View Full Version : 2023 FAI Cup

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18

joey B
10/11/2023, 1:39 PM
Less than 4000 tickets left for the game on Sunday…..

EatYerGreens
10/11/2023, 1:56 PM
Less than 4000 tickets left for the game on Sunday…..

Presumably that's of tickets on sale now?

Total capacity for the stadium is 51,700. With seat kills that would mean somewhere in the region of 50,000 total potential capacity for this. So surely this doesn't mean that over 46,000 tickets have been sold so far? :eek:

2 Year Contract
10/11/2023, 1:59 PM
Apparently capacity is 48,000 after seat kills (which would therefore be around 4k seats covered), meaning approx 44k have been sold

EatYerGreens
10/11/2023, 2:05 PM
Apparently capacity is 48,000 after seat kills (which would therefore be around 4k seats covered), meaning approx 44k have been sold

Wow - that's impressive! Seems to have been a late surge in purchases.

This really could get close to a sell out :love:

10/11/2023, 8:08 PM
Fantastic to see those figures. Hopefully it’s a good game, and more importantly, a Pats win ;)

10/11/2023, 9:22 PM
Still cant wrap the hea around sell out league games, possibly a sold out cup final in the national stadium - its a LoI fans wishlist for foever! It would be soooo good if the final ends up a cracking game, large vocal support and comes across on tv. If we can make this sort of progress organically just imagine how far we could go as a league with all the proper backing. My Mystic Smug moment...that a mens Irish international side will play in a finals with dometic players in the squad within 15 years!!

joey B
10/11/2023, 10:08 PM
Still cant wrap the hea around sell out league games, possibly a sold out cup final in the national stadium - its a LoI fans wishlist for foever! It would be soooo good if the final ends up a cracking game, large vocal support and comes across on tv. If we can make this sort of progress organically just imagine how far we could go as a league with all the proper backing. My Mystic Smug moment...that a mens Irish international side will play in a finals with dometic players in the squad within 15 years!!

Then you remember the FAI is still FAI-ING!!!

Shinkicker
11/11/2023, 6:45 AM
An article in the Irish Times saying ticket sales approaching 45k so your numbers are very close to being correct. I know not everyone will turn up for various reasons but the tickets are Sold. Has the making of a great day we just need the teams to put on a show.

11/11/2023, 10:29 AM
Please God no fecking eejits hijack the day, media were only two delighted to jump on negative headlines last few years. Surely security will be tighter this time around given flashpoint was same location two years running.

Dermobohs
11/11/2023, 10:48 AM
Please God no fecking eejits hijack the day, media were only two delighted to jump on negative headlines last few years. Surely security will be tighter this time around given flashpoint was same location two years running.

Amen to that pal, great day out for the proper fans hopefully the gob****es don’t show.

D24Saint
11/11/2023, 10:53 AM
Asking a lot for no incidents on the day. The way society is going certain types will act up , my wish would be no big incident like Irishtown in 21.

joey B
11/11/2023, 10:53 AM
Just over a thousand tickets left now….

Dermobohs
11/11/2023, 12:59 PM
Asking a lot for no incidents on the day. The way society is going certain types will act up , my wish would be no big incident like Irishtown in 21.

Always be idiots around in a crowd of that size I suppose but we can hope.

Calcio Jack
11/11/2023, 4:47 PM
Always be idiots around in a crowd of that size I suppose but we can hope.

I particularly hope there are no pro Palestine or pro Israeli idiots/supporters .. nothing more annoying than having a major sports event ruined.

Dermobohs
11/11/2023, 4:51 PM
I particularly hope there are no pro Palestine or pro Israeli idiots/supporters .. nothing more annoying than having a major sports event ruined.
Weeeeelll seeing as you mention it I will be wearing me Palestinian bohs shirt, I’d say the place will be rammed with flags too. **** it, as far as I’m concerned it’s grand, but the main focus is on the match as it should be.

Calcio Jack
11/11/2023, 5:03 PM
Weeeeelll seeing as you mention it I will be wearing me Palestinian bohs shirt, I’d say the place will be rammed with flags too. **** it, as far as I’m concerned it’s grand, but the main focus is on the match as it should be.

Well that’s the privilege we enjoy by living in a democracy - enjoy your day out.

Dermobohs
11/11/2023, 5:19 PM
Yep Jackie boy, this idiot supporter will be enjoying it thanks!
Win lose or foookin penalties I love a final.

Pablo Escobar
11/11/2023, 6:18 PM
This will be my first FAI cup final as a neutral a the best of luck luck to both teams and sets of supporters. But I echo the above. Please, please no Green Street stuff on the day.

