View Full Version : FAI Cup 2014
Pages :
[
9]
White Horse
12/09/2014, 11:20 PM
Thought that was a dreadful match tonight in Tallaght. I'd marginally blame Rovers for being the home side for creating very little but we weren't far behind. It must have been a terrible match for the neutral fan. A replay on Monday is not exactly the ideal build up to the EA Sports Cup Final in the same venue less than a week later.
Did I say it was a bad game. Christ I'm still getting over it.
Poor football from both teams. Did Rovers have even a shot on target?
We created enough to win but a draw was a fair result. The only positive was the lively performance of Horgan. He has really begun to blossom in the last few weeks.
12/09/2014, 11:26 PM
We created enough to win but a draw was a fair result. The only positive was the lively performance of Horgan. He has really begun to blossom in the last few weeks.
100%.€10k well spent by Dundalk...or was it €10m ? ;)
Poor quality game thats best forgotten.
12/09/2014, 11:39 PM
Due to early kick off time me and my mate ended up in Richmond instead of tallaght and what a bit of luck because it was an absolute thriller in Inchicore. Pats the better team but once they went down to 10 bohs easilly could have taken it to a replay, amazing atmosphere and a true derby.
SwanVsDalton
13/09/2014, 12:13 AM
That was a classic in United Park tonight. Absolutely epic. Drogs deserved a draw for sheer heroism. Fair play.
Didn't see the first sending off because I was in the main stand. Everyone I spoke to said it was a sending off.
Second one was clear dissent. Can only imagine Grimes said something very, very strong for the ref to march right up to him and give him a straight red.
Third was for kicking the ball away on a yellow card. Just moronic from Holohan.
Don't see much of a problem with the ref. Couple of soft ones either way. Majority of Drogs fans seemed incensed that he was happy to let McBride and O'Neill battle it out (McBride was climbing, O'Neill was backing in - let em have at it). If it helps, you probably would have lost without that sense of up-against-it victimhood. :)
Candystripe
13/09/2014, 4:03 AM
Maddest game I've been at in 30 years!
Rico must be going mental with the player's sent off as all 3 were needless!
The 1st was at the corner flag but at the Derry end, 2nd had to be something bad said to the ref3rd was as stupid as I've ever seen.
The ball boy behind the chippy must get some credit as the 20times+ the ball went thete I saw him lift the ball and hide behind the chippy for 30 seconds.
As Brendy said the fans keeping the ball and then throwing it on to the pitch after a replacement is found was very frustrating but I won't knock either as Drogheda were up against it.
SeanDrog
13/09/2014, 6:34 AM
Sean no way should they have been drop balls. Laws state you restart the game as you were meant to.
Thanks but I didn't ask anything about the drop ball , guess you meant it for another poster.
New day and more relaxed now - can't wait for the replay but going to be hard with so many suspended (I think Brennan is still out).
KeepersBall
13/09/2014, 7:44 AM
Sean you are right, I bucked the job up there.
It was Brendy that was on about the throw ins/drop bslls
Rico must be going mental with the player's sent off as all 3 were needless!
Ridden rock solid
Due to early kick off time me and my mate ended up in Richmond instead of tallaght and what a bit of luck because it was an absolute thriller in Inchicore. Pats the better team but once they went down to 10 bohs easilly could have taken it to a replay, amazing atmosphere and a true derby.
Due to the early kick off?Rumour has it you ended up in inchicore after taking a wrong turn trying to find Tallaght outspoken?!
13/09/2014, 9:12 AM
I was at this one and you're correct, the Dundalk keeper was never tested. Rovers best opportunities came from corners despite the fact that they're quite a small side, especially up front. Dundalk had a great chance for Byrne win it with about 15 minutes to go but other than that, I am hard pressed to think of another decent chance from either side. I think Rovers set out their stall (excuse cliche) to stop Dundalk playing which they did but I am not sure why Murphy was delaying things at the end or why it took 89 minutes for Waters to be substituted. I still enjoyed it though.
