View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2023
joey B
19/07/2023, 8:15 AM
Indo article from this morning on Shamrock Rovers in Europe aswell
Daniel McDonnell
Today at 07:44
The looming presence of a historic World Cup in Australia has allowed Shamrock Rovers’ Champions League failure to slip under the radar, the cries for more exposure for League of Ireland exploits in Europe dying down when there’s a result you would like to go away.
There are mitigating factors that Rovers can point to in the attempt to explain a meek exit at the hands of Breidablik, a part-time Icelandic opponent from a league that is ranked lower in the UEFA charts.
Stephen Bradley would have expected his speedy wing backs Trevor Clarke and Neil Farrugia to be a big part of his European plans and the loss of Jack Byrne for the decider after he was clearly struggling in the first leg speaks for itself as a setback given his importance.
But Rovers have set standards for themselves as domestic champions and it arguably does them a disservice to apply kid-glove treatment to disappointments. At this stage of their development, they should be hitting a higher bar in this sphere.
Breidablik were technically sharp and clever in their movements – they are better than the unflattering description of their status - and no Irish club can afford to be complacent against teams from a country where they have really invested in development.
Yet there is something odd about the fact that Rovers, an Irish force that is developing a reputation for its work at academy level, look so old as a first team entity when placed against European peers. In Iceland last night, the youngest member of their starting team was 24-year-old Markus Poom, who was also the only winter arrival in the XI. The average age was 29.2.
Bradley’s dressing room is full of multiple league winners and they are still ahead in the race to emulate the four-in-a-row side of the 1980s.
But the number of points they have dropped this season – 8 draws and 4 defeats in 25 league games – should have them playing catch-up.
Across the 2022 campaign as a whole, the Hoops drew 7 games and lost 5. They conceded 22 goals across a 36-game league season and have already shipped that tally at the 25-game mark this time around.
Nobody has been good enough to punish that.
In reality, despite the attempts to freshen up their squad, Rovers remain reliant on the same faces and haven’t evolved.
Admittedly, they have tried to bring in prospects in the right age bracket but those individuals are leaving other LOI clubs for League One when previously they might have gone to Rovers as their next step.
The likes of Liam Scales, Andy Lyons and Danny Mandroiu came to Tallaght, improved and then left and they’ve not sourced replacements with the same upward trajectory.
There is a danger of slipping into kneejerk reaction mode in the immediate aftermath of a let-down.
Indeed, in his early days at Rovers, Bradley was written off prematurely on a number of occasions, including by his own supporters. His achievements shouldn’t be taken for granted; after a dysfunctional period he has been the central figure in the Hoops becoming serial winners again.
However, a critical assessment of their European performances is necessary if this group are to be considered an all-time great by LOI standards.
It’s possible that the team that broke through in the abridged 2020 campaign was Rovers’ best side of this era. They won 15 out of 18 games in the league and drew the other three with Jack Byrne and Aaron McEneff starring and doing well enough to earn moves further afield. Indeed in 2019, a two-legged victory over Norwegian side Brann highlighted their potential. That was an underrated result.
Since becoming champions, however, Rovers haven’t beaten a decent side over two legs. Teuta Durres (Albania), Hibernians (Malta) and Shkupi (Macedonia) are the only teams they’ve got the better of across 180 minutes and all of those opponents were in pre-season.
The counterpoint to that is that Rovers produced exceptional 90-minute displays against Slovan Bratislava (2021) and Ludogorets (2022) and they acquitted themselves well in the Conference League group games in Tallaght last year.
On the road, though, their record is mediocre, looking poor defensively even when they play three centre halves with two holding midfielders. Conceding four to Flora Tallinn two years ago was a scarring experience and Bradley’s charges now play more conservatively without being harder to break down.
The backlash from Breidablik will hurt this group and they could still go on a run through the Conference League qualifiers against other champions that have fallen by the wayside but advancing through three ties is a big ask.
It is deluded to expect that an Irish team will play group stage football every year, especially as European qualifiers are cup football where strange things can happen, yet it’s still jarring for Rovers that opponents from Estonia and Iceland are delivering crushing blows when they do have the resources to compete with them.
