View Full Version : 2023 FAI Cup
Pages :
[
17]
Nah Nah Nah Nah
12/11/2023, 3:06 PM
Nothing happening at half time but they couldn’t do the decent thing and name out the cork 98 team player by player. Rushed off as quickly as they came on
And then there’s this
https://x.com/sei2001/status/1723703057085509912?s=46&t=X_wthh81hc_IALu9TUBX1A
Stadium and atmosphere look deadly. Incredible how high Ireland is on that list.
In the context of cup finals usually being very cagey games this has been a very entertaining first half. Early goal was huge for the spectacle.
12/11/2023, 3:09 PM
"hugely negative impact on the match" is a bit of hyperbole.
Not great that it was cancelled so late on, but with the number of flares and eejits throwing them about everywhere, it's probably for the best.
joey B
12/11/2023, 3:19 PM
Bohs all at sea with balls into the box …..
12/11/2023, 3:19 PM
43,881 the crowd
That's actually a bit disappointing given it was a 48,000 sellout.
Still a fantastic crowd obviously
listowelceltic
12/11/2023, 3:25 PM
I think 48,881 announced
SeanDrog
12/11/2023, 3:32 PM
67mims and players getting cramp - bit early - maybe long season kicking in
12/11/2023, 3:34 PM
I think 48,881 announced
listowelceltic
12/11/2023, 3:37 PM
Yea your right just announced..my eyesight failing me again..
Nah Nah Nah Nah
12/11/2023, 3:49 PM
I think 48,881 announced
43 on the big screen
placid casual
12/11/2023, 4:06 PM
Very impressive from pats, particularly with the age profile of the team, especially the young guys coming on as substitutes and making a real difference to the game. A good season for pats with Europe and a trophy.
As for the boez ... Hahahaha.. what's another year eh !!
12/11/2023, 4:08 PM
Congrats to Pats. Good value for the win and was largely expected really. If they can hold on to their young guns for another couple of years, they could really have a tilt at the title.
12/11/2023, 4:12 PM
Congrats to Pats. Good value for the win and was largely expected really. If they can hold on to their young guns for another couple of years, they could really have a tilt at the title.
Yeah, Bohs weren't at the races today even with the good start. Only one team going to win it once Pat's equalised
Great to see Tommy Lonergan hitting the goal that sealed it too.
Shels in Europe for the first time since Ollie was around; that'll be interesting.
Don't see anyone challenging the top three next year, but not sure if they'll finish in the same order.
sbgawa
12/11/2023, 4:17 PM
Climate target achieved for bohs. No European travel next year. Very eco friendly. Lambert will be happy
joey B
12/11/2023, 4:19 PM
Pats well deserved it but Devines subs were woeful, bringing on Kirk and OSullivan when you’re behind with Williams and Akintunde even Twardek on the bench didn’t make much sense,at least they might have a goal in them….
sbgawa
12/11/2023, 4:21 PM
Pats well deserved it but Devines subs were woeful, bringing on Kirk and OSullivan when you’re behind with Williams and Akintunde even Twardek on the bench didn’t make much sense,at least they might have a goal in them….
I was thinking exactly that. Seemed very strange at the time
Philosophizer
12/11/2023, 4:26 PM
Just another poor performance from Devine. You’d have to say he’s underperformed for the year overall, despite the good start. Will he be at Bohs for the start of next season?
12/11/2023, 4:29 PM
It was a very Devine like decision that leaves everyone except him scratching heads.
sbgawa
12/11/2023, 4:33 PM
Daly has done some job for Pats since he took over. Unbelievable transformation
redarmyfaction
12/11/2023, 4:50 PM
Irish Times has some obscure egg chasing event leading it's sport coverage.
12/11/2023, 4:57 PM
Has the Cup Final report there when I look?
D24Saint
12/11/2023, 5:00 PM
Daly has done some job for Pats since he took over. Unbelievable transformation
Compared to the start of the season it’s been chalk and cheese in terms of workrate and organisation. It can’t be underestimated the role Redmond has played since his return. The younger lads really flourished in that second half. Happy days are here again.
Jolly Red Giant
12/11/2023, 5:04 PM
Went and checked this on wiki actually - if the crowd is 48,000 then it's the seventh-highest crowd for any domestic Cup final across Europe this year. (I don't see any of the ones with no reported attendance matching that)
That's incredible stuff.
