway well done newtown , it is good to see a shannon team doing well. The only thing i don't like is the fact that there are 4 clubs in shannon. Imagine one club, with the best possible players from the town what a team/squad you would have. as there are a lot of very good players in shannon , might even realistically challenge for one of the major honours !
(bring back the amalgamation:D )
Goals4fun
27/11/2006, 2:30 PM
Listen hacker, I have no problem with you. Fair enough if a player approaches
you but if you approach a player then thats poaching. I didn't say you poached anyone, my comments were open ended. Dont make this personal
because its only banter.
why is asking a player to sign for you classed as poaching ? Surely it isa free world ?
smellyfeet
27/11/2006, 2:31 PM
must congadulate your supporters yesterday..great to see lads out there singing and supporting there club..but what was wit the signs welcome to hell..
We played against Killarney Athlethic around Holloween time and there was a few fireworks set off during the game. At half time the 2 teams were going into the dressing room and someone shouted out "welcome to hell". A bit like Galatasery.:D
They also had a sign with " john 3:16".
Brazil Nut
27/11/2006, 2:47 PM
mad..but wouldn't expect anything else from that crowd of lunatics...fair play to them its hard enough to get supporters to watch games in the rain let alone make signs and sing songs..best of luck in next round...
Kiss and make up now guys:p :p
papa-j
27/11/2006, 3:14 PM
why is asking a player to sign for you classed as poaching ? Surely it isa free world ?
Maybe I'm wrong but approaching a player midseason who is already signed with another club is generally deeemed as "poaching"
Not that hacker was poaching or anything like that. We have already cleared that up:D
Hacker, just a note on an earlier post about GAA players. My post was specifically about the two lads in question and not GAA players in general.
They made is clear to everyone that GAA was their first choice and would always come first over the soccer. I think its fair to say that the 2 lads you speak about at Newtown are fully committed to our team this season. Thats the difference.
who scored the goals for bunnraty yesterday and how did the burren and newmarket get on in the fai
old git
27/11/2006, 3:58 PM
must congadulate your supporters yesterday..great to see lads out there singing and supporting there club..but what was wit the signs welcome to hell..
knowing a few of the lads they were only taking the **** i assume
after last fai match against killarney referee was talking about reporting newtown because fans were singing & shouting during match ..... must have been a very sensitive ref..
sore_toe
27/11/2006, 4:23 PM
who scored the goals for bunnraty yesterday and how did the burren and newmarket get on in the fai
pa twomey 3
shane o conner 2
horse 1
trevor twomey 1
richie lillis 1
could have been alot worse the ref blew it up 15 mins to go
smellyfeet
27/11/2006, 4:29 PM
pa twomey 3
shane o conner 2
horse 1
trevor twomey 1
richie lillis 1
could have been alot worse the ref blew it up 15 mins to go
Thats some score, was that played in Doora.
CousinSylDolan
28/11/2006, 7:13 AM
Bunratty vs Hermitage was played in Rineanna. Hermitage were missing 14 A team players supposedly.. Still its Bunratty's 1st game in a few weeks and it was good to get a game before next Sunday...
Burren lost 3-1 at home to Newcastlewest and Newmarket lost 3-0 away to Abbeyfeale in the Fai.
Leaves Newtown as the only Clare team in the last 64 draw tomorrow evening.
Brazil Nut
28/11/2006, 8:27 AM
Take your tongue out of there arse will ya.. Check out the odds in paddy powers and you will soon see who's who. If you talked to Davey Wall he'd tell you where you stand in the grand scheme of things. We all want to see them do well don't forget I'm from Shannon i like to see Shannon teams win. But Tralee dynamos a really good side. Open your eyes let the light in because you my friend are blind.... Are you trying to compare Newtown to the big sides? :DDon't make me laugh...
No i am not trying to compare Newtown to any side big or otherwise. All i said was they have what it takes to and i quote " beat teams that are better than them" and yes IMO Tralee are a very good side. I dont think for a second that Newtown can win this competition but if they get 1 or 2 more big scalps that would be great for clare soccer and shannon. And at home they are def capable of taking scalps. Will need to improve massively but your forgetting 2 experienced starting 11 were missing from sunday more notibly Davy Wall so them coming back will help. In relation to Tralee Dynamos who did u think was going to win????? My guess was Tralee, so wrong again my friend:D And as for the Oscar Traynor thing and the so called shannon loyalty:rolleyes: ...... your refering to I hope Clare stuff Limerick
papa-j
28/11/2006, 8:38 AM
They made is clear to everyone that GAA was their first choice and would always come first over the soccer. I think its fair to say that the 2 lads you speak about at Newtown are fully committed to our team this season. Thats the difference.
not going to get into a big long debate about it again but i'm sure if you asked your 2 players what there preference is you'd be suprised by the answers...ye should get young chippy a newtown bag as his wolfe tones one looked a bit lonely on its own yesterday..
we will have to agree to disagree on our opinions on this one..[/QUOTE]
well they have both been training and togged on a sunday. They played on Sunday and on the sunday before that and on the sunday before that and so on... so as far as I'm concerned that qualifies as committed to our team. I couldn't care less if Chippy arrived with his boots in a handbag..so long as he keeps banging in the goals and we keep getting results.
