View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2023
Dudelange sent back fifty tickets and they got snapped up in a minute. What was in the past a good crowd tomorrow will seem strange with only 2500 at it.
Quite nervous for tomorrow. I expect/hope we’ll be better than last week, but it’s not going to be an easy task. I just hope we have a real go at them.
ger121
19/07/2023, 8:11 PM
Larne level with HJK,need a goal in the last 20 minutes to force extra time....
Nice to see an Irish side in the CL qualifiers put up a fight.
MichaelCherrito
19/07/2023, 8:22 PM
Ex-Derry City Joe Thomson with the second in the 89th minute.
2-2agg. Extra-time next.
ger121
19/07/2023, 8:22 PM
Nice to see an Irish side in the CL qualifiers put up a fight.
And we are off to ET. 2 nil down on agg on 65 minutes and pulled it back to 2-2!
19/07/2023, 9:02 PM
Not enough for Larne unfortunately. They lose 3-2 on aggregate AET.
cláirseach
19/07/2023, 9:05 PM
Larne played very well. Twice. Really shouldn't be going out, but on the other hand their pressure was quite blunt. They looked in much better shape than an Irish League team would have been a few years ago. Hope they get a handy one next.
ger121
19/07/2023, 9:09 PM
Larne played very well. Twice. Really shouldn't be going out, but on the other hand their pressure was quite blunt. They looked in much better shape than an Irish League team would have been a few years ago. Hope they get a handy one next.
They got Ballkani. Will be a tough tie.
total hoofball
19/07/2023, 10:10 PM
Just looking through young Shamrock Rovers players to have made their LOI Shamrock Rovers debut under Bradley in the past 5 years, the club and the much vaunted academy so far has been a springboard for either UK or other LOI clubs but contributing little for the first team. I might have to make some time to do a breakdown of Pats and Bohs in the same period
They are giving players debuts but there is a reluctance to persist with young developing players when the club is set with a target to win the league every season, this looks to be catching up with them now with the squad's age profile and some evidence of the team past their peak in the league and Europe, interestingly no debuts made by Bradley so far this season if Rovers are going to address their age profile they are going to need some of the players debuting since 2021 and current under 19s to become established quickly
Gavin Bazunu - debut 2018 now with Southampton/ROI international
Brandon Kavanagh - debut 2018 now with Derry City
Dean Williams - debut 2018 now with Bohemians
Eric Abulu - debut 2019 now with Ballymun United
Sean Callan - debut 2019 last seen 2022 with Bray Wanderers
James Furlong - debut 2019 now with Brighton & Hove Albion
Thomas Oluwa - debut 2019 now with Wexford on loan from Waterford
Max Murphy - debut 2020 now with Bray Wanderers
Darragh Nugent - debut 2020 still with Shamrock Rovers
Zayd Abada - debut 2021 only one first team appearance still with Shamrock Rovers U19s
Kieran Cruise - debut 2021 still with Shamrock Rovers first team and U19s
Dylan Duffy - debut 2021 now with Lincoln City
Aidomo Emakhu - debut 2021 now with Millwall
Dean McMenamy - debut 2021 now with Waterford
Conan Noonan - debut 2021 still with Shamrock Rovers first team and U19s
Justin Ferizaj - debut 2022 still with Shamrock Rovers
Carl Lennox - debut 2022 still with Shamrock Rovers first team and U19s
Gideon Tetteh - debut 2022 still with Shamrock Rovers first team and U19s
Did up Bohs and Pats below. Bohs winning clearly though obviously they have had to give more opportunities out of budgetary necessity but imagine the team they would have now if they had held half of those players together. Pats also having more success integrating young players into the LOI first team and higher level moves abroad than Rovers, it will probably become more clearcut for Rovers in 2/3 years time whether their vaunted academy is delivering but I'm sceptical
