View Full Version : 2023 FAI Cup

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18

Shearer
22/07/2023, 8:27 AM
Pitch inspection at the Markets Field once again.

The ground owners have a lot to answer for.

Dermobohs
22/07/2023, 8:43 AM
Why does Damien Duff always end up in rows after games? Mad from someone with his career behind him....
Narkiest man I’ve ever seen.
When you see other managers in the league just ignore opposition supporters and just shake hands with opponents without this play acting and licking up to the nutters in the shell support

Jd2793
22/07/2023, 9:03 AM
Just in from Drogheda, they were the far better team. Sligo woeful yet again. Russell said himself they shouldn't have been ahead and Drogs the better side. When is it actually going to get better at Sligo? Been on a steady decline for well over a year now

says a lot about city that sligo wiped the floor with us last week. think there is good players up there but not sure about russell. drogs are really good though and in nearly every other season (in the 10 ive been following loi) they'd be closer to 4th than 9th

2 Year Contract
22/07/2023, 10:06 AM
Can’t get my head around James Clarke not getting a start for Bohs and Devine instead opting to continuously play a defensive midfielder ahead of him in the attacking midfield role

joey B
22/07/2023, 10:08 AM
Market’s Field passed a pitch inspection..

Philosophizer
22/07/2023, 10:59 AM
Anyone know why highlights of the cup matches aren’t posted on YouTube?
I understand non league teams might not have the necessary equipment but I’d imagine LOI teams like Bohs and Kerry etc recorded the matches and followed all the usual process to put highlights together??

22/07/2023, 11:22 AM
Anyone know why highlights of the cup matches aren’t posted on YouTube?
I understand non league teams might not have the necessary equipment but I’d imagine LOI teams like Bohs and Kerry etc recorded the matches and followed all the usual process to put highlights together??

Harps will have highlights later today from Kilbarrack.

legendz
22/07/2023, 11:35 AM
Kerry's game is available on LOITV anyway. The playback feature is useful. Premier Division highlights seem to always be available in good time. First Division highlights then a day or later.

ger121
22/07/2023, 1:08 PM
Club officials from Kilbarrack were first class.

Supporters were less than pleasant.

Ground should never have been allowed to host an FAI Cup game.

We done a professional job, despite Rory Kelly making one or two saves, there was only one team going to win the match, and we were well off our best. They've a couple of handy players in the team, but the gulf in standard from LSL to a mid to low First Division club was fairly evident.

Thank f*ck it's over with though and we move on to the next round.

I see you got a nice bottle of lucozade to the head. Hope you are ok.

22/07/2023, 1:34 PM
Was a penalty.
And shels need no lessons on throwing themselves to the floor, getting soft frees all second half. Duff clearly had a go at mcloughlin at ht and the big eejit decided to leave intimidated.
Also missed the off the ball on Nowak first half.

Ah no Dermo, it wasn’t. In real time at the game it may have looked it, I even thought so myself watching on tv, but the replay showed t was a clear dive from Connolly.

joey B
22/07/2023, 1:37 PM
Bray 2 up on Cockhill after half an hour,no upset there either....

*now 3 up....

Dermobohs
22/07/2023, 1:41 PM
Ah no Dermo, it wasn’t. In real time at the game it may have looked it, I even thought so myself watching on tv, but the replay showed t was a clear dive from Connolly.
Fair enough tony, mea culpa

Johnnie C
22/07/2023, 1:57 PM
Fine effort by Ringmahon in Kerry last night, better team in the first half, Kerry upped it in second half as Ringmahon ran out of steam. Playing the 1st round in July gives non league sides very little chance. Don't know why they moved 1st round from end of August.

joey B
22/07/2023, 3:01 PM
Cork and Bray through....

2 Year Contract
22/07/2023, 3:07 PM
Does anyone know if Galway's LOI TV stream is a manned camera or if it’s the pixellot one still? I’m considering buying it but don’t want to bother if it’s the pixellot camera

joey B
22/07/2023, 3:11 PM
Does anyone know if Galway's LOI TV stream is a manned camera or if it’s the pixellot one still? I’m considering buying it but don’t want to bother if it’s the pixellot camera

Its been manned all season so I presume it'll be today aswell...

joey B
22/07/2023, 4:25 PM
Bangor went ahead in the first minute against Galway,it’s level now but the Non League have done OK in the first 25 odd minutes…

joey B
22/07/2023, 4:51 PM
Galway 3-1 up now and cruising....

