View Full Version : FAI Cup 2017

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

patrickccfc
08/09/2017, 9:26 PM
Seems rovers were given a fright there, all about getting through in the cup though. No surprise in oriel, but thought galway would get past Limerick. Here's hoping we join ye in the last four.

sbgawa
08/09/2017, 9:41 PM
Even for a seriel worries like me it was Always second gear. Reckon bradser will be a bit miffed with the casuelness but it's all about getting through.

sbgawa
08/09/2017, 9:43 PM
Cork v dundalk and rovers limerick for the semis.
Cork v rovers for the final

ToberonaTornado
08/09/2017, 10:16 PM
Crumlin put up a better scrap against Dundalk in the last round than Drogheda did tonight in Oriel. :(

Duffy once again the best player on the field for us,Connolly growing in confidence with every minute he plays and his goal was a peach of a strike.:highfive:
The foot came off the gas a little after we went 4-0 up but even then it looked like we'd still score more.
Longford or Lims in the s/f for me ;)

White Horse
08/09/2017, 10:23 PM

Don't fancy Longford. A side in good form and playing good football.

Limerick, Rovers, or Cork. Don't care which.

08/09/2017, 10:37 PM
Fenn's 2nd return to Oriel would make that draw a little more interesting, hopefully as amusing as his first visit back!

oriel
08/09/2017, 11:10 PM
Cork v dundalk and rovers limerick for the semis.
Cork v rovers for the final

We were only saying walking out of the ground tonight it would be great if Cork got Rovers away and it would be a Dlk v Rovers final, that would probably be the biggest crowd.

On the match tonight, I'd say Bluebell would have given us a better test, honestly, Drogs passed it about nice at times and did have a good chance in the first 5 mins, also hit the bar, but just like last week's second half v Pats, Dundalk looked like scoring in almost every attack until they took their foot off the gas.

Delighted to be in another semi-final, interesting to note it's our 5th in 6 years, including one in the dreadful 2012 season pre Kenny, still a mystery how we got to the semi that season.

Dylan Connolly had a very good first half, another good goal, he's coming into decent form now.

oriel
08/09/2017, 11:12 PM
Crumlin put up a better scrap against Dundalk in the last round than Drogheda did tonight in Oriel. :(

Duffy once again the best player on the field for us,Connolly growing in confidence with every minute he plays and his goal was a peach of a strike.:highfive:
The foot came off the gas a little after we went 4-0 up but even then it looked like we'd still score more.

Crumlin the only side so far to score against Dundalk this season, in the cup. The LSL sides did very well this year, just after pre season for them too remember.

08/09/2017, 11:31 PM
No coincidence they're doing better when they're not going for titles or to escape relegation in their leagues. The cramped schedule is probably going to create problems down the line for some LOI sides but it's more fair I think.

Straightforward win for Rovers tonight. Bluebell are a better side than Glenville but they're more open too so they gave us more opportunities. On the flip side, they worked two very good goals for themselves. All Brando's goals were top-drawer finishes.

08/09/2017, 11:41 PM
Dundalk have now scored 27 goals and conceded 1 in the last seven games.

Wow.

Mad when it's put like that.
But you'd have to ask, where was this form since March?

ToberonaTornado
09/09/2017, 12:46 AM
Wow.

Mad when it's put like that.
But you'd have to ask, where was this form since March?

This meme is doing the rounds on Twitter and i'm going to use it while also using Euro fatigue hangover from 2016 as an excuse for our ****** performances in the 1st half of the season.;)

http://i0.kym-cdn.com/entries/icons/original/000/021/464/14608107_1180665285312703_1558693314_n.jpg:)

JC_GUFC
09/09/2017, 6:48 AM
Galway were very poor last night. I'd say in the top 3 worst performances of the season.
Better to throw it in there than against Sligo in 2 weeks which would relegate us.
To be fair to Limerick they played well themselves. Hery ran the midfield but I was also impressed by Neymar lookalike Barry Cotter.
Shocking crowd too of just over 850 bar the LC matches that was our worst crowd of the season.
Limerick v Cork in Market's Field would be a great semi.
Also talking of crowds for the final surely Limerick would bring a very big support.

LK37oldskool
09/09/2017, 7:44 AM
There's a lot of apathy towards Limerick F.C at the moment. Last night should have seen a massive crowd travel but people are p****d off with the club and how they operate. We brought 3 buses up to Galway the last time we were there but they just filled one this time. There is a very noticeable drop in home attendance recently. Hopefully after last night's result there might be a resurgence for the rest of the season.