They reached the top of the Irish ladder at the right time, with changes to the structures of the competition opening a backdoor route that wasn’t available to the other dominant LOI sides of the 21st century.
Success at home could still make this an extremely memorable year for those of a Rovers persuasion and their European campaign isn’t over either.
The niggling feeling, though, is that this deflating reverse will add an asterisk to their legacy
19/07/2023, 8:28 AM
Sounds like Dan's been reading this thread :)
Straightstory
19/07/2023, 9:45 AM
That's an intelligent and observant piece by McDonnell. Respect for what Bradley has done at Rovers, but he's been there a while and probably time to get someone new in to manage (the Republic of) Ireland's biggest club - which, in terms of success, infrastructure, and profile, they most certainly are.
texidub
19/07/2023, 9:49 AM
Shamrock Rovers (and the league) needs another Shamrock Rovers. Or two. Another SRFC-type club in terms of money, long-term security, youth prospects etc. That competition will drive standards higher with positive knock on effects all round in Europe. That would require gov and/or private investment.
There's a real disconnect between the talk of the youth academy and the age of the first team it seems. Ajax in theory only. A better balance needs to be struck there.
Maybe the pitch was a factor, but what disappointed me most was how much more skillful the Icelandics looked in possession. Good to watch. Rovers were mostly laboured and clumsy in comparison.
cláirseach
19/07/2023, 9:59 AM
Agree with anyone who has made the point already that Rovers are simply too predictable. They have been rolling out the same thing for years now and that will catch up with you. Drogheda have their number.
I would like to point out too that, for all the praise that some recieve, there is very little real experience amongst the managers in the Premier Division. Arguably only Buckley has proven his ability to make a significant impact on teams in previous roles (and look at what he has done for a Cork team that looked broken that night in Dalymount).
Calcio Jack
19/07/2023, 10:27 AM
That's a post that sounds profound but actually when you think about it, it says nothing at all to contradict what the critics have been saying.
Not profound but just like Daniel McD pointing out that there’s more to the Rovers project than European results which others here don’t wish to acknowledge, me thinks they don’t because to do so would then surface the reality of how far behind us all other clubs are in terms of longer term sustainability.
19/07/2023, 10:42 AM
I think plenty of credit has been given here to the stadium (well done DCC) and to the crowds and the academy. Plenty.
The criticism here is at Bradley, who is arguably not the person to take Rovers to where their standing says they should be. Getting knocked out by a part-time Icelandic team in Europe can happen. But getting outplayed home and away? Two years since the same thing happened against an Estonian side? Nope - you can't go defending that.
And even on the academy, the criticism is very valid - look at Pat's bringing through Melia, Curtis and Abankwah in recent times. Rovers don't seem close to as keen to give guys a game. Some players may make the bench a bit, some get loaned out to UCD (and that's going well), some get sold at 16/17 which defeats the point. To have the leading academy in the country and a first-team with an average age of 30 indicates something's going wrong.
Ultimately, your posts don't have any substance at all unfortunately.
19/07/2023, 10:45 AM
That game reminded me a bit of our 4th year secondary school team v the teachers, crafty nifty kids outwitting their cumbersome elders.
I wasn’t surprised by Breidablik, but Rovers? they had no engine room, no purposeful patterns of play.
That’s why Breidablik are the most respected club in Iceland, not only for the quality of their academy (1,300 kids, 55 or so licensed coaches) but also the enjoyable way they are set up to play the game. That’s their football culture.
Most of those players have come through their academy since they were toddlers, some have played abroad and returned, like homing pigeons. But they’re not Ajax, obviously they are beatable, they’re all part-timers, even the captain is the proverbial baker. And contrary to some reports, none of them are within an asses roar of the national team, some got capped in winter camp friendly internationals in Algarve or such winter warm places, filling in the holes in the squad. It's no shame to be thoroughly outplayed over 2 legs but probably Rovers had other thoughts about their team.
Calcio Jack
19/07/2023, 11:03 AM
I think plenty of credit has been given here to the stadium (well done DCC) and to the crowds and the academy. Plenty.
