View Full Version : FAI Cup 2017

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15

Calcio Jack
10/10/2017, 10:03 PM
Rovers naivety beat themselves tonight - scored two fantastic goals but gave away 4 through schoolboy defending. I thought Benson was way offside for the second?

Ref bottled it on ruck- O'Donnell pushed/punched Bradley in the back so should of been a red , instead ref took easy option and gave each side 2 yellows.

Over the season Rovers have been accused of being a dirty side on account of 9 reds- Duns showed tonight how 'cute' a side they are as all their back 4 took turns to kick lumps off Clarke and Shaw particularly and the likes of O'Donnell continuously conned the ref for frees - that's not a whinge it's a compliment and they played some decent ball also , once we get street wise (which we will) then we'll be well able to compete with Duns/Cork.

Good luck to Duns in the final- think it's the first time ever the same sides will be finalists three years in a row.

Kingswood Rover
10/10/2017, 10:21 PM
Well done Dundalk,best team in Ireland again this year but well done Rovers, our time is coming if we can hold onto our emerging talent and get 3 more quality players in the close season we will be there or thereabouts, the team died with their boots on tonight and thats why there is special bond now building with the fans.

Real ale Madrid
10/10/2017, 11:03 PM
Well done Dundalk,best team in Ireland again this year.

White Horse
10/10/2017, 11:08 PM
Bradley tried to stop a dundalk player taking a quick throw in, kicked it off. Cost rovers all the momentum they had, they looked like they were going to score. 7 minute scrap later, gone. Well done Bradley, just after your talk about having to be more disciplined.

I made the same point on the way home. Dundalk were on the rack. Rovers won the toss for extra time and choose to play with the wind. It's one thing playing into the wind in normal time but it's much harder in extra time with so many lads carrying injuries.

The scrap took the momentum away from Rovers. If any team was going to score in the second period of extra time it was Dundalk. Rovers were already thinking about penalties.

There is a lack of discipline at Rovers and it costs them in the big games.

However, it is curlish to dwell on the negatives. It was a titanic battle of a game and both sides put everything into it. It's just a pity it wasn't on TV.

CorribsideSteve
10/10/2017, 11:26 PM
Rovers just ran out of legs and died towards the end it seems. Dundalk are SO good at getting the ball out of tight spaces and switching ball to opposite wing etc. Decent game for the neutral watching on streaming, some very well taken goals but others very poorly defended. Rovers have something decent building, but Dundalk seem to be a few seasons more developed than them, and in the end it told.

Ezeikial
11/10/2017, 12:48 AM
What an evening!

Credit to Rovers for really putting it up to Dundalk tonight. There was a period in extra time when I would gladly have taken penalties as I feared that Rovers would over run us. Finn and Clarke confirmed that they are both top class players, while Bradley yet again showed his indiscipline from the sideline.

Stephen O'Donnell scored a wonder goal to cap a brilliant performance and the guile, energy and intelligence from all over this team was remarkable.

Asterix
11/10/2017, 6:46 AM
Bradley tried to stop a dundalk player taking a quick throw in, kicked it off. Cost rovers all the momentum they had, they looked like they were going to score. 7 minute scrap later, gone. Well done Bradley, just after your talk about having to be more disciplined.

Clarke thought it was a rovers throw so went to take it. I donnell jumped on top of him and had his arms around his neck so Bradley's pushed him of clarke, he didn't try stop a quick throw.

Players gave it everything, We've definitely come on a lot since last year. Disappointing result but a very enjoyable game, had everything you want in a semi final.

patrickccfc
11/10/2017, 6:46 AM
Cork vs dundalk in November is becoming an annual thing now. Amazing that it's happened 3 years in a row now. The top 2 teams over the last 4 years, the best team from the first half of the season vs the best from the second. I don't fancy it going to extra time again this year, but if it does, then I hope the 90 minutes is more entertaining than the last two.

11/10/2017, 7:30 AM
Great chanting by Rovers fans there ; " He rose from the dead, He rose from the dead, Chris Shields, He rose from the dead,. " I thought his season was done? Dundalk just score a 3rd, MacMillan gets his second. Rovers have it all to do again now. Was hard to tell from stream what happened with the schemozzle on the touchline...no one getting sent off, but 2 players each look to have been booked.

Clarke thought it was a rovers throw so went to take it. I donnell jumped on top of him and had his arms around his neck so Bradley's pushed him of clarke, he didn't try stop a quick throw.

Players gave it everything, We've definitely come on a lot since last year. Disappointing result but a very enjoyable game, had everything you want in a semi final.
My mistake. He didn't stop a throw, he pushed a player...

And no punishment. And the yellows for the players were bizarre too.

Ye have the players, but ye're going nowhere with him as the manager. He talks about discipline issues and follows up by thinking there's any situation where it's ok for him to push players.