Jaysus - 6,500 for the Faroe Islands - there are only 53,000 people living in the place - the equivalent attendance in Ireland per head would be over 600,000.
ger121
12/11/2023, 5:37 PM
I see the fire officer and FAI would not let displays go ahead. Bizarre stuff.
12/11/2023, 6:21 PM
What flower displays?
RealJohn91
12/11/2023, 7:11 PM
Absolutely bizarre decisions from Devine. The dogs on the street know Coote is off to Pat's so it was no surprise he never broke a sweat after coming on.
Less said the better about O'Sullivan too, maybe the worse player in Bohs history when you factor in how much money we're wasting on him. How he played 300 professional games in the UK I'll never know. Would struggle to get his game in the LSL.
ontheotherhand
12/11/2023, 8:14 PM
Just another poor performance from Devine. You’d have to say he’s underperformed for the year overall, despite the good start. Will he be at Bohs for the start of next season?
All Devine seems to bring is good starts. In seasons and games alike. Good motivator, poor tactician and definitely not a strategist.
kksaints
12/11/2023, 11:03 PM
What a day and what a win! Thought we were under pressure for a fair bit of the match particularly after our 2nd goal but the lads dug in and what a relief it was when Lonergan scored the third. Lennon, Redmond and Curtis all excellent. Mulraney's free kick assists need more praise, they were right on the money. Norman was so much more improved then when he initially joined. Mark Doyle has got a good bit of stick including from myself but he's scored some crucial goals this year and always put his effort in. Leavy since he's gotten fit has been fantastic. Lyness has been a super keeper for someone who was initially signed as cover for Danny Rogers.Forrester didn't have his day today but he's our record cup winner now and is always capable of something special. Breslin is always solid and does his job excellently. Carty is another who will have better days but he never puts in less than 100%.
The subs worked brilliantly, Melia is supremely talented for a 16 year old. He'll be a star. Murphy is another super talent. McClelland is such a versatile workhorse. He can play basically anywhere and is good for a few goals a season. Nolan was excellent today when he came on, definitely his best performance so far. And finally Lonergan has had a rough enough season for us but he's scored some crucial goals and key times for us and today's was certainly crucial and a relief.
Credit must go to John Daly for how he's picked the team up after Clancy left. I was sceptical enough when he was hired full-time but he's certainly done a great job. It hasn't always been pretty but the results have been there. And today's was the best.
Finally is has to be said what a spectacle today was. Atmosphere electric even with the pre match displays ruined by health & safety. A full house that sounded like one, an exciting match with a good number of chances and a good quality of play from both sides. Cup Finals are always special but this one was certainly a level above. Hopefully the league and us in particular can keep the momentum going.
Another Bohemia
13/11/2023, 7:34 AM
Held off posting yesterday because of how poorly Bohs played in the 2nd half and how frustrating it was. I think Devine's time is done at Bohs. I was fine with the Kirk for McManus sub at the time. McManus was lucky not to get 2 yellows in the space of 10 mins in the second half so he needed to come off and moving Flores to mid field should give a bit more creativity to the Middle. Outside of that the subs were a disaster. Coote looked like he already had a Pat's jersey on and if he has signed for them as the rumour suggests should not have been on the bench never mind the field . What's more confusing is Grant was having a decent game and gave us plenty of width which just disappeared when Coote came on.
Onto John O'Sullivan. You probably won't see a worse cameo in a cup final than his. It's one thing to be anonymous and another to essentially gift the opposition a goal. I don't know what Williams, Twardek etc have done to Devine that O'Sullivan is getting minutes ahead of them but it must have been bad because you could probably pick one of the u19s and get a better game out of them than you get from O'Sullivan.
The game as a whole played out like our season. First quarter we were good, second quarter not great but showed some life. It was all downhill after half time and I could see it coming a mile away.
I think the club need to be brave and bring someone in from outside the league. I fear we have too many players in the squad living off reputation within the league and that needs to change if anything is going to change at the club.
Jd2793
13/11/2023, 8:56 AM
do bohs have many on deals already for next year? seems like a clear out is probably due. time has come for a change of keeper aswell. seen enough of talbot as an outsider this year. wont get near challenging with him in goal or some of those lads at the back.
redobit
13/11/2023, 9:12 AM
Im not saying I agree with the decision but hardly surprising. Displays are made of loads of light combustible materials, mixed that with loads of flares ... its a recipe for disaster. Even worse if the sheets were covering fans.
An awful pity tho, considering the amount of work that goes into them.