The criticism here is at Bradley, who is arguably not the person to take Rovers to where their standing says they should be. Getting knocked out by a part-time Icelandic team in Europe can happen. But getting outplayed home and away? Two years since the same thing happened against an Estonian side? Nope - you can't go defending that.
And even on the academy, the criticism is very valid - look at Pat's bringing through Melia, Curtis and Abankwah in recent times. Rovers don't seem close to as keen to give guys a game. Some players may make the bench a bit, some get loaned out to UCD (and that's going well), some get sold at 16/17 which defeats the point. To have the leading academy in the country and a first-team with an average age of 30 indicates something's going wrong.
Ultimately, your posts don't have any substance at all unfortunately.
Firstly my posts mirror fairly much what Dan McD said in his article and their substance is to point out that ‘in the round’ Bradley has been the main architect of a huge amount of the progress we’ve made as a club during his tenure and that is what he should be judged on imo. I’ve acknowledged that the first team needs serious surgery etc. but that’s the nature of things and again imo Bradley should be trusted ( based on his record) to carry out that rebuild.
I’ll leave it there as at this point imo there’s nothing further to be gained from this discussion so time will tell who has fell and we’ll see who gets left behind.
19/07/2023, 11:07 AM
It's possibly approaching the territory that Bradley has simply taken them as far as he can, and someone else needs to take them to the next step.
Not profound but just like Daniel McD pointing out that there’s more to the Rovers project than European results which others here don’t wish to acknowledge, me thinks they don’t because to do so would then surface the reality of how far behind us all other clubs are in terms of longer term sustainability.
How is having a side with an average age of over 30 sustainable? If anything that would worry me considering St Pats are only 4 points behind them in the league despite having a much younger squad, you tell me which squad has more growth?
That game reminded me a bit of our 4th year secondary school team v the teachers, crafty nifty kids outwitting their cumbersome elders.
I wasn’t surprised by Breidablik, but Rovers? they had no engine room, no purposeful patterns of play.
That’s why Breidablik are the most respected club in Iceland, not only for the quality of their academy (1,300 kids, 55 or so licensed coaches) but also the enjoyable way they are set up to play the game. That’s their football culture.
Most of those players have come through their academy since they were toddlers, some have played abroad and returned, like homing pigeons. But they’re not Ajax, obviously they are beatable, they’re all part-timers, even the captain is the proverbial baker. And contrary to some reports, none of them are within an asses roar of the national team, some got capped in winter camp friendly internationals in Algarve or such winter warm places, filling in the holes in the squad. It's no shame to be thoroughly outplayed over 2 legs but probably Rovers had other thoughts about their team.
But that’s a huge issue with Rovers, for all their much vaunted academy who in the XI has actually come through it and into the Rovers XI? Pohls probably and I stop there.
19/07/2023, 11:19 AM
But that’s a huge issue with Rovers, for all their much vaunted academy who in the XI has actually come through it and into the Rovers XI? Pohls probably and I stop there.
Pohls didn't come through their academy.
2 Year Contract
19/07/2023, 11:20 AM
Pohls didn’t come through the rovers academy, he signed in 2019 aged 21
Firstly my posts mirror fairly much what Dan McD said in his article and their substance is to point out that ‘in the round’ Bradley has been the main architect of a huge amount of the progress we’ve made as a club during his tenure and that is what he should be judged on imo. I’ve acknowledged that the first team needs serious surgery etc. but that’s the nature of things and again imo Bradley should be trusted ( based on his record) to carry out that rebuild.
I’ll leave it there as at this point imo there’s nothing further to be gained from this discussion so time will tell who has fell and we’ll see who gets left behind.
He’s had plenty of time to rebuild the squad and what good has he done? Like someone else said this is a squad he’s taken as far as he’s capable of taking them, he can win the league but at the end of the day he’s a poor coach that’s too easy to read and that gets exposed in Europe when you come up against different styles you need to be able to adapt and Bradley just isn’t capable of that. Injuries or no injuries all sides have injuries and what separates the good and bad coaches are how you adapt in these situations and Bradley consistently proves he just isn’t capable of adapting.
If you want to keep him fair enough but this is only going one way. Either this season or next Season Rovers will fail to win the league and then after that they’ll struggle to make Europe…that’s what Rovers future holds if they stick with Bradley.
