View Full Version : FAI Cup 2017

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

sbgawa
01/10/2017, 7:58 PM
Grow up will you , fully committed players going for the call get it wrong sometimes .

sbgawa
01/10/2017, 7:59 PM
Fractions of a second between getting the ball and the man. And that holds both ways

01/10/2017, 8:06 PM
Usual exaggeration...just accept the result and get on with it FFS

Nope no exaggerations at all. I have no need to exaggerate but you need to quit doing an ostrich! As for the result, didnt I say that Rvers shaded the match bar the first 30 minutes and the rest we were poor and we could have lost the game. The result was fair.

colonelwest
01/10/2017, 8:07 PM
Usual exaggeration...just accept the result and get on with it FFS

Which part? The usual expected wannabe thuggery and rank stupidity off the pitch or the wannabe thuggery, indiscipline and rank stupidity on it? Whatever about off the pitch, regarding on the pitch matters; Surely the penny should have dropped at this stage for Stephen "Bradser" "Every games the oppositions cup final" Bradser Bradserley at this stage of his stint in charge? The Dave O'Leary "They're only babies" routine will only get him so far. The lack of discipline, attitude and stupidity all season comes from the top down and it's cost Rovers all season. Rovers must near have more cards than Easons at this stage.

Decent enough game on the pitch, the wind made it awkward for both teams, a draw a fair result all round. Replay the day after the Wales game a bit of a strange one, won't be back til that evening so won't make it unfortunately.

sbgawa
01/10/2017, 8:10 PM
Good game and as a side bar good advert for a ten team league . The more games between top teams the better

ToberonaTornado
01/10/2017, 8:15 PM
Fractions of a second between getting the ball and the man. And that holds both ways

Cop yourself on lad.It was a deliberate & reckless challenge END OFF ffs.Remove your Rovers goggles and hat for a minute there.

Kiki Balboa
01/10/2017, 8:16 PM
Grow up will you , fully committed players going for the call get it wrong sometimes .

Aye, yeah maybe... Or Maybe McAllister tried to go through McEleney twice before hand, and finally did do damage. I slightly disagree that it was an accident.

The picture clearly shows he is no where near the ball. A dirty scumbag player is exactly what he is.

Just keep on turning a blind eye to your fans and players behavior. Your club is exactly its actions.

sbgawa
01/10/2017, 8:17 PM
So your thought process is he deliberetly did a bad tackle to get himself sent off to get sheilds out of the game ?? Grow up ...it was a bad tackle in the course of the game ..end of

Kiki Balboa
01/10/2017, 8:23 PM
So your thought process is he deliberetly did a bad tackle to get himself sent off to get sheilds out of the game ?? Grow up ...it was a bad tackle in the course of the game ..end of

No, I think he lost his head, and tried to do a big tackle and injured a Dundalk player, which he did do. Just like Bolger did in the previous match.

placid casual
01/10/2017, 8:27 PM
Draw was fair result.
The moral indignation us laughable, especially from non Dundalk fans.
They scored, and then sat back, which was strange, as they are clearly the best side in the country.
Will take the replay- think it'll go to extra time.

sbgawa
01/10/2017, 8:27 PM
Exactly ....bad tackle normal game stuff.....hurt us more than dundalk, let's not make a drama out of it

mcgonigle
01/10/2017, 8:36 PM
On the game we were great in the first half hour, thought we were going to steamroll Rovers but we just stopped playing. Couldn't begrudge Rovers the draw. On the sending off, the tackle was disgusting and it's hard to fathom how it wasn't a straight red, Shields out for the remainder of the season now.

On the other "stuff" I feel sorry for genuine Rovers fans of which I know a few. It must be really embarrassing to be associated with the scum that attach themselves to their club. Also it must be really disheartening that the club has never made a serious push to weed these low lives out.

placid casual
01/10/2017, 8:41 PM
Did Dundalk weed out the scum who broke 40/50 seats when playing in tallaght last season.
Get to f***.

01/10/2017, 8:42 PM
Good game and as a side bar good advert for a ten team league . The more games between top teams the better

I thought it was an average game to be honest. Neither side really stood out above the other.

It certainly didn't do ten team league any favours, as people will be sick of watching the same teams cancel each other out over and over again. As said already, Rovers and Dundalk have played each other 5 times this season, 6 after the replay, and with a ten team league, that would have been 7 times in one season, or once every 5 weeks. Feck that for a game of cards. It takes away from the occasion of a derby game, and lessens any potential rivalries within the league.