Another Bohemia
13/11/2023, 9:30 AM
do bohs have many on deals already for next year? seems like a clear out is probably due. time has come for a change of keeper aswell. seen enough of talbot as an outsider this year. wont get near challenging with him in goal or some of those lads at the back.
Talbot I think has 1 more year but I hope the club look at Sheppard from Dundalk as he would be a significant improvement.
Out of contract are
Novak
Radkowski (end of loan)
Holzman (end of loan)
Flores
Twardek
O'Sullivan
McDaid
Coote
Basically no defenders signed up for next year (not a massive loss tbh) but with Talbot flapping about behind them I'd wonder how good any defence can be
Jd2793
13/11/2023, 10:04 AM
Talbot I think has 1 more year but I hope the club look at Sheppard from Dundalk as he would be a significant improvement.
Out of contract are
Novak
Radkowski (end of loan)
Holzman (end of loan)
Flores
Twardek
O'Sullivan
McDaid
Coote
Basically no defenders signed up for next year (not a massive loss tbh) but with Talbot flapping about behind them I'd wonder how good any defence can be
has twardek done much since coming back? when you list it out like that there isnt any great loss there imo. coote , when hes bothered, is very good. doesnt seem like hes all that bothered in the 2nd half of the season anyway. how has flores done this year? he was one i thought would do well when he moved initially. would splash the cash on him in the first division if possible. assume he'll have interest from waterford or other pd clubs though.
Another Bohemia
13/11/2023, 11:58 AM
has twardek done much since coming back? when you list it out like that there isnt any great loss there imo. coote , when hes bothered, is very good. doesnt seem like hes all that bothered in the 2nd half of the season anyway. how has flores done this year? he was one i thought would do well when he moved initially. would splash the cash on him in the first division if possible. assume he'll have interest from waterford or other pd clubs though.
Twardek was poison last year. This year he hasn't really had many starts but I feel he played better than O'Sullivan has but that's a pretty low bar. Flores started the season great and then fell off. He's had to play LB quite a bit because Kirk has been a liability more often than not. Flores is no great loss imo. His ability to kick a ball really covers for the fact that he's slow, can't tackle and doesn't really want to be a driving force in a team. Lots of holes on this Bohs team and it will be interesting to see if there are any pegs to fill them identified because every Bohs fan you speak to knows were lacking in leadership, defenders and good keepers.
D24Saint
13/11/2023, 12:23 PM
Only football can have you feeling so absolutely awful and incredible at the same time. A mental & long day yesterday and its why you put in the hard miles traveling across Europe and up & down the country.
ger121
13/11/2023, 12:50 PM
Our frailties from the season came to the fore again yesterday. We start the game well in the 1st half but then fade as the half progressed. Can’t defend to save our lives over the course of 90 minutes and exposed twice from set pieces. Did well after going 2-1 down but yet again we don’t make it count, unlike Pat’s who are clinical. Pat’s defence was excellent. Defended as a unit and got block after block in when needed.
If I am brutally honest, don’t think many of our lads would make the Pat’s startling XI. Afolabi probably and that says it all for me.The players aren’t good enough and neither is the manager. Club has been stagnant on the pitch since 2021 bar some highs in the ECL and getting to a couple of cup finals. Just not good enough.
EatYerGreens
13/11/2023, 1:37 PM
"hugely negative impact on the match" is a bit of hyperbole.
Not great that it was cancelled so late on, but with the number of flares and eejits throwing them about everywhere, it's probably for the best.
I'd agree with this. Large amounts of plastic sheeting and lots of flares are not a good combination. Totally agree that saying it would have any impact at all on the game itself was a bit self-inflating. Often big displayss can be quite cringeworthy if we're honest.
Jack B
14/11/2023, 8:20 AM
I've had a lovely couple of days.
Some spectacle on the day. Kept catching myself looking around and not quite believing that there were that many people in attendance of a FAI Cup final. If only clubs were really able to build on this in the immediate term, but a special feeling all the same.
Can't speak highly enough of the job that Daly has done, it's not always the most convincing but he has an often extremely young team playing some mature football and I think that's what won out on the day. The likes of Redmond and Lennon are the players you want in that kind of environment.
2 Year Contract
14/11/2023, 4:36 PM
A serious few days that I’m only now starting to recover from now. From the nightclub with over 1k fans and players on Sunday night, to a jammed McDowells with fans and squad there with live music by none other than the Wolfe Tones it’s been unbelievable.
