View Full Version : FAI Cup 2014
Pages :
[
8]
05/09/2014, 11:02 AM
Issue is most certainly date and time. At this stage I wouldn't care if it was played in a bog. Some people have work/college to sort out at short notice.As Avondale Park has no lights and as they may try and not use them at the Cross I would guess 2/3pm on Saturday or 2/3pm on Sunday.
Dalymountrower
05/09/2014, 1:58 PM
It's down on our site as the 12th, I don't see why it would be on any other day.
Direct bus and Luas to Tallaght.Surprised if the Gardai let both Tallaght and Inchicore games go ahead the same night
05/09/2014, 6:53 PM
It's looking like Avondale Park at 2pm next Sunday. Main issues lay with dressing rooms being too far from the pitch and dugouts being too small supposedly. Official announcement due tomorrow.
This means, if there's a replay, Harps would be playing three matches in the space of six days with a replay on Tuesday/Wednesday and Galway the following Saturday.
Duffman
06/09/2014, 1:00 AM
It's looking like Avondale Park at 2pm next Sunday. Main issues lay with dressing rooms being too far from the pitch and dugouts being too small supposedly. Official announcement due tomorrow.
This means, if there's a replay, Harps would be playing three matches in the space of six days with a replay on Tuesday/Wednesday and Galway the following Saturday.
It'll be a facile win for ye wherever it happens though?
06/09/2014, 5:51 AM
It'll be a facile win for ye wherever it happens though?
Would never be too sure. Avondale are without a doubt the strongest intermediate side in the country and not too far off LOI level in terms of playing standard. Harps have been awfully hit and miss all season and Avondale will certainly fancy their chances of causing an upset. Wouldn't be overly upset about it going to a replay.
redobit
06/09/2014, 8:58 AM
Issue is most certainly date and time. At this stage I wouldn't care if it was played in a bog. Some people have work/college to sort out at short notice.
Finn Park it is then.
In fairness to Avondale, if their ground is adequate, then they cant be expected to put up something temporary for a quarter final with a team literally on the other end of the country. As long as they give the 5%, or whatever it is, of the capacity to the visiting team well its not for them to worry about the numbers of away fans.
We don't care where it's played. We just want them to set a time and date so people can make plans.
DRDoc
06/09/2014, 12:13 PM
Sunday at 2pm @ Avondale Park confirmed
DRDoc
06/09/2014, 12:15 PM
Would be three matches in the space of seven days really ;)
Just in case you forgot the fixtures :p
FRIDAY
Shamrock Rovers v DundalkFC 7.05pm LIVE on RTE 2
Drogheda United v Derry City 7.45pm
Saint Patricks Ath. v Bohemians 7.45pm
SUNDAY
Avondale United v Finn Harps 2pm (Avondale Park)
Do Any Harps or Avondale supporters know if a local radio station will be covering the match?
11/09/2014, 10:17 PM
Avondale United v Finn Harps 2pm (Avondale Park)
Do Any Harps or Avondale supporters know if a local radio station will be covering the match?
I'd say 96FM and RedFM will be doing updates but not commentary.
12/09/2014, 8:30 AM
The Cork ref for the Avondale/Harps game is in a no win situation.
A soft decision for Harps and he'll hear about it every week, a poor decision for Avondale and Harps claim local bias. Bad situation to put a ref in. Surely there could have been an "outside" ref appointed??
Harps going down there with no senior striker by the looks of it, could be a real battle.
I wouldn't bet against a replay in that one.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
12/09/2014, 11:58 AM
Sure Dublin refs are appointed to Dublin v Non Dublin teams the whole time. They're generally equally bad for both teams.
redobit
12/09/2014, 12:46 PM
A soft decision for Harps and he'll hear about it every week, a poor decision for Avondale and Harps claim local bias. Bad situation to put a ref in. Surely there could have been an "outside" ref appointed??
Harps going down there with no senior striker by the looks of it, could be a real battle.
I wouldn't bet against a replay in that one.
Haha, you think that's bad. Try travelling to an away match knowing that the referee is an ex season ticket holder of the team your playing and his family are still season holders.
So fecking wrong.
Yossarian
12/09/2014, 12:55 PM
Any Galway dwellers know a good pub that will show the match later? There's a few of us heading over and I know Connacht are on TV aswell so trying to suss out a venue to watch the cup game.
12/09/2014, 12:58 PM
Avondale are missing their best player this weekend because of Cork refs and their hometown bias.
