View Full Version : FAI Cup 2017
Pages :
[
9]
sundance kid
02/10/2017, 2:03 PM
Let he who is without sin cast the first stone..
or the first coin, so to speak
Kingswood Rover
02/10/2017, 2:21 PM
I know we have a lot of red cards but i for one am glad because half the tools playing for us since Mick O Neill wouldn't kick a traffic cone. Getting everyone to hate us and building that siege mentality Stephen mmmm yes i like it. Missing players because of an international call up if true is a load of me long lad, tell the FAI fliss off.
02/10/2017, 2:52 PM
So if the thinking the pitch would go on fire is irrelevant then the flares in the Aviva were "unacceptable and criminal" as well I guess.
We all have our problems and I'm happy to accept Rovers have more of them but every team has muppets....
Yes, obviously. The FAI aren't exactly setting the best example.
All clubs have problems, but Shamrock Rovers have more than most. There's an unwillingness on the part of Shamrock Rovers to address the consistent acts of their fans. There's also an unwillingness of some (many?) Shamrock Rovers fans to address it.
From flares, to violence, to pitch invasions, we hear how it's 'not that bad', 'only celebrating a goal', 'other clubs are bad too', etc. By downplaying the actions, Shamrock Rovers only encourage it to happen again.
I'm not saying the problem can be solved easily, nor am I saying that the rest of the league are angels, but there's a responsibility on clubs and fans to call out violence, criminality and general scumbaggery when they see it. Shamrock Rovers would save themselves a lot of hassle (and cash) if they got on board with that.
02/10/2017, 3:14 PM
How much damage was actually done to the pitch?
Minimum €15k.
02/10/2017, 3:29 PM
I thought the worst part of the day was being spat at, and having coins thrown at me in the stand by older dundalk fans who should really know better. But i'm sure that was probably just my imagination.
Spitting on someone is an assault and should have been reported to the Gardai present and the culprit pointed out- its disgusting aside from unacceptable! Coin throwing too though harder to identify the culprit as the distance frm the origins of the missile as opposed to the proximity of spitting being much greater. - id be very surprised by those who sit in the stand behaving in the manner claimed but being on the stand terrace i cannot comment to refute the allegations. It was Rovers fan who was ejected from the stand for his conduct and it was a Rovers fan that climbed the gate to get in to the stand to cause aggro, the attempts to kick down the dividing barrier, the breaking of the sponsorship hoarding and the flaer are much more visable and obvious from available footage and pictures. if there is a case to be answered by Dundalk fans in the stand it is less obvious so obviously the more visual acts get the greater attention rightly or wrongly.
sbgawa
02/10/2017, 4:28 PM
You might be surprised nesta but it is absolutely true, I'm sure if you ask some of the Dundalk fans in the stand they would have seen it and couldn't have been happy, plenty of the Rovers people there particularly those who had brought wives and kids said they will never be back to Oriel .........although that probably won't upset the guys spitting and throwing coins.
That doesn't condone or excuse our muppets I the slightest.
All this outrage at Shams fans is hilarious. Reminds me a bit of that Savage Eye Joe Duffy sketch.
The reality (which is unpalatable to some) is that a lot of people love it when they roll into town; the extra tension, the big support, the bit of trouble, seeing how the cops fail to handle it and so on.
People like to say they are offended by it but deep down they want it to happen and would be disappointed if it didn't.
wonder88
02/10/2017, 8:06 PM
One thing about the current Shamrock R team and support that is impressive is how they celebrate getting a result. Yesterday on telly reminded me of the scenes after the 2-1 win down here in Galway a while back. Will Tallaght sell out for the reply?
Kingswood Rover
02/10/2017, 8:16 PM
do not think it will sell out on a tuesday night, but it could if the club went hell for leather in promoting it, 2 adults for 15 euro, kids 3 euro, fill the place get rockin
sbgawa
02/10/2017, 8:17 PM
Just watched paddy McCourt goal on SR counting the two lads who tried to block the shot on the line he beat 10 of the opposition players on his run into the box and finish.....goal of the season....
Tallaght should sell out for the replay but I don't think it will. Midweek games regardless always struggle to get crowds...
Ezeikial
02/10/2017, 8:18 PM
I thought the worst part of the day was being spat at, and having coins thrown at me in the stand by older dundalk fans who should really know better. But i'm sure that was probably just my imagination.