The match itself was similar to the 2-0 win in Dalymount a few weeks back. For any of the pressure Bohs put on pats in spells, Lyness had a relatively handy days work between the sticks. Once we took the lead I was confident we’d win it and from then on there was very little nerves for the rest of the game - by contrast to the 2021 final where just about every fan was a bundle of nerves throughout. As mentioned Jon Daly has statistically been the best manager in the country since he took over 30 games ago and although he’s not spoken about for manager of the year because he doesn’t come out with wild rants in interviews, I’m more than happy to have him working away successfully in the shadows with one of the youngest if not the youngest sides in the league (now that UCD have gone down) while people big up other managers with about half the win percentage he’s got.
I can’t decide which Declan Devine quote is funnier, the one from October 2022 when he said he wasn’t coming down to live in Dublin away from his family just to finish 6th (and then finishing their 'title charge' in 6th place), or the one from last week after the Cork game when he got on a microphone to tell a stand full of fans that hate him that he’s going to be “bring back that f-ing cup next week”. Sometimes it’s best not to be a mouth unless you can back it up Declan, although I hope he never changes as it’s incredibly amusing for the rest of us :)
thebronze14
14/11/2023, 9:23 PM
A serious few days that I’m only now starting to recover from now. From the nightclub with over 1k fans and players on Sunday night, to a jammed McDowells with fans and squad there with live music by none other than the Wolfe Tones it’s been unbelievable.
The match itself was similar to the 2-0 win in Dalymount a few weeks back. For any of the pressure Bohs put on pats in spells, Lyness had a relatively handy days work between the sticks. Once we took the lead I was confident we’d win it and from then on there was very little nerves for the rest of the game - by contrast to the 2021 final where just about every fan was a bundle of nerves throughout. As mentioned Jon Daly has statistically been the best manager in the country since he took over 30 games ago and although he’s not spoken about for manager of the year because he doesn’t come out with wild rants in interviews, I’m more than happy to have him working away successfully in the shadows with one of the youngest if not the youngest sides in the league (now that UCD have gone down) while people big up other managers with about half the win percentage he’s got.
I can’t decide which Declan Devine quote is funnier, the one from October 2022 when he said he wasn’t coming down to live in Dublin away from his family just to finish 6th (and then finishing their 'title charge' in 6th place), or the one from last week after the Cork game when he got on a microphone to tell a stand full of fans that hate him that he’s going to be “bring back that f-ing cup next week”. Sometimes it’s best not to be a mouth unless you can back it up Declan, although I hope he never changes as it’s incredibly amusing for the rest of us :)
Which nightclub was the celebrations in?
14/11/2023, 11:37 PM
I've had a lovely couple of days.
Some spectacle on the day. Kept catching myself looking around and not quite believing that there were that many people in attendance of a FAI Cup final. If only clubs were really able to build on this in the immediate term, but a special feeling all the same.
Can't speak highly enough of the job that Daly has done, it's not always the most convincing but he has an often extremely young team playing some mature football and I think that's what won out on the day. The likes of Redmond and Lennon are the players you want in that kind of environment.
Yeah, it was kind of surreal to look around a packed Aviva and realise you were at a Cup Final. The two finals against Bohs have been very special occasions. After all the disappointments in finals, now we can’t stop winning them ;).
I think our defence is What makes the difference. Someone else mentioned the amount of blocks they get in. Since the return of Joe Redmond from injury we’ve been so solid at the back. Jon Daly deserves great credit for the job he’s done. I didn’t realise his family are still living in Scotland. Hope he doesn’t decide to go back over there.
Straightstory
15/11/2023, 11:54 AM
A serious few days that I’m only now starting to recover from now. From the nightclub with over 1k fans and players on Sunday night, to a jammed McDowells with fans and squad there with live music by none other than the Wolfe Tones it’s been unbelievable. :)
I can't imagine anything more ruinous to a party atmosphere than the Wolf Tones turning up.
15/11/2023, 5:07 PM
I can't imagine anything more ruinous to a party atmosphere than the Wolf Tones turning up.
Alright Joe Duffy calm down.
EatYerGreens
15/11/2023, 5:23 PM
Given that the FAI Cup has now become established as a bit of a thing (not just this year, but the 3 attendances since Covid have all been good), surely 2024 would be a good time to bring the League Cup back again?
Why have only 2 possible trophies available to any club to win (and only one final) when traditionally there used to be 3? What was the rationale for not restoring the League Cup after Covid anyway?
