View Full Version : FAI Cup 2017
Pages :
[
2]
EatYerGreens
31/07/2017, 4:50 PM
All hail PAYPAL!
Please tell me that you are not suggesting that some bar function would take precedence over the scheduling of the cup game.
It would be unprofessional and commercially shortsighted to take a booking for an event at your club, and then cancel it at relatively short notice.
Surely the core issue here isn't whether or not Paypal should be cancelled. It's what were Dundalk doing taking a Friday night booking on an FAI Cup weekend in the first place. They obviously either gambled on an away fixture, or planned to use another day all along if they were at home. Either way Paypal aren't at fault, so the agreement with them should be honoured.
Ezeikial
31/07/2017, 7:13 PM
It would be unprofessional and commercially shortsighted to take a booking for an event at your club, and then cancel it at relatively short notice.
Surely the core issue here isn't whether or not Paypal should be cancelled. It's what were Dundalk doing taking a Friday night booking on an FAI Cup weekend in the first place. They obviously either gambled on an away fixture, or planned to use another day all along if they were at home. Either way Paypal aren't at fault, so the agreement with them should be honoured.
Have I missed something - is it the close season already?
04/08/2017, 3:09 PM
The fixtures will be played across Friday, Saturday and Sunday as holders Cork City kick-off their defence at Bray Wanderers on Saturday, August 12th at 7pm.
Furthermore, the second round draw will take place on Monday, August 14th live on RTE's Soccer Republic. The show will begin at 6.30pm on RTE Player and the draw will be broadcast live on the programme.
The full Irish Daily Mail First Round fixture list is below
Friday, 11th August - Cabinteely v U.C.D., Stradbrook, 7.45 pm
Friday, 11th August - Waterford v Shelbourne, R.S.C., 7.45 pm
Friday, 11th August - Finn Harps v Bohemians, Finn Park, 8.00 pm
Friday, 11th August - Shamrock Rovers v Glenville, Tallaght Stadium, 8.00pm
Friday, 11th August - Wexford v Crumlin United, Ferrycarrig Park, 8.00pm
Saturday, 12th August - Cobh Wanderers v Killarney Celtic, Oldchurch Park, 4.00 pm
Saturday, 12th August - Cobh Ramblers v Limerick, St. Colman’s Park, 7.45 pm
Saturday, 12th August - Ballincollig v Athlone Town, CIT, 5.00 pm
Saturday, 12th August - Bangor Celtic v Everton, Iveagh Grounds, 6.30 pm
Saturday, 12th August - Bray Wanderers v Cork City, Carlisle Grounds, 7.00 pm
Saturday, 12th August - Longford Town v Sligo Rovers, City Calling Stadium, 7.30 pm
Sunday, 13th August - Bluebell United v Sheriff YC, Red Cow, 12.00 pm
Sunday, 13th August - Evergreen v Drogheda United, Evergreen Park, 2.00 pm
Sunday, 13th August - Killester United v Galway United, Haddon Park, 2.00 pm
Sunday, 13th August - Portmarnock v St. Patrick’s Athletic, Paddy’s Hill, 2.00 pm
Sunday, 13th August - Dundalk v Derry City, Oriel Park, 6.30pm
thebronze14
05/08/2017, 1:21 AM
Wouldn't have minded seeing the Harps game moved to Saturday just to see effect it may have on attendence...but too be far it probably wouldn't alter it too much
Northsider
08/08/2017, 11:59 AM
Wouldn't have minded seeing the Harps game moved to Saturday just to see effect it may have on attendence...but too be far it probably wouldn't alter it too much
I would have been tempted myself on a Saturday, no chance of going up Friday night.
bluemovie
09/08/2017, 1:43 PM
Are Shels fans still boycotting their games or are any likely to travel to Waterford on Friday?
09/08/2017, 5:38 PM
Are Shels fans still boycotting their games or are any likely to travel to Waterford on Friday?
They travel to the odd away game, id imagine a bus load might come down for a p1ss up. They still boycott home games
HarpoJoyce
10/08/2017, 4:47 PM
The fixtures will be played across Friday, Saturday and Sunday as holders Cork City kick-off their defence at Bray Wanderers on Saturday, August 12th at 7pm.