You might be surprised nesta but it is absolutely true, I'm sure if you ask some of the Dundalk fans in the stand they would have seen it and couldn't have been happy, plenty of the Rovers people there particularly those who had brought wives and kids said they will never be back to Oriel .........although that probably won't upset the guys spitting and throwing coins.
That doesn't condone or excuse our muppets I the slightest.
Spitting or throw coins at someone is absolutely out of order any place that it occurs and absolutely no excuses can be made for it. No one should accept it or tolerate it
That said, given where I was sitting and the track record on whataboutery and deflecting among Rovers posters here, I am very sceptical about these claims. I was sitting just behind the main body of Rover fans in the front section of the stand and within 4 seats of the aisle separating the Rovers fans on the side section. While the claimed incident could have happened without me being aware of it, I remain very dubious.
Ezeikial
02/10/2017, 8:24 PM
For anyone who wants to get an understanding about how Chris Shields' season was taken to a premature end, Brandon Miele can help clarify
But Hoops goal hero Brandon Miele reckoned the game changed because of a different approach from Rovers after the restart.
Miele said: “We had to dig in, work really hard and be a bit nasty.
https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/1611442/stephen-kenny-blasts-david-mcallister-for-tackle-that-ended-chris-shields-season/
Ezeikial
02/10/2017, 8:35 PM
On the match itself remarkable how poor Rovers were in the first half and then completely took over for most of the second - so played 5 against Dun and honours even so far with two wins apiece and a draw - imagine what we'd do if we kept 11 on the park !! Oh I forgot Bradley hasn't a clue what he's at unlike Kenny
Rovers have got 4 red cards in 5 meetings against Dundalk this season.
Is that bad luck or an unintended consequence of players following the management instructions to be nasty?
At least Bradley has belatedly changed his tune about discipline not being a problem
And although Stephen Bradley had not had a proper look at the incident, he acknowledged his side’s discipline needed to improve.
However in the best Rovers tradition he makes an excuse for McAllister
Bradley said: “I haven’t seen it back, I spoke to Davy, he said he did catch him, he got the ball and caught him.
https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/1611442/stephen-kenny-blasts-david-mcallister-for-tackle-that-ended-chris-shields-season/
sbgawa
02/10/2017, 8:56 PM
Spitting or throw coins at someone is absolutely out of order any place that it occurs and absolutely no excuses can be made for it. No one should accept it or tolerate it
That said, given where I was sitting and the track record on whataboutery and deflecting among Rovers posters here, I am very sceptical about these claims. I was sitting just behind the main body of Rover fans in the front section of the stand and within 4 seats of the aisle separating the Rovers fans on the side section. While the claimed incident could have happened without me being aware of it, I remain very dubious.
Now there's a surprise.
02/10/2017, 10:13 PM
Now there's a surprise.
I decided on not commenting due to not being in a position to see any events but I do take Ezeikial's work as having not seen the unsavoury claims made. I can only see spitting reaching the Rovers support while in the aisles or on the way to/return from the toilets. From the Dundalk section across would be some feat. Coin throwing is a different matter as I mentioned and may not have even been from the stand but frm the terrace in front of the stand. It hasnt happened before but that means nothing of course. There was a glass thrown via the tunnel from under the stand out toward the pitch a number of seasons back and the Dundalk p*ss artist who did it was nearly lynched by fellow Dundalk support, he was handed over to security so unsavoury stuff can certainly happen and unexpectedly. I would be interested sbgawa to know if where you were to witness these events and if you could have indetified the culprits as with Sundance Kid too. Not to question the claims but genuinely to know if the culprits could have been singled out. FAI officials would have a perfect view over the away support section in the stand and id imagine Rovers officials would bring such incidents to the attention of DFC and FAI people.
02/10/2017, 10:15 PM
All this outrage at Shams fans is hilarious. Reminds me a bit of that Savage Eye Joe Duffy sketch.
The reality (which is unpalatable to some) is that a lot of people love it when they roll into town; the extra tension, the big support, the bit of trouble, seeing how the cops fail to handle it and so on.
People like to say they are offended by it but deep down they want it to happen and would be disappointed if it didn't.