2 Year Contract
11/11/2023, 6:24 PM
There’s currently a grand total of 38 (thirty eight) premium tickets left and that’s it for the whole ground. Those will undoubtedly be snapped up in the next hour or so. Unbelievable stuff to sell out the Aviva. This post-Covid LOI is something else

11/11/2023, 6:34 PM

Express whatever but pay the fine! Not there would be one at a domestic final but costing a club a players yealy salary in fines from UEFA for a single political 'fleg' albeit on a different stage, by a very niche league club...well by all means protest but pony up and dont let another carry the can! I know ts ridiculous to try to seperate politics from sport when sport is based on tribalism and competition between nation states but sometimes a football match should just be a footbal match!

legendz
11/11/2023, 6:53 PM
Currently 1 ticket remaining!
https://www.ticketmaster.ie/sports-direct-men-s-fai-cup-dublin-12-11-2023/event/18005EB1AC504994

sbgawa
11/11/2023, 7:16 PM
Is there a match on tommorow?
Im in pre season mode

Dermobohs
11/11/2023, 7:17 PM
Im in pre season mode
???? nice one

ger121
11/11/2023, 7:20 PM
Im in pre season mode

1 ticket left so still time.

11/11/2023, 7:25 PM
1 ticket left so still time.

Is it a returned juvinile ticket?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
11/11/2023, 7:32 PM
That’s assuming Ticketmaster have actually sold all the blocks. You’d never know with them.

11/11/2023, 7:36 PM
20 years since we won our first one, I believe they'll be presented at the game. Alan Mathews the manager at the time, and now director of football or technical director or whatever it is this year at Pats. I always enjoyed trips to Pats more than Bohs (mainly as we won a lot more and McDowell's was great) so while I don't care too much I will have a slight preference for Pats.

sbgawa
11/11/2023, 7:53 PM
Is it a returned juvinile ticket?

Harsh ;)

Jamesie
11/11/2023, 7:56 PM
Express whatever but pay the fine! Not there would be one at a domestic final but costing a club a players yealy salary in fines from UEFA for a single political 'fleg' albeit on a different stage, by a very niche league club...well by all means protest but pony up and dont let another carry the can! I know ts ridiculous to try to seperate politics from sport when sport is based on tribalism and competition between nation states but sometimes a football match should just be a footbal match!
What fines are you talking about...this is an FAI event. There's Palestine flags at every LOI match for years and tomorrow will be only more so. Its the least we can do.....we'll enjoy the day too though

legendz
11/11/2023, 8:29 PM
Seems to be a sellout unless they haven't released tickets for any section
https://twitter.com/IrishPropaganda/status/1723450314559197484?t=jdW-40dYtGHAxnewIEj6IA&s=19

11/11/2023, 9:14 PM
Match is now sold out.

We've come a long way from Tolka.

11/11/2023, 10:17 PM
What fines are you talking about...this is an FAI event. There's Palestine flags at every LOI match for years and tomorrow will be only more so. Its the least we can do.....we'll enjoy the day too though

Read the 1st line of my post again..

Apologies for not explaining context - fans/Ulltras that misbehave and incurr fines repeatably should be made responsible for the fines, pyro likely the main isssue in the stadium tomorrow. My reference to UEFA was to do with a €25k fine for one Palestinian flag at a European qualifyer in Oriel a number of years back and I do think it was regularly at all games so some times there is a time and a place for these things, the club warned fans of the risk and was ugnored, I was thinking generally rather than just secifically abou tomorrow. I dont paricularly like football being used as political tool. or that waering certain clubs colours are an expression of identity/ethnicity and not in a good way eg the odd old firm types in Ni and to a lesser extent in Ireland these days, we all know some. So again can a football match just be a football match rather than a hijacked platform for some to express their opinions on non sporing matters.

DCWA
12/11/2023, 1:12 AM
Ive been following Derry since about 2000 and by extension League of Ireland obviously and I have never seen demand like it in Derry and obviously across the country, we really need to make sure to facilitate the extra numbers while we can, have a feeling this is a massive crossroads for Irish football either build on it now or lose it to globalisation/capitalisation if football (for us that means England).

ontheotherhand
12/11/2023, 9:26 AM
A sell out cup final. Wow.

Kudos to both clubs and all the clubs who have been growing the game. I reckon a few other combos would have done it too and I don't say that to take away from it being done...I just think we are heading in a really exciting direction.

And shame on those working against it all and/or ignoring that the time is ripe for investment.