22/07/2023, 5:06 PM
I see you got a nice bottle of lucozade to the head. Hope you are ok.

Apart from the lump on the head, all good..thanks for your concern.

Not so sure about the handful of lads who were followed to the dart station afterwards and set upon though. Few black eyes and bruises for them to come away with lovely stories of Kilbarrack.

22/07/2023, 5:32 PM
Apart from the lump on the head, all good..thanks for your concern.

Not so sure about the handful of lads who were followed to the dart station afterwards and set upon though. Few black eyes and bruises for them to come away with lovely stories of Kilbarrack.

Thats shocking to hear Nigel and glad you are all right. had read the match report in the sun and it mentioned that incident. Were they even Kilbarrack fans?

pateen
22/07/2023, 5:40 PM
Any word from the Waterford match

culloty82
22/07/2023, 5:46 PM
5-0 up and cruising.

joey B
22/07/2023, 5:58 PM
Rockmount beat Gorey 2-1 earlier aswell,2 more Non league sides will join them tommorow.

22/07/2023, 6:07 PM
Thats shocking to hear Nigel and glad you are all right. had read the match report in the sun and it mentioned that incident. Were they even Kilbarrack fans?

Mostly a crowd of kids and teenagers only there to cause hassle at the game Marty. A lot of them got thrown out, only to just stand outside the cage and attempt to throw more stuff over the top of that. Not entirely sure where the lads came from at the dart station but it could have been worse if it weren't for staff at the dart.

culloty82
22/07/2023, 6:16 PM
Rockmount beat Gorey 2-1 earlier aswell,2 more Non league sides will join them tommorow.

An interesting stat - since 2018 inclusive, only one non-league club has eliminated an LoI side, when Maynooth defeated Cobh 3-2, so certainly a strong case that the current cup calendar mitigates against upsets, as mentioned in previous pages. That said, if Rockmount were to draw a First Division club in the last 16, you definitely wouldn't back against them.

Philosophizer
22/07/2023, 6:50 PM
An interesting stat - since 2018 inclusive, only one non-league club has eliminated an LoI side, when Maynooth defeated Cobh 3-2, so certainly a strong case that the current cup calendar mitigates against upsets, as mentioned in previous pages. That said, if Rockmount were to draw a First Division club in the last 16, you definitely wouldn't back against them.
Wasn’t there a stat last year (or maybe the year before) that none of the non league sides had even scored a goal against LOI opposition across all the ties?
The LOI is obviously pulling further away from the non league clubs.

2 Year Contract
22/07/2023, 7:01 PM
Wasn’t there a stat last year (or maybe the year before) that none of the non league sides had even scored a goal against LOI opposition across all the ties?

The aggregate score of LOI clubs vs non LOI clubs last year was 41-0 in 10 matches.

In this year's 6 matches so far it’s 18-2

culloty82
22/07/2023, 7:59 PM
Albeit with the slight caveat that four of those ties last season involved Premier clubs, compared with none to date this term.

Dermobohs
22/07/2023, 8:09 PM
If they can’t provide the requisite security then they should forfeit home advantage.or play at the nearest loi ground and pay for garda presence.

Dermobohs
22/07/2023, 8:10 PM
Anywhere we can watch highlights of the games? Don’t appear on loi connect

cláirseach
22/07/2023, 9:43 PM
Six ties between the First Division and Junior / Intermediate sides, and all six won by the First Division clubs. I wonder will this prompt a rethink of the scheduling?

(The four ties between the first and second tiers all being won by Premier sides remains a live possibility. Two more swings tomorrow.)

Dermobohs
23/07/2023, 9:45 AM
Plenty of object throwers in dalymount it would appear, I did see a cb out three of four plastic bottles ****ed on from our side(block a), but duff is alleging coins and apparently the Lino in front of the shels crowd was pelted after the peno call.
Total ****ing morons, fines we don’t need, either club. Fans we don’t want either really.

2 Year Contract
23/07/2023, 9:46 AM
Just saw pictures of John Delaney at the St Michael’s vs Waterford game yesterday smiling and shaking hands with people involved with both clubs. Absolutely embarrassing behaviour from anyone that welcomes that crook in any way

Dermobohs
23/07/2023, 9:47 AM
Just saw pictures of John Delaney at the St Michael’s vs Waterford game yesterday smiling and shaking hands with people involved with both clubs. Absolutely embarrassing behaviour from anyone that welcomes that crook in any way
Was thinking that myself, still has lots of cronies down Munster way it appears.