White Horse
11/10/2017, 8:13 AM
Ye have the players, but ye're going nowhere with him as the manager. He talks about discipline issues and follows up by thinking there's any situation where it's ok for him to push players.

The performance by the Rovers players last night was the most disciplined I've seen from them. There were a few mistimed tackles from both sides but nothing stupid.

The only indiscipline was from the bench and it probably was the turning point in the game.

placid casual
11/10/2017, 8:15 AM
You never know, he might winning the football equivalent of the lotto next season and get a Sean Maguire, like caulfield did.Then he might be proclaimed as a great manager
Cracking game,in the windy conditions.
Rovers missed a clinical striker like McMillan up front, and we have a $hite keeper.
Cest la Vie.
O'Donnell really should get his vertigo seen to. Its causing him to fall on the ground a lot.

Would assume that dundalk will have too much for a toothless cork side in the final.

dundalkfc10
11/10/2017, 8:48 AM
You never know, he might winning the football equivalent of the lotto next season and get a Sean Maguire, like caulfield did.Then he might be proclaimed as a great manager
Rovers missed a clinical striker like McMillan up front, and we have a $hite keeper.
Cest la Vie.
O'Donnell really should get his vertigo seen to. Its causing him to fall on the ground a lot.

Would assume that dundalk will have too much for a toothless cork side in the final.

He wasn't suffering from anything when he ghosted in down the left and headed the ball over your keeper to make it another glorious night in Tallaght for Dundalk!

We have had more magical nights in Tallaght since it opened than you have ;)

El-Pietro
11/10/2017, 9:20 AM

Yeah cos he didn't do anything before Snea Maguire, like take us frmo 6th to 2nd in a single season, 45 minutes away from winning the title, with Mark O'Sullivan as our main striker. I suppose he got lucky there too?

Straightstory
11/10/2017, 9:35 AM
It was a tremendous game to be at. Hugely entertaining stuff. O'Donnell was immense; a really towering performance from him. The brawl certainly affected Rovers more than Dundalk - the momentum was with the Hoops at the time. Bradly needs to set a better example. He very possibly cost Rovers the game.

poster
11/10/2017, 9:43 AM
Had Shams won last night, would they have taken the European cup place or would that have gone to the league spot?

seand
11/10/2017, 9:46 AM
Cracking entertainment. I thought Dundalk should have wrapped it up in normal time, but we weren't clinical enough. The schemozzle came from nothing, two Rovers coaches/managers got involved when Clarke tried to stop O'Donnell taking a throw and next thing you know there's more handbags than Louis Vuitton. Ironically enough the unnecessary silliness, led by Bradley, disrupted Rovers only real period in the ascendancy and Dundalk found another gear to win.

Undoubtedly Dundalk, like all great teams, know how to play on the edge sometimes, the likes of O'Donnell is not afraid to draw a foul. That said, Connolly was fouled 5 or 6 times before he was eventually forced off injured (and he went to ground unnecessarily another 3 or 4 times!), the second successive game he was targeted. Apart from that and one bad tackle early on by Finn on Gannon I thought it was generally a tough but fair match. Dundalk are ludicrously well served in attacking midfield, McGrath was excellent, Connolly will be one of the stars of the league next year with a year of Kenny coaching him, then there McEleney, Benson and Duffy.

Hard to see Rovers bridge the gap with Bradley at the helm. They've a good squad and are an attractive proposition for good players that become available, but the long ball tactics do Rovers a disservice. Roberto Lopes is a good defender but no more a midfielder than I am. Genuine question.... what to Rovers fans think of Bradley as a manager?

Pablo Escobar
11/10/2017, 9:48 AM
Had Shams won last night, would they have taken the European cup place or would that have gone to the league spot?

They would have taken a European spot, but that would go to the league if they finished in the top 4, which looks highly likely. Now it's guaranteed that 4th spot gets Europe.

seand
11/10/2017, 10:12 AM
They would have taken a European spot, but that would go to the league if they finished in the top 4, which looks highly likely. Now it's guaranteed that 4th spot gets Europe.

Even if Rovers had won last night they wouldn't have been 100% guaranteed a Euro place, as cup runners-up to Champions League qualifiers no longer get the cup spot- it reverts to the league. Even before last night we knew that the top 4 would get Europe.

oriel
11/10/2017, 10:58 AM
Excellent match played in quite windy conditions from the second half onwards. Thought Rovers were on top for one period only, the first half of ET, and they scored their first against the run of play. In saying that bad mistake by Rovers keeper for Dundalk's equaliser and very poor marking for Benson to make it 2-1. I couldn't believe the amount of space McMillan was afforded for the 3rd goal, but what a finish by O'Donnell to win it with the 4th.

