View Full Version : FAI Cup 2017

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

13/08/2017, 8:21 PM
Meanwhile, half the First Division (and some of the Premier too? Don't know is there a midweek round left) will only have game every other week pretty much till the end of the season. Utterly daft scheduling of the Cup this year.

patrickccfc
13/08/2017, 8:25 PM
Last 16 teams.

Cabinteely
Shelbourne
Shamrock Rovers
Crumlin United
Finn Harps
Cobh Wanderers
Athlone Town
Bangor Celtic
Cork City
Longford Town
Limerick
Bluebell United
Drogheda United
Galway United
St Pats Ath
Dundalk

Shelbourne away would be nice, for old times sake.

sbgawa
13/08/2017, 8:30 PM
My dream draw home to Cabo.
Either way one of my teams get through.

ToberonaTornado
13/08/2017, 8:50 PM
Excellent game in Oriel tonight.Two fully committed sides going at each other hell for leather for most of the game.The best first half of football i've seen in a while in the LOI.
Derry no pushover at all but we held our lines brilliantly when it was important for us to do so.Vemmelund was looking to score all match against his former side and was also excellent in his role at the heart of defence MOTM.
Duffy is a brilliant player,nw if he can add goals(he scored one but should have had more) he's going to top class for us.Mountney showed he's still a force to be reckoned with.Stevie O was class.
Really enjoyed that match.

Drogs in the next round please.(home or away)

oriel
13/08/2017, 8:53 PM
Very good performance by Dundalk, second half was superb, Benson missed a sitter too, should really have been more. Derry had 2 good chances, one hit the bar, another prob should have scored in the second half, but overall it was relentless by Dundalk in the last 15, probably agree it was the best of the year so far.

Duffy was the standout player for me, he was electric down the left side, good crossing too and he earned his goal, unusual for Mountney to score even one never mind two, and the second was some effort, well worth a look tomorrow night. Vemmelund continues to impress at the back, seamless display and you get the impression he can get better too.

Derry definitely played their part in a good contest, it was by far from over at HT, only 1-0.

Enruoblehs
13/08/2017, 10:50 PM
Anyone know when he draw for Round 2 - to be played in two weeks - is going to take place?

ToberonaTornado
13/08/2017, 11:20 PM
Anyone know when he draw for Round 2 - to be played in two weeks - is going to take place?

Soccer Republic tomorrow evening live on the RTE Player from 6:30pm.

Ezeikial
14/08/2017, 9:21 AM
Rather than focus endlessly on what Bradley says , you should reflect on how inarticulate Kenny is , he may be very successful as a manager but his interview skills are extremely poor.

It never ceases to amaze me how in a short one/two minute interview he can manage to pepper his comments with a litany of ".. you know.." , "..what l mean like you know.." ad nauseam and will regularly top and tail a single sentence with "..you know..".

And for the most part he never makes much sense as he comes across as being camera shy and it's almost like he's talking to himself - he could do himself a lot of good by going on a media skills training course, he's a smart guy and obviously leaves nothing to chance in preparing the team- pity he lets himself and by extension Dundalk down by being so poor on camera.

Anyway let's hope Dave Barry is never tasked with interviewing Kenny !!

I agree that Stephen Kenny could significantly improve his media interview style and can come across as awkward and uncomfortable. This is particularly the case in short sound-byte type TV or radio interviews. I think part of this is related to his measured and considered approach to questions. It is rare that he will say something that was unintended.

He probable considers substance to be more important than style - his longer more in-depth radio interviews bear this out and he tends to communicate his philosophy, thoughts and ambitions in a very interesting and informative way.

Although I understand that your post is a classic "whataboutery" deflection, do you really expect others to ignore BradleyBalls foot-in-mouth comments, John Caulfield when he says really bizarre stuff, or Kenny Shiels' madcap statements?

14/08/2017, 9:30 AM
Last 16 teams.

Cabinteely
Shelbourne
Shamrock Rovers
Crumlin United
Finn Harps
Cobh Wanderers
Athlone Town
Bangor Celtic
Cork City
Longford Town
Limerick
Bluebell United
Drogheda United
Galway United
St Pats Ath
Dundalk

Looking at that the only teams I wouldn't fancy us having a chance against are pats, cork, rovers or dundalk. Please give us a favourable draw

14/08/2017, 9:32 AM
...overall it was relentless by Dundalk in the last 15, probably agree it was the best of the year so far.