CousinSylDolan
28/11/2006, 9:08 AM
I think every Clare Club should be and will be supporting Newtown in the Fai now that they are the only Clare rep left in it. Who have Newtown beaten so far...
Rd 1 Bunratty (a)
Rd 2 Lissellton (h)
Rd 3 Killarney Athletic (h)
Rd 4 Tralee Dynamoes (h)
Will ye be looking for an away trip next to bring that vocal support ye have or would ye prefer to stick with Ballcasey for Rd 5.
smellyfeet
28/11/2006, 9:25 AM
I think every Clare Club should be and will be supporting Newtown in the Fai now that they are the only Clare rep left in it. Who have Newtown beaten so far...
Rd 1 Bunratty (a)
Rd 2 Lissellton (h)
Rd 4 Tralee Dynamoes (h)
Will ye be looking for an away trip next to bring that vocal support ye have or would ye prefer to stick with Ballcasey for Rd 5.
Home draw would be preferred i suppose but a trip away is always great craic
[QUOTE=CousinSylDolan;582726]I think every Clare Club should be and will be supporting Newtown in the Fai now that they are the only Clare rep left in it.
Newtown, who in their right mind would want to kick a ball for them:D :D :D
Let alone support them.
old git
28/11/2006, 9:35 AM
Bunratty vs Hermitage was played in Rineanna. Hermitage were missing 14 A team players supposedly.. Still its Bunratty's 1st game in a few weeks and it was good to get a game before next Sunday...
Burren lost 3-1 at home to Newcastlewest and Newmarket lost 3-0 away to Abbeyfeale in the Fai.
Leaves Newtown as the only Clare team in the last 64 draw tomorrow evening.
park fan ... look how lucky newtown are now :eek:
old git
28/11/2006, 9:39 AM
[QUOTE=CousinSylDolan;582726]I think every Clare Club should be and will be supporting Newtown in the Fai now that they are the only Clare rep left in it.
Newtown, who in their right mind would want to kick a ball for them:D :D :D
Let alone support them.
as per earlier posts it seems they have a lot of players who want to kick ball for them .... and fair play to their supporters who take the time to go down and support them it must lift the team on the day .
papa-j
28/11/2006, 11:54 AM
[QUOTE=First;582744]
as per earlier posts it seems they have a lot of players who want to kick ball for them .... and fair play to their supporters who take the time to go down and support them it must lift the team on the day .
The supporters are brilliant and they have helped inject life into the team when he chips were down. The players hope that we can give them another few days out. Preferably at home but I'm sure the lads will travel in numbers if we get an away draw.
parkfan
28/11/2006, 12:05 PM
[QUOTE=old git;582751]
The supporters are brilliant and they have helped inject life into the team when he chips were down. The players hope that we can give them another few days out. Preferably at home but I'm sure the lads will travel in numbers if we get an away draw.
easier to get out of clare/kerry than it is limerick settle down lads best team wins the league any team can will the cup:p
Murphman
28/11/2006, 12:55 PM
Any fixtures lads?
CousinSylDolan
28/11/2006, 1:24 PM
Any fixtures lads?
Yep,
See post #501.... Bout 3 pages back.:ball: :ball: :ball:
old git
28/11/2006, 1:31 PM
[QUOTE=papa-j;582888]
easier to get out of clare/kerry than it is limerick settle down lads best team wins the league any team can will the cup:p
will you stop having a go a clare league and give us teams some credit... they still have to win 3-4 games to get out of clare / kerry
for a park rangers fan you seem to be obsesed with clare league & newtown :confused:
Yes i agree maybe if that park lad did less talking and slagging off newtown and put a
bit of effort into his own club they might not be in the trouble they are at junior level they are sinking faster than the TITANIC did
parkfan
29/11/2006, 12:18 PM
Yes i agree maybe if that park lad did less talking and slagging off newtown and put a
bit of effort into his own club they might not be in the trouble they are at junior level they are sinking faster than the TITANIC did
ah jesus lads lads would ye stop. can ye not take a joke!!! the only point im serious about was the young lads...
thecritic
29/11/2006, 3:52 PM
the only thing you are trying to do is to cause dissent in the newtown camp maybe you are after a few of there players to help you stay in the first division
thecritic
29/11/2006, 4:02 PM
Any one know when the next oscar traynor match is on is it before christmas ?
the only thing you are trying to do is to cause dissent in the newtown camp maybe you are after a few of there players to help you stay in the first division
I hear that Brendan O'Mara signed for Park. Good to know that they are bringing back the old lads to try and stay in 1A. :)
CousinSylDolan
29/11/2006, 4:21 PM
Its in January sometime.
