View Full Version : 2023 FAI Cup

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18

21/08/2023, 12:38 PM
Funny watching Mahers antics during the shootout. Feck all use it did him.

Best laugh I had during the match was the co-commentator (Sean Hargan I think ) looking for Derry to inject some “p1ss” into the game !

oriel
21/08/2023, 1:39 PM
Derry looked miles better than Pats for most of it ,Joe Redmond is immense though and should be looking for a raise or a move acros the water,terrible penalties from Duffy and Mulreaney who was shocking when he came on I thought....
Cup looks wide open now,Pats,Bohs and Dundalk will fancy their chances...

Will all depend on the draw, 2 of these 3 could easily draw each other in the next round then it opens up even more. Dundalk are not playing well so the draw even more important, but if you have hopes of getting to the final you will need to beat decent clubs at some point, actually keep forgetting we did that already in the first round !

We only played Bohs once in a final in modern times (2002) but I don't think we have ever played Pats in one.

21/08/2023, 2:42 PM
Funny watching Mahers antics during the shootout. Feck all use it did him.

Did he pick up a few things from that ass of a Tobol keeper? He was one chap that Id like to see get a right slap for his messing and smugness (not a Derry fan obviously and he got right under my skin so he is getting it right I suppose).

nr637
21/08/2023, 2:51 PM
Philip Quinn had an excellent article in the Mail on Sunday today about the FAIs lack of preparation with the storm last friday and the FAI cup. He has some great points that the FAI have more immediate realities which is a sad reflection !

Any links to same, please!

Shinkicker
21/08/2023, 3:03 PM
Well aware of Rocky’s clubs, he’s a mate.
was surprised to hear a bohs fan mention him as a Sligo player first, that’s all .
no offence meant.
Absolutely none taken.

21/08/2023, 3:45 PM
Interesting thoughts there.

Might it also be that in the absence of a realistic chance of attaining Senior status, clubs are instead concentrating on expanding their community involvement - boys/girls/women/Football For All etc? So that if they do raise a bit of money (Social club, sponsorship, advertising etc), rather than paying 1st team players a wage, or investing in the stadium to attract extra spectators etc, they instead divert it towards subsidising membership, or extending playing facilities (eg artificial training pitches)?

Also, may it be harder now to attract players from GAA, if there is a barrier to how far they can go in our code? Am open to correction here, but if GAA is raising its game generally (no pun intended), including improving facilities and (shall we say) pushing the boundaries of Amateurism etc, might it be that Intermediate soccer is now less attractive by comparison?

In the past Inter/Junior clubs would have looked down their noses at LoI, without any significant reason or stats to do so. Often they were clubs full of LoI rejects and so behaved like big fish in a very small pond. Their desire to move up grades to senior level wouldnt have been on the agenda as it would have acknowledged that the senior game was the actual elite level of the domestic game. There was no amount of suggesting that European paricipation, higher levels of support, zero non-league winners of trophes where senior and lower levels met etc would convince these clubs that they were not as good as they believed. There may have been an argument for player wages being comparable to 1st division and lower premier clubs at dfferent stages but not for a sustained period. They did have a collective srength at FAI AGM's which held development back and allowed the likes of Delaney to buy votes and help install himself as an autocratic head and then also bin rules that were to prevent squaled dens of corrupt cronies. So in relation to yer highlighted point I dont think that there is a ceiling now that is any more than was non-league clubs' choice in the past in the main.

Im not so sure that GAA has significantly pushed on on very local parish levels in terms of facilties, relatively small scale stuff - better numbers of qualified coaches yes for sure. Regional projects have really kicked on since they finished with the 3/4 stadium done at Croke Park - PuíC, Semple, Casement (in due course) and and a good few others with single stand improvements done and is impressive albeit a bit of a sickener with the single sport policy, and is where the very obvious gap that could influence and attract the young multi sport player to specialise.