Interesting that you'd rate that as the best this season.
It was a vastly improved performance from Dundalk compared to our earlier games this season. I think 4-0 was a little bit harsh on us, but when you defend like that, you can't complain too much.
I thought we were poor overall, Rogers had little bother him. It's not helped when we play midfielders at full back, but with our small squad, we have to deal with it.

You'd have to wonder why Dundalk haven't playing like that all season. There's real quality in that squad.
We've them at home next Sunday now, it'll be intriguing to see how that goes.

Wee side note, loads of gardaí in and around the ground, more than earlier this season. Seemed a bit over the top. They even had dogs with them, though one was sleeping, which gave us a chuckle.

14/08/2017, 9:53 AM
It was a vastly improved performance from Dundalk compared to our earlier games this season. I think 4-0 was a little bit harsh on us, but when you defend like that, you can't complain too much.
I thought we were poor overall, Rogers had little bother him. It's not helped when we play midfielders at full back, but with our small squad, we have to deal with it.

You'd have to wonder why Dundalk haven't playing like that all season. There's real quality in that squad.

Wee side note, loads of gardaí in and around the ground, more than earlier this season. Seemed a bit over the top. They even had dogs with them, though one was sleeping, which gave us a chuckle.

Security always seems to be OTT at Oriel. We were held back for a ridiculous amount of time for our cup semi in 2015 and it only ended up causing trouble.

Ezeikial
14/08/2017, 10:09 AM
Security always seems to be OTT at Oriel. We were held back for a ridiculous amount of time for our cup semi in 2015 and it only ended up causing trouble.

Surely it was the shortage of crisps and minerals?

14/08/2017, 10:31 AM
Meanwhile, half the First Division (and some of the Premier too? Don't know is there a midweek round left) will only have game every other week pretty much till the end of the season. Utterly daft scheduling of the Cup this year.

Not quite every other week. We've three free weekends between now and the end of the season.
What would have made more sense would have been to schedule those cup weekends in with the international matches. That would make it easier for people to attend matches in Lansdowne and mean that people aren't missing club matches during international away games.

sbgawa
14/08/2017, 10:46 AM
I agree that Stephen Kenny could significantly improve his media interview style and can come across as awkward and uncomfortable. This is particularly the case in short sound-byte type TV or radio interviews. I think part of this is related to his measured and considered approach to questions. It is rare that he will say something that was unintended.

He probable considers substance to be more important than style - his longer more in-depth radio interviews bear this out and he tends to communicate his philosophy, thoughts and ambitions in a very interesting and informative way.

Although I understand that your post is a classic "whataboutery" deflection, do you really expect others to ignore BradleyBalls foot-in-mouth comments, John Caulfield when he says really bizarre stuff, or Kenny Shiels' madcap statements?

I've no problem calling a manager out when they say stupid things (ive called out Kennywhine myself over the whinging about not getting penalties amongst other things) but any fair interpretation of what Bradley was saying there was that 2 or 3 goals would have changed the result of the game but it wouldn't have changed the performance which is fair enough in my view. I was at the game and the performance was good , finishing was poor and you have to isolate the two things , sometimes the ball just wont go in.
Anyway no doubt you disagree.
Good performance against Derry , they really are developing into our bogey team

White Horse
14/08/2017, 11:16 AM

Stephen Kenny cannot really change his speaking style. He is an awakward speaker and does hesitate a lot.

The only thing I would suggest is not to make any mention of the differential in penalties awarded compared with other clubs.

Other than that, Stephen Kenny is more than fine.

sbgawa
14/08/2017, 11:35 AM
Stephen Kenny cannot really change his speaking style. He is an awakward speaker and does hesitate a lot.

The only thing I would suggest is not to make any mention of the differential in penalties awarded compared with other clubs.

Other than that, Stephen Kenny is more than fine.