Bohemians LOI Debuts 2018-2023 (5 year period)
Danny Grant debut 2018 now returned to Bohemians
Ryan Graydon debut 2018 now with Fleetwood Town
Paddy Kirk debut 2018 still with Bohemians (via Longford/Sligo)
Darragh Leahy debut 2018 now with Dundalk
Andy Lyons debut 2018 now with Blackpool
Cristian Magerusan debut 2018 now with Longford Town
Robbie McCourt debut 2018 now with Dundalk
Promise Omochere debut 2018 now with Fleetwood Town
Ali Reghba debut 2018 now with CR Belouizdad (Algeria)
Dawson Devoy debut 2019 now with MK Dons
Evan Ferguson debut 2019 now with Brighton & Hove Albion/Ireland international
James Finnerty debut 2019 now with Sligo Rovers
Danny Mandroiu debut 2019 now with Lincoln City
Ross Tierney debut 2019 now with Motherwell
Jack Moylan debut 2020 now with Shelbourne
Aaron Doran debut 2021 now with Wexford
Roland Idowu debut 2021 now with Waterford
Robbie Mahon debut 2021 now with Motherwell on loan at FC Edinburgh
Jamie Mullins debut 2021 now with Brighton & Hove Albion
Derinsola Adewale debut 2022 still with Bohemians
Cian Byrne debut 2022 still with Bohemians
Reece Byrne debut 2022 with Newcastle United
Chris Lotefa debut 2022 still with Bohemians
Jake McCormack debut 2022 still with Bohemians
James McManus debut 2022 still with Bohemians
Nickson Okosun debut 2023 still Bohemians
St. Patrick's Athletic LOI Debuts 2018-2023 (5 year period)
Neil Byrne debut 2018 current club unknown
Luke Heeney debut 2018 now with Drogheda United
Jamie Lennon debut 2018 still with St. Patrick's Athletic
Glen McAuley debut 2019 now with Bluebell United
Jake Walker debut 2019 now with Bray Wanderers
Darragh Burns debut 2020 now with MK Dons
Ben McCormack debut 2020 still with St. Patrick's Athletic
Luke McNally debut 2020 now with Burnley
James Abankwah debut 2021 now with Udinese
Kian Corbally debut 2021 now with Wexford
Sam Curtis debut 2021 still with St. Patrick's Athletic
Josh Keeley debut 2021 now with Tottenham Hotspur
Darius Lipsiuc debut 2022 still with St. Patrick's Athletic
Adam Murphy debut 2022 still with St. Patrick's Athletic
Kyle Robinson debut 2022 now with Drogheda United
Rhys Bartley debut 2023 still with St. Patrick's Athletic
Mason Melia debut 2023 still with St. Patrick's Athletic
ontheotherhand
20/07/2023, 1:05 AM
Did up Bohs and Pats below. Bohs winning clearly though obviously they have had to give more opportunities out of budgetary necessity but imagine the team they would have now if they had held half of those players together. Pats also having more success integrating young players into the LOI first team and higher level moves abroad than Rovers, it will probably become more clearcut for Rovers in 2/3 years time whether their vaunted academy is delivering but I'm sceptical
Bohemians LOI Debuts 2018-2023 (5 year period)
Danny Grant debut 2018 now returned to Bohemians
Ryan Graydon debut 2018 now with Fleetwood Town
Paddy Kirk debut 2018 still with Bohemians (via Longford/Sligo)
Darragh Leahy debut 2018 now with Dundalk
Andy Lyons debut 2018 now with Blackpool
Cristian Magerusan debut 2018 now with Longford Town
Robbie McCourt debut 2018 now with Dundalk
Promise Omochere debut 2018 now with Fleetwood Town
Ali Reghba debut 2018 now with CR Belouizdad (Algeria)
Dawson Devoy debut 2019 now with MK Dons
Evan Ferguson debut 2019 now with Brighton & Hove Albion/Ireland international
James Finnerty debut 2019 now with Sligo Rovers
Danny Mandroiu debut 2019 now with Lincoln City
Ross Tierney debut 2019 now with Motherwell
Jack Moylan debut 2020 now with Shelbourne
Aaron Doran debut 2021 now with Wexford
Roland Idowu debut 2021 now with Waterford
Robbie Mahon debut 2021 now with Motherwell on loan at FC Edinburgh
Jamie Mullins debut 2021 now with Brighton & Hove Albion
Derinsola Adewale debut 2022 still with Bohemians