Amateurism never existed in GAA for as long as Ive been on this planet. Latter 1990's when still in my teens and at a well known Sports/PE University in England. lads were flown home regularly for club games, even my own small intermediate level parish shower in one of the weakest GAA counties. Figures of £10-15k were not unknown but were called a 'generous contribution to player education', and not necessarily elite players as much depended on having a particular surname synonymous with the locality for 1000 generations. Those figures climbed for intercounty level and more mature player and simply written off as sundry expenses. Mick O'Dwyer is a good one - was on just shy of 6 figures at Wicklow and that info came directly from the then county chairman at a meeting at Croke Park but due to the one off nature of the payment it was 'compenation for player development consultancy'. In an effort to be balanced, Im sure every GAA club at very GAA level had different methods of compensating those involved in the game and those not compensated should always wonder why they were deemed as expendable!!

All this in mind the poorly resourced and run domestic Association Football 'Garrison Game' (as it was always referred to in my old primary school) has shown quite a remarkable resiliance. Yup decades behind where it could be as a result but wasnt dealt a deadly blow for all the attempts. Survived internal civil wars also. Ive rambled a tad above (its between rounds and 1/4 final draw so no harm) but we still have growing vibrancy around the game which is often enhanced by the cup. I hope that the weakening non-league game is part of the strengthening of the senior game we are seeing, a shift in the powerbases, and that it isnt something that down the line will become apparent as some sort of dip in participation/standards etc. that could spread to the senior level. If it is then early identifying why and doing something about it - hence my questions and probing as to what has caused this trend. Maybe it is directly to do with dismissal of a former CEO and the resources he provided while cementing his position.

SPXcyan
21/08/2023, 3:46 PM
Potential relegation/play-off final rehearsals tonight, enjoy!

21/08/2023, 5:29 PM
Potential relegation/play-off final rehearsals tonight, enjoy!

Sensible hedging of bets lol. Drogheda could get sucked in though I think they are too good not to pick up enough points. Never discount a UCD lazarus effort.... and of course in LoI There is always the slightest of chances of an asterisk:eek:

I am looking forward to the Munster derby game and It will be super entertainment if UCD pull ahead in that best of 1 and a half fixture! As far as th 1/4 final draw UCD and probably Cork tbh would probably be the preferred sides to progress. Nobody would wnat to have to go to Waterfor or Galway in a cup tie as things stand and with the premier division sides not really being that consistant over the season in general.

1.05mins and Cork ahead, very soft goal.

SPXcyan
21/08/2023, 6:52 PM
1 minute is all was needed for Cork, I'm off to the local Rebels pub! feck!

2 Year Contract
21/08/2023, 7:05 PM
Cork and Galway both go 2-0 up

SPXcyan
21/08/2023, 7:07 PM
The gulf in quality is evident, our lads are just.. Sargeant lad, wake up.

joey B
21/08/2023, 7:18 PM
Waterford came into it a bit since,had a good chance to score….

I’d really fear for us against a Premier division outfit,we could get hockeyed I think….

21/08/2023, 7:33 PM
I’d really fear for us against a Premier division outfit,we could get hockeyed I think….

Or even against Galway...

21/08/2023, 7:35 PM
Galway 4 up at the break

joey B
21/08/2023, 7:47 PM
Or even against Galway...

Yeah they’re a Premier division team in all but name…

I would be interested to see how they’d get on against a Pats or Bohs though….

21/08/2023, 8:14 PM
Ollie Horgan has managed to get himself sent off. They're 4-0 up, what could he possibly be that upset about? He must cost a fortune in fines on top of his wages.

21/08/2023, 8:17 PM
Will all depend on the draw, 2 of these 3 could easily draw each other in the next round then it opens up even more. Dundalk are not playing well so the draw even more important, but if you have hopes of getting to the final you will need to beat decent clubs at some point, actually keep forgetting we did that already in the first round !

We only played Bohs once in a final in modern times (2002) but I don't think we have ever played Pats in one.

I think we beat you in the semis in 2012 in Oriel, and in 2021 at Richmond.

21/08/2023, 8:18 PM
Waterfrod just look like a side who need to play against better opposition weekly and not so much that there is a big Premier/1st Division gap. If they are promoted there is something there to work with. Not watching UCD v Galway but 6 goals in less than a full 90mins tells its own story. Galway are well resourced, have had a few bites at promotion so knew whats needed ie Ollie Horgan! I doubt anyone will get an easy night if drawn away to Galway.

