View Full Version : FAI Cup 2017
Pages :
[
7]
EatYerGreens
13/09/2017, 2:52 PM
I could be wrong but I thought the clubs only paid for the Gardai in the ground? Not those outside?
That would be one way to create a sudden boost in attendances anyway !
patrickccfc
29/09/2017, 7:02 AM
Should be a good game tonight. I'd go with the same team from Monday, but I think sadlier will start. Tickets seem to be selling well anyway, how many have Limerick sold?
bluewhitearmy
29/09/2017, 8:18 AM
Should be a good game tonight. I'd go with the same team from Monday, but I think sadlier will start. Tickets seem to be selling well anyway, how many have Limerick sold?
Over 630 last I heard.
patrickccfc
29/09/2017, 7:05 PM
City one up half time. Poor enough game so far, Limerick having the bulk of the possession but yet to get any break through. Garry Buckley with a tap in for us.
29/09/2017, 7:16 PM
Toilets at the limerick end...female not usable, no lights, smelling, male the same. Champions of ireland
NeverFeltBetter
29/09/2017, 7:17 PM
Strange game. First 20 minutes seemed like we could be getting a hiding, Cork have barely come forward since. Limerick quite good in midfield, but once they get the ball in the final third no one seems to have a clue how to craft an opportunity. Tosi gets crowded out the moment he has the ball, Ogbene has no-one to aim at, there's no-one hovering at the edge of the box for a teeback. Seems like we're waiting for another fluke defensive error or a set-piece.
White Horse
29/09/2017, 8:02 PM
Limerick playing all the football. Cork look tired. Hardly surprising after the effort they put into Monday's game.
29/09/2017, 8:14 PM
Well done limerick. Ray Mathews such a weak referee.
29/09/2017, 8:14 PM
Toilets at the limerick end...female not usable, no lights, smelling, male the same. Champions of ireland
I see you've been to Turners Cross at some point in the past 50 years.
NeverFeltBetter
29/09/2017, 8:15 PM
Didn't seem like he did too badly from watching on TV?
White Horse
29/09/2017, 8:16 PM
Hery was my man of the match. Very composed performance.
Pablo Escobar
29/09/2017, 8:17 PM
Didn't seem like he did too badly from watching on TV?
I agree he was weak, but he at least got the decisions correct. I don't think he influenced it in any direction.
We were flat and did nothing after the 25 minute mark. Anyway, another day out to look forward to.
Hery was my man of the match. Very composed performance.
Absolutely and I was just about to post same, he was clearly the best player on the park.
Was an ok game, typical semi final fare, Limerick passed it around nicely but had nothing up front really.
da bishop
29/09/2017, 8:46 PM
Fine effort from Limerick,no quality in last third,Hery outstanding all game.you would know Bennett was back for Cork defensively top class tonight.Referee did alright.
29/09/2017, 10:04 PM
Hery is a lovely player, best player in both games for me.
Benno changes us completely, so much more composed at the back.
Overall, damp squib of a game. Poor crowd, not much of an atmosphere and not much to get excited about on the pitch. That said, job done! Bring on the Aviva!!
29/09/2017, 10:49 PM
Missed the first 25 minutes due to traffic, so when I arrived Limerick were getting on top and looked ok.
In the second we were always in it - every team is when they are only 1 behind, but I don't think we forced a real save all night. A Tosi header over the top and a bit of a goalmouth scramble was it really. Cork created next to nothing in the second half but saw it out without too much fuss.
29/09/2017, 11:19 PM
I agree he was weak, but he at least got the decisions correct. I don't think he influenced it in any direction.