I was worried when the rumour finally came out that McEleney would miss out, but what a match McGrath had, he was everywhere and complimented the MF perfectly, definitely his best in a Dlk shirt. Connolly got booted out of it, but to be fair Dlk also dished it out a bit. Id agree with previous comment further up that Dlk are masters of managing out games, and O'Donnell can win himself a free at times when he needs to, usually when he loses the ball, but that's experience. I was also thinking Id have preferred to have had the replay away rather than drawing away then back to Oriel Park, we seem to play brilliantly in Tallaght in the big games, only poor performance in recent seasons was 2-1 defeat to Rovers earlier in the league and maybe v AZ last Dec.

McMillan is a perfect striker, scoring with his head and feet, I think he's on 23 now for the season, all comps.

Tough one for Rovers to take, no doubt about that, but hopefully it will be a decent final now, a great day out for both clubs.

Pablo Escobar
11/10/2017, 11:18 AM
Even if Rovers had won last night they wouldn't have been 100% guaranteed a Euro place, as cup runners-up to Champions League qualifiers no longer get the cup spot- it reverts to the league. Even before last night we knew that the top 4 would get Europe.

I was clearly just assuming that their cup pedigree would shine through! :p

Crosshead
11/10/2017, 11:33 AM

Plenty assumed that a couple of weeks ago, and they needed a late goal to salvage a draw against a 'toothless' side...

Ezeikial
11/10/2017, 12:26 PM

Are you justifying Bradley's behaviour?

Or maybe he is just leading by example?

Asterix
11/10/2017, 12:40 PM
Not justifying it, Bradley and o'donnell should have been sent off.

White Horse
11/10/2017, 12:46 PM
Not justifying it, Bradley and o'donnell should have been sent off.

I would have thought that Michael O'Connor with his two hands around Sean Gannon's throat was the clearest sending off offence.

Asterix
11/10/2017, 1:01 PM
I think you might want to watch the incident again, O'Connor wasn't near Gannon.

Asterix
11/10/2017, 1:08 PM
Bradley reacted no differently to O'donnell attacking clarke than the dundalk bench reacted to Bradley pushing O'donnell but of course Dundalk cant do any wrong doing.

sbgawa
11/10/2017, 1:18 PM
Great match would have been a great final.
Dundalk have had a great season (would have been good even if they had lost last night) their season was affected early on by the loss of 3 key players from the previous season. Without the unbelievable start made by Cork they would probably have made up for the early start and won the league but were to far off the pace...
From a Rovers perspective we had 15 new players this season and played like strangers for the first third of the season but from then on I think we have matched Dundalk and Cork (borne out by wins against each side) ...compared to last season when both teams were on a different planet from us.

What do the fans think of Bradley?
Most of the Rovers supporters who sat through the hammerings meted out to us last season can see we are on the right track, This is his first full season as a manager but for fans who love the club it means almost as much to us to know the team are fighting for the club and the shirt, we haven't been able to say that for years. And that is down to him.
I literally can't wait for next season and hope that its a 36 game season kicking off as soon as possible......late Jan ??
Having played Dundalk 6 times this year 2 wins 2 losses 1 draw and 1 loss in extra time and Cork 4 times 2 losses 1 win and 1 win in extra time the idea of the ten team league and a minimum of 4 games against the top sides is starting to appeal more and more.
Maguire is impossible to replace unless you get lucky and sign a guy who happens to hit form, Dundalk will be strong and I think we will also be stronger with the addition of 3 or 4 more players.....can't wait
Hope its a good final and gets a decent crowd

dundalkfc10
11/10/2017, 1:33 PM
Bradley reacted no differently to O'donnell attacking clarke than the dundalk bench reacted to Bradley pushing O'donnell but of course Dundalk cant do any wrong doing.

Your manager put his hands on one of our players!

He should get a large ban!

11/10/2017, 1:36 PM
Cest la Vie.

Haha, classic Rovers. Caulfield got his team to the cup final, without Seán Maguire. Bradley knocked his team out of it. But hey, continue as you are. The better you think he is, the longer contract he'll get, the better for the rest of us

Asterix
11/10/2017, 1:48 PM
Your manager put his hands on one of our players!

Your player headbutted our manager!

mcgonigle
11/10/2017, 2:31 PM
Your player headbutted our manager!

Heard he took a s**t in his gear bag after the game, I'm sure you can confirm this?

placid casual
11/10/2017, 6:49 PM
Haha, classic Rovers. Caulfield got his team to the cup final, without Seán Maguire. Bradley knocked his team out of it. But hey, continue as you are. The better you think he is, the longer contract he'll get, the better for the rest of us

The only team stopping Rovers getting to the final this year was the best team in the league.
If you had a striker of note , I would say you could get at their weak link, in the final , which is their defence, but you have Sheppard. Best of luck with that.

mcgonigle
11/10/2017, 7:55 PM
Despite the BS being thrown back and forth the reality is the final is too close
to call. Cork certainly aren't the same attacking threat without McGuire but they still have plenty of quality and work incredibly hard. They have had the better of us in the last year

Ezeikial
11/10/2017, 7:59 PM
It's Corks cup to loose

oriel
11/10/2017, 10:00 PM
Odds out already Dundalk 1/2 Cork 6/4

A lot will obviously depend on the day who turns up etc, but maybe Dundalk are in better shape, much harder route to the final too, Derry and Rovers (twice), no long trip back from Russia this time, and Cork don't have Maguire.