Ollie Horgan has managed to get himself sent off. They're 4-0 up, what could he possibly be that upset about? He must cost a fortune in fines on top of his wages.

He just prefers the view from the stand, get the boots off and the feet up and wanted to give Caulfield the chance to feel reponsible for an odd win here and there!

The Bowler
21/08/2023, 8:21 PM
An ignominious end to Mylers time at UCD. Things caught up with him ultimately, players won't play for him.

21/08/2023, 8:27 PM
I think we beat you in the semis in 2012 in Oriel, and in 2021 at Richmond.

Played 2 St Pats in 2012. Dundalk reached a ridiculous amount of FAI Cup semis last decade thinking back now. While we won the odd one there was plenty of disappointment too!

21/08/2023, 8:50 PM
Any links to same, please!

I saw the article in a newsagents I dont have the paper at all Nr637 sorry!

21/08/2023, 9:38 PM
When is the draw for the next round of games ?

sidewayspasser
21/08/2023, 9:44 PM
Tomorrow. Not sure about the time though.

2 Year Contract
21/08/2023, 9:44 PM
When is the draw for the next round of games ?
Tomorrow at 12:30 live on the FAI YouTube channel

21/08/2023, 11:11 PM
How difficult is it to organise having it on RTE evening News? there's only 8 teams to draw so hardly time consuming. If thats a big no from the RTE TV, after all they have to cut corners on the massive cost of holding a draw, then how about radio, simultaneous on the news channel/website. Little bit of give back from the service national broadcaster after cooking the books - or maybe WeAre Rovers and the health and safety department might deem it a risk to a tv crews life....somehow...and an excuse not to play ball unless its oval shaped or plastered with O'Neills. What about Virgin Media either or others, it cant be that hard to get a 3 minute slot on some budget early evening or radio show if not prime tv news.

22/08/2023, 7:54 AM

It's utterly embarrassing

sbgawa
22/08/2023, 8:00 AM
How difficult is it to organise having it on RTE evening News? there's only 8 teams to draw so hardly time consuming. If thats a big no from the RTE TV, after all they have to cut corners on the massive cost of holding a draw, then how about radio, simultaneous on the news channel/website. Little bit of give back from the service national broadcaster after cooking the books - or maybe WeAre Rovers and the health and safety department might deem it a risk to a tv crews life....somehow...and an excuse not to play ball unless its oval shaped or plastered with O'Neills. What about Virgin Media either or others, it cant be that hard to get a 3 minute slot on some budget early evening or radio show if not prime tv news.

Who really cares about the cup anyway? id forgotten it was even being played

DCSIL
22/08/2023, 9:50 AM

League of Ireland Group chat(is that still a thing?) will have a whip round to pay for it.

Waterfrod just look like a side who need to play against better opposition weekly and not so much that there is a big Premier/1st Division gap. If they are promoted there is something there to work with. Not watching UCD v Galway but 6 goals in less than a full 90mins tells its own story. Galway are well resourced, have had a few bites at promotion so knew whats needed ie Ollie Horgan! I doubt anyone will get an easy night if drawn away to Galway.

He just prefers the view from the stand, get the boots off and the feet up and wanted to give Caulfield the chance to feel reponsible for an odd win here and there!

This fantasy about Horgan being a great manager is Bizarre, like Ian Ryan, even the Harps fans admitted he was finished.

Would you take him if Stephen O'Donnell was to leave?

2 Year Contract
22/08/2023, 11:37 AM
Drogheda v Bohs
Finn Harps v Pats
Galway v Dundalk
Cork v Wexford

To be played the weekend of 15/16/17 September

joey B
22/08/2023, 11:38 AM
Drogheda United v Bohemians
Finn Harps v St Pat’s
Galway United v Dundalk
Cork City v Wexford

Pats and Cork will be happy
Bohs not so much
Galway/Dundalk a real intriguing tie aswell….

Jack B
22/08/2023, 11:50 AM
Not ideal but will take that, better than the draws Bohs and Dundalk got anyway.

22/08/2023, 12:00 PM
Galway/Dundalk a real intriguing tie aswell….
Yep; the real standout I think. Helps that there's no big PL ties (in part because the previous rounds got them out of the way).