Pohls didn’t come through the rovers academy, he signed in 2019 aged 21
Wow well that’s makes thing a worse, so no one has come through the academy in their XI…
And some on here think this is a sustainable club!
19/07/2023, 11:24 AM
Firstly my posts mirror fairly much what Dan McD said in his article and their substance is to point out that ‘in the round’ Bradley has been the main architect of a huge amount of the progress we’ve made as a club during his tenure and that is what he should be judged on imo.
I think others have argued here that the Board are the main architects of the progress, not necessarily Bradley. I'd tend to agree. One way of judging Bradley is on European progress - which is huge for the club given the money involved - and he's going backwards, as I showed earlier.
I don't think his transfer record is great btw. Simon Power was always an unusual signing and hasn't made any impact. He's not been inclined to bring academy players through. Serdenyuk last year was rubbish by all accounts. He hasn't really been all that active in the transfer market at all really - that's why the squad is ageing and so similar to 3/4 years ago. Is he the person to lead a rebuild? Not sure he is.
One thing McDonnell doesn't mention - the only criticism I'd have of the article I think - is Dundalk and Cork's collapses, which catapulted Rovers to the top kind of by default. There was no particular indication in his first three years that Bradley would have managed that by himself.
SPXcyan
19/07/2023, 4:10 PM
Klaksvik with an early goal in Hungary!
19/07/2023, 4:12 PM
It's possibly approaching the territory that Bradley has simply taken them as far as he can, and someone else needs to take them to the next step.
This has been my thinking for a while.
Given the way Rovers have got their act together very much as a club, in terms of academy, finances, ground, them becoming the dominant force in LOI was pretty much inevitable.
I do think there are similarities to Celtic there in that, despite Postecoglou winning everything there, there's still a question mark over whether those successes demonstrate that he's actually a decent manager, or whether they just demonstrate he's competent enough to avoid f**king things up.
What has Bradley done that is clearly him getting more than the sum of its parts from his team?
19/07/2023, 4:16 PM
Crumbs!
Worth noting they've won all 16 of their league games this season too.
I'm sure we'll have them bigged up if they do lose (and face Rovers next)
sbgawa
19/07/2023, 4:18 PM
We are 100% going out in the next round.
Need to pray we hang on in the league and a big clear out at the end of the year.
19/07/2023, 4:27 PM
1-1 now; they led for two minutes
Edit - nope; still 0-1. Ferencvaros goal ruled out
19/07/2023, 4:35 PM
2-0 KÍ!
Rovers in big danger of a rematch with Ferencvaros next
SPXcyan
19/07/2023, 4:40 PM
Rovers are in serious danger of 4/4 defeats this year in Europe.. damn!
SPXcyan
19/07/2023, 4:49 PM
0-3! Klaksvik handily winning this one.
19/07/2023, 4:51 PM
What on earth is going on there?!
Maybe it's as well Rovers are going to avoid KÍ
ger121
19/07/2023, 4:52 PM
There must be something in the water up that part of the world with these performances in the CL. Mind you KI’s is even more impressive.
ger121
19/07/2023, 4:56 PM
2-0 KÍ!
Rovers in big danger of a rematch with Ferencvaros next
Maybe they are lucky to be avoiding KI. Very strong side.
19/07/2023, 5:10 PM
What on earth is going on there?!
Maybe it's as well Rovers are going to avoid KÍ
KÍ were gifted a penalty, shocking defending for the second, and a comical (what I would class as) OG for the third.
I can't believe Ferencvaros are usually as bad as they're playing here.