Furthermore, the second round draw will take place on Monday, August 14th live on RTE's Soccer Republic. The show will begin at 6.30pm on RTE Player and the draw will be broadcast live on the programme.
The full Irish Daily Mail First Round fixture list is below
Friday, 11th August - Cabinteely v U.C.D., Stradbrook, 7.45 pm
Friday, 11th August - Waterford v Shelbourne, R.S.C., 7.45 pm
Friday, 11th August - Finn Harps v Bohemians, Finn Park, 8.00 pm
Friday, 11th August - Shamrock Rovers v Glenville, Tallaght Stadium, 8.00pm
Friday, 11th August - Wexford v Crumlin United, Ferrycarrig Park, 8.00pm
Saturday, 12th August - Cobh Wanderers v Killarney Celtic, Oldchurch Park, 4.00 pm
Saturday, 12th August - Cobh Ramblers v Limerick, St. Colman’s Park, 7.45 pm
Saturday, 12th August - Ballincollig v Athlone Town, CIT, 5.00 pm
Saturday, 12th August - Bangor Celtic v Everton, Iveagh Grounds, 6.30 pm
Saturday, 12th August - Bray Wanderers v Cork City, Carlisle Grounds, 7.00 pm
Saturday, 12th August - Longford Town v Sligo Rovers, City Calling Stadium, 7.30 pm
Sunday, 13th August - Bluebell United v Sheriff YC, Red Cow, 12.00 pm
Sunday, 13th August - Evergreen v Drogheda United, Evergreen Park, 2.00 pm
Sunday, 13th August - Killester United v Galway United, Haddon Park, 2.00 pm
Sunday, 13th August - Portmarnock v St. Patrick’s Athletic, Paddy’s Hill, 2.00 pm
Sunday, 13th August - Dundalk v Derry City, Oriel Park, 6.30pm
A earlier kick off time for Fri 11th August, Cabinteely FC v UCD AFC, Stradbrook, Blackrock RFC, ko 19:00 (7pm)
So in case of a draw there is extra time and then penalties?
Yep, in next two rounds plus final.
11/08/2017, 6:44 PM
Harps v Bohs delayed by ten minutes. Inevitable crowd congestion.
That...and the Bohs team bus broke down.
RathfarnhamHoop
11/08/2017, 7:08 PM
Cabo leading ucd 1-0 at half time through a KMW goal
Looks like money well spent from Waterford bringing in the players for a cup run😂😂😂
D24Saint
11/08/2017, 9:39 PM
LiveScore has the harps game in extra time , when we're replays done away with.
ToberonaTornado
11/08/2017, 9:45 PM
LiveScore has the harps game in extra time , when we're replays done away with.
From this round this year.
Shep,i'm also pmsl over that Waterford result.Barrett booked as well :D
MattB11
11/08/2017, 9:56 PM
7 goal borefest in Finn Park
D24Saint
11/08/2017, 10:00 PM
7 goal borefest in Finn Park
Thank god real football is back 😀
oldyouth
11/08/2017, 10:02 PM
Wexford missed 2 penos and hit the crossbar twice. Since the start of the season, the lack of a natural finisher has been our undoing
wonder88
11/08/2017, 11:25 PM
Big win for Harps, and great to see some life in Shels yet. Important for Irish soccer that Shelbourne survive and remain in Tolka or return to Ringsend. Going into Dalymount would I think be a dangerous move for them.
Philosophizer
12/08/2017, 6:28 AM
Big win for Harps, and great to see some life in Shels yet. Important for Irish soccer that Shelbourne survive and remain in Tolka or return to Ringsend. Going into Dalymount would I think be a dangerous move for them.
It's already been decided. They're moving to Dalyer.
Ezeikial
12/08/2017, 8:47 AM
Another BradleyBalls classic from the post match interview after the 1-0 win over Glenville
"if you score 2 or 3 more it might change the game"
On a more serious note accusations of racial abuse of Graham Burke are made against Dylan Nolan. According to Stephen Bradley this was reported to "the match delegate and the officials"
https://soundcloud.com/shamrock-rovers-f-c/stephen-bradley-glenville-fai-cup-post-match-interview-11817
sbgawa
12/08/2017, 11:16 AM
Yeah Burke was going mental. Came off the pitch with the game going on for at least a minute to complain to bradser and the 4th official.