Completely fair point on speaking style, people can't change , imagine asking Roddy Collins to do a calm thoughtful constructive interview :)

PartySaint
14/08/2017, 11:58 AM
Cobh Wanderers at home please

sbgawa
14/08/2017, 12:32 PM
With Bray Derry Sligo and Bohs all gone already its shaping up to be a good year for a "minnow"
If the draw throws up a few all Premier ties the last 8 could be very interesting.
Roll on 6:30

PartySaint
14/08/2017, 1:22 PM
With Bray Derry Sligo and Bohs all gone already its shaping up to be a good year for a "minnow"

Yeah Rovers might even manage to win it this year

dundalkfc10
14/08/2017, 2:09 PM

Overtime on a Sunday evening knowing there would be no trouble at all! There was always going to be loads gardai about! If trouble kicked off, it would still have taken them 2/3 minutes to get to it (even though it happens at same place anytime there is trouble)

I literally couldnt believe it when the 3rd goal went in, Derry fans started leaving the terrace only to return a minute later as they were not allowed out..

Sort of the same issue, when in Galway last week for League Cup match..Group of 3 lads from town who drove over went to get into that new bar behind the goals at HT for a drink and were not allowed in, 2 mins later myself and my mate both in Dundalk gear walked straight in!

sbgawa
14/08/2017, 2:32 PM
Yeah Rovers might even manage to win it this year

Well we are the cup specialists :)

Just for that now i'll be watching out for Pats away to either Dundalk or Cork, I'd say us but I'm hoping for a home draw against Cabo.

oriel
14/08/2017, 3:44 PM

It was probably the most consistent 90 mins from Dundalk all season, both first half performances v Rosenborg were excellent, but yesterday was excellent from start to finish. Fair point on why Dundalk didn't show that all season, seems like our season only kick started in June and after the break.

Absolutely no need for Garda with dogs, thought that the minute I saw it, totally OTT, and the Derry visit is one of the few where away fans mingle freely in both club bars.

Final note, thought very nice touch from the match programme guys, they had Ryan McBride and Mark Farron names in the squad page in bold.

gufc2000
14/08/2017, 6:27 PM
Second Round Draw

Shelbourne vs Shamrock Rovers
Bangor Celtic vs Longford Town
St. Patrick's Athletic vs Galway United
Cork City vs Athlone Town
Limerick vs Finn Harps
Bluebell Utd vs Cabinteely
Drogheda Utd vs Cobh Wanderers
Crumlin Utd vs Dundalk

14/08/2017, 6:29 PM
Sh!te draw for us.

14/08/2017, 6:37 PM
Second Round Draw

Shelbourne vs Shamrock Rovers
Bangor Celtic vs Longford Town
St. Patrick's Athletic vs Galway United
Cork City vs Athlone Town
Limerick vs Finn Harps
Bluebell Utd vs Cabinteely
Drogheda Utd vs Cobh Wanderers
Crumlin Utd vs Dundalk

Could have been better, could have been worse for Pats. Home draw is good news.

patrickccfc
14/08/2017, 6:54 PM
Nice to get a draw where your favourite to progress anyway.

NeverFeltBetter
14/08/2017, 7:01 PM
I'll take it. Two First Division/non-league teams in the next round guaranteed too.

sbgawa
14/08/2017, 7:02 PM
What's the capacity in tolka these days.

placid casual
14/08/2017, 7:17 PM
Will the shels fans continue their self imposed boycott for this game game I wonder.
It should be a good reminder to Rovers how far theyve come since plying their trade in Tolka , and an example to shels fans of whats possible if you just flat refuse to let your club die.

I'm told the Riverside stand is condemned and now closed. is this true shels fan/s ?

Dalymountrower
14/08/2017, 8:24 PM
The whole ground bar the lego stand is a personal injury claim waiting to happen Ballybough end is closed for a few years now.Was in the Riverside last season and it was full of sharp rusting seat frames, would be madness to let any decent sized crowd into the ground.Sad to see.
They should probably play it in their new home.

total hoofball
14/08/2017, 8:27 PM
Section of Shels fans at least 100-150 are not attending all home games where any percentage of gate receipts are going to the club under the BOM without full & transparent answers to the Dalymount relocation, the facts that gate receipts for the cup are split 60/40 won't see any change in this boycott Neither side BOM / fans are blinking on this dispute.

Central part of the Riverside can still be used

sbgawa
14/08/2017, 8:53 PM
Maybe they might reverse the fixture 😀

sbgawa
14/08/2017, 10:52 PM
Did I fall asleep or did they not show the rovers match

15/08/2017, 12:10 AM
They only showed Bohs from the Friday games I think. A bit mental.