Cian Byrne debut 2022 still with Bohemians
Reece Byrne debut 2022 with Newcastle United
Chris Lotefa debut 2022 still with Bohemians
Jake McCormack debut 2022 still with Bohemians
James McManus debut 2022 still with Bohemians
Nickson Okosun debut 2023 still Bohemians
St. Patrick's Athletic LOI Debuts 2018-2023 (5 year period)
Neil Byrne debut 2018 current club unknown
Luke Heeney debut 2018 now with Drogheda United
Jamie Lennon debut 2018 still with St. Patrick's Athletic
Glen McAuley debut 2019 now with Bluebell United
Jake Walker debut 2019 now with Bray Wanderers
Darragh Burns debut 2020 now with MK Dons
Ben McCormack debut 2020 still with St. Patrick's Athletic
Luke McNally debut 2020 now with Burnley
James Abankwah debut 2021 now with Udinese
Kian Corbally debut 2021 now with Wexford
Sam Curtis debut 2021 still with St. Patrick's Athletic
Josh Keeley debut 2021 now with Tottenham Hotspur
Darius Lipsiuc debut 2022 still with St. Patrick's Athletic
Adam Murphy debut 2022 still with St. Patrick's Athletic
Kyle Robinson debut 2022 now with Drogheda United
Rhys Bartley debut 2023 still with St. Patrick's Athletic
Mason Melia debut 2023 still with St. Patrick's Athletic
Fair play for doing that! I think there's other criteria you might judge an academy on but first team appearances and transfers would be two for sure.
Fairly sure Mandroiu came from Brighton to Bohs though and I'd question Pats having more high profile departures than us. It's about the same as it stands no? Bazunu, Furlong and Emakhu would be 3 whose moves at least compare with the Pats list there. Interesting topic that might be worth a thread of its own. I think we'd still lead in fees received but Curtis may break that in Pats favour.
Probably worth also saying Curtis came from Rovers so he's only a Pats success story in terms of playing time. Not sure he wouldn't also be playing for us if he'd stayed though. He's a freak, similar to Bazunu who Bradley had no problem playing. He defo would have played on Tuesday as Finner has finally hit the wall!
Both Pats and Bohs also haven't been challenging for the league....until now of course....easier and necessary to bring players through.
Our bench has had plenty of academy players recently and we've seen Noonan and Cruise get their full debuts this season. I'd expect more when we are in the First Division next season and even more when our u15s hit 17/18/19. A special group by all accounts.
This isn't a swipe at yourself, Pats or even Bohs btw although I'd credit Kevins more than Bohs with most of your list. Pats are clearly doing great work and I hope we are going to replace Robinson with O'Brien. It also isn't a complete defence of our use of academy players. Not having a B team hurts us but it does feel like more should have come through at times. We have a few players who do clearly need replacing. Nugent is one we've used a bit and who looks ready but he didn't come all the way through the academy.
ontheotherhand
20/07/2023, 4:03 AM
Also why have you included Glen McCauley for Pats?
2 Year Contract
20/07/2023, 8:22 AM
Minutes given to Pats academy graduates this season: 5878 minutes (including Tommy Lonergan's 699 minutes)
Minutes given to Bohs academy graduates this season: 5187 minutes (including Keith Buckley's 1516 minutes and Dylan Connolly's 1179 minutes)
Minutes given to Rovers academy graduates this season: 2059 minutes (including Sean Gannon's 383 minutes and Trevor Clarke's 983 minutes)
(League games only)
Predictions for tonight:
Dundalk 2-0
Derry 1-0
Pats - very hard one to call, I think both teams will score again, its really 50/50 who goes through in my view.
Philosophizer
20/07/2023, 10:58 AM
Predictions for tonight:
Dundalk 2-0
Derry 1-0
Pats - very hard one to call, I think both teams will score again, it’s really 50/50 who goes through in my view.
Hard to argue with these. Realistic predictions.