13/09/2014, 10:10 AM
Cracker of a game in Inchicore. Bohs were very good I thought, really put it up to us, particularly in the first half. We were well on top in the second until the sending off. Maybe a tad harsh on Bolger but he did seem to have a slight pull at the Bohs player. Don't know that it merited a yellow though. The last 15 minutes were not good for the nerves at all at all. Best Mark Quigley has played this season worked hard and a lovely piece of skill in the first half which brought a good save from Delaney. And speaking of skill, an absolutely sublime drag back and back heel from Keith Fahey late on. Relieved to get through though. Dreaming of the Aviva now (and no doubt another heart breaking defeat :()
13/09/2014, 3:19 PM
Due to the early kick off?Rumour has it you ended up in inchicore after taking a wrong turn trying to find Tallaght outspoken?!
#BestLeagueInTheWorld
13/09/2014, 4:05 PM
lads bumped into me who was also at the game independently and I had to escort them out of Inchicore safely!
superb game. Pats just about won it but Bohs could have equalised when Bolger got sent off.. skill immense. funniest moment in match was when Mark Quigley and Dave Mulcahy got into a clash and heads were touchin!
btw was there a fan arrested at the game as I was getting food before the game at the chipper inside and the guards handcuffed one person! he had no jersey so have no idea who he was down to support. but I left quickly as his mates were causing aggro with the guards!
13/09/2014, 5:41 PM
Terrible game in Tallaght, but I fear it will be the way things are until the end of the year. Fenlon has the team set out to play direct because any other way will expose our weak defence more than it already is, and you can see from the respective counter-attacks how slow we are compared to Dundalk. When you look at the team and you can see they clearly miss Boccer, you know you're struggling. I stand by my opinion that a few players will be turfed out in the winter.
So after some stat checking, it seems that Tomney has given us 6 red cards in 3 games he has reffed this season. The rumour is that the club were particularly p.ssed off that Derry representatives approached Tomney before the game about Gary O'Neil winning frees too often - I think he got one all night and more often than not was unjustifiably penalised himself. Grimes got sent off for calling Tomney 'a dopey kant'. Apparently everyone is annoyed because Patterson was at it all night and not a peep. The game will definitely be looked into by the powers that be but again, can't see anything happening.
Candystripe
14/09/2014, 3:19 AM
The FAI rep was writing down stuff non stop but also when the ballboy kept running behind the chippy with the ball. Also every time the 2nd ball was threw back into play he was writing stuff down.
How ur keeper didn't get booked for wasting time is beyond me.
I would hope we would do the same in the same circumstances though ;)
14/09/2014, 7:24 AM
So after some stat checking, it seems that Tomney has given us 6 red cards in 3 games he has reffed this season.
A completely irrelevant stat if the reds were correct in fairness.
14/09/2014, 12:25 PM
Fierce nervous today. Anyone know of any live coverage of the Avondale v Harps game anywhere or is it just updates from local radio?
14/09/2014, 1:12 PM
Fierce nervous today. Anyone know of any live coverage of the Avondale v Harps game anywhere or is it just updates from local radio?
Yeah its has top billing on Sky Sports 1 :p
14/09/2014, 1:17 PM
Zero updates for this game anywhere. It's absolutely desperate. 20 minutes in and I can't even find a team sheet.
14/09/2014, 1:51 PM
HT in Cork.
Avondale 0-0 Harps
placid casual
14/09/2014, 1:57 PM
Terrible game in Tallaght, but I fear it will be the way things are until the end of the year. Fenlon has the team set out to play direct because any other way will expose our weak defence more than it already is, and you can see from the respective counter-attacks how slow we are compared to Dundalk. When you look at the team and you can see they clearly miss Boccer, you know you're struggling. I stand by my opinion that a few players will be turfed out in the winter.
No $hit, Mystic Meg:rolleyes:
14/09/2014, 2:12 PM
HT in Cork.
Avondale 0-0 Harps
Hows the nerves holding up then?
14/09/2014, 2:18 PM
Avondale 0-1 Harps
14/09/2014, 2:28 PM
Hows the nerves holding up then?
Worse since we scored.
nosebleds
14/09/2014, 2:36 PM
Zero updates for this game anywhere. It's absolutely desperate. 20 minutes in and I can't even find a team sheet.
did u try pay for view, or setanta they usually show all the big games.
14/09/2014, 2:40 PM
Avondale 1-1 Harps.
14/09/2014, 2:58 PM
FT in Avondale 1-1.
PartySaint
14/09/2014, 3:00 PM
Harps must be happy enough with that, should finish the job off up in Ballybofey. When's the replay?
14/09/2014, 3:13 PM
When's the replay?