Will be interesting to see if they re-introduce the LC for 2024, it's about the most significant change I can see the FAI introducing ahead of the new season but won't be surprised either way.
If it were up to me I'd give the Presidents Cup teams a bye round 1 and have it kicking off the the Friday before the league opener as a kind of higher profile friendly as a curtain raiser. Half the teams being out before the league season starts would make it a lot easier to schedule.
In an ideal world you'd throw in the likes of CK, Klub Kildare, Monaghan, Mayo, etc to get them a taste but I'm sure there's probably reasons why that won't be able to work.
I'd love as well if it was a little bit different to every other cup competition in some way. Like straight to pens after the 90 or minimum 6 players under 23 to emphasize it as a youth development tournament.
legendz
15/11/2023, 7:21 PM
Given that the FAI Cup has now become established as a bit of a thing (not just this year, but the 3 attendances since Covid have all been good), surely 2024 would be a good time to bring the League Cup back again?
Why have only 2 possible trophies available to any club to win (and only one final) when traditionally there used to be 3? What was the rationale for not restoring the League Cup after Covid anyway?
The FAI Cup is established in the second half of the season. The League Cup, if it is to return, needs to fit in in the first half of the season.
My tuppence worth is that the President's Cup should expand to 6 teams. The top 3 in the league, FAI Cup winner, League Cup winner and defending President's Cup winner. Places can be allocated to the next best placed teams in the league if cup winners are already qualified through the league.
The League Cup can then be contested by the remaining 14 clubs. Clubs who have qualified for Europe will only have to play 2 or 3 rounds at most in the President's Cup. Clubs in the League Cup would only have to play 3 or 4 rounds at most.
The President's Cup would probably require one game a month in March, April and May. The League Cup would probably require one game a month in March, April, May and June.
The early rounds of the League Cup didn't often attract crowd. With a tiered cup format, the league winner and FAI Cup winner can receive a bye to the President's Cup semi-finals. 4 other teams are contesting two quarter-finals to join them.
After 12 teams starting in the League Cup First Round, it'll be straight into quarter-final then with lower half Premier Division clubs and top half First Division clubs vying for silverware.
15/11/2023, 9:52 PM
Needs more pyramid.
JC_GUFC
16/11/2023, 8:58 AM
Needs more pyramid.
Didn't Lyons get rid of their pyramid teabags!?
I'd like to see the League Cup return but the problem is the schedule is already pretty full. I think there are 4 midweek round of fixtures as is.
If you exclude the 4 European teams it could just be a flat 16 draw, so just 4 matches for the eventual finalists.
EatYerGreens
16/11/2023, 12:26 PM
The FAI Cup is established in the second half of the season. The League Cup, if it is to return, needs to fit in in the first half of the season.
My tuppence worth is that the President's Cup should expand to 6 teams. The top 3 in the league, FAI Cup winner, League Cup winner and defending President's Cup winner. Places can be allocated to the next best placed teams in the league if cup winners are already qualified through the league.
The League Cup can then be contested by the remaining 14 clubs. Clubs who have qualified for Europe will only have to play 2 or 3 rounds at most in the President's Cup. Clubs in the League Cup would only have to play 3 or 4 rounds at most.
The President's Cup would probably require one game a month in March, April and May. The League Cup would probably require one game a month in March, April, May and June.
The early rounds of the League Cup didn't often attract crowd. With a tiered cup format, the league winner and FAI Cup winner can receive a bye to the President's Cup semi-finals. 4 other teams are contesting two quarter-finals to join them.
After 12 teams starting in the League Cup First Round, it'll be straight into quarter-final then with lower half Premier Division clubs and top half First Division clubs vying for silverware.
I don't see the point in expanding the President's Cup to just a few more teams. Why do we need an exclusice trophy, with a fairly artifical grounds for qualification? It makes sense currently as the League winner vs cup winner. And I could understand if we had a Winter league and the 4 European teams needed something to get them match-ready. But I see no benefit in it just being an artifical few teams. Why?
I like the League Cup because it is open to EVERY team in the league. And in addiiton it has also traditionally given a few non-league clubs with potential the chance to experience big games, good crowds, and get a taste of what the LOI could be if they ever wanted to join. Plus it's an established trophy and echoes what a lot of leagues elsewhere have as well, so has some inherent value. You could see an all-Dublin League Cup final selling out Tallaght for example. Why would we not want another showpiece event like that?
EatYerGreens
16/11/2023, 12:27 PM
Needs more pyramid.
Said the Egyptian FA....