Separately its ages since we had a peno I think we should issue a press release and have a little cry about it...
sbgawa
12/08/2017, 1:34 PM
The draw is at 6:30 On soccer republic on the rte player. Every time I go into the player on Rte on a Monday on my tv it has the previous weeks episode on.
RathfarnhamHoop
12/08/2017, 1:54 PM
Another BradleyBalls classic from the post match interview after the 1-0 win over Glenville
"if you score 2 or 3 more it might change the game"
On a more serious note accusations of racial abuse of Graham Burke are made against Dylan Nolan. According to Stephen Bradley this was reported to "the match delegate and the officials"
https://soundcloud.com/shamrock-rovers-f-c/stephen-bradley-glenville-fai-cup-post-match-interview-11817
Seriously what is your obsession with analysing everything Bradley says? Theres nothing even wrong with that statement either, he was saying how if they scored 2 or 3 more even with the same performance the whole perception of that performance changes from disappointing to just scrape by and win by one to a convincing dominant display while the actual performance doesnt change at all
EatYerGreens
12/08/2017, 2:58 PM
Harps v Bohs delayed by ten minutes. Inevitable crowd congestion.
That...and the Bohs team bus broke down.
Good to hear. What was the attendance ?
sbgawa
12/08/2017, 3:18 PM
Seriously what is your obsession with analysing everything Bradley says? Theres nothing even wrong with that statement either, he was saying how if they scored 2 or 3 more even with the same performance the whole perception of that performance changes from disappointing to just scrape by and win by one to a convincing dominant display while the actual performance doesnt change at all
It's called obsession.....small man syndrome 😀
placid casual
12/08/2017, 4:14 PM
Rovers laboured yesterday against a hard working non league side- They really need to improve their finishing if they want to get any silverware this season.
still at least they are still in, i suppose.:cool:
hope they gypos enjoyed their journey home from donegal, in their $hite bus;);)
bohs: there to be laughed at
Ezeikial
12/08/2017, 4:56 PM
.. he was saying how if they scored 2 or 3 more even with the same performance the whole perception of that performance changes from disappointing to just scrape by and win by one to a convincing dominant display while the actual performance doesnt change at all
Thanks. I didn't realise there such such depth to his comments.
I really need to pay more attention in future to his utterances
12/08/2017, 5:27 PM
Good to hear. What was the attendance ?
Wasn't much more than 500 really.
12/08/2017, 5:33 PM
Jaysus, Ballincollig must be ****e
12/08/2017, 5:42 PM
Roddy Collins planning an assault on the FAI Cup.
12/08/2017, 6:25 PM
Not as if the cup already hasnt a number of dents!
Kingswood Rover
12/08/2017, 7:06 PM
Rovers really do have the makings of a good young team and hopefully the patience of the fans remains to give our young manager the chance to blossom. Whatever you think about the team it is really refreshing to see some passion on the pitch, 5/6 red cards this season i see as a positive,, as a long time Hooper said to me at least "they are kicking people now they just have to learn when" Supporters really feel at least this group give a Fcuk. Against Derry we done alright and went chasing the game, one criticism of our manager though would be not telling our keeper to stay the fcuk put, we were having a right good go at that stage and would have had time for one more decent raid on their goal. I was really impressed by the fans reaction to the team at the final whistle cheering the team who had come over to the east stand. 1 nil last night with their keeper man of the match, so what, move on, Raging Bohs were beaten, Rovers Bohs final, now that would be special.
NeverFeltBetter
12/08/2017, 7:36 PM
Limerick cruising against Cobh at HT. Negative appraisal misplaced.
patrickccfc
12/08/2017, 8:12 PM
Not the best game in bray but always nice to get through. Sadlier missed a pen but took his goal well a few minutes later. Very small crowd
Calcio Jack
12/08/2017, 8:29 PM
Thanks. I didn't realise there such such depth to his comments.
I really need to pay more attention in future to his utterances
Rather than focus endlessly on what Bradley says , you should reflect on how inarticulate Kenny is , he may be very successful as a manager but his interview skills are extremely poor.
It never ceases to amaze me how in a short one/two minute interview he can manage to pepper his comments with a litany of ".. you know.." , "..what l mean like you know.." ad nauseam and will regularly top and tail a single sentence with "..you know..".