Ezeikial
01/10/2017, 8:43 PM
On the other "stuff" I feel sorry for genuine Rovers fans of which I know a few. It must be really embarrassing to be associated with the scum that attach themselves to their club. Also it must be really disheartening that the club has never made a serious push to weed these low lives out.

Shamrock Rovers match tickets were only available to Members initially, with any remaining tickets going to Season Ticket holders. The Rovers fans causing trouble in the ground are part of the core of the club,

mcgonigle
01/10/2017, 8:51 PM
Did Dundalk weed out the scum who broke 40/50 seats when playing in tallaght last season.
Get to f***.

From the man who tried to defend a leg breaker by blaming the ref for not picking up on an earlier foul 🙄

See you and sbwaga are part of the problem, you may not be throwing flares or smashing up pubs but you'll turn a blind eye when it happens just like your club, and use the above tactic to do this.

I presume that all tickets for this game were sold to Rovers season ticket holders? If so this is very worrying for the club as these fans are meant to be the ones who love the club most.

Dundalk have plenty of idiots but if 600 season ticket holders went to Tallaght there would be no issues.

No need to reply btw I'll discuss this with an intelligent Rovers fan in the morning. Enjoy the celebrations

White Horse
01/10/2017, 8:52 PM
Shamrock Rovers match tickets were only available to Members initially, with any remaining tickets going to Season Ticket holders. The Rovers fans causing trouble in the ground are part of the core of the club,

That explains a lot.

sbgawa
01/10/2017, 8:55 PM
No, I think he lost his head, and tried to do a big tackle and injured a Dundalk player, which he did do. Just like Bolger did in the previous match.

Wasn't aware vermuland was injured ....was it a mirage or was he playing tonight ?

mcgonigle
01/10/2017, 8:57 PM

Looks like we're thinking the same thing. Like I said it's the genuine members and season ticket holders I feel sorry for because there are plenty who just want to go to matches and follow their team.

I'd find it very difficult to follow Dundalk knowing that this crap is going to happen each time we play a rival. I know we have our idiots but the big difference is that they are teenage idiots who come and go, the Rovers idiots are grown men who should know better

Ezeikial
01/10/2017, 9:00 PM
Exactly ....bad tackle normal game stuff.....hurt us more than dundalk, let's not make a drama out of it

I think Chris Shields might disagree

mcgonigle
01/10/2017, 9:01 PM
Wasn't aware vermuland was injured ....was it a mirage or was he playing tonight ?
Right so it can't be a bad tackle if you don't properly injure your opponent? Yours and PC's comments just reinforce most people's opinions of Rovers fans

ToberonaTornado
01/10/2017, 9:08 PM
Would i be right in saying that the McAllister red and his suspension will be in the replay? (red carries to the competition you get it in?) He could still be suspended for 3 matches if the FAI disciplinary committee feel its warranted.

jinxy lilywhite
01/10/2017, 9:14 PM
To be honest after witnessing the antics of Shamrock Rovers supporters this evening they are the perfect definition of an Orwellian classless society.

It was some wild celebrations from them when they equalised and at ft.

sbgawa
01/10/2017, 9:16 PM
I think Chris Shields might disagree
I think sheilds is man enough to admit he has been there done that.

placid casual
01/10/2017, 9:20 PM
Right so it can't be a bad tackle if you don't properly injure your opponent? Yours and PC's comments just reinforce most people's opinions of Rovers fans

I wouldn't presume to speak for sbgawa, as I assume he can speak for himself, but your opinion of me and any other Rovers fan carries no merit whatsoever, as far as I'm concerned.
I do not follow Rovers to get affirmation from other fans of my choice of team. I follow Rovers because they are my who I am.
Whether you think that's good,bad or indifferent is of no value, to me anyway.

See you Tuesday.

colonelwest
01/10/2017, 9:25 PM
I wouldn't presume to speak for sbgawa, as I assume he can speak for himself, but your opinion of me and any other Rovers fan carries no merit whatsoever, as far as I'm concerned.
I do not follow Rovers to get affirmation from other fans of my choice of team. I follow Rovers because they are my who I am.

See you Tuesday.

Actually it's See you next Tuesday (week). Ahem.
:rolleyes::D

mcgonigle
01/10/2017, 9:28 PM

See you Tuesday.