Dong you are talking s1tte as there is nothing hilarious about crowd trouble issues - all you say about tension, large support, enjoying the occasion are true but claiming that people want trouble to occur is BS. Expeting it yes, but hoping for it??? Speak for yourself!! Id rather be able to enjoy a few pints with opposition fans in places like Kennedys before a match and even after as happens with Drogheda fans and many others. Bitter rivalries can exist without scumbaggery. Lets hope you are never on the receiving end of the thuggery you hope for, but it will change your tune if you are!!
sbgawa
02/10/2017, 10:55 PM
I decided on not commenting due to not being in a position to see any events but I do take Ezeikial's work as having not seen the unsavoury claims made. I can only see spitting reaching the Rovers support while in the aisles or on the way to/return from the toilets. From the Dundalk section across would be some feat. Coin throwing is a different matter as I mentioned and may not have even been from the stand but frm the terrace in front of the stand. It hasnt happened before but that means nothing of course. There was a glass thrown via the tunnel from under the stand out toward the pitch a number of seasons back and the Dundalk p*ss artist who did it was nearly lynched by fellow Dundalk support, he was handed over to security so unsavoury stuff can certainly happen and unexpectedly. I would be interested sbgawa to know if where you were to witness these events and if you could have indetified the culprits as with Sundance Kid too. Not to question the claims but genuinely to know if the culprits could have been singled out. FAI officials would have a perfect view over the away support section in the stand and id imagine Rovers officials would bring such incidents to the attention of DFC and FAI people.
I was sitting in the stand and would assume it's been reported but coin throwing is pretty impossible to pin down to individuals. A woman just in front of me was hit in the head , not badly hurt but that's not really the point. What I didn't get was they started throwing them in after dundalk scored..... I could almost understand a few nutters losing the head if we scored but how do you start to ascribe motive or logic to nutters.
Anyway like I said I assume it will be in the report.
sbgawa
02/10/2017, 11:12 PM
As well as all the sh!t done by our own Muppets.
sundance kid
03/10/2017, 9:53 AM
I knew i imagined it, did you notice perhaps that the stewards did nothing until Rovers fans reacted, then couldn't wait to leap into action and face up to the Rovers fans? The internet really is made for people like you
Peaky Blinder
03/10/2017, 11:20 AM
Believe what you want but this happened, I witnessed it first hand (both the spitting & coin throwing)& when my wife was hit by a coin (thankfully no real harm done) & it was brought to the attention of a steward myself & herself were threatened with 'being f**ked out if we dont p*ss off' to quote the response we received. At that stage we asked to be allowed access onto the terrace as that's a level of low behaviour I can do without, especially when bringing my wife to an away game for the first time.
Whatever about the other incidents I can assure you 100% this happened. I'll not let that go as 'deflection' or mere counter propaganda or suchlike, I suggest to you that people face the facts that some people in that stand supporting Dundalk were an absolute disgrace in terms of their behaviour, and for the record they were far from having youth on their side.
I know my custom is the least of Dundalk's concerns but I can assure you whatever the game If I ever return to Oriel Park I'll take my chances with the elements & stand on the terrace safe in the knowledge my wife will be back in Dublin as there's not a chance she'll attend an away game again & to be honest I don't blame her.
03/10/2017, 11:24 AM
Let me preface by saying: shamrock have some absolutely terrible people following them I think it's the proximity to the UK myself. Most idiots that go to football grow out of it when they lose their virginity or find a drink that mixes well with the pills they have taken. But shamrock (and bohs) are unique in this country in that you have fellas who were getting their heads kicked in in kilcohan park, oriel park, the showgrounds and the Markets Field fado fado still going around dancing and waving their arms to this day. These people are grandparents. Society is dead.
However, the amount of hand wringing and squealing going on on here would make the back of your teeth itchy.
You know what I've found throughout my life? If you treat people with respect and decency you will get respect and decency in return.
Dundalk FC do not treat any away fan who visits with respect and decency.
Ten million on a European run and they haven't so much as bought a yard brush to sweep that glass off that away section.
The area to the side of their bar should actually be an issue for the county council up there. Crap views, crap toilets, crap hygene, no shelter.
The fella who threw the flare is a scumbag. The pavement dancing pensioners are scumbags.
And the board of Dundalk FC are scumbags.