Mulconroy incorrectly sent off against Michaels, Callinan later rescinds red but too late, wheels in motion, one game ban.
In fairness when you see the likes of Buttimer and co terrorising the country not having Cork refs should be seen as a good thing.
You'd think a local ref may be to cut down on home team costs but I wouldn't bet on it.
12/09/2014, 1:41 PM
Could potentially see one of the worst attended cup quarter finals in years in Avondale. Only a handful of Harps fans making the trip now due to a full round of Donegal League fixtures taking place the same day.
Don't think there's much else to be said about refs right across the league anyway. It's about finding the best of a bad bunch really and they're all equally as expensive, no matter where they're going.
Could potentially see one of the worst attended cup quarter finals in years in Avondale. Only a handful of Harps fans making the trip now due to a full round of Donegal League fixtures taking place the same day.
I think once the Avondale guys cover the compliance costs, they'll be happy.
It's been all hands on deck this week, trying to get the place sorted.
Agree on refs, Anders baby brother isn't the worst ref we have.
12/09/2014, 5:59 PM
I think once the Avondale guys cover the compliance costs, they'll be happy.
It's been all hands on deck this week, trying to get the place sorted.
Agree on refs, Anders baby brother isn't the worst ref we have.
Harps have had to get a match sponsor on board just to cover some of the costs of travel and accomodation for the club in Cork. Not expecting to make much from the match itself. Proving to be a superbly expensive month for Harps, so the semi final is an absolute must.
12/09/2014, 7:12 PM
Drogheda 1-1 Derry
Pats 1-1 Bohs
12/09/2014, 7:21 PM
Very dull, drab sort of game in Tallaght. Not a great crowd and not an amazing atmosphere. Find it going very flat at times.
Or maybe I'm just used to watching total football at Finn Park..
12/09/2014, 7:55 PM
Pats 2-1 Bohs
12/09/2014, 7:56 PM
Drogheda 2-1 Derry
Drogheda down to 9 men before scoring their second.
12/09/2014, 8:05 PM
Pats 3-1 Bohs
12/09/2014, 8:14 PM
Pats down to 10 men, Bolger sent off.
12/09/2014, 8:19 PM
Pats down to 10 men, Bolger sent off.
and its not even against Dundalk...
patrickccfc
12/09/2014, 8:20 PM
You're on top of things tonight eh Nigel, keeping us in the loop and all
12/09/2014, 8:25 PM
You're on top of things tonight eh Nigel, keeping us in the loop and all
I thought I was the only one here for a while..it's a lonely place.
12/09/2014, 8:28 PM
Pats 3-2 Bohs
12/09/2014, 8:30 PM
Drogheda 2-2 Derry.
patrickccfc
12/09/2014, 8:32 PM
Ha it's happened me before, feels like your talking to yourself
12/09/2014, 8:34 PM
Drogheda down to 8 men!
12/09/2014, 8:41 PM
FT in Drogheda. Seems to have been an absolutely mental game.
Pat's the only team through to the semis tonight.
patrickccfc
12/09/2014, 8:41 PM
Drogheda down to 8 men!
Christ what's going on there, finished 2-2
patrickccfc
12/09/2014, 8:45 PM
Pat's the only team through to the semis tonight.
No pats fan will be getting their hopes just yet up I'd imagine
SeanDrog
12/09/2014, 8:56 PM
Ref tonight was a clown , absolute clown. I'm disgusted. Fair play to our guys for digging deep to fight on in the face of such ineptitude by that clown of a ref. Fuming
12/09/2014, 8:58 PM
Ref tonight was a clown , absolute clown. I'm disgusted. Fair play to our guys for digging deep to fight on in the face of such ineptitude by that clown of a ref. Fuming
Sort of makes up for the result in Finn Park last season then at the same stage? ;)
DannyInvincible
12/09/2014, 8:58 PM
What were the three sent off for?
The Donie Forde
12/09/2014, 8:59 PM
Let us know if Rico kicks the dressing room door in.
12/09/2014, 9:13 PM
Sort of makes up for the result in Finn Park last season then at the same stage? ;)
Or the semi final after!
First red was a red in my opinion. The other 2 were disgraceful decisions and the decision that led to the third was actually a free to us. Tomney's overall performance (even putting the cards to one side) was the most biased I have ever seen in my 30+ years and I would have genuine concerns that there were ulterior motives there. It wasn't the usual ineptness you can get from LOI refs, there was just a clear bias. I hope we lodge some sort of complaint. Nothing will be done but at least it 'will be on record' and hopefully we'll never have him again.