He and his assistants got a lot wrong and that was sad considering there was six officials. Michelle o'neill my god 3 clearly wrong touchline calls second half, Mathews did more to aid cork as he slowed the game giving out lectures to players from both sides but never booking anyone. As for mr campion at the end,,,,everyone saw you possibly trying to aid his former club. Hery a class above and to any observer should surely have been MOTM in both games v cork. We can concentrate on staying in the division from here on in, team looks far better in the last month
Pablo Escobar
30/09/2017, 3:40 AM
He and his assistants got a lot wrong and that was sad considering there was six officials. Michelle o'neill my god 3 clearly wrong touchline calls second half, Mathews did more to aid cork as he slowed the game giving out lectures to players from both sides but never booking anyone. As for mr campion at the end,,,,everyone saw you possibly trying to aid his former club. Hery a class above and to any observer should surely have been MOTM in both games v cork. We can concentrate on staying in the division from here on in, team looks far better in the last month
From watching the TV it looked like O'Connor was looking for a fight for the last 5 mins and while I saw no incident I got a text from someone at the game saying Campion took an elbow. I have no idea what actually happened though. The TV at least made the refs calls look good. I did say he was weak and set that tone by not booking Hery in the first half. The trend continued throughout the game.
Ezeikial
30/09/2017, 9:34 AM
'Dundalk is a fantastic club but it's not Shamrock Rovers' - Ronan Finn stokes flames ahead of Cup semi
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/dundalk-is-a-fantastic-club-but-its-not-shamrock-rovers-ronan-finn-stokes-flames-ahead-of-cup-semi-36183208.html
Ezeikial
30/09/2017, 9:55 AM
Ronan Finn is certainly playing to the Rovers gallery. His comments will endear him to most Hoops supporters and talks up many of the things that fans relate to.
However, some of his comments are comical when advanced as his reasons for moving back to Rovers
He references watching McPhail, Duff and Keane in training like a autograpgh-hunting, star-struck teenager, as though celebrity watching is more important to him than advancing his game, winning trophies and having the ambition to try to make more European history
Potential, training infrastructure and the Rovers academy are all reasons for Rovers fans to be optimistic about the long-term possibilities but I suspect that a lucrative 3 year playing deal, along with the offer of a job and company car and reduced travel commitments were the big factors in his decision.
"I think people who realise the game and understand football know the reasons I moved.
Ronan Finn is a brilliant footballer, but I think he sacrificed his footballing ambition for a longer term future - and most people who realise the game and understand football know this too.
Philosophizer
30/09/2017, 11:09 AM
Ronan Finn is a brilliant footballer, but I think he sacrificed his footballing ambition for a longer term future - and most people who realise the game and understand football know this too.
Absolutely true, but he was totally entitled to move.
He's been part of the only 2 LOI sides to make big strides in Europe in this generation so I'm sure he's happy enough with his lot. He's probably looked at the situation pragmatically and realised that the chances of Dundalk making the group stages again in the next few years is relatively slim, even considering last year's run.
Ezeikial
30/09/2017, 12:22 PM
Absolutely true, but he was totally entitled to move.
He's been part of the only 2 LOI sides to make big strides in Europe in this generation so I'm sure he's happy enough with his lot. He's probably looked at the situation pragmatically and realised that the chances of Dundalk making the group stages again in the next few years is relatively slim, even considering last year's run.
I totally agree that he was entitled to move.
Being "happy enough with his lot" encapsulates exactly what I referred to about sacrificing further footballing ambition. His move clearly was not about increasing his prospects of competing for trophies or trying to build on previous European performances.
I don't have any difficulty with his decision - but his claims that celebrity watching and the club having a promising academy are the main reasons for his move is obviously ridiculous
30/09/2017, 12:51 PM
http://www.istockphoto.com/ie/photo/mature-fisherman-catching-a-fish-gm147498872-19645214?esource=SEO_GIS_CDN_Redirecthttps://thumbs.dreamstime.com/x/mature-fisherman-catching-fish-23793238.jpg
sbgawa
30/09/2017, 4:41 PM
Miaow
30/09/2017, 4:51 PM
In fairness, what ambition does he need to show? He's done it all in Ireland now and realistically he's not going to get a big move away now at 29 years of age. He'll be 30 by the time next season comes around.