total hoofball
19/07/2023, 5:14 PM
Just looking through young Shamrock Rovers players to have made their LOI Shamrock Rovers debut under Bradley in the past 5 years, the club and the much vaunted academy so far has been a springboard for either UK or other LOI clubs but contributing little for the first team. I might have to make some time to do a breakdown of Pats and Bohs in the same period
They are giving players debuts but there is a reluctance to persist with young developing players when the club is set with a target to win the league every season, this looks to be catching up with them now with the squad's age profile and some evidence of the team past their peak in the league and Europe, interestingly no debuts made by Bradley so far this season if Rovers are going to address their age profile they are going to need some of the players debuting since 2021 and current under 19s to become established quickly
Gavin Bazunu - debut 2018 now with Southampton/ROI international
Brandon Kavanagh - debut 2018 now with Derry City
Dean Williams - debut 2018 now with Bohemians
Eric Abulu - debut 2019 now with Ballymun United
Sean Callan - debut 2019 last seen 2022 with Bray Wanderers
James Furlong - debut 2019 now with Brighton & Hove Albion
Thomas Oluwa - debut 2019 now with Wexford on loan from Waterford
Max Murphy - debut 2020 now with Bray Wanderers
Darragh Nugent - debut 2020 still with Shamrock Rovers
Zayd Abada - debut 2021 only one first team appearance still with Shamrock Rovers U19s
Kieran Cruise - debut 2021 still with Shamrock Rovers first team and U19s
Dylan Duffy - debut 2021 now with Lincoln City
Aidomo Emakhu - debut 2021 now with Millwall
Dean McMenamy - debut 2021 now with Waterford
Conan Noonan - debut 2021 still with Shamrock Rovers first team and U19s
Justin Ferizaj - debut 2022 still with Shamrock Rovers
Carl Lennox - debut 2022 still with Shamrock Rovers first team and U19s
Gideon Tetteh - debut 2022 still with Shamrock Rovers first team and U19s
patsdad
19/07/2023, 5:31 PM
Just looking through young Shamrock Rovers players to have made their LOI Shamrock Rovers debut under Bradley in the past 5 years, the club and the much vaunted academy so far has been a springboard for either UK or other LOI clubs but contributing little for the first team. I might have to make some time to do a breakdown of Pats and Bohs in the same period
As regards Pats, Sam Curtis and Jamie Lennon start every week, Adam Murphy most weeks and Ben McCormack frequently. All from the Academy. The same was true of Darragh Burns and James Abankwah until their moves.
Jd2793
19/07/2023, 5:33 PM
They are giving players debuts but there is a reluctance to persist with young developing players when the club is set with a target to win the league every season, this looks to be catching up with them now with the squad's age profile and some evidence of the team past their peak in the league and Europe, interestingly no debuts made by Bradley so far this season if Rovers are going to address their age profile they are going to need some of the players debuting since 2021 and current under 19s to become established quickly
Gavin Bazunu - debut 2018 now with Southampton/ROI international
Brandon Kavanagh - debut 2018 now with Derry City
Dean Williams - debut 2018 now with Bohemians
Eric Abulu - debut 2019 now with Ballymun United
Sean Callan - debut 2019 last seen 2022 with Bray Wanderers
James Furlong - debut 2019 now with Brighton & Hove Albion
Thomas Oluwa - debut 2019 now with Wexford on loan from Waterford
Max Murphy - debut 2020 now with Bray Wanderers
Darragh Nugent - debut 2020 still with Shamrock Rovers
Zayd Abada - debut 2021 only one first team appearance still with Shamrock Rovers U19s
Kieran Cruise - debut 2021 still with Shamrock Rovers first team and U19s
Dylan Duffy - debut 2021 now with Lincoln City
Aidomo Emakhu - debut 2021 now with Millwall
Dean McMenamy - debut 2021 now with Waterford
Conan Noonan - debut 2021 still with Shamrock Rovers first team and U19s
Justin Ferizaj - debut 2022 still with Shamrock Rovers
Carl Lennox - debut 2022 still with Shamrock Rovers first team and U19s
Gideon Tetteh - debut 2022 still with Shamrock Rovers first team and U19s
sean boyd??
agree though they must be disappointed with the lack of academy lads that cut it for LOI prem level. theyve nailed the UK market in terms of selling on the young lads but the lack of any real starter quality player in their squad now is telling. i suppose if ferizaj hadnt fallen out with the club he'd be there or there abouts
19/07/2023, 5:42 PM
Did Zefi never play first team? I know he played for Rovers B in the First Division. Probably too young to have featured for the firsts I guess?
Duffy was on loan at UCD last year of course, so Rovers didn't get any first-team benefit out of him. I wonder how many games that lot played between them?