Wednesday. Will probably take a wee run down myself.
14/09/2014, 3:39 PM
Venue, date and time to be decided. Will probably know better on Wednesday morning. Looking like a 1pm kick off at Letterkenny Rovers ground.
14/09/2014, 4:02 PM
Venue, date and time to be decided. Will probably know better on Wednesday morning. Looking like a 1pm kick off at Letterkenny Rovers ground.
why letterkenny nigel?
14/09/2014, 4:29 PM
why letterkenny nigel?
Twas a joke Marty. 8pm Wednesday night in Finn Park.
With only Pats certain of a semi final place is the draw gonna be held back or is it going ahead tomorrow ??
PartySaint
14/09/2014, 4:54 PM
With only Pats certain of a semi final place is the draw gonna be held back or is it going ahead tomorrow ??
Some time next week apparently
Venue, date and time to be decided. Will probably know better on Wednesday morning. Looking like a 1pm kick off at Letterkenny Rovers ground.That would be fantastic if you could sort this nigel, they could go up on Tuesday after work and be home at a reasonable hour on Wednesday night.
You should have given me your mobile today for updates, was doing some on Twitter anyway, think the Harps account re-tweeted a few.
EAFC_rdfl
15/09/2014, 8:07 AM
That would be fantastic if you could sort this nigel, they could go up on Tuesday after work and be home at a reasonable hour on Wednesday night.
You should have given me your mobile today for updates, was doing some on Twitter anyway, think the Harps account re-tweeted a few.
heard it might be moving to triagh a lough yet. on the side pitch not the main one...
Any confirmation yet on date and time for semi final draw? Why can't they just go back to doing it on the sports section of the 6:01 news
The Donie Forde
15/09/2014, 9:36 AM
Any confirmation yet on date and time for semi final draw? Why can't they just go back to doing it on the sports section of the 6:01 news
They have to see who's in it first before they can rig it.
jinxy lilywhite
15/09/2014, 8:40 PM
full time Dundalk 1 rovers 2
dodgy offside decisions from the ref cost us the game.
still in all created enough chance to put 4 or 5 past them only for the brilliance of Murphy
Calcio Jack
15/09/2014, 8:52 PM
full time Dundalk 1 rovers 2
dodgy offside decisions from the ref cost us the game.
still in all created enough chance to put 4 or 5 past them only for the brilliance of Murphy
Perfectly correct decisions for both goals according to Extra time
Will be interesting to see how Kenny and Dundalk players react - could inspire them or spook them especially if Cork are still in the running when Rovers go Oriel for penultimate league game, going to be an interesting few weeks
White Horse
15/09/2014, 9:18 PM
Not sure how we lost that game. Oh well, still plenty to play for.
El-Pietro
15/09/2014, 9:55 PM
there goes the treble. Derry fans will be delighted with that. I'm less happy, would have liked to see Dundalk with a more packed fixture list, though maybe this will dent their confidence
stovelid
15/09/2014, 9:56 PM
Not sure how we lost that game.
You conceded more goals than you scored by the looks of it.
PartySaint
15/09/2014, 10:26 PM
Watching Soccer Republic, the first and last sending off for Drogheda spot on, obviously we don't know what the other lad said to the ref but it must have been bad enough.
15/09/2014, 10:31 PM
Draw supposedly next Monday night. Maybe on Soccer Republic?
15/09/2014, 11:58 PM
Derry fans will be delighted with that
Cough! Oldco fans?
Candystripe
16/09/2014, 2:09 AM
Yes still Derry are the only club in Ireland to do the treble.
Will the Drogheda fans who thought that the ref was wrong with the sending offs still think the same?
Yes still Derry are the only club in Ireland to do the treble.
No you're not.
Not sure how we lost that game. Oh well, still plenty to play for.
Poor defending with 9 mins to go, also too many excuses, that didnt look a foul for Rovers first goal, also not convinced it was offside either for the second. Need to have another look at that. Also we should have been 2-0 up just after HT, if we dont finish these chances it will come back to haunt you, and it did.
Cherrie needs to seriously get focused for the final 5 league games, he should have done better for one of those goals. Sava might come in for Sat night now, good chance I'd say.
As much as it was disappointing last night, I still wouldnt swap 3 league points for it. Derry v Harps and Pats v Rovers would be a tasty semi final draw.