View Full Version : FAI Cup 2014

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17

13/05/2014, 7:39 PM
Hmmm ok there are better intercity links but damn pricey! If you wanted to get a return London to Manchester(or any city north of Birmingham) train Thursday off-peak (advance purchase, non anytime) cost ye about £150 minimum up to over £300 flexi ticket. Next week £80-100. Wouldnt even bother looking at a friday. Can be cheaper flying tbh.

Clubs often put on chartered trains and buses there too. Even in the lower leagues, there might be a mix of three or four different clubs travelling on the same trains to different places.

13/05/2014, 7:51 PM
So if clubs here ran supporters buses at affordable prices would more people travel?

13/05/2014, 8:01 PM
So if clubs here ran supporters buses at affordable prices would more people travel?

I'd imagine so yes. A lot depends on results too, but at the end of the day, you can't compare English League teams to League of Ireland.

13/05/2014, 8:21 PM
Well i know its like comparing apples with pears, i was more teasing out the discussion or peoples opinions on cup match attendance and why i probably naively would have thought a cup match would draw a bigger away following as a once off blue riband match, albeit close to the league fixture.

13/05/2014, 8:58 PM
All valid points regarding travel I suppose and maybe something we take for granted east coast. I do think though that Irish people in general see distance to travel as a much greater challange, or more prohibitive than it actually is, certainly in comparison to say England. People commute 2+ hours to work in other countries without it being considered a major problem. Roads have improved and roadblocks like Drogheda are by-passed but attitudes are the same as when hours were spent stuck in Abbeyleix, Dunleer and the like. Certainly in Dundalks 1st division days you nearly always had at least a coach load travelling to Cobh, Limerick, Waterford, Galway, Donegal & not quite as far, Longford and Athlone(of course thats when we were in the hunt for promotion). Dundalk to cork is a little over 3 hours, Sligo 2.5hrs not crazy prohibitive. Anyway just my opinion that we overthink the perception of travel times.

Totally agree with this, anything I tell someone I'm going to an away game that might only be 2.5 hours away the response you generally get is ''Jesus that's a long old trip'' it's an Irish thing for some reason.

PartySaint
13/05/2014, 9:17 PM
Totally agree with this, anything I tell someone I'm going to an away game that might only be 2.5 hours away the response you generally get is ''Jesus that's a long old trip'' it's an Irish thing for some reason.

'Who are Pats playing this weekend?'

'We're down in Cork' '

You're not going all the way down there are you?'

'Yeah I'm heading down to it'

'to watch that?, you're mad'

Nah Nah Nah Nah
13/05/2014, 9:24 PM
Well i know its like comparing apples with pears, i was more teasing out the discussion or peoples opinions on cup match attendance and why i probably naively would have thought a cup match would draw a bigger away following as a once off blue riband match, albeit close to the league fixture.

Quarter final or semi final would expect a good crowd to travel but would think it would be just the usual couple of hundred for last 32.

13/05/2014, 10:18 PM
Well a couple of hundred wouldnt be so bad for the 2nd round - other Sligo lads were suggesting much less than that.

13/05/2014, 10:40 PM
you can only take so many Friday afternoons off
Did more people travel in the First Division when you had more teams around you, or is the travelling time to Waterford more or less the same as to Dublin?

El-Pietro
14/05/2014, 8:24 AM
Yup all very valid points! We were spoiled at Dundalk with a subsidised bus to away games organised by the now defunct travel club during 1st division days. Also I was a student 10 years ago so half days on a Friday werent a problem personally. I still think though that proportionate to home support certainly with Sligo and Cork that 50-80 fans could be mustered on a reasonably regular basis. With this game i'd have been of the opinion that the cup has that bit more of a draw that could see a couple of hundred travelling support. The cup certainly sees the extra 'floating' Dundalk support out. I genuinely wonder how clubs in England get so many die hards being at every game home and away with the cost involved, lower leagues too (Luton promoted from the conference is a significant loss to other clubs such was the level of travelling support).
50-80 City fans do travel to just about every game. We just don't go to Dundalk.