As to the pitch. Get a grass one rather than a goalie cancer one ffs. And if you are going to persist with a plastic pitch if somebody throws a naked flame on it maybe don't stand around and watch it catch fire.
Ion Dave McCallisters tackle was a straight red. I don't think it was intentional. I don't think it was equivalent to murdering 26 puppies. But it was a straight red. Also stephen bradser bradley is a jittery schoolgirl who has done ne a decent job of bringing shamrock this far but will absolutely never win a league there.
Carry On.
sbgawa
03/10/2017, 11:58 AM
Probably a fair summary even if it's a bit harsh (especially on our chances of winning a league under bradser....dont take the hope away :) ....i m leaving it at that arguing with dundalk fans on here is a waste of energy on both sides. No minds are changing.
oriel
03/10/2017, 12:26 PM
Let me preface by saying: shamrock have some absolutely terrible people following them I think it's the proximity to the UK myself. Most idiots that go to football grow out of it when they lose their virginity or find a drink that mixes well with the pills they have taken. But shamrock (and bohs) are unique in this country in that you have fellas who were getting their heads kicked in in kilcohan park, oriel park, the showgrounds and the Markets Field fado fado still going around dancing and waving their arms to this day. These people are grandparents. Society is dead.
However, the amount of hand wringing and squealing going on on here would make the back of your teeth itchy.
You know what I've found throughout my life? If you treat people with respect and decency you will get respect and decency in return.
Dundalk FC do not treat any away fan who visits with respect and decency.
Ten million on a European run and they haven't so much as bought a yard brush to sweep that glass off that away section.
The area to the side of their bar should actually be an issue for the county council up there. Crap views, crap toilets, crap hygene, no shelter.
The fella who threw the flare is a scumbag. The pavement dancing pensioners are scumbags.
And the board of Dundalk FC are scumbags.
As to the pitch. Get a grass one rather than a goalie cancer one ffs. And if you are going to persist with a plastic pitch if somebody throws a naked flame on it maybe don't stand around and watch it catch fire.
Ion Dave McCallisters tackle was a straight red. I don't think it was intentional. I don't think it was equivalent to murdering 26 puppies. But it was a straight red. Also stephen bradser bradley is a jittery schoolgirl who has done ne a decent job of bringing shamrock this far but will absolutely never win a league there.
Carry On.
6.2M would be closer to the figure, and over half that was spent already, the new pitch and getting ownership of the lease sorted and council levies cost close to 1m alone, but they appear to have a good few million left in the bank.
A consultancy report has been completed on the ground on redevelopments, and it appears pre planning permission has been sought or even granted, the club just need to decide what to start with first in terms with improvements, plus they will be entitled to get FAI/Capital/Sports grants too, all will take time, hopefully plans will be released soon.
As for the pitch, at long last they managed to get good value for money.
03/10/2017, 3:07 PM
Believe what you want but this happened, I witnessed it first hand (both the spitting & coin throwing)& when my wife was hit by a coin (thankfully no real harm done) & it was brought to the attention of a steward myself & herself were threatened with 'being f**ked out if we dont p*ss off' to quote the response we received. At that stage we asked to be allowed access onto the terrace as that's a level of low behaviour I can do without, especially when bringing my wife to an away game for the first time.
Whatever about the other incidents I can assure you 100% this happened. I'll not let that go as 'deflection' or mere counter propaganda or suchlike, I suggest to you that people face the facts that some people in that stand supporting Dundalk were an absolute disgrace in terms of their behaviour, and for the record they were far from having youth on their side.
I know my custom is the least of Dundalk's concerns but I can assure you whatever the game If I ever return to Oriel Park I'll take my chances with the elements & stand on the terrace safe in the knowledge my wife will be back in Dublin as there's not a chance she'll attend an away game again & to be honest I don't blame her.
This is a response that I can understand - seemingly factual and without any unnecessary finger pointing or making excuses. For what little its is worth PB aploges to you and your wife. Nobody should have those things happen and stweards need to realise that they are there for the benefit for boths sets of fans.
Please dont take this as an excuse - if drawing attention to spitting and coin throwing to stewards fell on deaf ears this in itself could be as a result of a reputation, what happened preceeding these awaful incidents that prejudiced the attitutde of the Stewards agaisnt Shamrock Supporters, even experience at previous matches could be an influence. It is just one of the reasons why the element that are openly 'we're Shamrock Rovers and we'll do what we want' can have a detrimental impact on their own SR support.