20/07/2023, 11:11 AM
Predictions for tonight:
Dundalk 2-0
Derry 1-0
Pats - very hard one to call, I think both teams will score again, its really 50/50 who goes through in my view.
2-1 Pats and Penos ? Wouldn’t surprise me. Would rather not, but if we won a shootout I wouldn’t complain.
nr637
20/07/2023, 11:42 AM
St. Pat main stand seats 1,800 people and behind the goal, at the Inchicore end, the uncovered west stand seats approximately 1,000. Capacity 2,800.
Derry City new Main Stand has a capacity of 955 seats while the East Stand opposite has around 2,700 seats. Capacity 3,700.
Oriel Park Main Stand holds about 1,000 while approximately 2,000 seats are on the open terrace steps between the home turnstiles and the Town End and at the other end between the away turnstiles and the Carrickmacross End. Capacity 3,000.
oriel
20/07/2023, 12:39 PM
Not far off on Oriel Park, I think its 3,100 seats (2k covered).
For tonight the disabled / wheelchair supporters and helpers will be moved to behind the town goal, they usually erect a section where home fans stand infront of the main stand, must be another uefa thing.
Dermobohs
20/07/2023, 1:02 PM
Be great to see 3 going through tonight, best of luck
20/07/2023, 1:20 PM
Predictions for tonight:
Dundalk 2-0
Derry 1-0
Probably fair enough. If we got out act together, we could score a few. HB are not a good side, and we played for the draw last week.
We went to the B36 Tórshavn - Paide (Estonia) match last week over there. It's been years since I've seen as poor a game of football. Harps-Cobh last weekend was a higher quality, by way of example.
Faroese football, maybe KÍ aside, is very poor.
joey B
20/07/2023, 2:48 PM
Derry and Dundalk games are on Skybet to watch if anyone uses it and dosent want to spend a tenner!
Not far off on Oriel Park, I think its 3,100 seats (2k covered).
For tonight the disabled / wheelchair supporters and helpers will be moved to behind the town goal, they usually erect a section where home fans stand in front of the main stand, must be another uefa thing.
The figures are all approximate as you know.
Of course safety measure can dictate the amount of seats really available.
The Gardai & Stewards can create space where they feel it is necessary for obvious safety control reasons and this will reduce the capacity.
So, you could say crowd seating limits of,
St.Pats 2,500
Derry 3,500
Dundalk 3,000
Hopefully all the clubs get 'sold-out' attendances tonight and all three go through to the next round!
total hoofball
20/07/2023, 4:37 PM
Also why have you included Glen McCauley for Pats?
Like Danny Mandroiu, Darragh Leahy, Robbie McCourt, Max Murphy he was under 21, never made a first team senior appearance for his UK club and made his LOI premier division debut
Lists of players was a comparison of debuts/integration of young players into Senior LOI teams which I think is becoming an issue for Rovers, list not all necessarily academies also young players without senior football experience who would have returned from UK
total hoofball
20/07/2023, 4:41 PM
This isn't a swipe at yourself, Pats or even Bohs btw although I'd credit Kevins more than Bohs with most of your list. Pats are clearly doing great work and I hope we are going to replace Robinson with O'Brien. It also isn't a complete defence of our use of academy players. Not having a B team hurts us but it does feel like more should have come through at times. We have a few players who do clearly need replacing. Nugent is one we've used a bit and who looks ready but he didn't come all the way through the academy.
Absolutely 100% the Kevin's linkup is huge of Bohs' output but I think I even underestimated how well Bohs have done fearlessly blooding young players into the first team with a decent hit rate into these lads turning professional with Bohs/UK/elsewhere
20/07/2023, 6:26 PM
Predictions for tonight:
Dundalk 2-0
Derry 1-0
Hard not to argue with that alright. If Dundalk and Derry don't win, they'll be really shocking results. But I think they'll be ok.
Interesting looking at the Dudelange lineup against Pat's tonight, and they have only two players who started their last league game in May. Jon Daly was giving out about the lack of scouting options, but very hard to scout that.