El-Pietro
14/05/2014, 8:29 AM
Did more people travel in the First Division when you had more teams around you, or is the traveling time to Waterford more or less the same as to Dublin?
Games against Waterford and Limerick will always have a decent crowd making the effort, it's about 90 minutes either direction. Dublin is twice that. You could get out of work at 6 and potentially still make a 7:45 kick off. We also haven't had a huge amount of trips to those cities relative to trips to Dublin.

In the first division a lot of grounds were new to us in the first season so that had an impact, and in the second season, particularly the second half, we were beating everything around us.

14/05/2014, 9:01 AM
50-80 City fans do travel to just about every game. We just don't go to Dundalk.

Meeoww!

dejadem
14/05/2014, 9:39 AM
Don't forget also, public transport in the UK is a damn sight better than it is here.

The EPL have also introduced a fund this season to subsidise away travel for clubs.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/24446082

"The 20 top-flight clubs have been given £200,000 each to subsidise travelling fans, with some offering ticket deals and others providing free coach travel."

White Horse
14/05/2014, 10:01 AM
We just don't go to Dundalk.

Your team didn't turn up either for the last game.

Johnnie C
22/05/2014, 11:47 PM
Have dates, kickoff times been finalised, can't find details anywhere.

23/05/2014, 9:49 AM
Clubs have announced dates but nothing comprehensive from the FAI

seand
23/05/2014, 4:33 PM
As a matter of interest, Dodge and Pats fans, would you rather win the FAI Cup or league this season?

27/05/2014, 5:48 PM
Athlone V Town confirmed for Friday 6th at 7-45 in lissywoolen.

28/05/2014, 10:31 AM
As a matter of interest, Dodge and Pats fans, would you rather win the FAI Cup or league this season?

I couldn't speak for the majority but I'm still hoping for both...

28/05/2014, 7:40 PM

I know the league is the main competition, and like Dodge, I'm greedy and want both (the beauty of being a supporter - you don't really have to choose) However, I have to admit if we win the cup this year, but not the league, I'll still be delighted. Having been there for four losing finals It would be more than sweet to finally do it. The league on the other hand I've seen us win 5 times (if you're counting 2002, which I am doing, just to **** off Shels fans :D - and cos we were the best team that year)

Neish
29/05/2014, 11:17 AM
'Who are Pats playing this weekend?'

'We're down in Cork' '

You're not going all the way down there are you?'

'Yeah I'm heading down to it'

'to watch that?, you're mad'

Substitute Cork for Waterford, Galway, etc and I have heard this many time before

Anyone here been to Frank Cooke Park? Just wondering what its like there from the few pictures I seen it seems fairly basic

29/05/2014, 2:16 PM
Anyone here been to Frank Cooke Park? Just wondering what its like there from the few pictures I seen it seems fairly basic

Yeah, its just a fence around the pitch. There's a club house there that has a balcony but you may/may not be allowed there.

29/05/2014, 5:05 PM
Feck that, I was hoping for a padded seat with a cup-holder..for my tins of dutch gold.

29/05/2014, 5:39 PM
Feck that, I was hoping for a padded seat with a cup-holder..for my tins of dutch gold.

Shouldnt be hard to get into the club bar, was there before, good fun and a nice little ground
http://www.footballfans.eu/img?f=2618708&w=600&h=450

30/05/2014, 2:57 PM
Looks tidy allright! If Shels eventually vacate Tolka wouldnt be a bad option for a ground share - is there room for development? Bit of random question I know..

30/05/2014, 3:11 PM
Looks tidy allright! If Shels eventually vacate Tolka wouldnt be a bad option for a ground share - is there room for development? Bit of random question I know..

No, not really. HAs a housing estate on 3 sides and Griffith Avenue on the other.

30/05/2014, 3:14 PM
No, it's right in the middle of a housing estate if I remember correctly.

edit: yeah https://maps.google.com/maps/ms?ie=UTF8&t=h&source=embed&oe=UTF8&msa=0&msid=105420420676712117456.0004621df2552089ff132&dg=feature

Pablo Escobar
01/06/2014, 5:26 PM
Today's results:

Mayfield United 3-1 Malahide United
Collinstown 0-2 Avondale United

01/06/2014, 5:37 PM
Good day for the Cork teams. Pete Mahon is in charge of Malahide, isn't he?