D24Saint
12/11/2023, 9:36 AM
I didn’t think I’d see it tbh. I remember one Sunday in Richmond twenty years back v Monaghan United and five or six hundred showed up. It’s unbelievable to see 48k at a LOI match.

Philosophizer
12/11/2023, 9:55 AM
I didn’t think I’d see it tbh. I remember one Sunday in Richmond twenty years back v Monaghan United and five or six hundred showed up. It’s unbelievable to see 48k at a LOI match.
It’s incredible all right.
You don’t even have to go that far back. i remember only about 10 yrs ago you could easily ramble up to Richmond or Dalyer on a Fri night and pay at the gate and there might be less than 1k in attendance, depending on the opponent.
I honestly thought the only chance we’d ever have of filling the Aviva would be for a Rovers V Bohs final. Pats have proved me wrong though. Fair play to them. They’ve increased their support massively in recent years. Fair play!
The success of the underage national leagues can’t be underestimated in all this. And we haven’t even maximised that fully.

D24Saint
12/11/2023, 10:04 AM
It’s incredible all right.
You don’t even have to go that far back. i remember only about 10 yrs ago you could easily ramble up to Richmond or Dalyer on a Fri night and pay at the gate and there might be less than 1k in attendance, depending on the opponent.
I honestly thought the only chance we’d ever have of filling the Aviva would be for a Rovers V Bohs final. Pats have proved me wrong though. Fair play to them. They’ve increased their support massively in recent years. Fair play!
The success of the underage national leagues can’t be underestimated in all this. And we haven’t even maximised that fully.

Yeah it’s a huge element. As our Director of football Ger O’Brien said the other night at the cup preview night , we now have proper football clubs not just football teams. The increasing popularity of the women’s game will also help clubs grow we are aiming to have a senior women’s teams in the next few years.

ger121
12/11/2023, 10:51 AM
Anyone objecting to Palestine flags btw is a rat. Victory to the resistance. Eradicate Israel. A state who’s entire existance is premised upon religious teaching (ie fantasy) the only other comparable “state” in my lifetime would be the Islamic caliphate formed by ISIS yet no one mentions their right to defend theirselves.

I know it is not the thread but it has been mentioned. May they meet only destruction.

Getting the auld phone out at 3:30 in the morning after a night on the gargle, is not always the wisest choice.

Bunny Kelly
12/11/2023, 11:51 AM
I saw Bohs are allocated as the 'home' team but will they be in their home colours or are sides using the game to flog a few alternative jerseys?

Buller
12/11/2023, 12:17 PM
Match is now sold out.

We've come a long way from Tolka.

Unbelievable. Never thought we'd ever see these crowds.

12/11/2023, 1:10 PM
Is Devine on his way back from a wedding?

Philosophizer
12/11/2023, 1:34 PM
Is Devine on his way back from a wedding?
Crowds for the dart were insane. People were left stranded on platforms out as far as Killester, and that’s 6 stations out from Lansdowne. Never seen the dart so crowded even for an Ireland match.

LTFC
12/11/2023, 1:58 PM
Looks magnificent in Aviva today, fantastic to see.

red bellied
12/11/2023, 2:01 PM
Why are the front rows all cordoned off?

12/11/2023, 2:04 PM
Maybe to try prevent pitch invasions?

Amazing crowd. Can't be many in Europe that'd have a Cup final crowd higher than it. 12k for the Turkish Cup final last year (with Fenerbahce in it) for example. 34k in Denmark. 47k in Scotland, so it's higher even than that. Mental stuff.

sbgawa
12/11/2023, 2:10 PM
Never a peno

sbgawa
12/11/2023, 2:11 PM
Loi refs struke again

Nah Nah Nah Nah
12/11/2023, 2:13 PM
How does the pats keeper have the same colours as the officials

12/11/2023, 2:13 PM
Peno all day

12/11/2023, 2:41 PM
Maybe to try prevent pitch invasions?

Amazing crowd. Can't be many in Europe that'd have a Cup final crowd higher than it. 12k for the Turkish Cup final last year (with Fenerbahce in it) for example. 34k in Denmark. 47k in Scotland, so it's higher even than that. Mental stuff.
Went and checked this on wiki actually - if the crowd is 48,000 then it's the seventh-highest crowd for any domestic Cup final across Europe this year. (I don't see any of the ones with no reported attendance matching that)

That's incredible stuff.

1 England 83,179
2 France 78,038
3 Germany 74,667
4 Italy 68,500
5 Spain 55,579
6 Russia 53,425
7 Ireland 48,000
8 Scotland 47,247
9 Poland 44,701
10 Belgium 42,000
11 Netherlands 40,650