But that's the LoI's big advantage - Dudelange's players barely know each other at this stage. Which makes last week's performance all the more worrying. Lot of work for Pat's tonight, but I think they're up to it. Which isn't too say they will do it of course
20/07/2023, 6:49 PM
Dundalk 1-0 up already
That should be the end of that
Glentoran miss a penalty and remain 2-2 against Gzira of Malta; winners to play Pats/Dudelange
KA Akureryi 3-0 up on Connah's Quay and on course to play Dundalk next. That'll be interesting after Rovers' Icelandic experience
20/07/2023, 6:53 PM
And Pat's 1-0 down already. Disaster there
joey B
20/07/2023, 6:54 PM
Pats wide open, terrible start...
20/07/2023, 7:08 PM
Goals for Derry and Pat's, so looking better now
joey B
20/07/2023, 7:09 PM
The most bizarre OG you’ll ever see there!
20/07/2023, 7:09 PM
Pics or gtfo!
(Their Twitter saying a header from their keeper:D)
joey B
20/07/2023, 7:11 PM
Pics or gtfo!
(Their Twitter saying a header from their keeper:D)
He managed to head it into his own net on the 18 yard line rushing forward!!!
pateen
20/07/2023, 7:16 PM
Jesus Pats defence been carved open
20/07/2023, 7:19 PM
And Magpies score in Oriel...
SPXcyan
20/07/2023, 7:21 PM
That was some goal!
pateen
20/07/2023, 7:21 PM
Oh my God ....
joey B
20/07/2023, 7:23 PM
Cracking game in Inchicore,Pats blessed to have not conceded more but look dangerous themselves,Carty looks a prospect,first time I’ve seen him….
20/07/2023, 7:24 PM
Jesus Pats defence been carved open
Sounds like Pat's got gifted a freak goal but are very much second best; would that be fair?
You'd have hoped the equaliser was them getting back into the tie, but possibly not
joey B
20/07/2023, 7:27 PM
20/07/2023, 7:30 PM
That is glorious
joey B
20/07/2023, 7:35 PM
One of the greats!!
20/07/2023, 7:37 PM
Dundalk 1-0 up already
That should be the end of that
Glentoran miss a penalty and remain 2-2 against Gzira of Malta; winners to play Pats/Dudelange
KA Akureryi 3-0 up on Connah's Quay and on course to play Dundalk next. That'll be interesting after Rovers' Icelandic experience
Shush Stu the George Mouth of Doom Hamilton of Foot.ie
20/07/2023, 7:39 PM
That goal, btw, was scored by Joe.
Which seems appropriate for a literal pub team. Sounds like he's someone's mate who was asked along cos they were short.
kksaints
20/07/2023, 7:40 PM
Sounds like Pat's got gifted a freak goal but are very much second best; would that be fair?
You'd have hoped the equaliser was them getting back into the tie, but possibly not
Definitely for the first 30 minutes we were 2nd best. We've come into a bit more since then and Carty really should have scored but hit it straight at the keeper. OG is a complete freak, I'm not sure how their keeper managed that.
joey B
20/07/2023, 7:43 PM
Just noticing Neil Doyle gave 3 red cards in a game earlier today,LOI reffing goes International!!!
ontheotherhand
20/07/2023, 7:49 PM
That OG is one of the greatest sporting moments of all time.
pateen
20/07/2023, 7:49 PM
Cracking game in Inchicore,Pats blessed to have not conceded more but look dangerous themselves,Carty looks a prospect,first time I’ve seen him….
Agreed. Playing real well. First time I heard of him too
20/07/2023, 7:51 PM
Shush Stu the George Mouth of Doom Hamilton of Foot.ie
Dundalk back in the lead - scored in the third minute of both halves
That should be the end of that :p
SPXcyan
20/07/2023, 8:09 PM
Pat's go ahead on the night with a lovely goal, 3-3 agg now.
SPXcyan
20/07/2023, 8:10 PM
And a bad mistake makes it 3-4 on aggregate!
Dudelange equalise quickly though. Pat's do seem very shaky for whatever reason
joey B
Dudelange equalise quickly though. Pat's do seem very shaky for whatever reason
Norman's fault,shocking defending.....