Ezeikial
03/10/2017, 8:00 PM
Both the behaviour and the reaction of the steward as you outline it are completely unacceptable. You, your wife and anyone else treated in this way are due an apology.
I trust that you raised this with your club chairman or other club officials who were seated in this area at the time. If so, it was likely communicated to the FAI Security Officer who was also present nearby and Dundalk club officials.
mcgonigle
03/10/2017, 8:47 PM
A consultancy report has been completed on the ground on redevelopments, and it appears pre planning permission has been sought or even granted, the club just need to decide what to start with first in terms with improvements, plus they will be entitled to get FAI/Capital/Sports grants too, all will take time, hopefully plans will be released soon.
As for the pitch, at long last they managed to get good value for money.
I wouldn't do a thing to the away section, except maybe cover it in astro turf. Why put money into something Rovers fans will destroy? We don't have a landlord to fix damages for us
Asterix
03/10/2017, 9:27 PM
It's disgraceful that in 2017 the two teams with the biggest budgets don't have proper toilet facilities. Expecting women and children to use portaloos. Should be required to get a licence.
Asterix
03/10/2017, 9:30 PM
I wouldn't do a thing to the away section, except maybe cover it in astro turf. Why put money into something Rovers fans will destroy? We don't have a landlord to fix damages for us
Last year dundalk fans broke 100 seats in Tallaght , destroyed the away toilets and ****ed all over the back of the stand. On sunday one rovers fan threw one flare on the pitch.:confused:
mcgonigle
03/10/2017, 9:56 PM
Last year dundalk fans broke 100 seats in Tallaght , destroyed the away toilets and ****ed all over the back of the stand. On sunday one rovers fan threw one flare on the pitch.:confused:
Yep we have idiots alright and your landlord fixed it. So tell me why we should spend our money on improving the away end when your idiots will destroy it? There are higher priority areas of the ground
It was more than a flare BTW but we'll gloss over that
Asterix
03/10/2017, 10:12 PM
Yep we have idiots alright and your landlord fixed it. So tell me why we should spend our money on improving the away end when your idiots will destroy it? There are higher priority areas of the ground
It was more than a flare BTW but we'll gloss over that
Don't gloss over it, what else was thrown on the pitch?
Broken glass, pieces of timber, rusty nails all over the away end, its a disgrace that the FAI allow it to be used.
03/10/2017, 10:42 PM
Maybe there should be a special thread on the away section in Oriel to go with the pitch thread. The whole ground is in need of serious work so please Asterix dont think that Shams fans are singled out. Undoubtedly there were pieces of timber and rusty nails - it can happen when advertisment hoardings are pulled apart. Marble clad loos with gold fittings wouldnt have made that much of a difference to the general antics would they, Or was it a protest against the accomodation on offer? Tbh what is available to fans in the away section is not that different to the home end terrace or open areas of the shed and behind the goals. There hopefully will be news in the close season on developments but that wont happen overnight regardless.
I think its enough now about Sunday. Lets hope the replay will all be about the football though I wont hold my breath!
sundance kid
04/10/2017, 9:10 AM
I believe SDCC gave the FAI a bill for that damage wich was presumably sent on to Dundalk. I also believe SDCC are preparing another bill for the FAI to cover the damage done by the Dundalk support at the EA cup final. Presumably this will also be passed on to Dundalk
04/10/2017, 2:20 PM
I believe that you are making things up to continue the policy of deflection! Yawn......
sbgawa
04/10/2017, 2:52 PM
back to the football
Still hearing that Bolger and Clarke are in the u19 and u21 squads and both considered important in the squads, with Davy out Burke out and Corry and Devine gone we are bare bones if they don't get released.
It would be mad this is the FAI cup semi final + the u21's are playing on the pitch on Monday night , the night before the replay, we'd better hope its not raining or the pitch will be poor for Tuesday ...