15/08/2017, 7:24 AM
Did they show us and Sligo? I'll tune in on the player later on if they did.

15/08/2017, 7:36 AM
Did they show us and Sligo? I'll tune in on the player later on if they did.

They are, and they are definitely worth watching for more true #greatestleagueintheworld antics.

Listen out for the lads obviously standing right below the camera, especially each time Sligo score.

patrickccfc
15/08/2017, 8:59 AM
Listen out for the lads obviously standing right below the camera, especially each time Sligo score.

Ha that was funny alright. Could that not have been edited out?

bluewhitearmy
15/08/2017, 10:23 AM
Awful draw for us getting knocked out at home to Harps is a horrible way to go.

disgruntled
15/08/2017, 10:55 AM
Sh!te draw for us.

But one you can win.

NeverFeltBetter
15/08/2017, 3:08 PM
Two lengthy trips for Harps down to us within a few days of each other is hard certainly, but just the luck of the draw. Both teams will be a bit more focused on the league clash obviously, but last 8 of the cup nothing to throw a youth team at.

15/08/2017, 3:29 PM
I know nothing about Bangor Celtic where are they based in Dublin and are they in the top flight of LSL? I know that its the first time we have met! its a tricky tie when you know nothing about opposition.

15/08/2017, 3:53 PM
Not quite every other week. We've three free weekends between now and the end of the season.
Not quite - but that does mean ye (like us) have three two-week gaps and one one-week gap between games.

Daft stuff.

15/08/2017, 4:28 PM
Not quite - but that does mean ye (like us) have three two-week gaps and one one-week gap between games.

Daft stuff.

We've eight games left, as opposed to your five. So we've three two-week breaks and four one-week breaks.
To illustrate, between 21st August and 6th October, we have three games.
Between 7th and 27th October, we have four games.

It's not great scheduling at all, considering we've had five midweek games this year.
Mind you, we do have a small squad, so could benefit from having those weeks off.

15/08/2017, 4:36 PM
We've eight games left, as opposed to your five. So we've three two-week breaks and four one-week breaks.
To illustrate, between 21st August and 6th October, we have three games.
Between 7th and 27th October, we have four games.

It's not great scheduling at all, considering we've had five midweek games this year.
Mind you, we do have a small squad, so could benefit from having those weeks off.
Didn't see ye had more games actually; soccerway just lists the next five on the main page, so I thought ye had the same as us!

Just as well we're not in a promotion chase (thanks Fran Gavin again for that brilliant idea...) or you'd be hard pressed trying to keep up some momentum with a game every other week.

bluemovie
15/08/2017, 8:59 PM
The whole ground bar the lego stand is a personal injury claim waiting to happen Ballybough end is closed for a few years now.Was in the Riverside last season and it was full of sharp rusting seat frames, would be madness to let any decent sized crowd into the ground.Sad to see.
They should probably play it in their new home.

It's still the same but they have some yellow tape up now!

NeverFeltBetter
19/08/2017, 12:28 PM
Limerick/Harps confirmed for Saturday 26th. Extra time/penalties, etc.

20/08/2017, 11:57 PM
I know nothing about Bangor Celtic where are they based in Dublin and are they in the top flight of LSL? I know that its the first time we have met! its a tricky tie when you know nothing about opposition.
They're one of about eight teams from around Dublin 8/10/12 in Senior Sunday.

D24Saint
21/08/2017, 9:20 AM
Went to a lot of Bangor games a few years back when a mate of mine played for them they were a good set up then & seemed to have kept similar standards, I'd say they will give Longford a good game.

RathfarnhamHoop
21/08/2017, 4:24 PM
Went to a lot of Bangor games a few years back when a mate of mine played for them they were a good set up then & seemed to have kept similar standards, I'd say they will give Longford a good game.

Do they still play in the Iveagh Grounds, if i remember correctly that pitch is a brilliant surface but very very wide since its inside a GAA pitch.

ToberonaTornado
21/08/2017, 4:41 PM
Do they still play in the Iveagh Grounds, if i remember correctly that pitch is a brilliant surface but very very wide since its inside a GAA pitch.

Crumlin utd & Dundalk are playing in the Iveagh grounds on Saturday.Can the ground hold many do you know?