Getting a hefty wage, and a full time job on top of that, is as good as he can do for himself now while he only has another three or four seasons left at the top of his game.
Ezeikial
30/09/2017, 5:19 PM
In fairness, what ambition does he need to show? He's done it all in Ireland now and realistically he's not going to get a big move away now at 29 years of age. He'll be 30 by the time next season comes around.
Getting a hefty wage, and a full time job on top of that, is as good as he can do for himself now while he only has another three or four seasons left at the top of his game.
It is entirely his call as to what is important to him. It's just s pity that he is disingenuous about it in that interview.
Playing with a club who have a promising academy is hardly a credible bucket list ambition for most elite footballers
RathfarnhamHoop
30/09/2017, 5:31 PM
Yeah because Dundalks season has been so much better than the one Rovers have had...a clear lack of ambition there.
sbgawa
30/09/2017, 6:44 PM
Maybe he taught the next few seasons with rovers will be better and maybe he is right. Time will tell.
Philosophizer
30/09/2017, 6:45 PM
It's just s pity that he is disingenuous about it in that interview.
Almost every player pays this type of lip service in interviews for the fans who are too young/dumb to realise the real reason why players move.
If he mentioned money or benefits in the interview he'd be slaughtered by all and sundry for being a mercenary who doesn't love the game. It's a no win situation so he just said the usual BS that all players say in similar situations.
AlanOB
30/09/2017, 7:27 PM
Analysis of last night's semi-final here: http://bit.ly/2x4IXl0
White Horse
30/09/2017, 8:49 PM
Does Finn really believe that the ex internationals hanging around training sessions justifies his move in football terms? Perhaps he does.
He gave Dundalk one good season and one great season. He was out on contract and got a good deal at Rovers.
He made his decision and time will tell if it was the right one.
Dundalk are too busy with the building for future to give him much thought.
01/10/2017, 7:06 AM
The notion that LOI footballers (particularly once they pass the age that a lucrative move abroad is likely) should put their footballing ambition ahead of their overall life ambition always amuses me.
In any case Ronan Finn is playing in the same division as last season. It seems likely that he will be playing in the same European competition next season with Rovers that Dundalk will play in. If he turned down a move to, say, Preston to sign for Rovers you'd have a point. If he left Dundalk for somebody like Sherrif I'd raise an eyebrow. As is he effectively took a sideways step on the football ladder with one eye on his long term future.
Yes, his comments were vague, cliched and trite but that's 99% of football interviews. All those players talking about how great their fans were are doing the same thing, playing to their audience and keeping it safe.
thebronze14
01/10/2017, 9:37 AM
Does Finn really believe that the ex internationals hanging around training sessions justifies his move in football terms? Perhaps he does.
He gave Dundalk one good season and one great season. He was out on contract and got a good deal at Rovers.
He made his decision and time will tell if it was the right one.
Dundalk are too busy with the building for future to give him much thought.
A Dundalk fan brought it up so some thought must have been given;)
GCdfc
01/10/2017, 10:26 AM
There is a difference between clubs and their fans. I’m sure that Stephen Kenny and his team aren’t worried about Finn now and are more concerned about building up the squad for next season.
sbgawa
01/10/2017, 2:48 PM
Again and again and again ;)
Scumbags burnt the pitch.
Dalymountrower
01/10/2017, 4:25 PM
Great Dundalk goal.Luke Byrne awol for the first 15 minutes
Dundalk look shakey enough at the back though and wouldn't be surprised if they concede one.
White Horse
01/10/2017, 4:42 PM
Great Dundalk goal.Luke Byrne awol for the first 15 minutes
Dundalk look shakey enough at the back though and wouldn't be surprised if they concede one.
Vemellend is taking too many risks at left back and Hoare is taking too much time on the ball. Rovers would need to step up a lot to take advantage.