So we're not friends then? 🙁

Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/10/2017, 9:48 PM
Would i be right in saying that the McAllister red and his suspension will be in the replay? (red carries to the competition you get it in?) He could still be suspended for 3 matches if the FAI disciplinary committee feel its warranted.

Yes the suspension is for the next game of the same tournament unless you were knocked out in the game you were sent off in. Then it would be a league game you'd miss. At least that's my understanding of it.

Awful tackle.

oriel
01/10/2017, 10:07 PM
A draw was a fair result. Disappointing by Dundalk in the second half but that's the way it goes.

Disgraceful tackle by McAllister. That was a straight red on its on. Shields may have been involved a few seconds earlier but it was more a shoulder/ barge at worst.

Decent match. Was mentioned above about possible merit of 10 team league, two good sides going at each other, if that is a sole reason for the benefit of a ten team league to raise the quality of the football it might be worthwhile. We'll have to see.

Dundalk will have no fears going to Tallaght on tues week but there is a sense of we let Rovers off the hook in the first half. Overall though, no complaints on the result.

Yossarian
01/10/2017, 10:19 PM
It was some wild celebrations from them when they equalised and at ft.

Not just then, I've never seen a man of the match award celebrated so wildly than this evening. You'd swear Rovers had won their cup final.

sbgawa
02/10/2017, 4:40 AM
Not just then, I've never seen a man of the match award celebrated so wildly than this evening. You'd swear Rovers had won their cup final.
To be fair the celebrations were for hanging on against the odds with ten men ....it felt like a win getting a replay especially after being behind. The Finn thing was just rubbing it in given the history.

sbgawa
02/10/2017, 4:53 AM

Look it was a bad tackle but it was a timing thing i dont believe for a second he tried to injure sheilds knowing he would get himself sent off. If arguing that cade "reinforces" your opinion of me i can live with that. Judgement of Your one dimensional opinion I'll leave to others

GCdfc
02/10/2017, 6:16 AM
To be fair the celebrations were for hanging on against the odds with ten men ....it felt like a win getting a replay especially after being behind. The Finn thing was just rubbing it in given the history.

Both were hilarious and gave us a great laugh.

sbgawa
02/10/2017, 6:48 AM
Both were hilarious and gave us a great laugh.

Us too:)

mcgonigle
02/10/2017, 7:13 AM
Look it was a bad tackle but it was a timing thing i dont believe for a second he tried to injure sheilds knowing he would get himself sent off. If arguing that cade "reinforces" your opinion of me i can live with that. Judgement of Your one dimensional opinion I'll leave to others

Not just that but everything, you constantly play down the behaviour of your fans, players, management etc. It's been mentioned before, it's the ostrich syndrome, most at Rovers suffer from it, including your board

sbgawa
02/10/2017, 8:28 AM
I've actually acknowledged more than once that we have our own bunch of loolas who I would prefer weren't part of things but that cuts no ice obviously.
I don't think I play things down I think I call it down the middle I genuinely don't believe Davy set out to make that tackle...why would he want to get himself sent off??
One guy on here saying "scumbags" threw flares on the pitch .....was he in the Aviva for the cup final ??
Bad tackle , bad behaviour but perspective lads...

GCdfc
02/10/2017, 8:37 AM
Great deflection!

Yes I was at the Aviva. But damp grass doesn’t burn like rubber and the Fire Service were on duty. It was pure scumbags that threw the flares into the pitch in oriel. They knew what they were doing just like the ones who decided to wreck a pub and the train station.

All clubs have idiots. The only difference is that with Rovers is that it goes up from the stands, right through to players, management team and board.

Asterix
02/10/2017, 8:58 AM
It's hilarious that dundalk think their fans and players are angels. 😂

Calcio Jack
02/10/2017, 9:11 AM
Great deflection!

Yes I was at the Aviva. But damp grass doesn’t burn like rubber and the Fire Service were on duty. It was pure scumbags that threw the flares into the pitch in oriel. They knew what they were doing just like the ones who decided to wreck a pub and the train station.

All clubs have idiots. The only difference is that with Rovers is that it goes up from the stands, right through to players, management team and board.

I'd never try to justify the antics of a small number of morons but 100% condemn such actions( nor does the Club which is reflected in the number stadium bans we've handed out and implemented this season).

However it's hard to take in any way seriously complaints etc. from a club that has its own in residence pyromaniac who is allowed into Oriel and to stand near the dugout.