You'd probably fancy Bohs, Cork, Pat's and Galway to come out of that? Dundalk and Drogheda could come through instead; don't fancy Harps or Wexford though

Straightstory
22/08/2023, 12:08 PM
[/B]
I'd be very surprised if you don't get Drogheda next - probably at home.

As I predicted yesterday - although surprisingly Drogheda get the home draw. Further prediction: Bohs equalise in last minute then win on penalties. (I hate those b******s; I'm not even going to bother watching it).

patsdad
22/08/2023, 12:15 PM
Just had a look at Harps home form this season - wow! 2 wins, 7 draws, 5 defeats from 14 league games. Ballybofey obviously doesn't carry the threat it used to (unless it's a wet and windy evening like it often is, where anything can happen on that pitch). Hard to see beyond Pats and Cork for two of the semi-final spots (and that's a Final pairing that would pack the Aviva). I genuinely think the other two ties are 50-50, given that Bohs and Dundalk are away.

Jd2793
22/08/2023, 12:16 PM
class draw getting wexford at home. it was a stroll in the park against waterford last night, the gulf between the 2 leagues is still big-ish. shouldnt be any excuses on our side, must be a win with a semi final on the card.

Olander
22/08/2023, 12:47 PM
it was a stroll in the park against waterford last night, the gulf between the 2 leagues is still big-ish.
Tell that to the UCD team you failed to beat at home a few weeks ago.

Men against boys at the Bowl.

Somehow UCD managed to play even worse than they did on Friday night. A walk in the park for GUFC last night.

oriel
22/08/2023, 1:14 PM
Happy enough with Galway away, nice trip over and we avoided Pats and Bohs away and also Drogs away too.

Obv wanted a home draw, but look its the QF and hard to get an easy one, plus we have already beaten the favs in R1, its just our form is so hot and cold but unbeaten in last 4 I suppose.

Not sure FD is that good a standard this season, but this is a tricky game all the same, very.

thebronze14
22/08/2023, 1:51 PM
Looking forward to another big night in FP. I'm under no illusions we stand little chance, just hope we put it up to them. When we've conceded early this year against the better teams we have tended to fall apart which is a major worry against the best team we've faced

22/08/2023, 3:02 PM
League of Ireland Group chat(is that still a thing?) will have a whip round to pay for it.

This fantasy about Horgan being a great manager is Bizarre, like Ian Ryan, even the Harps fans admitted he was finished.

Would you take him if Stephen O'Donnell was to leave?

Well the tone of my post was meant more to be a roll eyes at Ollie sticking to his M.O. Also that I still think Caulfield is massively overrated. But for the sake of argument, and it is more anacdotal than analytical but since Horgan joined the backroom team at Galway they have a more ruthless. The have been by a long distance the most resourced 1st division club for the last what 3-4 seasons and under Caulfield alone botched promotion. Horgan may have run his course at Harps but he knew how to get out of the first division and also battle relegation. That sort of experience is invaluabe for a promotion push. Caulfield wasnt able to get his Cork side fighting when facing relegation and with a healthy budget. If Horgan had had a Sadlier and a McEneff at Harps they wouldnt have been bench warming, he was willing to play ballers if he had them. Caulfield would bench Lionel Messi in his prime in favour for a brute force player. When Horgan wasnt completely hamstrung by a limited squad on a small budget they were able to play some decent football and Finn Park was never a nice place to go especially during the odd season that there was squad continuity. Would I pick him over O'Donnell, of course not. Do I think he is great manager, no but he has shown that he can be an effective manager with the hand he is is dealt more often than not. It was time for him to move on but I also think if he had stayed the current crop of Harps players would be better organised at minimum and probably would be hanging on to the coat tails of promotion play-off spots.

From a non footballing point of view he is the adorable rogue, more mischief that malice and brings/brough an entertainment value to the league. Caulfield is more of the chip on the shoulder gruff type imo and sees himself as better than he is. It would be a surprise to hear Horgan say that he works hard but wouldnt class himself as the mutts nuts. So basically I believe he has made an important contribution to this Galways dominant promotion season. There are quite a number of past Dundalk managers that Id have had Horgan ahead of. Maybe he is marmite, maybe there is a Derry slew on the opinion of him, but he was no mug at Harps and it'd be no shock that if he had the stomach for it and ended up at a Treaty/Bray type club that he could progress them.