Asterix
04/10/2017, 3:06 PM
Will be disappointing if we don't have them. Clarkes a carrying a bit of an injury so might get taken out or at least not play much.
mcgonigle
04/10/2017, 4:06 PM
I believe SDCC gave the FAI a bill for that damage wich was presumably sent on to Dundalk. I also believe SDCC are preparing another bill for the FAI to cover the damage done by the Dundalk support at the EA cup final. Presumably this will also be passed on to Dundalk
We'll settle that with them just as soon as they settle with us for the new dugouts, broadband etc.we put into Tallaght. I presume they'll pass that on to their main tenants.
LK37oldskool
04/10/2017, 4:55 PM
The away section in Turners cross is appalling. A thread to complain about away sections would be a good idea.
Asterix
04/10/2017, 5:05 PM
We'll settle that with them just as soon as they settle with us for the new dugouts, broadband etc.we put into Tallaght. I presume they'll pass that on to their main tenants.
You keep adding landlord and tenant remarks into your posts, you do realize Dundalk don't own oriel, yes?
As for the dugouts, much appreciated but dundalk needed them not the sdcc so why would they pay:rolleyes:
ToberonaTornado
04/10/2017, 5:51 PM
The away section in Turners cross is appalling. A thread to complain about away sections would be a good idea.
Here you go ;) Carpe diem.
http://foot.ie/newthread.php?do=newthread&f=14
mcgonigle
04/10/2017, 7:45 PM
You keep adding landlord and tenant remarks into your posts, you do realize Dundalk don't own oriel, yes?
As for the dugouts, much appreciated but dundalk needed them not the sdcc so why would they pay:rolleyes:
That's because Rovers are tenants and the SDCC are their landlord, simple enough really. And with that comes the overhead of rent but the benefit of no upkeep costs.
I'm aware Dundalk do not own the land in Oriel but do own the infrastructure so any upgraded and upkeep has to be paid by the club and an old crappy ground eats money on upkeep that makes very little difference.
Anyway I'm done talking non football until we're back here Tuesday night outraged that the Dundalk knuckle draggers invaded the dugouts, ripped out the fancy seats and carried them back to Dundalk
Asterix
04/10/2017, 9:33 PM
back to the football
Still hearing that Bolger and Clarke are in the u19 and u21 squads and both considered important in the squads, with Davy out Burke out and Corry and Devine gone we are bare bones if they don't get released.
It would be mad this is the FAI cup semi final + the u21's are playing on the pitch on Monday night , the night before the replay, we'd better hope its not raining or the pitch will be poor for Tuesday ...
Just saw a photo of the under 19s squad taken today and Bolger wasn't in it. The only player in the squad missing.
patrickccfc
05/10/2017, 4:41 PM
See dundalk have sold out their allocation for the replay. How many did ye get?
dundalkfc10
05/10/2017, 5:07 PM
See dundalk have sold out their allocation for the replay. How many did ye get?
500. Went on sale to season ticket holders at 10am, one per season ticket and all gone by 3pm
They are playing hardball now over a request for more
Asterix
05/10/2017, 7:04 PM
We aren't playing hardball. You're fans took a sh*t in the stand during the ea sports cup final, part of the away section will be closed on Tuesday to try stop yous from doing it again.
sundance kid
05/10/2017, 7:56 PM
I did hint at this earlier in the thread, but as usual the dundalk fans were in denial. Glad to see the club and the council taking a stand.
mcgonigle
05/10/2017, 9:21 PM
We aren't playing hardball. You're fans took a sh*t in the stand during the ea sports cup final, part of the away section will be closed on Tuesday to try stop yous from doing it again.
That's quite the revelation, strange it's only coming to light now. That kind of thing I would have thought would be widely reported and talked about even among Dundalk fans! Mad that nobody seen it either, the away section was packed.
JC_GUFC
05/10/2017, 9:26 PM
Hopefully not the section which includes the toilets as the plan could backfire spectacularly!
Reports that Rovers releasing 200 additional away tickets. The match will obviously not sell out, bigger stadium, makes sense really to try and get as big a crowd as possible in the ground.
RathfarnhamHoop
05/10/2017, 9:58 PM
Careful now, all dundalk fans and players are saints dont you know, never put a foot wrong. Live at Oriel won't stand for this sort of deflection.
I've noticed the lack of any mention of dylan connelly's celebration towards the rovers fans too, I remember Trevor Clarke getting torn to shreds on this site for doing the same thing earlier in the season.
oriel
05/10/2017, 10:04 PM
Down with that sort of thing.