Also (and this goes for all clubs) surely it should be possible for the security staff to search and confiscate flares .

mcgonigle
02/10/2017, 9:15 AM
It's hilarious that dundalk think their fans and players are angels. 😂

Oh look another deflector, quote were that was said pls.

GCdfc
02/10/2017, 9:31 AM
However it's hard to take in any way seriously complaints etc. from a club that has its own in residence pyromaniac who is allowed into Oriel and to stand near the dugout.

More deflection! Out of curiosity, which club official from Dundalk FC has said anything in this thread?

sbgawa
02/10/2017, 10:34 AM
Great deflection!

Would you ever cop on , no one thought the pitch would go on fire, even your own stewards didn't think that otherwise they wouldn't have left it burning out on the pitch instead of going and picking it up or smothering it out.
The sanctimonious nature of most of the postings on here is hilarious, even saying that most Rovers fans wished these loolaas would feck off isn't good enough, stadium bans aren't good enough, fencing off the east stand isn't good enough. you still say the stands players management and board are all at fault.

If you can't see that you are a little bit blinkered I can.

Anyway, on the game a draw was a fair result but we will be without Davy for the replay and also possibly Bolger and Clarke who have been called up for the u19's and u21's. 1 player in each squad isn't enough for a cancelation if we are without those 3 we will be very thin.....crazy if it comes to that its the FAI cup semi final !!

02/10/2017, 11:58 AM
Would you ever cop on , no one thought the pitch would go on fire, even your own stewards didn't think that otherwise they wouldn't have left it burning out on the pitch instead of going and picking it up or smothering it out.

It's entirely irrelevant whether they thought the pitch would go on fire or not, it's unacceptable. It's criminal actually, both the possession and the damage done to the pitch.

I find it hard to blame the host club for the use of flares. You can search people all you want, but if someone wants to take a flare into any ground in the country, they'll manage it. Since that is the case, the only way to deal with their use is by punishing those involved. Possession of a flare should result in arrest, as it does in the IL, and heavy fines for the club involved.

If they FAI were serious about enforcement, both Dundalk and Shamrock Rovers should be hauled up in front a committee in Abbotstown, required to identify those involved to the gardaí, fined, and warned that if it happens again, they'll be playing their next home match behind closed doors.
It'd be the sort of wake-up call clubs need.

Calcio Jack
02/10/2017, 12:16 PM
More deflection! Out of curiosity, which club official from Dundalk FC has said anything in this thread?

It's not deflection , also going down the pedantic road of asking which official from Dundalk said anything is churlish and in itself an attempt at deflection when all and sundry know what I meant.

What occurred as I've already acknowledged was wrong- however people in glass houses aren't in a position to throw stones.

redobit
02/10/2017, 12:58 PM

Ya think. It's not the first pitch to go on fire in Oriel. Stewards probably didn't pick it up because they are not supposed too. I thought all LOI clubs were instructed by the FAI have a Fire Service presence at their grounds since the start of this season. I know in the Showgrounds there are two fire fighters at the games.

redobit
02/10/2017, 1:03 PM
Ye know what's hilarious about this too. The FAI will fine Dundalk for flares in the ground and maybe fine Shams for the actions of their supporters. But FAI videos for league launches will have a clip of fans letting of flares, presumably trying to show how great the atmosphere at LOI games is.

sbgawa
02/10/2017, 1:18 PM
It's entirely irrelevant whether they thought the pitch would go on fire or not, it's unacceptable. It's criminal actually, both the possession and the damage done to the pitch.

So if the thinking the pitch would go on fire is irrelevant then the flares in the Aviva were "unacceptable and criminal" as well I guess.
We all have our problems and I'm happy to accept Rovers have more of them but every team has muppets..

All I'm asking for is a bit of perspective. Rovers are not the epitome of evil and Dundalk are not without sin

sundance kid
02/10/2017, 1:46 PM
I thought the worst part of the day was being spat at, and having coins thrown at me in the stand by older dundalk fans who should really know better. But i'm sure that was probably just my imagination.

MattB11
02/10/2017, 1:54 PM
How much damage was actually done to the pitch?

sbgawa
02/10/2017, 1:55 PM
I thought the worst part of the day was being spat at, and having coins thrown at me in the stand by older dundalk fans who should really know better. But i'm sure that was probably just my imagination.

I didn't want to bring that up because (I'm a deflector) but that is absolutely correct,
Let he who is without sin cast the first stone..