So not greatness not not to be dismissed for what he did manage. It probably suits hi to be an assistant now, like a semi retirement, coaching without an entire clu sitting on his shoulders. Id like to see him in the hotseat again somewhere and if so time will tell whether he is finished or not.

As for the draw, it isnt a good one for Dundalk even if its just that there is winning momentum and consistancy behind Galway. I wouldnt have Dundalk as significant favourites due to our own inconsistency. ED Park will be packed and it will take one of the performances of the season to ensure Dundalk get through this fixture. Hopefully a good result this weekend can cause us to kick on but we've been saying the same all season. Im not being miserable but I think the semis lineup will be Bohs/Pats/GalwayCork with Bohs the eventual winners - just cause Pats are more likely to be still on a title hunt. Ill be very happy to be proven wrong between now and November with a Dundalk FC double....

oriel
22/08/2023, 4:12 PM
Dundalk will be favourites to beat Galway, but that's not to say its going to happen !

Bohs won't fancy Drogs away, another tight one to call but they too will be favs for that tie, I'd imagine with Pats flying they will get past FH in normal time (or if there is no replays this year for QF), and I can't see any shocks with Cork City strong favs to beat Wexford.

So Pats and Cork City for me are the only two definities, but who knows.

EatYerGreens
22/08/2023, 4:55 PM
Current Intermediate Cup holders..

The gulf in standard between LOI and non-LOI is massive. It was almost embarrassing watching Skerries against Harps the other night at times, with no disrespect to Skerries, but it was men against boys.

Makes up for all those times over the years that people playing in Intermediate and Junior clubs thought the LOI was a pub league :cool:

EatYerGreens
22/08/2023, 5:03 PM
You may well be right.

As against that, recent LOI experiences in Europe may suggest otherwise, so that it is in fact the Intermediate sides are regressing? (Or a bit of both?).

I don't think you can contrast non-league vs LOI results with LOI in Europe. What I suspect is happening is 2 unrelated dynamics:

1) The LOI has improved, hence the gap with non-league clubs has widened.

2) Other previously-weak nations in Europe have improved at a faster rate than the LOI. Hence some of our European results.

At the same time, results suggest that there are other leagues which have regressed in Europe in recent years e.g. Finland.

EatYerGreens
22/08/2023, 5:12 PM
Somehow UCD managed to play even worse than they did on Friday night. A walk in the park for GUFC last night.

I did predict on here that Galway would hammer UCD, which some of your own fans disputed :cool:

ger121
22/08/2023, 11:15 PM
Could have been worse but could have been better. Done ok this season against Drogheda but on their day they really can beat anyone.

nr637
23/08/2023, 8:08 AM
Cork got the draw they wanted, home, Wexford, avoid Dundalk, Drogheda, Bohemians & St Pats...phew! ;)

Yossarian
23/08/2023, 8:18 AM
Glad we avoided Pats and Bohs. Would have preferred Wexford or Harps but it’s still not the worst draw having to play a first division team.

sbgawa
23/08/2023, 1:04 PM
Be gas if it was Drogs, Harps, Galway and Cork in the semi's.....4 home wins.
Would make the annual 4th place is good enough for Europe into a squeeky bum fight for 3rd spot.
Says it all about how Rovers are playing at the moment that im not sure i want that to happen

legendz
23/08/2023, 1:21 PM
I'm in the minority but I'd like to see a two team playoff for the final European spot through the league. The lowest profile qualifying spot would get a high profile playoff.

Onapointoforder
23/08/2023, 6:27 PM
class draw getting wexford at home. it was a stroll in the park against waterford last night, the gulf between the 2 leagues is still big-ish. shouldnt be any excuses on our side, must be a win with a semi final on the card.

The commentator for Cork-Waterford said it would be good to get a nice easy draw in QF - like Wexford at home !!! Might come back to bite him in the ass - counting chickens and all that..

23/08/2023, 7:39 PM
I'm in the minority but I'd like to see a two team playoff for the final European spot through the league. The lowest profile qualifying spot would get a high profile playoff.

If Dundalk finish 5th and dont win the cup I will back you fully on this!