We're as good as out of the tie now because we'll have no team for the replay. We were already down to the bones as it was.
SeanDrog
12/09/2014, 9:25 PM
First red was a red in my opinion. The other 2 were disgraceful decisions and the decision that led to the third was actually a free to us. Tomney's overall performance (even putting the cards to one side) was the most biased I have ever seen in my 30+ years and I would have genuine concerns that there were ulterior motives there. It wasn't the usual ineptness you can get from LOI refs, there was just a clear bias. I hope we lodge some sort of complaint. Nothing will be done but at least it 'will be on record' and hopefully we'll never have him again.
We're as good as out of the tie now because we'll have no team for the replay. We were already down to the bones as it was.
Fully agree and I'm not one for automatically blaming refs just coz decisions go against you. Plus the Derry equaliser came from a free kick in which we won the ball cleanly (it was in front of me) .... I haven't been this angry coming from a game in a long long time.
Match report on rte now but it does not justice to the actual game.
Arrgh .... Sigh .... I'm going to bed ... Being annoyed not going to change the result - good night all.
PartySaint
12/09/2014, 9:38 PM
Not quite sure how we ended up hanging on at the end, Bohs threw everything at us and one chance I'm still not sure how it didn't go in, Bolger put is in trouble picking up a stupid second yellow but we're through and that's all that matters, Avondale or Finn Harps next please.
MeathDrog
12/09/2014, 10:03 PM
1st red was nailed on for me. Stupid tackle.
2nd red Grimes must have said something fairly bad to him.
3rd red was very harsh, especially when already down to 9.
Dubious foul for their 2nd goal too.
We nearly pulled it off in spite of all of the above.
12/09/2014, 10:29 PM
2nd red Grimes must have said something fairly bad to him.
Not a great view of it myself, but according to other ones, he appeared to push the ref.
3rd red was very harsh, especially when already down to 9.
Really? On a yellow, then boots the ball away after a decision going against him. Stupid, needless stuff.
For the record, I think it was a soft foul that led to our second, but other than that, thought Tomney was alright.
Mental match though. Game was very open until the first sending off. Drog's second goal massively changed the game, Drogs just sat with everyone behind the ball and let us come onto them. Fair play, absorbed it well. At one point in open play, everyone bar Gerard Doherty and Barry Molloy were inside the Drog's box. Mad scenes.
Happy to get the replay. We've a terrible record in United Park. Drogs were very good at closing our midfield out. Hopefully the situation should be different with the bigger pitch in the Brandy on Tuesday.
oriel
12/09/2014, 10:33 PM
Thought that was a dreadful match tonight in Tallaght. I'd marginally blame Rovers for being the home side for creating very little but we weren't far behind. It must have been a terrible match for the neutral fan. A replay on Monday is not exactly the ideal build up to the EA Sports Cup Final in the same venue less than a week later.
Did I say it was a bad game. Christ I'm still getting over it.
Not a great view of it myself, but according to other ones, he appeared to push the ref.
He didn't.
thought Tomney was alright.
Wow.
12/09/2014, 10:46 PM
He didn't.
Push as in a nudge to the shoulder that moved his body?
Must have said something pretty bad too.
Also, enjoyed the fact that Tomney added on five minutes, mostly due to the antics of the Drog's fan of holding onto balls that landed in the stand, waiting for a replacement enter play, then fecking the original on the pitch. Should have been drop-balls, but just gave us the throw again.
Don't know if the moronic fan behaviour is punishable, but the FAI rep was scribbling away when it happened.
Push as in a nudge to the shoulder that moved his body?
There was no contact of any sort. He wasn't even close to him. It was for verbal dissent.
Don't know if the moronic fan behaviour is punishable, but the FAI rep was scribbling away when it happened.
He was probably writing about Tomney's lack of knowledge over the drop-ball rule. I'd say he had run out of ink by the time the game was over.
KeepersBall
12/09/2014, 11:19 PM
Sean no way should they have been drop balls. Laws state you restart the game as you were meant to.
First red was dead right, second red player was stupid to say anything,if it was serious enough he left himself open to being sent off.
Third red again blame the player, afforded the ref the opportunity to send him off.
The referee had three big decisions to make tonight and for me got all three correct
It was a soft free led to Derrys second goal though.
We battled hard, and a draw was the least we deserved, although in the first ten minutes I thought Derry were going to swamp us.
As for the ref being biased,best joke I heard in a while