01/06/2014, 7:08 PM
Shouldnt be hard to get into the club bar, was there before, good fun and a nice little ground
http://www.footballfans.eu/img?f=2618708&w=600&h=450

Great little ground, we played cherry orchard up there in 2012 FAI cup.

01/06/2014, 11:40 PM
Good day for the Cork teams. Pete Mahon is in charge of Malahide, isn't he?
The Mayfield result was announced on the RTE news as a 3-1 win to Mayfield but according to Twitter Malahide won 3-1

01/06/2014, 11:43 PM
The Mayfield result was announced on the RTE news as a 3-1 win to Mayfield but according to Twitter Malahide won 3-1
You're right, the live update on Futbol 24 had it 3-1 Malahide.

02/06/2014, 4:33 AM
Great little ground, we played cherry orchard up there in 2012 FAI cup.

Thats where I took that pic, Longford got deservedly beaten that day:D

peterpan
02/06/2014, 6:59 AM
Can confirm that it was 3-1 to malahide

02/06/2014, 9:26 AM
Is Glen Crowe still playing for them?

Their website is one of the worst I've ever seen for info.

02/06/2014, 9:32 AM
No he's playing for St Mochta's these days

02/06/2014, 5:47 PM
Thats where I took that pic, Longford got deservedly beaten that day:D
Yup played off the field that day but still an incredible away day.

Pablo Escobar
02/06/2014, 6:41 PM
Yeah, I saw it on RTE.

McNasara
06/06/2014, 10:39 AM
Except the PD and the First Division I'm not familiar with the other leagues, so if someone could help me? Just write in which divisions of the Irish football are the remaining clubs.

Athlone Town (1st) v Longford Town (2nd)
Belgrove/Home Farm v Finn Harps (2nd)
Cork City (1st) v St. Mochta’s
Dundalk (1st) v Sligo Rovers (1st)
St Patrick’s CY v St. Patricks Ath. (1st)
UCD (1st) v Galway (2nd)
Drogheda United (1st) v Cockhill Celtic
Shelbourne (2nd) v Waterford United (2nd)
Wexford Youths (2nd) v Bray Wanderers (1st)
Sheriff YC v Shamrock Rovers (1st)
Limerick (1st) v Bohemians (1st)
Cobh Ramblers (2nd) v Derry City (1st)
Ballynanty Rovers v Phoenix
UCC v St. Michael’s

06/06/2014, 10:56 AM
There isn't a proper pyramid structure so I'd be inclined to call all non senior clubs simply non league or 3rd tier. Technically the tiers would probably go senior- intermediate (these are referred to as senior leagues, confusingly)- junior.

If you do want to break it out:

Belgrove are 2nd tier Leinster Senior League so I guess you could mark that as 3rd for intermediate (or 4th because they're a division down from the top flight). Cockhill are in the Ulster Senior league so you could call that 3rd.

How you'd classify the junior clubs like Ballynanty I don't really know. I'd probably just go with 4th.

McNasara
06/06/2014, 11:48 AM
I just read somewhere that Cork play against a team from the 7th division of Irish football, so I was curious to ask for other clubs.
If Belgrove are 2nd tier Leinster Senior League, it's 4th division of Irish football for me. LSL, MSL and USL top flight are 3rd division of Irish football, right? Can you write for the other clubs (for junior clubs just write junior)?

06/06/2014, 12:29 PM
Sorry, I don't know the about the clubs other than the ones I mentioned.

06/06/2014, 7:07 PM
BREAKING NEWS: Finn Harps have eleven men on the field.

Belgrove 0-1 Harps

Pat McCann after 8 minutes. Belgrove down to ten men.

06/06/2014, 7:11 PM
Cork 1-0 St Mochtas
Drogheda 1-0 Cockhill

06/06/2014, 7:13 PM
Cork 2-0 St Mochtas

06/06/2014, 7:17 PM
UCD 0-1 Galway Molloy

06/06/2014, 7:22 PM