Philosophizer
19/07/2023, 5:50 PM
That’s Rovers fecked so!
kksaints
19/07/2023, 6:00 PM
Could be wrong but does that result guarantee group stage football for a team from either Iceland or the Faroes. That'd be a first I think.
total hoofball
19/07/2023, 6:06 PM
sean boyd??
agree though they must be disappointed with the lack of academy lads that cut it for LOI prem level. theyve nailed the UK market in terms of selling on the young lads but the lack of any real starter quality player in their squad now is telling. i suppose if ferizaj hadnt fallen out with the club he'd be there or there abouts
Boyd made his Rovers LOI debut in 2016 under Fenlon just before Bradley took over, I picked past 5 years as it's better timeframe to lo with Bradley established under his tenure and the academy ramping up with facilities opening in 2017
Transfermarket has alot of good info on this type of stuff. Rovers over the past decade have been a springboard for alot of the LOI and UK opportunities but the lack of medium-to-long term friction with the first team fighting to win league titles and win in Europe is an interesting study considering their weight the FAI/LOI are placing on the academy structures and the underage system for the growth of the LOI and National Team
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/shamrock-rovers/jugendarbeit/verein/3258
total hoofball
19/07/2023, 6:10 PM
Did Zefi never play first team? I know he played for Rovers B in the First Division. Probably too young to have featured for the firsts I guess?
Duffy was on loan at UCD last year of course, so Rovers didn't get any first-team benefit out of him. I wonder how many games that lot played between them?
No Zefi never made a first team appearance of any sort, he made 3 starts 8 sub appearance scoring 1 goal for the 'B' team in that 2020 First Division season when he was 15
Duffy made 3 sub Premier Division appearances for Rovers. Almost similar to Zefi at the 'B' team he made 3 starts 7 sub appearances scoring 1 goal
Could be some players like Duffy trying to come out of the U19s looking at restricted first team opportunities at Rovers that going to UCD or someone else to play regularly may be a better option if they want to eventually go professional in the LOI or to the UK
ger121
19/07/2023, 6:12 PM
Could be wrong but does that result guarantee group stage football for a team from either Iceland or the Faroes. That'd be a first I think.
PO guaranteed. Need to win one more round in anyone of the 3 completions to get to the group stage.
19/07/2023, 6:13 PM
Not yet I think - they're guaranteed to reach the Conference League playoffs at present. But they could still be beaten in their next three ties
kksaints
19/07/2023, 6:17 PM
Not yet I think - they're guaranteed to reach the Conference League playoffs at present. But they could still be beaten in their next three ties
But aren't Ki ve Breidbilk in the next round so one of them has to go through and then is guaranteed Conference League group stage at least.
19/07/2023, 6:27 PM
Nope - Breidablik play Copenhagen
When have Rovers ever got a result like this in a meaningful game in Europe?
That’s Rovers fecked so!
No less than they deserve.
sbgawa
19/07/2023, 6:56 PM
Yes whoever wins is in group stages
MichaelCherrito
19/07/2023, 7:00 PM
When have Rovers ever got a result like this in a meaningful game in Europe?
In Belgrade 12 years ago?
Larne one down against HJK after nearly half and hour.
In Belgrade 12 years ago?
Larne one down against HJK after nearly half and hour.
Lol having to go back 12 years to find a result! If I recall Bradley wasn't the manager then.
MichaelCherrito
19/07/2023, 7:18 PM
Klaksvik will play Hacken of Sweden while Breidablik will play FC Copenhaguen. Assuming both of them lose their tie, they will go into the Europa League qualifiers; win one of two ties and lose the other and you go into the Conference League group stages as Rovers did last season after beating Shkupi & losing to Ferencavaros in those two rounds. Win both ties and you go into the Europa league group stages.
19/07/2023, 7:25 PM
Brandywell sold out for tomorrow night.
I know we've essentially sold out every game for the past two seasons, but it's still surprising at £25 a head.
D24Saint
19/07/2023, 7:29 PM
Dudelange sent back fifty tickets and they got snapped up in a minute. What was in the past a good crowd tomorrow will seem strange with only 2500 at it.
joey B
19/07/2023, 7:57 PM
Larne level with HJK,need a goal in the last 20 minutes to force extra time....