Philosophizer
09/09/2017, 7:50 AM
They've done brilliant since the mid season game. I'd put their slow start down to a combination of European hangover and it takes few months that to properly replace top players.

sbgawa
09/09/2017, 8:03 AM
We were only saying walking out of the ground tonight it would be great if Cork got Rovers away and it would be a Dlk v Rovers final, that would probably be the biggest crowd.

Your right biggest crowd best atmos.....new draw ...

Rovers v cork
Dundalk v limerick

If we could get con Murphy in for the draw its sorted

09/09/2017, 8:51 AM
Need to bear Longford first, but if we do that Limerick in the semis please. Munster Derby in a semi when's the last time that happened? Home or away, there'd be a great crowd from both teams I'd day.

Ideally we'd win that and get Rovers in the final. Would be a cracking atmosphere. Can't see Dundalk not making it though, they've really seemed to click.

09/09/2017, 9:37 AM
Need to bear Longford first, but if we do that Limerick in the semis please. Munster Derby in a semi when's the last time that happened? Home or away, there'd be a great crowd from both teams I'd day.

Ideally we'd win that and get Rovers in the final. Would be a cracking atmosphere. Can't see Dundalk not making it though, they've really seemed to click.

Hmm..

http://anotherbestday.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/Bear-Hug1-e1408042143570.jpg

AlanOB
09/09/2017, 11:23 AM
Analysis: Loose Galway licked by resurgent Limerick: http://bit.ly/2wQ3X1L (https://t.co/XTlYMv1yHf)

patrickccfc
09/09/2017, 7:02 PM
2-0 City so far, sadlier direct from a corner and keohane

patrickccfc
09/09/2017, 7:20 PM
3-0 half time, Sheppard with the third. Munster derby semi-final please

NeverFeltBetter
09/09/2017, 9:02 PM
Assume the draw is Monday evening?

10/09/2017, 9:25 AM
Hmm..

http://anotherbestday.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/Bear-Hug1-e1408042143570.jpg

I meant need to bear the trip up there :D it's so bloody cold up there.

10/09/2017, 12:31 PM
Don't think I realised the severity of the challenge until the cork team sheet was read out. Our only hope was yed struggle in front of goals without maguire and even with some fortune for a couple of the goals it was a mighty display from cork, they just kept coming at us. Will be hard stopped.

10/09/2017, 5:39 PM
Don't think I realised the severity of the challenge until the cork team sheet was read out. Our only hope was yed struggle in front of goals without maguire and even with some fortune for a couple of the goals it was a mighty display from cork, they just kept coming at us. Will be hard stopped.

No. 9 that came on for ye in the second half, who was he? Looked dangerous, great set pieces.

10/09/2017, 6:56 PM
No. 9 that came on for ye in the second half, who was he? Looked dangerous, great set pieces.
That's don cowan

10/09/2017, 7:34 PM

Kaleem Simon. Was with us in 2015/16 and went to Bohs with Phillip Gannon but failed to make the break through so back with us now. That's only his 3rd appearance since his return as he was away on holidays for a few weeks. Very technical player but strength, decision making and finishing let him down. Hoping Neale Fenn will turn him into a asset for us though. Was impressed with him last night when he came on.

10/09/2017, 8:20 PM
I thought don was no 9 in squad list?I could be completely wrong mind you

11/09/2017, 4:27 AM
I thought don was no 9 in squad list?I could be completely wrong mind you

He's number 23

sbgawa
11/09/2017, 8:18 AM
Ok I've decided .
Rovers v Limerick
Cork Dundalk.

We're going to have to beat Dundalk to win this I reckon but I do enjoy a day out in November so if we are going to lose lets do it in the final.
Slim chance that Cork might beat Dundalk with a home draw but I wouldn't count any chickens based on the last twice we've played them.

patrickccfc
11/09/2017, 8:27 AM
I've decided
Rovers vs Dundalk
Cork vs Limerick

An improving Rover's against an in form dundalk would be a cracker and a tough one to call. Obviously I'd take any home draw, although we've won the last two semi finals away, but Limerick would give us the best chance of getting through. Not guaranteed of course because league form can go out the window in cup games. Will be an interesting draw

placid casual
11/09/2017, 8:47 AM
I think Rovers good fortune in the draws thus year has to run out so think it will be
Dundalk Vs Rovers
Cork Vs Limerick

If we can avoid Dundalk away I'd be quietly confident of Rovers winning any other permutation.
In the words of Edwin Starr, " 25 miles to go "

sbgawa
11/09/2017, 9:00 AM
Cork haven't become a bad team overnight. If Maguire had missed a couple of matches with injury people wouldn't have said cork were a walk over......ita confidence simple as, if they beat limerick they will know the league is won and that monkey off their back will see them play better again I reckon.