And for the most part he never makes much sense as he comes across as being camera shy and it's almost like he's talking to himself - he could do himself a lot of good by going on a media skills training course, he's a smart guy and obviously leaves nothing to chance in preparing the team- pity he lets himself and by extension Dundalk down by being so poor on camera.
Anyway let's hope Dave Barry is never tasked with interviewing Kenny !!
MattB11
12/08/2017, 9:05 PM
Longford 4-2 Sligo AET
12/08/2017, 9:20 PM
We're on the march with Fenny's army :cool:
We've had little to shout about this season so that'll do nicely to keep some bit of interest alive. Couple of new signings coming up with goals too, always welcome. Apparently Peter Hopkins had a great game, signed from Sheriff via Pats u19s I think.
sbgawa
12/08/2017, 9:42 PM
Rather than focus endlessly on what Bradley says , you should reflect on how inarticulate Kenny is , he may be very successful as a manager but his interview skills are extremely poor.
It never ceases to amaze me how in a short one/two minute interview he can manage to pepper his comments with a litany of ".. you know.." , "..what l mean like you know.." ad nauseam and will regularly top and tail a single sentence with "..you know..".
And for the most part he never makes much sense as he comes across as being camera shy and it's almost like he's talking to himself - he could do himself a lot of good by going on a media skills training course, he's a smart guy and obviously leaves nothing to chance in preparing the team- pity he lets himself and by extension Dundalk down by being so poor on camera.
Don't waste your time calcio he's obsessed. Take it as a compliment
mcgonigle
12/08/2017, 10:29 PM
Don't waste your time calcio he's obsessed. Take it as a compliment
You will anyway as you misread or misunderstand every post 🙄
13/08/2017, 2:59 AM
I agree, Stephen Kenny doesnt seem the most comfortable with a microphone shoved in front of him. He often settles in to interviews after a minute or two. He seems more considered with his responses than anything else but one thing he doesnt do is throw things in like 'so called' like ye know. Bradley is bland on tv, i hope he is better in the dressing room or his players will be asleep. Croly was just too nice, Buckley ah sure look it, Caulfield look its tough like, Horgan we are awful, Ulster Senior League for us next season, Sheils the dugouts, the pitch, the bus, the colour of the changing rooms. I'm sure no fan could care less about the media ability of managers if there are trophies in the cabinet - Bradley could court the media like Roddy Collins for all Rovers fans care as long as he never got 'em relegated...
13/08/2017, 1:05 PM
Bluebell easily beat Sheriff 3-0 this morning.
Galway 1-0 down after two minutes against Killester.
sbgawa
13/08/2017, 1:37 PM
Expected Sherrif to win that one
Nah Nah Nah Nah
13/08/2017, 1:40 PM
We were a thundering disgrace last night
13/08/2017, 2:05 PM
Evergreen 0-1 Drogheda
Portmarnock 0-1 Pats
Killester 1-0 Galway
All into the second half now.
13/08/2017, 3:48 PM
We were a thundering disgrace last night
Unbelievably it was our first home win over ye since the 88/89 season.when we beat ye in 05 season it was in the showgrounds in league cup so its a massive relief to get the monkey off our back.
Crowd was a disappointingly 667. I never saw a Sligo rovers fan base so subdued.
Jack Brady and peter Hopkins were the best players on the pitch.
4-0 Dundalk...came out of the traps flying,should have been 3-0 up at half time,survived one or two scares before comfortably seeing the game out..very impressed by the teams hunger tonight
13/08/2017, 8:04 PM
Last 16 teams.
Cabinteely
Shelbourne
Shamrock Rovers
Crumlin United
Finn Harps
Cobh Wanderers
Athlone Town
Bangor Celtic
Cork City
Longford Town
Limerick
Bluebell United
Drogheda United
Galway United
St Pats Ath
Dundalk
NeverFeltBetter
13/08/2017, 8:19 PM
Half the teams First Division/non-league. Serious opportunity to reach last 8 if the draw is favorable.
jinxy lilywhite
13/08/2017, 8:20 PM
Cracking game performance and result.
Best performance of the season. And against a real top 4 side who lets be honest would've fancied a cup run.
Aaron mceneff is a sweet sweet player. If we could add someone to the panel who could win you a league he would be my man