I would expect there to be a break for games for Christmas in Clare. Limerick have games on 16/17 of December and again on the 6/7 of Janurary but none in between.
Anyone know if its the same in Clare... Has to be really with Christmas eve and NewYears eve fallin on a Sunday. I just hope they dont do anything mad like have games on Stephens day like a few years ago:mad: :mad: :mad:
old git
29/11/2006, 4:50 PM
Its in January sometime.
I would expect there to be a break for games for Christmas in Clare. Limerick have games on 16/17 of December and again on the 6/7 of Janurary but none in between.
Anyone know if its the same in Clare... Has to be really with Christmas eve and NewYears eve fallin on a Sunday. I just hope they dont do anything mad like have games on Stephens day like a few years ago:mad: :mad:
anything is possible with the clare league what else would we be doing on stephens day / new years day .. :D :
shelbourne1904
29/11/2006, 6:33 PM
Rd 1 Bunratty (a)
Rd 2 Lissellton (h)
Rd 4 Tralee Dynamoes (h)
Gues what home to St James Gate!!!!!!Start praticing the singing again.Used to be a League of Ireland team.Formed by Guinness for employess,maybe a mile or two from Inchicore!!Does that ring any bells.I think they were formed C.1920.
Come on the Nordies!!!!
On a different note(oh how apt under the circumstsnces)did anyone see the new Newtown website newtownfc.com
parkfan
29/11/2006, 6:54 PM
I hear that Brendan O'Mara signed for Park. Good to know that they are bringing back the old lads to try and stay in 1A. :)
How short your memory is!!! Is it not just a few years ago Brennie was helping Newtown to a double is that how you lot treat your former players. Werent Newtown relegated back a few years ago. Only to have the kids haul you up a division. Then you were a club in bits after donal magee left you in an awful mess. Only for the legendary Jimmy Rocks to pull you through the ****e auld days. Who by the the initiated the emalgamation talk.. Now park were arragant not to accept. In jimmy's favour he is dead right there is room for only one team in Shannon!!!
Oi OI.Can someone do me a favour and tell what date Newtown are playing St.James' gate...i think its time to be booking the aul flights home innit!
shelbourne1904
29/11/2006, 8:52 PM
Game is on 10th December
shelbourne1904
29/11/2006, 8:58 PM
Its not classed as poaching as long as you request permission from his club before you talk to him.They cannot refuse.
Spot Kick
29/11/2006, 9:50 PM
The 7th of January has been set for games in the Oscar Traynor for some groups. It may also be the same for the Clare League. Who are you due to play next?
thecritic
29/11/2006, 11:39 PM
How short your memory is!!! Is it not just a few years ago Brennie was helping Newtown to a double is that how you lot treat your former players. Werent Newtown relegated back a few years ago. Only to have the kids haul you up a division. Then you were a club in bits after donal magee left you in an awful mess. Only for the legendary Jimmy Rocks to pull you through the ****e auld days. Who by the the initiated the emalgamation talk.. Now park were arragant not to accept. In jimmy's favour he is dead right there is room for only one team in Shannon!!!
dear parkfan i heard brendy came down to play for newtown B team played one friendly who play in the 3rd div in clare found it hard so that is probably why he is signing for your A team. must be much easier to get a game
CousinSylDolan
30/11/2006, 7:26 AM
The 7th of January has been set for games in the Oscar Traynor for some groups. It may also be the same for the Clare League. Who are you due to play next?
At home to Limerick...
CousinSylDolan
30/11/2006, 7:32 AM
Gues what home to St James Gate!!!!!!
Are you hoping for a starting place Shels... I see you have been putting in the hours on the training field.:D A game against the Dubs and your back like a 19 year old again.
Best of luck to ye anyway. Any word on St James Gate????? They are probably a Leinster Senior Lg club. I remember them in the LOI alright.
They might bring a few kegs down from Inchicore to put behind the bar in the Lodge after the game.... Then there would be singing win, lose or draw.