11/09/2017, 6:48 PM
Cork v Limerick
Dundalk v Rovers

F**k

11/09/2017, 6:50 PM
Although as we are going to lose to all of those teams, probably the best draw for us financially.

SandwichBoy
11/09/2017, 6:53 PM
Maybe I missed it but it looked like they didn't even spin the balls, strategically picked out the first two.

11/09/2017, 6:53 PM
Two positives, more money and we are complete bottlers at home and probably stand a better chance away from the home crowd.

11/09/2017, 7:03 PM
The largest security operation in the history of the state will have to be mounted just to stop our fans from murdering one another.

LK37oldskool
11/09/2017, 7:14 PM
They'll call the Rangers out for that. Last time we went to Cork they thought we were going to rape and pillage and burn the city to the ground.

11/09/2017, 7:15 PM
And did ye?

LK37oldskool
11/09/2017, 7:26 PM
Na, nothing down there worth it, and that's saying something from a Limerick man.

dundalkfc10
11/09/2017, 7:33 PM
They'll call the Rangers out for that. Last time we went to Cork they thought we were going to rape and pillage and burn the city to the ground.

They do that now when we bring a decent crowd down there. 1st League game down there this season, must have been upto 50 guards in and around away entrance/end, for about 3/400 fans.
****ers don't even let you have a cigarette watching the game

White Horse
11/09/2017, 7:38 PM
They do that now when we bring a decent crowd down there. 1st League game down there this season, must have been upto 50 guards in and around away entrance/end, for about 3/400 fans.
****ers don't even let you have a cigarette watching the game

It was nuts, Guards in balaclavas forming a cordon to escort old lads in their 70s into the ground.

I presume that Cork City ended up footing the bill.

It can be as bad in Oriel as well. The Guards go overboard for certain games. They'll have the armed response unit there for the Rovers game.

Ezeikial
11/09/2017, 7:56 PM
Happy memories of the last FAI Semi-final meeting between Dundalk and Shamrock Rovers at Oriel Park -

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fb-fcI-Hgcs

11/09/2017, 8:57 PM
I presume that Cork City ended up footing the bill.
Yep, Gards bill the clubs, hence why you tend to get hundreds of the lads volunteering to work at random games that you'd never see any trouble at on a night there's nothing else on.

ToberonaTornado
11/09/2017, 10:43 PM
How much would AGS be billing clubs for in situations when they send up dog units and ARU to matches?
Surely clubs don't have to foot the whole bill for what amounts to a completely OTT Gardai presence at matches :(

11/09/2017, 10:53 PM
It's only one example, but according to this report Bohs paid €4,000 and Rovers €15,000 on policing costs for the three derbies in 2013. There was only one game in Tallaght that year so I have a feeling it may refer to the year before when Rovers were home twice, but it's a racket either way.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/garda-earns-almost-3m-for-special-policing-operations-1.1935638

ToberonaTornado
11/09/2017, 11:15 PM
That figure does not include much smaller sums paid by soccer clubs affiliated to the organisation.

Seems like a bit of a racket(or favoritism) alright when you consider the GAA figure.

11/09/2017, 11:28 PM
Billing the clubs and actually getting paid are different things to be fair. Not advocating this approach but as I understand it from a historical perspective they're not likely to issue a winding up order should their payment be delayed. They may be more ruthless now but a certain controversial former Dublin club owner who is no longer with us felt he was doing us a favour when he once advised not to make AGS a priority, "we get their bills but we never actually pay them".

12/09/2017, 10:00 AM
Gaa favortism at its finest

12/09/2017, 5:30 PM
How much would AGS be billing clubs for in situations when they send up dog units and ARU to matches?
Surely clubs don't have to foot the whole bill for what amounts to a completely OTT Gardai presence at matches :(

I could be wrong but I thought the clubs only paid for the Gardai in the ground? Not those outside?