Dreadful wind is making the game difficult. Rovers had it on their backs in the first half.
DannyInvincible
01/10/2017, 5:23 PM
Rovers back in it again. Good finish from Miele.
Edit: And now Rovers are down to ten men. I expect Dundalk to pile on the pressure now and take the upper hand again.
DannyInvincible
01/10/2017, 5:40 PM
Ends 1-1. Replay on Tuesday week in Tallaght.
Dalymountrower
01/10/2017, 5:52 PM
That tackle should have been a straight red, nasty leg breaker.
White Horse
01/10/2017, 6:26 PM
A draw was a fair result. McEleney was very poor and Dundalk seemed to stop playing and trying for a second goal.
Finn provided the bit of quality needed to create an equaliser.
Poor game.
I didn't see the red card incident clearly enough to comment.
ToberonaTornado
01/10/2017, 6:36 PM
Shields season over,medial ligament damage.Straight red anytime/anywhere.....except in Ireland!!
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DLEf5owW4AAYMmf.jpg
01/10/2017, 6:51 PM
A draw was a fair result. McEleney was very poor and Dundalk seemed to stop playing and trying for a second goal.
Finn provided the bit of quality needed to create an equaliser.
Poor game.
disgraceful challenge. his challenge for the first yellow was very poor also.rovers discipline is shocking. Lee Grace got a stupid yellow for running to confront the ref and tell him to do his job and touched him as he spoke to him. Totally deserved. Dont fancy Rovers for the replay at all. They could have won it only for McAllisters stupid challenge!
sbgawa
01/10/2017, 7:19 PM
MOTM performance from finner. We will miss Davy for the replay but will hardly play as badly again as we did for the first half.
Calcio Jack
01/10/2017, 7:28 PM
Will McAllister not be okay for the replay as two yellow means one game suspension I.e. next w/end ?
As for his sending off agree he deserved to go but a few seconds before there was a blatant foul on Finn which Neil Doyle missed and had he done his job correctly then all concerned would of been okay.
On the match itself remarkable how poor Rovers were in the first half and then completely took over for most of the second - so played 5 against Dun and honours even so far with two wins apiece and a draw - imagine what we'd do if we kept 11 on the park !! Oh I forgot Bradley hasn't a clue what he's at unlike Kenny
White Horse
01/10/2017, 7:32 PM
Shields season over,medial ligament damage.Straight red anytime/anywhere.....except in Ireland!!
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DLEf5owW4AAYMmf.jpg
I now understand why the players were so upset. That is criminal.
01/10/2017, 7:39 PM
Train station vandalised, pub smashed up, flare on the pitch, fans ejected from the stand, trying to kick down a dividing fence, breaking down the advertisment hoarding, further missiles thrown on the pitch and regular intervals, filthy tackle and red card, Bradley and co celebrating as if they had won the damn cup - the usual fare for Shams FC.
I think Rovers shaded the match. Bar the opening 30 minutes we were very poor. Without O'Donnell on the park we would have lost and there was a good bit of uncharacteristic aimless hoofing out of defence as there wasnt anyone showing. As a result we were caught in possession to often. McEleney looks tired and is missing the bust of pace that takes him past people. The physical nature of the game would have suited a fit John Mountney with his ability to run all day especially. Before the tackle, in front of us Gannon was lined up for a leading elbow, the Rovers player was watching the man and not the ball. I still cant believe that it was a second yellow that was given for that tackle rather than a straight red - if it wasnt a straight red i dont know what is!
sbgawa
01/10/2017, 7:47 PM
Usual exaggeration...just accept the result and get on with it FFS
Kiki Balboa
01/10/2017, 7:56 PM
Rovers are a club that give a standing ovation to a player that tries to break the leg of another professionals leg. Enough said. To be honest, no other clubs in Ireland stoop to disgraceful levels that Rovers are willing to go to. We all know it.