DCWA
23/07/2023, 11:13 AM

He looked after them down that way obviously isn’t forgotten for all his flaws there are some clubs that owe him a lot… he took advantage of a **** heap of an organisation and lived a good life for himself from it fair play I’d done the same if had the chance and brains…

total hoofball
23/07/2023, 11:18 AM

Here below is Non-League vs LOI statistics since 2007. I'm counting 'A' Championship teams during 2008-2011 as non-league.. Penalty shootout outcomes are not counted as a result these are counted as a draw. PPG = Points per Game i.e. 3 points for win/1 point for a draw. GDPG = Goal Difference per Game

40 defeats in 41 games for Non-League teams in the past 5 FAI Cup seasons is pretty damning even considering results were not great 10-15 years ago

I would have to try find time to work through further season backwards and something similar for Premier Division vs First Division I feel may also tell a growing gap

P
W
D
L
GF
GA
GD
PPG
GDPG

2023*

D24Saint
23/07/2023, 11:22 AM
Looking forward to the trip to Longford it been a while. Looks to be a decent crowd travelling down with 570 away tickets sold. It’s s pity there is no hotel in the town anymore, I’m having to stay up the road in Roscommon.

joey B
23/07/2023, 11:58 AM
Lucan equalise through Dave Mooney in the 89th minute and then conceed again in the 91st,sickner for them....

23/07/2023, 2:02 PM
Looking forward to the trip to Longford it been a while. Looks to be a decent crowd travelling down with 570 away tickets sold. It’s s pity there is no hotel in the town anymore, I’m having to stay up the road in Roscommon.

In actual fact there is one D24Saint . the Longford Arms Hotel but they never seem to be on ie booking.com.

23/07/2023, 2:03 PM
Lucan equalise through Dave Mooney in the 89th minute and then conceed again in the 91st,sickner for them....

Now thats a blast from the past DM its a wonder he never came back to the LOI after his spell in the UK.

23/07/2023, 2:06 PM
In actual fact there is one D24Saint . the Longford Arms Hotel but they never seem to be on ie booking.com.

AFAIK the Bar and carvery are open but they don't appear to be offering rooms as they are housing Ukrainian refugees.

Philosophizer
23/07/2023, 2:12 PM
Here below is Non-League vs LOI statistics since 2007. I'm counting 'A' Championship teams during 2008-2011 as non-league.. Penalty shootout outcomes are not counted as a result these are counted as a draw. PPG = Points per Game i.e. 3 points for win/1 point for a draw. GDPG = Goal Difference per Game

40 defeats in 41 games for Non-League teams in the past 5 FAI Cup seasons is pretty damning even considering results were not great 10-15 years ago

I would have to try find time to work through further season backwards and something similar for Premier Division vs First Division I feel may also tell a growing gap

P
W
D
L
GF
GA
GD
PPG
GDPG

2023*

Fair play!
Clear trend in the last 5 years of LOI pulling away from non league.

oriel
23/07/2023, 2:45 PM

Staying over, hotel job, on a school night, early round of the cup?????..............the good times must be back D24;)

Sure why not, enjoy it, can relax and have a few drinks, bit of grub etc now.

Looking forward to our game later at 5pm, pity its so damn wet, hopefully it will clear up a little.

culloty82
23/07/2023, 4:36 PM
Is the last 16 draw this week?

WoodquayBoy
23/07/2023, 4:41 PM
Tuesday evening on GameOn on 2FM apparently

kksaints
23/07/2023, 4:47 PM
Johnny Kenny with miss of the season today.

ger121
23/07/2023, 5:32 PM

That really was unforgivable. Rovers struggling to break down a 10 man Dundalk with a number of players missing.

Philosophizer
23/07/2023, 5:35 PM
He could have his own miss of the season competition. Poor lad must have no confidence in front of goal at the moment.
But his general play and linking up is quite good when I’ve seen him. Just needs some goals to get his confidence back.

sbgawa
23/07/2023, 5:36 PM
As soon as gaffney went off we were goosed

joey B
23/07/2023, 5:57 PM
Great win for Dundalk,Rovers were abject though.....