Dlk prob justified as favs, but its all on the day. I'm just happy to be in the final to be perfectly honest.

12/10/2017, 2:28 AM
Its a pity that at this stage of the season that a league and cup double isnt on the line for both sides in the run in to the final. Sparks would be flying!! I see Cork as favourites - champions elect and have a better head to head for over the season and even last season too. We are carrying a lot of injuries too. Until the league is oficially done and dusted I dont think SK will be resting players either. It would bug a few of the relegation battlers if he did start the fringe/youth players last game.

12/10/2017, 8:56 AM
The only team stopping Rovers getting to the final this year was the best team in the league.
If you had a striker of note , I would say you could get at their weak link, in the final , which is their defence, but you have Sheppard. Best of luck with that.

Whatever helps you feel better about the loss. 6/4 is great odds for us, definitely on that. No fear at all of that Dundalk team. They haven't beaten us, or looked like doing so, in over a year. It'l be close and could easily go either way, but I'd say our lads will be delighted to be playing them again. Here's hoping for some good football, and our first double!

seand
12/10/2017, 9:40 AM
6-4 is an extraordinary price on the league champions, against a team they've beaten 7 times in the last 9 meetings

El-Pietro
12/10/2017, 9:51 AM
It will depend on injuries, will Sheilds/O'Donnell be available for example? And McEleney should surely be able to find some space on a pitch the size of Lansdowne road to finally play well against us. 6/4 is stupid though. I'd have Dundalk as marginal favourites.

12/10/2017, 10:54 AM
Please make it stop!!

"You're so good"

"No you're so good"

"Oh I wish there was some way we could both be favourites."

Of course dundalk are heavy favorites FFS.

cork have won six of their last twelve. They haven't beaten a top half team since they beat bray in the cup. And that's bray like, they don't really count.

Don't get me wrong while Brian Gartland is on the field cork will have a sporting chance. But of course anyone looking at it objectively would back dundalk.

Also shamrock fans please don't fall head over heels for bradser. He's not good enough. He will let you down. Save yourselves for someone who's worth it. x x

Real ale Madrid
12/10/2017, 11:12 AM
Odds out already Dundalk 1/2 Cork 6/4

Bet 365 go 8/11 Dundalk Evens Cork City - seems more appropriate to me.

swinfordfc
12/10/2017, 11:25 AM
Think Dundalk would be favs for the final .... Cork crawling over the finishing line at this stage!

patrickccfc
12/10/2017, 12:07 PM
Could go either way really, no doubt dundalk have been the best team in the second half of the season. Obviously we have struggled in the final third since Maguire left but we still have enough about us to cause them problems. Form can go out the window in one off games like this.

White Horse
12/10/2017, 12:15 PM
Utterly impossible to call. If the last two finals are anything to go by, both teams will have good spells and the winner will be the one who takes their chance.

placid casual
13/10/2017, 5:27 PM
Just a quick update from the game on Tuesday.
David Webster has a broken foot and is out until the end of the season. He probably did it trying to kill poor Chris Shields's.
And pico lopes got a broken nose as well. Which was nice.

redarmyfaction
13/10/2017, 6:00 PM
Bet 365 go 8/11 Dundalk Evens Cork City - seems more appropriate to me.

If you want the best 8/11 shot I have seen in while take Shams tonight v us, .... just seen 1.92 on Betfair , wow , where are they getting that from.

Out of interest, who qualifies for Europe for the cup if Derry come third, is it Shams or Limerick?

13/10/2017, 6:00 PM
David Webster has a broken foot and is out until the end of the season. He probably did it trying to kill poor Chris Shields's.

Send them to Chris Shields' doctor

13/10/2017, 8:23 PM

Your point being?

mcgonigle
13/10/2017, 10:05 PM

It's just karma mate, hatchet men getting injured trying to injure people. Good job your season is over 👍

RathfarnhamHoop
13/10/2017, 11:37 PM
If you want the best 8/11 shot I have seen in while take Shams tonight v us, .... just seen 1.92 on Betfair , wow , where are they getting that from.

Out of interest, who qualifies for Europe for the cup if Derry come third, is it Shams or Limerick?

Nobody qualifies through the cup it goes to the league. Rovers now guaranteed Europe because of that after tonight's games